Zebec card, taken apart: who can get it, what it costs, and what the small print does not tell you
The Zebec card is one of those products that promises something simple on the surface: take the crypto you already hold, and spend it like ordinary money wherever Mastercard is taken. Underneath that simple promise sits a layered product with three different tiers, a country list that changes from one tier to the next, and a fee structure where the most expensive line is the one the marketing tends to leave out. I went through the official pages, the help articles, the app-store listing and the third-party directories to put this review together, and the verdict up front is a measured one. The card genuinely does what it says for a wide range of users, but the gap between the cheapest tier and the most expensive one is wider than the brand’s public materials tend to acknowledge, and the legal scaffolding around the card is thinner than for some of its better-known competitors.
This review covers who the card is for, how the application actually works, what each tier costs in real-world use, how topping up behaves when you fund it from crypto, what daily spending looks like in practice, and where the risks sit. At the end I compare it against three of the most common alternatives — TokenPocket, MetaMask and KAST — and answer the questions people type into search about the product.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Zebec earns 7.1 out of 10 in my scoring, and the breakdown explains why it lands in the middle rather than at the top or the bottom.
| Criterion | Score | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Three tiers covering the US, Canada, the UK and the EU (Silver), a 90+ country international tier (Carbon), and a global Black tier with sanctions carve-outs. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Silver and Carbon carry no sign-up or transaction fees, but variable FX fees can apply and Black charges activation, top-up and monthly fees. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | Funded from the Zebec wallet with 180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains, which is broader than most competing cards. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer and BIN sponsor are not named publicly, the legal entity is not disclosed, no public complaint trail exists, and CryptoCardHub rates it 3.3 against peers. |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | All three tiers are Mastercard prepaid with Apple Pay and Google Pay, but the physical-card and ATM story is not spelled out. |
The card is a good fit for someone who already lives inside the Zebec ecosystem, wants to spend a long list of tokens without pre-converting them one by one, and lives somewhere on the supported list. It is a weaker fit for someone who needs a clearly regulated European e-money licence behind the card, a physical card with a known issuer, or a fee schedule written in numbers rather than “variable.”
Who they will give the card to
Zebec sells three tiers, and the country you live in decides which one you are shown. The relevant fact for you here is that eligibility is based on your country of residence — the place you declare as your home address when you apply — not on your citizenship. Citizenship is not mentioned in the eligibility rules at all.
Silver is the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and the Northern Mariana Islands tier, and it also covers the United Kingdom, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man and Jersey, plus EU member states other than Malta. Silver is issued in US dollars, euros or pounds depending on where you live.
Carbon has two flavours. The regional variant covers the same UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey and (non-Malta) EU countries as Silver, in euros or pounds. The international variant — called Carbon USD International — is offered in 90+ approved countries outside the US and Canada, including Japan, Singapore, Brazil, Kenya and Uruguay, and it is dollars only. There is an internal inconsistency in Zebec’s own pages here that I should flag: the Carbon marketing page says “over 70 countries,” while the availability page says “90+.” Both are official Zebec pages; the higher figure is the more recent wording.
Black is the global tier, subject to sanctions rules. The Black page on the Zebec site also notes a UK restriction that is pending a regulatory review, and the page itself was showing as temporarily offline for upgrades at the time of writing, with a stated resumption around Spring 2026.
There is also a list of countries where the cards cannot be used, which is separate from the eligibility list. That list includes the Russian Federation and Belarus, alongside Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea. These restrictions apply to where the card is used, regardless of the user’s residence or citizenship status.
What Zebec does not publish in any clear form is the set of identity documents they will ask for. The card’s own pages refer to proof of address and age in general terms, and the Silver blog talks about a “limited KYC based on address” with activation in seconds, while Black says KYC information must be submitted before activation. The exact list of accepted documents, the rules around rejections, and the official processing time for Silver and Carbon are not stated.
How to get it
The application path is the same for all three tiers: you go to the Zebec Web SuperApp or the Mobile SuperApp on iOS or Android, create or sign in to an account, complete KYC, and order the card. The card is then funded from your Zebec wallet.
What differs between tiers is the practical flow once you start.
