A 4.0 card with quiet gaps: useful for a BVN-holding Nigerian, thin on detail for everyone else
If you are reading this because you cannot get an ordinary bank card, or because the ones you can get cost more each month than the card itself would, then Vban is worth putting on your shortlist. That is not a compliment so much as a description of the gap it fills. Vban is a virtual USD card built around a crypto wallet, aimed squarely at people in Nigeria and neighbouring West African markets, and it does something genuinely useful: it turns a stablecoin balance into a card number you can pay with online. What it does not do is tell you much about what that costs, where exactly it works, or what happens when something goes wrong. I went through the card’s public pages, its help material and its public complaints record, and the pattern I found is consistent: a thin, functional product with several load-bearing silences. My score is 4.0 out of 10, and I will show you exactly which marks make up that number and why.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 4.0 out of 10
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | No country list on the pages; starting data points to Nigeria, Ghana and West/Central African states, and a Nigerian BVN is required |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | $2 creation plus a $5 card funding charge, $7 in total; no monthly fee and no per-transaction fees disclosed |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Card is funded from the USD account, which needs at least $7; USDT and USDC named in starting data, networks not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | Operated by TM Payments Limited, “not a bank”, Canada-based, running on Maplerad; Lead Bank and Bridge Ventures LLC named in the FAQ; Trustpilot 3.2 out of 13 reviews, refund refusals and missing incoming transfers in 2025–2026 |
| Everyday use | 2 / 10 | Virtual USD card only; Apple Pay and Google Pay not offered, Google Pay “may not work consistently due to region mismatch”; ATM details not disclosed |
Read those marks together and you get the shape of the card. The cost mark is the highest because $7 all-in at the front is genuinely low and hard to argue with. Everything around it is weak, and the two 2s are the ones that decide the verdict: eligibility is narrower and murkier than the marketing implies, and day-to-day use is stripped to the bare minimum.

Who this suits: someone in Nigeria or a nearby West African market who already holds a BVN, who wants a card number for online payments in USD rather than naira, and who is comfortable holding funds on someone else’s platform. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the stated starting markets, anyone who needs a physical card, anyone who lives on Apple Pay, and anyone who intends to load several thousand dollars and rely on the published support channels when something goes sideways.
Who will they give you the card
This is the first thing to check, because the answer is narrower than you may expect, and the card’s own pages are the least forthcoming part of the whole proposition.
The public pages list no countries at all. What exists is starting data pointing at Nigeria, Ghana and a set of West and Central African countries: Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Central African Republic, Chad. The card requires a BVN, the Nigerian Bank Verification Number. That is a national identifier tied to Nigeria specifically, and it is the hard gate in front of everything else.
So let me be plain about what that means for you. If you are in Lagos or Abuja with a valid BVN, you are inside the design centre of this product. If you are in Accra, you are in a listed market but may or may not be served — the pages do not tell you. If you are in Dakar, Yamoussoukro or Libreville, same answer. If you are in Frankfurt, Toronto or Bangkok, nothing on the public pages suggests there is a route in, and the BVN requirement makes that less likely rather than more. “Not stated” is the honest description: the card’s public pages do not say who is eligible, so the country list above is starting data, not a promise.
Worth noting for anyone doing this check: the eligibility test here is by national identifier, not by citizenship rules in the usual sense. That is different from most cards in this category, which usually screen on residence or registration country. You should not assume any general rule about your citizenship applies either way.
How to get it
The process is short, and the identity check is the only real obstacle.
BVN verification is required before the card can be created. The card states that a BVN is verified “within minutes”, and its blog adds that one valid government ID is what you need. Proof of address and an age requirement are not stated on the public pages — so if you are under 18, or you expect to be asked for a utility bill, do not assume either way.
The steps as described are: verify your BVN, hold at least $7 in the USD wallet, then create the card in the app. That is the whole flow. There is no published tier table — no basic/plus/premium ladder — just a single level, and the card does show KYC statuses including pending and rejected, with name mismatch given as a reason for rejection. That last one matters more than it sounds: if your name on your ID does not match the name on your wallet account, expect to be pushed back through the process rather than quietly fixed.
