Eversend card: a virtual Visa for stablecoin spenders, weighed on cost, fit and reliability
Eversend is a fintech that has been operating since 2019 out of London, New York, Kampala and Lagos, and its payment product is a USD-denominated virtual Visa card that draws on a balance funded by stablecoins. The pitch is simple: hold USDT or USDC in any wallet, deposit them into Eversend, and the card spends the resulting USD balance wherever Visa is accepted online. The reality is narrower than that, because the card is virtual-only, currency is locked to USD, the cross-currency fee is high, and the everyday-use experience is held back by a confirmed incompatibility with Apple Pay and unclear Google Wallet support. The card is best understood as a niche tool for people who already sit on stablecoins and want a cheap way to convert that exposure into online spending power; for almost anyone else, the picture is less flattering.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Eversend earns 5.2 out of 10. That score is built from five criteria, each with its own weight, and the table below sets them out so you can see where the card wins and where it loses. The card is most attractive on top-up flexibility, where it scores 9 out of 10: USDT and USDC from almost any wallet, on seven networks between them, with funding the card from the wallet itself free. It is least attractive on cost, where it scores 3 out of 10: a 3.5% FX fee plus a USD 0.50 flat charge on anything not settled in USD inside the United States, plus either a USD 0.99 monthly fee or a USD 2.99 one-time fee, makes this a card you only want for USD spend.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Identity check is global, but the card does not publish a country list and several merchant regions are blocked at payment time |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | 3.5% + USD 0.50 on non-USD or non-US spend, and either a monthly or one-time fee just to keep the card |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC, many networks, free top-up from the Eversend balance |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Multiple licences on three continents, but real user reports of missing funds and silent support |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual-only USD card, no Apple Pay, Google Wallet not guaranteed, no plastic or ATM |
The card suits stablecoin holders who need a low-cost way to turn USDT or USDC into online purchasing power and who are happy to keep the spend in USD. It does not suit anyone who wants a physical card, an ATM, multicurrency spending without a steep haircut, or a smooth mobile-wallet experience. If any of those matter, the alternatives later in this review will be a better fit.
Will they give you the card
Eversend verifies identity “wherever Eversend is available”, and the help pages do not publish a list of countries for the card itself. Personal accounts can hold the card, and so can business accounts, so the same identity check covers both. The card sits on top of an account that also offers mobile-money and bank withdrawals in 10 African countries, but the card product is not limited to those countries in the public documentation.
A separate rule applies to merchants, not to you as a cardholder. Eversend warns that payments to merchants based in a list of countries “may be declined by our card partner”, and that list includes Belarus and the Russian Federation alongside Ukraine, Iran, North Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Uzbekistan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and others. This is a payment-time rule, not an account-opening rule: the help page says it limits where the card can be used, not whether you can open an Eversend account.
Two things are not stated on Eversend’s public pages: which specific documents the identity check asks for, and whether the card is available to under-18s. If you need that detail, it is worth checking the app’s sign-up flow or contacting support before you deposit anything, because once stablecoins are in the platform they sit in a custodial balance that you do not control with your own keys.
In practice, the openness of the geographic policy is balanced by the fact that you are handing the platform a complete KYC file and then loading it with crypto, so the only friction in getting the card is the identity step itself, not a country gate.
How to get it
The signup path is short, and Eversend’s own description of it fits on a single sentence: download the app and confirm your identity a single time. After that, the steps are: verify in the app, deposit stablecoins, create the card and fund it. The card is a virtual Visa denominated in USD, and you can have more than one; Eversend suggests one card per merchant as a way to contain fraud and isolate problems. Personal accounts can keep up to three active virtual cards, and business accounts have no stated cap.
There is no physical card, and the help pages do not describe any delivery step, which is consistent with the card being virtual only. Cards can be frozen or deleted inside the app, and a deleted card leaves any balance on it to be moved back to the USD wallet, which is the part of the Eversend balance that is separate from any individual card.
The card can also be deactivated or deleted by Eversend for reasons set out in a help article that is not quoted in full on the marketing pages, so it is worth reading that article before you load a large balance. The platform also distinguishes two KYC tiers in its wallet product, but the specific tier rules for the card are not stated; the platform reserves the right to deactivate cards for the reasons in that article.
