A crypto-funded Visa with quiet fees and very few published numbers

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Gleec pitches a Visa card that is paid for from a crypto balance, with the on-chain conversion handled inside the app. That pitch is the easy half of the story. The hard half is what the card actually costs to run, who can get one, and what happens when something goes wrong — and on those points, Gleec’s public pages are unusually quiet.

Gleec works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I went through Gleec’s own site, its App Store listing, its terms of service and a handful of third-party reports, and the picture I came away with is mixed. Gleec scores 6.9 out of 10 in my review. The technology and the basic idea are sound; the disclosure is thin. If you already hold Gleec Coin or bitcoin and you want a quiet Visa you can spend at a café, the card does what it says on the tin. If you are the kind of person who compares fee schedules line by line before signing up, there is not nearly enough on the page to compare against.

This is what I checked, what I found, and who I think the card actually suits.

The conditions in this review are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Gleec’s headline is “Convenience without abusive fees” and “no hidden fees”, but the same page stops short of putting numbers on the page. There is no fee schedule, no monthly maintenance number, no ATM allowance, and no published country list for who can hold the card. The score below weighs what Gleec does well against what it does not say at all.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Marketed “worldwide” for payments; the terms rule out residents of a long list of sanctioned jurisdictions, but the card has no published country list, and what is left is left to Gleec’s discretion.
Cost 7 / 10 The official line is “no hidden fees”; a third-party 2022 report says issuance is free apart from physical delivery and foreign-transaction fees are zero, but those figures are not in the current fee disclosure.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Top up with Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH, USDT and others, converted in the app; the networks and any on-chain fees are not spelled out.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The Estonian entity (Gleec-BTC OÜ, reg. No. 14477970) is named in the terms, but the issuing bank and any licences are not; no complaints surfaced, and the iOS app has only 4 ratings.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Visa acceptance, plastic and virtual cards, ATM withdrawals and Apple Pay on the virtual card; Google Pay is not mentioned.
Total 6.9 / 10 A functional crypto-to-Visa product held back by thin disclosure.

The most useful detail in the verdict is the audience note that runs through Gleec’s marketing: the card is built for people who already hold Gleec Coin or bitcoin and want a familiar way to spend those balances at a Visa terminal. If that is you, the card earns its 6.9. If you are a first-time crypto buyer choosing a card from scratch, the lack of published numbers is a real obstacle.

Who can get the Gleec card

Gleec markets its payment service as available “worldwide”, but the same terms of service bar residents of a long list of Prohibited Jurisdictions — Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Yemen, Zimbabwe and about 20 others, with room for Gleec to add more at its discretion. The crucial gap is the one in the middle: there is no published list of countries where the card itself is actually issued, and no map showing where applications are accepted or refused. “Worldwide for payments” tells you where the card will be accepted at a shop, not where you can apply for it.

The identity check is described only by reference. The terms point to a separate KYC/AML policy but do not describe what that policy asks for. A third-party report from crypto.news, written around the card’s beta launch in 2022, says onboarding is “a short process that includes identity verification”. I am treating that as unofficial and not confirmed by Gleec’s current pages. The terms do say users must be at least 18 and not on a sanctions list, and nationality is screened alongside residence, which is standard for this category.

If you are deciding whether to apply, the practical test is the country you live in and the document you can hand over, not the marketing line on the homepage. Treat “worldwide” as the acceptance footprint, and treat the application footprint as something you only find out by signing up.

How to sign up for Gleec

The card comes in two forms: a physical plastic card and a virtual card. The App Store listing describes both, and notes that the virtual card is the one you can add to Apple Pay. The currency the card holds in is not stated, and the issuing bank or e-money licence behind the card programme is not named on the public pages.

KYC is mentioned but not detailed. Beyond “18+, not on a sanctions list” the card pages refer to a separate KYC/AML policy rather than spelling out the documents you will be asked for. Delivery time for the plastic card is not stated officially; the only third-party figure is from the same 2022 crypto.news article, which is now four years old and not confirmed by Gleec.

What that means for you, in order of importance:

The honest summary is that the sign-up process is described in the same broad strokes as the rest of the card. You will know what it actually requires when you start.

Fees: what the Gleec card really costs

This is the section that most decides whether the card is worth it for you, and it is also the section where Gleec’s disclosure is thinnest.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Gleec payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The official language is “Convenience without abusive fees” on the marketing page and “no hidden fees” on the App Store listing. Neither phrase is a fee schedule. A third-party article from 2022 — possibly outdated and not confirmed by the current pages — says the card is free to issue apart from a physical delivery fee, and that foreign transaction fees are zero. I would not bank on either of those numbers being current.

