SolCard puts your crypto on a Visa, but the catches are bigger than the fees
SolCard is one of the more unusual crypto cards I’ve come across. It’s pitched at Solana users who want to spend SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC through a normal Visa line, and it does that, but the way it’s structured, the way fees are published, and the user reports I’ve read leave enough doubt that I want to walk you through everything before deciding if it’s for you. The card sits at 5.6 out of 10 in my overall assessment, and the reasons for that mark become clearer once you see what SolCard does well, where it stumbles, and what alternatives look more stable.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The SolCard score, broken down by the criteria that matter most:
| Criterion | Score | Why it scored that |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Worldwide acceptance with eligibility that may vary by region; Hong Kong residents and comprehensively sanctioned countries are excluded |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | Virtual card: 5% + USD 10 top-up fee per new card, FX 1-2%; Platinum: 0% top-up, FX 0-1.5%; dormancy fee of 10% of balance per month after 90 days of inactivity |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Stablecoins and crypto including SOL, USDC, ETH, BTC from any wallet, but the networks aren’t published |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | The card issuer is not named; SC PAYMENTS LIMITED in Hong Kong is only the programme manager; Trustpilot at 3.1 out of 5, with recurring complaints about stuck withdrawals and unresponsive support |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual and physical Platinum under a Visa licence, Apple Pay and Google Pay on Platinum but not the virtual card; ATM details not disclosed |
| Total | 5.6 / 10 |
The audience this card is aimed at is narrow and worth naming. If you are a Solana user, you already hold SOL or USDC, and you want a USD-denominated card you can top up from your own wallet, SolCard fits that description almost literally. Outside that group, the case gets harder. The virtual card’s 5% plus USD 10 top-up fee alone will eat into anything you spend unless you are converting at exactly the right moment, and Platinum’s “no limit” is undermined by the fact that physical cards are not actually being shipped right now (more on that below). Add in the complaint patterns and the fact that the licensed issuer is never named, and SolCard reads as a card for a patient, crypto-native user, not someone looking for a reliable daily payment tool.
Who will they give you the card
SolCard’s product page says the card is available worldwide, with the qualifier that “eligibility may vary by region.” That is the standard wording of a product that wants to be everywhere but reserves the right to refuse you once you actually try. The terms get specific about these exclusions: residents, people domiciled, or people located in Hong Kong cannot use SolCard, and so can anyone in a country under comprehensive sanctions from the United Nations, the United States, the European Union or the United Kingdom, or anyone on the sanctions lists of those bodies. So the formal door is open almost everywhere, but the door is operated by a checklist that you won’t always see in advance.
There is no published list of accepted countries or supported regions, which means the practical answer to “can I get SolCard in my country?” is: try, and find out. That is normal for crypto cards that route through a single programme manager in one jurisdiction, and it’s also one of the main risks in this section: the card could be sold to you, but the issuer could still decline to issue at the KYC stage. The product page does not name the issuing bank or e-money institution. SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, registered in Hong Kong at Unit 1603, 16/F, The L. Plaza, 367-375 Queen’s Road Central (Business Registration Number 78350827), is described as the programme manager and technology platform, explicitly “not a bank.” The actual licensed institution that issues the Visa card sits behind that front-end and is not identified anywhere I could find.
Age is the one hard floor: terms set 18+ as the minimum, and identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits.” Beyond that, the documents, the proof of address, and the level of due diligence are not detailed in advance. Unofficial reporting suggests the virtual card is marketed as not requiring KYC, while Platinum and physical Apple/Google Pay cards do, but the official wording is silent on which tier triggers which check. I’d plan for full identity verification if you want anything beyond the most basic virtual card.
How to get it
The signup flow, as far as the official pages describe it, is straightforward in outline. You create an account, complete whatever identity verification is required for the tier you want, fund the card, and the card is issued. The product page mentions a “Dashboard” for account management and shows two card products side by side: a virtual card for online use with manually entered card details, and a Platinum physical card with contactless and Apple Pay or Google Pay support. Both are issued under a Visa licence.
A few practical details are not stated anywhere I could verify officially. The delivery time for the physical card is not published. The processing time for KYC is not published, and neither are the rejection criteria. That matters because the lines between “you’re approved,” “we need more documents,” and “we’ve declined” can move without explanation in the crypto card world, and SolCard’s terms give it broad discretion.
