The Payrit card, read closely: a cheap Verve card for Nigeria and six neighbours, with a lot of its fee page left unsaid

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Payrit is a small financial technology product from Nigeria that puts a Verve payment card in front of a naira and stablecoin balance. You order the card in an app, pay ₦7,000 for it, and you spend naira, USDC or USDT from the same card — in Nigeria and six neighbouring countries. That is the whole pitch, and for the person it is aimed at, it is a narrow but genuinely useful one.

Payrit works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through the card’s own pages and its public traces carefully, and my score is 4.7 out of 10. That is not a verdict on the idea. It is a verdict on what is documented. The idea is sound; the disclosure is thin. Nearly every number a cardholder actually needs — the monthly fee, the conversion spread, the ATM charges, the daily and monthly limits, the identity checks, the top-up networks — is simply not stated on the public pages. What is stated is a working product: a real app, a physical card that ships, a virtual card, a freeze button, seven countries of operation.

So who does this suit? Someone in Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal or Togo who already holds a stablecoin balance and wants to spend it at ordinary shops without opening a bank account at every step, and who is comfortable paying ₦7,000 and finding out the rest of the costs later. Who does it not suit? Anyone whose spending depends on precise cost control, on chargeback rights, on Apple Pay or Google Pay, on drawing cash at an ATM, or on a card that reads as an ordinary international card at an online merchant.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo
Cost 6 / 10 The card costs ₦7,000; the monthly fee and commissions are not disclosed
Top-up options 5 / 10 Naira and USDC/USDT balance, one card for all; networks and fees not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Tree-House Nigeria LTD, “not a bank”, licensed partners; issuer not named; App Store 4.33 from 3 ratings; no complaints found
Everyday use 6 / 10 Physical and virtual card on Verve and Interswitch, POS and ATMs in Africa; Apple Pay and Google Pay not disclosed
Total 4.7 / 10 A usable product with a thin public fee and limit page

The single fact that carries the most weight here is the issuer question. Payrit describes itself as “a financial technology company and is not a bank”, and says its services come “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. The issuer itself is never named. For a prepaid-style card that touches naira balances, knowing which institution actually holds the money — and under whose licence it does — is not a detail. It is the question a regulator would ask first and the question you should ask before you top up.

Against that, the score is not lower, for one reason: I found no complaints. No official incident, no user report, no Trustpilot page at all. That is weak evidence rather than strong evidence — a product with three App Store ratings is not the kind of product that generates a complaint corpus — but it does mean there is no visible track record of failure either.

Will They Give You the Card

The card works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal, Togo. Seven countries, all in West Africa, which tells you plainly who this was built for.

If you live outside those seven, stop here: nothing in the card’s own material suggests any path to eligibility, and I found nothing suggesting one either. There is no waiting list described, no invitation scheme, no second tier of countries. Seven is the list.

Nothing is stated about who qualifies beyond residence in those countries. The card’s public pages do not say what age is required, whether you need a proof of address, a phone number, a national identification number, a bank account, or a minimum balance. Nor do they say what tier of verification you go through. The card is a physical card with a delivery address attached to the order, so a postal address is clearly part of the flow — but what else it collects is not written down anywhere I could find.

The company behind it is Tree-House Nigeria LTD, and its own words are worth reading in full, because they are unusually direct: Payrit “is a product of Tree-House Nigeria LTD”, a “financial technology company and is not a bank”, and the services are offered “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. So the structure is: a Nigerian fintech front-end, money movement through licensed transmitters, and a banking partner further down. The card issuer is not named on the pages. That is the fact I would raise with support before committing any real balance.

None of this tells you the card is unsafe. It tells you that the layering between you and the money is one layer thicker than, say, a card issued directly by a bank you already have an account with — and thinner and less documented than a card from an international issuer with published fee tables.

How to Get It

Getting the card is an in-app flow, and it is short:

  1. Order in the app. You give a card name, a delivery address, and choose your primary balance.
  2. The card is produced immediately and shipped.
  3. Delivery is quoted as “5–14 working days within Lagos and most states in Nigeria”.
  4. You activate it with the first 6 and last 4 digits and a new PIN.

That is the whole sequence. The cost of delivery is not stated, so the ₦7,000 may or may not be the only thing you pay before the card arrives.

