Pyypl card review: a narrow prepaid Visa built for residents of three licensed markets

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Pyypl card is a prepaid Visa that you fund from a crypto balance held inside the Pyypl app, and then spend in shops, online or through Apple Pay or Google Pay. It is a real, working card on the Visa network, and it is one of the few options for people who cannot open a normal bank account. But it only opens to residents of three countries, the fee schedule is hidden inside the app, and Trustpilot reviews describe frozen funds and locked accounts often enough that you should not treat it as a casual everyday card.

Pyypl works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

This review walks through the whole picture: who Pyypl will onboard, what signing up actually involves, what the card costs in practice, how to top it up, what daily use looks like, and what readers in other countries can do instead. The score I give it is 5.0 out of 10, and the table below explains why.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Pyypl scores 5.0 out of 10. It is a real, working prepaid Visa on a strong network, but the country restriction to three licensed markets, the missing fee schedule and a stream of frozen-funds complaints drag the score down. If you live in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan and you specifically want a prepaid Visa that holds a crypto balance, it is worth a serious look. If you live anywhere else, the card is not available to you, and you should read the alternatives section.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Pyypl starts with a transfer to the right network

Here is the score broken down by criterion.

Criterion Score Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Service is restricted to residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, the only countries where Pyypl holds a licence.
Cost 7 / 10 No monthly fees, but the issuance fee is not published, FX and conversion fees only appear as “may apply”, and ATM terms are not on the official page.
Top-up options 3 / 10 The app shows “supported methods in your country” without listing them, and Binance Pay is not confirmed.
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Properly licensed (FSRA in ADGM, Central Bank of Bahrain, AFSA in Kazakhstan) but Trustpilot reads 2.5 out of 5 across 828 reviews, and complaints about frozen funds are a recurring theme.
Everyday use 7 / 10 A prepaid Visa with a digital card in-app, Apple Pay and Google Pay support, and card currency in USD.

For most readers the answer is simple: if you are not a resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, stop here and look at the alternatives. If you are a resident in one of those three and you want a prepaid Visa that holds a crypto balance, Pyypl is a reasonable option, but read the risks section before you load a large amount.

Who Pyypl will give the card to

Pyypl’s legal page says outright that “Pyypl services are currently available to residents of the countries in which we are licensed”, and it lists three: the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain and Kazakhstan. The card is residence-based rather than citizenship-based, so where you live is what matters, not the passport you hold.

A few things follow from this. First, the card is not available to people who live in any other country, even if they are citizens of one of these three. Second, even within the three listed countries the support centre notes that services “vary” by location, and the country-by-country help article does not name specific products. Third, an older description on some marketing pages (“Middle East, Africa, Central Asia”) is at odds with the legal page, and the legal page is the one that controls who actually gets approved.

If you are reading this from outside the three licensed countries, the rest of the review is still worth a look, because Pyypl is an interesting case study in how a crypto card is licensed and rolled out. But the practical question for you is: is there an alternative that does serve your country? There is, and I cover three of them later.

How to sign up

Pyypl’s onboarding pitch is that you can “open your account in minutes using just your phone and ID”, and the requirements it names are a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid ID document and a selfie. The minimum age exists but the figure is not published on the public page, so treat the app as the source of truth. Proof of address is not mentioned as a separate document.

The card you get is a prepaid Visa denominated in US dollars, and a digital card is issued inside the app. The public pages do not mention a physical card, so for now the in-app digital card plus Apple Pay and Google Pay are the main ways to spend. Delivery times for any physical card are not stated, because no physical card is described on the pages I read.

Verification is layered. The app refers to a “verification level” that controls limits and features, but the tier names are not public, the exact levels are only visible inside the app, and the time to finish can stretch when extra checks are required. The reasons for rejection are not stated either, which is normal for regulated money services businesses but worth knowing in advance.

The KYC process is run by Pyypl itself rather than passed off to a third party, and the in-app selfie check is the typical anti-fraud step. As with any regulated card, you should expect to be screened against sanctions and PEP lists as part of the customer due diligence process.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is that Pyypl charges “no monthly fees”, and that is the one fee that the official page states clearly. Almost everything else is hidden behind a “may apply” phrase or a “check the app” footnote, which is frustrating for a reader trying to budget.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Pyypl payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is what is and is not published on the official pages:

Fee or limit Status
Monthly fee None published (“no monthly fees”)
Card issuance Not stated on the public page
Replacement card “May apply” by country, amount only in the app
Inactivity fee “May apply” by country, amount only in the app
Foreign-currency / FX fee “May apply” by country, amount not published
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated on official pages (third-party listing says worldwide, but with a “Mastercard” label that conflicts with Visa)
Limits (top-up, spend, send, withdraw) Exist and depend on country, verification level and regulation; figures only in the app

A few everyday scenarios make the gap between “no monthly fees” and “what it really costs” more concrete.

