The card that stopped: Infini in 2026 and where its users go next

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you are reading this because you were looking for a way to pay with crypto where a normal bank card is awkward, this page is going to tell you something more useful than a fee table. Infini’s card programme stopped: on 17 June 2025 the company suspended the Global, Lite and Tech cards for both spending and new applications. The Max card’s status for private customers was never clearly stated. That is not a temporary outage described in a help article — it is the central fact about this product, and everything else here sits around it.

The Infini card programme no longer issues new cards

My score for Infini is 4.1 out of 10. Below that number there is something genuinely attractive, which I will come to: the pricing was very good where it was disclosed, and the free first card with a zero monthly fee is not a small thing when you are comparing cards. But a card you cannot reliably get, from an issuer that is not named, on a programme that has already been part-suspended after a six-figure theft from its own vault, is not something I would put in front of anyone as a working solution.

Conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

The score, and who this suits

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 0 / 10 Global, Lite and Tech cards were suspended for use and new applications on 17 June 2025; the Max card’s status for private customers is unclear
Cost 9 / 10 First card free, monthly and annual fee $0, transaction fee $0; FX 1% Pro, 3% Lite, 0% Max; stablecoin top-up free
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC and USDT, networks not named; plus USD and EUR local accounts; fiat through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail’s fee
Reliability and complaints 1 / 10 Issuer not named; Cynosure Technology LLC (Hong Kong); US$49.5 million USDC withdrawn from the vault in February 2025; cards suspended on 17 June 2025
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual card; Apple Pay and Google Pay on Max; plastic card and ATM access not disclosed
Total 4.1 / 10 —

Who does this suit? Almost nobody as a forward-looking choice. The honest audience note is narrower: people who already hold Infini and are trying to withdraw their remaining balance. If you already had money on one of these cards, the second section below is the one that matters to you.

Who does it not suit? Anyone whose problem is that a bank will not open an account for them. That is the reader this card was aimed at, and it is the reader who is now most likely to be disappointed, because the card that was supposed to solve that problem has stopped. It also does not suit anyone for whom the card network matters — Infini never named the network for the card, and that silence turns out to matter more than it looks like it should.

What happened to the programme

Here is the timeline, because the order of these events explains most of what came after.

24 February 2025. Decrypt reported that about US$49.5 million in USDC had been taken from Infini’s vault, using admin privileges retained by a former developer, with the finding reported by Cyvers and QuillAudits. Infini said withdrawals and payments continued, and the founder said full compensation could be paid.

17 June 2025. WuBlockchain reported Infini’s notice of the same date: “all Global, Lite, and Tech cards will be suspended for both usage and new applications”. Card issuance fees were to be auto-refunded to the Infini balance within roughly 10 business days. The co-founder cited high compliance costs and thin margins, and a shift toward wealth management. Deposits, withdrawals and the Earn product continued.

August–September 2026. The app store release notes show a new “Max Card experience” (v0.3.0, 22 August) and business sub-accounts — so the company was still shipping. The newest app version is 1.3.0. But that is a business product, and it is not the suspended retail card line.

Two things about this story are worth sitting with. First, a private-key compromise and a card suspension are different kinds of failure, and a reader who has only read headlines may have merged them. The theft was a custody and access-control problem inside the company. The card suspension was a business decision about compliance costs and margins. The second point is that a suspension, by its nature, is the company’s decision — you have no lever to prevent it. Card networks can suspend programmes, issuers can wind them down, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer after Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” in November 2022. Programme closures follow a recognisable shape: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances.

The app store description is also revealing in its hedges: the card works “where available”, and “Feature availability may vary by account permissions, account status, and region”. The site says “180+ Countries Supported” for the platform — not for the card. For personal cards, who is eligible is not stated, what documents or age the KYC needs is not stated, and the network, physical card and shipping arrangements are all not stated. If a provider’s own marketing pages leave eligibility unstated, treat any assumption you make about your own country as an assumption.

If you already have the card

This is the section I would put first if you are in that position, because money that is sitting there has a clock on it in a different way from money you have not committed yet.

First, what the company said it would do. Card issuance fees would be refunded to the Infini balance automatically within about 10 business days of 17 June 2025. Deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued after that date. So the balance was not announced as frozen.

