Nexo Card Review: Honest Fees, Eligibility Rules and What Can Go Wrong

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

If you have struggled to get an ordinary bank card — because of your country, your nationality, or a banking history that closed doors — the Nexo card is probably on your shortlist. It promises a Mastercard you can load from crypto and spend anywhere cards are accepted, with no monthly fee. That promise is real, and so are the catches. I read the card’s own pages, the fee tables, the user reviews and the regulatory news before writing this, because the difference between a good crypto card and a disappointing one almost always lives in the details.

Nexo works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Here is my honest verdict up front.

Verdict: a solid 6.3 out of 10 — good fees, gated access, real regulatory uncertainty

Nexo scores 6.3 / 10 overall. That is a middle-of-the-road result for a crypto card, and it reflects a genuinely mixed product: the cost structure is among the better ones I have seen, everyday use is strong, but who actually gets the card is restrictive, and the company is working through a real regulatory transition that introduces doubt.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Nexo payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Let me break down exactly how that score was built, criterion by criterion.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Residents and citizens of “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom”; no official country list is published, and a third-party source lists 30 countries with Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States restricted
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly or annual fee and free issuance; FX is 0.2% on weekdays across the EEA/UK and 2% elsewhere, but an unofficial 0.75% crypto swap fee can stack on top, ATMs charge 2% above the allowance, and the physical card needs Gold tier plus a $5,000 balance
Top-up options 7 / 10 Spends directly from the Nexo account across 100+ assets, stablecoins and FiatX in Debit Mode, but the supported networks are not disclosed
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Issuer DiPocket UAB (Bank of Lithuania) is named and Trustpilot sits at 4.4, but reviews cite withdrawal delays, closed accounts, a Bulgarian police raid, the MiCA partner switch, and confusion over plastic-card ordering
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and ATM withdrawals all work well, though the physical card again requires Gold and $5,000
Total 6.3 / 10 A fair card with excellent fees for eligible users, but narrow eligibility and unfinished regulatory housekeeping

Who this suits. Europeans — in the EEA or the UK — who already hold a substantial crypto balance (over $5,000) and want a card that spends it with genuinely low foreign-exchange fees, plus cashback they can earn by moving their holdings into Credit Mode. If that is you, the Nexo card’s economics are among the best in the category.

Who this does not suit. Anyone outside Europe hoping the card will solve a banking problem, anyone unwilling to pass full identity verification, anyone holding only a few hundred dollars, and anyone who needs a card without tying up at least $5,000 and reaching Gold tier. If any of that describes you, keep reading — this card is probably not the answer, and I point you to alternatives further down.

The single most important thing to understand before you apply: this is a European card for European residents. It is not a universal workaround for banking restrictions.

Will they give you the card?

Short answer: only if you are a resident *and* citizen of a selected European country, including the EEA and the United Kingdom. The card’s own wording requires both — it is not “residents or citizens,” it is residents and citizens.

The card page does not publish a definitive country list. It says “selected European countries, including the EEA and the United Kingdom,” and notes the card is “not available in certain jurisdictions” without naming them. If you need a precise answer for your country, you will have to confirm it with Nexo directly.

A third-party card comparison site (CryptoCardHub, August 2026) publishes a list that is useful as a guide but is not confirmed by Nexo: it reports the card as available in 30 countries — Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom — and restricted in Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States. Treat that as unofficial intelligence, not a guarantee.

There is also important news context. Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged Russia-sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations; Nexo made no official statement about whether any Russians were found. That does not directly affect your eligibility, but it explains why Bulgaria appears on the restricted list and it is a fair warning about the regulatory environment the company operates in.

My advice: before you spend an hour on an application, check your country against the unofficial list above, and if it is borderline, ask Nexo support directly. It costs you nothing to check and saves you the frustration of being rejected after uploading documents.

How to get it

The application runs through the Nexo app and centres on one identity check. You will need a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. That is the only verification level the card page describes — there are no published KYC tiers, no stated processing times, and no list of rejection reasons. Proof of address is not stated as a requirement, and neither is a minimum age (though prepaid and debit cards in general are typically adult-only).

Once you are verified:

One important condition for the physical card, which catches people out: it is not available to everyone. You need both a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold loyalty tier. If you are wondering whether to bother ordering the virtual card first and upgrade later — yes, the virtual card is the sensible starting point, because the physical one is gated behind a balance and a tier you may not reach immediately.