Paying in US dollars in the UAE. No FX fee should apply because the card’s base currency is USD. You will only see a fee if Pyypl’s own conversion kicks in for a non-USD retail price tag (rare in the UAE’s dirham-pegged environment) or if the app shows an issuance or inactivity charge on your account.

Paying in euros or pounds while travelling. The transaction is converted to USD at the moment of payment, and an FX or international fee “may apply” by country. The amount is not published, so you only find out after the fact in your statement.

Taking cash out at an ATM. The official page is silent. One unofficial listing (AlternativeTo, undated) says “ATM withdrawals worldwide” but also labels the network as Mastercard, which conflicts with the Visa branding on the official site. I would not rely on the third-party listing for this until Pyypl publishes the answer itself.

Funding the card from crypto. The crypto-to-fiat conversion fee is not stated. If you load USDC or USDT and convert inside the app, the rate you get is the rate you should check carefully, because that is where a card like this typically makes its money.

The “no monthly fees” line is true, and it is a real point in Pyypl’s favour. But the absence of a published fee schedule means you have to be willing to open the app and read the small print before you commit a large balance.

How to top it up: what we know and what we do not

Top-up lives in the app under a “Top up” or “Add money” button, and the official page says you can use the “supported methods in your country” without listing them. The list is in the app, and the page also notes that “some methods are instant, while others may take 1-3 business days”. Fees and minimums are not stated.

A few important gaps. First, an earlier version of Pyypl’s materials mentioned Binance Pay with USDT, converting to USD before loading. The current public page no longer confirms that route, so treat it as unconfirmed. Second, there is no published list of which blockchains or tokens Pyypl accepts, which is a meaningful gap if you are planning to send USDC on, say, Base and discover only later that Pyypl only supports a different network. Third, you should expect the on-chain transfer itself to carry a network fee, which is paid to the blockchain rather than to Pyypl.

Withdrawals are the other half of the funding story. The support page says send/withdraw fees and limits depend on country and product, and the figures live in the app. Crypto withdrawal as a direction is not stated, and the balance treatment on account closure is not stated either, so you should plan around the worst case (a slow, paper-heavy closure) and be pleasantly surprised if it is faster.

For context, this is how crypto card top-ups usually work, and it is worth knowing when you read the Pyypl app. The card’s account is a prepaid e-money wallet, so you load a balance first, then the card spends that balance. A crypto card typically either accepts a stablecoin transfer, converts it to fiat at the app’s rate and credits the wallet, or accepts a fiat deposit through SEPA, SWIFT or a local scheme and then lets you spend. The on-chain network fee is paid to the blockchain, not to the card provider, and it is the one cost that is essentially the same across every card on the market. The two costs that do vary widely between cards are the spread on the crypto-to-fiat conversion and any explicit “top-up fee”, and Pyypl publishes neither.

Paying with Pyypl every day

In the day-to-day, Pyypl behaves like a prepaid Visa. You fund the balance, you spend the balance, and the card cannot overdraw because there is no overdraft facility. The base currency is the US dollar, and you cannot change it, so any non-USD spend is converted at the moment of payment, with an FX fee or markup that Pyypl says “may apply” by country.

The app itself is on Android and iPhone, with deep links to the stores. The store ratings could not be read on the day of this review’s research, so I would not lean on that signal. In-app features include a freeze and unfreeze toggle for the card, push notifications for each transaction, and a Help Center that starts with a bot and hands off to a human agent if needed.

Mobile wallets are supported. The card page explicitly invites you to “add your card to Apple Pay or Google Pay”, which is the typical use case for a digital-first prepaid card. Once tokenised, the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored in the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic code. This is the same security model every other contactless card uses, and it works in shops, on transit where contactless is enabled, and in apps that accept Apple Pay or Google Pay.

A few things the public pages do not say. The blocked merchant category list is not published, so I cannot tell you whether gambling, adult content or cryptocurrency purchases are declined. Cashback or other rewards are not mentioned, so I would not expect any. Disputes and chargebacks for card transactions are not described on the public page; a help-centre article about gift-card refunds exists, and the Terms refer to product-specific terms, so for any non-trivial dispute you would be looking at the in-app support route rather than a published chargeback form.

If you have used any other prepaid Visa, the day-to-day shape will feel familiar. The two things that make Pyypl different are the funding story (crypto in, USD balance held, USD card) and the geographic restriction (three countries, not global).