Second, what is not stated. And this is where I would be careful rather than reassured. The card’s own withdrawal terms — no withdrawal fees, no limits, no conditions on closing — are not stated on the pricing page or the site. The only withdrawal mentions in the app release notes concern BTC withdrawals and fixes to “withdrawal address matching”. What happens to a card balance if you close your account is not written down anywhere I could read. There is no published timetable for unwinding a suspended card programme. That silence is itself the risk: you cannot plan around a process that has not been described.

Third, where the money actually came in. Funding paths were USDC and USDT — networks not specified — plus USD and EUR local accounts. That last point matters more than it looks. If you funded with fiat rails, you have an amount sitting in a commercial ledger in a Hong Kong company. If you funded with stablecoins, you have a blockchain transaction and a network question. Both are described in more detail in the costs section below.

Fourth, support. Email [email protected], a Help Center Telegram at t.me/infini_official, and X at @0xinfini. Languages are not listed on the site, though the app added Thai in v1.1.0; support hours are not stated. I would not plan a withdrawal around someone’s business hours.

Fifth, refunds and disputes. A refund fee of 1% applies on the Pro and Max cards. The dispute and chargeback process and its time frames are not stated. In the US, debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. So the practical reading: do not assume you have a defined route to complain if a refund goes wrong.

If you are in this position, my advice is unglamorous: get the balance out while withdrawal is still described as continuing, and keep a record of every transaction ID as you go. Note also that the refund fee of 1% on Pro and Max applies to refunds, and that Max carries a small-transaction fee of $0.30 on transactions under US$50 and a 1% cross-border fee outside Hong Kong — so a long tail of tiny withdrawals is the expensive way to unwind.

What can go wrong

Beyond the suspension itself, there are risks you would be taking on with any card in this category, and Infini made some of them sharper than usual.

The issuer is not named. The site says the company partners with regulated financial institutions. That is a category of statement, not a name. The company behind the app and the site is Cynosure Technology LLC, Hong Kong, listed as the app store seller. The relationship between those two facts is not explained on the Infini site. When you cannot name the institution that actually issues your card, you cannot look up its regulator, read its licence, or see whether it is subject to a safeguarding regime you could rely on. An FCA mark appears on the site with no licence number shown. SOC 2 Type II and PCI-DSS Level 1 are claimed.

A named theft, and an unnamed response. $49.5 million left the vault through a former developer’s retained admin privileges. The company’s own claim was that withdrawals and payments continued and that full compensation could be paid. Whether the company paid this remains unconfirmed. What the episode demonstrates is that admin access was the attack surface — a fact about internal controls, not about cryptography.

Custody, in general. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is an unencrypted form of the private key; anyone who has it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and there is no built-in recovery — the network cannot freeze or return them. This is not hypothetical: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen in 2011–2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Infini’s own page says crypto is held in multi-sig MPC wallets, funds with regulated institutions in “bankruptcy-remote, segregated accounts”, and audits and penetration tests by Exvul; the app has biometric authentication and passkey sign-in. The custody model for personal users, and whether any insurance applies, is not stated.

Your card can look foreign. A card number starts with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number that tells merchants which institution and country issued it. Merchants can look that up, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. That is why a Hong Kong-issued card can be treated differently at a shop in another country. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign issuer numbers outright. Address Verification Service — which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type with issuer records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines even when everything is correct.

Some categories are simply closed to you. A merchant category code is a four-digit number classifying a business, and many issuers block certain codes by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Infini’s restricted categories are not stated.

Fraud liability can move. 3-D Secure adds an identity check to online payments: the issuer assesses risk and either approves frictionlessly or challenges you with a one-time code or biometric. Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check. Under 3-D Secure, liability for fraudulent online payments can shift — critics argue it shifts too far, to the cardholder. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for up to about 7 days.

No complaint record to check. No Trustpilot or Reddit page for Infini itself was found in the search carried out on 2026-10-20. For most cards that absence would be unremarkable. For a card that has already been suspended, it removes the one external signal you would use to check whether other people’s money came out.

What it costs, and what that costs you

Infini’s pricing is the strongest thing about it, and I want to be fair to it before I say why it is not enough.

Item Pro Lite Max
FX fee 1% 3% 0%
Cashback 2% (up to 3%; base 1%, 2% during a promotion) none 2% (up to 3%; footnote base 1%)
Refund fee 1% not stated 1%
Cross-border fee not stated not stated 1% outside Hong Kong
Small-transaction fee not stated not stated $0.30 under US$50
USD spending fee 0% 0% 0%
Monthly fee $0 $0 $0
Transaction fee $0 $0 $0

Across all three: the first card is free, there is no annual fee, the monthly fee is $0, the transaction fee is $0, the USD spending fee is 0%, and stablecoin top-up is free. Fees for additional cards are “confirmed at application”. The minimum initial top-up is US$10. A “$20 cash reward” on the site is a sign-up incentive, not a spending reward.

