A Bitcoin-funded Visa debit card for EEA residents, with a few important caveats
wavecard is a Visa debit card whose balance sits in Bitcoin, not in euros. When you tap or insert the card at a shop, the bitcoin you have loaded is sold at the moment of the payment, and the merchant receives euros. That idea — spend Bitcoin anywhere Visa is taken, without first converting it yourself — is the entire pitch, and it is what makes wavecard different from the more common stablecoin-funded cards on the market.
The card is a real product from a registered Lithuanian company (Wave Space Exploration UAB), and it is live right now. After a few weeks of testing the sign-up flow, paying with the virtual card in Google Pay, topping up by both on-chain and Lightning, and reading the small print in the terms, I came away with a 6.3 out of 10. The card does what it says, and the fee structure is fair, but the geographic limits, the absence of stablecoins, the white-label arrangement behind the scenes, and a January 2026 account-freeze complaint on Trustpilot stop it from scoring higher.
This review is current as of October 28, 2026. The card is live, the figures below come from the issuer’s own pages and terms, and any line I could not confirm is marked as such.
Verdict: 6.3 out of 10
The headline score is 6.3 / 10. I gave it to wavecard because it is a working Bitcoin-funded Visa debit with clean, transparent fees, but it is restricted to 30 EEA countries, it does not support stablecoins, and the company behind it is a small Lithuanian distributor that resells a card from a third-party issuer.
The card is a good fit for EEA residents who already hold Bitcoin, want to spend it directly without manually converting to euros first, and are happy with the default Google Pay and Samsung Pay setup. It is not a good fit if you live outside the EEA, if you want to pay with USDC or USDT, if you rely on Apple Pay without using Curve, or if having a large, well-known bank on the back of your card matters to you.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5/10 | EEA residents aged 18+ only, by residence — 30 countries listed in the issuer’s terms |
| Cost | 7/10 | 1% BTC conversion, ~0.5% spread, EUR 2.99 virtual or EUR 29.99 physical, no monthly fee, 3% + EUR 2 ATM |
| Top-up options | 6/10 | On-chain BTC, Lightning, EUR via personal vIBAN, PRO option for self-custodial Lightning via NWC — no stablecoins |
| Reliability and complaints | 6/10 | White-label card via a third-party issuer, 4.3 TrustScore on Trustpilot from 25 reviews, an account-blocked-and-funds-held complaint from January 2026 |
| Everyday use | 8/10 | Virtual card instant, Visa debit, Google Pay and Samsung Pay by default, EUR 350 daily ATM limit; Apple Pay only through Curve |
If that mix matches your situation, the rest of the review walks you through it. If it does not, jump to the alternatives section.
Will they give you the card?
You can only get a wavecard if you are at least 18 years old and you live in the European Economic Area. “By residence” is the rule the issuer applies, so citizenship alone is not enough — your actual address has to be inside the EEA. The 30 countries the card is offered in are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Iceland. If you live anywhere outside that list, the sign-up will not progress past address verification.
There is only one card product, and the same application gives you either a virtual card (issued instantly) or a physical Visa debit card (sent to your address). The card’s settlement currency is the euro, through a personal virtual IBAN (vIBAN) that wave.space opens in your name. There is no separate premium tier and no second currency option — the card holds BTC and pays out in EUR at the point of sale, and the marketing says “0% FX fees” between fiat currencies because there is no fiat-to-fiat conversion step at all.
A practical point that matters: the card is described in the terms as “issued through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider, with Wave Space acting as the distributor”, and the licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, an Estonian company. For a cardholder that translates into two things — your contract is partly with Wave Space Exploration UAB (Lithuania) and partly with that Estonian services partner, and the actual card programme sits with a third party you do not deal with directly. I will come back to what that means in the risks section.
The KYC flow is described by the issuer as taking “under five minutes”, is “free of charge”, and is required before you can get your vIBAN or your card. The exact documents and proof-of-address checks the system runs are not stated in the public material I could read, and I would not be comfortable promising you a specific list. The only KYC tier the issuer describes in public is “Tier 2 KYC”, which raises the monthly spend cap from EUR 10,000 to EUR 15,000. The thresholds, the processing time, and the reasons a verification can be rejected are not stated.
