Mexico-only, fees unpublished, and useful mainly for Mexican residents borrowing against crypto
Orbi is a crypto card that turns a digital balance into ordinary Mastercard payments, and on paper it is aimed at Mexican residents who want to spend against digital assets without selling them first. In practice, what I can confirm from the card’s own public pages is thin in exactly the places where you would need detail: the fees are not published, the issuing and custody structure is only partly described, and the terms quietly reserve the right to change your limits. The card’s own line is that “servicios disponibles únicamente en territorio mexicano” — services are available only in Mexican territory — and some services are limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents. That single sentence decides who this review is for.
If you are reading this from outside Mexico, the honest answer is that this is not your card and the rest of the page is mostly context. If you are in Mexico and already hold stablecoins or crypto, there is a real proposition here — a virtual Mastercard issued instantly, a credit line secured by your own digital assets, and support in Spanish during a long daytime window. Whether it is worth opening depends on numbers the card has not published, which is the whole problem, and the reason my score lands in the middle rather than higher.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
The short verdict
I score Orbi 5.0 out of 10. It is a live, real product from a Mexican company with a Mastercard programme behind it, not a whitepaper or a waitlist. That is the good news. The bad news is that eligibility is narrow, the cost of using it is undisclosed, and the details you would need to judge it responsibly — network support for deposits, custody model, limits, cash withdrawal terms — are simply not on the public pages.
Who it suits: Mexican residents, at least 18, who want to spend USDG, USDT or USDC through a normal Mastercard at shops and in ATMs, and who are comfortable with a Spanish-language interface and a company that has not published its fee schedule.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside Mexico; anyone who needs a clearly itemised, predictable cost before signing up; anyone whose priority is a phone wallet, since Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed; anyone nervous about holding digital assets with a provider whose custody and licence position is not described; and anyone who wants cashback, because the card page does not mention it.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | Services only in Mexican territory; some services limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fees and card price are not disclosed; terms link to a fees section with no amounts |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Works with USDG, USDT and USDC, plus a credit line secured by digital assets; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V.; BIN sponsor SoFi Tech Solutions; Mastercard; no complaints found; licences not named |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Instant virtual Mastercard, cash withdrawal at ATMs; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A real Mexico-first card, held back by an unpublished fee sheet and undisclosed infrastructure |
Who will they give the card to
Short answer: Mexican residents, and for some services only Mexican citizens or permanent residents. The card’s terms say plainly that services are available only in Mexican territory, and add that some services are restricted to Mexican citizens or permanent residents. If you are a visitor, a remote worker on a Mexican address who is not a resident, or simply curious from another country, this is a dead end, and no amount of good intentions will change it.
Beyond geography, the basic adult rule applies: users must be at least 18. The identity check itself covers your email, your mobile number, your personal data and your documents — though the specific documents are not named, and whether proof of address is required is not stated. There is no published step-by-step for how the application moves from start to approval. The help centre does carry a “Verificación de Identidad” section with five articles, so the material exists; it is just not summarised on the page you land on.
None of this is unusual for a regulated financial product. Identity checks of this kind are standard because anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to verify customers and keep watching for suspicious activity. What is worth knowing, and rarely appears in card marketing, is that nationality and residence are treated separately. Sanctions screening and an issuer’s own risk policy are often applied to your citizenship and country of birth, not only to your address. So even inside Mexico, the answer to “can I get it” is not simply “I live there.”
On the practical side, the card itself is a Mastercard administered by Orbi, and the virtual card is issued “al instante” — instantly. Whether a physical card exists is not stated on the card page; news coverage says physical and virtual were planned, but that is not the same as shipped. The currency of the card is not stated. Delivery times, if a physical card is even offered, are not stated.
That is the eligibility picture in full: clear on the border, vague on the paperwork.
How to get it
The honest answer is that the card’s public pages do not lay out the steps, so I will not invent them. What they do tell me is what you will have to hand over: an email address, a mobile number, your data, and documents — the specific documents unnamed — and confirmation that you are 18 or older. Whether you need proof of address is not stated. That is the substance of the sign-up as far as the public record goes.
The reason the steps are thin is not laziness but regulation. In the EU, for example, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, rules require the institution to decline the transaction or, where necessary, end the relationship — which is why accounts get frozen pending paperwork. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also check proof-of-address documents against records. Orbi operates under Mexican rules, and I am not going to guess what those mirror, but the shape of the check is predictable: identity, address, and a screening pass.
So: expect to upload documents, expect to be at least 18, expect the process to be in Spanish, and expect the help centre’s identity-verification articles to be where the detail lives if the summary page leaves you stuck.
