AstroCard review: a crypto-funded card that works in 10 countries, with costs that vary sharply by where you live
AstroCard is the card product of AstroPay, a wallet and payments brand that lets users spend from a crypto balance at the till or online. It comes in two flavours — AstroCard on Mastercard and AstroCard Global on Visa — and the company is open about who it serves: people who already hold crypto in the AstroPay app and want a card that draws on that balance. If you live in one of the ten countries in the selector and you are happy to keep your spending balance inside AstroPay’s wallet, the product is functional and broadly usable. If you want a card that behaves like a normal bank-issued debit product with generous limits, transparent foreign-exchange costs and independent recourse when things go wrong, the picture is more uneven.
This page is a review of the live card, with the conditions current as of October 28, 2026. It pulls together what AstroPay’s own pages say, what user reports describe, and where the card sits among the alternatives in the same niche. I am not telling you to sign up; I am walking through the same questions you would ask before putting real money on the card.
Verdict
AstroCard is a competent crypto-to-fiat card for users already inside the AstroPay ecosystem. It works in ten countries, supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, and gets the basics right. The problem is that costs, support quality and the limits on what you can do are uneven, and the card is the most useful only for a narrow audience.
Here is the score breakdown, criterion by criterion:
| Criterion | Score | Why it scores the way it does |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Ten countries are listed in the selector, but rules differ by country and by verification level, so the answer to “can I have it?” is rarely straightforward. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | The virtual card is free, but international purchase fees range from 2.5% to 4% depending on the country, the ATM fee is 1.5%, and the local-versus-international split is unusual. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The card spends the AstroPay wallet balance, and an opt-in converts USDT into the transaction currency; the specific coins and networks accepted for deposit are not published. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Trustpilot shows a 4.0 average from around 9,600 reviews, but 22% are one-star and the recurring themes — frozen funds, bot-only support, declined virtual cards — are real and not yet resolved. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, both Mastercard and Visa versions exist, and the card works at any merchant that takes those networks. |
| Total | 5.3 / 10 |
The audience that gets the most out of it is people who already use the AstroPay wallet in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Spain, the United Kingdom, Denmark, the United States, Canada, Australia or Uruguay, and who plan to spend mostly in their home currency. If you are not in that group, the alternatives further down will probably serve you better.
Who they will give you the card
AstroPay’s official card page runs a country selector before you can do anything else. The list is short: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay. If you live somewhere else, the sign-up flow effectively stops there.
What the card page does not say, and you have to find out for yourself, is that the rules for issuance, limits and even the fee structure depend on the country you are in and on your verification level. A Brazilian user, for example, will see a 2.5% international purchase fee; an Argentine user gets a different split, with a LOCAL card charging 3.5% on every purchase and a GLOBAL card charging 4%. A Mexican user pays 2.5% on international purchases, but the country is mentioned in the complaints material and not in the public country list I could see — that kind of mismatch is something to verify directly with support before you commit.
The card is also restricted by age: as a prepaid product, it is for adults, and the regulator in the country of issuance will set the floor. AstroPay does not publish an age number, so check the terms in your own jurisdiction.
In short: the eligibility question is not “are you an adult with a phone?” but “are you resident in one of ten named countries, and have you done the verification level the card needs?”
How to get it
The sign-up flow is built around the AstroPay app. The card page says “no paperwork, no waiting, no branches”, and once the in-app steps are done the card is activated instantly. That is a fair description of the digital part. What it does not tell you is which documents the verification will eventually ask for, or what level of verification unlocks which features.
You will end up doing KYC at some point. How much KYC depends on the country and on the limits you want — AstroPay’s own pages say benefits and limits “vary by account verification level” without naming the levels. As background that applies to any regulated financial product: in the EU, customer due diligence typically covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documents, a sanctions check, and a politically-exposed-person screening; in the US, the customer identification programme asks for name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and proof of address is often validated against external records. If those checks cannot be completed, the provider is required to refuse the relationship or close it. So the moment you want higher limits or a feature that triggers a higher tier, expect a document upload.
The two virtual cards you can apply for are:
- AstroCard — a Mastercard virtual card.
- AstroCard Global — a Visa virtual card.
A physical card exists. On the card page it is shown as “coming soon” in Spanish, but the help centre has an article about a USD 5 physical-card fee for Argentina and Brazil, and the help centre article is the more current of the two. That USD 5 covers production and shipping and is not refundable once the card has been created and sent. There is no information in the public pages about delivery times or replacement cost for a lost or damaged card. The card currency itself is not published.