Silver uses SMS tokens for two-factor authentication, which means you need a local phone number in the region. The blog frames Silver’s KYC as “limited” and tied to your address, with email confirmation and a quick activation. There is no published delivery time for a physical card because the public material describes digital activation only.
Carbon USD International uses email tokens instead of SMS, which is helpful if you do not have a local mobile number.
Black asks you to submit KYC before activation, and the page claims activation “in under a minute” (it cites thirty seconds). Two-factor authentication on Black lives in the Mobilum app rather than Zebec’s, which is a sign that Mobilum handles the back-end processing for the Black tier.
A third-party directory describes Zebec’s cards as virtual, with a physical card either planned or not widely distributed at the time of writing. That entry is unofficial and undated, so I would not treat it as the final word, but it is consistent with the fact that Zebec’s own pages do not describe a physical card.
The Apple App Store listing I checked carries a 5.0/5 rating from two reviews, in English; the Google Play listing for the relevant package did not show a published rating at the time of writing.
Fees and what it really costs
The cost picture is where Silver and Carbon look very different from Black, and where the published material is least complete. The table below pulls together what is on the public pages.

| Fee or limit | Silver | Carbon | Black |
|---|---|---|---|
| Issuance / sign-up | None | None (no-fee promo, may change) | Activation fee, amount not stated |
| Monthly fee | None | None | Yes, amount not stated |
| Transaction fee | None | None (promo, may change) | Not stated |
| FX / conversion | Variable FX fees may apply; rates vary by token | Variable FX fees may apply; rates vary by token | Gas, crypto conversion and exchange fees apply; amounts not stated |
| ATM | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Minimum load | $10 | $10 | Not stated |
| Load limit per top-up | $1,000 | $1,000 (per cards page) / $10,000 (per Carbon page) | Up to $10,000 |
| Maximum balance | $1,000 | $10,000 (USD) / £5,000 / €5,000 | $50,000 |
| Daily spend | Not stated | $10,000 (USD) | Not stated |
The most important row for everyday decisions is the FX / conversion row. Zebec’s own Silver blog says you can avoid FX fees on Silver by matching the card’s currency to the currency you fund with, which is a useful instruction: if you fund in pounds and your card is a pounds card, the pounds-to-pounds spending avoids the variable FX layer. If your card is dollars but you are buying coffee in Berlin, the conversion is on the published Mastercard rate plus whatever variable fee the programme charges, and that variable fee is not pinned to a percentage on the public page.
Carbon has an internal contradiction of its own. The general cards page lists a load limit of $1,000 / £1,000 / €1,000; the Carbon page itself says $10,000 per load. Both are official Zebec pages, so I would not rely on either number without re-checking at the moment you apply.
Black’s fee structure is described in outline: about a 2% top-up fee, $0.30 per-transaction fee, $1 activation and $1 per month, with gas, conversion and exchange fees on top. Those numbers are the closest thing to a fee schedule Black has, and the word “approximately” on the 2% top-up fee is the part that matters — that figure is not a contractual commitment.
To put the cost in concrete terms, here are three everyday situations and how the fees land on each tier.
- A $50 lunch paid in your card’s home currency from a USDC balance. On Silver and Carbon, the card-side fee is zero; you still pay the gas and any conversion the wallet performs to turn USDC into the card’s balance, and those numbers are not on the card page.
- A €40 dinner in Paris on a dollars card. On Silver, you avoid the FX fee by topping up the pounds or euros card with pounds or euros; on a dollars card, the variable FX fee plus the Mastercard rate applies. The percentage is not published.
- A $200 ATM withdrawal. The public pages do not state ATM fees, and that silence is the answer: I would not assume free withdrawals on any tier until Zebec publishes the rate, and I would not rely on a large daily ATM limit either.
The bottom line on cost is this: Silver and Carbon are designed to look free, and they are free at the card level, but the “variable” layer is the one to watch. Black is a real paid product and the published fees are the small print — a 2% top-up, $0.30 per transaction, $1 activation, $1 per month — that you need to be aware of before you put meaningful volume through it.
