Free to open, thin on detail: what a Wenia card actually does for you

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have run into trouble getting an ordinary bank card — a declined application, a closed account, a payroll that would not arrive — a crypto card looks like a way around the queue. Wenia is one of the products that comes up when people search for that. It is a digital Mastercard offered by a Colombian company, you pay with it from a crypto balance, and creating it is free. That is genuinely attractive. It is also the entire sales pitch, and almost everything else you would want to know is missing from the pages that describe it. My score for it is 6.1 out of 10. Read on for why, and for the specific points where I would want answers before I trusted it with money I cannot replace.

Wenia works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict: 6.1 out of 10

Wenia is a free, digital-only Mastercard that spends a crypto balance, offered to Colombian residents. That is a narrow, specific product, and inside that narrow space it does a couple of things unusually well: it charges nothing to open and nothing per month, and it pays no conversion surcharge when you stick to its own three tokens. Outside that space, the public pages tell you very little — who qualifies, what currency the card is denominated in, which blockchain to send money on, what an ATM withdrawal costs. I scored it 6.1 because the cost picture is unusually clean and almost everything a careful reader needs is simply not stated.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wenia starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is where each mark came from:

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the app; eligibility conditions are not listed anywhere
Cost 9 / 10 Free to create, no management fee, no monthly charges, 0% interest; payments in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no extra cost, other coins may incur a conversion fee
Top-up options 8 / 10 Pays from a digital asset balance: COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK, ADA; the asset is switched inside the app, though the networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Wenia S.A.S. (NIT 901656609-9), supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, Mastercard network, issuing bank not named; no complaints found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Digital Mastercard only, Apple Pay and Google Pay mentioned, in-store payment through a mobile wallet described as coming soon; no physical card and no ATM

Read those five marks together rather than separately. A single 2 drags the total down harder than a single 9 lifts it, and that is the right weighting here: cost is what you can verify from the page, eligibility is what you cannot verify at all, and the second one matters more when you are in the situation this card is aimed at. A free card you are not eligible for is worth nothing.

So who does it suit? A resident of Colombia who already holds crypto, pays mainly online, and wants a payment card that costs nothing to hold and can pay straight from that balance. Who does it suit less? Anyone who needs a physical card, needs an ATM, wants to spend in a shop by tapping, or lives outside Colombia and is hoping residency somewhere else will do. Also anyone who plans to hold a large balance on it, because a 10,000 USD monthly ceiling is a real constraint and the route to raising it runs through customer service rather than a published form.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: the pages do not say. Eligibility is not listed. The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app, and that sentence is all the confirmation of who can hold one that I could find.

I want to be plain about what that means rather than dress it up. There is no published age requirement, no residency length, no statement about nationality versus residence, no income condition, no list of excluded countries. The company is a Colombian entity — Wenia S.A.S., tax number NIT 901656609-9 — supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, the Colombian consumer and competition authority. The page says it issues and operates the card itself on the Mastercard network, and it does not name a separate bank issuer.

If you are reading this from outside Colombia, take the practical reading: this is a Colombian product, the app is the gate, and the app will tell you at sign-up whether it will open an account for you. If you are inside Colombia and blocked by a bank, that is the audience this product appears designed for. Neither group gets a published rule to study first, so plan on finding out by trying.

One general point about cards of this kind is worth holding onto. Your nationality and your country of residence are two different things to a card issuer, and both get checked — one for sanctions screening, the other for risk policy and for whether the product is offered there at all. So if you hold a passport from one country and live in another, the answer to “can I get this” is not obviously the same as the answer to “can I live here”. Where a provider publishes a country list, treat it as the beginning of the question rather than the end of it.

How to get it

The published sequence is short: download the Wenia app, open an account, create the card in the app, and choose the digital asset you want to pay with. That last step is the one that matters most and the one people tend to skim, because the asset you pick is the asset your money is converted from on every payment after that.

What you get at the end of it is a digital, virtual Mastercard for online use worldwide. No physical card is mentioned anywhere on the pages. In-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon. The currency the card is denominated in is not stated.

That last omission is worth pausing on, because it is not a small detail when you are picking between a Colombian product and something else. A card with no stated currency has no stated conversion path, no stated FX treatment, and no stated answer to what happens if you pay a subscription denominated in a currency you never chose. The pages also do not state what KYC involves — not what documents are needed, not how the checks are run, not how long they take. Every regulated card has identity verification built into it; here, the shape of that process is simply not described.

There is no activation step described separately, because a virtual card that lives inside a mobile wallet generally is the card. That is a feature, not an omission: nothing to mail, nothing to wait for, nothing to lose in a postal box.

