What this free virtual Visa really offers
A Tangem card is not a bank account, and it does not try to be one. It is a Visa number that spends a balance you load yourself, mostly from stablecoins you already hold, with a hardware-wallet brand sitting on top of the arrangement. If that sounds familiar, it should: it is the shape a lot of crypto payment cards have taken. What makes this one worth a careful look is the price. The Basic plan costs $0, the first virtual card is $0, and the transaction fee is $0. If you want a plain card that spends crypto balance without a monthly bill, that is genuinely unusual in this category.
The catch is geography, and it is not a small one. Tangem Pay is available in the US and in selected countries across Latin America, the Asia-Pacific region, the Middle East and Africa — not everywhere, and not in every US state. The card’s own pages do not publish a country list. Eligibility is decided by your country and region of residence, and the answer shows up in the app when you sign up. That single fact — you may simply not be eligible — is the first thing to check, before anything else in this review.
I scored it 7.5 out of 10. It is not a 9, mostly because the availability map is opaque, the ATM story is contradictory across the company’s own help pages, and the issuing structure is layered in a way that makes it hard to know exactly who holds your money. It is not a 6, because the core proposition — a free virtual Visa that spends your stablecoin balance — is delivered, and delivered at no ongoing cost.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.5 out of 10
Tangem suits a specific person: someone who already holds USDC or USDT, already uses a self-custody wallet, and wants a card number to spend from that balance without paying a monthly fee or a per-transaction charge. The audience note that came with this card is exactly that — hardware wallet owners wanting a free virtual Visa — and it is the honest centre of the card.
It does not suit someone who wants a normal debit card with a bank behind it, someone in a country the app refuses, or someone who needs a physical plastic card with predictable delivery. It is also a poor fit if you want to be sure exactly which legal entity holds your balance, because the answer spans a brand, an operator, an issuer and a co-signer.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | Available in the US and selected countries across LATAM, APAC, MEA and Africa — not all countries or US states |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Basic $0, first virtual card $0, FX at Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5%, transaction fee $0, ATM 4%; Plus $29.99/month |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain, plus ACH or Fedwire bank transfers and other tokens via swap |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issuer Rain (Visa Principal Member), programme run by Paera LLC, Tangem itself not regulated as a financial services provider; unofficial sources name Third National; complaints about network outages and support |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Basic issues a virtual card, Plus issues plastic, Apple Pay and Google Pay supported, ATM 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus — but another page says withdrawals are not yet available |
| Total | 7.5 / 10 |
The highest mark goes to top-ups, and that is not accidental. Funding options here are genuinely good: two major stablecoins across four networks, bank wires, and a swap path for anything else. Nine out of ten is rare in this category.
Who will they issue the card to
The short answer: US residents in supported states, plus residents of a selected set of countries in Latin America, the Asia-Pacific region, the Middle East and Africa. The long answer is that the full list is not published.
Tangem’s own Pay page does not print a country list, and neither does the tariff PDF. What the PDF does say is that eligibility for some features “is determined based on your country and region of residence” — residence-based, not citizenship-based on the surface of it — and that the result is shown in the app. So the practical test is simple: you find out when you enter your country during onboarding, not before.
Requirements are 18 or older and a residence address in a supported country. US residents also supply an SSN. There is no separate proof-of-address document listed as a requirement, though your residence address is part of the application.
The failure mode is worth knowing. If your region is unsupported, the application is rejected during KYC. You do not get a soft “not available in your country” message at the start; you get a rejection later in the flow. And a repeat application with the same identity is automatically rejected — so if you try again after changing nothing, you have made your situation worse.
One nuance from the general KYC rules that bears on this card: nationality and country of birth are screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship as well as address. So living in a supported country with an ID from a restricted region can be a different situation from living there with a supported passport. That is background, not a Tangem-specific promise, and I am not telling you how to get around it — I am telling you the reason the “supported country” answer is not the whole story.
If you are outside the covered map, no part of the rest of this review helps you. Check the app first.