Who issues the card is DiPocket UAB, a Lithuanian entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. The card page carries a Mastercard trademark notice, and third-party sources confirm the network is Mastercard, though Nexo does not state it explicitly in plain terms. The card’s currency is chosen when you activate the virtual card and cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen — if you pick wrong, you must contact Nexo. Choose carefully at that first step.

There is one more complication worth flagging, and it is current: as of a 14 October 2026 report, after the MiCA transition Nexo moved custody and trading to licensed partners, and there have been conflicting public statements about whether physical cards can currently be ordered at all. The ordering flow exists in the app, but reports of availability have been inconsistent. If the plastic card is your reason for considering Nexo, confirm with support that ordering is open for your region before you commit.

Fees and limits: what it really costs

The headline is genuinely good: no monthly fee, no annual fee, and no inactivity fee. Issuing the card is free. That is better than most cards in this category, and it means the cost story depends almost entirely on how you use the card.

The foreign-exchange fee is the number that matters most, because it is where the card either wins or loses:

Those EEA/UK weekday rates are excellent — among the cheapest you will find on any crypto card. The rest-of-world rates are high by comparison, which is worth keeping in mind even if you are European: the moment you spend outside the EEA/UK/Switzerland, the cheap rate disappears.

Now the costs table, which is where the full picture lives.

Fee or limit Value
Issuance (virtual card) Free; needs at least $50 in the account to activate
Issuance (physical card) Free shipping, but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier
Monthly / annual / inactivity fee None
FX fee (EEA, UK, Switzerland) 0.2% weekday, 0.7% weekend
FX fee (rest of world) 2% weekday, 2.5% weekend
Crypto-to-fiat swap (unofficial) 0.75% in Debit Mode, can stack with the FX fee
Crypto conversion fee Not stated on the card page
ATM free allowance (Base) EUR 200 / GBP 180 per month
ATM free allowance (Silver) EUR 400 / GBP 360 per month
ATM free allowance (Gold) EUR 1,000 / GBP 900 per month
ATM free allowance (Platinum) EUR 2,000 / GBP 1,800 per month
ATM fee above allowance 2%, minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP per withdrawal
Daily / monthly spend limits Not stated; the page only says clients with $100,000 in assets get higher limits
Purchase / day / month limits (unofficial) EUR 10,000 per purchase, EUR 10,000 per day, EUR 60,000 per month
ATM limits (unofficial) EUR 600 per transaction, EUR 2,000 per day, EUR 10,000 per month

Two rows in that table are marked unofficial and deserve a careful read. The 0.75% Debit-Mode swap fee and the EUR 10,000/60,000 limits both come from third-party sources, not from Nexo’s own pages. The swap fee is the one that actually changes your arithmetic: if it is real and it stacks with the FX fee, then a non-EEA/UK transaction could cost you 2% plus 0.75%. Nexo does not publish a crypto conversion fee on the card page at all, which leaves room for uncertainty.

The ATM structure is straightforward and, for higher tiers, generous. Above your tier’s free monthly allowance, withdrawals cost 2% with a floor of 1.99 EUR or GBP per withdrawal — so several small withdrawals just above your allowance are where that floor bites. Note that these ATM allowances are quoted in EUR and GBP, which tells you the card’s practical currencies without Nexo ever naming them outright.

Three everyday payments, and which fees bite:

  1. Coffee in Berlin, EUR 4, EUR-cardholder, weekday. Your cost: the 0.2% weekday FX fee applies only if the merchant’s country differs from the EEA/UK/Switzerland zone. Intra-EEA spending is usually treated as domestic. If the card is in Debit Mode, an unofficial 0.75% swap may also apply. Realistically you pay a fraction of a cent — the fee structure is kind to small everyday payments *provided* you are inside the EEA.
  1. Online subscription in USD, EUR-cardholder, weekday. This is where the 0.2% rate earns its keep. A USD transaction inside the EEA/UK/Switzerland costs 0.2% weekday. Add the unofficial 0.75% Debit swap if applicable, and you are still well under 1% all-in. This is the use case the card is genuinely built for.
  1. Withdrawal from an ATM in Tokyo, EUR 50. This is the expensive one. A rest-of-world transaction triggers 2% on weekdays, plus whatever unofficial Debit swap applies. It also draws down your monthly free ATM allowance (EUR 200 at Base). If your withdrawal pushes you over the allowance, an additional 2% fee applies. Currency exchange at the ATM operator’s own rate can compound it further. The lesson: use ATMs inside the EEA/UK, and use your card for spending abroad rather than for cash abroad.