Two details in that flow matter more than they look. First, you pick a primary balance at order time — the card draws on that balance, and this is where the naira-versus-stablecoin decision gets made (see the top-up section). Second, activation uses only the first 6 and last 4 digits of the card plus a PIN you set. That’s a light activation model, which is convenient and means the card number is the activation token.

The card you get is both physical and virtual, on the Verve and Interswitch networks — not Visa and Mastercard. That is the single most consequential fact for everyday use, and I come back to it below. In short: it is a card for shops, POS terminals and ATMs in its home region, not a card that will sail through every international checkout.

Fees: What It Really Costs

The number the card leads with is unambiguous: “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000” for the physical card. That is the entry price. It is also the only price on the public pages.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Payrit payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Card issuance ₦7,000 (physical card)
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign exchange fee Not stated
ATM fees and allowances Not stated; POS and ATMs in Africa are supported
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Delivery cost Not stated
Top-up fees Not stated
Balances supported Naira and USDC/USDT from one card

So let me walk through three ordinary payments and tell you what I can and cannot tell you about each.

A grocery shop in Lagos. This is the case the card is built for. A Verve card at a Nigerian point-of-sale terminal, drawing on a naira primary balance, in the country of issue. I cannot tell you what the fee on this purchase is, because no per-transaction fee is published — but I would expect this to be the cheapest path the card offers, because no conversion is involved. What I would watch: whether a fee line appears on the app’s transaction record, and whether the ₦7,000 is being treated as a one-off or quietly recurring.

An online subscription paid from USDC. Here the card must convert your stablecoin balance into whatever currency the merchant charges. The conversion rate, the spread and any fixed conversion fee are all not stated. This is the transaction where unstated costs do the most damage, because the merchant’s currency, your balance’s currency and the network rate are three different numbers meeting at one checkout. If your balance holds USDT and the merchant bills in dollars, the friction may be small; if it bills in naira, you are exposed to both the conversion and whatever the merchant does with the price.

A cash withdrawal at an ATM in Senegal. The card works at ATMs in Africa, and that is genuinely useful across the seven countries. But the ATM fee, the per-withdrawal allowance, the number of free withdrawals, and the daily and monthly caps are all not stated. This is, for me, the least predictable transaction the card offers. A cash withdrawal abroad is exactly where an undocumented allowance becomes an expensive surprise.

The pattern to notice: the card discloses its price for the object it sells — the plastic — and stays silent on the price of using it. That is a choice someone made. Your counter-question is what a naira or dollar purchase costs, and what the card does to a stablecoin balance on the way.

One more thing worth knowing about cost, from the category rather than the card: on-chain network fees when you deposit crypto are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. If you send USDT over Tron or Ethereum to top up, that network fee is yours and it does not appear in any card fee table.

How to Top Up

The funding model is simple on the surface and undefined underneath. You can hold naira and USDC/USDT wallets and spend from one card — that is the core feature, and the reason the product exists. You fund the account with any supported currency (USDC, USDT, Naira) and spend right away.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Payrit starts with a transfer to the right network

There is one sentence on the card’s pages that changes how you should think about this: “Your card works without needing to be prefunded”. That means the card does not require a pre-loaded balance in the strict prepaid sense. It draws on a connected primary balance — naira or USDC/T. The practical difference: you are spending from a balance you hold, and you do not have to top up ahead of each payment. But it also means the “prepaid, cannot overdraw” comfort does not obviously apply, because a card connected to a balance behaves more like a debit card against that balance than like a loaded gift card.

What is not stated is the part that matters most: which networks. There is no list of supported chains for USDC or USDT. And this is not a small omission. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks (as of 16 September 2026), including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar; USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. If you send on the wrong one — to an address belonging to a different network — the transfer is irreversible and can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is also a specific trap: Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

So the practical instruction is not to guess. Confirm in the app which network your balance expects before you transfer, and keep the first top-up small. Fees for funding are also not stated.

Withdrawal — getting money back out — is not stated at all. That is a real gap, because “how to withdraw money from Payrit” is a question people search, and its absence here means the answer is something you would have to ask support.

Paying With It Every Day

Here the card is genuinely competent in its home market and genuinely limited outside it.

What works: a physical and a virtual card on Verve and Interswitch, accepted at point-of-sale terminals and ATMs across Africa. In Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Mali, Senegal and Togo, this is what people use every day. A virtual card for online payments and a physical card for everything else is a normal, sensible split.