How to apply for the card
The card runs on a single KYC flow through a provider called Sumsub. You verify a phone number and an email with codes, submit a government-issued ID, and give your residence address. Biometric data is collected by that provider. US residents also give an SSN. The card page states that ID verification and eligibility checks apply to the card account only — a distinction that matters if you already have a Tangem hardware wallet and do not want your identity attached to it.
The programme is operated by Paera LLC, which is described as “responsible for your onboarding including performing KYC & AML verification”. That sentence tells you who to deal with if onboarding goes wrong, and it is a different company from the Tangem brand.
Timing is the best part. The card is usually issued within about 5 minutes, and in the worst case within 48 hours. If 48 hours pass and nothing has arrived, you contact [email protected] — not the Tangem address. Tangem Support cannot see your KYC status, so do not spend an hour there before switching.
There are three tiers, and they differ in more than price:
- Basic — virtual card only, Visa Platinum, up to 3 cards
- Plus — plastic card, Visa Signature, up to 5 cards, first plastic card free
- Prestige — Visa Infinite, virtual/plastic/metal, coming soon, up to 10 cards
Card currency is USD. Non-USD transactions are converted, which brings the FX fee into play later.
Getting the plastic card, if you are on Plus, has real constraints. It ships only inside the country verified at KYC — you cannot have it sent elsewhere. The country list and an estimated delivery time appear in the app when you order. Names must be Latin letters only. And the order cannot be cancelled once placed. The fee is taken from your Tangem Pay balance: $15.63–$63.45 for the first card per the Pay page, while the tariff PDF dated 25 August 2026 gives $14.53–$82.10. Two official figures from the same company differ; I am showing you both rather than picking one. On Plus the first plastic card is free, then the same fee applies. The card arrives inactive.
An additional virtual card costs $5 and is issued in about a minute, rarely longer than 48 hours. Reissue is listed at $5 on one page; the tariff PDF calls it $1 for replacement. Again, both are official and they disagree.
Fees: what it really costs you
The Basic plan is free. That is the headline and it holds: $0 monthly, $0 for the first virtual card, $0 per transaction. What you pay depends entirely on what you do with the card, so here is the full picture.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Basic plan fee | $0/month |
| Plus plan fee | $29.99/month |
| Prestige plan fee | $999/year (coming soon) |
| First virtual card | $0 |
| Additional virtual card | $5 |
| Replacement / reissue | $5 (Pay page) / $1 (tariff PDF) |
| Physical card delivery | $14.53–$82.10 (Plus: first card $0) |
| Transaction fee | $0 |
| FX fee, non-USD | Visa Exchange Rate + 1.5% |
| On-chain withdrawal | $0 |
| Dispute fee | $30 when a formal dispute opens |
| On-ramp via bank details | ACH $1 / Fedwire $11 (Basic), $0 (Plus) |
| ATM fee | 4% (Basic) / 2% (Plus) / 1% (Prestige) |
| Crypto conversion fee / spread | not stated |
Now let me put three everyday situations against that table, because a fee list on its own tells you very little.
You buy coffee in your own country for $5. On Basic, that is $0. The transaction fee is $0, and if the local currency is USD there is no conversion at all. This is the case the card is designed for and it costs you nothing.
You buy something in a country that is not the US, say €40. Visa converts at its own rate, then the tariff PDF adds 1.5%. So you pay roughly $0.60 over the mid-market rate on a $40 equivalent purchase, plus whatever the merchant’s own pricing adds. The help centre’s advice — choose to be charged in the local currency at the terminal rather than in your home currency — is sound, because choosing your home currency lets the terminal’s own conversion rate take its margin.
You take $200 out of an ATM. On Basic, 4% is $8. On Plus, 2% is $4. There is no free allowance stated. That is the sharpest edge on this card for anyone who uses cash regularly.
Two costs are not stated and I want to be honest about that rather than guess. The crypto conversion fee or spread is not stated — so if you swap one token for another before spending, the cost depends on the swap provider and you will see it in the app. The minimum top-up is also not stated.
One thing to know about the plan fee mechanics: it is charged every 30 days, and if the balance cannot cover it you have 30 days to top up before your Signature cards are closed and the plan drops to Basic. That is a real cliff, not a soft warning.
How to top up
This is the strongest part of the card, and it earns the 9 out of 10. You have three routes in.