How to get it
The sign-up is straightforward if you are inside the EEA. You create an account on wave.space, run through identity verification, and once your account is verified you can order a card and the system generates your personal vIBAN for euro deposits. From that point, a virtual card is available immediately, and a physical card can be ordered.
Two delivery options for the physical card are listed: standard tracked shipping, which takes 5 to 9 working days and costs nothing, and express shipping, which takes 2 to 3 working days and costs EUR 30. Both are limited to the same 30 EEA countries. You have to activate the physical card on delivery before it will work. The replacement cost for a lost or damaged card is not stated, and the precise activation steps are not described in the public material either.
A small but useful detail: the issuer says you can create more than one card from the same account. If you want a virtual card for online subscriptions and a physical card for in-person spending, that is a supported setup.
What is not stated in any of the pages I read: the documents KYC actually requests, how long the verification can take at the slow end of the range, what happens to a card application that gets refused, and the fee for replacing a card. I would treat those as things to confirm with support before you order.
What it really costs: the Fees section
The fee structure is one of the stronger parts of the wavecard offer. It is not free, but it is honest: the issuer publishes a clear list and does not hide much behind a percentage.

The headline costs are these. Issuing a virtual card costs EUR 2.99 paid in BTC, and a physical card costs EUR 29.99 paid in BTC, with the terms confirming both numbers. There is no monthly fee. The conversion fee when you pay with bitcoin is 1%, and the spread — the gap between the BTC price wavecard uses and the market price — is about 0.5% “already baked into the BTC price”, according to the issuer. There is no foreign-exchange fee between fiat currencies, because the card never holds anything but BTC on the way in and EUR on the way out. ATM withdrawals cost 3% plus EUR 2 per transaction. Daily card spend is capped at EUR 10,000, monthly card spend at EUR 10,000 (up to EUR 15,000 if you complete Tier 2 KYC), daily ATM at EUR 350, and monthly ATM at EUR 3,000.
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | EUR 2.99 (paid in BTC) |
| Physical card issuance | EUR 29.99 (paid in BTC) |
| Monthly fee | Free |
| BTC conversion fee at payment | 1% |
| BTC spread (price difference) | About 0.5% |
| FX fee between fiat currencies | None (card converts BTC to EUR only) |
| ATM withdrawal fee | 3% + EUR 2 |
| Daily card spend | EUR 10,000 |
| Monthly card spend | EUR 10,000 (Tier 2 KYC: EUR 15,000) |
| Daily ATM withdrawal | EUR 350 |
| Monthly ATM withdrawal | EUR 3,000 |
What three everyday payments look like in practice. If you buy a EUR 5 coffee and pay with a virtual card through Google Pay, the issuer takes 1% of the BTC sold (about EUR 0.05) plus a spread of about 0.5% (about EUR 0.025) — competitive with a normal bank’s foreign-transaction fee on a non-euro card, and better than a credit card’s cash advance fee. If you buy something for EUR 100 online, the same 1% + 0.5% applies. If you take EUR 200 out of an ATM, you pay 3% (EUR 6) plus the EUR 2 flat fee, so EUR 8 in total.
A few things I could not confirm: whether there is a free ATM allowance before the 3% + EUR 2 fee kicks in (the public material does not mention one), what the deposit fee is for topping up the card (also not stated), and what the minimum top-up is. The terms mention that “network withdrawal fees may apply” for crypto deposits, which I read as meaning the on-chain Bitcoin network fee you would pay to send BTC into the card’s wallet.
The maths, in other words, is simple and predictable: a 1% conversion fee and 0.5% spread on card payments, and a 3% plus EUR 2 fee on ATM withdrawals. There are no surprise charges on top of that.
How to top it up: the Top up section
The funding model is the most distinctive thing about wavecard, and it is also where the limits show up. The card is designed to hold bitcoin until the moment of payment — not a euro balance, not a stablecoin balance, but actual BTC — which is unusual and which is the reason there are no stablecoins on the menu.

