Wasabi card: spending stablecoins through Visa or Mastercard, if you can find the fine print
Wasabi is a financial technology company that offers a crypto-linked payment card, and the pitch is straightforward enough. You fund it with stablecoins, it converts them to fiat at the moment of payment, and you spend wherever a card is accepted. The pages I read do most of the work in broad strokes, so a lot of the practical questions, including how much it costs, which coins and networks you can actually use, and who issues the card, end up in the gaps. That matters when you compare it with bank cards and other crypto cards that publish their terms more clearly.
This page walks through what Wasabi does, who it suits, and where the answers run out. If you are considering it because ordinary bank cards have been hard to get where you live, or because you want to spend stablecoins without converting them first, the details below should help you decide whether it fits.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The card scores 6.4 out of 10. That is a middling result, and it reflects a specific pattern: a strong availability story paired with a weak fee disclosure story. Anyone looking at this card will see that Wasabi aims at businesses and users who want stablecoin-funded virtual and physical cards, and that the card claims reach across 200+ countries and regions. What you will not see, at least on the pages I could read, are the actual numbers behind issuance, conversion, ATM withdrawals, or any monthly fee. That alone takes the cost score down to 5 out of 10.
For daily spending, the picture is brighter. A virtual card that binds to Apple Pay “instantly” and a physical card that can be added to the same wallet put the card on par with mainstream prepaid products, which is why everyday use sits at 8 out of 10. Top-up options land at 6 out of 10 because the only funding method I could confirm is the stablecoin route, branded “Spend with Stablecoin,” with limited coin and network detail on the public pages. Reliability and complaints score lowest at 4 out of 10, driven by the fact that the issuer and licences are not named, the terms include a non-custody disclaimer, and the public complaint footprint is thin but unfavourable where it exists.
Who is this card for, then? It suits readers who want a stablecoin-funded payment card and who are comfortable with a provider that leans on third-party issuing and licensed partners without naming them publicly. It is less suitable for anyone who needs to see, line by line, what a coffee, an ATM withdrawal, or a foreign-currency purchase will cost before they sign up.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | 200+ countries and regions, blocked only by sanctions and prohibited-jurisdiction rules |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Fee types are listed, but no amounts, and no monthly fee figure |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Stablecoin funding confirmed, with limited coin and network detail |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Issuer and licences not named, public complaint footprint is thin and unfavourable |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay binding, ATM access worldwide |
| Total | 6.4 / 10 | A solid availability story undermined by thin fee disclosure and unclear backing |
Who they will give the card to
The headline is appealing: starting data says Wasabi operates in 200+ countries and regions, and the terms back that up with residence-based rules rather than a fixed list of approved countries. That is a meaningful difference from cards that publish an allowlist, because it means most people will not need to check whether their country is “supported” before applying. They will, however, need to make sure they are not a resident or located in what the terms call a “prohibited or sanctioned jurisdiction,” and the terms do not enumerate that list. The upshot is that the gate is high in reach but vague in definition.
Identity verification is the second filter. The terms say users must “successfully complete any required identity verification (KYC/KYB) procedures” and that Wasabi may request a government-issued ID, proof of address, and a selfie. For corporate applicants, the documentation expands to company registration and beneficial-ownership details. Age is not stated, so the usual prepaid-card rule of 18+ applies by category rather than by anything specific in Wasabi’s terms. The terms also warn that failed verification can lead to suspension or termination of the account, which is standard but worth noting if you are applying from a country where obtaining utility bills or similar proof of address is not straightforward.
A practical point for the reader: the residence-based wording is friendlier than a citizenship block, but it is not the same as an unconditional welcome. If you have recently moved countries, or if you hold citizenship in a restricted jurisdiction but live elsewhere, expect extra questions at the KYC stage. The help centre mentions a KYC guide article, but the help-centre KYC tiers, including whether there are different verification levels with different limits, are not stated on the pages I could read.
How to get it
The application flow is not described step by step on the public pages, but the moving parts are clear enough. You start by completing whatever identity verification Wasabi requires, then you receive a card, virtual for immediate use and physical for delivery, and you fund it before spending. The web app lives at app.wasabicard.com, and there is no store listing visible to me, which means the primary client is the web app rather than a dedicated mobile download.
The card itself comes in two forms. There is a stablecoin-linked virtual card and a stablecoin-linked physical card, and the virtual card supports “instant binding” to Apple Pay, which is the part that matters most if you want to use the card before any plastic arrives. The physical card can also be added to Apple Pay, so you are not locked out of tokenised payments after delivery. Google Pay is not stated, and that is a real gap if your phone runs Android and Apple Pay is not an option.