Stablecoins directly. USDC and USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum and BNB Smart Chain. This is the core path — you send from your own wallet or exchange to the deposit address for the correct network.
Bank transfer. ACH or Fedwire where available, converted into USDC. The bank deposit fee is deducted from the amount you send: send $1,001 via ACH to receive $1,000, $1,011 via Fedwire. On Plus these transfers are free. Bank transfers go to US banks only.
Swap from another token. If you hold something that is not USDC or USDT, the app will route it through a swap. The swap provider’s fee applies, and the amount is not fixed by Tangem.
Limits: $100,000 daily load, 24 loads per day, 150 per month. Network gas is paid by the sender, so keep a little of the native token on hand.
The one instruction that matters more than any other in this section: the wrong token or the wrong network is permanently lost. There is no support ticket that reliably recovers a transfer sent to an incompatible address. Before you press send, confirm the network matches what the app shows you.
Withdrawing works in the other direction too. You can pull USDC/USDT back to your Tangem Wallet at any time, with a $0 on-chain withdrawal fee; swap provider fees apply if the token needs converting. To a US bank via ACH or Fedwire costs $1/$11 (free on Plus), capped at $10,000 per transaction with no daily or monthly ceiling stated.
Two limitations worth internalising. A merchant refund lands back on your card balance and cannot be withdrawn — it can only be spent. And a factory reset, or deleting your Tangem account, loses access to Tangem Pay and the funds in it; there is no relinking mechanism yet. Withdraw before you reset anything.
Paying with it every day
Tangem Pay lives inside the Tangem app on iOS and Android. There is no separate app to install. App Store and Google Play ratings were not found, so I cannot tell you what users say about the app itself.
The payment rails are normal. Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported, with Apple Pay depending on your country. That matters more than it sounds: tokenised mobile wallet payments carry a device-specific number and a one-time dynamic code rather than your actual card number, which is one of the safer ways to use a card. The issuer can also freeze or unfreeze the card instantly in the app — it then shows as Suspended in Apple or Google Wallet. There is a 4-digit PIN and you can set your own daily spending limit, including down to $0.
Cashback: 1% on Basic, 2% on Plus, 4% on Prestige, with monthly caps of $100, $300 and $1,000 respectively. An extra 5%/10%/15% on the first $500, and a welcome bonus up to $75, are listed as coming soon. The payout currency is not stated.
Not everything works everywhere. The merchant categories blocked by the issuer, Rain, are gambling and online casinos, liquor stores, and certain subscription services. That is a policy choice by the issuer rather than a legal rule, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so a card that works for subscriptions elsewhere may not here.
Limits to know before you are surprised:
- Daily spend per card: $10,000 (Basic), $50,000 (Plus), $100,000 (Prestige)
- Annual spend: $10,000,000 per card
- Transactions: 100 per day, 1,000 per month
- Maximum card balance: $10,000 (Basic), $50,000 (Plus)
- Daily load: $100,000
Limits also depend on your risk profile and verification level, so the published figures are ceilings rather than guarantees.
One behaviour to plan around: the on-chain balance updates within 2 business days after a purchase. Your Tangem Pay card balance and your main wallet assets are separate things — the card sits in its own smart-contract accounts, and your main crypto stays in the non-custodial Tangem Wallet.
There is a contradiction in the company’s own pages about cash. The product pages describe ATM withdrawals with fees and limits — 2% on Plus, 4% on Basic, max $250 per withdrawal, 3 per 24 hours, contactless-enabled ATMs only, and only for cards issued after 10 March 2026 that show Platinum or Signature in Apple/Google Pay. Another help article says “ATM cash withdrawals are not yet available”. I would plan as though cash withdrawal may not work for your card yet, and check in the app. This is a real inconsistency, not a nuance I am glossing over.
Disputes go through [email protected] under the standard Visa chargeback procedure. You have 60 days from the transaction appearing on your statement to report it. A $30 fee applies when a formal dispute opens, and extra documents may be requested. Card setup and feature questions go to [email protected] instead — a split that matters when something goes wrong.
