PowerPay reviewed: a virtual dollar card aimed at Nigeria, with more questions than answers
PowerPay is a fintech app from PowerPay Limited in Abuja that offers an instant virtual dollar card funded by selling crypto. It is built primarily for users in Nigeria, with the website also showing balances in Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis, and a single product line: a USD virtual card you load by converting crypto or paying through local partners. If that sounds like exactly what you need, the rest of this review explains the friction you should expect — the missing fees, the missing card network, the missing issuer, and the missing complaint history. None of those gaps are reasons to walk away on their own, but together they shape the verdict.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
PowerPay scores 4.0 out of 10 in this review. The app has a clear use case — letting a Nigerian user turn crypto into a USD card balance and spend it with Apple Pay or Google Pay — but it loses marks almost everywhere a reviewer is asked to look: who can get it, what it costs, who issues it, and what happens when something goes wrong. The audience that makes most sense is a Nigerian user who wants a virtual dollar card for online payments and is comfortable topping up from USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH. Outside that group, the picture gets thin fast. The site does not publish a list of supported countries, the fees are not stated, the card network is not stated, and no licence from the card issuer appears on the public pages.
| Criterion | Score | Why it scored the way it did |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | App Store listing is aimed at Nigeria; the site also shows Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis; terms are governed by Nigerian law. No general country list, no exclusions, no age stated. |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | No figures published; the App Store listing says “competitive rates” without giving one. |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Sell crypto (USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH) for a wallet balance in NGN/KES/GHS, then fund the card; networks not named. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Operator is PowerPay Limited in Abuja; the card issuer and licences are not named; no public complaints found; App Store shows 5.0 from a single rating. |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual USD card with a “up to $10,000 threshold”; Apple Pay and Google Pay are present, but no plastic card, no ATM access, no rewards. |
The card suits a Nigerian user topping up a virtual dollar card. It does not suit a reader who needs a disclosed fee schedule, a physical card, ATM access, or a card issued in a country they can verify on a public register.
Who will they give you the card
PowerPay’s public material is built around Nigeria. The App Store listing calls itself “Nigeria’s all-in-one app”, and the site and wallet use the Nigerian naira (NGN) as the headline currency. The terms and conditions are governed by Nigerian law. Two other African currencies sit alongside the naira in the wallet — Kenyan shillings (KES) and Ghanaian cedis (GHS) — so the product is at least nominally reachable from those two countries as well, although nothing on the site confirms a full launch there. An earlier check on the listing showed the same three countries.
Beyond that, the official pages do not state a list of supported countries, a list of excluded countries, or a minimum age. The “not stated” is a recurring theme in this review, so I will keep flagging it whenever a question you would normally expect an answer to is met with silence.
Basic KYC is the entry point. PowerPay asks for a government-issued ID — National Identity Card, NIN (National Identification Number) or BVN (Bank Verification Number) — plus a proof of address such as a utility bill or bank statement, and a valid mobile phone number. A higher-risk customer is moved to Enhanced Due Diligence, which means a source-of-funds check; the tier thresholds, the per-tier spending limits, and the processing time are not stated. Nationality is part of the standard KYC pack, so it is screened alongside your address.
How to get it
PowerPay does not describe a checkout-style sign-up flow. The site is a single-product app landing page, and the on-ramp is the iOS or Android app rather than a web form. The product line is one virtual dollar card, generated in the app once your account is verified; the card network on the front of the card is not stated on the public pages, only that the balance is in USD. The card is virtual, so there is nothing to be delivered to your door.
The two relevant mobile listings are PowerPay Ng on Apple’s App Store — which I read on 21 October 2026, with a single 5.0 rating — and the Google Play listing. ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD appears as the App Store developer, which is a related entity rather than a public licence statement. If you prefer to start on the web, the site is light on detail and the app is where the actual sign-up lives.