Two things the pages do not say: which network the card runs on, and what currency the card balance is held in. Starting data suggests Visa or Mastercard and a USD balance, but neither is confirmed on the official pages I read. Card delivery timelines are not stated either, so if you need the physical card by a specific date, you would have to ask support rather than rely on a published window. The bottom line: getting the card is not the hard part; understanding what arrives in the post, and on which network, takes more digging.
Fees: what it really costs
This is where Wasabi’s transparency falls short, and it is the section to read carefully. The terms list the fee types that can apply: card issuance, foreign exchange, cross-border transactions, ATM withdrawals, chargeback handling, and replacement card fees. They do not give a single number for any of them. The site also says currency conversion rates may apply, again without figures, and the ATM section promises “competitive rates” worldwide without naming the fee or the monthly allowance. A monthly fee is not stated at all.

For a reader, this means the published materials tell you that costs exist, not what they are. The closest thing to a number is the virtual card’s “card limit up to 10,000 USD” and the physical card’s “flexible spending limits,” which tell you the ceiling rather than the price of getting there. The site’s “Spend in 7+ currencies” line suggests cross-currency support, but the card currency itself is not stated, so it is hard to know whether you are paying a conversion fee or spending in your home denomination. The third-party starting data points to Visa or Mastercard on a USD balance, which would mean foreign-currency spending triggers the FX fee type the terms list, but the percentage is not published.
Three everyday payments illustrate why this matters. First, buying a coffee in your home currency: if the card balance is in USD and the merchant prices in your local currency, you are paying the conversion fee the terms mention, with no published rate. Second, withdrawing cash from an ATM: the terms list an ATM fee type with no figure, so you do not know whether each withdrawal eats into a free allowance, costs a flat amount, or carries a percentage. Third, paying a foreign online merchant in euros or pounds: the cross-border fee type is listed, but without numbers, the only way to find out what it costs is to try.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Currency conversion | rate applies, not stated |
| Foreign exchange / cross-border | fee type listed, not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | fee type listed, not stated |
| Chargeback handling | fee type listed, not stated |
| Replacement card | fee type listed, not stated |
| Virtual card limit | up to 10,000 USD |
| Physical card limits | flexible, not stated |
| Card tiers | not stated |
The pattern is consistent: Wasabi’s terms name every fee a reader would want to know about, then declines to put a number next to it. For a card aimed at businesses and stablecoin users, that is a real shortcoming, and the cost score of 5 out of 10 reflects it.
Top up: how to fund the card
The funding model is the card’s clearest feature. Wasabi calls it “Spend with Stablecoin,” and the idea is that you transfer stablecoins in, and the card uses the resulting balance to pay. The starting data points to USDT on the TRC20 and BEP20 networks, but the public pages do not list the supported coins and networks explicitly, and other coins are not described. If you want to fund with something other than USDT, you would need to confirm with support before sending anything, because sending the wrong token to the wrong address is one of the most common ways to lose money in this category.

The mechanics of a top-up are typical of stablecoin-funded cards. You generate or copy a deposit address for the supported network, send the stablecoin from your wallet or exchange, wait for the transaction to confirm, and the card balance updates once the provider credits it. The confirmation and credit timelines, including how many block confirmations Wasabi requires, are not stated. Refund timing is not stated either, and the terms include a clause that “funds may be temporarily withheld pending investigation,” which is a standard risk language for any custodial or semi-custodial service but is worth keeping in mind if you are topping up right before a large payment.
Withdrawal of remaining balances is not described, so you would not know, from the public pages, how to cash out unspent funds back into crypto or fiat. This is one of the questions worth asking support before you load meaningful amounts. The underlying point is that the funding story is simple in concept, but thin in detail, and the responsibility for picking the right coin and network falls almost entirely on the user.
Paying with it every day
In day-to-day use, the card behaves the way most readers would expect. The virtual card is the fast path: you get a card number, you bind it to Apple Pay, and you can pay in stores that accept contactless payments without waiting for anything to arrive in the post. The physical card, once delivered, can also be added to Apple Pay, which means you can keep using tokenised payments even after the plastic shows up. Google Pay is not stated, so the Android experience is the one area where the public materials do not give a clear answer.
For online payments, the card number on the virtual card works like any other card number, subject to the issuer’s 3-D Secure settings and the merchant’s acceptance. Address Verification Service is more common in the US, Canada, and the UK, and it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which means you may see declines from merchants who rely on AVS. Some merchants also decline prepaid or foreign BINs outright, because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country. If you find yourself declined at an unfamiliar merchant, that is usually the reason, and it is worth keeping a backup card for those situations.
