A $50 enrollment fee, $11.95 a month and a fee page that leads nowhere — what the NEXA card actually offers
NEXA sells a reloadable payment card that runs on Visa or Mastercard rails and is paid from a stored balance, with three tiers called Silver (virtual), Black (plastic) and Platinum (metal). The pitch is simple: no bank account, no credit check, accepted in “over 33 million merchant locations” in “190+ countries”. The reality you reach after a few clicks is messier — line items on the pricing page that don’t add up, a fee-schedule link that is a placeholder, an issuer that is not named and a homepage that promotes a token presale rather than a card programme. This review walks through who NEXA is for, what it costs in plain numbers, how topping up works day to day and where the gaps in the public information are. I am not a customer of NEXA; everything below comes from the card’s own pages and from a third-party comparison site, marked as such where it is used.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
NEXA’s overall score comes out at 4.7 out of 10. The breakdown matters more than the headline, because the card is genuinely easy to get and accept nearly anywhere Visa or Mastercard work, yet it is genuinely expensive and genuinely thin on the kind of information a regulator would require a licensed issuer to publish.

| Criterion | Mark | Why it scores there |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | “190+ countries” for sending money, accepted at 33 million points of sale; no eligibility or restricted-country list is published |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Silver enrollment $49.95, monthly $3.99, activation $5.95, displayed total $114.93; Black $133.85, Platinum $281.85; the fee-schedule link is a placeholder |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Cash, wire, transfer or crypto through the dashboard; supported coins are not named on official pages, and a third-party site says “over 65” |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | No issuer named on the site, the homepage advertises a token presale, and a third-party reviewer scores the Silver card 3.2/10 |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | Virtual, plastic and metal tiers exist; Apple Pay and Google Pay are not confirmed by the card’s own pages |
| Total | 4.7 / 10 | Easy to apply for and broadly accepted, but expensive, opaque about fees and short on the disclosures a card programme normally provides |
The audience this card is built for is buyers who want a choice of virtual, plastic or metal tiers and who do not have, or do not want to use, a bank account. If that is you and you are comfortable paying a real amount of money up front for the privilege, NEXA is one of a small number of cards that explicitly says “no bank account required” on its home page. If you are looking for the cheapest way to spend crypto, or the safest, this is not the card.
Who will they give you the card
NEXA’s home page says you can send money from “190+ countries” and that the card is accepted at “over 33 million merchant locations”. There is no published list of who qualifies and no list of countries the card programme refuses. That is unusually permissive language for a card that ultimately runs through Visa or Mastercard, both of which require licensed issuers to apply their own country and sanctions checks at the point of sign-up.
In practice this means the geography is set at the sign-up step, not on the marketing page. You can apply from a large number of countries, but acceptance is “in 33 million locations” — meaning at any shop or website that takes Visa or Mastercard — and eligibility is what NEXA (and, behind NEXA, whoever actually issues the card) decides when you submit your details. The official pages do not give the criteria, so the only honest answer to “is NEXA available in my country” is to try.
One thing the card is clear about: you do not need a bank account to apply, and there is no credit check. A third-party comparison site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) says the sign-up needs an email, a phone number and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie. The card’s own pages do not confirm or deny that, and I want to flag the gap: a regulated card issuer will, as a matter of KYC law in most jurisdictions, ask for proof of address and a live selfie at some point, and “we do not need it” claims on a homepage should be treated as marketing until you see the actual sign-up form.
If you are an adult, you can apply. Prepaid and debit cards are almost universally 18+; some issuers set a higher age for higher tiers. NEXA does not state a minimum age.
How to get it
NEXA’s sign-up is built around the following card products:
- Nexa Silver — a virtual card
- Nexa Black — a plastic physical card
- Nexa Platinum — a metal physical card
The networks are stated in the FAQ as Visa and Mastercard, though NEXA’s own pages do not say which tier runs on which network. The currency the card balance is held in is not stated on the public pages; the only currency reference I could find is the “max load amount” of “$150,000 U.S. Dollars or equivalent in cryptocurrency”, which is a US-dollar figure.