The table below sets out what is and is not published. I have used “not stated” rather than a made-up number wherever Gleec’s own pages do not give a figure.

Fee or limit What Gleec publishes What that means for you
Card issuance Not stated officially; unofficial 2022 source: free apart from physical delivery The plastic card is most likely a pay-on-delivery card, but the delivery fee is not on the page.
Monthly fee Not stated There is no published number, and no “no monthly fee” line either.
Conversion fee (crypto to fiat) “Real-time conversion” mentioned; percentage not stated A spread or fee is almost certainly charged at the conversion step; the rate is not.
Foreign transaction (FX) fee “No hidden fees” on App Store listing; unofficial 2022: Not stated Do not rely on a four-year-old number. Confirm in-app before a big spend.
ATM withdrawal “ATM withdrawals supported” on App Store listing; fee and allowance not stated You can take cash out, but what it costs and how much is not in writing.
Spending limit “High spending limits” on App Store listing; unofficial 2022: up to €10,000 per month The number you can actually spend is not published.
Daily/monthly limits Not stated —
Card currency Not stated The balance the card spends from is not named on the public page.

Three everyday payments, walked through:

Buying coffee in a non-Euro country with USDT. You top up the card by sending USDT to the address the app gives you; the app converts USDT to the card’s fiat balance; you tap to pay in the local currency. The fees that bite here are the on-chain network fee on the way in (charged by the blockchain, not Gleec), the conversion rate the app uses, and any foreign-transaction fee the issuer adds. Of those three, the first is the only one with a published price (and that price depends on the network you choose). The second and third are not published.

Withdrawing cash from an ATM abroad. ATM withdrawals are supported, but the fee and the allowance are not stated. Add the issuer’s ATM fee, the ATM operator’s own surcharge, and any FX margin on the conversion, and the only published number is “yes, you can do it”. The unofficial 2022 number was zero on FX; the unofficial 2022 allowance was not stated.

Paying a subscription in your home currency from a balance you topped up in BTC. The conversion happens once, when the BTC arrives and becomes card balance. After that, the subscription payment is a regular Visa transaction in the card’s currency. The fee that matters is the conversion spread inside the app, because that is what determines how much of your BTC you actually spend. Again, not published.

The single most important number to check before you load the card is the in-app conversion rate at the moment you top up. Treat every other number as approximate until Gleec publishes it.

Top up: how to fund the Gleec card

Top-up is the part of the product that has the most real-world failure modes, and it is also the part where Gleec says the least. The headline is that the card is funded with digital currencies, converted to fiat inside the app, and that the process takes “in seconds”. The App Store listing names Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH and USDT as supported funding assets. Other coins are also mentioned on the marketing page, with the conversion handled in the app.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Gleec starts with a transfer to the right network

What is not on the page:

The mobile app is where this gets practical. The iOS app, “Gleec Card — Crypto-powered card”, is free, currently at v34.8 (19 May 2026) and has a 4-out-of-4 rating on the App Store as I write this. That rating is too small to mean much in either direction. The Google Play listing was not read for this review, so I cannot tell you how Android users experience it.

A second feature in the same area is cash-out: the App Store listing says crypto can be cashed out at any time, with funds sent to a bank “in seconds”. The fees for that are not stated either. Treat it as a feature that exists rather than a service whose cost you know.

If you are funding the card for the first time, the steps that matter are these: open the app, generate a deposit address for the asset you want to send, choose the correct network on the wallet you are sending from, send a small test transaction first, and only then send the rest. That sequence is standard for this category, and it is not unique to Gleec.

Paying with Gleec every day

The card is a Visa, which is the most important sentence in this section. It will be accepted wherever Visa is taken, including online, in apps and at contactless terminals. The App Store listing says ATM withdrawals are supported, and the virtual card can be added to Apple Pay. Google Pay is not mentioned in the public materials, and I did not see it on the iOS app listing either.

Merchant categories that the card blocks are not stated. In this category, blocking is done by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list is different on every card. If a specific category matters to you — gambling, crypto purchases, prepaid top-ups — the only safe answer is to test it in the app with a small amount before relying on it.

Rewards, cashback, staking yield or any in-card incentive are not stated. I went through the marketing page and the App Store listing and there is no published earn rate. If you are coming from a card that pays you back, this is the section that will read as a gap.

The dispute process is also not stated. A chargeback is the standard way to recover money from a card payment, but the conditions under which Gleec will pursue one on your behalf, and the documentation you would need to provide, are not described in the public materials. The general background on chargebacks is in the Risks section below; for Gleec specifically, plan for a support ticket rather than a published process.

