A free Visa debit card for EU and UK eToro investors, with fees hidden in the crypto conversion
The Etoro Money card is a Visa debit card that spends from the eToro Money fiat account rather than from a bank balance. In practice, if you hold crypto on eToro, the route to spending it is: convert to GBP or EUR in the eToro crypto wallet, let that land in your eToro Money account, and the card then draws on that balance. The card itself is free to issue and free to keep, and card payments carry no fee. What you are really buying is an access layer between an investment platform’s crypto balances and the places you actually spend money.
That framing decides who this suits. The card is aimed squarely at people who are already EU or UK residents, already on eToro, and already at Club tier Silver or above — that is the gate. If you are anywhere else, or you do not invest through eToro, the card does not exist for you and the rest of this review is largely irrelevant. If that is you, and you are weighing whether to switch platforms or open a second one just to get the card, read the costs section carefully: the crypto conversion fee is the one number that matters most, and the card’s own pages do not state it.
My score for the card is 6.8 out of 10. That is a good product with a narrow audience and one significant unknown. Let me show you where the marks come from, then walk through each part of it in the order you would meet them.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Residents of the EU or UK only, and you need an eToro Club tier. The list of countries sits on a separate availability page that was not read, so you would be checking your own eligibility there. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Issue, maintenance and delivery are free, there is no subscription, and replacement is free up to three cards a year. “Zero FX fees abroad”. ATM withdrawals cost 1% past a monthly allowance. The crypto conversion fee is not disclosed on the pages I read. |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | The card spends the fiat account, not crypto. Crypto must first be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, and the EUR account is funded by SEPA transfer. |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | The card is issued by etoro Money Malta Ltd in the EU or etoro Money UK Ltd in the UK, and funds sit in a separate safeguarding account. On Trustpilot eToro scores 4.0 from 32,233 reviews, but the complaints are about the broker, not the card. |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Visa debit, Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported, and there is an ATM allowance of GBP 2,000 a month on Green or GBP 10,000 on Black. Whether a virtual or plastic card is issued is not stated. |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A good card for the right investor, gated to one platform and two regions. |
The pattern in those five rows is worth naming up front, because it explains almost everything else. Cost scores highest because the card is genuinely cheap to hold. Access scores lowest because almost everything about who can have it is narrow. Top-up scores lowest of all because the card is the wrong end of the pipeline: it spends money you have already converted, which is the opposite of what people often assume a “crypto card” does.

Who gets the card
The stated requirement is one line: be a resident of the EU or the UK. It is residence-based, not citizenship-based, which is a meaningful distinction — a non-EU citizen living in Ireland is eligible on the face of it, and an EU citizen living in Dubai is not. Which EU and UK countries are covered is listed on a separate availability page that I did not read, so the honest answer is that the card’s own site is where you confirm your country, not me.
The second gate is your Club tier. The card requires a EUR account for EU residents or a GBP account for UK residents, and an eToro Club membership: “etoro Club member” in the UK, and Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum in the EU. There is a conflict in the FAQ — one answer says Diamond only — so if you are a UK member the requirement looks softer than the EU one. Which card you get depends on your tier anyway: Green for Silver and Platinum, Black for Platinum+ and Diamond.
Two things the pages leave open, and both matter at the decision stage. The documents required for identity verification are not stated on the card page; it says only residence, Club membership and the right currency account. And the verification process itself — how long it takes, what triggers a rejection, what level of checks apply — is not stated either. If you have been through a long or painful identity process elsewhere, you should expect to want an answer to that question before you invest money in the setup.
How to get it
You need a Club membership and the matching currency account, then the card is issued against that account. The card itself is a Visa debit card, available on both the Green and Black tiers.
What kind of card you get is not stated. Whether it arrives as plastic, as a virtual card, or as both is not specified, and whether there is a metal version is also not stated. That matters more than it sounds: people who want a card number they can add to a phone before the plastic arrives will be guessing. Two related details are stated, though, and both are reassuring. First delivery is free on both tiers, whether standard or urgent, and replacement delivery is free as well. Replacement cards themselves are free up to three a year for the GBP card; for the EUR card the Green tier shows that as not applicable and Black is free up to three. Delivery time is not given on these pages — it links out to a help article.