One unofficial point is worth flagging because it directly contradicts the official product page. Help-centre material reportedly says that no physical cards are being issued “for now,” and that the virtual card is issued in about 18 seconds after the first deposit confirms. If that is current, then the Platinum physical card advertised on the product page is, in practice, not yet available. Treat the Platinum card as a “may be available later” rather than a “buy today” until you confirm directly with SolCard.
A small but important administrative note: phishing has been reported around a look-alike domain, solcards.cc, not the genuine solcard.cc. If you arrive at a site that looks like SolCard, check the spelling of the domain carefully before entering any details. The genuine site is solcard.cc.
What it really costs: SolCard fees
The cost picture is the single biggest reason SolCard does not score higher, and it’s the part you should look at first if you’re comparing cards. The published numbers are:

| Fee or limit | Virtual | Platinum |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | From USD 10 per new card | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | 5% + USD 10 per top-up | 0% |
| Foreign exchange (FX) | 1-2% | 0-1.5% |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated | Not stated |
| Monthly spending limit | USD 5,000 | No limit (per product page) |
| Dormancy fee | 10% of balance per month after 90 days inactivity | 10% of balance per month after 90 days inactivity |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay | Not available | Included |
| Support | Standard | Priority |
The two-tier structure explains itself once you see the numbers. The virtual card is the entry point, and it carries a top-up fee of 5% plus a flat USD 10 every time you load it. That is a steep price for a small top-up: on a USD 100 load you would pay USD 15 in fees; on a USD 50 load, you would pay a fee (the percentage plus the flat USD 10 fee). The card is designed to be loaded with larger amounts or used as a stepping stone to Platinum. The Platinum tier removes the top-up percentage but the FX spread is still 0-1.5% on non-USD spending. There is no monthly fee on an active account, but the dormancy clause is harsh: leave the card untouched for 90 days and 10% of your balance disappears every month after that. Set yourself a calendar reminder or withdraw the balance before any planned break.
To make the costs feel real, here are three everyday payments and what you would actually pay. These are examples, not sums, and they assume the fees above and no other charges.
A USD 50 online subscription paid with the virtual card. Top-up fee: 5% of USD 50 plus USD 10, so USD 12.50 plus USD 10, plus the original USD 50. You would need to load USD 72.50 to have USD 50 of spendable balance. The effective cost of the USD 50 payment is significantly higher once fees are included. This is the kind of math that makes the virtual card a poor fit for small recurring payments.
A USD 500 hotel booking in a non-USD currency on Platinum. Top-up fee: 0%. FX: somewhere between 0% and 1.5% depending on the rate SolCard applies at the time of payment. Worst case, you lose USD 7.50 to FX; best case, nothing. The card is more competitive here, but the “0-1.5%” range is wider than the typical 0-1% you see on rival cards, and the rate is set at SolCard’s discretion.
A monthly top-up on Platinum used for everyday spending. Top-up fee: 0%. FX on non-USD purchases: 0-1.5% per transaction. ATM withdrawals: not stated, so I cannot price them, which is itself a concern. If the 90-day inactivity threshold is approaching, withdraw the balance or you will start losing 10% a month.
Unofficial reporting has surfaced different monthly limits: USD 10,000 for the virtual card and USD 100,000 for Platinum, in a July 2026 help article. That contradicts the product page, and per-transaction or daily limits are not published at all. Treat the official product page numbers as the working figure and ask in-app if you need clarification.
A broader point about how fees on cards like this get presented: stablecoin and crypto top-ups are “subject to fees and conversion spread,” which is the card provider’s way of saying the rate you see on a public exchange is not the rate you will receive. Top-ups are credited in USD only after blockchain confirmation, at the moment’s price, less whatever spread SolCard applies on top of the network fee. The on-chain network fee for the deposit itself is charged by the blockchain, not by SolCard, but the conversion margin is SolCard’s to set.
Top up: how to fund the card
Top-up is where SolCard leans into its Solana identity. The card accepts stablecoins and crypto, including SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC, with “instant top-ups from any wallet.” That phrase is the official line, and it has two gaps you should be aware of before you send anything.

The first gap is the network. SolCard does not publish which blockchain networks it accepts for each token. USDC, for example, is natively available on dozens of networks (Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon, Avalanche, Arbitrum and more), and Circle’s own list of supported networks runs into the high thirties. USDT has its own list. If you send a USDC transfer on a network SolCard does not support, or to an address of the wrong network, the deposit can be lost or require manual support recovery with no guarantee. That is not a SolCard-specific risk: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on the wrong network is a deposit you may never see again. But SolCard’s silence on which networks it accepts makes the risk harder to manage than with cards that publish a clear “send USDC on Ethereum or Solana only” line.