Where does cashback fit? It is paid only on purchases made in Credit Mode, and only if your account holds more than $5,000 in digital assets. Payout is in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin, and you can change which. By loyalty tier (NEXO/BTC): Platinum 2% / 0.5%, Gold 1% / 0.3%, Silver 0.7% / 0.2%, Base 0.5% / 0.1%. So at Gold with the $5,000 requirement met, Credit-Mode spending returns 1% in NEXO tokens or 0.3% in Bitcoin. Rates may change and vary by region, so read them as today’s numbers rather than a permanent promise.

Top up: how the card gets funded

The card does not have a separate wallet — it spends directly from your Nexo account balance. Over 100 digital assets are supported, and in Debit Mode you can pay with stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets (the euro-, dollar- and pound-denominated tokens like EURx, USDx and GBPx). Cashback arrives in NEXO tokens or Bitcoin.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Nexo starts with a transfer to the right network

So topping up is really the same thing as funding your Nexo account, which means depositing crypto or stablecoins into the platform. The card page does not state a deposit fee, a minimum top-up, the fiat top-up options or their fees, or the withdrawal terms — so treat those as things to ask support about. It also does not state which blockchain networks are supported for transfers.

That network point deserves more than a footnote, because it is the single most common way people lose money on this kind of card. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be gone or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Also remember that on-chain network fees (gas, or Tron bandwidth) are charged by the blockchain, not by Nexo, so a deposit is never truly free — and on Ethereum you need a little ETH in the wallet to pay gas even if you are sending USDT.

If you want to understand the mechanics better: stablecoins like USDC and USDT are designed to hold a stable value, and the BIS (July 2025) put roughly 90% of stablecoin market value in those two. But stablecoins are not guaranteed stable — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023. USDC is natively issued across 38 networks including Ethereum, Solana, Base and Polygon; USDT runs on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and others. This is why “which network do I send on” is a real decision, not a detail.

My practical advice: make one small test deposit first, confirm it appears, then send the rest. Do not guess the network.

Paying with it every day

Everyday use is where Nexo scores best — an 8 out of 10. Once you have the card, using it is straightforward.

A few things you should know that the card page does not spell out:

One practical detail to know about declining: a merchant can look up your card’s issuing BIN and country, and some shops apply extra scrutiny or decline prepaid/foreign cards outright. Address Verification Service is largely unavailable for foreign-issued cards and can cause online declines. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for several days. None of this is Nexo-specific, but it explains the occasional failed payment that has nothing to do with your balance.

What can go wrong

This is the section I would read twice. Nexo’s cost profile is good, but its reliability and corporate situation are where the card earns only 5 out of 10.

The regulatory transition is the biggest open question. MiCA is the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation; ESMA says it took legal effect in June 2023, with stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and the remaining crypto-asset service provider (CASP) provisions from 30 December 2024. The transitional “grandfathering” period let providers keep operating under national law only until 1 July 2026 or until they received a MiCA authorisation, whichever came first. Here is where Nexo stood as I checked it:

None of that means Nexo is doing anything wrong. It means the company is mid-transition, some products (notably Credit Mode / borrowing, which sits outside its partners’ licences) may not be universally available, and there have been conflicting statements about whether physical cards can currently be ordered. You can check a provider’s authorisation yourself on ESMA’s interim register — that is a legitimate first step for anyone worried about this.

Importantly, the card issuer is a separate question from the MiCA question. DiPocket UAB is authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, and that authorisation is not affected by Nexo’s CASP status. Also remember that a card is a payment service regulated separately (under e-money and payment-services law), while MiCA covers the crypto side — so a crypto card like this often rests on two licences, and they can be in different states.

User complaints. On Trustpilot the TrustScore is 4.4 / 5 across 18,805 reviews (as I read it). That is a decent score, but the recurring themes in recent reviews are worth weighing:

The KYC reality. Know-how-your-customer rules are not optional for regulated businesses — they exist under anti-money-laundering law and require ongoing monitoring. In the EU, due diligence covers your name, address, date of birth, nationality and ID documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and politically-exposed-person status. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions and issuer policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as country of address. Critically: if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to decline the transaction and, where necessary, end the relationship. This is exactly why accounts get frozen or closed pending documents — it is a legal obligation, not carelessness. So if you travel, change address, or change your phone number, keep your account details current and expect to re-verify.

