A Virtual Visa That Spends Your Stablecoins Abroad at the Real Exchange Rate

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Morse Card is a fully virtual Visa prepaid debit card that lets you spend a crypto balance (most usefully a stablecoin balance) wherever Visa is accepted, online or contactless in store, with no foreign-exchange markup and no card-payment fees. It is aimed at people who already hold stablecoins and want a clean way to spend them abroad, or anyone who finds ordinary bank cards hard to get. In this review I go through eligibility, sign-up, costs, how to top up, what daily use actually looks like, the risks worth knowing about, and the alternatives if Morse is not the right fit.

Morse works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions in this article are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Morse earns 7.5 out of 10 in my scoring, and that score reflects what the card does well as much as what it doesn’t. The promise is narrow but unusually clean: convert stablecoins at the real rate, spend in any currency with no FX markup, and add the card to a phone wallet. The execution is genuinely virtual-only, ATM-free, and built on top of a regulated stack (Lead Bank as the issuer, Avian Labs as the platform, AFM in the Netherlands for EU users). For someone whose day-to-day is “hold USDC, pay in a foreign currency without losing 2–3% to conversion fees,” Morse is one of the most direct products on the market.

Where it falls short is breadth. There is no physical card, no cash access at an ATM, and the public cost information is thin — the card page itself only says “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement.” The app works in 140+ countries for peer-to-peer transfers, but the card itself is only available in a subset, and that list is inside the app rather than published. Rewards are not advertised; cashback, travel perks and the usual “card as a lifestyle product” angle are absent.

If you want a stablecoin balance you can tap to pay abroad with zero FX markup and you live in a country where the card is actually issued, Morse is a strong fit. If you want a physical card, ATM withdrawals, a published fee schedule, or a rewards programme, you should look elsewhere.

Score breakdown

Criterion Mark Why it scored this way
Who can get it 7 / 10 App works in 140+ countries, local add/withdraw in 70+; card is limited to certain countries, the list lives in the app; sanctioned territories are excluded
Cost 8 / 10 No FX markup, no card-payment fee, free USDC/USDG/EURC deposits on Solana; but issuance and monthly fees are not stated publicly
Top-up options 8 / 10 USDC, USDG and EURC on Solana are free to deposit; Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and other tokens also accepted; the wallet is self-custodial
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer is Lead Bank, platform is Avian Labs (US MSB, Dutch AFM-authorised CASP under MiCAR); no official incidents on record, no reviews found in the standard search
Everyday use 6 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; card is virtual-only; no ATM support
Total 7.5 / 10 Best for spending stablecoin balances abroad with zero FX markup

Will They Give You the Card

Eligibility for the Morse Card is set by residence, not by citizenship. You must be at least 18 years old and a resident in a country the card supports. The app itself is available in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer use, and you can add or withdraw locally in more than 70, but the card is a narrower product: Morse says the card is “available only in certain countries,” and the list is something you check inside the app — it is not published on the public card page. If you open the app and the card option is not visible, you are in a country where the card is not currently issued.

Morse also says it “cannot serve customers subject to sanctions issued by the United States,” and the same applies to UK, EU and UN sanctions lists. A handful of countries are in a closed beta and need an invite code: American Samoa, Australia, Cape Verde, Guernsey, Hong Kong SAR China, Isle of Man, Japan, Jersey, New Zealand, Serbia, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye, United Kingdom and Western Sahara. If you are in any of those, getting the card is possible but not automatic.

The practical consequence: do not rely on headlines or third-party blog posts to know whether your country is supported. Install the app, sign in, and look for the card section. If it is not there, the card is not available to you even if the app works for P2P transfers.

How to Get It

The sign-up flow is the standard regulated-fintech shape: install the Morse app, verify your identity, fund your Morse Balance, then add the virtual card. Identity verification is single-step and the requirements “vary by country,” but at the app level you should expect to provide your name, phone number, date of birth, residential address, a selfie, and a photo of a government-issued photo ID. Proof of address is not described as a separate step on the card pages, but regulated issuers can ask for it after the fact, especially for larger deposits; Morse says it “may review larger deposits for compliance.”