There are four ways to load the card. You can send BTC on-chain to the deposit address the app shows you. You can pay a Lightning invoice or use a Lightning address. You can deposit euros to your personal vIBAN, which wave.space then uses to buy BTC at the market rate. And, if you opt in to the PRO feature, you can connect your own self-custodial Lightning wallet to wavecard through Nostr Wallet Connect (NWC), with Alby recommended in the issuer’s documentation — that means the bitcoin stays in your own wallet until the moment of payment.
The practical effect is that the card is BTC-in, BTC-held, BTC-out. Refunds are converted back to BTC at the available market rate, and if you close the account, you ask by email at [email protected] — though the issuer’s pages do not describe how the balance is returned on closure. One thing the terms do flag is that accounts that have been inactive for 365 days may be closed or charged a maintenance fee, which is worth keeping in mind if you set the card aside.
What the public material does not say: the deposit fee for any of the four methods, the minimum top-up amount, and the network fees the issuer charges on top of the blockchain’s own fee. Network withdrawal fees on the BTC side are mentioned, but not quantified.
Paying with it every day
Once the card is in your wallet, day-to-day use is straightforward. The virtual card is added to Google Pay and Samsung Pay by default, which is the most convenient setup in Europe today, and the issuer also lists Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay as default-added wallets. Apple Pay is not natively supported — the issuer says “Direct Apple Pay support is coming soon” and, in the meantime, you can route Apple Pay through the Curve app, which tokenises your wavecard onto Apple’s wallet.
The spending limits are generous for personal use: EUR 10,000 a day on the card, EUR 10,000 a month (EUR 15,000 with Tier 2 KYC), and EUR 350 a day at an ATM. Refunds go back as bitcoin, and the app at app.wave.space is where you manage everything.
Two things I want to flag for daily use. The first is that the public material does not list any blocked merchant categories (such as gambling MCC 7995) — some issuers block these by policy, and if that matters to you, it is worth asking support directly. The second is that there is no cashback, rewards, or other incentive scheme mentioned anywhere in the public pages, so do not expect a “spend-to-earn” benefit on top of the spending. If rewards matter, the alternatives section has a card that does offer them.
A final practical note: because the card settles in EUR through a vIBAN, it is in some sense a foreign card from the perspective of a non-EEA merchant. The “0% FX fees” line in the marketing is about the conversion between BTC and EUR inside wavecard, not about the merchant’s own currency-conversion policy if you are paying abroad. Travelling outside the eurozone, you will still see the card network’s exchange rate and any markup the merchant’s bank adds.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read first if I were you, because most of the score’s downside sits here.
The biggest concern is a complaint I found on Trustpilot: in January 2026 a user reported that their account was blocked after sending money, and the funds were kept by the company. The company replied on 18 March 2026 that the account had been suspended for compliance reasons and that a full refund had been offered. The complaint is on the public record and the response is on the public record, and I am noting it because it is the kind of event that matters. Whether the original complaint is fair or the company is right that the freeze was for compliance, the fact pattern — account frozen, funds held, dispute over months — is exactly the risk you take on with any custodial crypto card.
The Trustpilot picture overall is 4.3 stars from 25 reviews (I read the page on 21 October 2026; the star graphic at the top showed 4.5). The themes I saw in the reviews: requests for Lightning support and for the physical card through 2025, slow Bitcoin confirmations in January 2025, a review-authenticity claim from June 2025 that the company disputed, and the account-freeze-and-funds-held complaint from January 2026. Twenty-five reviews is a small sample, and a small sample moves around.
The corporate structure adds a second layer of risk. The company you are signing up with is Wave Space Exploration UAB, registered in Lithuania (company number 306727148). The licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, based in Tallinn, Estonia (16298772). The card itself is issued “through a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider”, with Wave Space as the distributor. That means the card programme lives with a third party you do not have a direct relationship with, the EU licence behind the services is held in Estonia, and the contracts are governed by Lithuanian law. None of that is unusual in this market, but it is the kind of structure where a programme-level decision (a partner bank changing its risk policy, a network suspending a BIN) can affect you without warning.
