What the Gate card actually delivers once you start spending with it
The Gate card is a Visa- or Mastercard-branded payment card tied to a Gate exchange account: you hold crypto on Gate, the card converts and pays in fiat at the till, and the exchange gives you points or cashback for spending. On paper that is a familiar pitch. In practice, the card has real strengths — a free Standard tier, no monthly or inactivity fees, an 8% top cashback rate, and a near-instant virtual card — and real friction, starting with the fact that Gate does not publish a country list and has not named the bank that actually issues the card. The mix is why the card lands at 6.8 out of 10 in our scoring, a useful option for a specific reader and a poor fit for everyone else.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The score is built from five criteria, each marked out of 10.
| Criterion | Mark | Why it scored that way |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Gate does not publish a country list; users in “non-restricted countries or regions” can apply, but you only find out by trying. |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | The Standard tier has no issuance, monthly or inactivity fee; the headline costs are 0.90% crypto conversion and 1% non-USD FX. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | Instant Spend Mode covers USDT, BTC, ETH and GT; the broader prepaid mode supports more coins, but networks are not disclosed up front. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The issuer is not named on the card page; Trustpilot scores for the Gate brand are weak, and card-specific complaints cluster around cashback pauses and slow replacements. |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Virtual card in minutes, physical card in 7 to 45 days, ATM withdrawals, and a published guide for Google Pay and Apple Pay. |
| Total | 6.8 / 10 | A free, well-rewarded card for Gate users in supported countries; held back by opacity around who issues it and where it works. |
The card is built for the person who already has a Gate account, holds USDT, BTC, ETH or GT, and wants a fast way to spend that balance at normal shops without first selling to a bank. If that is you, the Standard tier is one of the more generous free crypto cards on the market today. If you are outside Gate’s ecosystem, do not have those coins, or live in a country Gate will not say publicly whether it serves, the picture changes quickly.
Will they give you the card
Gate is unusually quiet about who can actually get the card. The card page says only that the product is “available to users in non-restricted countries or regions” and stops there. There is no list of supported countries, no distinction between citizenship and residence, and no statement of minimum age. The closest you get to a rule is that you must complete Gate’s Level 2 identity verification, which is the same gate you go through to withdraw from the exchange.
What this means for you in practice is that you discover whether you qualify by starting the application, not by reading a page first. If your country is “restricted”, the card section either does not show up in your app or the application fails at KYC. If you are accepted, you are in. There is no separate waiting list or invite step.
Unofficial directories and reviews fill in some of the gap. One third-party listing has the Gate Classic card available in 24 European countries (Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Sweden), and another directory adds Austria and Spain. The same sources list the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, France and Canada as not on the supported list. None of that is confirmed by Gate, and Gate has not published a comparable document of its own, so treat the geography as a strong hint rather than a guarantee.
A second layer of opacity sits above the geography: the card’s issuer is not named on Gate’s pages. The card is described as “a digital assets credit card offered by Gate” with the rest of the issuer information hidden behind what Gate calls the issuing institution’s review. Third-party sources point to Stanhope Financial UAB (a Bank of Lithuania-licensed e-money institution, licence number LB002039) as the EEA issuer and Lead Bank, with Bridge as programme manager, in the United States. That detail matters if you care who holds your money and which regulator you can complain to, but Gate does not surface it on the card page.
If you are sensitive to either uncertainty — which countries are actually supported, or who is on the other end of the transaction — this card is harder to evaluate than rivals that publish a country table and an issuer name on the same page.
How to get it
The application path is short and runs entirely inside the Gate app. The official steps are: open a Gate account, complete Level 2 KYC, then apply for a virtual or physical card. The card section is where the application lives, and Gate says you should use the same identity document for the card as for your Gate KYC.
Level 2 KYC is the gate that decides whether the card is even an option. Gate requires that level of verification plus any extra documents for the card application; some card types ask for a proof of address dated within the last three months. The exact list of accepted documents is not in the card FAQ, and Gate has not published a minimum age, though the standard adult threshold in this category is 18.