What it really costs: a fees table and three everyday payments
The cost picture is the biggest reason this card scores only 3 out of 10 on cost, and the table below puts the line items in one place so you can see the structure. There is a setup fee, a recurring fee, a cross-currency fee that bites on anything not settled in USD inside the US, and a decline fee.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card creation | USD 0.99 (covers the first month on the monthly plan) |
| Monthly plan | USD 0.99 per month after the first month |
| One-time plan | USD 2.99 once, no monthly fees after that |
| Cross-currency / FX fee | 3.5% of the amount + USD 0.50 on non-USD payments and on USD payments settled outside the US |
| Insufficient-funds decline | USD 0.40 per declined payment |
| Funding the card from the wallet | Free |
| Maximum per top-up attempt | USD 2,500 |
| Maximum per transaction | USD 2,500 |
| Initial card load minimum | USD 1 |
| Smallest total debit | USD 1.99 (monthly plan) or USD 3.99 (one-time plan) |
| Card balance floor on withdrawal | USD 5 must remain on the card |
| ATM | Not stated; no physical card |
A few everyday payments make the table concrete. If you buy a USD 30 ebook from a US merchant and the payment settles in USD inside the United States, you pay the creation fee and the monthly or one-time fee, and that is it: no per-transaction fee on plain USD spend. If you buy a EUR 25 audiobook from a German store, Eversend converts USD to EUR and charges 3.5% of EUR 25 (about EUR 0.88) plus USD 0.50, on top of whatever your card’s USD-to-EUR rate produces. If you try to pay a USD 50 subscription but only have USD 49.60 on the card, the payment is declined and you are charged USD 0.40 for the attempt.
A second everyday case is worth walking through, because it is the one most people actually care about. A USD 200 online shop order at a merchant outside the US costs USD 200 plus 3.5% (USD 7.00) plus USD 0.50, so USD 207.50 lands on your statement, before any markup your card scheme or the merchant’s bank adds to the FX rate. Compared with a card that charges no foreign transaction fee at all, that is USD 7.50 of extra cost on a USD 200 purchase, which is why the cost score is so low.
Funding the card from your Eversend USD balance is free, and the only on-chain cost is the network fee for the stablecoin deposit itself, which is paid to the blockchain and not to Eversend. There is no separate card maintenance fee beyond the monthly or one-time plan, and there is no stated ATM fee because there is no physical card and no ATM.
Top up
The top-up flow is the strongest part of the product, and it earns 9 out of 10 for that reason. You deposit USDT or USDC from any external wallet or exchange into your Eversend balance, and the deposit settles in minutes; once it has settled, you move money from the Eversend USD wallet onto the card, and that step is free. The card balance is separate from the wallet balance, so spending on the card does not drain the rest of your Eversend balance.

The catch is at the deposit step, because the network you choose decides what you pay. Eversend publishes the per-network fee it charges for the stablecoin deposit, which is the on-chain network fee, and the table below collects them so you can pick the cheapest route. The cheapest USDT route is POL or BEP-20 at USD 0.30, and the cheapest USDC route is BASE at USD 0.10.
| Network | USDT deposit fee | USDC deposit fee |
|---|---|---|
| TRC-20 (Tron) | USD 4 | USD 4 |
| ERC-20 (Ethereum) | USD 8 | USD 6 |
| SPL (Solana) | USD 1 | USD 1 |
| POL (Polygon) | USD 0.30 | USD 0.30 |
| BEP-20 (BNB Smart Chain) | USD 0.30 | USD 0.30 |
| BASE | not supported | USD 0.10 |
| XLM (Stellar) | not supported | USD 1 |
Three things follow from the network picture. First, Ethereum is the most expensive route for either stablecoin, and Tron is the second most expensive, so the popular “send USDT TRC-20” choice is not cheap here. Second, BASE is the cheapest USDC route and is the only network where the deposit fee is below USD 1, which matters if you load the card often in small amounts. Third, the fee is the same in shape as the network fee itself: it is what the chain charges, and Eversend passes it through rather than marking it up.
The initial card load has a USD 1 minimum, and the smallest total debit the card will allow is USD 1.99 on the monthly plan or USD 3.99 on the one-time plan. Per top-up, the most you can move in one attempt is USD 2,500, and per transaction the card is capped at USD 2,500; anything above that “may be subject to additional compliance review”. If you need to withdraw, you can pull any amount above a USD 5 floor that must stay on the card, and to clear the card entirely you delete it and the balance moves back to the USD wallet within 24 hours; that move is described as free.
The wallet side of Eversend also supports sending the balance to mobile money and bank accounts in 10 African countries, but that is a wallet feature, not a card top-up feature, and it does not change how the card is funded.
Paying with it every day
Eversend’s card is a virtual Visa, denominated in USD, and that single sentence does most of the work. It is online-first, single-currency, and exposed to the same restrictions that any prepaid USD card faces: merchants who look up the BIN see a non-US issuer for many cardholders, and some merchants reject prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright.
The most concrete friction is the mobile-wallet picture, and it is not in the card’s favour. Eversend states that its virtual cards cannot be added to Apple Pay, and the help pages warn that Google Wallet compatibility is not guaranteed. If tap-to-pay on a phone is part of how you pay day-to-day, this card does not get you there.