Delivery times, as NEXA states them:
- Virtual card number: within 24 hours
- Plastic card: up to 5 business days
- Metal card: up to 7 business days
A lost or stolen card is replaced by contacting support; the cost of replacement is not stated.
The shape of the sign-up, as far as NEXA’s own pages describe it, is: pick a tier, pay the enrollment fee, pay the activation fee, complete any checks the issuer needs, and wait for the card. Beyond that, the KYC process itself is not described on the official site. NEXA does not name the bank or e-money institution that actually issues the card, which is the single most important fact about any card programme and is normally printed on the back of the card. If you cannot see who the issuer is before you sign up, that is information worth weighing against the convenience.
Fees: what it really costs
This is the part of the review that will decide whether NEXA is for you, and the reason the cost score in the verdict is 1 out of 10. The pricing page lists fees that do not sum to the totals it displays, and the link to a “fee schedule” is a placeholder.

Here is what the pricing page actually says:
| Fee or limit | Silver (virtual) | Black (plastic) | Platinum (metal) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enrollment | $49.95 | $99.95 | $99.95 |
| Monthly hosting | $3.99 | $11.95 | $11.95 |
| Activation | $5.95 | $10.00 | $10.00 |
| Total as displayed on the page | $114.93 | $133.85 | $281.85 |
The displayed totals do not match the line items. The Black and Platinum tiers are labelled “Pre-Paid Annually”, which suggests the displayed total is meant to represent an annual pre-payment of hosting rather than a 12-month accrual, but the comparison is not made on the page itself.
The “fees may apply” line in the FAQ is the only published guidance for what the card costs in use:
> “Fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, international transactions and card replacement.”
The link that says “see the full fee schedule” leads to a placeholder page. There is no published percentage for foreign-exchange conversion, no number for ATM withdrawals, no number for declined transactions and no number for monthly inactivity. A third-party comparison site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) lists ATM, FX, top-up and decline fees as free, then in the same review calls the fee schedule “opaque”. The two statements on that page are not consistent with each other; I would not rely on either.
The limits NEXA does publish are:
- Maximum load on a physical card: $150,000 USD or crypto equivalent
- Virtual card: described as unlimited loading
- ATM allowance: not stated
For three everyday payments, here is how the published information applies:
- Buying lunch in your home country in US dollars. If the card is denominated in USD and the merchant is in the US, no conversion is needed and NEXA’s published fees do not name a domestic spending fee. The fee schedule placeholder leaves the door open to one.
- Buying lunch abroad in a non-USD currency. NEXA says “fees may apply” to international transactions, but does not state a percentage. A typical card-side FX margin exists across the industry; you cannot tell where NEXA sits.
- Taking cash out at an ATM. NEXA says fees may apply to ATM withdrawals, and does not state a number, a free-allowance per month, or a cap. A third-party site says ATM fees are free, but then calls the schedule “opaque”, and NEXA’s own schedule is a placeholder.
If you cannot see a fee in writing before you sign up, assume it exists. The pricing page tells you the card is expensive up front; the fee page does not yet tell you whether it is expensive in use.
How to top it up
NEXA’s funding options, as the official site describes them, are four: cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency, all handled through the dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com. The site does not list which cryptocurrencies it supports. A third-party comparison site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) says the card accepts BTC, ETH and BNB and that more than 65 cryptocurrencies are supported overall; the official page is silent on the matter.
The deposit fee and minimum deposit are not stated. The only thing the FAQ confirms is that the limit depends on the account type, and that the maximum load on a physical card is $150,000 USD or crypto equivalent, with the virtual card described as unlimited.