The KYC pack is the realistic bottleneck. If you have a NIN or BVN, a recent utility bill, and a phone number you can receive an SMS on, the basic tier should be straightforward; the Enhanced Due Diligence step is the one PowerPay reserves for customers its system flags as higher risk, and the criteria are not stated.
What it really costs: Fees
PowerPay does not publish a fee schedule. The App Store listing promises “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without giving a number; the site has no pricing page, and details regarding issuance, monthly fees, conversion, FX, ATM access, and per-KYC limits are officially not stated in the public material. The costs table below reflects these gaps clearly.

| Fee or limit | What PowerPay says |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | Not stated. |
| Monthly fee | Not stated. |
| Conversion (crypto to wallet balance) | “Competitive rates” claimed, no figure given. |
| Foreign exchange (FX) on card spend | Not stated. |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated. |
| Daily limit | Not stated. |
| Monthly limit | Not stated. |
| Card balance cap | “Up to $10,000 threshold” for the virtual card. |
Two or three everyday payments help turn that blank sheet into something you can act on. The first is buying a $50 subscription online: PowerPay converts crypto from your wallet to USD at its quoted rate, then routes the card transaction; the conversion rate and any FX markup are not stated, so the only way to know the cost is to check the rate shown in the app at the moment of payment. The second is paying a $20 invoice in a non-USD currency: the card balance is in USD, so the cross-currency fee is the relevant charge; since PowerPay does not publish one, you are trusting whatever the app quotes. The third is topping up $200 of USDT and then spending it across the day: the on-chain network fee is set by the blockchain you use, not by PowerPay, and it is the one cost you can actually verify in your wallet before you send.
The wallet is denominated in NGN, KES or GHS, while the card is in USD; the spread between the two is also a fee, even when nothing is called a “fee”, and PowerPay does not say what that spread is. The honest reading is: the card probably works, and the rate is probably close to market, but the public material gives a reader no way to confirm either of those before they commit funds.
How to top it up: Top up
The funding model is sell-then-load. You hold crypto in the PowerPay wallet, sell it for a balance in NGN, KES or GHS, and then fund the USD virtual card from that balance. The cryptocurrencies the earlier check showed in the wallet are USDT, USDC, BTC and ETH. The site does not state which networks those tokens arrive on, so the practical question of whether to send USDT over Ethereum (ERC-20), over Tron (TRC-20), or over Solana is left for the user to work out from the deposit screen, and getting this wrong on a stablecoin transfer is the most common way people lose money to crypto cards. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network PowerPay does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or sit in manual support recovery with no guarantee of return.

Beyond crypto, the app also lists payment collection partners — Paystack, Flutterwave and Kora — which are the standard rails for moving naira, Kenyan shilling and Ghanaian cedi balances into and out of mobile-money and bank accounts in those markets. The fees for moving money through those partners, and any wallet-to-card top-up fee, are not stated. The site also notes that PowerPay may place a lien that restricts access to your funds; the conditions that trigger a lien, and the time it takes to release one, are not stated.
The reason the network question matters so much is that stablecoins behave very differently on different chains. Circle lists USDC on 38 networks as of mid-September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar; Tether lists USDT on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so the older “USDC over TRC20” route is no longer a native option. On Ethereum, sending USDT still requires a small ETH balance to pay gas; on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy that often burn TRX. PowerPay’s pages do not tell you which of these routes the app will accept, so the first top-up is effectively a test transfer, and that is a real cost to factor in even if the eventual rate is competitive.
Paying with it every day
The card is virtual, denominated in USD, and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay. The site highlights that you can “pay safely online”, “monitor spend”, “freeze card at will” and monitor transactions — the standard set of in-app controls that a fintech either has or does not have, and PowerPay does have them. There is no statement of a rewards or cashback programme, no statement of merchant category restrictions beyond the general site claims, and no statement of where the card is accepted beyond the usual network acceptance.