The second gap is the fiat top-up option. The card is presented as a crypto-funded product, and the official pages do not state whether you can load it directly from a bank account or card. If you cannot, you are dependent on a crypto off-ramp somewhere else in your stack, which is fine for crypto-native users and friction for everyone else. Minimum top-up amounts are published in the app and differ by card type, so the practical floor depends on which tier you are on and which token you are using.
Crypto top-ups are credited in USD only, after blockchain confirmation, at the price at that moment, less the top-up fees and conversion spread shown in the app. So if you top up with 1 SOL at a moment when SOL is worth USD 150 and the spread is 1%, you will see the balance land on the card. The 5% plus USD 10 virtual card top-up fee is on top of that, if you are on that tier.
Withdrawing unused balance works in the other direction. SolCard says unused balance can be withdrawn subject to minimums, verification and processing windows shown in the app. On cancellation, a balance at or above the published minimum refundable amount is returned, below it is forfeited. On termination, eligible balances can be withdrawn except where holds, disputes, chargebacks or legal restrictions apply. The 10%-per-month dormancy fee after 90 days inactivity is the final timer on the balance: if you stop using the card, the balance does not sit there waiting patiently.
Paying with it every day
The everyday-use picture is uneven. The virtual card is built for online spending: you enter the card details at a checkout, and that’s the end of the story. There is no contactless, no Apple Pay, no Google Pay. The Platinum physical card adds contactless and tokenised mobile wallets, and the terms mention that merchants restricted by the issuer or card network may be declined, which is true of any card and worth knowing if you have a particular subscription or merchant in mind.
There is no published list of blocked merchant categories. Gambling merchants sit under MCC 7995 in ISO 18245, and many issuers block that category by policy; whether SolCard does is not stated. There is also no cashback or rewards programme published. Unofficial reporting mentions a non-transferable prize-draw entry system for eligible spending, but the official pages are silent on rewards, so I would not plan around it. If you want a crypto card that pays you back for spending, SolCard is not that card.
The app situation is unusually thin. The product page refers to a “Dashboard” but does not name the platforms (iOS, Android, web) or publish store ratings. The dashboard is where you would expect to find card controls, top-up, transaction history and support, but I could not verify those surfaces from the official pages. The only contact route stated on the official terms is email at [email protected]; Platinum gets priority support. Company replies on Trustpilot direct users to in-app support or Telegram, but chat and Telegram are not listed as official channels in the terms themselves.
Disputes and refunds are another weak point. The terms give no time frames for raising a dispute or receiving a refund. Disputes can hold withdrawals, and a handling fee may be charged for “disproportionately many declines, reversals or disputes.” Contract disputes go to HKIAC arbitration in Hong Kong, in English, with one arbitrator, which is standard for an Asia-domiciled programme but means you cannot take SolCard to your local small-claims court if something goes wrong. If you are outside Hong Kong, the practical remedy is a chargeback through Visa, and chargeback rights for prepaid cards are weaker than for debit or credit cards, so the safety net is thinner than it looks.
Two specific failure modes are worth knowing because they affect how a card feels in your hand. First, Address Verification Service (AVS), which compares the numeric parts of the billing address with the issuer’s records, is generally available in the US, Canada and the UK and is often unavailable for foreign-issued cards. Some US merchants will decline a foreign-issued prepaid card as a result. Second, declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds that lingers for several days, typically up to seven, so a failed online payment is not the same as “the money came back.”
What can go wrong
The risks on SolCard cluster into three buckets: the company’s own complaint history, the unresolved question of who actually issues the card, and the general risks that come with any custodial crypto card.
The complaint history is the loudest signal. Trustpilot sits at 3.1 out of 5, with 29 reviews at the time of writing (22 in the last 12 months; 38% five-star, 52% one-star). The themes are consistent across reviews: withdrawals and transfers stuck (September 2025, August 2026, October 2026), payments declined (October 2026), unauthorised or disputed charges (June, July 2026), unresponsive or bot-like support (March, August, October 2026), and one user reporting a card cancelled with funds on it in September 2025. A separate automated trust score on Tradersunion is 2.1 out of 5. SolCard company replies on Trustpilot (October 2026) say the firm has removed a USD 20 minimum withdrawal, reworked withdrawals and transfers, fixed a deposit hold, and blames card declines on stricter card-issuer rules, which is at least a sign of public engagement after a long silence (the company reportedly began replying to old complaints in July 2026). One user report in March 2026 describes being charged without a working card and receiving no support response, and a 2025 review describes a balance frozen and account data erased after contacting support. Read the Trustpilot page yourself before you sign up; the patterns are more informative than the score.