Security. The card offers instant freeze, security spending controls, biometric locks and what Nexo calls “industrial-grade custody” — but the custody is custodial, meaning Nexo holds your credentials and you trust them completely. Two important caveats: the card page does not state whether 2FA is available, and a third-party source explicitly states there is no cardholder insurance included. Separately, custodial platforms have a real history of failure — Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018) and Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Self-custody reverses that risk but makes you solely responsible for key loss, phishing and malware that swaps copied addresses.

Finally, a category-level warning worth internalising: card programmes can be switched off. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX card was wound down; Visa suspended WaveCrest in Europe in 2018, closing all its card programmes. Closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you’re asked to withdraw. That is not a prediction for Nexo; it is simply what this category’s history looks like, and it argues for not parking your entire balance on one card.

What to take instead

If Nexo’s European-only eligibility or its $5,000 physical-card threshold does not fit you, or you want a different fee/reward balance, here are the three alternatives I compared, with their scores:

Card Score Card type Annual fee Cashback Notes
Nexo 6.3 / 10 Mastercard, virtual + physical None 0.5%–2% NEXO/BTC (Credit Mode, >$5,000) EEA/UK residents and citizens; physical needs Gold + $5,000
Xplace 7.7 / 10 Visa, virtual (instant) + physical Basic free, Silver $99, Gold $249, Platinum $999 0.5%–2% USDC (Credit Mode) “0% FX on Platinum”; Solana network; 160+ countries; physical Silver live
ether.fi 6.7 / 10 Visa, virtual + physical Not stated; first virtual $10 in regional-pricing countries 3% ETHFI (Core), locked 7 days Much wider jurisdiction list incl. 31 US states; FX 0.5% Core, 0.25% Luxe, none Pinnacle/VIP
Sponge 4.9 / 10 Virtual card (Visa, via Rain) Not stated Not stated Spends USDC collateral; thinnest information of the four

Xplace scores highest at 7.7. It is a Visa card with instant virtual issuance and physical options, spending stablecoin balances in Cash mode or borrowing against holdings in Credit mode. Its standout features: “0% FX on Platinum,” no hidden spread on stablecoin spending, Solana-network deposits (BTC, ETH, SOL, USDC, USDT and more), Credit-mode cashback from 0.5% to 2% paid in USDC, and Visa acceptance in 160+ countries. The trade-off is the annual fee on the paid tiers and that Gold/Platinum physical cards are still “coming soon.” Its country eligibility is not stated beyond “not available in all jurisdictions.”

ether.fi at 6.7 edges out Nexo and is the broadest by geography — issued in a long list of jurisdictions including the UK, much of the EU, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Japan, Singapore, the UAE and 31 US states, with Belgium and Ireland eligible without physical delivery. It is explicit that “if your jurisdiction is not listed, you will not be able to apply.” Its standout is cashback paid in ETHFI (locked 7 days, then claimable) starting at 3%, and it has the most competitive tiered FX (down to none at Pinnacle/VIP). The trade-off: the cashback token is locked for a week, its ladders reduce past monthly caps, and it excludes ATM, cash advances, P2P and gambling.

Sponge at 4.9 is the weakest of the four on available information — it is a virtual-only card spending USDC collateral moved from the Sponge wallet, and its country list, costs, fees and rewards are simply not stated on its pages. I would not choose it over the others on the strength of what is published.

My honest read of the comparison: Xplace is the strongest card here if your priority is low FX and predictable cashback and you can tolerate an annual fee on higher tiers. ether.fi wins on geographic reach and headline cashback. Nexo wins on having no annual fee at all and the cleanest EEA/UK FX rate — if you are eligible for it and hold enough to clear the $5,000 line.

Who I would recommend it to

After reading all of this, here is who I would actually hand this card to.

Recommend Nexo if you are a resident and citizen of the EEA, UK or Switzerland, you hold more than $5,000 in digital assets, you mostly spend inside the EEA/UK (or want the cheapest EEA/UK FX rate you can get), and you are comfortable with Credit Mode and a custodial platform for a portion of your balance. In that specific profile the card is excellent value — no annual fee, 0.2% weekday FX in the zone, real cashback, Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a clear path to Gold.