So the practical sequence is: confirm your Club tier meets the requirement, open or confirm the right currency account, and then ask eToro directly the two questions these pages leave open — what physical form the card comes in, and how long it takes.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The headline is unusually clean: “Free with no monthly subscription”. Card issue is free, maintenance is free, card payments are free, delivery is free, and the only replacement charge stops after three cards a year. There is no tier you have to pay up to for the card itself.

| Fee or limit | Green | Black |
|---|---|---|
| Card issue | Free | Free |
| Monthly fee | Free | Free |
| Card payments | Free | Free |
| First and replacement delivery | Free | Free |
| Replacement card | Free, up to 3 a year (GBP card); EUR Green: not applicable | Free, up to 3 a year |
| FX abroad | “Zero FX fees*” | “Zero FX fees*” |
| ATM free allowance, GBP account | GBP 2,000 a month | GBP 10,000 a month |
| ATM above that | 1% | 1% |
| ATM free allowance, EUR account | EUR 2,500 a month | EUR 12,000 a month |
| Crypto conversion | Fee not stated | Fee not stated |
| Chargebacks | Listed as free | Listed as free |
| Monthly and daily card limits | Not stated | Not stated |
| Metal card | Not stated | Not stated |
Three everyday payments, and which fees actually bite.
A coffee in your own city costs nothing beyond the price of the coffee. The card payment itself is free, so the only cost is the 1.3% VAT your café adds, which exists regardless of how you pay.
A meal abroad costs more than the meal, because this is where the asterisk matters. The card says “Zero FX fees*” and points to separate FX terms, and the star is doing real work. What you can say is that there is no separate foreign-exchange fee line; what you cannot say from these pages is what rate your transaction is converted at. If you travel often, that is the single thing to check before you rely on it.
A purchase you make from crypto, in crypto or stablecoin terms, costs the most, and not in an obvious place. Before any of it happens, your crypto has to be converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, and that conversion fee is not stated on the pages I read. Everything downstream of that — the card payment, the ATM — is free. So the cost of spending crypto with this card is one number, and that number is not on the card’s pages.
Two limits you will look for and not find: the daily and monthly card limits are not stated, with the card pointing instead to a separate “Account Activity Limits” article.
How to top it up
Top-ups are the weakest part of the design, and it is worth being blunt about the order of operations. The card does not hold crypto. It draws on the eToro Money fiat account. Crypto is converted to GBP or EUR first, and that conversion “requires etoro crypto wallet”. There is no description of other funding methods.
For the EUR account, the route is described in more detail: the Wallet tab, then Add Funds under the eToro Money account, with the EUR local account funded by SEPA bank transfer. SEPA transfers in and out are free, and opening, closing and maintaining the account is free. What is not stated is the minimum top-up or any card-specific top-up fee.
Withdrawing works the same way round: to move money out of a local-currency account, you send it to a linked bank account via SEPA, which is free. Fees and timings for pulling the card balance back are not stated on these pages, and neither is what happens to any balance left when an account is closed — though closing the account itself is free.
One structural detail is easy to miss and it is inconvenient: holding both a EUR and a GBP account is described as “not currently possible”. So your card’s currency, and therefore which ATM allowance and which SEPA rail you use, is decided by the one account you have. A footnote also lists AUD and DKK accounts alongside GBP and EUR, but whether a card is offered for those is not stated.
Paying with it day to day
Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, and the app is available on the App Store and Google Play as well as on the web platform. What merchant categories are blocked is not stated — which, given that many issuers block gambling merchant categories on crypto cards by policy, is a question to put to support rather than discover at a till.
The rewards are the interesting part and also the muddled part. A press release describes up to 4% back in stock on everyday spending, up to EUR 1,500 of value per month, where you pick a European-listed stock and opt in via a form, with a monthly email confirming the stock has been added. The card page frames it slightly differently at up to $100 of value per month as the GBP/EUR equivalent. The launch offer may change. Stock rewards are for Platinum and above, and the page is inconsistent about lower tiers — one section says Bronze, Silver and Gold get none, another says they can opt in. There are also Visa perks listed: Luxury Hotel Collection, up to 10% off Sixt, and Visa AirRefund.
