The card that spends crypto but skips the paperwork

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Trocador is not a bank and does not pretend to be one. It is a route to a prepaid Mastercard or Visa that you buy with cryptocurrency, hold a fixed balance on, and spend like an ordinary payment card — with the fixed balance doing the work of a bank account you never open. That single idea explains almost everything about the card: why it is quick, why it costs what it costs, and why it quietly drops out of your life at the exact moments when a bank card would have been tested. I scored it 5.4 out of 10. It is a reasonable tool for a privacy-minded person who already holds crypto and wants spendable fiat in a hurry, and a poor fit for anyone whose week contains online banking, 3-D Secure prompts, or merchants who check billing addresses. Read on for where it works, where it doesn’t, and what it costs in practice.

Trocador works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.4 out of 10, and the reason is in the cost line

Five and a half is not a rounding error. It is the honest average of a card that does one job cleanly — turning crypto into a spendable balance — and a stack of unanswered questions around it. Nothing I found suggests the card is a scam. Everything I found suggests it is thin on disclosure.

Criterion Mark Why, in short
Who can get it 8 / 10 Country restrictions depend on the provider rather than on one published list, which is workable if you read the provider’s terms; unofficial lines put availability at 164 countries with 11 closed, and two card brands US-only
Cost 3 / 10 The card’s own public pages disclose no fees at all; unofficial figures point to a 3% fee on the card’s nominal value plus $2, or $0.60 per purchase and $5 a month after the second month on one alternative brand, and 2.75% on payments not in USD
Top-up options 7 / 10 You buy with crypto, with BTC, XMR, LTC, stablecoins and others named in the starting data through AnonPay, though the exact coin list is not confirmed; unofficial sources describe a wide choice including Monero, with possible conversion fees
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Operated by Reta Development Assets LLC, with cards delivered by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian, and no issuing bank named; user reports concentrate on MyPrepaidCenter activation problems, declines, locked access and slow support; Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 267 reviews on the exchange side
Everyday use 4 / 10 Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay “usually” work, but the card is refused where 3-D Secure is required; unofficial lines say there is no ATM, no top-up after purchase and no plastic
Total 5.4 / 10 Good access and buying, thin costs and thin everyday life

Who this suits, in one sentence: someone who already has crypto, does not want a bank relationship, and spends in places that take prepaid cards without asking questions.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a card that works everywhere, who relies on online payments with 3-D Secure, who expects cash withdrawals, or who plans to top the card up more than once. Add to that list anyone who needs a phone number answered quickly when a payment is stuck — support for the cards is not described on the public pages.

The strongest thing about the card is access. Restrictions vary by provider rather than sitting in one list you have to parse, and two of the card brands named are US-only, so your eligibility is really a question about which provider issues your card. The weakest thing is money: the card’s public pages say nothing about what it charges, so any number you find elsewhere is unofficial and unconfirmed by the card. I would not spend large sums on a card whose fee schedule I cannot read.

Will they give you the card?

Partly, and the answer depends on who issues it. The card’s own position is that country restrictions vary by provider — meaning the gatekeeper is the company that actually delivers your card, not the brand name you type into a search box. Unofficially, third-party sources put availability at 164 countries with 11 closed, and say the Reward and MyPrepaidCenter cards are US-only.

That distinction matters more than it sounds. “Available in 164 countries” describes where a card can be used; “issued to residents of your country” describes who can hold one. Those are different questions, and the unofficial line above is closer to the first than the second.

One more limit on who gets one, from the card itself: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults (18 and over), and some issuers set higher limits for their own reasons.

And then the gap that decides this section. The card’s public pages do not say what identity checks it applies. Not “light” checks, not “full” checks — the requirement is simply not stated. The identity documentation standard (KYC) for applicants is likewise unstated, and so is any tiering of verification levels.

Why does this matter to you, practically? Because KYC rules generally require regulated businesses to verify customers and assess risk as part of anti-money-laundering and counter-terrorism-financing law, including ongoing transaction monitoring and reporting of suspicious activity. In the EU that means name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and a politically-exposed-person check. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, with electronic systems also validating proof-of-address documents.

Also worth knowing: nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. So “I live in a country where this works” is not the same as “a citizen of that country can get this.”

If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, close existing relationships. That is the ordinary, lawful reason accounts get frozen pending documents — it is not a signal that you did something wrong.

My verdict on this section: acceptable to proceed on, not acceptable to build a plan around. Read the provider’s own terms before you send anything.

How to get it

The path is short, which is the appeal. You pick a prepaid Mastercard or Visa from several providers, and the card’s public pages describe no app — the purchase is made on the web. That is the whole flow: choose, pay in crypto, receive card details.

Two things are missing from that flow, and both are things you would want to know before starting.