Top up
Topping up starts in the Zebec wallet. The wallet holds your tokens, the card is funded from that wallet, and the funding side supports what Zebec describes as “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains.” That is a broader top-up menu than most competing cards, and it is the main reason this section scores 9/10 in my breakdown. The trade-off is that the specific tokens are not listed on the public pages, so you have to check inside the app whether the coin you actually hold is in the supported set.

There are a few things the public material does not state, and you should not guess at them. The fiat top-up path is not described — the funding model is crypto in, card balance out. The minimum and maximum top-up numbers come from the cards page and the per-tier pages, and they disagree on Carbon (see the fees table above). Withdrawals from the card back into cash or into the wallet are not described either.
For Black, the top-up story is more expensive but more transparent: there is a top-up fee of around 2%, a $0.30 per-transaction fee, gas on the underlying chain, and conversion or exchange fees depending on which token you are topping up from. Silver and Carbon’s top-up fees are described as “variable” without numbers.
Because the card is funded from crypto, three background points are worth keeping in mind before you top up. First, the blockchain charges its own network fee (gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron) and the card provider does not control that. Second, sending a token on a network the card does not support, or to an address of a different network, can mean a lost deposit, because blockchain transfers are not reversible. Third, Tether has said it freezes wallets on sanctions lists, and stablecoins are not censorship-proof in practice. None of this is a Zebec-specific problem, but the top-up flow is where you meet it first.
Paying with it every day
All three tiers are Mastercard prepaid, and all three work with Apple Pay and Google Pay. That is the headline of the daily-use section, and it is the part Zebec has the clearest to say about. From there the picture gets thinner.
Zebec does not publish a list of blocked merchant categories on the public pages, so I cannot tell you whether a specific category — gambling, for example, or cryptocurrency purchases — is restricted on Silver, Carbon or Black. MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on prepaid cards by policy rather than by law, but that is a generic industry point, not something Zebec has confirmed for this product.
There is no cashback programme on Silver or Carbon, and no stated cashback on Black. Zebec does talk about staking its native $ZBCN token earning “extra rewards,” but the rate is not stated.
The card balance is held separately from the wallet, and the wallet is described as a non-custodial connection — the funds sit with the card programme rather than in the wallet itself. Zebec has not published a custody statement for the card balance, and the dispute, refund and chargeback process is not described on the cards, Black or payees pages. The only contact for problems is the support inbox.
On the support side, Silver’s help material points to 24/7 email at [email protected], alongside the @Zebec_HQ account on X and a Telegram channel. Black points to [email protected] and [email protected]. There is no published phone line.
The everyday experience is best described as: tap to pay through Apple Pay or Google Pay works, on-line card payments work through Mastercard’s rails, and anything that requires a documented dispute or refund process is a gap in the published material rather than a feature of the product.
What can go wrong
This is the section where the score drops the most. There are five risk areas worth walking through.
Issuer and legal entity. Zebec does not name the card issuer, the BIN sponsor, or the legal entity behind the programme on the public pages. Mastercard appears as a network partner, and the Black page shows Mobilum as the back-end processing partner, but the regulated bank or e-money institution that holds the licence is not disclosed. That is a thinner disclosure than you get from cards backed by named EMIs or banks in the EU and the UK.
Regulatory status. Black’s page mentions the UK situation is pending a regulatory review, and the Black product itself was showing as temporarily offline for upgrades with a stated resumption around Spring 2026. EU readers should know that, under MiCA, providers already operating under national law can continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. That deadline matters for any EU-resident user of a crypto card programme. The crypto side of a card in the EU tends to depend on a CASP authorisation; the card side depends on an e-money or payment-services licence. Zebec does not state which licences it holds.
Reliability of the public material. Several of the most important numbers on the cards pages disagree with each other: the country count for Carbon International is “over 70” on one page and “90+” on another; the Carbon load limit is $1,000 on one page and $10,000 on another; ATM fees, physical-card delivery, dispute processes and FX percentages are not stated. The number that should be on the page is sometimes the number you have to ask support for, and that is a friction I would rather not have on a payment product.