The issuer question is harder to solve. The terms are clear that SC PAYMENTS LIMITED is the programme manager, not the bank, and that the card is issued by an unnamed licensed financial or e-money institution. That is not unusual in the crypto card space, but it is unusual for that institution to be entirely unnamed, and it means a user who wants to verify the issuer’s licence, jurisdiction, or regulator has no public route to do so. The Visa licence is real; the institution behind it is hidden behind a Hong Kong front-end. Hong Kong residents are excluded, by the way, which is itself a small signal: the programme is operated from Hong Kong but does not serve Hong Kong customers.
The general risks are the ones any crypto card carries. The balance on the card is custodial: SolCard holds it, and you trust the company with it. That trust has been broken at scale in the crypto industry. Mt. Gox lost about USD 350 million between 2011 and 2014. Coincheck lost about USD 400 million in 2018. The Ronin Network bridge lost USD 625 million in 2022. None of those failures is a SolCard failure, but they illustrate the category risk of holding funds with a custodian rather than in your own wallet. If SolCard is hacked, becomes insolvent, or has its programme terminated, your USD balance on the card is at risk alongside the company’s other customers. The terms give SolCard the right to hold withdrawals for security review, and disputes can trigger withdrawal holds, which is the right to delay your access to your own money.
Programme termination is a real and recurring risk. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme at once. If the unnamed SolCard issuer loses its Visa licence, or if SolCard itself loses its programme manager relationship, the typical pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then a window to withdraw remaining balances, and the longer your balance sits in custodial limbo, the longer the dormancy fee clock runs. Treat the card balance as “spend it soon, don’t park it” rather than “store of value.”
A few smaller risks deserve a mention. Two-factor authentication, instant card freeze, insurance on the balance, and spending-limit controls are not stated in the official pages, so I cannot confirm they exist. The user is liable for unauthorised card use “as law allows,” which in some jurisdictions means full liability until you report the loss, and the only way to report is the [email protected] email or, per company replies, in-app or Telegram. There is no guarantee that either route is staffed 24/7. Card networks and the issuer can also decline a transaction at any time without explanation, and the dispute fee clause means a high volume of legitimate disputes (think: a wave of fraudulent charges) could itself become a cost.
What to take instead
SolCard sits in a small cluster of crypto cards aimed at users in markets where ordinary banking is hard, and the alternatives in that cluster are themselves low-scoring. The honest comparison is “which of these imperfect products is the least imperfect for you.”
Cardex (5.6 out of 10) markets itself as “one crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list or exclusions published. It supports debit on the VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with virtual and physical cards and card currency in Naira per its App Store listing. Top-up is via USDT, USDC and BTC wallets (networks not stated). Its standout claim is an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one when you spend; no fee percentage is published, and I could not verify the claim from the official site. No rewards are stated. The same low score as SolCard, but the multi-network support and the global coverage are differentiators if you need to spend in markets where Visa acceptance is patchy.
CardFlow (4.9 out of 10) is pitched at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and “Nigerians and global users,” with no country list. It offers a virtual USD Mastercard created in minutes, with creation explicitly free per its FAQ. Funding is via Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer (networks not stated). No fees, rewards or monthly charges are stated. The card is virtual-only and Nigeria-focused, so it suits a Nigerian user with crypto who needs a quick USD card more than it suits a generalist reader.
HyperCard (4.7 out of 10) has no country list on its official pages, and its App Store page claims the card works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility). It is a prepaid card, network not stated, balance in USD or EUR. The App Store page lists no fees, and funding is via crypto (USDT, BTC, ETH) deposited in the app and converted to USD or EUR. No rewards stated. The lack of disclosed fees is a yellow flag rather than a green one: a card with no published fees usually has unspread, conversion margins or network fees that absorb the cost.
None of these alternatives score well, which tells you something about the category at this price point. The honest conclusion is that SolCard is competitive within its niche, but the niche is small.