Delivery is not stated officially. How long it takes, whether it arrives as a virtual card instantly or as plastic in the post, whether there is a shipping fee, whether anything is couriered — none of it appears on the card’s public pages. Unofficial lines say there is no plastic, which would leave virtual details as the only path, but I could not confirm that from the card.

KYC is not stated officially, as covered above. So the honest way to describe applying is: you will probably be asked for identifying documents at some point in the process, because providers in this category usually are, but the card does not promise a particular level, and you should not assume a frictionless purchase.

There is a background point that explains why the flow is this short. Many crypto cards behave like prepaid cards: crypto is converted and loaded as a balance, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. In the “pre-loaded balance” model the user converts or tops up a fiat or stablecoin-denominated balance first, and that model needs no credit check, which is exactly why there is no application form to fill in.

The other half of the picture is who is actually behind the card. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa or Mastercard) routes messages and sets rules, the issuer — a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence — holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end that markets the card. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card programme was being wound down by its issuer.

So when you buy a Trocador card, the number on the front is not issued by Trocador. It is issued by someone the card does not name. Keep that in your head through the cost section, because it decides who you call when a payment is stuck.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the weakest section of the review, and the reason is not that the fees are high. It is that the card’s public pages do not state issuance cost, monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, ATM fees, daily limits or monthly limits. All of it is unstated. Anything I write below as a figure is unofficial and not confirmed by the card — take it as a reason to go and read the provider’s own schedule, not as a price.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trocador payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card’s public pages say What unofficial sources report
Issuance not stated 3% of the card’s nominal value plus $2 on the Trocador side of the business
Monthly fee not stated $5 a month after the second month on one alternative card brand, Obsidian, alongside $0.60 per purchase
Conversion not stated crypto is converted once, at purchase of a fixed-value card
Payments not in USD not stated 2.75%
ATM not stated unofficial sources say there are no ATMs
Daily limit not stated —
Monthly limit not stated —
Tiers not stated no published tiers

Three everyday payments, so this stops being abstract.

Buying a $100 card. Under the unofficial Trocador figure, the 3% plus $2 is $5 on top of the balance you asked for. If the same purchase runs through the Obsidian brand, the unofficial figure is $0.60 for the purchase plus $5 a month from the third month onward. This is exactly why the brand matters more than the parent name, and exactly why you cannot pick between them on the card’s own information.

A $30 subscription. If the merchant takes dollars, this is the least bad case: the card holds dollars, the purchase is plain. The fee you may face is the 2.75% unofficial rate that applies to payments not in USD. If the merchant prices in euros or naira and your card is denominated in dollars, you are now in the conversion column and the 2.75% is where it lands.

A $60 supermarket shop in a local currency. Say the same 2.75% unofficial rate applies. That is about $1.65 on $60. Three such shops in a month is roughly $5, before anything else. It is not a catastrophic number, but it is a number you cannot see from the product page, and it applies to exactly the purchases a prepaid card is supposed to make easy.

One more cost that has nothing to do with the card: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. If you send BTC or a stablecoin across a network, you pay that network’s gas or bandwidth fee on top of everything above, and Trocador is not responsible for it.

What I would do before spending anything: get the fee schedule of the *specific* card brand you are being offered, in writing, and check whether it names the foreign-exchange rate, the markup on conversion, and the ATM policy. If it does not, treat the card as a small-spend tool.

How to Top up

There is one honest answer here, and it may not be the one you were expecting: you do not top up. Crypto is converted once, at the point where you buy a fixed-value card, and that balance is what the card spends. There is no reload, no per-transaction conversion, and no second chance to add later — because there is no after later.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trocador starts with a transfer to the right network

How you pay for the card is where the choice lives. Cards are bought with crypto; per the starting data that includes BTC, XMR, LTC, stablecoins and others, routed through AnonPay, though the exact coin list is not confirmed. Unofficial sources describe a wide choice including Monero, and warn that a conversion fee may apply when your coin is not the one the card wants.

Monero being in the mix is the reason this card appears on privacy-minded people’s radar at all, and it deserves a straight word about what it does and does not do for you. It does let you buy without touching a bank. It does not change the fact that the card number is issued by an unnamed institution, that the merchant can look up that number and see the issuer country, or that the card’s public pages say nothing about identity checks. Buying privately and then being recognised at the till are two different problems, and only the first one is solved.

The network detail is where people lose money, so it is worth the short explanation. USDT and USDC are US-dollar-pegged tokens, and the BIS (July 2025) put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. But they live on many chains: Tether describes USDT as a token built on multiple blockchains, issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche, and Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar.

Two things follow from that, and both can cost you money. First, ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, proposed November 2015, and its fees — gas — are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. Second, blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.