No public complaint trail. There is no Trustpilot page for Zebec cards, and no Reddit threads about the card came up in my search. CryptoCardHub, a third-party directory, rates the Zebec card 3.3 and places it at rank #23 of 86. That is the only third-party score I can point to, and it is not strong. The absence of complaints is not the same as the presence of a good record, and the absence of a published issuer is the more important gap.
Counterparty and security risk. Zebec is a custodial counterparty for the card balance (the balance sits with the card programme, not in your own wallet), and the custody of those funds is not described. The wallet side is described as non-custodial — the connection is non-custodial — which means losing your seed phrase means losing the wallet, with no recovery path. Two-factor authentication is by SMS on Silver and Carbon USD Regional, and by email on Carbon USD International. SMS-based 2FA is the weaker of the two options because of SIM-swap risk. Card freeze is available on Black through the Mobilum app, but the same feature is not described for Silver and Carbon on the public pages.
To put this in the language of the wider category: there is a long history of crypto card programmes being suspended by their network — Visa’s termination of FTX in November 2022 and the suspension of WaveCrest in Europe in 2018 are the two well-known cases. When a programme is wound down, users typically get a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then any remaining balance has to be withdrawn. The risk is not unique to Zebec, but the thinner the disclosed issuer, the harder it is to know in advance what would happen in a wind-down.
What to take instead
Three cards that come up alongside Zebec in the same category. They are different products, so the comparison is meant to help you see which trade-offs matter to you, not to declare a winner.
| TokenPocket | MetaMask Card | KAST | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 |
| Card network and form | Mastercard / Visa debit, virtual only | Mastercard, virtual issued instantly, Metal pre-order after | Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, Visa Platinum / Infinite metal / gold-plated |
| Where it is available | Selected EU countries (Visa) and a longer Asia-Pacific and Anglosphere list (Mastercard); Americas planned | 45 listed countries/territories for sign-up, others on a waitlist; US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed | Country list not published; KYC shows availability at sign-up; VPN does not bypass |
| Cost | A “small portion” of an NFT fee; “no additional fees” otherwise; 1% crypto deposit fee (refunded later via rewards) | Virtual free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year; “minimal fee” per transaction; no MetaMask-side FX fee | Standard 0 USD/year; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year; extra virtual card $2; physical Standard card 0 + $40 delivery; inactivity $1/month after 12 months |
| FX fee | Not stated; settlement-level fees may apply | None on MetaMask side; Mastercard rate | 0.5%–1.75% non-USD depending on residence, transaction country and card; under-$25 non-USD transactions 0.10 USD; declined transaction 0.50 USD |
| Top-up | From the TokenPocket wallet on Arbitrum | Directly from the connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad, Solana; named tokens mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT (page says nine) | Stablecoins USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD across Ethereum, Solana, Polygon, Arbitrum, TRON |
| Rewards | 1% deposit fee refunded via rewards; no cashback | Virtual 1% in mUSD; Metal headline 3% in mUSD, footnote limits 3% to the first $10,000 spent then 1%; $FLY bonus 5X/7X via Blackbird dining | USD cashback Standard 1.5% on first $2,000/month, Premium 2% on first $10,000/month, Private 3% on first $40,000/month; KAST Points on Premium and Private |
If you are choosing on the basis of geography, KAST and MetaMask are the more interesting options for US, UK and EU residents, with the caveat that US and UK sign-ups for MetaMask are temporarily closed. If you are choosing on the basis of cost, the MetaMask Virtual card is the clearest no-fee option, and Zebec’s Silver and Carbon are close behind at the card level. If you are choosing on the basis of tokens, Zebec’s “180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains” is the widest top-up menu among the four, with the practical caveat that the specific tokens are not listed on the public pages. If you are choosing on the basis of disclosed regulatory scaffolding, MetaMask names Monovate as the issuer and Crypto Life as the card provider, and KAST publishes annual membership tiers with a full fee schedule — both are more transparent than Zebec on the licensing question.