You will end up with a virtual, USD, multi-use card. It is virtual only — there is no physical version mentioned anywhere. On the network, the article material does not name one; the site’s own FAQ says the card is “issued by Lead Bank” under a Visa licence, which implies Visa without the card pages stating it plainly. If the network matters to you for a specific merchant, that is an open question, and you would need to ask the support centre.
Fees: what it really costs
The headline cost is unusually good. The ongoing cost is the part the card does not publish.

$2 one-time to create the card, plus a $5 card funding charge — $7 to be holding the card. There is no monthly fee stated, and no transaction fees stated. What is missing is exactly what you would need to calculate your real cost per dollar spent: the conversion rate applied when crypto becomes card balance, any foreign exchange fee, and any ATM or withdrawal charge. None of those are disclosed on the public pages.
| Item | Value |
|---|---|
| Card creation | $2 one-time |
| Card funding charge | $5 |
| Total to create and fund | $7 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion fee | Not stated |
| Foreign exchange fee | Not stated |
| ATM / cash withdrawal | Not stated |
| Card spending limits | Not stated |
| Accounts supported | USD, GBP, EUR |
| Card currency | USD |
| Tiers | Single tier |
Now the part that actually bites: three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each.
Paying a US online service in USD from an already-funded USD balance. No conversion happens, so no conversion fee applies — and none is disclosed anyway. This is the cleanest case, and the one the card is really built for.
Paying a Nigerian merchant who charges in naira. The card is a USD card, so the transaction needs a conversion at whatever rate the platform applies, and any FX fee on top if one exists. Neither is disclosed. Your naira withdrawal limits — not the card, the wallet — are NGN 20,000,000 per day, NGN 200,000,000 per month, and NGN 10,000,000 per transaction.
Paying anything in a third currency, or taking cash out. A conversion is involved, possibly an FX fee, and ATM terms are not stated at all. Ghanaian cedi limits are GHS 100,000 daily, GHS 1,000,000 monthly, GHS 10,000 per transaction.
So the honest summary: Vban tells you what it costs to open the account and stays silent on what it costs to use it. Before you commit money, that silence is the thing to resolve — not the $7.
How to top it up
The top-up path is short, which is its main virtue, and narrow in a way that matters.
The card is funded from the USD account, and the wallet needs to hold at least $7. Coins named in the starting data are USDT and USDC. Networks are not disclosed, and that is the detail that decides whether your transfer works. Blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. USDC in particular exists natively on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, and USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — so “USDC” on its own does not tell you where to send it.
The $5 card funding charge is also described as “the minimum card withdrawal amount”, which is an unusual dual role for one figure and worth remembering if you plan to move money off the card.
USD deposits into the account have published limits: individuals max $3,999 per deposit, with the excess refunded; businesses have no fixed limit; anything above $9,999 triggers extra documents. Those are account-level fiat deposit rules, separate from crypto transfers, and separate again from the card funding charge.
Paying with it every day
Here is where the 2 out of 10 comes from, and it is not subtle.
The card is virtual only. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not offered as wallet features. The card’s own wording on Google Pay is worth reading in full, because it is an unusual thing for a company to publish about its own product: Google Pay “may not work consistently due to region mismatch”. That is the card provider telling you that one of the two mobile wallets you are likely to reach for will misbehave, and explaining why.
What you get instead is the raw card number entered into a checkout form, or stored in a browser. That works for a decent share of online payments and is genuinely fine for subscriptions and software. It does not work for tap-to-pay in a shop, which is where a large part of daily card spending happens.
Two more gaps you will hit within a week. Address verification — the automatic comparison of the billing street number and postcode you type against the issuer’s records — is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, and that alone causes declines at some merchants. And online payments often run through 3-D Secure, Visa’s version being Visa Secure, which can send you a one-time code or a biometric challenge; if the region on your account and the region the wallet expects do not line up, that step is a common failure point.
Rewards are not stated. Disputes and chargeback handling are not stated. The app is on the App Store and Google Play, but I did not read the store ratings, so I cannot tell you what users say there.
What can go wrong
No official incident involving Vban itself came to light in my checks. The risk here is not a documented scandal; it is thin disclosure plus a small, unhappy public complaint record.