What it really costs: the Fees picture
This is the weakest part of the card’s public presentation, and I want to be blunt about it. The card does not publish what it charges. The terms say fees are listed in the fees section of the website, but no amounts are given. The cost of issuance is not stated. The monthly fee is not stated. The crypto-to-fiat conversion charge is not stated. The foreign-exchange charge is not stated. The ATM fee and allowance are not stated, even though cash withdrawal at ATMs is listed as a supported use.

| Fee or limit | What the card discloses |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee (crypto to fiat) | Not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal fee and allowance | Not stated |
| Daily / weekly / monthly limits | Not stated — Orbi may set or change limits per transaction and per day, week or month without prior authorisation |
That last row deserves a second look. The terms reserve Orbi’s right to set or change transaction limits and daily, weekly and monthly limits without asking you first. That is a broad discretion, and it is the sort of clause that matters most not on day one but the day you need the card to go through.
Because nothing is itemised, let me walk the cost through three ordinary payments and show you which unknown bites. A coffee in Mexico City paid with the virtual card: you tap, the balance converts to fiat at the point of sale, the merchant receives fiat — but I cannot tell you what share of that goes to the conversion, because the conversion fee is not stated. A card purchase abroad in euros or dollars: on top of whatever conversion applies, a foreign-exchange fee may apply, and its size is not stated; there is also a real chance the payment is declined outright, because a foreign-issued BIN can look “foreign” to the shop, and merchant-category handling of prepaid and foreign BINs varies. A withdrawal at an ATM: cash withdrawal is a listed use, but the fee and the allowance are not stated, so you cannot tell what a reasonable withdrawal looks like on this card.
If you want a sense of the category you are comparing against: the stablecoins themselves move on networks where the deposit’s on-chain gas or bandwidth fee is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. That network fee is separate from anything Orbi might charge, and also separate from the conversion and FX costs above.
So the honest summary on cost: you cannot budget this card from its public pages. You have to accept that the total cost of a payment is unknown until you have already made it.
How to Top up the card
Topping up is the part of Orbi’s proposition that is most clearly stated, and it is also where the product feels real. The card works with three dollar-pegged stablecoins — USDG, USDT and USDC — and it offers a credit line that “se garantiza con activos digitales,” meaning the borrowing is secured against digital assets. In plain terms: rather than selling your crypto to spend, you can borrow against it and spend the proceeds, keeping your position open.

What is not stated: which blockchain networks you are meant to send those stablecoins on. That is not a small gap. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Stablecoins live on many networks — USDC alone is natively supported on dozens of them — so “which network” is a real question, not a detail.
There are also practical wrinkles that belong on your radar because they apply to this whole category of card. Some networks charge in their own token, not in the stablecoin: on Ethereum, for instance, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send. Tron prices fees in bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And because Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron, “USDC over TRC20” is not a native route in the first place.
Withdrawal details are not stated either. What the terms do say about closing an account is that closure requires no active obligations and no positive crypto balance — so before you can walk away, you would need to have nothing owed and nothing left sitting in crypto.
The specific top-up method, minimums and timing are not stated on the card pages. My advice is the boring one: find the supported network in the help centre or the app before you send a single token, because getting it wrong is the one mistake here that cannot be undone.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, Orbi behaves like a familiar payment card with an unusual funding model underneath. The virtual Mastercard is issued instantly, so you can start spending as soon as you are verified, and cash withdrawal at ATMs is a listed use — useful if you need local currency in hand. At the point of sale, your funds are converted to fiat and the merchant receives fiat; the card’s currency is not stated, which leaves some guesswork about how amounts are handled.
Whether you can add it to your phone is the practical gap. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not disclosed. That matters more than it sounds: tokenised mobile wallets are one of the standard safeguards people rely on, and their absence from the disclosure means I cannot tell you whether phone payments, and their device-level security, are available at all. If you are someone who pays with your phone by default, treat this as an open question to ask before you commit.
Two more everyday-use notes. Rewards: the card page does not mention cashback. Orbi Boost offers rewards for freezing digital dollars, but it explicitly does not guarantee rewards — so treat anything there as a promotional possibility, not a plan. And on disputes: if something goes wrong with a charge, the timeframe for raising it is not stated, and the terms allow Orbi to hold assets during a dispute — which is a sharp edge, because “held” and “your money to spend” are different things.