The card itself is fully virtual — there is no physical version to ship, so there is no delivery step and no waiting period for the post. It is a Visa prepaid debit, and the card spends from your Morse Balance in any currency, with the conversion happening in the background at the real exchange rate.

There is no separate “activation” step after the card is added: the virtual card is ready to use as soon as your balance is funded, and the same card number can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay immediately. If the app does not show the card section at all, the issue is eligibility, not sign-up.

What It Really Costs: Morse Card Fees

This is the section where Morse is most frustrating to review, because the public cost information is thin. The card page says “Fees may apply. See Cardholder Agreement,” and the Cardholder Agreement is the authoritative source for what you might be charged. I will tell you what the card pages and fee pages do say, and flag clearly what they do not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Morse payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The good news: the headline fees you would care about for everyday spending are zero. Morse says “Zero foreign exchange fees or markups,” using the real-time Visa exchange rate, and “Paying with the Morse Card, online and contactless, is free.” Conversions on the Morse side also use the real rate “with no markup.” So the spread between what crypto is worth and what you pay at the till is, in theory, just the network and conversion cost on the funding side, not a card fee on top.

The bad news: the issuance fee and any monthly or maintenance fee are not stated on the public pages. Anyone who wants a hard number before they sign up has to read the Cardholder Agreement, or wait and see what is shown in the app at the point of issue.

There is also no ATM support. Morse says the card “does not currently support ATM withdrawals,” so if you need cash from a hole-in-the-wall, this card is not a path to it. And limits matter: card spending is capped at 2,000 USD per day in the first 30 days, then rises automatically to 5,000 USD per day after that. Money-transfer services have a separate weekly cap of 500 USD. The wider weekly and monthly account deposit and withdrawal limits are shown in the app’s Limits screen, but the specific amounts are not published on the card pages.

Costs at a glance

Fee or limit Amount or status
Card issuance fee Not stated publicly (“Fees may apply”)
Monthly / maintenance fee Not stated publicly
Foreign-exchange markup None (“Zero foreign exchange fees or markups”)
Card payment fee (online and contactless) Free
Crypto-to-fiat conversion markup None (“with no markup”)
ATM withdrawal Not supported
Daily spending limit, first 30 days 2,000 USD
Daily spending limit, after 30 days 5,000 USD
Money-transfer services weekly cap 500 USD
Weekly / monthly account deposit and withdrawal limits Shown in the app, amounts not stated

Three everyday payments, walked through

To make the fee table less abstract, here is what three realistic payments look like under those rules, and which fees actually bite.

  1. Buying a 30 EUR dinner in Paris with a USDC balance. You hold USDC; the card needs euros. Morse converts USDC to euros at the real rate with no markup, and the Visa payment is free. You pay only the network fee on the original USDC deposit, if you used anything other than free USDC on Solana. The merchant sees a Visa transaction in euros, no FX fee, no card fee.
  2. A 200 USD online subscription paid from a Bitcoin balance. You send BTC into the wallet; Bitcoin carries a non-zero conversion cost relative to the time you top up. From there, the conversion inside Morse to USD uses the real rate with no markup, and the card payment itself is free. The expense is the spread and any network fee on the BTC transfer, not a card fee.
  3. A 1,500 USD hotel booking the day after you arrive. You are inside the first 30 days, so your daily limit is 2,000 USD — the booking fits, but only just. The conversion and the card payment are both free. If you try the same 3,000 USD booking the next day in the same window, it will decline on the daily limit, not on a fee.

The pattern is consistent: the card is cheap to use and expensive to run into the limits of, and the limits are the real constraint, not a percentage fee.

