A free Visa Platinum that spends your stablecoins, published mostly in the dark

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have USDT or USDC sitting in a wallet and no ordinary bank card that will let you spend it, the Lydian card is worth putting in the shortlist. It is a Visa Platinum, it costs nothing to issue, and it converts your stablecoin balance at the till. That is a real thing, and it is rarer than the number of crypto cards advertising it suggests.

Lydian works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

It is also, on the evidence I could find on its own pages, an unusually undocumented product. There is no country list. There are no fees, no limits, no ATM terms, no card currency, no named networks, no deposit fee, no minimum top-up. Not “hidden in the small print” — not stated at all. So the honest shape of this review is: here is what the card plainly does, and here is what you will have to ask someone before you trust it with money.

I scored it 6.9 / 10. Below I walk through who gets one, how you sign up, what it costs at the till, how you load it, what daily use feels like, what can go wrong, and what I would look at instead.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.9 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 No country list; features depend on your country of residence and eligibility requirements; adults 18+
Cost 7 / 10 No annual fee, physical and virtual free to issue; conversion fees shown before payment but figures not disclosed
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDT and USDC directly on supported networks, other assets swapped in the Lydian Wallet; networks not named
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Issuer Rain, a Visa Principal Member; no complaints found about the card; unofficial: the company is backed by Tether and Cantor Fitzgerald
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa, physical with chip and tap plus instant virtual, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM terms not disclosed
Total 6.9 / 10

Who this suits: you already hold USDT or USDC, you have run into a wall getting a normal bank card, and you are comfortable with a product whose support page will not tell you the conversion rate before you sign up. The card does the one thing crypto cards exist to do — turn a stablecoin balance into everyday purchases — without an annual fee, without a metal upsell, and without a monthly minimum.

Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a number in advance. If your budgeting depends on knowing what a payment will cost, or you travel to countries where you cannot verify the exchange rate, or you are in a place where a residence-based eligibility check might go sideways, this is a poor fit — not because anything looks wrong, but because the card will not tell you. It also does not suit you if you want to hold a card balance in several currencies at once; there is one balance, denominated in USDT and USDC, and everything else is a conversion.

The 5 out of 10 on eligibility is the heaviest weight in the score. Cards in this category live or die on who can actually get one, and Lydian’s public pages do not say. Not “restricted to certain countries” — no list at all, only that availability of features may vary depending on your country of residence and is subject to eligibility requirements.

Will they give you the card?

Lydian publishes no country list. That is the whole answer, and it is an unsatisfying one. What the company does say is that availability of features may vary depending on your country of residence and is subject to eligibility requirements — which is the standard sentence, but it is doing a lot of work on its own here, because there is no list behind it to check yourself against.

The rule as stated is residence-based, not citizenship-based. If you live in a supported country and hold an ID from a restricted region, that is a different situation from living there with local documentation, and the card does not say which way it goes. I am not going to guess, and I would not want anyone to plan around a guess either.

Age: adults 18 and over. There is a single “quick identity verification” step and no tiered levels, no stated processing times and no stated reasons a verification might be refused. Documents required: not stated. Proof of address: not stated.

If your situation is “I cannot open a normal bank card,” you will recognise this shape of problem. A card that verifies you once and converts stablecoins is a genuine workaround, and I say that as someone describing the mechanism rather than recommending a route around anything. What I cannot do is tell you whether it will work from where you are sitting. The only way to find out is to ask them.

One practical thing worth knowing before you start: identity verification is a legal obligation on the provider, not a favour to you. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number, and electronic systems also validate proof-of-address documents. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to hold off on the transaction or the relationship, and to end it where necessary. That is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents — it is the rule working, not a punishment aimed at you.

And one thing to be clear about: nationality is screened separately from residence. Sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. Holding a passport from a restricted region can block a card that a local resident would otherwise get. Nobody can tell you in advance how a given combination will be treated, including me.

How to get it

The stated path is short: download the Lydian Wallet app, complete the quick identity verification, and the virtual card is issued instantly in the app. The physical card ships to your doorstep.