One more asymmetry worth knowing, because it explains a support answer you may get: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Tether describes USDT as still available there, and Tron charges through bandwidth and energy resources, often burning TRX.

And finally, privacy has a floor. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, whatever the marketing implies.

My read: for a one-off purchase this is a clean mechanism. It gives you a fixed amount of spendable money and nothing else, and it converts once rather than on every purchase. Treat it as a single-use instrument, not an account you maintain.

Paying with it every day

Short answer: it works in shops, and it stops working online, in cars, and at cash machines — and the pattern is structural, not bad luck.

Where it works. Mobile wallets are the intended way to use it: Samsung Pay, Google Pay and Apple Pay “usually” work. That “usually” is doing real work in the sentence. Behind it is the mechanism: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. So when it works, it works well.

Where it does not. The card is not accepted where 3-D Secure is required, or where gift and prepaid cards are refused. That is the single most consequential limitation on this page. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online card payments — the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges the cardholder, for example with a one-time code or biometrics. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check, and EMV 3-D Secure 2 (published 2016) supports one-time passcodes and app-based authentication aligned with EU strong customer authentication. Any merchant requiring that step will refuse this card. In practice: in-store spending, yes; a meaningful share of online spending, no.

Cash. There are no ATMs, unofficial sources say. There is no way to reach cash with this card at all, which removes it as a backup for anywhere you need notes.

Rewards and points. Not stated officially. Do not assume any exist.

App and account management. There is no app. The purchase is on the web. That means no in-app freeze, no in-app spending limits, no push notification when a charge hits — the everyday controls that most people treat as standard.

Disputes. Not stated. This one deserves more than a shrug. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. So if a purchase goes wrong, the protection you would assume exists may not.

Two everyday failure modes to plan around. First, address checks: Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with issuer records, it is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. Second, merchant policy: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country, and shops may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. Nobody is singling your card out; it is simply what it is.

And when a payment is declined, the money may not simply be there the next day: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7.

What can go wrong

Grouped by how much it would hurt you.

Money you cannot get back, because the mechanism is irreversible. Blockchain transfers do not reverse. If the card provider does not support the network you sent on, or you send to an address of another network, the deposit can be gone or trapped in manual recovery. This is the risk I would rank first, because it is the one where nobody is obliged to help you.

Money you cannot get back, because the stablecoin moved. Stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. You are buying a balance priced in dollars out of an asset whose dollars are not guaranteed dollars.

A programme that ends. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. The FTX card is the case everyone remembers: Visa terminated its global agreements on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give a notice period, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. That is the shape of the risk: your card works fine right up until the day it doesn’t, and you find out on someone else’s schedule.

The counterparty you cannot name. Operated by Reta Development Assets LLC (starting data), with cards delivered by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian, and the issuing institution not named (per CryptoCardHub). Licences are not stated. In the EU, an electronic money institution can issue e-money, payment cards and e-wallets but cannot lend, and it must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — such funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side: MiCA covers custody, exchange and transfer, while the card itself is a payment service, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. Under MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114), e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution (Article 48), and the transitional grandfathering period runs until 1 July 2026 or until a provider receives or is refused authorisation, whichever comes first. If your provider is European and in that window, its status can change while you hold the card. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there.

The complaints that are actually reported. No official incident found for the card itself. But user reports concentrate on MyPrepaidCenter: activation problems, billing-address validation, declines, locked access, and slow support (undated, as reported by CryptoCardHub in August 2026), whose profile is reportedly weak. On the exchange side, Trustpilot shows 4.8 out of 5 from 267 reviews (read 2026-10-21), with user reports of delayed swaps via partner exchanges (June–July 2026), long AML and KYC holds (March–May 2026), and support tone (September 2026). The Trustpilot figure is mostly about the exchange, not the cards — do not read it as a card rating.

No support desk described. Support is not stated officially for the cards. Combined with the fact that several of the complaints above are about slow support and locked access, that is the gap I would worry about most after the irreversibility risk.

Regulatory shifts in your own country. Sanctions screening applies to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. In the US, FinCEN guidance (FIN-2013-G001) treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods are not. And tax: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in the local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which means each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. Short-term if held a year or less. Check this with a professional in your own jurisdiction; nothing here is advice.

And the thing nobody warned you about. Self-custody has a mirror image. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted form of the private key, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend its funds. Custodial platforms have a record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). With a self-custody-linked card the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Either way, the risk sits with you.

What to take instead

None of these is a rescue. The comparison below is three other prepaid-crypto-style cards, and the pattern is that they all inherit the same structural limits: no 3-D Secure, no cash, thin disclosure. I include them so you can see the shape of the field rather than because one of them solves your problem.