How to Top Up a Morse Card

Top-up is where the card’s design shows. You can fund the balance with a debit card, a stablecoin transfer, or via Account Details (a local bank-style transfer). The stablecoin transfers are the headline feature: USDC, USDG and EURC deposited via Solana are free, with no platform fee charged by Morse. Other tokens and other blockchains do carry a fee, and the help centre lists Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and a range of additional tokens as supported.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Morse starts with a transfer to the right network

The wallet itself is self-custodial, which is unusual for a card product. That means the private key to the crypto side is held by you, not by Morse, and the funds are not a deposit you can ask the issuer to refund. The card is layered on top of that wallet, so the crypto you hold is yours in the technical sense, and the card spends from a balance the app maintains alongside it.

There are some details worth knowing:

Withdrawal works the same way in reverse: bank account, debit card or stablecoin transfer. USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free to withdraw; international withdrawals and other tokens or chains carry a fee. Domestic withdrawals are free in most countries. On closure, you must “withdraw any money from your Morse Balance” first, the closure is permanent, and what happens to an unwithdrawn balance is not described — so do not let any meaningful amount sit there if you decide to close the account.

Paying With It Every Day

In day-to-day use, the Morse Card behaves like a clean prepaid Visa, with two differences that matter: it is virtual-only, and it has no cash access. Anywhere Visa is accepted online, you can pay. Anywhere contactless Visa is accepted in a physical store, you can pay by adding the card to Apple Pay or Google Pay and tapping your phone. The card is “fully virtual for now,” so there is no plastic to hand over at a restaurant that insists on inserting a card.

What the card does not do is also worth being clear about. It does not work at an ATM, so any cash need has to go through a different path (a bank withdrawal from the balance, for example, which is a different flow from a card transaction). It is not supported at merchants that only accept physical debit cards — usually older payment terminals that cannot read a phone wallet. Blocked merchant categories are not stated on the card pages, so if you need certainty about whether a particular category (gambling, crypto purchases, adult content) is allowed, that has to be checked in-app or with support.

Apple Pay and Google Pay are the main ways the card is meant to be used in a physical store, and that works the way you would expect: the card number is replaced with a device-specific token, each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code, and the card itself is not exposed to the merchant. The card can be locked and unlocked from the app, and instant transaction notifications are part of the design.

There is no published rewards or cashback programme on the card pages; the help centre has an “Earn rewards” collection, but the substance of it is not described in the card materials I reviewed, so I would treat it as “not stated” rather than as a feature. The app’s store rating is also not obtained from the official listings; a third-party snapshot of the App Store rating under the brand’s former name (Sling Money) shows 4.5 stars from 400 reviews, undated. That is unofficial, and the brand has since been renamed to Morse, so I would not read it as the current state of the product. The Google Play rating has not been captured here.

Dispute and chargeback handling is not described on the public card pages either, beyond a “Make a complaint” article in the help centre that I have not read. The rights you have as a Visa prepaid cardholder depend on the Cardholder Agreement and on the laws of the country your card is issued in, and that is where to look rather than at the marketing pages.

What Can Go Wrong

The honest answer is that there are no official incidents on the public record, and there are no Morse card reviews on Trustpilot or Reddit under that name — my search of 2026-10-21 turned up unrelated businesses with “Morse” in the name, but no reviews of this product. That is partly a function of the rebrand: the company used to be called Sling Money and has since renamed to Morse, and a lot of the public footprint still uses the old name. So the absence of complaints is a thin signal, not a strong one.

The structural risks are more useful to think about. The card sits on a stack of three parties, and the risk you carry depends on which layer fails.

The crypto layer is self-custodial. That is good for censorship resistance and bad for key management. The private key is exportable, which means the funds are not held by a custodian that can freeze them, but it also means a stolen seed phrase is a total loss. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on the wrong network, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. The app says it shows any fee before you confirm; the network you are sending on is something only you can verify.

The platform layer is Avian Labs. Avian Labs, Inc. is a Delaware company registered as a US Money Services Business with FinCEN (registration 31000315485256, NMLS ID 2639252), and Avian Netherlands B.V. is authorised by the Dutch Authority for the Financial Markets (AFM) under MiCAR as a crypto-asset service provider (registration 41000005). For EU users that means the crypto side is regulated under MiCA, which is one of the more complete crypto regulatory frameworks in the world. For US users, the MSB registration is a federal anti-money-laundering regime, not a prudential banking one.