What it really costs: Fees
The headline is “free virtual card, available in minutes.” That part is real. The full cost picture is more layered, and the country you live in changes the math significantly.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card issuance | USD 5 (Argentina and Brazil) — non-refundable once shipped |
| Monthly / annual fee | Not stated |
| Local purchase fee | None stated for any country |
| International purchase fee (Argentina LOCAL card) | 3.5% on every purchase |
| International purchase fee (Argentina GLOBAL card) | 4% on every purchase |
| International purchase fee (Brazil) | 2.5% — announced 30 July 2026, effective 1 September 2026 |
| International purchase fee (Colombia) | 2.5% |
| International purchase fee (Mexico) | 2.5% |
| Crypto conversion | “Prevailing exchange rate at point of sale” — no fixed figure stated |
| Infinite subscription | Not publicly priced (shown in app) |
| ATM cash withdrawal | 1.5% per withdrawal, in any country (Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Mexico) |
| ATM free allowance | Not stated |
| Daily / monthly spending limits | Not publicly disclosed; shown in app and tied to verification level and country |
| 3-D Secure | Standard push-notification prompts |
A few everyday scenarios show what the table means in practice.
Coffee in your home city. A Brazilian user buying a coffee from a domestic merchant in reais pays the local fee, which is published as zero. The crypto-to-reais conversion happens in the background at the rate AstroPay applies at the moment the authorisation clears; AstroPay describes this as the “prevailing exchange rate at point of sale,” and Infinite subscribers are told they get “a more favourable rate” but no figure is given. The spread between that rate and a mid-market rate is the hidden cost you cannot see on the fee table.
A hotel booked from a Colombian account. The transaction is international, so the 2.5% international purchase fee applies on top of the crypto conversion. If you are on the Infinite tier, you are told you get a “more favourable rate” converting pesos or USDT to dollars, which softens the spread but does not eliminate the 2.5%. For a USD 1,000 hotel, that is USD 25 in fees before you count any FX spread.
Cash from an ATM in Spain. A 1.5% fee applies on withdrawals in any country, for users in Argentina, Brazil, Colombia and Mexico. There is no free allowance published. On a EUR 200 withdrawal, that is EUR 3, plus whatever your home issuer charges for the same cash — the 1.5% is the AstroCard slice, not the whole cost.
Two more things worth knowing.
- “Local” versus “international” is decided by the merchant’s country, not by the cardholder. If a domestic merchant processes through an overseas acquirer, the purchase may be classified as international and the fee will apply.
- The Infinite subscription exists, but its monthly price is not published on the card pages — it is shown inside the app. If you are thinking of upgrading, find the price in the app before you commit.
Top up
The card does not have a top-up field in the way a prepaid travel card does. The card simply spends the balance in your AstroPay wallet. Whatever is in the wallet, the card draws on that. The user can opt in inside the app to convert USDT in the balance into the currency the next transaction will need.

What the public pages do not tell you, and which is the practical question most people want answered first, is which coins and which networks AstroPay accepts for deposit. That information is not in the card or help-centre pages I read. If you are coming from an external wallet with USDC on Polygon, USDT on Tron or anything else, you will need to ask support which combinations actually credit the balance, before you send anything. As background for any card in this category: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address that belongs to a different network, can be lost or require manual recovery with no guarantee, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.
Two related points.
- Withdrawal from the card balance. AstroPay’s own pages do not state how to withdraw funds from the card back to a bank or to crypto. A user report on Trustpilot says some users cannot find a withdrawal option at all, which is consistent with the card being designed to spend the wallet down rather than to act as a separate stored-value account.
- USDT services. The starting data on the company says USDT services are operated by AP Digital (IOM) Limited, a different legal entity from the card programme. If you are topping up with USDT, you are interacting with that subsidiary’s product, not directly with the card issuer.
Paying with it every day
For day-to-day use the card behaves like a normal contactless prepaid card. It works anywhere Mastercard or Visa is taken, depending on which version you have. The two everyday conveniences that matter are present:
- Apple Pay. You can add the card to Apple Pay from the app.
- Google Pay. Same, from the app.
There is no published list of blocked merchant categories, which is unusual — most issuers publish at least the standard gambling and adult-content blocks. The standard 3-D Secure flow applies for online payments, with the confirmation coming as a push notification. Address Verification Service, used heavily in the US, Canada and the UK, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards and is one of the reasons a foreign BIN occasionally declines; a virtual AstroCard on a non-US billing address can hit that.
Two reward notes:
- Standard tier. No card cashback is published for the standard tier.
- Infinite tier. The Infinite plan publishes 4.75% annual cashback on the USD balance, versus 3.1% for standard users, and x4 AstroPoints per card purchase. The x4 figure is in the card page; the rate is in the Infinite page. These are paid in the wallet, not in real-world goods.
If something goes wrong with a transaction — a double charge, an undelivered order, a merchant dispute — the in-app path is: Transaction History, select the transaction, “Report a problem” / “Dispute transaction”. The amount may be held while the dispute is investigated, and resolution times are described as “vary.” Refunds after merchant approval are typically 15 to 30 business days; for Argentina card purchases AstroPay says “up to 15 days.” That is a wide range and worth setting as a personal expectation rather than a promise.
