A virtual dollar card that publishes very little about itself
The Apex card scores 4.2 out of 10. That number is not a judgement about whether the product works — I could not tell whether it works. It is a judgement about how much is knowable from the card’s own public pages. On nearly every question a person actually has before signing up — which countries issue it, what it costs to hold, what it costs to spend, what the limits are — the FAQ and terms page say nothing at all. What is documented is a short product idea: a virtual dollar Mastercard, created inside an app, funded from a wallet, usable immediately. The rest has to be inferred or asked.
That matters more than usual for you, because the reader this page is written for is someone who cannot get an ordinary bank card. You are not comparing Apex against a mainstream debit card with a full schedule of fees at a bank you already trust. You are comparing it against other crypto cards, most of which publish more. So the question is not “is this a good card” in the abstract; it is “how much am I being asked to take on faith”.
Here is the short version of who it suits. Apex makes sense if you are a user of the Apex app in Nigeria who wants a dollar card that exists within minutes, without a plastic card in the post, and you are comfortable with a product whose issuer, licences and fee schedule are not stated on its public pages. It does not make sense if you need a physical card, if you need to know what a transaction costs before you make it, if you are outside the countries it turns out to serve, or if you need card rewards, ATM access or a customer disputes process that has been written down anywhere.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Score
Here is the whole scorecard, criterion by criterion, with my reasoning in plain words.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 3 / 10 | The issuing countries are not disclosed in the FAQ; starting data pointed to Nigeria and some African countries, but those pages do not confirm it |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance, servicing and transaction fees are not stated anywhere in the FAQ |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | You can fund from a fiat wallet or a supported crypto balance in the app; the coins and networks are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | The app seller is Apex Web Network Ltd., with an NDPR data-protection certificate; the issuer, country of incorporation and licences are not named, and no complaints or reviews were found |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual dollar Mastercard only, issued instantly; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM access are not disclosed, and there is no physical card |
| Total | 4.2 / 10 | Mostly undisclosed rather than demonstrably bad |
Notice the shape of that table. The two lowest marks are “who can get it” and “everyday use” — the two things you need most before you start. Neither is a zero. There is a real product here. The marks are low because the evidence is thin, and I want to be clear about that distinction early, because a 4.2 that means “undisclosed” is a very different proposition from a 4.2 that means “bad”.
Will they give you the card?
I cannot tell you, and neither can the card’s own FAQ. The issuing countries are not stated on the FAQ or the terms page I read. My starting data suggested Nigeria and certain other African countries, but those pages did not confirm it, so treat that as unconfirmed rather than as fact. If you are reading this outside those countries, this is the first thing to resolve before anything else.
That is an unusual position to be in, so let me explain why it is not automatically a warning sign. Nearly every crypto card runs through a licensed issuer in a specific jurisdiction, and an app-facing customer in a third country is often served through a partner rather than a direct relationship. Bybit, for example, publishes a long list of card regions and states plainly that European Economic Area customers are prohibited. Apex’s silence is not the same as a prohibition — but from where you sit, the effect is similar: you cannot tell whether you are eligible until you try.
The other thing worth knowing about eligibility is that Apex’s own materials do mention verification levels, because limits “depend on card type, verification level, and available balance”. Levels exist. What they are, how you reach them, and what each one unlocks are not described. So there is a tier structure in the design, and you have been given the name of it rather than the contents.
One reassurance, from the app side: the App Store listing for “Apex: Buy, Sell & Trade Crypto” carries a 4.5 out of 5 rating across 2.3k ratings as I read it on 2026-10-21. The Google Play listing was not obtained, so treat that as one store’s picture rather than a combined verdict.
How to get it
The process is short. You create the card in the app after funding either your wallet or the card balance, and it is issued instantly. That is genuinely the whole flow — no application form, no waiting period, no plastic in the post.
What the card does not tell you is the verification side. The document list is not stated. Whether proof of address is required is not stated. The age requirement is not stated. The verification levels that limits depend on exist but are not described. So you cannot pre-assemble your paperwork, and you cannot predict your limits, and the only way to learn any of it is to go into the app.