Once KYC is done, the application itself is mostly forms. You enter your ID, your facial information, and your address in-app. Gate does not publish the list of rejection reasons, so the only signal you have during the process is whether the screen moves forward. If you make it to the card details screen, you have been approved.
After approval the virtual card is usually ready in three to five minutes, and Gate calls it the “Instant Virtual Card”. The physical card takes longer. Gate’s official help desk says 7 to 45 days depending on country, and one unofficial estimate puts the realistic range at 15 to 45 days. If the card has not arrived after 45 days, the help article says to confirm your address with Gate support and then use a “Resend” option. If your card never shows, that 45-day mark is the point at which Gate expects you to start asking questions.
Issuance is free for both the virtual and physical Standard card, and a replacement costs 25 USD.
Fees
The Standard card has the most complete fee picture on Gate’s site. Other tiers, like the prepaid variant or the older Classic, are partially described in unofficial sources, and Gate itself does not list all of those numbers on a single page. The Standard table below is the one to weigh the card against.

| Fee or limit | Standard card |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | Free |
| Physical card issuance | Free |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Inactivity fee | None |
| Replacement card | 25 USD |
| Crypto conversion (2 USD or more) | 0.90% |
| Crypto conversion (below 2 USD) | 0.05 USD |
| Foreign exchange (non-USD) | 1.00% |
| ATM withdrawal | 2% |
| Chargeback | 30 USD |
| Daily spending limit | 50,000 USD (all tiers T0–T4) |
| Monthly spending limit | 990,000 USD (all tiers T0–T4) |
| ATM withdrawal — daily | 5,000 USD, up to 10 withdrawals |
| ATM withdrawal — monthly | 15,000 USD, up to 100 withdrawals |
| ATM withdrawal — yearly | 50,000 USD, up to 1,000 withdrawals |
| ATM per-transaction cap | 5,000 USD |
A few everyday situations show how those numbers land.
Paying 100 USD with USDT in a country that settles in USD: you pay the 0.90% conversion, so 0.90 USD comes off the top. There is no FX fee because the merchant settles in dollars. That is the cheapest path the card offers.
Paying 100 EUR with USDT while you sit in a eurozone country: the card converts your USDT to USD at 0.90%, then applies the 1.00% non-USD FX margin on top, so 1.90 USD before any network FX that the issuer may bake in. In practice you see roughly 2% come off a euro tap, which is in line with the rest of the category.
Pulling 200 USD from an ATM: the 2% ATM fee is 4 USD on top of whatever the ATM operator charges, and Gate does not publish a free allowance. The 200 USD counts against the daily ATM limit of 5,000 USD. If you take cash out regularly, the 2% is the number to budget against, not the headline 0.90% conversion.
Two things on the Standard fee page are worth flagging. The first is that the “free” framing of the Standard tier is accurate on the recurring side — there really is no monthly or inactivity fee — but the replacement-card charge and the chargeback fee are easy to miss. The 30 USD chargeback fee in the Standard table is also higher than the 25 USD “processing fee” quoted in the help article; treat the 30 USD as the figure of record and ask support if you ever need to dispute a charge, since the help text and the fee table disagree.
Top up
The card supports two top-up styles, and the one that matters for most readers is Instant Spend Mode. In that mode, the card spends directly from a crypto balance of USDT, BTC, ETH or GT, and the conversion happens at the till. There is no separate “load the card” step; you top up your Gate account, hold one of those four assets, and the card does the rest.

The Standard card’s crypto conversion rate is 0.90% on transactions of 2 USD or more and 0.05 USD on transactions below 2 USD, so small taps have a flat per-tap cost rather than a percentage. There is no separate top-up fee listed for Instant Spend Mode.