What can go wrong

The risks worth taking seriously with Pyypl are not the exotic ones. They are the everyday ones: a slow support response when something goes wrong, a freeze triggered by an automated rule, and a missing published fee schedule that makes it hard to budget.

Frozen funds and locked accounts. Trustpilot’s profile for Pyypl reads 2.5 out of 5 across roughly 828 reviews (the snippet count varies between 821 and 828). Of those, around 46% are five-star and 39% are one-star, which is a wide spread that usually means a core of happy users with a meaningful tail of unhappy ones. The recurring complaints in 2024, 2025 and into 2026 are: withdrawals or funds that stay frozen, refunds unprocessed for three months or more, accounts that get blocked after verification is removed, slow or no response from support, and “not available in my region” reports that suggest the app is no longer present in some stores for some users. A January 2026 user report specifically describes funds that were not returned. None of this proves a pattern, but it is enough that I would not park a large balance on the card.

Custodial wallet risk. Pyypl is a custodial wallet. You fund the card, the funds sit in Pyypl’s e-money pool, and the card spends from that pool. Pyypl is not a bank, and the Terms are explicit that balances are not deposits, which means they are not covered by a deposit guarantee scheme. If Pyypl’s e-money safeguarding failed, your balance would be a creditor claim rather than a payout protected by a deposit scheme. The company is regulated (FSRA in Abu Dhabi, Central Bank of Bahrain, Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan), but regulation is not the same as insurance.

Stablecoin and network risk on the funding side. The card holds USD, but you may be sending USDC or USDT to load it. Stablecoins can lose their peg, and although the major dollar coins (USDC and USDT) have held their value for years, the category is not zero-risk. Network risk is also real: if you send USDC on a network Pyypl does not support, or to a deposit address for a different network, the transfer may be lost or require manual support to recover, and blockchain transactions are not reversible.

Sanctions, KYC and the usual freezes. Pyypl has to run KYC and AML checks under its licences, which means it can and does freeze accounts and decline transactions for sanctions, PEP and source-of-funds reasons. In the EU, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to end the relationship; that is the same rule Pyypl’s regulators apply. The Terms refer to product-specific terms that govern what happens to your balance in those scenarios, so the safe move is to keep the card balance modest and move excess funds out.

Programme closure. Card programmes can be shut down by the network or the issuer. Visa’s termination of its FTX agreement in November 2022 and the 2018 suspension of WaveCrest in Europe are the two highest-profile recent examples. If Pyypl’s programme were to close, the typical pattern is a notice period, then a stop on new loads, then a stop on spending, then a window to withdraw your balance. The Terms are the right place to read what would happen in that scenario.

Hidden fees. The single most avoidable risk is the fee you did not expect. Because issuance, replacement, inactivity, FX and conversion fees are not published, the only way to know what you will actually pay is to read the in-app fee schedule (Profile > Fees in the support guidance) before you load a large amount. This is the kind of card that rewards a careful first transaction.

What to take instead

If Pyypl is not for you because you do not live in the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan, or because the missing fee schedule is a deal-breaker, here are three alternatives that scored reasonably in the same category. None is a perfect substitute; each has a different geographic reach and a different fee model.

International Visa Card (6.7 / 10). A US-issued Platinum Visa that you fund by depositing USDC or USDT into a USD account, free at 1:1, and that you can also top up with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. The card is virtual for now (“Physical card: Coming soon”), the issuance fee is $5 one-time, and there is no maintenance fee on the Classic plan, with paid plans at $9.00/month (Pro) and $19.00/month (Max). The FX fee is “Visa exchange rate + 2%” and card use in USD is free. The catch is geography: the card is not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, and FATF grey-list countries are reviewed case by case. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The rule is residence-based.

UNi Card (6.1 / 10). A multicurrency Mastercard that spends from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee. Conversion happens at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” with “no hidden exchange fees”. The marketing claim is a Spend-to-Earn reward of up to 3%. Top-up methods and exact card form (physical or virtual) are not stated on the public page. If the absence of FX fees and the multicurrency angle matter to you, this is the one to compare against.

Whop Cards (5.2 / 10). A Visa that spends from a Whop balance. For consumers, Whop serves 31 US states (Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia and Wyoming); the unsupported list includes Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. The page says “no extra fees”, but the actual conversion, FX and issuance amounts are not published. The reward is 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber, more planned). If you are a US-based creator selling on Whop, this is the most natural fit; if you are outside the US, it is mostly out of reach.