The card layer is Lead Bank, with Bridge Ventures LLC as programme manager. The card is issued by Lead Bank under licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., and Bridge “operates as an agent of Lead Bank.” Lead Bank is the entity that holds the regulated banking side of the arrangement; Bridge is the brand layer that runs the programme. If something goes wrong with the card itself (a fraud dispute, a programme-level decision), Lead Bank is the entity on the other side, not Morse or Avian.

A few smaller things worth knowing:

What to Take Instead

Morse is a niche product that is very good at the thing it is designed for, and not good at things it is not designed for. If you are reading the Morse review because you want a stablecoin card for spending abroad, these are the alternatives worth weighing.

International Visa Card

The International Visa Card is a US-issued Platinum Visa. Score 6.7 / 10 in my comparison. Like Morse, it is a virtual card for now, with a physical card described as “coming soon,” and it pays in USD.

On access, it is more restrictive than Morse. The account and the card are not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam. FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case with compliance approval. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not by citizenship.

On cost, virtual card issuance is a $5 one-time fee, and there is no maintenance fee. There are three plans: Classic is free, Pro is $9.00 per month, and Max is $19.00 per month. Card use in USD is free on all plans. Foreign currency carries a “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee,” which is the standard 2% most cards charge. Deposits of any kind are free.

On funding, you can deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account, free at 1:1 per an earlier check, and the fee page says deposits of any kind are free. USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits are also supported. The networks used for the USDC and USDT deposits are not stated, which is a meaningful omission for a stablecoin card.

There is no cashback stated. The case for it over Morse is the published fee schedule and a clearer USD account model; the case against is the 2% FX fee, the restricted country list, and the lack of detail on which networks the stablecoin deposits use.

UNi Card

The UNi Card is a multicurrency Mastercard on the UNi.Global account balance. Score 6.1 / 10. There is no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee. Assets are converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates,” with “no hidden exchange fees.” The cost story is therefore very similar to Morse’s, in spirit, even if the structure is different.

On access, eligibility is not officially stated. On card form factor, physical versus virtual availability is not specified. Funding details are likewise missing. There is a “Spend-to-Earn rewards” programme of up to 3% with UNi Card, which is the main differentiator against Morse.

The case for UNi over Morse is rewards and a multicurrency Mastercard structure. I found less clarity on the card’s eligibility, funding, and physical versus virtual form factor.

Whop Cards

Whop Cards is a Visa product that works anywhere Visa is accepted online and in store. Score 5.2 / 10. Cards can be issued to team members as well as the account holder. Virtual versus physical and the card currency are not stated.

On access, consumers are supported in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming), and businesses are supported in 41 states. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. The basis (citizenship or residence) is not stated.

On cost, the page says “no extra fees,” with no issuance or monthly amounts listed. Conversion and FX fee amounts are not stated either. On funding, the card spends from a Whop balance; the pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. The starting data says the balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet; the coins and networks are not stated.

There is a 5% cashback programme at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned. The payout currency and conditions are not stated.

The case for Whop Cards over Morse is the cashback angle and the team-member card option. The case against is the very thin published information, the US-only availability at the consumer level, and the lack of stated fee structure.

How I would compare them quickly

If you want spending stablecoins abroad with zero FX markup and your country is supported, Morse is the most direct of the four. If you want a published fee schedule and a USD account model and you can live with a 2% FX fee, the International Visa Card is the most transparent. If you want rewards on top of multicurrency spending, UNi Card is the one to look at. If you want cashback at specific US merchants and you are in the right US state, Whop Cards is worth a look. They are different products aimed at slightly different people.

Who I Would Recommend It To

Morse is for a fairly specific reader. You are comfortable holding crypto, you already hold USDC, USDG or EURC (or you are willing to convert into them on Solana for the free deposit), and you travel or shop abroad often enough that the zero FX markup actually saves you money. You are in a country where the card is issued, and you are happy to pay with your phone rather than a piece of plastic. You understand that the wallet is self-custodial, that you are responsible for your seed phrase, and that a wrong network on a deposit is your loss, not Morse’s. You have read the Cardholder Agreement and you are comfortable with what is and is not stated in it.