Apps are listed on Google Play and the App Store; I did not read the ratings, so I will not pretend to know whether users are happy with them. Support runs through in-app chat and on the website, 8:00 in the morning to 8:00 at night, with a Spanish-language help centre.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone publicly wrong with this card that I can find. That is genuinely worth saying, and it is not the same as saying it is safe. Here is what I would be weighing.
The cost is unknown. Already covered, and it is the big one. You cannot know what a payment costs before you make it.
The custody model is not described. The credit line is secured by your digital assets, but how those assets are held is not stated. This matters more than it first appears. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely; with a self-custody-linked card your funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, and you bear the risk of key loss and phishing instead. Which model Orbi uses is not something I can tell you. And the general risk is not theoretical: custodial platforms have a documented history of failure — Mt. Gox, Coincheck and the Ronin Network bridge hack, among them.
Irreversibility cuts both ways. Crypto transfers typically cannot be reversed, and a stolen private key has no recovery path, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. If a deposit goes to the wrong network, you may need support’s help and have no guarantee.
Limits can move without warning. Notified in the terms, and worth internalising: you can find your daily or monthly ceiling changed with no prior consultation.
Disputes can freeze your assets. The terms allow Orbi to hold assets during a dispute. If your balance is your line of liquidity, that is a meaningful operational risk.
Licences are not named. The card’s licence status is not stated, and I am not going to paraphrase a regulatory perimeter I cannot see. It is the kind of thing a careful person checks in the relevant public register before trusting a provider with money.
Card-payment rails have their own failure modes. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that lingers, sometimes up to seven days. Some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign BINs outright. Address-verification checks, which compare the billing address you type against issuer records, are generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause declines — a real consideration for a card issued in one country and used in another. And if a programme ever does get wound down, the pattern is usually a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains.
No complaints is not the same as no problems. I found no official incidents and no reviews of the card in search or on the platform I checked, where the page did not exist. With a young product that is unsurprising — it is a thin track record, not a clean one. It is also worth remembering that the card networks themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme, which is exactly what happened with FTX’s card when Visa terminated its agreements in November 2022. Programme continuity is not a given.
What to take instead
If Orbi’s Mexico-only, unpublished-fee profile does not fit you, these are the alternatives I compared it against, with their own trade-offs stated just as plainly.
Sponge (I score it 4.9 / 10). A virtual card created in-app, described on its homepage as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. You move USDC collateral from the Sponge wallet with a card-fund command; the example chain shown is Base, and its SDK mentions Base or Solana as optional. No country list on the card pages (its platform terms set a minimum age of 13 for the service). Issuance cost, fees and rewards are not stated. It sits below Orbi overall, mostly because so little is published about its cost and eligibility.
Nexo (6.3 / 10). The most transparent of the three on money: no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, free shipping on the physical card, and clearly stated foreign-exchange fees — 0.2% on weekdays for the EEA, UK and Switzerland versus 2% elsewhere, rising to 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends. It is for residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom” (no country list on the page, excluded jurisdictions not named). You get a virtual card that activates in the app and a physical one; it is issued by DiPocket UAB. You spend from the Nexo account across more than 100 digital assets, and cashback in Credit Mode requires holding more than $5,000 in digital assets, paying out in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin at rates from 0.5%/0.1% up to 2%/0.5% depending on tier. Two frictions: the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate, and the physical card requires a balance above $5,000 and at least Gold tier. It is also worth knowing, though not from Nexo itself, that Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations.
Xplace (7.7 / 10). The best-scoring of the three, and the clearest on price. A Visa card, virtual instantly and physical (Silver is live; Gold and Platinum were coming, with delivery quoted at 7–14 business days). You deposit BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT or xStocks on the Solana network. Cash mode spends a stablecoin balance; Credit mode borrows against your holdings with no origination fee. The annual fees are stated outright: Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999. Platinum gets 0% FX; other tiers’ FX and conversion fees are not stated, though stablecoin spending is described as having “no hidden spread.” Credit-mode cashback runs 0.5% on Basic up to 2% on Platinum, paid in USDC to your wallet at settlement. Its limits are the same kind of gap: no country list, and “services are not available in all jurisdictions,” though it is accepted in 160+ countries.
Read those three against Orbi and the trade-off sharpens. Nexo and Xplace publish their headline prices and tell you who they serve. Orbi does not publish either. What Orbi does have, and they do not, is a stated credit line secured by digital assets with USDG, USDT and USDC named. If you are eligible in Mexico and want to borrow against crypto rather than spend a stable balance, that is a genuine gap in the alternatives. If you want to know what you are paying, it is not.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Orbi to a Mexican resident, at least 18, who already holds USDG, USDT or USDC, wants to spend through a familiar Mastercard without selling the position first, and is willing to treat the cost as a thing you discover in practice rather than on paper. I would steer such a person first toward one specific question — what does a payment actually cost, conversion and FX included — and toward confirming, before the first transfer, which network the deposits are meant to arrive on.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card for someone who is cautious with money, because the fee sheet is not published and the custody model is not described. I would not recommend it outside Mexico, since the card says so itself. I would not recommend it to someone who lives on their phone wallet, or to someone who needs a guaranteed reward rate, because neither is on offer as described.