A second concrete limit is the merchant category blocklist. Eversend publishes a list of merchant category codes that are restricted on the card, and it includes money transfer (MCC 4829), telemarketing (MCC 5966), crypto and foreign-currency transactions including Coinbase and Binance (MCC 6051), brokers (MCC 6211), dating (MCC 7273), massage (MCC 7297), and betting (MCC 7995, with US gambling MCCs 7800-7802 restricted in the US only). If any of those describe a normal purchase for you, the card will not work there.
There is no cashback, rewards, or sign-up bonus on the public pages. The app store listing on Apple’s App Store could not be read at the time of writing, so the current app version, ratings and screenshots are not part of this review. Eversend links to both the App Store and Google Play from its site, and that is the only statement about app availability.
If something goes wrong on a payment, the dispute path is to contact support with the last four digits of the card, the amount, the date and the merchant, and to freeze or delete the card during the investigation. Any remaining balance on the card returns to the USD wallet. Eversend does not give a timeline for the investigation or refund, and it does publish an unauthorized-transaction guide that explains the steps in more detail. None of this is a guarantee of a particular outcome, and it is worth treating dispute resolution as a reason to keep the card balance small.
What can go wrong
The card sits inside a regulated group, and the regulation is the strongest part of the risk picture. Eversend’s operating entities are Cogni Labs Ltd, authorised by the Bank of Uganda as a Payment Systems Operator (PSO 53/26), Payment Service Provider and E-Money Issuer (PSP 35/26), and Issuer of Payment Instruments (IPI 07/26); Eversend Tech Ltd, registered with FINTRAC in Canada as a money services business (M21306189); and Eversend Inc., registered with FinCEN in the US as a money services business (31000260352270). Cogni Labs is also authorised for inbound and outbound remittance in Kenya and for inbound remittance in Zambia. The group has offices in London, New York, Kampala and Lagos, and has been operating since 2019. Eversend does not name the card issuer or BIN sponsor in the public pages, so the bank behind the Visa programme is not identified here.
The user-experience risk is a different story. Trustpilot shows 4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews, with the company replying to 14% of negative reviews, and the recent reviews in September 2026 are the more telling ones. One user reports a merchant refund that did not reach the available balance, with no support reply by 4 September 2026; another reports being logged out of the app and unable to reach their funds on 24 September 2026; a third reports money disappearing after linking the card to Google Play on 27 September 2026. The themes that show up across these reports are stuck funds, refunds that do not land, and support tickets that close without resolution. No official incident has been published, and the reports are user reports, not adjudicated findings.
The security setup is standard for the category. Digital assets are held with Fireblocks, customer funds are held in segregated safeguarded accounts, the platform uses 256-bit encryption and two-factor authentication, and the card can be frozen and unfrozen in the app. Customer funds are not covered by a deposit protection scheme, which is normal for e-money institutions and prepaid cards but worth knowing if you are loading a large balance. Support is reachable through the app and official channels, the help centre is available in English and French, and the hours are not stated.
Three practical risk points follow from this combination. First, the platform holds your stablecoins in custody, so the funds are exposed to the platform’s solvency and to the operational issues that show up in those reviews. Second, the card is a prepaid product and does not carry the same statutory reversal rights as a US debit or credit card. Third, the BIN and the card issuer are not named in the public materials, which makes it harder to predict in advance how a given merchant or wallet will treat the card at the checkout.
What to take instead
Three alternative products give a useful contrast, and they line up against Eversend’s weaknesses rather than its strengths. The International Visa Card scores 6.7 out of 10 and is built for people who want free USD spending and a 2% FX fee on the rest, with virtual issuance at USD 5 and no maintenance fee. The UNi Card scores 6.1 out of 10 and is a multicurrency Mastercard with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, with up to 3% spend-to-earn rewards. The Whop Cards score 5.2 out of 10 and target US consumers and businesses, with 5% cashback at selected merchants and pending balance that can be spent as soon as a payment arrives.
| Alternative | Type | Card cost | FX / cross-currency | Where it works | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | US-issued Platinum Visa, virtual (physical “coming soon”) | USD 5 issuance, no maintenance | 2% FX fee on non-USD spend, USD spend free | Excludes residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; purchases blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela | None stated |
| UNi Card | Multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account | No annual fee, issuance fee not stated | No foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates | Not stated | Spend-to-earn up to 3% |
| Whop Cards | Visa, balance-funded | “No extra fees” | Not stated | 31 US consumer states, 41 business states; consumers not supported in Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam | 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) |
Two of the three are clearly stronger than Eversend on cost, and all three address one or more of Eversend’s weak points: mobile-wallet support, multicurrency, and cashback. None of them matches Eversend’s stablecoin top-up breadth, and the International Visa Card is the closest competitor because it takes USDC and USDT deposits and is built for stablecoin spenders.
