A free virtual card for Latin American crypto users, with several blanks in its published terms

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The OSMO card is a free virtual Visa that spends straight out of a dollar balance inside an app, topped up with Bitcoin or USDT. On paper that is an unusually tidy offer: no monthly fee, no card issuance charge, Apple Pay on day one, and a Bitcoin custody arrangement that is regulated rather than merely asserted. It is also, on its public pages, an oddly incomplete one. When I went looking for the exchange rate spread, the cash-machine terms, the per-transaction limits and even the name of the company that runs it, the answers were either missing or pointed somewhere else. I scored it 6.4 out of 10, and the gap between those two facts — a genuinely cheap card wrapped in thin documentation — is the whole story of this review.

OSMO works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.4 out of 10

Let me put the score up front, criterion by criterion, so you can see exactly where the card earns and where it does not.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 4 / 10 Region is Latin America: Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina and several other countries
Cost 8 / 10 “$0 de cuota mensual”, virtual card free; cash withdrawal 1%, bank withdrawal 1%; card FX not disclosed
Top-up options 7 / 10 Bitcoin or USDT (networks Bitcoin, Lightning, Polygon), card, bank transfer, cash
Reliability and complaints 8 / 10 Rain and SOINSA cards, Bridge Ventures accounts, Bitcoin custody at Osmo El Salvador under CNAD, BCR, SSF supervision; App Store 4.8 out of 5 from about 1.8 thousand ratings; Trustpilot 3.2 from 1 review
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa, Apple Pay right away; Google Pay and ATM not disclosed, cash through “agencias afiliadas”
Total 6.4 / 10 —

Who this suits: a resident of the listed Latin American countries who already holds dollars and Bitcoin in one app and wants a card that costs nothing to keep. If that is you, the value proposition is real — there is very little here that costs you money month after month.

Who it does not suit: anyone outside the region; anyone who needs a physical card; anyone who wants to know their foreign-exchange rate before they commit; and anyone for whom an undocumented fee, an unpublished limit or an uncredited deposit would be a serious problem. That last group should read the risk section carefully.

Will they give you the card

The short answer is: if you live in the right country, probably yes, and the barrier to entry is low. If you do not, no.

The starting data lists Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú, Bolivia. The App Store listing adds a caveat that “Product availability depends on where you live”. So this is fundamentally a Latin American card. I would not expect a resident of, say, Kenya or Portugal to be able to open one, and I would not want to promise it either.

The identity side is light-touch as published: verification happens inside the app under “verificación de identidad”. What the public pages do not tell you is how deep that check goes. There is a help centre section called “Verificación (KYC)” with six articles in it, which tells me the subject is documented somewhere — just not on the page I was reading. Whether you need a passport, a proof of address, or a selfie at this stage is something I could not verify, and if it matters to you, ask before you commit.

How to get it

Sign-up with an email address or phone number is quick, and it is worth being honest about what that speed means: nothing in the published flow asks you to wait for a manual approval, and nothing in it tells you it will not.

The card itself is a virtual Visa International debit card, and it is free. You add it to your wallet and start spending. There is no physical card, and the physical version is simply not part of what you are getting.

Behind the card sit real institutions, which matters more than it might sound. Visa cards are issued by Rain, which belongs to Signify Holdings; Mastercard cards by SOINSA. The dollar accounts sit with Bridge Ventures LLC. And the Bitcoin is held by Osmo El Salvador S.A., a company regulated by CNAD, BCR and SSF. That is a real custodial structure with licensed counterparties, not a wallet held together by a start-up’s own promises.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline cost numbers are excellent. The numbers you have to go hunting for are missing.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a OSMO payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card says
Monthly fee “$0 de cuota mensual”
Virtual card issuance Free
Cash withdrawal 1%
Bank withdrawal 1%
Receiving USD No cost
Bitcoin send 3%
Card foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM terms Not stated; cash through “agencias afiliadas”
Card limits Not stated; user can set own spending limits
Tiers Not stated (single virtual card; “OSMO Private” is a separate product)
Currency USD balance, automatic conversion to local currency

So: keeping the card and having it issued both cost nothing. Withdrawing cash costs 1%, whether you take it from an affiliated agency or send it to a bank account — the bank route lands in 1 to 2 business days and supports SINPE. Receiving dollars is free, and the minimum Bitcoin purchase starts at $1.

The gap is conversion. The card spends your USD balance and auto-converts to the local currency when you hold no such currency, and the card’s FX fee is not stated. A card that is free to hold and free to load but silent on the spread it charges you at the moment of conversion is a card where your real cost is invisible until you look at a statement. For everyday spending in small amounts, that is not a small thing.

Let me walk through three ordinary days, because that is where fees stop being abstract.

Coffee, three dollars, local currency. Your balance is in USD, you are not, so the app converts at the moment of payment. What you pay depends entirely on the rate and the undisclosed card FX fee. You are in the part of the cost structure nobody has published.