The card’s blocked categories are not stated on the pages I could read. Many crypto cards block gambling merchants (MCC 7995) by policy rather than by law, but the exact list depends on the issuer, and Wasabi does not publish one. If a specific category matters to you, ask support before relying on the card for it.
The Wasabi web app is the primary client. There is no store listing visible to me, so the experience is centred on the browser rather than a native app download. Refunds and chargebacks are governed by the terms: refunds “may take up to 30 business days to be reflected,” and chargebacks require supporting documentation with no guarantee of recovery. A “Cashback” product is listed on the site, along with a referral programme, but the cashback rate and conditions are not stated, so I cannot tell you what the rewards are worth in practice. If cashback is the reason you are considering the card, treat it as a possibility rather than a feature.
What can go wrong
The risks section is the one to read if you have any doubts. The first is the company behind the card. Wasabi Ltd describes itself as a financial technology company, “not bank or custodians,” and says the card and OTC services are “provided in partnership with licensed institutions or banks.” The issuer and the licences themselves are not named on the pages I could read, and the help centre does include a “Licenses & Compliance” page, but the public information stops short of telling you which bank is on the other end. That is a meaningful gap if you care about the regulatory standing of the institution that actually holds the card programme.
The second is the complaint footprint. The public complaint data is thin, but what is there is not reassuring. Trustpilot shows a single 1-star review dated 8 July 2026, which calls out high setup fees, low quality, and heavy restrictions on the cards. The same source gives a TrustScore of 3 based on that single review, which I read on 2026-10-21. A single review is not a track record, but it is a data point, and in combination with the lack of named issuer and licences, it adds up to a reliability picture that is not strong. The reliability and complaints score of 4 out of 10 reflects that.
The third is custody and security. The “Security by Design” page describes the ability to create, delete, and isolate funds per card, and the card is described as non-custodial, which means the crypto side is meant to stay in your control rather than in Wasabi’s. That is a positive, but it does not remove all the risks that come with self-custody, including key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps addresses you copy. Two-factor authentication is not stated, so I cannot confirm whether 2FA is available, mandatory, or optional in the app. The funds-on-card model also means that if the issuer or programme closes, you face the typical wind-down pattern: notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances, with the timeline and method depending on the programme manager and the licensed partner.
The fourth is support. Live chat, email with a stated 24-hour response window, phone, and a Telegram channel at t.me/wasabicard_official are listed. Hours and languages are not stated, so if you need a specific language or a specific time zone, that is another question for support. The terms include a clause allowing funds to be temporarily withheld pending investigation, which is standard but worth bearing in mind if you load large amounts right before a big payment. None of this is unique to Wasabi, but the combination of an unnamed issuer, thin fee disclosure, and a complaint footprint that is small but unfavourable is the reason the reliability score lands where it does.
What to take instead
If the gaps above make you hesitate, three alternatives are worth a look. None of them is a perfect substitute, and the right choice depends on what you actually need.
Cardex is a crypto debit card that supports VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, and UnionPay, with virtual and physical options. It claims reach across 200+ countries, though the App Store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests the strongest fit is in Nigeria. The site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks the best exchange rate at the moment of payment, but the fee percentage is not stated. It accepts USDT, USDC, and BTC, with networks not described. Cardex scores 5.6 out of 10, slightly behind Wasabi, with the same kind of fee-disclosure gap in a different package.
CardFlow is aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users,” with a virtual USD Mastercard that the site says can be created in 3 minutes. Creating a virtual card is “completely free” per the site FAQ, though monthly fees and other charges are not stated. Funding is through Bitcoin, USDT, ETH, or Naira bank transfer, with networks not described. CardFlow scores 4.9 out of 10, and the free creation is a real positive, but the lack of detail on the rest of the fee schedule is the trade-off.
HyperCard is a prepaid card with a USD or EUR balance, and the App Store says it works in more than 176 countries, which is acceptance, not eligibility. The official pages do not state a country list, and the network is not stated on the App Store listing. Funding is by depositing crypto such as USDT, BTC, or ETH in the app, which is then converted to USD or EUR on the card. Networks are not stated, and rewards are not described. HyperCard scores 4.7 out of 10.
| Card | Score | Networks | Funding | Fees disclosed | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wasabi | 6.4 / 10 | not stated officially (Visa or Mastercard per starting data) | Stablecoin, coins and networks not fully stated | Fee types only, no amounts | Broad reach with stablecoin funding |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | USDT, USDC, BTC | Conversion rate described, fee % not stated | Multi-network spending, Naira-friendly |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Mastercard (virtual USD) | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer | Creation free, rest not stated | Free virtual card in Nigeria |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | not stated | USDT, BTC, ETH | not stated | Prepaid USD or EUR balance |
The honest reading is that none of these cards fully solves the fee-disclosure problem, and each has gaps in different places. Wasabi’s edge is the reach and the stablecoin focus; its weakness is the same fee gap that drags the others down. If you need a card with clearer published numbers, the category as a whole is not in a good place to offer that right now.