Be cautious if you travel often and spend heavily outside the EEA/UK, where the FX jumps to 2%; if you rely on ATMs outside Europe, where fees stack; if you want a physical card right now, given the Gold + $5,000 gate and the current uncertainty about plastic ordering; or if you are uneasy about a custodial platform with no stated cardholder insurance and a mid-transition regulatory position.

Do not recommend it if you are outside Europe hoping it solves a banking exclusion; if you cannot or will not pass full KYC; if you are holding only a small balance (you would not clear the $5,000 line for years); or if your priority is day-to-day reliability and dispute handling, because the card page publishes neither a dispute process nor confirmation of 2FA.

One last practical point: whatever you decide, do not park your entire crypto balance on a single card. The category’s history — FTX, WaveCrest — is a reminder that programmes close, and a card is a spending tool, not a vault.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Nexo card?

The Nexo card is a payment card that spends directly from your Nexo account balance. Over 100 digital assets are supported, and in Debit Mode you can pay with stablecoins, crypto and FiatX assets. A virtual card activates in the app; a physical card can be ordered. It is issued by DiPocket UAB, a Lithuanian entity authorised by the Bank of Lithuania, on the Mastercard network.

Is Nexo a bank?

No — Nexo is a crypto platform, not a bank. The card itself is issued by a separate regulated entity, DiPocket UAB, authorised by the Bank of Lithuania. Your funds sit in a custodial platform rather than a bank account, and because Nexo is mid-transition through the EU’s MiCA regulation (its custody and trading run via Tangany and DLT Finance partners), you are trusting a crypto business, not a deposit-guaranteed bank.

Who can get the Nexo card, and is it available in my country?

You need to be a resident and citizen of a selected European country, including the EEA and the UK. Nexo publishes no definitive country list. A third-party source lists 30 eligible countries (including the UK, Germany, France, Italy, Spain and others) with Bulgaria, Estonia and the United States restricted — but treat that as unofficial. Check your country with Nexo support before applying.

How much does the Nexo card cost?

There is no monthly, annual or inactivity fee, and issuance is free. The virtual card just needs $50 in the account to activate. The costs are in usage: 0.2% weekday FX in the EEA/UK/Switzerland (0.7% weekend), 2% rest of the world; an unofficial 0.75% Debit-Mode swap that can stack; and ATMs charge 2% above your tier’s free monthly allowance (minimum 1.99 EUR/GBP). The physical card is free but requires Gold tier and a $5,000 balance.

Do I need KYC to get the Nexo card?

Yes. You must pass Identity Verification with a supported ID document issued in the EEA, the UK or another eligible European country. Regulated firms are required by anti-money-laundering law to verify identity, screen for sanctions and politically-exposed-person status, and monitor transactions. If verification cannot be completed, the account can be declined or frozen — so keep your details current and expect to re-verify after major life changes.

How do I top up the Nexo card?

The card spends directly from your Nexo account, so “topping up” means funding that account with crypto or stablecoins. Deposits are blockchain transfers and are irreversible, and the card page does not state the supported networks — so make one small test deposit first to confirm the network is right before sending anything large. Remember network gas is charged by the blockchain, not Nexo.

Is the Nexo card safe?

It has the usual safeguards — instant freeze, spending controls, biometric locks, and Apple Pay/Google Pay tokenisation. But Nexo is custodial, meaning it holds your crypto credentials, so you trust them completely. The card page does not confirm whether 2FA is offered, and third-party sources state there is no cardholder insurance. Custodial platforms have a history of large failures, so do not treat the card as a vault for your entire balance.

How do I activate the Nexo card, and how do I add it to Apple Wallet?

The virtual card activates in the app once you have at least $50 in the account; the physical card activates in the app after it arrives (up to 4 weeks, possibly at your local Post Office). Both Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Choose your card currency carefully at activation — it cannot be changed on the physical-card order screen.

Is the Nexo card free, and is it worth it?

The card is free to issue with no annual fee, which is genuinely rare in this category. Whether it is “worth it” depends on you. If you are an EEA/UK resident holding over $5,000 and spending mostly in that zone, the 0.2% FX rate makes it strong value. If you are outside Europe, spend heavily abroad, or hold a small balance, the eligibility rules, the 2% out-of-zone FX and the Gold + $5,000 gate on the physical card make it a poor fit — an alternative like Xplace or ether.fi may serve you better.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team