What can go wrong
The issuer and the operator are not the brand. The card is issued by Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member, and the programme is operated by Paera LLC. Tangem is the hardware-wallet brand on top. Now the unofficial part: a January 2026 Coin Bureau review says Tangem Pay is issued through Third National, a Visa licensed partner, with Rain providing co-signing and compliance. That contradicts the official line naming Rain as issuer. Treat the Third National detail as unconfirmed — it comes from a third-party review, not from the card.
The registration country of Paera and Rain is not stated, and licences are not stated either. Tangem’s own footer says it is not regulated as a financial services provider and the programme runs via Paera and Rain. When you cannot see a licence on the public pages, you cannot reason about which deposit-protection regime applies.
Crypto card programmes do close. This is not hypothetical. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A secondary source reported one 2026 closure with new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026 — single source, unconfirmed. The pattern when these close: a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw.
Shipping is restricted. At the launch of physical cards, Tangem said shipping is restricted in about 20 countries including China, Russia, North Korea and Palestine, citing KYC, sanctions and banking rules. Note this concerns physical card shipping; it is a different list from the availability map.
Key and account risk. Only one wallet can be linked per account. And the self-custody story is not unqualified: users dispute the claim because a USDC withdrawal passes through a swap with fees. That is a fair criticism — the assets are yours until you spend them, but some paths are not direct.
What I did not find. No user complaint themes came up in the searches I ran — no Reddit or Trustpilot hits surfaced. Trustpilot shows Tangem at roughly 4.1/5 across about 876 reviews, but that is the brand and wallet, not this card. Card-specific: one 1-star review of a card order shipped from Hong Kong with poor support, and complaints about network outages. Official incidents are not stated. Launch coverage mentions a 5,000-card initial run. The rollout began gradually from November 2025, with 38 jurisdictions initially per Cointelegraph.
Two practical hazards. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. And declined authorisations can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Also worth knowing generally: address verification is mainly offered in the US, Canada and UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some merchants — the same reason a card issued in one country can look “foreign” to a shop in another.
What to take instead
If Tangem’s country map refuses you, or you want a different trade-off, these are the cards I compared it against. All scores are out of 10.
| Card | Score | Best for | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tangem | 7.5 / 10 | Free virtual Visa spending stablecoin balance | Country availability opaque, ATM pages contradict, issuer structure unclear |
| MetaMask | 7.1 / 10 | 1% cashback in mUSD, no FX fee | US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed, Metal costs $199/year |
| KAST | 6.1 / 10 | 0.5–1.75% FX, cashback up to 3% on first $40,000/month | Premium $1,000/year, Private $10,000/year, country list unpublished |
| TokenPocket | 5.8 / 10 | European Visa debit coverage | 1% crypto deposit fee, no cashback stated |
MetaMask (7.1) is the closest competitor and arguably cleaner on paper for spending. It is a Mastercard, virtual first and instant, one card per user, spending directly from your connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana. Cashback 1% on Virtual, paid in mUSD. No foreign transaction fee and Mastercard’s rate. The catch: US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed, other regions are on a waitlist, and the Metal card is $199/year with a footnote capping 3% at the first $10,000 spent.
KAST (6.1) wins on fees you feel most: 0% stablecoin top-up, 0% USD spend, 0% transaction fee, 0% for Apple/Google Pay, and a 0.5–1.75% non-USD FX fee. But its country list is not published, only referenced — “if your country isn’t listed, it means KAST is not available there” — which is the same opacity problem as Tangem, and its paid tiers start at $1,000/year.
TokenPocket (5.8) is the weakest of the four. A 1% fee on crypto deposits, refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees, no cashback stated, and coverage that is a Visa debit for a set of European countries and Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK.
Against these, Tangem’s 9/10 for top-ups and 0% transaction fee are its real advantages. MetaMask is the one I would genuinely weigh hardest against it.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Tangem card to someone who already keeps USDC or USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum or BNB Smart Chain, who is 18 or older and resident in a supported country or US state, and who wants a card number for everyday spending at no monthly cost. That person gets the plan the card is built for: a free virtual Visa, free top-ups from their own wallet, no transaction fee, Apple Pay and Google Pay, an instant freeze button, and a spending limit they control. Plus is worth $29.99/month only if you want the plastic card, the Signature benefits, free bank transfers and 2% cashback — and I would only say that to someone who will genuinely use the card enough to earn more than the fee back.