On the card itself: it is virtual, denominated in dollars, and on the Mastercard network — the App Store text describes a “virtual dollar MasterCard”. The currency is USD. No physical card is mentioned anywhere, and delivery terms are not stated, which for a virtual product is consistent with there being nothing to deliver.
Fees and what they cost you
Here is the honest version: the card’s public pages do not state its costs. Issuance is not stated. Monthly or servicing fees are not stated. Transaction fees are not stated. ATM fees are not stated. I can give you a table of everything the fee section should have contained, and it is largely empty. That is itself the finding.

| Fee or limit | What the card discloses |
|---|---|
| Issuance fee | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Transaction fee | not stated |
| Currency conversion fee | not stated |
| Foreign-exchange fee | not stated |
| ATM fee | not stated |
| Card type factor in limits | card type is named as a limit factor; types are not described |
| Verification level factor in limits | levels exist; amounts not described |
| Available balance factor in limits | named as a limit factor; no amounts given |
| Card currency | USD (“virtual dollar card”); multi-currency not stated |
The limits line is worth pausing on. “Limits depend on card type, verification level, and available balance” is a true statement that tells you almost nothing, because not one of the three inputs has a number attached. If you are deciding whether this card can carry your monthly spend, you cannot answer that from the published information.
Three everyday payments, and what you’d pay
Because the fee schedule is unstated, I cannot tell you what a coffee costs. What I can do is walk you through three ordinary situations and name exactly which unknown would bite you in each, so you know what to ask support before you load money.
Paying for something priced in your own currency. Say a subscription or a shop near you charges in naira and the card holds dollars. Two separate things happen. Your app balance is converted from crypto or fiat into dollars, and your card network converts dollars into naira at the day’s rate. Both steps can carry a fee, and neither is disclosed. This is the payment where the missing conversion fee hurts most, because it is the one you will make most often.
Paying for something priced in dollars from abroad. Here you skip your own currency entirely but meet the card’s foreign-exchange markup, which is also unstated. On most cards in this category that markup is a percentage on top of the network rate; here there is no number to plan around.
Taking money out at a cash machine. Nothing is said about whether the card works in ATMs at all, which is a separate question from what an ATM withdrawal would cost. Treat both as unknown.
I would put one question to support before you deposit anything: what is the total cost of one dollar conversion, and one foreign-currency purchase, expressed as a percentage. If the answer is vague, that tells you something too.
Top up
You fund the card from a fiat wallet or from a supported crypto balance in the app. That is the stated mechanism. Which coins and which networks are supported is not stated, and neither are top-up minimums, fees or time.

That last gap is the one that bites hardest, because top-up is where crypto users lose money most reliably — through wrong-network transfers. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send funds on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost entirely, or recovered only by manual support intervention with no guarantee. Since the supported networks are not published, you would be sending funds without knowing the answer to the one question that matters. Ask first.
A related detail from the stablecoin world, for context: on Ethereum, fees are paid in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send at all. Tether’s USDT is issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. None of that is specific to Apex — it is the general terrain you are standing on when a provider does not list its chains.
One more thing: withdrawals are not stated. The FAQ has a Withdrawals & Transfers section that I did not read, so I am not going to characterise it — but if being able to get money back out matters to you, read that section yourself.
Paying with it every day
The honest summary is that this is a virtual dollar card, and that is genuinely the whole of what is documented about how it behaves in the wild.
Not stated: whether it works in mobile wallets, whether it works in Apple Pay or Google Pay, whether it works in ATMs, whether there is a physical version, how rewards work, how disputes and chargebacks are handled, which merchants accept it. What is stated: it is virtual, it is dollars, it is Mastercard, and it is issued instantly.