You get both forms of the card:

Both run on Visa. The physical card is a Visa Platinum, which brings the standard Platinum benefits: car rental insurance, purchase protection, extended warranty and 24/7 Visa customer service, with acceptance at more than 150 million merchants.

Delivery: countries not stated, delivery time not stated, and neither delivery cost nor replacement cost is stated. I would treat the shipping question as unresolved rather than assume it is free, given that issuance is explicitly free and delivery is conspicuously silent.

There is also an app-based dashboard at /dashboard alongside the mobile app. App Store and Google Play links and ratings were not stated and I found none on the card page — which is not the same as saying the app is unavailable in the stores, but it does mean I cannot tell you what other people rate it.

The card came to public attention via a press release dated 20 April 2026 announcing the launch of the co-branded Visa Platinum issued through Rain. That report is a third-party one. It mentioned 300+ supported digital assets and instant virtual issuance; the “300+” figure does not appear on the card’s own pages.

Fees: what a payment actually costs you

The headline is good and the detail is missing. Lydian states there is no annual fee, and that both the physical and virtual card are free to issue. There is a single product line — physical and virtual Lydian Card — with no tiers, no metal card and no price levels.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Lydian payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

What is not disclosed: the conversion figures, the ATM terms, and the daily and monthly limits. The card says only that payments are “subject to applicable fees and limits”.

Item What Lydian states
Annual fee No annual fee
Physical card issuance Free to issue
Virtual card issuance Free to issue
Conversion at point of sale Automatic to local currency; fees “clearly shown before you complete a transaction”; figures not stated
Card currency Not stated
ATM Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Network / conversion fee figures Shown before the transaction; no amounts published
Card balance currency USDT / USDC; conversion to local currency happens instantly and automatically at the point of sale

So how does a normal day actually look? Take three ordinary situations and run them against what is published.

A coffee abroad. You tap the card. The balance is in USDT or USDC, so the payment is converted to the local currency automatically and instantly. Any applicable network or conversion fee is shown to you before you complete the transaction. This is the design working as intended: you see a figure, you approve, the payment goes. What you cannot do today is predict that figure in advance, because nobody has published it.

A weekly grocery shop in your own currency. The same mechanism, with one practical wrinkle. Card currency is not stated, and merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card number and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. A card that looks “foreign” to a shop can simply be declined, and that is true of any card issued in one country and used in another. If most of your spending is local and your balance is dollar-pegged, the mismatch between your billing address and the issuer’s country is worth keeping in mind.

Withdrawing cash. Not stated. Not “expensive” or “cheap” — unstated. Any firm figure I gave you here would be invented.

One fee that belongs to the blockchain rather than to the card: on-chain network fees (gas, bandwidth) for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider. So topping up costs you the network’s price, and that price depends on the chain you pick. On Ethereum that is paid only in ETH, which means a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tron prices fees through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. This is the practical reason the choice of network matters more than it looks — and the card does not name its supported networks.

How to top up

Natively, the card is funded by USDT and USDC on supported networks. Anything else you hold can be swapped into the card balance through the Lydian Wallet.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Lydian starts with a transfer to the right network

That is the short version and it is genuinely the good part of the design. USDT and USDC go straight in, without being sold and rebought through some intermediate step. Everything else goes through a swap, which means a price, a spread and a moment of exposure you should think about.

What is not stated: which networks are supported, the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, and whether fiat top-ups are possible at all. Withdrawal is not stated either — so the mechanics of getting money back out are something you would need to ask about before you commit.

Why the missing networks matter more than they look. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option anywhere. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, so a deposit sent on a network the card provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. Since the card does not publish its list, the risk of picking the wrong chain is entirely on you.

Two more things about the assets themselves. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And stablecoins are not, despite the name, guaranteed stable: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Between the two of them, roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC (BIS, July 2025). Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm.

If you hold either, you know this already. If you are new to it, the point to take from this review is narrower: a card that holds stablecoins holds an asset that can move, and the card’s own risk disclosure does not address that.