If you dispute a transaction, chargebacks appear in the fee table as free. The process and the time frames are not described; only a Complaints Policy PDF is linked. That is a thin answer for anyone planning to rely on a dispute, and worth testing with a small transaction before you have a large one in dispute.
What the store ratings are is not stated — I did not read the store listings — so I cannot tell you how the app scores.
What can go wrong
The structural risk here is not the card, it is the platform. A payment card that spends a balance held by an e-money institution is only as available as that institution and the safeguarding arrangement behind it. The card is provided by etoro Money UK Limited in the UK or etoro Money Malta Limited in the EU, and EUR funds are held in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank. Those funds are not usable for investing or lending and are not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme — that last point matters and I would not want a reader discovering it later. The UK entity is FCA-authorised for e-money. The card BIN sponsor is not named. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned anywhere.
On complaints, the picture is mixed but not card-specific. On Trustpilot, eToro’s main page scores 4.0 out of 5 from 32,233 reviews with 20% one-star. The themes users raise are withdrawals held pending ID checks, restricted accounts, slow support, and trading and closing fees. None of that is about the card. A separate user report I saw on Trustpilot Australia gave 2.5 from six reviews, again mostly about broker account closures and forced liquidations rather than the card. A UK Financial Ombudsman decision, DRN-4221697, involves a complainant who did not receive a promised debit card because of account type — a single case. Third-party status pages recorded credit-card deposit issues on 11 June 2026 and 7 July 2026, and an outbound-payments issue in August 2026. No Reddit threads on the card itself. The card’s BIN sponsor being unnamed and its virtual-versus-physical form being unstated are the two gaps that would most affect a complaint going wrong, because they are exactly what you need when something goes wrong.
For context on the wider category: crypto transfers are typically irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost. Declined payments can leave holds on funds for up to seven days. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer country — which is also why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. And the usual reason those programmes can end: in November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued programmes. Programme closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances. I am not saying that will happen here. I am saying the exit exists and you should know what it looks like.
What to take instead
The other options I looked at, with the caveat that most of their card facts are not stated on pages I could read. Scores are from the same ten-point scale.
| Option | Score | Card facts | Cost facts | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Etoro Money | 6.8 / 10 | Visa debit, EU and UK residents, Club tier required | Free to issue and keep; crypto conversion fee not stated | Up to 4% back in stock, capped; inconsistent between pages |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Virtual and physical, Mastercard or Visa depending on region | Virtual issuance free in all regions “until further notice”; physical issuance charged in some regions | Cashback tiers from 2% to 10% by tier, monthly caps |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Not stated officially | Not stated | Not stated |
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Not stated officially | Not stated | Cashback in YNG tokens, 0.1% Essential to 3.6% Platinum |
Bybit Card is the one serious alternative, and it is aimed at a completely different geography. Its card regions include Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific, and its cards page states plainly: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Its fiat-service restricted list includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States. So if you are in the EU or UK, Bybit is not an option — but if you are in one of its regions, it is worth comparing. Its costs are also laid out far more openly: crypto conversion at 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; an FX fee of 2% on top of the network rate in Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico, 2% in Kazakhstan on purchases outside the country even in USD, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru. It also has a rule that bites: from 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback.
MSX and Young Card both score lower, and for Young Card the only thing stated anywhere is that cashback is paid in YNG tokens at 0.1% on Essential, 1.8% on Gold and 3.6% on Platinum. That is not enough to make a decision on.
For most people outside the EU and UK, none of this is your choice — the realistic comparison is between a crypto card and an ordinary prepaid or debit card, and the second usually wins on cost.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to an EU or UK resident who is already at Silver, Platinum, Platinum+ or Diamond on eToro, already keeps a balance there, and wants to spend part of it without opening another account elsewhere. For that person it is a genuinely good deal: free to hold, free to pay with, no foreign-exchange line item, a decent ATM allowance, mobile wallets, and a stock-reward scheme that is unusual among cards of this kind.