The everyday experience, in short, is: a Visa plastic card and a virtual card, Apple Pay for the virtual card, no Google Pay mentioned, no published rewards and no published dispute procedure. The card is a quiet spender rather than a feature-rich one.

What can go wrong with the Gleec card

The risks fall into three buckets: risks specific to Gleec, risks common to the crypto-card category, and risks of holding any balance on a custodial platform.

Risks specific to Gleec. The card programme is run by Gleec-BTC OÜ, an Estonian company (reg. No. 14477970, registered office Tornimäe 5, 2nd floor, 10145 Tallinn) named in the terms of service, last updated 6 June 2023. The issuing bank or e-money institution behind the card is not named, and I could not find a published licence number. That is not unusual for a programme run by a crypto brand on top of a licensed issuer, but it does mean you cannot check the licence yourself before you apply. I also did not find a Trustpilot page for Gleec, and I did not find a Gleec card thread on Reddit in the searches I ran for this review; the iOS app has only 4 ratings, which is too small a sample to draw conclusions from.

Risks common to the category. Crypto cards are typically prepaid, and prepaid cards behave differently from bank-issued debit cards in two important ways. Address Verification Service (AVS) is generally not available for foreign-issued prepaid cards, which can lead to declines at online shops in the US, Canada and the UK. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright because the issuer’s country is visible in the card’s first digits. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance for up to about a week, even though no money has actually moved.

Risks of a custodial balance. The card’s balance is held by Gleec, not by you. If Gleec or its issuer failed, the recovery process would be the issuer’s, not yours. The category has a record here: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million in 2018) and the Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). The more recent precedent is the FTX US Visa debit card: Visa said on 13 November 2022 that it had terminated its global agreements with FTX, and the programme was wound down by its issuer. None of these involved Gleec, and none of them is a prediction; they are the reason a small balance on a card like this is safer than a large one.

Programmes can be closed. A more practical version of the same risk is a programme shutdown that is not a failure at all, but a business decision. In 2018 Visa suspended the WaveCrest card issuer in Europe, which closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme overnight. The pattern with these closures is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw your remaining balance. If that ever happened to Gleec, the funds you had loaded on the card would be reclaimable through the issuer, not through Gleec the brand.

Identity, sanctions and account closure. EU customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, identity documentation, a sanctions check and an assessment of whether you are a politically exposed person. US identification programmes cover name, date of birth, address and an identification number. If those checks cannot be completed, the institution is required to refuse the relationship or end it, which is the reason accounts get closed or frozen pending documents.

Sanctions on the funds themselves. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so a stablecoin balance is not a censorship-proof store of value. A card balance converted from a sanctioned wallet would not be spendable.

Reversible-fee traps. The card’s stated fees are not on the page. The unofficial 2022 numbers (zero FX, €10,000 monthly limit) should not be relied on, and a fee you only discover in the app is a fee you cannot compare.

Security on the wallet side. The marketing pages do not describe the card’s security features. The third-party 2022 report says the wallet uses two-factor authentication and encryption, which is the bare minimum for the category, and that report is four years old. Whether two-factor authentication is enforced, whether there is an instant card-freeze button, and whether 3-D Secure is on by default for online payments are all things the public page does not say. Support is available by email at [email protected], and the App Store listing mentions 24/7 customer support; the app listing is in English only.

The through-line is the same one that runs through the rest of the review: the product is functional and the company is not opaque, but the documentation is thin. The risks you can plan for are the ones the category always has; the risk you cannot plan for is the one Gleec has not put on the page.

What to take instead of the Gleec card

The honest comparison for Gleec is against other crypto-funded Visas and Mastercards that publish more, and against regional alternatives that target a specific market. I have used the three alternatives below because they are the ones I could read in the same depth as Gleec; if a card you are considering is not on this list, that does not mean it is worse, only that I have not put it through the same checklist.

Card Score Best for Key difference from Gleec
Cardex 5.6 / 10 Users in or sending money to Nigeria Operates on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay; card currency is Naira per the App Store listing; conversion is described as an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that picks the best rate across global exchanges at the moment of spend.
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Users in or sending money to Nigeria, light spending Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, free to create per the site FAQ; funds in BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer.
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 Users who want a simple USD or EUR prepaid balance Prepaid card in USD or EUR, deposit USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, “more than 176 countries” acceptance per the App Store listing; the network is not stated.

If the deciding factor for you is fee disclosure, none of these three is dramatically better than Gleec — Cardex publishes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” but no fee percentage, CardFlow and HyperCard do not publish fees at all. If the deciding factor is breadth of acceptance, Gleec’s Visa network and the explicit “worldwide” marketing line are the strongest of the four. If the deciding factor is regional focus, Cardex and CardFlow are built around the Nigerian market, with Naira balances and a Naira-focused App Store listing, and that is the difference that actually matters for the right user.