Who I would recommend it to
After going through the facts, my recommendation narrows to a specific reader. Wasabi is worth considering if you are outside the traditional banking system and you need a card that works in 200+ countries, if you specifically want to spend stablecoins without first converting to fiat on an exchange, and if you are comfortable with a provider that names the fee types but not the amounts. The Apple Pay binding on the virtual card makes it usable immediately, and the non-custody positioning on the crypto side is a positive if you would rather keep control of your keys.
It is not the right card if you need to see the cost of every transaction before you make it, if you require a named issuer and clear licensing on the public pages, if Google Pay matters to you, or if the published complaint footprint gives you pause. It is also not the right card if you want a clear withdrawal path for unspent balances, because that detail is not on the public pages either.
The practical advice, if you decide to try it, is to start with the virtual card, fund it with a small stablecoin amount on a network you can confirm with support, and test the spending, ATM, and refund paths before you load anything significant. That is the only way to turn the unnamed fees into actual numbers, and it is the only way to find out whether the support and dispute process works the way the terms describe.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wasabi card?
The Wasabi card is a stablecoin-linked payment card offered by Wasabi Ltd, a financial technology company. It comes as a virtual card and a physical card, and you fund it with stablecoins that are converted to a card balance for spending. The public pages describe a virtual card with instant Apple Pay binding and a physical card that can also be added to Apple Pay.
How does the Wasabi card work?
You complete identity verification, receive a virtual or physical card, fund it with stablecoins through the “Spend with Stablecoin” feature, and then spend at merchants that accept the card’s network. The crypto is converted to a fiat balance on the card, which is the model most prepaid crypto cards use. The card cannot overdraw because it draws on the loaded balance.
Is Wasabi a bank?
No. Wasabi Ltd describes itself as a financial technology company, “not bank or custodians,” and says the card and OTC services are “provided in partnership with licensed institutions or banks.” The specific issuer and the licences behind the card programme are not named on the public pages I could read, though a “Licenses & Compliance” page exists in the help centre.
Who owns Wasabi?
The public materials name Wasabi Ltd as the company behind the card, but ownership, group structure, and the regulatory licences of the issuing partner are not described on the pages I read. If ownership matters to your decision, the help-centre “Licenses & Compliance” page is the place to start, and the licensed partner’s own disclosures would be the next step beyond that.
Is the Wasabi card available in my country?
The starting data says Wasabi operates in 200+ countries and regions, and the terms use residence-based rules rather than a fixed allowlist. The block is on “prohibited or sanctioned jurisdiction,” and that list is not published. If your country is not under sanctions, the most likely answer is yes, but KYC will still need to be completed before the card is issued.
Does the Wasabi card require KYC?
Yes. The terms require users to complete identity verification, which can include a government-issued ID, proof of address, and a selfie. Corporate applicants face additional documentation, including company registration and beneficial-ownership details. Age is not stated, and failed verification can lead to suspension or termination of the account.
How do I top up the Wasabi card?
You fund the card with stablecoins through the “Spend with Stablecoin” feature. The starting data points to USDT on TRC20 and BEP20, but the public pages do not list the supported coins and networks fully. The right approach is to confirm the network with support before sending anything, because sending the wrong token or using the wrong network can result in lost funds.
Is the Wasabi card free?
The terms list the fee types that can apply, including card issuance, foreign exchange, cross-border transactions, ATM withdrawals, chargeback handling, and replacement card fees, but none of the amounts are published. A monthly fee is not stated. The virtual card has a stated limit of up to 10,000 USD, and the physical card has flexible spending limits, but the costs of reaching those limits are not on the public pages.
How do I add the Wasabi card to Apple Wallet?
The virtual card supports “instant binding” to Apple Pay, and the physical card can also be added to Apple Pay once it is issued. The exact steps happen inside the web app at app.wasabicard.com, where you would typically follow the wallet-binding flow and authenticate the device. Google Pay is not stated in the public materials, so the Android path is not confirmed.
Is the Wasabi card safe?
The “Security by Design” page describes per-card fund isolation and a non-custodial model on the crypto side, which means the keys to your crypto are meant to stay with you. Two-factor authentication is not stated, so I cannot confirm whether it is available. The card’s licensed partner and the programme’s regulatory standing are not named on the public pages, which is the main reason the reliability score lands at 4 out of 10. If safety is your top priority, the lack of a named issuer and the thin complaint footprint are points to weigh before you load meaningful amounts.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