A few things to be careful with, drawn from how crypto funding normally works:
- Network matters. If you send USDT to NEXA on a network the card does not support, or to an address of a different network, the transfer is irreversible and the funds can be lost or, at best, stuck in support limbo. NEXA’s pages do not tell you which networks are supported for which coins, so the safe thing to do is test with a small amount first and wait for it to land before sending more.
- On-chain fees are not NEXA’s. The network fee for sending crypto is paid to the blockchain, not to the card provider, and is on top of any fee NEXA might charge.
- Withdrawals. NEXA’s FAQ mentions only “instant transfers” for moving money back out; the conditions are not stated.
Paying with it every day
The everyday-use picture, in NEXA’s own words, is: a virtual card number in 24 hours, a plastic card in 5 business days, a metal card in 7, and a dashboard or mobile app to manage the balance. The FAQ refers to a mobile app and an online dashboard but does not give store ratings; I have not used either, so I cannot speak to the experience.
Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned on NEXA’s official pages. A third-party source (as described in the section ‘Paying with it every day’) flags this in two places, with one part of the site saying Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported and another saying they are not. Treat that as unconfirmed. If mobile-wallet support matters to you, do not rely on a third-party site — open the NEXA app or check the wallet’s own add-card flow before you sign up.
ATM withdrawals are mentioned only as a “fees may apply” line; the allowance is not stated. There is no published list of merchant categories the card blocks or refuses. NEXA’s FAQ does not describe a rewards or cashback programme; “rewards” is not stated on official pages.
Disputes and chargebacks are also not stated. Crypto cards in general vary widely here: some issuers treat the stored balance like a bank e-money account and run a full chargeback process; others treat the card as a prepaid instrument and offer no dispute service at all. Until NEXA publishes its policy, the safest assumption is the second one.
In short: a NEXA card behaves like a reloadable prepaid card, not a debit card linked to a bank account. The balance you load is the balance you can spend. The card cannot overdraw, and the protections you have are the protections NEXA’s terms give you, not a bank’s.
What can go wrong
The risks here are not dramatic — there is no public report of a NEXA hack or insolvency that I could find — but they are real, and they sit in the structure of the offering rather than in any single event.
The issuer is not named. The footer says “Powered by NEXA”, the copyright line says © 2023, and the Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as the site operator and says NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, governed by the laws of Israel and the courts of Tel Aviv-Jaffa. That wording reads like comparison-site boilerplate, not the kind of terms a card issuer publishes. A third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. Whether either of those is the entity actually issuing Visa or Mastercard-branded cards is not clear from the public pages. Without an issuer name, you cannot look up the regulator that supervises the programme, and you cannot tell whether the funds you load are safeguarded as e-money (which would put them in a segregated account) or held as a general creditor balance (which would not).
The site promotes a token presale. The homepage advertises presale.nexacards.com, which is a token sale, not a card feature. A card business that uses its main funnel to sell you a token is, at the very least, a card business that wants you to take a view on its token. That is a different relationship from a card issuer whose only interest is the interchange on your spending.
The third-party track record is thin. A third-party card-comparison site (cryptocards.so, October 2026) scores the Silver card 3.2 out of 10, citing opaque fees and high upfront fees. There is no confirmed Trustpilot page for nexacards.com — the page that comes up in a search is for nexascard.com, a different domain, and the reports on that page (frozen funds, a company reply about sanctions screening) cannot be tied to NEXA’s operator without further evidence. I am not aware of any dated licence, regulator announcement or issuer news for NEXA.
Security on the card’s own pages is described in the standard terms: encryption, secure payment processing, fraud protection, and a lost-or-stolen card blocked by contacting support. Custody and safeguarding of the loaded balance are not stated. The 24/7 support line in the hero text conflicts with the FAQ, which gives phone support Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 9 PM, on +1 (877) 770-0550; the email is [email protected]. If support hours matter to you, the FAQ is the safer reference.