Card Score Best fit Big limitation
Pyypl 5.0 / 10 UAE / Bahrain / Kazakhstan residents wanting a prepaid crypto Visa Three-country restriction, hidden fee schedule
International Visa Card 6.7 / 10 Non-sanctioned residents wanting a US-denominated Visa with stablecoin funding Long restricted-country list, 2% FX fee
UNi Card 6.1 / 10 Users wanting multicurrency Mastercard with no FX fee Top-up and form factors not publicly stated
Whop Cards 5.2 / 10 US-based creators and their buyers 31-state consumer reach, no published fees

If you are outside Pyypl’s three licensed countries, the International Visa Card is the closest analogue if stablecoin funding matters to you; the UNi Card is worth a look if multicurrency and zero FX fees are the priority; Whop Cards only make sense if you are a US-based creator or buyer in Whop’s ecosystem.

Who I would recommend it to

The short version: Pyypl is the right card for a narrow audience, and not the right card for most readers.

Recommended for: an adult resident of the UAE, Bahrain or Kazakhstan who already holds crypto and wants a simple prepaid Visa funded from a balance inside the Pyypl app, with Apple Pay or Google Pay for in-store and online spending, and who is willing to read the in-app fee schedule before loading a large amount. This card will suit a person who is unbanked or underbanked in their home country and who needs a Visa-branded payment method that is not a traditional bank account.

Not recommended for: anyone who is not a resident of the three licensed countries, anyone who needs a published fee schedule up front, anyone who plans to keep a large balance on the card, and anyone who relies on cashback or other rewards. The Trustpilot tail of frozen-funds complaints is also a reason to keep the balance modest and to keep an off-app record of transactions.

Worth knowing in general. A crypto card is a custodial product. The crypto side of the regulatory framework (MiCA in the EU, the FSRA in ADGM, the Central Bank of Bahrain, the AFSA in Kazakhstan) covers the wallet and the conversion. The card side of the framework (e-money and payment-services rules) covers the spending. Pyypl is regulated on both sides in the three licensed markets, but that does not change the fact that the balance is not a bank deposit and that the support experience in the user reviews is patchy.

If Pyypl is for you, treat the card as a spending tool rather than a store of value. Load what you plan to spend in the next few weeks, keep the bulk of your crypto in a self-custody wallet, and read the in-app fee schedule and the Terms once before you load anything.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Pyypl card?

The Pyypl card is a prepaid Visa denominated in US dollars, issued under a Pyypl Ltd programme and funded from a balance held inside the Pyypl app. A digital card is created in-app for Apple Pay and Google Pay, and the public pages do not describe a physical card. Pyypl is regulated by the FSRA in ADGM, the Central Bank of Bahrain and the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan.

How does the Pyypl card work?

You open an account in the Pyypl app, complete KYC, load a balance from a supported funding method and then spend that balance through the digital card or via Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card is prepaid, so it cannot overdraw, and any non-USD spend is converted to USD at the moment of payment, with an FX or international fee that Pyypl says “may apply” by country.

Is Pyypl a bank?

No. Pyypl’s Terms are explicit that Pyypl is not a bank and that balances are not deposits. Pyypl is a regulated e-money and money-services business in the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, and balances are safeguarded as e-money rather than insured as bank deposits would be.

Who owns Pyypl?

Pyypl Ltd is incorporated in Abu Dhabi Global Market under registration number 000001116 and holds FSRA Licence No. 170031 for the provision of money services. It is also regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain and by the Astana Financial Services Authority in Kazakhstan.

Is the Pyypl card available in my country?

Pyypl’s services are limited to residents of the UAE, Bahrain and Kazakhstan, the three countries where it is licensed. The legal page is residence-based, so the country you live in is what counts, not the passport you hold. Outside these three, the card is not available.

How do I get a Pyypl card?

Download the Pyypl app on iPhone or Android, register with a valid mobile number, complete the KYC step with a valid ID and a selfie, and finish verification. Once your verification level allows it, a digital card is created inside the app, ready to add to Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Does Pyypl require KYC?

Yes. The public onboarding flow asks for a smartphone, a valid mobile number, a valid ID document and a selfie, and the app refers to a “verification level” that controls limits and features. The exact tiers and processing times are only visible inside the app, and additional checks can extend the time to finish.

How do I top up the Pyypl card?

Open the app, tap Top up and choose from the “supported methods in your country”. Some methods credit instantly, others take one to three business days. The exact list of methods, minimums and any top-up fee is shown in the app rather than on the public page.

Is the Pyypl card free?

The card has “no monthly fees”. Issuance, replacement, inactivity, FX and conversion fees are not published on the public page and are said to “may apply” by country; the actual amounts are only visible inside the app under the Profile > Fees section.

How do I add the Pyypl card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?

Open the Pyypl app, open the card view and use the “Add to Apple Pay” or “Add to Google Pay” option. The card number is replaced by a device-specific token stored in the phone’s Secure Element, and each payment then uses a one-time dynamic security code, so the real card number is not shared with the merchant.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team