What does not work, or rather, what is not disclosed: Apple Pay and Google Pay are not disclosed. If tokenising your card into your phone’s wallet is part of how you pay — and for many people it is the only way they pay — this card does not tell you whether it can be done. Given the networks involved, I would not assume it.

Also not stated: which wallets are supported, whether there is any rewards or cashback programme, and what happens if a payment goes wrong. There is no published dispute process, no chargeback policy, no complaint route. For a card that stores real balance, that absence is worth weighing.

One card number does not travel well, and this is a property of the networks rather than of Payrit. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that identifies the issuing institution; the rest is an account identifier and a check digit. Merchants can look that up and see which institution and country issued the card, and they may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards precisely because of this. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address the buyer typed with the issuer’s records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — which can cause declines. Practically: expect a Verve card to work in Lagos and expect friction on an unfamiliar international checkout, particularly a subscription site or an American merchant.

There is one more small thing. A declined authorisation may leave a hold on your funds that can remain for several days, typically up to 7. On a card with no published limit policy, that is worth keeping in mind.

What Can Go Wrong

Let me be specific about the failure modes rather than generic.

Sending on the wrong network. The highest-consequence mistake available here, because the funding networks are unpublished. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible; a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address of another network, can be lost. Confirm the network in the app before you send anything meaningful.

Undocumented costs at conversion or at the ATM. Both the conversion fee and the ATM allowance are not stated, and both are places where a small fee becomes a large one. If you use this card mostly in naira domestically, this is a minor concern. If you draw cash abroad or spend from a stablecoin balance, it is not.

A lost or stolen card. This is the well-handled part. You can freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, a lost card can be terminated and a new one requested, and the PIN is set at activation. That is a normal, adequate set of controls — better than most products this size manage.

Counterparty risk. The money sits with a structure you can only partly see: a fintech that says it is not a bank, working through licensed transmitters and banking partners, on a card programme whose issuer is not named. For context on why that matters: custodial platforms have a real history of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). That history is about exchanges and custodians of crypto, not about this card, but the underlying principle transfers: holding funds with an institution means carrying its risk.

Programme closure. Card programmes do end. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically give notice, then stop spending and loading, then ask users to withdraw remaining balances. I found no complaints about Payrit at all — no official incidents, no user reports, no Trustpilot page — which is a good sign and a small sample size.

Support. The card page invites you to “Speak with the founders directly” and offers a community link. Its help centre is marked “Under construction”, and support hours and languages are not stated. For a product holding your balance, that is the weakest spot on the page, and it is also, ironically, the most human one.

Safeguards that exist elsewhere but are not confirmed here. The usual protections for this category — app-based two-factor authentication, spending limits, 3-D Secure confirmation, tokenised mobile wallets — are not listed for Payrit. I have not assumed them.

What to Take Instead

If Payrit’s gaps bother you, they are not unusual gaps; they are what the market looks like. Three comparisons, with their own scores and their own caveats.

International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10

A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical card listed as “coming soon”. This is the opposite posture to Payrit: wide reach, thin local presence.

Payrit International Visa Card
Where it works 7 West African countries Worldwide, except a blocklist
Networks Verve, Interswitch Visa
Card form Physical and virtual Virtual (physical “coming soon”)
Issuance ₦7,000 $5 one-time
Maintenance Not stated None; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month
FX Not stated Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee
USD use — Free on all plans
Deposits Not stated Free, USDC/USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow
Rewards Not stated No cashback stated

Who cannot have it: residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration — citizenship is not mentioned, which is a different test from the one Payrit effectively applies by geography.

The 2% FX fee is real money on every foreign purchase. If you spend mostly in one country, Payrit is likely cheaper; if your spending is international and you want a card that reads as ordinary everywhere, this is the more expensive but far more portable option.

UNi Card — 6.1 / 10

A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. It is priced more cleanly than Payrit on paper: “no annual fee”, “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, “no hidden exchange fees”, and “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3% with the card. But who can get it is not stated, as are its funding routes and its issuance fee. It scores well because its fee story is clean, not because its eligibility is clear.

Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10

A Visa card that works anywhere Visa is accepted, online and in stores. Costs: the page says “no extra fees” with no issuance or monthly amounts listed. It spends from a Whop balance — a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds — and is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned; payout currency and conditions are not stated.