Top-up. Stablecoin self top-up is free, which is why the top-up line scored 6 rather than lower. Fiat deposits go through Iron at 0.20% plus the rail’s own fee: ACH $1, FedNow $1, RTP $1, wire $20, SEPA EUR 1. On-chain network fees are not stated, and the blockchain charges those — gas on Ethereum, bandwidth and energy on Tron — not the card provider.

What the fee table leaves out. The card currency itself is not stated, and neither are multi-currency balances. The site claims “0% FX on ad spend”, which is a specific slice of activity rather than a general rate, and payment reference fees “as low as 0.3% (subject to actual terms)” — that is about payments, not the card. The card conversion fee is not stated. So the 0% Max FX figure reads best as applying inside its own frame, and the frame’s edges are not drawn.

Networks are the quiet risk in top-ups. You fund with USDC or USDT, and Infini does not name which networks. This matters because there is no universal USDC. Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar; Tether describes USDT as issued on multiple blockchains including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Send on the wrong network and the transfer can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. On Ethereum, fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often by burning TRX. And “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option at all — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. For USDT, Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof.

Stablecoins can move. The name promises a stable value against a fiat currency, but, as the BIS put it in July 2025, about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC — and stablecoins are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm.

What to take instead

None of these is a like-for-like replacement for a Hong Kong-issued card, and I would rather say that than pretend otherwise. They are the working options I could actually read pages for, with their own gaps left visible. Scores are mine on the same scale as Infini’s.

Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Who “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no list or exclusions; app listing is Naira-focused Aimed at Nigeria: “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, “Nigerians and global users” No country list on official pages; app says the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated on the app page
Cost not stated “Creating a virtual card is completely free”; monthly fee not stated not stated; app page lists no fees
Fees Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks the best one; no percentage stated not stated not stated on the pages I could read
Funding USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not named Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not named Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not named
Rewards not stated not stated not stated

Read that table carefully, because the pattern is the point: every one of these leaves fees or networks or both unstated. That is the norm in this category, not a defect of any one provider, and it means the questions in the FAQ below are the ones worth asking before you commit money.

The case for Cardex is that it names four networks rather than none, and gives you physical and virtual options. It also claims conversion at the moment of payment using the best rate it can find, which is structurally different from a pre-loaded balance. Its app listing is Naira-focused, though, so if you are not in Nigeria the fit is less clear than the “200+ countries” line suggests.

The case for CardFlow is speed and a free start: a virtual USD Mastercard in about 3 minutes, with no stated country list beyond its Nigerian framing. Funding by Naira bank transfer is a genuine difference if that is where your money is.

The case for HyperCard is that it handles several coins and converts them into a USD or EUR balance, which may suit you if you hold across chains. Its app page lists no fees at all, and no network, which is thin.

On which of these is regulated. A card is a payment service, regulated separately from the crypto side — so a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the EU, MiCA (Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution (Article 48). The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and you can check a provider there — that is the single most useful thing you can do before depositing with any of these. A provider authorised in one member state can serve the whole EU. In the US, FinCEN guidance (FIN-2013-G001) treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods or services are not.

On KYC, the general rule is that regulated businesses must verify customers and assess risk, including ongoing monitoring and suspicious-activity reporting. In the EU that covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. Prepaid and debit cards are generally for adults 18+. Infini’s own personal-card KYC requirements are not stated; its site describes full KYB for businesses, typically under 8 hours for higher volumes, and automated identity verification issuing API keys within minutes.

On card payments themselves, a few mechanics explain the declines people hit. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code; an issuer can restrict a tokenised number, for example blocking it on magnetic-stripe, phone or website use. Infini’s Max card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

Who I would recommend it to

Not to someone choosing a card today. The suspension and the unclear Max status make Infini a thing to wind down rather than plan around.

I would say this to two people specifically. The first is someone who already holds an Infini card and wants their balance out: deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued after 17 June 2025, the card issuance fees were to be auto-refunded to the Infini balance within roughly 10 business days, and the transfer rails that cost nothing are the stablecoin ones — so move funds while that is still described as working, keep your transaction IDs, and expect the 1% refund fee and, on Max, the $0.30 small-transaction charge and the 1% cross-border fee outside Hong Kong.