What can go wrong
The published product is fine. The lived experience is where most of the friction shows up.
User reports. On Trustpilot, AstroPay overall sits at 4.0 “Great” from around 9,600 reviews, with 227 written in the last twelve months and 22% of all reviews at one star. The recurring complaints, dated April to October 2026, are:
- Frozen or delayed funds, in some cases for weeks or months.
- Bot-only support, with no escalation path to a human.
- Account lockouts tied to verification uploads.
- Withdrawal restrictions that users did not anticipate.
- Virtual card declines that the user cannot diagnose from the app.
I did not find an official incident report on AstroPay’s side. The Trustpilot picture is a sample, not a controlled study, but a 22% one-star share on a 9,600-review base is not noise.
Issuer and licence. The starting data on the company structure says AstroPay’s parent is AP Global Corporation LLP and the card programme sits under AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, with USDT services run by AP Digital (IOM) Limited. The card pages I read do not name the issuing bank, do not name the e-money or payments licence the issuer relies on, and do not describe how customer funds are safeguarded. As background for this category: in the EU, an e-money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and are not necessarily covered by a deposit-guarantee scheme. In the US, FinCEN’s 2013 guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters. The point of saying this is not to score a regulatory point but to underline that “who is the issuer and under what licence” is a question you should be able to answer for any card you put money on, and AstroPay does not answer it on the card pages.
Security controls. The card itself has the standard set: instant freeze from the AstroCard section of the app, 3-D Secure push prompts, and a help-centre article for lost or stolen cards. There is no claim of deposit insurance or segregated safeguarding on the card pages.
Support. The help centre exists and the Infinite tier includes “priority support.” For everyone else, the public path is the help centre and the in-app flow, and the Trustpilot pattern is that this is where users feel stuck.
A note on network and stablecoin risk. The card spends the AstroPay wallet, and the wallet holds USDT and other balances. As background for any stablecoin: a stablecoin “is not necessarily stable” even when pegged to a fiat currency; Tether describes USDT as backed 1-to-1 by reserves and Circle describes USDC as redeemable 1:1 for USD and backed by cash and short-dated treasuries, but both have depegged in the past (TerraUSD in May 2022, USDC briefly in March 2023 during the US banking stress). Tether has also said it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. None of this is a comment on AstroPay specifically — it is what a stablecoin balance always is.
What to take instead
AstroCard is one option inside a small set of crypto-funded cards that aim at roughly the same user. Three of the most relevant alternatives, with the same scoring approach, are below.
| Card | Score | Card type | Where you can get it | Cost in one line | What it does best |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AstroCard | 5.3 / 10 | Mastercard and Visa, virtual; physical in AR and BR | 10 countries (AR, AU, BR, CA, CO, DK, ES, UK, US, UY) | Free virtual; USD 5 physical in AR/BR; international purchase fees 2.5%–4% | Works well inside the AstroPay ecosystem |
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | Visa Platinum, virtual; “physical coming soon” | Not available to residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela | USD 5 issuance; Classic free, Pro USD 9/mo, Max USD 19/mo; 2% FX on foreign currency | Card use in USD is free on all plans; deposit USDC/USDT 1:1 |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Mastercard, multicurrency, on the UNi.Global account | Not stated | No annual fee, no foreign transaction fee stated | Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, virtual/physical type not stated | 31 US states for consumers; 41 for businesses; broad unsupported-country list | “No extra fees” published; no FX figures published | 5% cashback at select merchants including Uber |
A few things to take from the comparison.
The International Visa Card has the cleanest cost story for someone holding USDC or USDT: card use in USD is free on every plan, foreign-currency use is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX”, and deposits of any kind are free. The trade-off is the country list — Belarus, China, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam are all outside the eligibility zone, and purchases are blocked in a smaller set. If you are in one of those, the card is not the answer.
UNi Card is the most permissive on published cost: no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, multicurrency spend, and a “Spend-to-Earn” rewards rate up to 3%. Where to get it and how to fund it are not in the public material I read, which is the obvious gap to fill before signing up.
Whop Cards sits in a US-centred niche (consumers in 31 US states, businesses in 41), and the cost story is “no extra fees” with no FX or conversion figures published. The interesting hook is merchant cashback (5% at Uber today, more planned), but the absence of published FX numbers is itself information.
For a reader who is in one of AstroCard’s ten countries and already uses the AstroPay wallet, the card is the natural pick. For anyone outside that footprint, or anyone who wants the cost model written down in plain numbers, the alternatives table is the better starting point.
Who I would recommend it to
AstroCard is worth serious consideration for a fairly specific reader. It is worth a pass for most others.