Paying with it every day

The daily experience is the strongest part of this card. It is a Visa, so acceptance is broad — more than 150 million merchants for the Platinum card. You get a physical card with a chip and contactless, plus a virtual one the moment you are verified. Apple Pay and Google Pay both work on both card forms, which in practice is how most people will end up using it.

Why tokenised mobile wallets matter: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number stored in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Your actual card number is not sitting in a phone that gets scanned. The issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic-stripe use, or on a given merchant category, for example.

What is not stated: blocked merchant category codes. That is not a trivial gap if gambling is relevant to you. MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. You cannot check whether Lydian blocks it.

Rewards are listed as a feature — “collect rewards” — with no rate and no terms. I would not build anything around that line.

On the security side, the card is issued through Rain, which operates over the Visa network with fraud monitoring and cardholder protections, and the Lydian Wallet is described as letting you maintain control of your assets; the pages also call the cards collateralized credit cards issued through Rain. Standard safeguards like app-based 2FA, instant card freeze and spending limits are not stated. Disputes and chargebacks are not addressed either; the page mentions Visa purchase protection and cardholder protections without describing the process. If you are outside the US, note that prepaid-card coverage varies by jurisdiction and should not be assumed to match debit or credit card rights.

One thing to expect occasionally: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. That is normal across the industry and not a Lydian problem specifically.

Support is a contact form or live chat at lydian.com/contact. Email address and opening hours are not stated, and only English is shown — the Russian version is not supported on the page.

What can go wrong

The honest list here is not “things that could go wrong” in the abstract. It is “things nobody has told me yet”.

Eligibility. No country list. If you are turned down, you will find out at verification, not before.

Cost. The conversion and network fee figures are not published. You will see them per transaction, which protects you at the moment of payment, but it means you cannot compare this card’s cost against another card’s cost — because you cannot see either one in advance. That is the single biggest practical gap.

Limits. Daily and monthly limits not stated. If you are planning anything large, that is a question to ask before you need it.

Network choice on deposit. Irreversible, and the supported list is unpublished. This is where the real money-loss risk sits.

Withdrawal. Not stated. If your plan involves getting funds back out, find out how first.

Eligibility risk from your ID. Citizenship and country of birth are screened separately from residence. A card available to residents is not automatically available to every resident’s documents.

What is a stablecoin. Peg risk is real and has happened before, twice, in ways people did not see coming.

Support hours and language. Contact form or live chat, English only, hours unstated.

On the positive side of this section, and it is worth saying clearly: I found no complaints about this card. I searched, and what came back was unrelated brands — Lydia, Sumeria, Lyk Card. Trustpilot and Reddit turned up no Lydian card reviews either. No complaints found is a weak signal rather than a strong one: it usually means a product is too new or too small to have a review history. The card was announced on 20 April 2026.

Who is behind it. Lydian is the brand; the issuer is Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member. Registration country and licences are not stated. Unofficially — from The Paypers in April 2026, not confirmed by the card — the company is described as backed by Tether and Cantor Fitzgerald. Separately, and general to Rain rather than specific to Lydian: Rain Visa debit cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with Rain Products as programme manager. That tells you about Rain’s shape as a business, not about this card’s terms.

Understand the structure and it stops being mysterious. A card payment involves several parties: the network (Visa) routes messages and sets the rules, the issuer holds the card programme under the network’s licence, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front-end. Visa and Mastercard do not themselves issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. In 2018 WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe and all its Visa programmes closed.

Programme closure is a real category of risk, not a hypothetical one. The pattern is usually a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026 — that is a single unconfirmed source, but the shape of it is what you would be exposed to.

If you are in the EU, there is a second licence to think about. A card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto: MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023, with rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. So a crypto card often depends on two licences. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and an EMI must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them — funds that are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. Transitional arrangements run until 1 July 2026 or until a provider receives or is refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first. ESMA keeps a public interim register of authorised providers and white papers, which is a reasonable place to look before you commit to anyone. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people merely buying goods and services with it are not.