Because the card is a USD prepaid balance, it cannot overdraw; the spending cap is “up to $10,000 threshold”, and per-KYC-tier limits are not stated. Three things follow for everyday use. First, an online merchant that does a BIN lookup will see whatever country and institution the card-issuing BIN traces back to — the card network on the front of the card is not stated publicly, and that is the kind of detail a cautious merchant checks. Second, an online merchant that uses Address Verification Service, which is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, may decline a foreign-issued card on address mismatch alone, regardless of how much balance you have. Third, declined authorisations can leave a temporary hold on the card balance that can take up to 7 days to clear, so a “card declined” message is not always a final answer.
If something does go wrong with a payment, the process is: take the product complaint to the merchant first, escalate to PowerPay’s support at [email protected], and if the matter is still unresolved, the terms route it to arbitration in English before a sole arbitrator. The contact phone is +234 811-9543-742. Time frames for complaint handling, chargeback rights, and the exact scope of the arbitration clause are not stated.
What can go wrong
No public incidents, complaint threads, or news stories about PowerPay have been reported, and the Trustpilot page for powerpay.com returns no reviews. The App Store’s single 5.0 rating is too thin to be evidence either way. That is genuinely a “no news” rather than “good news” situation: a young product with little public footprint.
Three structural risks are worth weighing. The first is who actually issues the card. PowerPay Limited is named as the operator, with an address at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT; the card issuer and its licences are not stated. In a normal card programme, the issuer is a bank or e-money institution that holds the regulatory licence; the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end that markets the card. Without an issuer name and a licence number, a customer has no public register to check. The second is custody: the wallet is custodial, which means PowerPay holds the credentials, and the platform’s terms allow it to place a lien on your funds. Custodial platforms have a real history of failures, and the relevant comparison points in the broader market are Mt. Gox, Coincheck, and Ronin Network. The third is sanctions and policy risk at the network level: the network can suspend a programme, as Visa did with FTX in November 2022 and with WaveCrest in 2018, and that is how an apparently healthy card can be wound down for reasons outside the user’s control.
A more mundane set of risks is the practical one. Crypto transfers are irreversible, so a wrong-network deposit can be lost. A self-inflicted account freeze during an Enhanced Due Diligence review is the operator’s call, and the time frames are not stated. The arbitration clause in the terms means a serious dispute is not handled by a public court. Theft or loss of the account credentials is a custodial risk rather than a key-management one, but the mitigation is the same: a strong unique password, app-based two-factor authentication if available, and using the in-app “freeze card” control the moment something looks off.
What to take instead
PowerPay is one of several cards aimed at African and global crypto-to-card users. The three below are drawn from the same research pool, with their own public material and their own gaps.
| Card | Score | Country reach | Card type | Top-up |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PowerPay | 4.0 / 10 | App aimed at Nigeria; site also shows KES and GHS; no public country list | Virtual USD card; network not stated | Sell USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH for NGN/KES/GHS balance, then fund the card |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “200+ countries”; no country list or exclusions; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets; networks not stated |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”; no country list | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | BTC, USDT, ETH or naira bank transfer; networks not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No official country list; App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance) | Prepaid HyperCard; network not stated on the App Store page; balance in USD or EUR | Deposit USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR |
Cardex scores higher because its card is on named networks (Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay), it has a physical option, and its top-up model is wallet-based with named tokens, even though it still does not publish a fee schedule. CardFlow is the closest peer to PowerPay — virtual USD Mastercard, free to create, Nigeria-focused — and it edges ahead on the cost criterion simply because it states that creating a virtual card is free, even if it also leaves the per-transaction fees unstated. HyperCard is the broadest in claimed acceptance but the thinnest in published detail. The honest read across all four is that this corner of the market still publishes very little about fees, networks and licences, and the practical difference between the cards is smaller than the marketing pages suggest.
