A globally open Mastercard that charges heavily for the privilege

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The GFPAY card is a prepaid Mastercard, physical and virtual, that a company registered in Dubai says it will issue to almost anyone outside a list of 27 prohibited countries. On paper that is the kind of card people with trouble getting a normal bank card are looking for. In practice, when I line up the published numbers — $50 to buy it, $10 every month to keep it, 5% to load it, 2.0% on every currency conversion, $0.30 a purchase — the card is expensive in a way that adds up faster than most people expect, and several of the things you would want to know before committing money are simply not published.

GFPAY works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

My score is 5.0 out of 10. That is not a “never touch it” and not an endorsement. It is a card that works, in the way these cards work, for a specific user: someone who needs a Mastercard with both a virtual and a plastic option, who can afford the monthly fee, and who treats the balance as spending money rather than savings. If any of those three is not true, there are cheaper routes in the comparison below.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 The world except 27 prohibited countries, including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Iran, Syria, Croatia and Albania; the basis — citizenship or residence — is not specified
Cost 1 / 10 Issuance $50, servicing $10 per month, top-up 5%, conversion 2.0%, purchase $0.30, ATM $4.00 plus 1%
Top-up options 6 / 10 Coins and networks are not listed in the overview; it was previously described as stablecoin-focused and multichain; funds are not converted back to crypto
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 GFPAY SOLUTIONS FZCO, Dubai; issuer and licences unnamed, the support domain does not resolve, the company may close an account without notice; no complaints found
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Mastercard, ATMs; the virtual card goes into mobile wallets, the physical card does not work with Apple Pay or Google Pay

That is the whole picture in one table: good reach and good everyday mechanics, and a cost line that is the worst of anything I have scored in this category.

Will they give you the card?

Yes, in most of the world — and this is the strongest part of the offer. GFPAY says it issues worldwide except to a specific list of prohibited countries: Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up GFPAY starts with a transfer to the right network

Twenty-seven entries, and several of them — Croatia, Albania, Montenegro — are ordinary European countries that appear not because of sanctions but apparently because of the company’s own risk policy. If you live in Zagreb or Tirana, this card is not for you regardless of your paperwork.

The gap that matters most for you: the card does not say whether eligibility rests on citizenship or on residence. Those are different tests. A card that keys on citizenship cares where your passport was issued; a card that keys on residence cares where you sleep. When the page does not say which one applies, you cannot pre-check your own case, and the only way to find out is to apply and be refused. That is a poor way to spend an afternoon, but it is not an unusual one for this category.

Worth knowing before you apply: because the operating company sits in Dubai, any contract you accept is likely under UAE law, with arbitration in Dubai. That is a long way from most readers’ home courts, and it is a practical reason to keep any balance you hold small.

How to get it

The application is a standard identity check, and the requirements are the ordinary ones for a regulated card.

You need proof of identity that stays valid for at least six months from the date you apply, and proof of address that is either not older than 75 days (the overview) or not older than 90 days (the physical card FAQ) — the card’s own two pages disagree by a fortnight, which is a small thing but a sign of how the documentation is maintained. Accepted documents: passport, ID card, driver’s licence, residence permit, and bank or card statements. On age, the terms say minors need guardian permission, generally meaning under 18.

What the card does not tell you: how long verification takes, and whether there are verification tiers. Not stated anywhere I could read. If a fast answer matters to you, assume the slow path and plan for the card to arrive after you need it.

What you get is a Mastercard prepaid card, available in physical and virtual form. Virtual tokenisation is listed as “coming soon”. You may hold up to 3 cards per user according to the overview, or 4 physical cards according to the FAQ. 3D Secure is enabled, and the card works in USD and EUR.

On delivery: the physical card ships the next business day after payment, or within three days after the invoice is paid — the wording differs between pages again. Delivery cost is invoiced separately and the amount is not stated. Which countries count as “approved countries” for delivery is not published either. If your card is lost or stolen, the old one is deactivated and a replacement is issued carrying the remaining balance; the replacement fee is not stated.

So the honest answer to “how do I get it” is: you will need your identity documents current, you will pay before you receive anything, you will not know the delivery charge in advance, and the wait after applying is not documented.