A month of groceries, say eighty dollars, paid by card. No monthly fee, no issuance fee, no per-payment charge stated. This is the case the card is genuinely good at, and if your groceries are priced in dollars locally it is close to costless.

Two months of savings moved to a bank account, two hundred dollars. One per cent, so two dollars, cleared in 1 to 2 business days through SINPE. Reasonable, and stated clearly in advance — the kind of fee you can actually plan around.

Top up ways that work

There are five, and they cover most situations: Bitcoin, USDT on the Bitcoin, Lightning or Polygon networks, a card transfer, a bank transfer, and cash. Once loaded, the money sits as a USD balance and the card spends from that balance.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up OSMO starts with a transfer to the right network

Receiving USD costs nothing, and the minimum Bitcoin purchase is a dollar, which makes small test deposits easy. Two details are absent: the fee for a card top-up is not stated, and the card’s own limits are not stated either — the help centre has a “Límites de transacciones” section, so limits exist and vary by country, they are just not on the page.

A warning that applies to any card like this: transfers on blockchain are irreversible. Send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, and the money can be gone or reduced to a support ticket with no guarantee of return. This is the single most common way people lose funds, and it has nothing to do with the card’s quality.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where the card scores its lowest mark, 5 out of 10, and the reason is thinness rather than dysfunction.

What works: a virtual Visa International card that “can be added to Apple Pay right away”, spending from a USD balance with automatic conversion. In Apple Wallet, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number kept in the Secure Element rather than on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time code, so the everyday Apple Pay experience should be unremarkable in the good way.

What is not stated: whether Google Pay works, which merchant categories are blocked, what rewards exist, and what happens when you dispute a charge. I could not find any of these, and their absence is part of why everyday use scores where it does. Cash is available through “agencias afiliadas” at 1%, but ATM terms are not described.

The app rating is a point in the card’s favour: 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store from 1.8 thousand ratings. The Google Play listing is there but I did not read its rating, so treat the iOS number as the only one I can stand behind.

One more thing worth knowing about any virtual card, this one included: merchants can look at the issuer country attached to your card number, and some will treat a foreign-issued card with extra caution or decline it. It is not a defect in the card, but it is the reason a virtual card that works perfectly online can still be refused in a shop.

What can go wrong

Start with the one real complaint I found, because it is the shape of the risk rather than a statistic.

On Trustpilot — which is a user-reporting site, unofficial, and not something the card has published or confirmed — the score is 3.2 out of 5 from a single review, read 21 October 2026. That one review, posted 14 to 17 July 2026, describes a USDC deposit sent over the Polygon network that was never credited, with support replying “investigating” for three days. One review is not a track record. It is a single data point, and it points at the exact place where this kind of card is weakest: a transfer that blockchain says completed and the app says nothing about. I found no official incident reports.

The company structure is worth reading, because it is both reassuring and complicated. Osmo, part of HODL Group, describes itself as “no un banco” — not a bank. Bridge Ventures LLC holds the USD accounts, Rain and SOINSA issue the cards, Osmo El Salvador S.A. holds the Bitcoin under CNAD, BCR and SSF regulation. Your fiat is said to be backed 1:1 by bank accounts and your Bitcoin 1:1, split 80% cold and 20% hot. That is the custody model made explicit, which is more than most cards in this category give you.

Security controls are the sensible set: freeze and unfreeze the card in the app, refresh digital card details in-app, encryption, and your own spending limits. Support is reachable through a contact page and a Spanish-language help centre; hours are not stated.

And the general category risk applies here as it does to every custodial card. Crypto transfers are irreversible, stolen keys have no recovery, and custodians have a history: Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin. Your money is safer with a licensed custodian than with a stranger’s seed phrase, but it is still someone else’s balance.

What to take instead

Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and none of them is clearly better for the reader I have in mind — they trade OSMO’s free-ness against other things.

International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card “Coming soon”. Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case; purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship.

Its fees are where it edges ahead on clarity. Virtual card issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans are Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans, and foreign currency is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” — an actual number, stated. Deposits of any kind are free, in USDC or USDT at 1:1, and also in USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated.

OSMO International Visa UNi Whop
Score 6.4 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Who it’s for Latin American residents Non-blocklisted countries Not stated 31 US states (consumers)
Annual/monthly fee $0 $0 maintenance; plans $0 / $9.00 / $19.00 No annual fee No amounts listed
Card cost Free $5 one-time virtual Not stated “No extra fees”, no amounts
FX Not stated Visa rate + 2% Live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” Not stated
Rewards Not stated No cashback stated Up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants
Network Visa (Rain), Mastercard (SOINSA) Visa Mastercard Visa

UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee”, conversion at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” and “No hidden exchange fees”. It offers “Spend-to-Earn rewards” up to 3%. But its eligibility, funding methods, and whether the card is physical or virtual are not stated on the pages I saw — and unstated eligibility is exactly what makes a card hard to plan around.

Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores. For consumers, 31 US states are listed; for businesses, 41. Unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; unsupported corporate countries include Russia and Belarus. The basis — citizenship or residence — is not stated. Funding comes from a Whop balance, backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet, with coins and networks not stated. The one genuinely generous feature is 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, though payout currency and conditions are not stated.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the OSMO card to a resident of Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú or Bolivia who already keeps dollars and Bitcoin in one app, pays most things online or through Apple Pay, and can afford to test a small deposit before committing money to it. For that person the card is free, fast to open, and structurally sound: licensed issuers, supervised custody, a strong app rating, and no monthly charge.

I would not recommend it to someone who needs cash from a machine abroad, who needs a physical card in a wallet, who is outside the listed countries, or who plans to hold a large balance on the strength of a fee schedule they cannot fully read. I would also hold back anyone for whom tax treatment matters — I am not qualified to advise on that, and every payment funded from crypto may be its own taxable disposal depending on where you live.

Before you commit, three checks in order: ask support what the card FX fee is, ask what the transaction limits are in your country, and make one small test deposit to see it arrive. Ten minutes of asking will answer the questions this review could not.

Frequently asked questions

What is OSMO card?

OSMO is a virtual Visa International debit card that spends from a dollar balance inside the Osmo app. You top up with Bitcoin or USDT, a card or bank transfer, or cash, and the card draws down that USD balance, converting automatically to your local currency when you do not hold that currency. It is virtual only — no physical card is mentioned. Cards are issued by Rain for Visa and SOINSA for Mastercard.

Is OSMO a bank?

No — Osmo, part of HODL Group, describes itself as “no un banco”. Bridge Ventures LLC holds the USD accounts, Rain and SOINSA issue the cards, and Osmo El Salvador S.A. holds the Bitcoin under CNAD, BCR and SSF supervision. That structure means your money sits with licensed companies rather than with a bank you could deposit at, which is a different thing from being insured by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Which countries can use OSMO card?

The starting data lists Costa Rica, Guatemala, El Salvador, Panamá, Honduras, República Dominicana, Argentina, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, México, Uruguay, Paraguay, Puerto Rico, Perú and Bolivia, and the App Store listing says availability depends on where you live. In practice this is a Latin American card. If your country is not on that list, do not assume you can open one.

How do I top up the OSMO card?

Five ways: Bitcoin, USDT on the Bitcoin, Lightning or Polygon networks, a card transfer, a bank transfer, or a cash top-up. Receiving USD is free and the minimum Bitcoin purchase starts at $1. The card top-up fee itself is not stated on the public pages, and blockchain transfers are irreversible, so send a test amount first on a network the app actually supports.

What does OSMO card cost to keep and use?

The virtual card is free and the monthly fee is “$0 de cuota mensual”. Cash withdrawal is 1%, bank withdrawal is 1% (1 to 2 business days, SINPE supported), receiving USD is free, and sending Bitcoin is 3%. The card’s foreign-exchange fee is not stated, which means the cost of converting your dollars into local currency at the moment of payment is the one number you cannot check before you spend.

Is OSMO card safe, and is it regulated?

The custody side is the strongest part: fiat is said to be backed 1:1 by bank accounts, Bitcoin 1:1 with 80% held cold and 20% hot, in the regulated Osmo El Salvador S.A. The app offers in-app freeze and unfreeze, card detail refresh, encryption, and your own spending limits. Against that, the platform is custodial — you are trusting a company, not holding keys — and the card’s own pages do not disclose dispute handling.

Does OSMO card work with Apple Pay and Google Pay?

Apple Pay, yes and immediately: the virtual card “can be added to Apple Pay right away”, with the card number replaced by a device-specific number in the Secure Element and a one-time code per payment. Google Pay is not stated on the public pages, so treat it as unknown rather than unavailable. Cash is available through “agencias afiliadas” at 1%; ATM terms are not described.

Is OSMO card free?

The card itself and the monthly fee are both zero, which is genuinely rare. But “free” describes keeping the card, not using it: conversions may carry an undisclosed FX fee, and cash or bank withdrawals cost 1% each. If you spend entirely in dollars without converting, it is close to free; if you convert constantly, the hidden spread is what you are actually paying.

How long does it take to get OSMO card?

Nothing is shipped, because the card is virtual. Sign-up with an email address or phone number is quick, and identity verification happens in the app under “verificación de identidad”. Whether documents or proof of address are needed at that stage is not stated on the public pages, though the help centre has a KYC section with six articles covering it.

Is OSMO card worth it?

For a resident of a listed Latin American country who keeps dollars and Bitcoin in one app and pays online or through Apple Pay, yes — a free card, licensed issuers, supervised Bitcoin custody and a 4.8 out of 5 App Store rating from 1.8 thousand ratings is a good deal. If you need cash abroad, a physical card, or a fully published fee schedule, the value falls away fast, and I would look at a card that states its FX fee outright.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team