What it really costs: fees

This is the strongest part of the product and the reason it scores 9 out of 10. Wenia is free to create, carries no management fee and no monthly charges — the pages say so directly, in words — and charges 0% interest. Payments made in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. Choose one of the other cryptocurrencies listed and a conversion fee may apply; the rate is not stated on the page.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wenia payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is every cost and limit the public pages actually give:

Fee or limit What the pages say
Issuance Free to create
Monthly fee None — “sin cuota de manejo ni cargos mensuales”
Interest 0%
Conversion No additional cost when paying in COPW, USDW or EURC; other cryptocurrencies may incur a conversion fee, rate not stated
FX fee Not stated
ATM Not stated
Monthly limit Up to 10,000 USD per month; higher limits on request via customer service
Daily limit Not stated

Three of those rows say the same thing, and I think that is worth naming: FX fee, ATM cost, and the daily limit are all unstated. So are the currency the card holds and the rate at which a non-COPW, non-USDW, non-EURC coin is converted. Those are the four numbers a person in your position actually needs, and none of them are published. My advice is not to treat “free” as covering them — treat it as covering the four rows that are filled in.

Let me run three ordinary payments through that table, because that is how the picture stops being abstract:

One more thing the pages do not address, and it applies to every card of this type: a declined payment can leave a hold on your funds for several days, sometimes as long as seven. If you are living on a tight margin, a hold is as expensive as a fee.

How to top it up

Top-up here means choosing which digital asset balance the card spends from, and the list is long: COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA. You switch the active asset in the “Wenia Card” section of the app.

That is the feature, and it works in your favour in a specific way. Because the choice is live rather than fixed at account opening, you can decide which coin funds a given purchase rather than being locked into one. Combined with the zero conversion cost on the three stablecoins, the sensible pattern is to hold and spend from COPW, USDW or EURC and treat the other eight as options you switch to deliberately.

The missing half is the network. The pages do not name which blockchain each asset should arrive on. That matters more than it sounds. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost outright or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached. Getting this wrong is expensive and boring.

There is also a general cost hiding outside this product’s price list: the on-chain network fee for your own deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by Wenia. Sending on a busy network at a busy hour can cost noticeably more than the same transfer at a quiet one, and the provider does not reimburse it. If you are moving from a self-custody wallet, the fact that USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026 — including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — gives you options, but only ones the provider confirms it accepts.

So: the asset list is public and generous, the network list is absent. Before your first transfer, get the supported networks and the deposit address from inside the app, and check them twice. Also note that stablecoins can lose their peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 — so “stable” describes the aim, not a guarantee.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where this card is thinnest, and it earns 5 out of 10 for a simple reason: you cannot hold it, and you cannot use it in a shop yet.

What you have is a virtual Mastercard for online payments, and the two mobile wallets named on the home page are Apple Pay and Google Pay. That combination covers a lot of daily life if your life is online — subscriptions, utilities, services booked on a phone, online shops. It does not cover the queue at the till, the card machine at a restaurant, or a cash machine, because there is no physical card and the mobile-wallet route to in-store payments is described as coming soon rather than available now.

Also unstated: whether any merchant categories are blocked. That matters in practice, because certain codes — gambling at 7995, for instance — are blocked by many issuers as policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer. There is no rewards or cashback scheme on the pages either.

Here are a few general things about how card payments behave, since they apply whether or not the provider documents them:

The plain summary: good for the online life, not yet built for the physical one.

What can go wrong

The honest answer to this section is that the documented risk is low and the undocumented risk is high, and the second kind is what should govern your decision.

On the documented side, this is unremarkable. Wenia S.A.S. is a registered Colombian company under the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio, the card sits on the Mastercard network, and I found no complaints or user reviews for the Wenia Card on Reddit, Trustpilot or in news coverage, and no official incidents. Take that with the caution it deserves: no complaints can mean a good product, or a young one with few users, or people posting somewhere I did not look. It is not evidence of safety.

On the undocumented side, the gaps I keep coming back to:

If you want the practical version of all this: start small, keep the balance on the card to what you could afford to have frozen for a month, and treat it as a spending tool rather than a place to park savings.

What to take instead

The honest comparison here is uncomfortable, and I would rather show it than dress it up. The alternatives I checked have public pages that, in several places, say less than Wenia’s do — that is a fact about what was published, not a ranking.

Card Score What is published
Wenia 6.1 / 10 Free to create, no monthly fee, 0% interest; eligibility, card currency, FX and ATM costs, and networks not stated
MSX 6.4 / 10 Eligibility, card details, fees and top-up arrangements all not stated on the pages reviewed
Bybit Card 6.0 / 10 The most complete documentation of the three: regions, virtual and physical cards, networks, currencies, fees, limits and rewards tiers all published
Young Card 5.7 / 10 Card details, fees and top-up not stated; cashback paid in YNG tokens at 0.1% / 1.8% / 3.6% by Club tier (Essential / Gold / Platinum)

The pattern worth noticing: Wenia and MSX score close together partly because both are thin on published detail, not because they are equivalent products. Bybit scores lower on my scale and is by a wide margin the best documented card in this group — and documentation is what you actually need when you are choosing where to put money you cannot replace.

Bybit Card is the one to look at seriously if you want a card whose rules you can read before you sign up. It publishes a lot. Regions listed are Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific; the application asks your country of residence, and unsupported countries get your interest registered rather than an account. The cards page states the product is not meant for European Economic Area customers and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. It offers virtual and physical cards, with network and currency varying by region, and a card currency that depends on the country of your identity verification. The virtual card is free in all regions “until further notice”. Costs are itemised: conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; FX 2% on top of the network rate in several regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. Rewards are tiered, with published cashback rates and monthly caps — and from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn them, fiat-funded spending does not.