The card fits well if all of the following are true:
- You live in one of the ten countries in the selector: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States or Uruguay.
- You already use the AstroPay wallet, or you are happy to move a meaningful part of your crypto balance there.
- You spend mostly in your home currency, so the local-vs-international fee split rarely hits you.
- You are comfortable with a prepaid model where the card draws on a stored balance, and you do not need an overdraft or a credit line.
- Apple Pay or Google Pay covers most of your spending, and the online purchases you make are with merchants that accept Mastercard or Visa without an Address Verification Service check on a foreign billing address.
The card fits less well if:
- You live outside the ten countries, or your residency is unclear, because the sign-up flow is gated on that list.
- You want to fund the card with a specific coin on a specific network and you cannot find that combination documented on AstroPay’s pages. Ask support first.
- You need high daily or monthly limits. The limits are published in the app, not on the website, and AstroPay says they cannot be manually increased in the app — the request goes to a queue and is not guaranteed.
- You are sensitive to FX spread, because the card applies the “prevailing exchange rate at point of sale” without publishing a margin. Infinite subscribers get a better rate, but no figure is given.
- You want a card whose issuer and licence are easy to identify from the public pages, with named safeguarding and a clear dispute path. AstroPay’s pages do not name the issuing bank or the e-money licence.
In practical terms, the user who gets the most out of AstroCard is an AstroPay wallet user in the Americas, the UK, Spain or Denmark who is happy with prepaid mechanics and who can absorb a 2.5%–4% international purchase fee when they travel or buy cross-border online. Everyone else should probably look at the alternatives first.
Frequently asked questions
What is AstroCard?
AstroCard is the payment-card product of AstroPay, a wallet and payments brand. There are two versions: AstroCard on Mastercard and AstroCard Global on Visa. The card spends the balance in your AstroPay wallet, and you can opt in to have USDT in the balance converted into the transaction currency at the point of sale. It is a prepaid card, not a credit card and not a debit card linked to a bank account.
How does AstroCard work?
You hold a balance inside the AstroPay app, and the card draws on that balance. When you pay, AstroPay converts the balance into the currency the merchant charges in, at the rate it describes as the “prevailing exchange rate at point of sale.” The card is then routed through Mastercard or Visa like any other contactless or online card payment. The crypto-to-fiat conversion happens in the background, not at the till.
Is AstroCard a bank?
No. AstroPay is a payments and wallet company, not a bank. The card pages I read do not name the issuing bank or the e-money or payments licence the card is issued under, which is a gap you should ask support about before loading a large balance. Custodial platforms in this category have a history of failure, and the question of which entity actually holds your funds and under what safeguarding regime is the one to nail down.
Who owns AstroCard?
The starting data on the company says the parent is AP Global Corporation LLP, the card programme is under AstroPay Global (IOM) Limited, and USDT services are operated by a separate entity, AP Digital (IOM) Limited. I did not re-verify ownership on the pages I read, so treat those names as the company’s own description rather than independent confirmation.
Is AstroCard available in my country?
The card page’s country selector lists Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Denmark, Spain, the United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay. If you live somewhere else, the sign-up flow is effectively closed at the country step. Mexico appears in the fees material but not in the public country list I saw, which is worth checking with support directly.
How do I get an AstroCard?
You download the AstroPay app, go through the in-app steps, and pick the virtual AstroCard or AstroCard Global. The card page says the virtual card is “available in minutes” and that there is no paperwork at the start. KYC, in some form, will be required before you unlock higher limits, and the specific level and documents depend on your country and verification tier.
How do I top up the card?
You don’t top up the card directly — the card spends the AstroPay wallet balance. You put funds into the wallet, and you can opt in to have USDT in the wallet auto-converted to the transaction currency. The card and help pages I read do not list the specific coins and networks accepted for deposit, so ask support which combinations credit the balance before sending anything from an external wallet.
How do I add AstroCard to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The card page says you can add your AstroCard to Apple Pay or Google Pay. In practice that means opening the app, going to the AstroCard section, and following the standard tokenisation flow. The card number is replaced by a device-specific account number stored in the Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code, so the actual PAN never leaves the device.
Is AstroCard safe?
The card has the standard set of controls: instant freeze from the app, 3-D Secure push prompts for online payments, and a help-centre article for lost or stolen cards. The Trustpilot picture is mixed — 4.0 from around 9,600 reviews, but 22% one-star, with recurring complaints about frozen funds, bot-only support and verification lockouts. The product is not unusual for the category; the support experience is the part that draws the complaints.
Is AstroCard worth it?
For an AstroPay wallet user in one of the ten supported countries who spends mostly at home, yes, with the caveats above. For anyone outside that footprint, or anyone who needs a transparent FX model, a named issuer or higher published limits, the alternatives — International Visa Card, UNi Card, Whop Cards among them — are probably a better starting point.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