I would not recommend it to anyone hoping to spend crypto directly from a self-custody wallet — that is not what this card does. I would not recommend it to anyone outside the EU or UK, where it is simply unavailable. And I would hold off for anyone whose priority is getting money out to a bank quickly, or who wants a card that exists independently of their investment platform, because the card sits entirely on top of eToro and inherits all of that platform’s availability and complaint history.
Before you commit, ask eToro three questions these pages do not answer: what the crypto conversion fee is, whether the card is virtual or plastic and how long delivery takes, and what happens to your balance if the account is closed. If those come back with straight answers, the score goes up.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Etoro Money card?
It is a Visa debit card that spends from your eToro Money fiat account rather than from a bank. The card itself is free to issue and free to maintain, with no monthly subscription. It is designed for people who already hold crypto on eToro and want to convert part of it into everyday spending money. It is not a self-custody card — you cannot load it straight from your own wallet.
How does the Etoro Money card work?
You hold a Club membership and a EUR account in the EU or a GBP account in the UK. Crypto is converted to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet, the converted money lands in that account, and the card draws down the balance as you spend. So the card is the last step of a three-step chain, not the first step of spending crypto directly.
Who can get the Etoro Money card?
Residents of the EU or the UK, and only if you are at an eToro Club tier that qualifies: “etoro Club member” in the UK, and Diamond, Platinum+ or Platinum in the EU, though one FAQ says Diamond only. The rule is based on residence, not citizenship. The country-by-country list sits on a separate availability page.
Is Etoro Money a bank?
No, and this is the detail that catches people. The card is provided by etoro Money Malta Limited in the EU or etoro Money UK Limited in the UK, which is authorised for e-money, not a bank. EUR funds sit in a designated safeguarding account at a regulated EU bank, but they are not bank deposits and are not covered by the Malta Depositor Protection Scheme.
Is the Etoro Money card free?
Yes to hold: issue, maintenance, card payments and delivery are all free, with no subscription. Replacement is free up to three cards a year on the GBP card and on Black for EUR. The cost that is not free, and not disclosed, is the crypto conversion fee charged when you convert crypto into GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet.
Is the Etoro Money card available outside the EU and UK?
Based on what the card’s pages state, no — the requirement is residence in the EU or UK. It is worth knowing that comparison cards often run the opposite way: Bybit’s card, for instance, explicitly prohibits European Economic Area customers. If you are outside both regions, a conventional prepaid or debit card will usually be cheaper and simpler.
Is the Etoro Money card safe?
Treat it as a prepaid balance attached to an investment platform, not as a bank card with deposit protection. You can freeze the card instantly in the app — in the UK through the app, in the EU via Manage Card, Report lost or stolen, or Disable Card — and there is a 24/7 stolen-card phone line in the UK. Two-factor authentication is not mentioned on these pages, which is worth asking about.
How do I top up the Etoro Money card?
You do not top up the card, you fund the account it spends from. The EUR local account is funded by SEPA bank transfer, which is free, via the Wallet tab and Add Funds under the eToro Money account. The minimum top-up and any card-specific top-up fee are not stated. For crypto, conversion to GBP or EUR through the eToro crypto wallet comes first.
What are the ATM fees and limits?
With a GBP account, GBP 2,000 a month is free on Green and GBP 10,000 on Black. With a EUR account, EUR 2,500 is free on Green and EUR 12,000 on Black. Above the allowance, withdrawals cost 1%. A card that is free to hold stops being free if you treat the ATM as a bank branch, so check which allowance applies to your tier and currency.
Can I keep both a EUR and a GBP account?
Not currently, according to the card’s own footnote. The card is linked to a GBP or EUR local account, and holding both at once is described as not currently possible. A footnote also lists AUD and DKK accounts, but whether a card is offered against those is not stated. Your currency choice therefore decides your ATM allowance and your withdrawal rail.
Choosing an exchange card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