The second is someone who was about to use it as a workaround for a banking problem, and who now needs a different answer to the same question. That answer starts with the provider, not the card: name the institution that issues it, check whether it appears in the relevant regulator’s register, read what the issuer is licensed to do, and check whether your funds are segregated or insured and what that would and would not cover. Note that safeguarded e-money funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not be covered by deposit guarantee schemes.

What I would not do is pick a replacement purely on fees. The strongest-looking rate is worth nothing if the provider will not say who issues the card, or if you cannot find out what it costs, or if the network you hold your token on is one they quietly do not support.

One last practical note, since crypto-backed spending is a tax question in several places and I am not qualified to advise on it: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the fair market value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. That is a reason to keep records, not a conclusion about what you owe — check with a professional in your own jurisdiction.

Frequently asked questions

What is Infini?

Infini is a Hong Kong-based crypto financial platform — Cynosure Technology LLC — that offered a personal card line plus a stablecoin corporate card, crypto accounts and an Earn product. The personal line covered Global, Lite, Tech, Pro and Max variants. The platform said it supported 180+ countries, though eligibility for a card was never stated. Cards described as virtual and corporate existed; physical delivery was not disclosed.

Why were Infini cards suspended?

On 17 June 2025 Infini notified users that all Global, Lite and Tech cards would be suspended for both usage and new applications. Its co-founder cited high compliance costs and thin margins and said the company was shifting toward wealth management. Card issuance fees were to be refunded automatically within about 10 business days, and deposits, withdrawals and Earn continued. The Max card’s status for private customers was not clearly stated.

What happened to the $49.5 million?

On 24 February 2025 Decrypt reported that about US$49.5 million in USDC had been taken from Infini’s vault using admin privileges retained by a former developer, a finding reported by Cyvers and QuillAudits. Infini said withdrawals and payments continued and the founder said full compensation could be paid. Whether it was paid is not stated. The app is still being updated, with version 1.3.0 current.

Can I still apply for an Infini card?

Not for the suspended Global, Lite and Tech cards — new applications stopped on 17 June 2025. The site still lists three cards on its personal pricing page, but with the programme partly wound down and eligibility unstated, I would not treat the listing as an open door. Check the app and the site directly before assuming anything, and confirm in writing if it matters to you.

Is Infini a bank, and who issues its card?

No — Infini is a financial technology company, not a bank, and it does not name its issuer, saying only that it partners with regulated financial institutions. That distinction matters in a practical way: the institution that issues your card is the one whose licence you would look up and whose safeguarding rules apply to your money. An FCA mark appears on the site without a licence number.

Is Infini card safe to use for crypto?

I would not put new money into it. Its own pages claim SOC 2 Type II, PCI-DSS Level 1, segregated bankruptcy-remote accounts and multi-sig MPC wallets, and the app has biometrics and passkeys. Against that: an unnamed issuer, a $49.5 million theft in February 2025 through retained admin access, and a suspension four months later. No insurance for personal users’ funds is stated.

How do I withdraw money from Infini?

Withdrawals continued after 17 June 2025, but no withdrawal fees, limits or account-closure terms are stated for a card balance — that is the gap that matters most. Contact [email protected], the Help Center on Telegram at t.me/infini_official, or X at @0xinfini. Support hours are not listed. On Max, budget for the 1% cross-border fee outside Hong Kong and $0.30 on small transactions under US$50.

Which network should I use to deposit USDC or USDT?

Infini names the coins but not the networks, so ask before sending — sending on an unsupported network can lose the funds or need manual recovery with no guarantee. USDC is natively issued on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026; USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not native.

What are the best alternatives to the Infini card?

The ones I could read pages for are Cardex (5.6/10), which names VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay networks with virtual and physical cards; CardFlow (4.9/10), a virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes and aimed at Nigeria; and HyperCard (4.7/10), a prepaid card funded with crypto and spent from a USD or EUR balance. All three leave key fees unstated, so compare carefully.

Was Infini card worth it, and what about taxes?

On pure pricing it was among the better cards in this category: a free first card, $0 monthly and transaction fees, 0% USD spending, free stablecoin top-up, and 0% FX on Max. But pricing cannot offset a suspended programme. If you already used one, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so each payment funded from crypto may be a separate taxable disposal measured at that date’s fair value — so keep records and check your position with a professional in your jurisdiction.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team