Custody. Lydian describes its wallet as letting you maintain control of your assets and calls the cards collateralized credit cards issued through Rain. That is not the same as self-custody, and the distinction matters. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase; with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. A seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted private key, and anyone who gets it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery because the network cannot freeze or return anything. Custodians have a documented history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

A last, boring, expensive one: taxes. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal or investment holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction — which can make each card payment funded from crypto a separate disposal event. I am not giving you tax advice and you should not take this as any; I am telling you it exists, because spending a crypto-funded card payment is not obviously tax-neutral in every jurisdiction and the card says nothing about it.

What to take instead

The alternatives below are here to sharpen the comparison, not to talk you out of anything. All three spend crypto balances through a card; they differ in how much they tell you and what they cost.

MetaMask — 7.1 / 10, the highest score in this comparison.

For you, the trade is simple: a higher score, a published reward structure, a named issuer and a card currency you can ask about — against Metal at $199 a year and fee amounts still not printed. It also spends straight from your own wallet, so the custody question looks different.

KAST — 6.1 / 10. The most elaborate structure, and the most transparent about who can use it.

For you, KAST is the only one of the four that publishes its fee table in numbers. If your objection to Lydian is “I cannot see what a payment costs,” KAST answers that and charges you for the privilege, twice over.

TokenPocket — 5.8 / 10.

For you, TokenPocket shows the pattern that cuts both ways: a headline “no fees” card with a 1% deposit levy attached, refunded in rewards. That is exactly the shape of arrangement to look for in a card whose fee figures are unstated.

Lydian MetaMask KAST TokenPocket
Score 6.9 / 10 7.1 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.8 / 10
Network Visa Mastercard Visa (Platinum / Infinite) Visa and Mastercard
Annual fee None None (virtual); $199 metal 0 / 1,000 / 10,000 USD by tier None stated beyond the NFT creation fee
Card currency Not stated Not stated USD; EUR24 and USD24 balances at TokenPocket EUR24 and USD24
Deposit USDT, USDC native; networks not named Direct from connected wallet; Linea, Base, Monad, Solana Stablecoins, 0% top-up 1% crypto deposit fee, refunded in rewards
FX fee Figures not stated, shown before payment No foreign transaction fee 0.5%–1.75% non-USD Not stated
Mobile wallets Apple Pay, Google Pay Not detailed here Apple Pay, Google Pay at 0% Not detailed here
Published rewards Not stated 1% virtual / 3% metal up to $10,000 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier None stated

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Lydian card to someone in a specific and fairly narrow position: you hold USDT or USDC on a network the card supports, you cannot get an ordinary bank card, and you are the kind of person who is comfortable probing a support chat for answers before committing money. In that situation it is a good deal — a free Visa Platinum, both physical and virtual, Apple Pay and Google Pay, automatic conversion at the till, no annual fee and no tier to climb.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs the numbers first. If your question is “what will this payment cost me in euros,” the card’s own pages will not tell you, and neither can I. The same applies if you ask whether you will be approved from where you live. Same for limits, ATM, withdrawal, card currency, delivery cost and supported networks. A product can be perfectly good and still be the wrong choice if you are the kind of person who plans before spending.

The contrast with the alternatives is the thing I keep coming back to. MetaMask publishes its reward percentages and names its issuer. KAST publishes its entire fee table, down to 0.10 USD for a small non-USD transaction and 0.50 USD for a declined one. TokenPocket tells you about its 1% deposit fee. Lydian tells you there are fees and that you will see them before you confirm. That is a defensible design choice — showing the figure at the point of payment is arguably better than a published table you have to interpret — but it is not the same as disclosure, and if you are deciding between cards, you are being asked to make the comparison with less information than the others gave you.

My actual recommendation is therefore a question, not a verdict: before you commit, ask Lydian three things — which networks can I deposit on, what are the conversion and network fees in numbers, and what are the daily and monthly limits. If the answers are clear, the card is a 7 or better and I would not hesitate. If the answers are vague, that tells you something important too.