Fees: what the card really costs

This is where the card is weakest, and I want to put the whole schedule in front of you rather than the marketing summary. These are the published values; where the card’s own pages conflict, I have shown both.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a GFPAY payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Amount
Card acquisition $50
Activation Free (overview) or $10 (physical card FAQ — a $100 initial deposit covers acquisition and activation, net $40)
Monthly maintenance $10 (card is cancelled if the balance is insufficient)
Top-up / reload fee 5%
POS or online purchase $0.30 per transaction
FX fee 2.0% on foreign-currency transactions
Crypto conversion rate Not stated
ATM withdrawal $4.00 plus 1%
ATM balance inquiry $1.00
Load minimum / maximum $15 / $100,000
POS or online maximum $100,000 per transaction, $100,000 per day, 25 transactions per day
Monthly limit No monthly limit listed (overview); the physical card FAQ states a maximum balance of $150,000 and monthly spend of $175,000
ATM limits $1,000 per transaction and per day (overview), 25 withdrawals per day; the physical card FAQ states $2,000 per day, $20,000 per month, and 60% of balance

Now let us walk three ordinary days through it, because a fee list is not a cost and your spending is.

A $20 supermarket shop. You have topped up, so the 5% is already spent before you arrive — $21 to load $20 of buying power. The purchase itself costs $0.30. If the shop prices in euros and your balance is in dollars, the 2.0% FX fee takes another $0.40. Total friction on a $20 shop: about $0.70, on top of the top-up. That is not catastrophic, and $0.30 a purchase means frequent small shops are where this card bites hardest — twenty small purchases a month is $6 in per-transaction fees alone, before any FX.

A $15 lunch in a currency you are spending from. Same purchase fee, $0.30. FX at 2.0% adds $0.30. And if you paid with dollars while the terminal expects euros, that is the exact situation the FX fee exists for.

Withdrawing $100 at an ATM. $4.00 plus 1% comes to $5.00, taken out of the same $100 that a bank card would have charged nothing for at an in-network machine. Two withdrawals in one trip and you have paid $10. Note also the balance inquiry at $1.00 — asking the machine how much you have left is itself a charge, which is worth knowing before you start using ATMs as an account balance display.

Add the standing charges. The $50 acquisition is one-off. The $10 monthly fee is not, and the card is cancelled if the balance is insufficient to cover it — meaning you must remember to load at least $10 every month or lose the card. Over a year that is $120 in servicing on a card you may spend $600 through, plus the $50 to start: these standing charges alone make the card an expensive way to handle small volumes before we have even counted the top-up percentage, the per-purchase charge or the FX.

The category norm is not cheap either — on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not the card provider — but that is a one-off per deposit and small. GFPAY’s charges are recurring by design, which is the difference.

There are no tiers to move up: a single programme, with virtual and physical as the only distinction. And the crypto conversion rate itself is not stated, so the largest single number in your cost calculation — what your crypto became in dollars — is the one the card does not publish.

How to top it up

The honest answer is that the card’s public overview does not list a single coin or network.

What is documented: top-ups carry a 5% fee, with a minimum load of $15 and a maximum of $100,000. An online purchase carries an initial deposit of $100. A gift-card FAQ mentions $10 card creation and the 5% load fee and references Bitcoin. Earlier checks described GFPAY as stablecoin-focused and multichain. That is as far as the public pages go, and I am not going to fill the gap with a guess about which coins you can send.

Two practical consequences follow from that gap. First, you must confirm the coin and network on the card’s own dashboard before you transfer anything, because a transfer sent on an unsupported network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost — blockchain transfers are irreversible and recovery, if it happens at all, is a support request with no guarantee. Second, who pays the network fee for your deposit is not stated, so you may find it deducted from what arrives.

The gift-card angle deserves a caution. The card FAQ says there are no refunds on prepaid gift cards, and gift cards are among the “quasi cash” categories that may decline at point of sale — buying one may simply fail.

And the direction of travel is one-way. The FAQ is explicit that funds cannot be converted back to crypto and cannot be moved between cards. So money goes in as crypto, becomes spendable balance, and can only leave the card by being spent or withdrawn. That is the model, and it is fine — as long as you never treat the balance as a place to park funds.

Paying with it every day

Mechanically this is a normal prepaid Mastercard, and most of the time it will behave like one.