I would not recommend it to someone whose priority is a normal bank card, to anyone in a country the app may reject, to anyone who plans to live on ATM withdrawals, or to anyone who needs certainty about which regulated entity holds their balance and what protections attach to it. In that last case, read the sections on the issuer and on programme closures before you load anything.
The honest summary: this is a well-built, honestly priced tool for a specific job, wrapped in more corporate layers than the price suggests, in an availability map nobody publishes. Check your country in the app before you plan anything else around it.
Frequently asked questions
What is a Tangem card?
A Tangem card is a Visa payment card that spends a balance you load yourself, mostly from stablecoins you already hold. It is not a bank account and no bank holds your money. Tangem Pay runs inside the existing Tangem app. Basic gives you a free virtual Visa, Plus adds a plastic card for $29.99/month, and Prestige is listed as coming soon.
How does a Tangem card work?
You load USDC or USDT into Tangem Pay, and the card spends that balance like a prepaid card. USDC and USDT combine into one balance, and it is spent highest-balance first. Non-USD purchases get converted by Visa at Visa rates plus 1.5%. The card balance lives in separate smart-contract accounts; your main crypto stays in your non-custodial Tangem Wallet.
Is Tangem a bank?
No. The card is issued by Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member, and the programme is operated by Paera LLC, which handles onboarding and KYC/AML. Tangem is the hardware-wallet brand on top, and its own footer states it is not regulated as a financial services provider. Licences and registration countries are not stated on the public pages.
Is the Tangem card free?
Partly. The Basic plan is $0/month, the first virtual card is $0, and the transaction fee is $0. Costs appear when you convert currency (Visa rate plus 1.5%), use an ATM (4% on Basic), order a physical card ($14.53–$82.10, free as the first card on Plus), or formalise a dispute ($30). Plus costs $29.99/month.
Which countries can I use the Tangem card in?
The US and selected countries across Latin America, the Asia-Pacific region, the Middle East and Africa — not all countries, and not all US states. The full list is not published; the tariff PDF says eligibility depends on your country and region of residence, shown in the app. You need to be 18+ with a residence address in a supported country; US residents also give an SSN.
How do I apply for a Tangem card?
You sign up in the Tangem app and complete a single KYC flow through Sumsub: codes to your phone and email, a government ID, your residence address, and biometric capture. The card is usually issued within about 5 minutes, up to 48 hours. If it does not arrive, contact [email protected], not Tangem Support, which cannot see KYC status. Repeat applications with the same identity are auto-rejected.
How do I top up the Tangem card?
Three ways: send USDC or USDT on Polygon, Base, Arbitrum or BNB Smart Chain to the app’s deposit address for that network; send a bank transfer by ACH or Fedwire where available, which is converted to USDC and costs $1/$11 on Basic and nothing on Plus; or swap another token, paying the swap provider’s fee. Limits are $100,000 daily, 24 loads a day, 150 a month.
Can I use the Tangem card in Apple Pay and Google Pay?
Yes, both are supported, with Apple Pay depending on your country. Tokenised payments use a device-specific number and one-time security codes rather than your actual card number, which is one of the safer ways to pay. You can also freeze and unfreeze the card instantly in the app, where it shows as Suspended in your mobile wallet, and set a daily spending limit down to $0.
Are there ATM withdrawals?
The product pages say yes, with fees of 4% on Basic and 2% on Plus, a $250 maximum per withdrawal, three per 24 hours, contactless ATMs only, and only for cards issued after 10 March 2026. Another Tangem help article says cash withdrawals are not yet available. Check your own card in the app before relying on it, and budget the fee either way.
Is the Tangem card safe?
There are real safeguards: self-custody for your main assets, instant card freeze, a 4-digit PIN, custom spending limits, and separate smart-contract accounts for card funds. Insurance and deposit protection are not stated, and the card page says Tangem is not regulated as a financial services provider. Treat funds loaded to the card as money in the hands of the programme’s issuer and operator.
Choosing a wallet card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