Who I would recommend it to
After working through the cards, the fees and the complaint history, my recommendation is narrow. SolCard makes sense for a specific kind of reader: someone who is already a Solana user, who already holds SOL or USDC in a self-custody wallet, who can tolerate sending crypto on the right network without explicit guidance, and who plans to top up larger amounts on Platinum rather than small amounts on the virtual card. For that user, the card solves a real problem: spending crypto at a Visa terminal without an extra off-ramp step, with no monthly fee and competitive FX on the Platinum tier.
I would not recommend SolCard to several other readers. If you are new to crypto and want a “buy a card, spend dollars” experience, the 5% plus USD 10 top-up fee on the virtual card will burn you, and the Platinum card’s physical availability is in question per unofficial help-centre material. If you live outside the US, UK, Canada and the EU, the AVS and foreign-issuer-decline risks rise, and the card’s unnamed issuer gives you no regulator to complain to. If you need a card for everyday recurring payments (subscriptions, bills), the dormancy clock and the dispute-time-frame silence make it a poor fit. If you are storing meaningful funds on the card for weeks at a time, you are taking on custodial risk for a balance that earns no interest and loses 10% a month after 90 days of inactivity.
If you are a Solana user who can top up the card, spend the balance within a couple of months, and live somewhere with reliable Visa acceptance, SolCard is workable. Otherwise, look at the alternatives, or at better-known crypto cards from issuers with named banks, published regulator details, and longer complaint histories that are more often positive than negative.
Frequently asked questions
What is SolCard?
SolCard is a prepaid Visa card denominated in US dollars, funded by crypto and stablecoins including SOL, USDC, ETH and BTC. It is operated by SC PAYMENTS LIMITED in Hong Kong as a programme manager, with the licensed card issuer unnamed in the public terms.
How does the SolCard card work?
You create an account, complete any required identity verification, top up the card by sending crypto from your own wallet, and the balance is credited in USD after blockchain confirmation. You then spend the USD balance at any merchant that accepts Visa, online with the virtual card or in person with the Platinum physical card’s contactless or mobile wallet.
Is SolCard a bank?
No. The terms are explicit that SC PAYMENTS LIMITED is “not a bank.” The card is operated by SC PAYMENTS LIMITED as a programme manager, and the actual licensed financial or e-money institution that issues the Visa card is not named in the public documents.
Who owns SolCard?
SolCard is operated by SC PAYMENTS LIMITED, a company registered in Hong Kong (Business Registration Number 78350827, Unit 1603, 16/F, The L. Plaza, 367-375 Queen’s Road Central). The beneficial owner is not stated in the public materials.
Is SolCard available in my country?
SolCard’s product page says it is available worldwide, with eligibility that may vary by region. The published exclusions are Hong Kong residents, people domiciled in Hong Kong, and people in countries under comprehensive UN, US, EU or UK sanctions. There is no positive list of accepted countries, so the practical answer is to apply and see.
How do I get a SolCard card?
You sign up on the official site, complete identity verification if prompted, top up the card, and the virtual card is reportedly issued in about 18 seconds after the first deposit confirms. The Platinum physical card’s delivery time is not stated officially, and help-centre material reportedly says no physical cards are being issued “for now.”
Does SolCard require KYC?
The official wording says identity verification “may be required for certain card tiers, features, or spending limits,” without specifying which tier triggers which check. Unofficial reporting suggests the virtual card is marketed as no-KYC and Platinum or physical Apple/Google Pay cards require KYC, but the official pages do not confirm this split.
How do I top up SolCard?
You send SOL, USDC, ETH or BTC from any external wallet to the address shown in the app. The deposit is credited in USD after blockchain confirmation at the moment’s price, less the top-up fee (0% on Platinum, 5% plus USD 10 on the virtual card) and the conversion spread. The networks SolCard accepts for each token are not published, so confirm in the app before sending.
Is the SolCard card safe?
The balance on the card is custodial, held by SolCard, which means you are trusting the company with the funds until you spend them. Trustpilot sits at 3.1 out of 5 with recurring complaints about stuck withdrawals and unresponsive support. The licensed issuer is unnamed, two-factor authentication and balance insurance are not stated, and dormancy fees begin after 90 days of inactivity. Treat the card as “spend soon” rather than “store funds.”
How do I add SolCard to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay are included with the Platinum physical card, according to the product page, and are not available on the virtual card. The in-app or in-wallet process is not detailed in the official materials I could find, so the practical step is to open the SolCard app, follow the prompts for the Platinum card, and confirm with your issuer’s 3-D Secure or biometric step if prompted. If you are on the virtual card tier, mobile wallet support is not part of the package.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