Both forms exist and both work. The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenised and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay — a real limitation for anyone who pays by phone, and one the card’s own pages do not present as a warning. If contactless phone payment is how you usually pay, the virtual card is the one to lean on.

You can use ATMs, subject to the fees and limits above. 3D Secure is enabled, which means online payments get an extra identity step — fine friction usually, occasionally a declined payment while a code is in flight.

Where it will annoy you: “quasi cash” purchases may be declined. That category explicitly includes crypto, travellers cheques and gift cards. If part of your spending involves buying crypto with the card, or using gift cards to buy everyday things, expect failures.

There is no mobile app. Everything happens through a web dashboard at dashboard.gfpay.net, which matters on a phone and matters more if you are the kind of user who freezes a card the moment they lose their wallet.

Disputes are the part I would read most carefully. Chargebacks are not mentioned for GFPAY itself. The general terms provide 30 days of negotiation, then binding arbitration before ICAC in Dubai. Dubai-seated arbitration is expensive and slow for an individual, so a small disputed sum is not realistically worth pursuing.

What can go wrong

Nothing dramatic is documented, and that is itself ambiguous. I found no official incidents, no Trustpilot page for GFPay, and no Reddit discussion. An absence of complaints for a young card with a small footprint is not evidence of a good track record — it is simply no track record.

The structural risks are more concrete:

The issuer is not named. The company is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. The issuer and its licences are not stated. For a card that holds your balance, knowing which licensed institution stands behind it is the first question, not the fifth. I could not answer it from the public pages.

The support domain does not resolve. Tickets are handled at gfpay.biz/support, which did not resolve when I checked on 2026-10-21. A Telegram channel exists; its hours and languages are not stated. For a card used by people who often cannot easily visit a branch, this is the weak point of the whole offer.

Accounts can be closed without notice. The FAQ states that GFPAY may terminate accounts without notice. Combine that with a support channel that does not resolve and money that cannot be converted back to crypto, and the worst-case sequence is obvious: your balance is stranded, your card is dead, and there is nobody answering.

Freshness of the documents is unclear. The overview carries a 2025 copyright notice; the terms were last updated on October 05, 2023. A three-year-old terms page against a live product is something to keep in mind when you weigh how much to leave on the card.

Custody model is not stated — whether your funds are held in a safeguarded account, insured, or somewhere else. For context on why that matters: in the EU, e-money institutions must safeguard customer funds, but safeguarded money is not the same as a bank deposit and is generally not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Declines. Merchants look at the card’s issuing country and type and sometimes treat foreign-issued prepaid cards differently; address verification is mostly unavailable for foreign-issued cards. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your money for several days.

What to take instead

None of these is a recommendation — I have not reviewed them as deeply as GFPAY — but they are the names you will meet, and the honest comparison is that GFPAY’s cost line is the outlier.

Card Score Card type What is published about cost
GFPAY 5.0 / 10 Mastercard prepaid, virtual and physical, USD/EUR $50 issuance, $10 monthly, 5% top-up, 2.0% FX, $0.30 per purchase
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Debit card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical; Naira per the app listing Real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at payment; an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” picks the best rate when you spend; no fee percentage stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes Creating a virtual card is stated as free; monthly fee not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Prepaid “HyperCard”; balance in USD or EUR; network not stated No fees listed on the pages available

Read that table with the missing information in mind: for three of the four, the cost of using the card is simply not published. That is not better than GFPAY’s expensive transparency, and it is worse if you are trying to budget. What you can compare is reach and shape.

If your problem is “no normal bank card”, the cheapest test is not another prepaid crypto card. It is a plain e-money account in your own country, which usually costs nothing to hold, is regulated by a bank supervisor you can look up, and gives you the same Visa or Mastercard number without a $10 monthly fee or a 5% top-up. GFPAY’s value is specifically the combination of crypto funding with both card forms — if you do not need the crypto funding, you are paying a lot for the privilege.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend GFPAY to someone in this position: you are outside the 27 prohibited countries, you hold documents that satisfy the six-month and 75/90-day rules, you need both a virtual and a physical Mastercard, your money is genuinely transient spending money, and you will keep the balance small enough that losing access to it would not hurt.