A general point worth making: every card in this category is a prepaid card, not a bank account. None of them lend, and none of them are covered by deposit guarantee schemes. The “best” alternative is the one whose fees, supported networks and country list are the most clearly published, not the one with the highest marketing score.

Who I would recommend the Gleec card to

Putting the verdict, the fees section and the risks together, the card fits a fairly narrow reader.

I would recommend the Gleec card to you if you already hold Gleec Coin or bitcoin, you want a quiet Visa to spend those balances at a shop or online, you are comfortable funding a custodial balance rather than holding self-custody, and you do not need a published fee schedule, a published country list or a published dispute procedure to make a decision. For that reader, the card does what it says: top up, convert, tap, done.

I would not recommend it if you are a first-time crypto buyer choosing a card from scratch, if you need a published fee schedule to compare against another card, if your home country is on (or might be added to) Gleec’s Prohibited Jurisdictions list, if you want to fund a large balance on a single custodial platform, if Google Pay is essential, or if you want a card that pays you back for spending. For those readers, the disclosure gap is not a minor inconvenience; it is the reason to choose a different product.

The score of 6.9 out of 10 reflects that balance. The technology is real, the entity behind it is registered in Estonia and there are no published complaints. The product is held back by what it does not say. If Gleec put a fee schedule and a country list on the page, this review would be a paragraph longer on the upside; until then, the card is a useful tool for a small audience and a frustrating one for anyone else.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Gleec card?

Gleec card is a Visa debit card (plastic and virtual) that is paid for from a crypto balance. You top the card up with digital currencies — Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH, USDT and others — and the app converts them into the card’s fiat balance in seconds, which is then spent at any Visa-accepting merchant.

How does the Gleec card work?

You open the Gleec app, send crypto from your own wallet to the deposit address the app gives you, the app converts the crypto into a fiat balance on the card, and the card spends that balance at Visa terminals. ATM withdrawals are supported, and the virtual card can be added to Apple Pay. Cash-out to a bank account is also described in the app listing.

Is Gleec a bank?

No. Gleec is a crypto brand. The company behind the card is Gleec-BTC OÜ, registered in Estonia (reg. No. 14477970). The terms of service do not name the issuing bank or e-money institution that actually issues the card under Visa’s licence, so the card is best understood as a programme manager on top of a licensed issuer, not a bank in its own right.

Is the Gleec card available in my country?

The card pages say payments are accepted “worldwide”, and the terms of service bar residents of a long list of Prohibited Jurisdictions (Afghanistan, Cuba, Iran, Iraq, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Yemen, Zimbabwe and others, with discretion to add more). There is no published list of countries where the card is actually issued, so the only way to confirm eligibility is to start the application.

How do I get a Gleec card?

You download the Gleec Card app (iOS is the version I checked; the Google Play listing was not read for this review), create an account, complete the identity check the app asks for, and order either the virtual card, the physical card, or both. The plastic card’s delivery time is not published officially.

Does the Gleec card require KYC?

The terms of service say users must be 18 or older and not on a sanctions list, and refer to a separate KYC/AML policy without describing what it asks for. A 2022 third-party report described onboarding as a “short process that includes identity verification”; treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Gleec’s current pages.

How do I top up the Gleec card?

In the app, choose the asset you want to send (Gleec Coin, BTC, ETH, USDT or others), generate a deposit address, choose the right network in your external wallet, send a small test transaction first, then send the rest. The minimum top-up, the supported networks, the top-up fee and the conversion spread are not stated on the public pages.

Is the Gleec card free?

The official line is “no hidden fees”. A 2022 third-party report (possibly outdated and not confirmed) said issuance is free apart from a physical delivery fee and that foreign-transaction fees are zero. There is no published monthly fee, no published conversion percentage, no published ATM fee and no published spending limit on Gleec’s current pages.

How do I add the Gleec card to Apple Wallet?

The App Store listing says the virtual card is the one that works with Apple Pay. Add the virtual card through the iOS app, then follow the standard Apple Pay flow in the Wallet app. Google Pay is not mentioned in the public materials I read for this review.

Is the Gleec card safe?

The card is a Visa issued by an unnamed licensed issuer and run by a registered Estonian company; the iOS app has 4 ratings, which is too small a sample to draw conclusions from. The general risks of a custodial card balance — programme shutdown, issuer failure, declined authorisations at foreign-issued prepaid cards, and a non-bank balance that is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme — apply here as they do to every card in this category. Do not load more than you can afford to have stuck for the duration of a programme shutdown.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team