One last thing, from the same wallet. The card is not where the risk lives. It lives in the networks you deposit on, in the stability of the assets you hold, in the identity document you verify with, and in whether the programme is still running when you need it. Keep only what you can afford to have converted, check the network before you send anything, and know that a card is a convenience layer on top of decisions that happen long before the tap.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Lydian card?

The Lydian card is a Visa Platinum payment card, offered in virtual and physical form, that spends a stablecoin balance rather than a bank account. It is issued through Rain, described as a Visa Principal Member. You load it with USDT or USDC, and payments convert to local currency automatically and instantly at the point of sale. Both the physical and virtual card are free to issue and there is no annual fee. The virtual card is issued instantly in the app after identity verification.

How does the Lydian card work?

You download the Lydian Wallet app, complete a quick identity verification, get a virtual card instantly and receive a physical card in the post. Both forms run on Visa, and the physical one has a chip and contactless. Apple Pay and Google Pay work on both. When you pay, the balance — held in USDT or USDC — is converted to local currency automatically at the till, and any applicable network or conversion fee is shown before you confirm the transaction.

Is Lydian a bank?

The public pages do not say so, and I am not going to say it for them. Lydian is the brand and Rain is the issuer, described as a Visa Principal Member; registration country and licences are not stated. Rain’s own footer says its Visa debit cards are issued by Cross River Bank, Member FDIC, with Rain Products as programme manager — but that is general to Rain, not a statement about this card. Ask them directly which entity holds your balance and under which licence.

Who owns Lydian?

That is not stated. What is stated: the issuer is Rain, a Visa Principal Member. Unofficially, The Paypers reported in April 2026 that Lydian is backed by Tether and Cantor Fitzgerald — treat that as third-party reporting, not something the card confirms. In the EU a card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto, so a product like this often depends on two licences rather than one.

Which countries is the Lydian card available in?

Nobody publishes a list. Lydian states only that availability of features may vary depending on your country of residence and is subject to eligibility requirements. Eligibility is residence-based as described, though nationality and country of birth are screened separately for sanctions purposes, so residency alone may not be enough. There is no published list to check yourself against before you apply, which is why this is the weakest part of the card.

Does the Lydian card require KYC?

Yes. There is a single “quick identity verification” for adults 18 and over, with no tiered levels, no published processing time and no stated reasons a check might be refused. Documents required and proof of address are not stated. This is a legal obligation on the provider rather than a preference: regulated businesses must verify customers, screen sanctions lists and, where they cannot complete due diligence, hold off or close the relationship.

How much does the Lydian card cost?

Issuance is free — both physical and virtual — and there is no annual fee, no tiers and no metal version. What is not published is the important part: the conversion fee figures, ATM terms, and daily and monthly limits. The card says fees are “clearly shown before you complete a transaction”, which protects you at the moment of payment but leaves you unable to compare costs in advance.

How do I top up the Lydian card?

Natively with USDT and USDC on supported networks; other assets can be swapped into the card balance through the Lydian Wallet. The supported networks are not named, which is the risk: blockchain transfers are irreversible, so sending on the wrong chain can lose the funds or require manual recovery with no guarantee. The deposit fee, minimum top-up and any fiat route are also not stated.

Is the Lydian card safe?

It runs on Visa through Rain, with fraud monitoring and cardholder protections, and Visa purchase protection is mentioned. Card freeze, two-factor authentication and spending limits are not stated, so do not assume they exist until you have seen them in the app. The larger risks sit outside the card: an unsupported deposit network, the possibility of depegging, and the fact that custodial crypto platforms have a documented failure history. Take precautions; there is no way to make this risk zero, and anyone offering one is selling something.

Is the Lydian card worth it?

For someone who already holds USDT or USDC and cannot get an ordinary bank card, yes — a free Visa Platinum with automatic conversion, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and no annual fee is a genuinely useful thing. I found no complaints about the card at all, though that is a weak signal on a product announced in April 2026. It is worth checking first: which networks you can deposit on, what the fees are in numbers, and what the limits are.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team