The second style is Prepaid Mode. In prepaid mode, you convert funds from your Gate Pay or Spot balance into fiat first, and the card spends the resulting balance. Unofficial sources say the prepaid variant supports a wider range of coins and tokens than the four listed above, and that the networks on which you can deposit vary by card, issuer and region. Gate has not published the network list, so if you want to fund the card from a coin other than USDT, BTC, ETH or GT, you have to discover the options inside the app.
The network question is the one to watch. Stablecoins move on different chains, and a transfer on the wrong network can be lost or stuck, because blockchain transfers are typically irreversible. If you are sending USDT to fund the card, make sure the network you pick matches the one Gate shows you, and test with a small amount first.
The card has a “Card Balance Withdrawal” feature in the help center that points to a Gate announcement describing how to move balances back out, and the card balance is linked to your Gate Pay payment account. Gate has not published a clear account-closure or refund procedure for the card itself; the practical path is to spend the balance down or withdraw through the standard Gate Pay flow before closing anything.
Paying with it every day
The Standard card’s day-to-day picture is one of the card’s stronger points. The virtual card is available in minutes after approval, the physical card arrives in 7 to 45 days, and the card supports ATM withdrawals through the physical card at supported machines. Gate has a help article on adding the card to Google Pay and Apple Pay, and unofficial sources say the Standard and Signature tiers support both wallets, while the older Classic may support only Google Pay. Treat the wallet list as guidance, not a guarantee, since Gate’s pages do not state the rule directly.
On rewards, the headline is up to 8% cashback on eligible purchases, with the rate depending on your card tier. The FAQ describes rewards as points that you redeem for USDT or GT, while a banner on the same product has at times mentioned BTC, ETH, USDT or USDC, and the two are not always consistent. The tier mechanics, the eligible categories and the caps are not laid out in one place on Gate’s pages. Unofficial sources break the older Classic tier table down by monthly spend: T0 at 0 USDT gives 1% capped at 5 USDT, T1 at 500 USDT gives 1% capped at 50, T2 at 3,000 USDT gives 2% capped at 100, T3 at 6,000 USDT gives 3% capped at 150, T4 at 10,000 USDT gives 5% capped at 250, and T5 at 15,000 USDT gives 8% capped at 400. Points convert at 100 points = 1 USDT and, on the same unofficial source, do not expire. None of those tier numbers are confirmed by Gate, so use them as an order-of-magnitude guide rather than a contract.
On the disputes side, the help center’s process is: contact the merchant first, then start a chargeback through Gate with proof that you tried to resolve it directly. A 25 USD processing fee is mentioned in the help text, the Standard fee table puts the same chargeback at 30 USD, and the case can take up to three months. Pre-authorisation holds, where a tap at a hotel or rental car parks money on your card, are released after the merchant closes the tab, and there is no separate refund timeline.
The two things you will not find on the page are blocked merchant categories and the card’s fiat currency. Gate has not published either, which is part of why 3-D Secure challenges and merchant-side declines are hard to predict up front.
What can go wrong
The risks fall into three groups: things Gate has not told you, things users have reported, and things built into the category that apply to any crypto card.
The first group is the opacity around the issuer. Gate’s card page does not name the bank that issues the card or its licence, and it does not list a country map. Third-party sources identify Stanhope Financial UAB as the EEA issuer (a Bank of Lithuania-licensed e-money institution) and Lead Bank with Bridge as programme manager in the United States, but Gate itself has not confirmed either. If you need to know the regulator behind your money, you have to find that out yourself, and the answer depends on where you are.