That last point is the trap in all of these, and it deserves saying generally: a card that pays you back only when you spend from crypto is not a rewards card, it is a nudge toward holding and spending crypto. Judge it on whether that is something you want.

Young Card is worth a look only if cashback in a token is what you are after — the tiers run 0.1%, 1.8% and 3.6% depending on club level, with two levels unstated. Almost nothing else about the card is published. MSX publishes so little on the pages I could read that I cannot responsibly recommend it on evidence; if it interests you, the answer is to ask its support the same questions I would ask Wenia and see how precisely they answer.

Who I would recommend it to

To a resident of Colombia who already holds crypto, buys things online, and wants a card that costs nothing to open and nothing to run. For that person the free monthly terms, the 0% interest and the zero conversion cost on COPW, USDW and EURC are a real, verifiable advantage, and 10,000 USD a month is enough for a lot of ordinary spending.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs to tap in a shop, take money out of an ATM, hold a physical card, or pay in a currency they have not chosen deliberately. I would not recommend it to anyone outside Colombia who is relying on an interpretation of the eligibility rules, because there is no published interpretation. And I would be cautious about parking a large balance on it, because the entity behind the balance is not named and the exit procedure is not described.

If you are in the situation this card is aimed at — no ordinary bank card, crypto already in hand — the honest advice is to try it as a small experiment rather than a financial arrangement. Keep the balance low, read the in-app terms for the things the public pages omit, and confirm the supported networks before you transfer anything. And if what you want is a card you can hold and use anywhere, spend the same hour reading Bybit’s documentation instead; it is not a better score, but it is a better-documented product, and at 6 out of 10 on everyday use Wenia is not yet the card that replaces a wallet in your pocket.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wenia card?

The Wenia card is a digital Mastercard offered by Wenia S.A.S., a Colombian company supervised by the Superintendencia de Industria y Comercio. It spends a balance of digital assets held in the Wenia app, and you can pay with it in COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK or ADA. Creating it is free, there is no monthly fee, and interest is 0%.

Is Wenia a bank?

No — the pages describe Wenia S.A.S. as the party that issues and operates the card, and they do not name a separate bank issuer. That distinction matters. A card programme usually sits with a licensed issuer, with the network (Mastercard here) routing payments and setting rules, and the brand in front. So when something goes wrong, knowing who actually holds the balance is not a detail. Wenia’s pages do not say.

Who can get the Wenia card?

Eligibility is not listed. The product is offered by Wenia S.A.S. in Colombia through the Wenia app, and there is no published age, residency or nationality condition. Cards of this type generally check nationality separately from residence, so holding a passport from one country and living in another is not straightforwardly the same question. The practical answer comes from the app.

What does the Wenia card cost to use?

It is free to create, has no management fee or monthly charges, and charges 0% interest. Payments in COPW, USDW or EURC carry no additional cost. Choosing other cryptocurrencies may incur a conversion fee, and the rate is not published. FX fees, ATM fees and the card’s own currency are not stated — three gaps worth asking support about before you rely on them.

How much can I spend on the Wenia card?

The published limit is up to 10,000 USD per month. Higher limits are available on request through customer service, though no process or criteria are described. Daily and ATM limits are not stated. Keep in mind that a declined payment can leave a hold on funds for several days, sometimes up to seven, which is a cost that never appears on a fee table.

How do I top up the Wenia card?

You do not top up a fixed balance; you choose which digital asset balance the card spends from, and switch it in the “Wenia Card” section of the app. The listed assets are COPW, USDW, EURC, BTC, ETH, POL, SOL, AVAX, XRP, LINK and ADA. The networks are not named on the pages, which matters because transfers are irreversible — confirm the supported network and address in the app before your first deposit.

Can I use the Wenia card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Both are mentioned on the home page, and adding the card to a mobile wallet works the standard way: the card number is replaced by a device-specific token in the phone’s secure hardware, with a one-time code per payment. Apple Pay and Google Pay are how you would use this card day to day, since it is digital only. In-store payment through a mobile wallet is described as coming soon.

Can I get cash out with the Wenia card?

Not as far as the public pages go. There is no physical card — Wenia describes a virtual Mastercard for online use — and ATM fees are not stated. If drawing cash is part of what you need, treat this as a gap to raise with support, or look at a card that publishes both a physical option and its ATM costs.

Is the Wenia card safe?

There is no single answer to that, only components. Wenia S.A.S. is a registered Colombian company, the card runs on Mastercard, and I found no complaints or user reviews for the card and no official incidents. That is reassuring but thin: no complaints may also mean few users. Unresolved are who holds your balance, whether it is safeguarded, and what happens to it if the programme is wound up.

How do I get money out or close my Wenia account?

The pages do not describe either. There is no stated withdrawal process, no stated account deletion procedure, and no stated account closure terms. That is worth settling before you deposit, not after — and if a large balance is involved, treat the answer you get as the deciding factor rather than one detail among several.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team