Who I would recommend it to
Zebec is a good fit if you already use the Zebec wallet, hold a long tail of tokens that other cards do not list, and you live in one of the explicitly supported regions — the US, Canada, the UK and the EU for Silver; a 90+-country international set for Carbon; almost anywhere for Black subject to sanctions. On Silver and Carbon, the absence of card-level fees makes the product easy to try, and Apple Pay and Google Pay cover the in-store experience. The MasterCard prepaid model also means the card cannot overdraw, which is a feature worth having if you want a hard spending cap.
Zebec is a weaker fit if you need a named, regulated bank or e-money institution behind the card, a fee schedule with concrete percentages rather than “variable,” a working ATM story, a clear dispute and chargeback process, or a card that can run in Russia or Belarus. The thin regulatory disclosure, the contradictions between official pages, and the lack of any third-party complaint trail would give me pause before putting a large monthly volume through Black, in particular, until the Spring 2026 relaunch has happened and a clearer licensing picture is in place.
For everyday spending in supported regions from a long list of tokens, Zebec is a sensible choice. For everything else, the comparison table above gives you the alternatives.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Zebec card?
The Zebec card is a Mastercard prepaid card funded from the Zebec crypto wallet, sold in three tiers (Silver, Carbon and Black) that differ on country eligibility, currency, balance limits and fee structure. The card converts your crypto into a card balance and lets you spend that balance anywhere Mastercard is accepted, in store and online.
How does the Zebec card work?
You hold tokens in the Zebec wallet, the wallet funds the card, and the card spends from a stored balance. Because the card is prepaid, it cannot overdraw. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on all three tiers, which covers tap-to-pay in person; online payments run through the standard Mastercard rails.
Is Zebec a bank?
Zebec is not described as a bank on its public pages, and the legal entity, card issuer and BIN sponsor are not stated. Mastercard appears as a network partner and Mobilum is named as the back-end processing partner for Black; the regulated institution that holds the card programme is not disclosed in the materials I read.
Who owns Zebec?
Zebec says it has been building decentralised infrastructure since 2021 and now has 250+ enterprise clients and 50,000+ monthly users. Ownership, the parent company and the legal entity are not stated on the public pages I read.
Is the Zebec card available in my country?
It depends on the tier. Silver covers the US, Canada, Puerto Rico, US territories, the UK, Gibraltar, Guernsey, the Isle of Man, Jersey, and EU member states other than Malta. Carbon has a regional variant in the UK and (non-Malta) EU and a USD International variant in 90+ approved countries outside the US and Canada. Black is global subject to sanctions. The cards also cannot be used in a list that includes Russia, Belarus, Iran, Cuba, Syria and North Korea.
How do I apply for a Zebec card?
Create or sign in to an account in the Zebec Web SuperApp or Mobile SuperApp on iOS or Android, complete KYC, and order the card. Silver and Carbon activation is described as quick; Black requires KYC submission before activation and claims activation in under a minute.
Does the Zebec card require KYC?
Yes. Zebec’s pages refer to address-based KYC for Silver, with email confirmation and quick activation; Carbon USD International uses email tokens; Black asks for KYC submission before activation. The exact list of accepted documents, the rejection reasons and the official processing time for Silver and Carbon are not stated.
How do I top up the Zebec card?
Top-ups come from the Zebec wallet, which holds 180+ tokens across 21+ blockchains according to Zebec. There is no published fiat top-up path. The minimum load is $10 on Silver and Carbon, and the load limit is $1,000 on the cards page for Carbon and $10,000 on the Carbon page itself, which is one of the inconsistencies in the public material.
Is the Zebec card free?
At the card level, Silver has no sign-up or transaction fees and Carbon has no sign-up or transaction fees (described as a no-fee promo that may change). Variable FX fees may apply, conversion rates vary by token, and Black has a published set of fees: about 2% top-up, $0.30 per transaction, $1 activation, $1 per month, plus gas and conversion fees.
Is the Zebec card safe to use?
Zebec’s wallet side is described as a non-custodial connection, but the card balance is held with the card programme and custody of those funds is not stated. Two-factor authentication is by SMS on Silver and Carbon USD Regional and by email on Carbon USD International. The dispute, refund and chargeback process is not described on the public pages, and there is no public complaint trail or third-party regulator information to point to.
Choosing a wallet card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