The operator is TM Payments Limited. The card’s own description is blunt: “It is not a bank”. The office is in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada, and the platform is “powered by Maplerad”. The site’s FAQ names Lead Bank as the issuing bank and Bridge Ventures LLC as Programme Manager. Licences are not named. That chain matters because in this category the party that actually holds your money and the party whose name is on the app are often different companies, and the one you contact when funds are missing is rarely the one you can sue.
The public complaints record is where I would slow down. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 13 reviews, read on 2026-10-21 — a tiny sample, but a poor ratio. The themes are consistent: refunds refused with repeated document requests after a payment, in November 2025 and again in June 2026, and incoming funds not showing, in November 2025 and May 2026. Both patterns point at the same structural weakness. A refund dispute that turns into a document loop means the money is held while you chase paperwork, and a transfer that never arrives on your side means you are arguing with a blockchain that cannot reverse itself, mediated by support.
Support runs through a Help Centre at support.vban.com, in English, with hours not stated. There is no published response-time commitment. If you are outside working hours of an Ontario office, that matters.
Two industry-level risks sit behind this one. Programme closures are not hypothetical in crypto cards — in November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card was wound down — and the usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left. And the regulatory picture is unfinished: MiCA’s transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused authorisation, whichever comes first. A card launched into that window, with licences not named on its pages, is a card whose regulatory footing you are taking on trust. ESMA maintains an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities, and that register is where I would look before depositing anything meaningful.
What to take instead
None of these are perfect, and the honest reason I include them is that a 4.0 with disclosed gaps is often easier to live with than a 6 that hides them. Here is what the alternatives actually say on their own pages — all as stated, not as I wish they did.
| Vban | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.0 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Who | Nigeria/Ghana/West Africa region, BVN required | Excludes residents and registrants of a long list of countries | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses |
| Card | Virtual USD card | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” | Multicurrency Mastercard, physical/virtual not stated | Visa, works online and in stores |
| Cost | $2 + $5 funding | $5 issuance, no maintenance fee; plans free/$9/$19 | “No annual fee” | “No extra fees” |
| On spending | Not stated | USD use free; foreign currency at Visa rate + 2% FX fee | No FX fee, live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | Not stated |
| Funding | USD account, min $7, USDT/USDC | USDC/USDT at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Whop balance, stablecoin-backed |
| Rewards | Not stated | No cashback stated | Up to 3% spend-to-earn | 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber |
The International Visa Card is the one with the most transparent pricing in this group, and transparency is what Vban lacks. $5 to issue, no maintenance fee, card use in USD free on every plan including the free one, and foreign currency priced openly as the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee. Deposits of any kind carry no fee. The catch is eligibility, and it is blunt: no account or card for residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine or Venezuela, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. That is a wide exclusion list covering a lot of the world, and if you fall inside it, this is not an option.
UNi Card is the quiet clean one. Multicurrency, on Mastercard, spending straight from the UNi.Global account balance, with “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, conversion at live over-the-counter rates, and “no hidden exchange fees”. Up to 3% back through spend-to-earn. The problem for you is that eligibility is not stated at all, funding routes are not stated, and whether you get plastic or virtual is not stated — so this card asks you to apply on the strength of its fee policy alone.
Whop Cards sit in the middle. Visa, accepted online and in stores, spends from a Whop balance where a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. The page says “no extra fees” without listing a single amount, and conversion and FX fees are not stated. Eligibility is the narrowest here in a different way: 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, named individually. The reward is the most concrete — 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber — but payout currency and conditions are not stated.
My read: if you are in the Vban markets and have a BVN, Vban and UNi are the two worth comparing first, because both price their currency handling openly or at least name it. If you are in the US, Whop’s state list is the only thing that matters. And if you are anywhere on that International Visa exclusion list, none of these four is a candidate and you are looking at a different category entirely.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Vban to one person in this page: a Nigerian, or someone living in one of the listed West or Central African markets, who has a valid BVN, who already holds USDT or USDC, and who needs a USD card number for recurring online payments. For that person, $7 to open a virtual USD Visa card that draws on a crypto balance is a good trade, and the complaint themes I found do not touch the core use case.