Morse is not for you if you need cash from an ATM, if you want a physical card, if you want a published monthly fee and a published issuance fee before you sign up, if you want a rewards or cashback programme, or if you need a card that works at every kind of terminal including older ones that require a physical swipe. It is also not for you if you are in one of the closed-beta countries without an invite code, or in a country where the card is not yet issued, or in a country that is on the US, UK, EU or UN sanctions list.

Within that band, Morse does its job cleanly. The score of 7.5 reflects a product that is good at the narrow thing it is designed for, and that is honest about the things it does not do.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the Morse Card?

The Morse Card is a fully virtual Visa prepaid debit card that spends from a Morse Balance. The balance is funded from crypto (USDC, USDG, EURC, Bitcoin, USDT, Ethereum and other tokens) and is spent in any currency with no FX markup. The card is added inside the Morse app and can be tokenised into Apple Pay or Google Pay.

How does the Morse Card work?

You install the Morse app, verify your identity, fund your Morse Balance (typically with stablecoins on Solana for free deposits), and add the virtual card. At the till, the card pays in the local currency; the conversion from your balance happens in the background at the real Visa exchange rate. The wallet holding the crypto is self-custodial, so the private key is yours, not Morse’s.

Is Morse a bank?

No. Morse is not a bank and does not claim to be one. The platform provider is Avian Labs (a US-registered money services business and a MiCA-authorised crypto-asset service provider in the Netherlands), and the card itself is issued by Lead Bank under licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., with Bridge Ventures LLC as the programme manager.

Who owns Morse?

Morse is the current brand of the company that previously operated as Sling Money. The platform is operated by Avian Labs, with Avian Labs, Inc. in Delaware (FinCEN MSB registration 31000315485256, NMLS ID 2639252) and Avian Netherlands B.V. authorised by the Dutch AFM under MiCAR as a CASP (registration 41000005). The card is issued by Lead Bank.

Is the Morse Card available in my country?

The app is available in over 140 countries for peer-to-peer use, and local add/withdraw is supported in over 70 countries. The card itself is only available in a subset of those, and the list is shown inside the app rather than published on the public card page. A number of countries are in closed beta and need an invite code, including Australia, Hong Kong SAR China, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, Switzerland, Thailand, Türkiye and the United Kingdom. Customers subject to US, UK, EU or UN sanctions cannot be served.

How do I get the Morse Card?

Install the Morse app, complete identity verification (typically name, phone, date of birth, residential address, a selfie and a photo ID), fund your Morse Balance, and add the virtual card. The card is fully virtual, so there is no physical card to wait for. It is ready to use as soon as your balance is funded, and the same card number can be added to Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Does the Morse Card require KYC?

Yes. The card is a regulated product and identity verification is required. The exact documents requested vary by country, but you should expect to provide a government-issued photo ID and a selfie at minimum, and possibly a proof of address if asked later. Larger deposits may be reviewed for compliance.

How do I add the Morse Card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Open the Morse app, go to the virtual card, and use the standard “Add to Apple Wallet” or “Add to Google Pay” flow. The card is tokenised; the actual card number is not shared with Apple or Google, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. You can then tap to pay contactless at any terminal that accepts phone-wallet payments.

Where can I use the Morse Card?

Anywhere Visa is accepted online, and anywhere contactless Visa is accepted in a physical store via Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is virtual-only, so merchants or terminals that require a physical card or a card swipe will not work, and ATM withdrawals are not supported. Blocked merchant categories are not published on the card pages.

How do I withdraw money from Morse?

You can withdraw to a bank account, a debit card, or a stablecoin transfer. USDC, USDG and EURC via Solana are free; international withdrawals and other tokens or chains carry a fee, and domestic withdrawals are free in most countries. On closure you must withdraw any remaining balance from your Morse Balance first, and the closure is permanent.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team