You can pay online anywhere Mastercard is accepted today, in the ordinary course of things, and that is the case for the product. But two practical consequences follow from it being virtual. First, if your phone is lost or reset, you may lose access to the card with it — the card lives in the app, and the card’s own materials do not describe any recovery path. Second, in the general pattern of this category, prepaid and foreign-issued card numbers are declined more often than domestic bank cards, because merchants can look up the issuing country and type from the card number and apply extra scrutiny. A virtual dollar card from an unstated issuing country is close to the hardest case of that.
For security, the card does offer something real: you can freeze, unfreeze or permanently block the card in the app’s card settings. That is the single most useful control in this product, and you should use it the moment you suspect anything. What is not stated is whether two-factor authentication is supported, how custody of funds works, and how the platform handles a compromised account. The site links an Asset Recovery Policy which I did not read.
What can go wrong
Nothing has gone wrong publicly, as far as I can find. No official incidents were found, and no card reviews for Apex Network exist on the sources I checked. No Trustpilot page was found. That is genuinely neutral evidence: a young or small product with no complaints looks exactly like a young or small product with no users.
The company picture is where the risk concentrates. The app’s seller is Apex Web Network Ltd. The site displays an NDPR certificate — Nigeria’s data protection regulation — and describes Apex as a crypto exchange. What is not stated: the country of incorporation, the issuing bank, and any licences. The app rating is strong, but a rating measures whether people like the app, not whether the card programme is regulated.
So your exposure, stated plainly, has three layers. The issuer is unknown, so you do not know who stands behind the card balance. The regulator is unknown, so you do not know who to complain to. And the recovery arrangements are unknown, so if funds go missing you do not know what process applies.
Two general risks apply to any card of this kind, and are worth knowing before you load it. First, custodial platforms have a real history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk. Card programmes also close — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. When a programme winds down, the usual sequence is a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw. Second, transfers are irreversible, which is the top-up risk above.
If you hold crypto that is not stablecoin-denominated, one more thing applies: for most people, exchanging digital assets for goods or dollars is a taxable disposal, with gain measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am telling you the rule exists so it does not surprise you.
What to take instead
If the reason you are here is that ordinary banking is difficult, the honest comparison is against other crypto cards that publish more — and there are several.
- Bybit Card — 6.0 / 10. By far the most transparent on paper: it publishes its regions, its card networks and currencies by country, its issuance fees (none for virtual cards “until further notice”; physical card fees by region), its crypto conversion fee (0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina), and its foreign-exchange markup (2% on top of the network rate in several regions, 7% in Argentina, 1.5% in Brazil, 1% in Peru). It also states clearly that it is not meant for European Economic Area customers. It has real drawbacks — a tiered cashback scheme that since 2026-10-05 pays only on crypto-funded transactions, a requirement that you obtain the virtual card first, and a long per-region fee schedule — but you can read all of it.
- MSX — 6.4 / 10. Scores higher than Apex, though its card terms are also not clearly stated officially, so the same caveat about thin documentation applies in a milder form.
- Young Card — 5.7 / 10. Its one clearly documented feature is cashback paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by Club tier (Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%), which is the kind of concrete number Apex does not give you anywhere.
Bybit Card, then, is the comparison worth making. Where Apex says “not stated”, Bybit Card says “2%”, or “29.99 USD”, or “not available in Peru”. If your hesitation about Apex is uncertainty rather than principle, that difference is probably the whole decision.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Apex to a specific person and not to a general one. If you already use the Apex app in Nigeria, you want a dollar balance you can spend online today, you are comfortable that a virtual card is enough and do not need plastic, and you accept that you will not be told the fee schedule or the issuer — then it is a reasonable convenience tool. The instant issuance from an already-funded balance is a real, practical benefit for someone who needs to pay for something now.
I would not recommend it to you if any of these are true. You need a physical card. You need to know the cost of a transaction before you make it — because if fees are undisclosed, every purchase is a small unknown, and small unknowns add up. You are outside the countries it serves and cannot confirm you are eligible. You plan to rely on Apple Pay or Google Pay and need to know they work. You intend to hold a meaningful balance on the card, because the issuer and licences are unstated and that is exactly the situation where an unknown counterparty matters most. Or you simply want to read what a card charges before you trust it with money — in which case Bybit Card’s published numbers will serve you better.