The second group is the complaint record. The Gate Trustpilot page (the Gate group) sits around 3.5 out of 5 from about 121 reviews and is mostly about the exchange rather than the card, with one resolved card-data complaint. The Gate Trustpilot page (the exchange brand) is around 1.5 out of 5 from about 1,000 reviews, with frequent complaints about restricted accounts, deposits and trading being suspended, and slow support; one third-party snapshot puts the same page at 1.5 out of 5 from about 1,400 reviews with 77% one-star. Card-specific complaints from 2024, as collected by one third-party source, cluster around: a cashback pause from June 19, 2024, a card retained by an ATM with a delayed replacement, card funds becoming inaccessible for several days, merchant refund delays, and five-to-six-week waits for chargeback responses. Some users also report cards being frozen after small purchases. The samples are small and unverified, but the themes are consistent.
The third group is the category. The card asks you to fund it from crypto you hold on a custodial platform, which means you carry the counterparty risk of that platform along with the rest of the card. Lost or stolen cards can be frozen in the app, and PINs are changeable in the Gate Card app, but Gate has not published anything about insurance, custody arrangements or two-factor authentication on the card itself, and Gate warns that a negative card balance “will risk having your card getting permanently blocked”. Several wrong PIN entries can also freeze the card. If the programme were ever shut down, the typical pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, and users are asked to withdraw their balances; one 2026 closure reported by a secondary source had new loads end on 8 July 2026 and spending stop on 8 August 2026. That closure is a single unconfirmed source, but the pattern of “the card network can pull a programme” has happened before: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes in Europe were suspended by Visa in 2018.
In short, the card’s failure modes are the same as any other custodial crypto card, plus the extra uncertainty of not knowing who is on the other side or which countries are supported.
What to take instead
If the Gate card’s gaps put you off, three alternatives cover different trade-offs.
Young Card. Score 5.7 out of 10. The official pages do not list supported countries, card types, fees or top-up options, so the same opacity problem shows up. Its reward structure is published: cashback is paid in YNG tokens at a rate that depends on the holder’s Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% — with Bronze and Silver tiers not stated. It is a workable option if you want exposure to YNG and the Club tiering, and a weak one if you need clear, up-front information.
MSX. Score 6.4 out of 10. Official pages do not state supported countries, card form factors, fees, top-up options or rewards. The score reflects the absence of public information rather than any positive or negative signal on the product itself; if you want MSX, you will need to open the app or read the help center to find out what it actually offers.
Bybit Card. Score 6.0 out of 10. This is the alternative with the most complete public information. The card is available in Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and the broader Asia Pacific region, and the cards page makes clear that “this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that EEA participation is strictly prohibited. Networks and currencies vary by region: a Mastercard prepaid in Argentina, Mastercard credit in AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico and Asia Pacific, and Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru; card currency is USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific, ARS in Argentina, MXN in Mexico, BRL in Brazil and PEN or USD in Peru. Issuance is free for the virtual card in every region “until further notice” (though this is not explicitly confirmed by Bybit’s standard fee documentation), with physical-card issuance ranging from 5 USD/USDT in Argentina and 5 USDT in Asia Pacific to 29.99 USD in Australia and 29.99 USDT in Georgia, Kazakhstan (AIFC) and Asia Pacific, and free in Brazil and Mexico. The crypto conversion fee is 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions and 0.5% in Argentina, and FX fees range from 1% in Brazil and Peru to 7% in Argentina. The card has no balance of its own; it draws on the Funding Account and Flexible Easy Earn, with a default funding priority of USDT, USDC, GRAM, BTC, ETH and XRP, in that order, which is reorderable. Rewards are points and cashback, but from 2026-10-05 only crypto-funded transactions earn them. Tiers run from Base at 2% (5 USD cap, 0 USD spend to unlock, figures per unofficial sources, not confirmed by Bybit) up to Infinite at 10% (600 USD cap, 25,000 USD to unlock), with a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days. Compared to Gate, Bybit’s published geography and fee table are stronger, but EEA users cannot apply, and the rewards programme has narrowed to crypto-funded spending only.