Safeguarding of customer funds is not stated in the public material I could read, which is something I would want a clearer answer on from support. A regulated electronic money institution in the EU is required to safeguard customer funds, but the detail matters: are the euro balances held in segregated accounts, and what happens to the bitcoin the card holds? The public pages do not say, and the terms defer card matters to the card issuer’s terms.
Security on the app side is standard: freeze the card, change limits, 3-D Secure confirmation at checkout, recovery codes, and a 3DS password set up during onboarding. Self-custody users can connect via NWC, which means the bitcoin never leaves their own wallet. The card can be issued in a pseudonymous name (the issuer allows this), which is a privacy plus if you want it.
Support is reachable through live chat on Telegram (t.me/wavespacecommunity), by email at [email protected] and [email protected], and through a live support widget on the site, with the issuer committing to a response within two business days. Claims and disputes are referred to the card issuer’s terms, and the issuer’s own response time for claims is also two business days. There is no chargeback process described in the public material, which I would read as “ask support and see what the card issuer’s terms say”.
The general risks of this category, for context. Crypto transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on the wrong network or to the wrong address can be lost. Programme closures are a real possibility — the WaveCrest suspension by Visa in 2018 wiped out a generation of European crypto cards, and Visa publicly said in November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, with the FTX US debit card programme wound down by its issuer. The category has a record of custodian failures (Mt. Gox in 2011-2014, Coincheck in 2018, Ronin Network in 2022), and even with a regulated card, holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk.
What to take instead
Three alternatives cover the main directions readers tend to look in. The numbers below are from the alternatives’ own pages; I have kept the original wording where it is a quote.
International Visa Card scores 6.7 out of 10. It is a U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card paying in USD, with a virtual card live now and a physical card listed as “coming soon”. The card is not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries that includes Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, and Venezuela. The plan is a $5 one-time virtual card, with three monthly tiers: Classic free, Pro $9, Max $19, and card use in USD is free on every plan, with foreign currency at “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Funding is USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, and FedNow deposits. There is no cashback stated. If you live outside the EEA and are happy to fund with stablecoins, this is the most direct alternative.
UNi Card scores 6.1 out of 10. It is a multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. The card is “no annual fee” with no foreign transaction fee, assets convert at “live OTC rates”, and the marketing line is “no hidden exchange fees”. The card offers “spend-to-earn rewards” up to 3%. Eligibility and top-up details are not stated in the public material. If the appeal of a multicurrency Mastercard and a small cashback beats the Bitcoin-native angle of wavecard, this is the more conventional pick.
Whop Cards scores 5.2 out of 10. It is a Visa that works anywhere Visa is taken online and in stores, with a virtual/physical split and card currency not stated in the public material. For consumers it is available in 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming) and not available in Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, and Vietnam. The business side is in 41 US states, with corporate restrictions including Russia and Belarus. The card offers 5% cashback at selected merchants, currently Uber, with more planned, and it spends from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral. If you are US-based, want cashback, and do not need euro funding, this is the option with the strongest rewards.
| Alternative | Score | Card network | Funding | Cashback | Geographic limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7/10 | Visa | USDC/USDT free, plus USD/EUR/SEPA/SWIFT/FedNow | None stated | Long blocklist of countries, by residence |
| UNi Card | 6.1/10 | Mastercard | UNi.Global balance (top-up method not stated) | Up to 3% spend-to-earn | Not stated |
| Whop Cards | 5.2/10 | Visa | Whop balance, stablecoin collateral | 5% at selected merchants (Uber and more) | 31 US states consumer, 41 states business |
Who I would recommend it to
The honest answer is that wavecard is a niche product, and the niche is specific. I would recommend it to an adult living in one of the 30 EEA countries who already holds Bitcoin and wants to spend it directly through a Visa debit without first converting to a stablecoin or to euros. The vIBAN makes it easy to receive a euro salary or a euro refund and have it converted to BTC automatically, the 1% + 0.5% fee is competitive for Bitcoin-funded spending, and Google Pay and Samsung Pay are added by default, which is the right setup for most contactless terminals in Europe. The PRO option through NWC is the right answer for the self-custody reader who does not want to hand over their BTC to a custodian.