And if you are in the situation this page is really written for — unable to get an ordinary bank card — then my honest advice is that a card with undisclosed costs is a poor substitute for the thing you are actually missing. If you cannot open a standard account, the obstacle is usually identity, address or country eligibility, and a crypto card that will not tell you its issuer will not solve that obstacle. Use one as a stopgap, not as a foundation.
Frequently asked questions
What is Apex card?
Apex is a crypto app with a payment card attached. The card itself is virtual, denominated in US dollars, and on the Mastercard network, according to the App Store description. You create it inside the app and it is issued instantly, after you fund a wallet balance or the card balance. There is no physical card. It is best understood as a dollar balance inside a crypto app that you can also pay with.
Is Apex a bank?
No — and this is the single most important thing to understand. The app’s seller is Apex Web Network Ltd., and the site describes Apex as a crypto exchange. It shows an NDPR certificate for data protection in Nigeria. But the country of incorporation, the issuing bank and any licences are not stated on the pages I read. So Apex is an app company with a card programme, not a bank you can hold a deposit at.
Who owns Apex?
The app listing gives the seller as Apex Web Network Ltd. The site describes Apex as a crypto exchange and displays an NDPR (Nigeria Data Protection Regulation) certificate. Beyond that, the parent structure is not stated, and no independent reviews of the company were found. Treat the name on the app listing as the only confirmed detail.
Is Apex card available in my country?
I cannot tell you — the issuing countries are not stated in the FAQ or terms. My starting data suggested Nigeria and some African countries, but those pages did not confirm it, so that is unconfirmed. If eligibility matters to you, this is the first thing to resolve through support before you deposit anything.
Does Apex card require KYC?
The card’s materials do not say. Verification levels exist — limits depend on the verification level — but the levels are not described, and the document list, proof of address and age requirement are all not stated. The only published onboarding flow is: fund a balance, then create the card in the app, issued instantly.
How much does Apex card cost?
The card does not state its costs. Issuance fees, monthly fees, transaction fees, conversion fees, foreign-exchange fees and ATM fees are all not stated. Limits are described only as depending on card type, verification level and available balance, with no amounts given. If the cost of a transaction matters to you, get the conversion and FX percentages in writing before you load money.
Is Apex card free?
Unclear, and that is a different problem from “expensive”. No issuance fee or monthly fee is disclosed either way. With nothing stated, I cannot tell you whether the card is free, whether it costs to open, or whether fees apply per transaction. Ask support for the actual numbers.
How do I top up Apex card?
You fund it from a fiat wallet or from a supported crypto balance in the app. Which coins and which networks are supported is not stated, and there is no published minimum, fee or timing. That matters: transfers on a network the provider does not support can be lost, since blockchain transfers are irreversible. Confirm the supported network before you send.
Is Apex card safe?
There is no evidence of a problem — no official incidents were found and no complaints or reviews exist. There is also not much evidence of safety, because the issuer, licences and custody arrangements are not stated. The card does offer something useful: you can freeze, unfreeze or permanently block it in the app. Use that control the moment you are unsure.
Can I add Apex card to Apple Wallet, and use ATMs?
Both are not stated. The card is virtual and Mastercard, and the app supports freeze and block, but Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM support are all undisclosed. If a mobile wallet or cash withdrawal is central to how you would use this card, raise it with support first — a virtual card with no documented wallet tokenisation has real limits.
Why is the score only 4.2 out of 10?
Because the mark reflects how much is knowable, not how the product performs. Who can get it (3) and everyday use (3) are lowest because eligibility, wallets, ATMs and physical availability are undisclosed. Cost, top-up, reliability and complaints each score 5 — there is real functionality described, but the fee schedule, issuer and licences are not stated, and no complaints were found either way.
Choosing an exchange card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