Its eligibility is the narrowest of the three: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated.

The comparison in one line: Payrit is the only one of the four aimed at West Africa, and the only one that will not tell you what a transaction costs.

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend Payrit to a specific person, and I want to be concrete rather than generous.

I would recommend it if you live in one of those seven countries, you already hold or receive USDC or USDT, you want to spend that balance at ordinary shops and POS terminals without converting it out by hand each time, you can afford ₦7,000 without it mattering much, and you are the kind of user who is willing to test the small things yourself — a small top-up, one modest purchase, and a look at what the app actually reports as a fee.

I would not recommend it, without further questions answered, if you are planning to use this as your main everyday card; if you need to know exactly what a dollar purchase costs; if you rely on cash withdrawals; if you need Apple Pay or Google Pay; if you need chargebacks or a published dispute process; if you are outside the seven countries; or if you are holding a large stablecoin balance you would be uneasy entrusting to a structure whose card issuer is not named.

The honest summary is this: this is a small, purposeful product with a real feature — one card spending both naira and stablecoin — that has not yet published the numbers a careful customer needs. Ask support the five questions this review keeps coming back to: what is the monthly fee, what is the conversion fee and spread, what is the ATM allowance, what networks do you send USDC and USDT on, and which institution issues the card. If you get straight answers, this is a good tool for its region. If you get silence, you have your answer.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Payrit card?

Payrit is a payment card from Tree-House Nigeria LTD, a financial technology company that states it is not a bank and works with licensed transmitters and banking partners. It gives you a physical and virtual card on the Verve and Interswitch networks that spends naira and USDC/USDT balances from one card. It works in Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo.

Is Payrit a bank?

No. Payrit describes itself as “a financial technology company and is not a bank”, and says its services are provided “in partnership with licensed transmitters and banking partners”. The card’s issuer is not named on its public pages, and the help centre is marked “Under construction” — so if who legally holds your balance matters to you, ask before you top up.

How much does the Payrit card cost?

The card states one price: “The Payrit Card costs ₦7,000” for the physical card. The monthly fee, conversion fee, foreign exchange fee, ATM fees and delivery cost are all not stated. That means ₦7,000 is the price of the plastic, not the price of using it.

Do I need to complete KYC to get a Payrit card?

The card’s public pages do not say. Identity verification requirements, minimum age, documents needed and verification tiers are all not stated. What is stated is the order flow: card name, delivery address and primary balance, then activation using the first 6 and last 4 digits with a new PIN.

Which networks can I use to send USDC or USDT?

Not stated, which is the most important gap on the card’s pages. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026; USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Transfers are irreversible, so confirm the expected network in the app before sending.

Where can I use the Payrit card?

At POS terminals and ATMs in Africa, which in practice means its seven operating countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Mali, Nigeria, Senegal and Togo. The networks are Verve and Interswitch rather than Visa or Mastercard, so merchants outside West Africa may decline it or apply extra checks when they look up the issuing institution.

Can I add the Payrit card to Apple Wallet?

Not disclosed. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated on the card’s pages, and the card networks involved do not guarantee it. If wallet-based contactless payment is how you normally pay, ask support directly before you order — this could decide the question for you.

How do I withdraw money from Payrit?

The card’s public pages do not describe cash withdrawal terms, and cash withdrawal from the balance is not stated either. POS and ATM use is supported across Africa, but the ATM fee, the per-withdrawal allowance, free withdrawals and the daily and monthly limits are all not stated. Ask for these numbers before relying on the card for cash abroad.

Is the Payrit card safe?

There is no visible complaint history: no official incidents, no user reports and no Trustpilot page found. Controls are reasonable — instant freeze and unfreeze in the app, termination of a lost card, and a PIN set at activation. But two-factor authentication, spending limits and 3-D Secure are not listed, the issuer is unnamed, and a young company with three App Store ratings is a small sample.

Is the Payrit card worth it?

For a West African user spending a naira or USDT balance at local shops, the one-card convenience is real and ₦7,000 is a low entry price. It is not worth relying on if you need exact per-transaction costs, ATM withdrawals, mobile wallets, chargeback protection, or a card that works with international merchants — and it is not available to you at all outside the seven countries.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team