| Card | Score | Public country list | Public fees | Cashback headline | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gate | 6.8 | No | Yes (Standard tier) | Up to 8% in points/USDT/GT | Gate users with USDT, BTC, ETH or GT |
| Young Card | 5.7 | No | No | Up to 3.6% in YNG (Gold/Platinum) | YNG-token exposure |
| MSX | 6.4 | No | No | Not stated | Users who can read the product inside the app |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 | Yes (9 regions) | Yes | Up to 10% in cashback (Infinite tier) | Non-EEA users who want published details |
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Gate card to the person who already keeps USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate, lives in a country that the app confirms is supported, and is happy with the cashback being paid in points redeemable for USDT or GT rather than as a flat cash discount. For that reader, the Standard tier is genuinely hard to beat: no monthly fee, no inactivity fee, 0.90% conversion, an 8% top cashback rate, and a virtual card in minutes.
I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a published country list before applying, who wants to see the issuer’s name on the card page, or who is funding the card from a long tail of coins outside the four Instant Spend Mode assets. If you fall in any of those groups, Bybit Card is the more transparent alternative (outside the EEA), and a non-crypto debit card from a bank you can name is the safer default.
A small note on account management: if you ever want to leave Gate, the path is to withdraw your crypto to a self-custody wallet first, then close the exchange account, because the card balance and the card itself depend on the underlying Gate account and Gate Pay balance staying open.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gate card?
The Gate card is a Visa- or Mastercard-branded payment card issued through a Gate exchange account, designed to spend a crypto balance held on Gate in fiat at normal merchants. Gate describes it as a “digital assets credit card offered by Gate”, with the issuing institution named only in third-party sources.
How does the Gate card work?
In Instant Spend Mode, you hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on Gate and the card converts and pays in fiat at the till. In Prepaid Mode, you load a fiat balance from Gate Pay or Spot first, and the card spends that balance. Either way, the card draws on a stored balance and behaves like a prepaid product.
Is Gate a bank?
Gate is not a bank. The card is offered by the Gate exchange brand, and the underlying issuer is a regulated e-money institution or partner bank (third-party sources name Stanhope Financial UAB in the EEA and Lead Bank in the US). Gate itself has not published the issuer’s name on the card page.
Who owns Gate?
Gate is run by the Gate group, the same company behind the Gate exchange. Ownership of the group is not detailed on the card page; the card-related entities are the unnamed issuer and Gate as the front-end programme manager.
Is the Gate card available in my country?
Gate’s card page does not publish a list. It says the card is available in “non-restricted countries or regions”, and you only find out by applying. Third-party directories list around 24 European countries for the Classic card and treat the US, UK, Germany, France and Canada as not supported, but Gate has not confirmed any of that.
How do I get the Gate card?
Open a Gate account, complete Level 2 KYC, then apply for a virtual or physical card in the Gate app. The card application must use the same ID as your Gate KYC, and some card types ask for a recent proof of address.
Does the Gate card require KYC?
Yes. You must complete Gate’s Level 2 identity verification before you can apply for the card, and you use the same ID for both. Some card types also ask for a proof of address dated within the last three months.
How do I top up the Gate card?
For Instant Spend Mode, hold USDT, BTC, ETH or GT on your Gate account and the card spends directly. For Prepaid Mode, convert funds from Gate Pay or Spot into fiat first, and the card draws on that balance. Make sure the network you use for any deposit matches the one the app shows, since blockchain transfers are typically irreversible.
How do I add the Gate card to Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Gate has a help article on adding the card to both wallets, though the article body is not on the public page. Unofficial sources say the Standard and Signature tiers support Apple Pay and Google Pay, while the older Classic may support only Google Pay.
Is the Gate card safe?
It carries the same risks as any custodial crypto card: you rely on Gate to hold your funds and on the named issuer to operate the card programme. Lost or stolen cards can be frozen in the app, PINs are changeable, and the card can be permanently blocked if it goes into a negative balance, but Gate has not published anything about insurance, custody arrangements or two-factor authentication on the card itself.
Choosing an exchange card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