The honest verdict is that Orbi is an interesting, real, early product with a sensible idea — borrow, don’t sell — attached to a company that has not yet published the details a careful customer needs. It scores 5.0 / 10 not because it does anything wrong, but because it does not yet tell you enough to trust it with a budget. Watch for the fee schedule and the licence details to appear, and this score can move.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Orbi card?
Orbi is a crypto payment card from a Mexican company, Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V. It converts a digital balance into ordinary Mastercard purchases and cash withdrawals. Instead of selling your crypto to spend it, the card offers a credit line secured against your digital assets, so you can spend while keeping your position. It is a Mastercard administered by Orbi, with a virtual card issued instantly and cash withdrawal at ATMs listed as a supported use.
Who can actually get the Orbi card?
Residents of Mexico, essentially. The card’s terms state that services are available only in Mexican territory, and that some services are limited to Mexican citizens or permanent residents. You must be at least 18. Identity checks cover your email, mobile number, data and documents, though the specific documents and whether proof of address is needed are not stated. If you are outside Mexico or not a resident, this is not your card.
Does the Orbi card require KYC?
Yes. The card verifies your email, mobile number, personal data and documents before you can use it. This is standard, because anti-money-laundering rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and monitor transactions. Note that nationality is screened separately from residence, so your citizenship can matter as much as your address. If verification stalls, the help centre has a “Verificación de Identidad” section with five articles.
Is Orbi a bank?
The public pages do not describe Orbi as a bank, and no banking licence is named. What is stated is that Orbi Payments, S.A.P.I. de C.V. is incorporated in Mexico, with SoFi Tech Solutions as the BIN sponsor and fintech infrastructure provider, alongside Mastercard. Licences are not named on the pages I reviewed, so I cannot tell you precisely what regulatory status the balance sits under. If that distinction matters to you, check the company’s licence position yourself before depositing.
What does the Orbi card cost?
The card does not publish its fees. The terms say fees are listed in a fees section of the website, but no amounts are given — not for issuance, not monthly, not for conversion, not for foreign exchange, and not for ATM withdrawals. The cost of a payment also includes whatever spread applies when your crypto converts to fiat at the point of sale. Treat the total cost as unknown until you have made a purchase, and budget accordingly.
Can I use the Orbi card in my country?
Only if you are in Mexican territory, because the card restricts services to Mexico. If you travel, note two further limits: a foreign-issued card can be declined by some merchants who see the issuing country in the BIN lookup, and address-verification checks used by many overseas shops are generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. Cash withdrawal abroad may also attract fees that the card does not disclose.
How do I top up the Orbi card?
The card works with USDG, USDT and USDC, and lets you draw on a credit line backed by your digital assets. What is not stated is which blockchain networks those stablecoins should be sent on. This matters: transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on the wrong network, or to another network’s address, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Confirm the supported network in the app or help centre before sending anything. Closing an account also requires no active obligations and no positive crypto balance.
Can I add the Orbi card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
I cannot confirm it, because the card does not disclose Apple Pay or Google Pay support. That is a real gap for anyone who pays by phone, since tokenised mobile wallets are one of the standard security safeguards. Treat phone-wallet support as an open question and ask before you commit, rather than assuming it works.
Does the Orbi card offer cashback or rewards?
The card page does not mention cashback. Orbi Boost offers rewards for freezing digital dollars, but it explicitly does not guarantee rewards, so I would not treat that as income. If rewards matter to your decision, look at alternatives: Nexo pays cashback in Credit Mode above a $5,000 balance, and Xplace pays credit-mode cashback from 0.5% to 2% by tier, depending on its paid plans.
Is the Orbi card safe to use?
I found no official incidents and no reviews of the card, so there is no track record either way — which is different from a clean one. The real questions to ask are ones the pages leave open: how your assets are held (the custody model is not stated), what licence applies (not named), and what happens in a dispute (the terms allow Orbi to hold assets). Crypto transfers are irreversible, and holding funds with a provider carries counterparty and hack risk, as the history of custodial platforms shows.
Choosing a credit or cashback card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