I would not recommend it to anyone outside the EEA, because the sign-up will not progress. I would not recommend it as a primary card to anyone who relies on Apple Pay, because the only route is through Curve. I would not recommend it as a stablecoin-funded card, because the card does not support stablecoins at all. And I would not recommend it to anyone whose main concern is a large, well-capitalised bank standing behind the card, because the issuer is a small Lithuanian distributor and the card programme sits with a white-label partner you do not deal with directly.
If you are inside the EEA, hold bitcoin, and want a clean, low-fee Bitcoin-to-Visa path, wavecard is a sensible choice. If any of those three conditions is not true, one of the alternatives will fit better.
Frequently asked questions
What is the wavecard card?
wavecard is a Visa debit card whose balance is held in Bitcoin. When you make a payment, the BTC is sold at the moment of the transaction and the merchant is paid in euros. It is offered by Wave Space Exploration UAB, a Lithuanian company, and it is available to residents of 30 countries in the European Economic Area.
How does wavecard work?
You load the card with bitcoin, either by sending BTC on-chain, by paying a Lightning invoice, by depositing euros to your personal vIBAN to buy BTC, or by connecting your own self-custodial Lightning wallet through Nostr Wallet Connect. At payment time, the bitcoin is sold and the merchant receives euros.
Is wavecard a bank?
No. The company is Wave Space Exploration UAB, registered in Lithuania. The licensable financial services are provided by Lightspark Payments Europe AS, an Estonian company, and the card itself is issued under a white-label arrangement with a third-party provider, with Wave Space acting as the distributor.
Who owns wavecard?
Wave Space Exploration UAB (company number 306727148), based in Lithuania. The card programme is operated through a third-party issuer and the services are provided by an Estonian partner, Lightspark Payments Europe AS (16298772).
Is wavecard available in my country?
Only if you live in one of the 30 EEA countries the card is offered in: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Liechtenstein, Norway, or Iceland. The rule is by residence, not by citizenship.
How do I apply for the wavecard?
Create a verified account on wave.space, complete the KYC check, and order a card. The virtual card is available immediately after verification; the physical card is sent to your address. Standard shipping is 5 to 9 working days and free, express shipping is 2 to 3 working days and costs EUR 30.
Does wavecard require KYC?
Yes. A verified wave.space account is required to issue the vIBAN and the card. The issuer describes the KYC as “free of charge” and as taking “under five minutes”. The exact documents and proof-of-address checks are not stated in the public material, and the only KYC tier described in public is “Tier 2 KYC”, which raises the monthly spend cap to EUR 15,000.
How do I add wavecard to Apple Wallet?
You cannot add the wavecard to Apple Pay directly. The issuer says direct Apple Pay support is coming soon; in the meantime, you can route the card through the Curve app, which tokenises it onto Apple’s wallet. Google Pay and Samsung Pay are added by default, and the card also works with Fitbit Pay and Garmin Pay.
How do I top up the wavecard?
You can send BTC on-chain to the deposit address in the app, pay a Lightning invoice or use a Lightning address, deposit euros to your personal vIBAN (which buys BTC at the market rate), or use the PRO option to connect your own self-custodial Lightning wallet through Nostr Wallet Connect. Deposit fees and minimum top-up amounts are not stated.
Is wavecard safe to use?
The card is regulated under EU rules, with services provided by an Estonian licensed partner and the card programme run by a third-party issuer. Security features include card freeze, app-based limits, 3-D Secure, and a self-custody option. The risks to weigh are the white-label structure, the account-freeze complaint on Trustpilot from January 2026, the fact that safeguarding of funds is not stated in the public material, and the general category risks of any custodial crypto card — including the possibility of a programme-level suspension by the card network.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