I would not recommend it to anyone who plans to hold a balance, to anyone for whom the $10 monthly fee plus $0.30 a purchase is more than the cost of the problem it solves, to anyone who lives in one of the 27 listed countries, to anyone in Croatia, Albania or Montenegro who assumed Europe was covered, or to anyone who needs Apple Pay and Google Pay on their physical card. Nor to anyone planning travel and relying on ATMs: $4.00 plus 1%, and $1.00 to check the balance, will accumulate.

And the disqualifying case is specific: if your reason for wanting this card is that you have no access to ordinary banking, you are also the person least able to absorb a closed account and an unreachable support page. That combination — no banking access and no fallback — is exactly where I would want a card from an institution I can name, holding funds I can trace. GFPAY does not currently offer that, and for a 5.0 out of 10 with a cost score of 1, that is the honest reason for the mark.

Frequently asked questions

What is GFPAY card?

GFPAY is a prepaid Mastercard offered by GFPAY SOLUTIONS, a company registered in Dubai, UAE. You fund it from crypto, the balance becomes spendable fiat, and you pay with it online or at a terminal. Both a virtual and a physical Mastercard are available, in USD and EUR. The card works as a spending tool; you cannot convert the balance back to crypto or move it between cards.

How does GFPAY card work?

Top up with crypto, spend the resulting balance. The card is prepaid rather than debit, so it draws on a stored balance and cannot overdraw. Payments route through Mastercard as normal, and 3D Secure adds a verification step online. There is no mobile app — everything is done through the web dashboard at dashboard.gfpay.net.

Is GFPAY a bank?

No. GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO is a Dubai-registered company and the card’s issuer and licences are not named on its public pages. Terms are under UAE law, with negotiation for 30 days and then binding ICAC arbitration seated in Dubai. Treat it as a private card programme rather than a bank account, and do not park meaningful balances on it.

Who owns GFPAY?

The listed company is GFPAY SOLUTIONS – FZCO, Aspin Commercial Tower, Sheikh Zayed Road, Dubai, UAE. Beyond that, the public pages do not say who owns or ultimately backs it, and no Trustpilot page for GFPay could be found. The Telegram channel exists but its hours and languages are not stated.

Can I get a GFPAY card in my country?

You can apply from almost anywhere except the 27 listed prohibited countries, which include Afghanistan, Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Cuba, DRC, Ethiopia, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Montenegro, Myanmar, North Korea, Palestine, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Yemen, Zimbabwe and the Central African Republic. Note the card does not say whether it checks citizenship or residence.

How much does GFPAY cost?

$50 to acquire, $10 per month to maintain, 5% on each top-up, $0.30 per purchase, 2.0% on foreign-currency transactions, and $4.00 plus 1% at ATMs with a $1.00 balance inquiry. Activation is listed as free in the overview and $10 in the physical card FAQ. The card is cancelled if the balance cannot cover the monthly fee. This is the single biggest reason for my low cost score.

What coins and networks can I use to top up?

The overview does not list any coins or networks, and an earlier check described GFPAY as stablecoin-focused and multichain. Before transferring anything, confirm the accepted coin and network on the dashboard yourself, because transfers are irreversible and sending on the wrong network can lose the funds. Who pays the network fee is also not stated.

Can I add GFPAY to Apple Wallet?

The virtual card can be added to mobile wallets. The physical card is not tokenised and is not compatible with Apple Pay or Google Pay, and tokenisation of the virtual card is listed as “coming soon”. If you normally pay by phone, use the virtual card rather than the plastic one.

Is GFPAY card safe?

There is no documented breach and no complaint record to check, but there is also no track record. The support domain gfpay.biz did not resolve on 2026-10-21, the issuer and licences are unnamed, the custody model is not stated, and accounts may be terminated without notice. Treat it as a low-balance spending card rather than a place to hold money.

Is GFPAY worth it?

Only if you specifically need crypto funding with both a virtual and a physical Mastercard, and you can absorb $50 plus $10 a month plus per-transaction charges. If you can hold a normal prepaid or e-money card in your own country, that is cheaper and more clearly regulated. If you are avoiding ordinary banking for a reason, weigh harder — this card adds an unreachable support page to an already fragile position.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team