There is also the question of programme continuity. Visa and Mastercard do not issue cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme was closed. Programmes do get shut down. When that happens, the usual pattern is a notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw your balance. With NEXA, you would be relying on a support process to recover whatever is on the card at that point.
Finally, the prepaid structure means that if NEXA’s operator runs into trouble, your claim is a creditor claim against the company, not a depositor claim against a bank. In the EU, an authorised e-money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them, and those safeguarded funds are not bank deposits and are not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Whether NEXA’s balance is safeguarded in that sense is not stated on the public pages.
What to take instead
If you want a card that spends from a crypto balance, three cards come up repeatedly as alternatives. None of them is a perfect substitute, and the differences are worth looking at in the open.
Cardex. Score 5.6 out of 10. The card is positioned as one crypto card for “200+ countries”, with no published country exclusions. It runs on Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, and offers both virtual and physical cards; the App Store listing is Naira-focused, with the card balance in Naira. The interesting feature is real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the point of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchanges and picks the rate at the moment of spending; the percentage fee for that conversion is not stated. Funding is from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, with the networks not stated. The cost itself is not stated. The card is in scope here mostly because it is one of the few that publishes a coverage figure (“200+ countries”) similar to NEXA’s, but the FX-fee opacity is the same problem.
CardFlow. Score 4.9 out of 10. Aimed at Nigeria and at “Nigerians and global users”, with no published country list. The headline product is a virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes, with creation explicitly free in the FAQ. The monthly fee is not stated, and the wider fee schedule is not stated. Funding is in BTC, USDT, ETH or by Naira bank transfer, with the networks not stated. CardFlow is in scope because it is one of the few cards that publishes “free” for anything at all, and because the Naira funding option is rare.
HyperCard. Score 4.7 out of 10. Official pages do not list countries; the App Store page says the card is accepted in “more than 176 countries”, which is an acceptance figure, not an eligibility one. The card is a prepaid “HyperCard”, the network is not stated on the App Store page, and the balance is held in USD or EUR. Cost and fees are not stated on the pages I could read. Funding is in USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, converted to USD or EUR on the card. HyperCard is in scope as a comparable, and as a reminder that “card accepted in 176 countries” is an acceptance claim, not a sign-up claim.
If you want the cleanest of these on paper, Cardex scores highest; if you want a free virtual card creation step, CardFlow names it; if you want a published acceptance figure comparable to NEXA’s, HyperCard has one. None of them publishes the full fee schedule NEXA doesn’t, and the gap between “we accept 200 countries” and “we tell you what it costs” is the same gap in all four.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend NEXA to a narrow reader: someone who is adult, does not have and cannot easily open a bank account, lives outside the handful of countries the major crypto card programmes treat as restricted, is comfortable with a prepaid instrument rather than a debit card, can afford to lose the upfront cost if the programme changes, and is not planning to put their life’s balance on the card. For that reader, the value is real: a card that does not require a bank account, accepts a range of crypto funding, and is usable at 33 million Visa or Mastercard points of sale. The published pricing is the cost you pay for that.
I would not recommend NEXA to:
- Someone whose main concern is the cheapest way to spend crypto. A 1-out-of-10 cost score is hard to argue with.
- Someone who needs a clearly named issuer and a clearly named regulator before they load money. NEXA does not provide either on its public pages.
- Someone who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay. Mobile-wallet support is not confirmed on NEXA’s own pages, and a third-party site contradicts itself on the matter.
- Someone who needs a strong disputes process. NEXA’s policy is not stated, and the standard for prepaid cards is to assume none.
- Someone whose country of citizenship is on a sanctions list or otherwise restricted. The card’s pages do not help you check, and the answer will be in the sign-up form rather than on the marketing page.
If you are in the first group, NEXA is a workable option; if you are in any of the others, the safer move is a card with a published issuer, a published fee schedule and a published KYC process — even if it means a narrower list of countries.
Frequently asked questions
What is the NEXA card?