Trocador Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.4 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who it says it serves restrictions vary by provider “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; App Store listing is Naira-focused aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users” no country list on official pages; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card prepaid Mastercard or Visa from several providers debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; card currency Naira per listing virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR
Cost not stated officially not stated “Creating a virtual card is completely free” (site FAQ); monthly fee not stated not stated; App Store page lists no fees
Fees not stated officially real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment; the site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one; no percentage stated not stated not stated on pages readable
Top-up crypto, converted once at purchase USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app; converted to USD or EUR; networks not stated
Rewards not stated officially not stated not stated not stated

Read that table for what it says about the category: four cards, and not one published a fee percentage I could read. Cardex at least tells you the *mechanism* — conversion happens at the moment of payment rather than once at purchase, with no number attached. CardFlow is the only one with a clear price statement, and it is free to create, which tells you nothing about spending. HyperCard’s “176 countries” is about where the card is accepted, not who can get one, which is the same confusion Trocador’s unofficial 164-country line invites.

If none of these fits — and on the evidence, none obviously does — the honest comparison is not another crypto card. It is the card you already have, plus the question of why it is not working for you.

Who I would recommend it to

In short: to someone who already has crypto they are not planning to move, has no usable bank card, and wants to spend in a shop this week without giving a stranger their home address or their bank’s permission.

To be specific about your situation, this card earns its place if all of these are true:

I would steer you away if any of these are true:

And the last thing I would tell anyone reading this. A card is a payment instrument, not a bank account: the money sits with an issuer the card does not name, safeguarded under rules you cannot read on this product’s pages, and Visa or Mastercard can end the programme. Whatever you load, load it as money you can afford to have interrupted.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Trocador card?

It is a prepaid Mastercard or Visa you buy with cryptocurrency rather than with money from a bank account. You choose a card from several providers, pay in crypto on the web — BTC, XMR, LTC, stablecoins and others via AnonPay, though the exact coin list is not confirmed — and receive a fixed-value balance to spend. There is no app; the purchase happens on the site. It is a payment instrument, not a bank account.

How does the Trocador card work?

Your crypto is converted once, at the moment you buy the card, and the result is loaded as a fixed balance. The card then spends that balance and only that balance, which is why it cannot overdraw and why there is no monthly bill to pay. It works in shops, and Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay usually work. It is refused where 3-D Secure is required and where gift or prepaid cards are turned away.

Is Trocador a bank?

No, and the distinction is not cosmetic. It is operated by Reta Development Assets LLC, and the cards are delivered by Reward, MyPrepaidCenter and Obsidian, with the issuing institution not named (per CryptoCardHub) and licences not stated. In practice a bank is VISA or Mastercard that issued your card, and they can suspend a programme — as happened with WaveCrest in Europe in 2018.

Does Trocador require KYC?

The card’s public pages do not say. Not “light” checks and not “full” checks — the requirement is simply not stated, and neither are the verification tiers. That matters because KYC rules generally require regulated businesses to verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, including sanctions screening, which is often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address.

How much does a Trocador card cost?

Unofficially, 3% of the card’s nominal value plus $2, or on one alternative brand, Obsidian, $0.60 per purchase and $5 a month after the second month, plus 2.75% on payments not in USD. The card’s own public pages state no issuance cost, monthly fee, conversion fee or FX fee at all. Treat every number above as unconfirmed by the card and get the fee schedule in writing before spending.

Can I top up the card more than once?

No, not in the ordinary sense. Crypto is converted once, at the point where you buy a fixed-value card, and there is no reload afterwards — unofficial sources say topping up is not provided. Plan it as a single-use instrument sized to the period you need, because converting more later is not an option.

Where can I use the card, and where will it be refused?

It works in physical shops and generally in Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. It will be refused where 3-D Secure is required, at merchants who turn down prepaid or gift cards, and anywhere you would need an ATM, since unofficial sources say there are none. Some shops also decline foreign-issued BINs, because the card’s issuing country is visible in its first digits.

Is the Trocador card safe?

There is no official incident on record for the card itself, and no promise of safety from me either. What is documented: user reports of MyPrepaidCenter activation problems, billing-address validation failures, declines, locked access and slow support (CryptoCardHub, August 2026), and a reportedly weak provider profile. Trustpilot shows 4.8 out of 5 from 267 reviews (read 2026-10-21), but that is mostly the exchange, not the cards.

Is it worth it?

For a small, short-term balance spent face to face, yes — that is the case the card is built for. For anything else, the numbers do not support it: the fee schedule is unpublished, there are no cash withdrawals, no top-ups, no app controls, and dispute handling is not stated. Also remember that spending a crypto-funded balance can be a taxable disposal, so check your position with a professional in your own country.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team