I would not recommend it if any of these are true. You are outside Nigeria, Ghana and the listed regional markets. You need a physical card. You pay mostly in shops by tapping a phone. You intend to hold more than a few hundred dollars on the platform. You need to know what a transaction costs before you make it. Or you need a refund process you can rely on — because “refunds refused with repeated document requests” is the complaint that appears twice, and that is the pattern most likely to cost you money.
Before you commit, check three things yourself. First, which network your USDT or USDC must be sent on — this is undisclosed, and a wrong network means a lost deposit. Second, what the conversion and FX terms actually are — they are not on the public pages, and they decide your real cost. Third, whether the provider appears on the ESMA interim register or holds a licence you can name, since the pages list none.
If you are weighing Vban against a bank or an exchange account you already have, that comparison is not close. Vban is for people the system does not serve well, and for them it is a reasonable bridge.
Frequently asked questions
What is Vban card?
Vban is a virtual USD card that spends from a crypto wallet balance, aimed at users in Nigeria and neighbouring West and Central African markets. It is operated by TM Payments Limited, which the card’s own pages say is “not a bank”, with the platform powered by Maplerad and the card issued under a Visa licence by Lead Bank per the site FAQ. Creating it costs $2 plus a $5 funding charge.
Is Vban a bank?
No, and the card is clear about it — it describes itself as “operated by TM Payments Limited. It is not a bank”. The registered office is in Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada. The FAQ names Lead Bank as the issuing bank and Bridge Ventures LLC as Programme Manager, which is the usual pattern for this category: the brand you see is a front end over someone else’s licence.
Who owns Vban?
The operator named on the pages is TM Payments Limited, a Canadian company based in Richmond Hill, Ontario. Behind it the card’s FAQ names Lead Bank as the issuer under a Visa licence and Bridge Ventures LLC as Programme Manager. Licences are not named on the public pages, so the exact ownership chain below those two names is not stated.
Do I need a BVN to get the Vban card?
Yes, a Nigerian BVN — Bank Verification Number — is required before card creation. The card says verification completes “within minutes” and its blog mentions one valid government ID. Proof of address and an age requirement are not stated. If you have no BVN, this card is almost certainly not available to you regardless of where you live.
How much does the Vban card cost?
$2 one-time to create it, plus a $5 card funding charge, so $7 all in. No monthly fee and no per-transaction fees are stated. Conversion fees, foreign exchange fees, ATM charges and card spending limits are all not stated, which means you cannot calculate the true cost per payment from the public pages.
Can I add the Vban card to Apple Wallet?
No — Apple Pay and Google Pay are not offered as wallet features of this card. The card’s own wording on Google Pay is that it “may not work consistently due to region mismatch”. Practically, you will be entering the card number into checkout forms yourself rather than tapping a phone, which is fine for subscriptions and less fine for anything in a shop.
How do I top up the Vban card?
The card is funded from the USD account, which needs at least $7 in the wallet. USDT and USDC are the coins named in the starting data, but the networks are not disclosed. USD fiat deposits are capped at $3,999 per deposit for individuals with the excess refunded, and anything above $9,999 requires extra documents. Check the network before sending anything.
Is the Vban card safe to use?
I would not call it unsafe, but I would call it thinly documented. No official incident came to light in my checks. However Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 13 reviews, with themes of refunds refused after repeated document requests in November 2025 and June 2026, and incoming funds not showing in November 2025 and May 2026. Support hours are not stated.
Is the Vban card free?
Not quite. It costs $7 to get started: $2 to create the card and a $5 card funding charge, which is also described as the minimum card withdrawal amount. Whether using it costs anything per payment depends on conversion and FX fees that the card’s public pages do not disclose.
Can I use the Vban card in my country?
That depends on where you are. The card’s pages list no countries; starting data covers Nigeria, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Senegal, Cameroon, Togo, Benin, Burkina Faso, Mali, Niger, Guinea-Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Central African Republic and Chad, and a BVN is required. The card is USD-denominated and virtual, and where it can actually be spent is not stated.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