The honest summary is that Eversend is only worth picking over these alternatives if its combination of low top-up friction on the seven networks and its free internal wallet-to-card funding outweighs the higher cross-currency fee and the weaker everyday-use story. For a US-based stablecoin holder, the International Visa Card is the more rational pick. For a non-US reader who spends in multiple currencies, the UNi Card is the more rational pick. For a US consumer or business that wants cashback, Whop Cards is the more rational pick.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Eversend’s card to a narrow reader: someone who already holds USDT or USDC in a self-custody wallet or on an exchange, who wants a low-cost way to turn that balance into online spending power in USD, who is happy with a virtual-only card, who is comfortable using a checkout that does not support tap-to-pay on a phone, and who can keep the balance small enough that the 3.5% cross-currency fee does not matter. That reader is also the one who is most likely to use the cheaper networks like BASE for USDC or POL and BEP-20 for either stablecoin, and who will see the USD 0.99 monthly fee or USD 2.99 one-time fee as a fair price for the convenience.
I would not recommend it to a reader who wants a physical card, who plans to take cash out at an ATM, who spends in currencies other than USD, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, who expects cashback, or who intends to load a large balance and leave it there. The high cross-currency fee, the mobile-wallet limits and the missing physical card are the three reasons, and the user reviews about missing funds and silent support are a fourth.
If your situation is on the border, the cheapest way to find out is to deposit a small amount, fund the card with USD 5, make one small purchase, and then try the same purchase on the International Visa Card. The two experiences side by side will tell you in fifteen minutes whether the cost saving on top-ups is worth the cost penalty on cross-currency and the loss of mobile-wallet support.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Eversend card?
The Eversend card is a USD-denominated virtual Visa card that you fund from a USD balance inside an Eversend account, and that balance is itself funded by USDT or USDC deposits. The card is virtual only and is part of a wider Eversend product that also includes mobile-money and bank withdrawals in 10 African countries.
How does the Eversend card work?
You verify your identity in the Eversend app, deposit USDT or USDC from an external wallet or exchange, move the resulting USD balance onto the card, and spend that USD balance wherever Visa is accepted online. The card cannot overdraw because it is a prepaid product, and the balance sits in custody with Eversend.
Is Eversend a bank?
No, Eversend is not a bank. The operating group includes a company authorised by the Bank of Uganda as a payment systems operator, payment service provider, e-money issuer and issuer of payment instruments, and money-services-business registrations with FINTRAC in Canada and FinCEN in the US, but the public pages do not describe a banking licence and the funds are not deposit-protected.
Who owns Eversend?
Eversend is operated by Cogni Labs Ltd (Uganda), Eversend Tech Ltd (Canada) and Eversend Inc. (US), with offices in London, New York, Kampala and Lagos, and has been operating since 2019. The group’s beneficial ownership is not described in the public pages reviewed here.
How do I get the Eversend card?
You download the Eversend app, complete identity verification once, deposit USDT or USDC into the Eversend balance, create a card, and fund it. Personal accounts can keep up to three active virtual cards, and business accounts have no stated cap.
Does the Eversend card require KYC?
Yes. Eversend verifies identity “wherever Eversend is available”, and the sign-up flow asks for a single identity check before you can deposit funds. The specific documents, proof of address and minimum age for the card are not stated on the public pages.
How do I top up the Eversend card?
You deposit USDT or USDC from an external wallet or exchange into your Eversend balance on a supported network, then move the USD balance onto the card. The wallet-to-card step is free, and the only cost is the on-chain network fee for the stablecoin deposit, which Eversend passes through.
Can I add the Eversend card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet?
No for Apple Pay, because Eversend’s help pages say the virtual cards cannot be added to Apple Pay. Google Wallet is not guaranteed either, and the help pages warn that digital-wallet compatibility is not guaranteed, so it is worth checking with support before relying on either.
Is the Eversend card safe?
The platform holds customer funds in segregated safeguarded accounts, secures digital assets with Fireblocks, uses 256-bit encryption and two-factor authentication, and lets you freeze the card in the app. The published user reviews on Trustpilot (4.2 out of 5 from 866 reviews) include reports of missing funds and unresponsive support, so safety is a matter of operational record as well as design.
How do I get money off the Eversend card?
You withdraw any amount above a USD 5 floor that must stay on the card, and the funds move to the Eversend USD wallet. To take everything, you delete the card and the balance moves back to the USD wallet within 24 hours; that step is described as free, and the wallet balance can then be sent to mobile money or bank accounts in 10 African countries.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