The NEXA card is a reloadable prepaid card that runs on Visa or Mastercard and is paid from a stored balance, available as a virtual Silver tier, a plastic Black tier and a metal Platinum tier. NEXA’s home page says no bank account is required and there is no credit check, and the card is positioned for use in “190+ countries” with acceptance at “over 33 million merchant locations”.
How does the NEXA card work?
You pick a tier, pay the enrollment and activation fees, complete sign-up, receive a card number (within 24 hours for the virtual tier, up to 5 business days for plastic, up to 7 for metal) and load a balance through the dashboard. The balance is what you spend; the card cannot overdraw. The FAQ refers to a mobile app and an online dashboard at dashboard.nexacards.com, and the currency the balance is held in is not stated publicly.
Is NEXA a bank?
NEXA’s Terms & Conditions page names “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as the site operator and says NEXA is “not a lending institution, insurance provider, or other Partner”, which is comparison-site language, not bank language. The card issuer is not named on the public pages, and NEXA does not describe itself as a bank. Treat it as a prepaid card programme, not a bank account, and assume the balance is not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.
Who owns NEXA?
NEXA does not name an owner in the materials I could read. The site footer says “Powered by NEXA” with a 2023 copyright, the Terms & Conditions name “Natural Intelligence Ltd.” as the site operator, and a third-party site names “Nexa Cards Solutions Ltd”. The relationship between those entities, and which one is the card programme manager, is not clear from the public pages.
How do I top up the NEXA card?
NEXA says you can fund the card with cash, wire, transfer or cryptocurrency through the dashboard. The site does not list the supported cryptocurrencies; a third-party report (as cited above) says BTC, ETH and BNB are accepted and that more than 65 cryptocurrencies are supported overall. The deposit fee, the minimum deposit and the supported networks are not stated officially, and the maximum load on a physical card is $150,000 USD or crypto equivalent.
Does the NEXA card require KYC?
NEXA’s home page says “NO Bank Account Required” and no credit check, and the KYC process itself is not described. A third-party review (as described in the section ‘Who will they give you the card’) says the sign-up needs an email, a phone number and an identity document, with no proof of address and no selfie, but the official site neither confirms nor denies that. A regulated card issuer is, in most jurisdictions, obliged to verify customers under anti-money-laundering law, so the practical answer is that you will be asked for documents at some point; the timing is what NEXA does not publish.
Can I add the NEXA card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
NEXA’s own pages do not mention Apple Pay or Google Pay. A third-party report (as cited above) gives conflicting answers on the same page, with one section saying support is present and another saying it is not. The safe assumption is that support is not confirmed, and the way to check is to try adding the card inside the wallet after you have a card number.
Where can I use the NEXA card?
Anywhere Visa or Mastercard is accepted, which NEXA’s site puts at “over 33 million merchant locations”. Whether the merchant decides to take a prepaid card is the merchant’s call, and some categories (gambling, recurring subscriptions, certain foreign-issued BINs) are more prone to decline than others. The 33 million figure is a network figure, not a guarantee that any specific shop will take the card.
Is the NEXA card safe?
NEXA’s FAQ cites encryption, secure payment processing, fraud protection and the ability to block a lost or stolen card by contacting support. What the site does not say is who holds the loaded balance, whether the balance is safeguarded as e-money under EU rules or held as a general creditor balance, or who the regulator is. The site also promotes a token presale (presale.nexacards.com), which is a different kind of risk from a card programme. Treat the card as a prepaid product rather than a bank product, and do not load more than you can afford to lose access to if the programme changes.
How do I close my NEXA account?
NEXA’s public pages do not describe a close-account process. The FAQ points to phone support at +1 (877) 770-0550, 9 AM to 9 PM Monday to Friday, and to [email protected]. The hero text claims 24/7 support, which contradicts the FAQ; the FAQ hours are the safer reference. The cost of closing, the time it takes and whether the remaining balance is returned in cash, crypto or card credit are not stated.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