Who I would recommend it to
If you live in Nigeria, hold USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH in a wallet you control, and want a virtual USD card to load into Apple Pay or Google Pay for online payments, PowerPay does the thing it sets out to do, and the everyday flow is straightforward. The single-product line, the simple “sell crypto, then spend” model, and the local payment partners (Paystack, Flutterwave, Kora) make the app feel purpose-built for that user. The $10,000 card-balance cap and the in-app freeze and monitor controls are the kinds of features that matter most in that case.
If you need a physical card, ATM access, a published fee schedule, a stated card network, a named card issuer with a verifiable licence, support outside Nigeria, or a card that works the same way in multiple countries, this is the wrong product. The review score of 4.0 out of 10 is a reflection of those gaps more than of any single failure: the product is plausible, the documentation is not, and the reader is the one left to fill the gap.
Before you commit real funds, three checks are worth doing in this order. First, install the app, complete the basic KYC, and look at the rate shown when you convert a small test amount of crypto to a wallet balance; that single number tells you more than any review. Second, send a small test top-up to the card from that wallet balance and try a low-value online payment that you can refund if needed, to confirm the card actually clears at a merchant you trust. Third, read the wallet-to-card top-up, conversion and FX terms inside the app rather than on the marketing pages; that is where the actual fee numbers live, if they live anywhere, and it is also where the conditions on liens and arbitration show up in the form you can hold the company to.
Frequently asked questions
What is the PowerPay card?
PowerPay is a virtual dollar card issued through the PowerPay app, which is operated by PowerPay Limited in Abuja. The wallet is denominated in Nigerian naira, Kenyan shillings or Ghanaian cedis; the card itself is in US dollars, and the on-ramp is selling crypto such as USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH for a wallet balance, then funding the card from that balance.
How does the PowerPay card work?
You hold crypto in the PowerPay wallet, sell it for a local-currency balance in NGN, KES or GHS, and then load that balance onto a USD virtual card. The card works online and through Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the app supports “freeze card at will” and live transaction monitoring. The card balance cap is up to $10,000.
Is PowerPay a bank?
PowerPay is not described as a bank on its public material. It is operated by PowerPay Limited, an Abuja-based company, and the card issuer and the licences that issuer operates under are not stated on the public pages.
Who owns PowerPay?
The operator is PowerPay Limited, with an address at Plot 1954, Apo, Abuja – FCT. The App Store developer is listed as ODDVPN TECHNOLOGY LTD, which is a related entity rather than a separately licensed issuer.
Is the PowerPay card available in my country?
The public material is built around Nigeria, with Kenyan shillings and Ghanaian cedis also visible in the wallet. There is no published list of supported countries and no published list of excluded countries, so the honest answer is that the app is clearly aimed at Nigeria and the situation elsewhere is not stated.
How do I get the PowerPay card?
Download the PowerPay app on iOS or Android, complete the basic KYC pack (government-issued ID such as a National Identity Card, NIN or BVN, plus proof of address and a phone number), and the virtual card is generated inside the app once your account is verified.
Does the PowerPay card require KYC?
Yes. Basic KYC is the entry point, with an Enhanced Due Diligence step for higher-risk customers that includes a source-of-funds check. The tier thresholds, per-tier limits, and processing time are not stated.
How do I top up the PowerPay card?
Sell crypto (USDT, USDC, BTC or ETH) from your wallet for a balance in NGN, KES or GHS, then load the USD card from that balance. The site does not state which networks the deposit accepts, so the safest habit is to send a small test transfer first rather than committing a large amount on a network you have not confirmed.
Is the PowerPay card free?
PowerPay’s public material does not publish a fee schedule. The App Store listing says “competitive rates on every swap and sale” without giving a number, and the site has no pricing page, so the only way to see the cost is to look at the rate in the app at the moment of conversion.
Is the PowerPay card safe?
The app includes standard in-app controls: card freeze, live transaction monitoring, and password-protected access. The structural risks are the missing card-issuer name, the missing licence information, and the custodial model in which PowerPay holds the wallet credentials and may place a lien on funds. No public complaints or incidents are currently reported, but a thin public footprint is not the same as a clean record.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
