A Visa card that spends a crypto balance — priced like a metal card, not a debit card
BananaCrystal is a crypto payment card. You hold USDT or USDC, you load the card with it, and the card behaves like an ordinary Visa — you pay at shops, online, and you pull cash out of ATMs around the world. That is the pitch, and the mechanism is real. What is harder to swallow is the price of entry. The card’s own pages put a plastic card at 400 USD, Metal Silver at 770 USD, and Metal Gold at 1,120 USD, with a 100 USD annual fee on top, and a loading fee that runs from 2.125% to 3.125% depending on how much you paid to begin with. Add a 0.75% fee on every shop payment and another 0.75% at the ATM, and the card’s structure quietly adds up.
So who is this for? In my reading, it is for someone who already sits on a stablecoin balance, already knows how to move tokens on a blockchain, and wants a Visa number and a piece of plastic that work anywhere — including at cash machines. It is not for someone looking for an everyday bank card with no crypto involved, and it is definitely not for someone who wants a free card. If the phrase “USD to Visa, worldwide” describes a problem you have, the card may genuinely solve it. If it does not, the costs list will tell you why to keep reading elsewhere.
The conditions described on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.2 out of 10
I scored the card 6.2 out of 10. That is not a condemnation and not a recommendation — it is a card that does one thing clearly, charges heavily for the privilege, and asks you to accept a few unanswered questions about who is actually behind it.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | The card claims availability in “over 200 countries worldwide”; the pages listing excluded countries would not load, so treat the fine print as unverified |
| Cost | 1 / 10 | Issuance 10 USD virtual, 400 USD plastic, 620 USD Metal Black; annual fee 100 USD; loading 3.125% on plastic; POS and online 0.75%; ATM 0.75% |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDT and USDC from any wallet, settled on Hedera; the deposit networks themselves are not disclosed |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Banana Crystal Inc, founded 2020, registered as an MSB in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN); the overseas banking partner is not named; no complaints found |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Plastic, metal and virtual Visa; Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual card; ATMs worldwide |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | Strong reach and everyday function, weak on price and on published detail |
The shape of that table matters more than the number. Two nines, one one. The card is unusually good at being usable and unusually bad at being cheap, and those two facts pull in opposite directions. Which one dominates depends entirely on how much money you move through it and where you are standing today when you try to get one.
Let me be concrete about who this suits. A holder of USDT — or USDC — who cannot get a normal bank card, or who travels to places where their home card declines, and who is comfortable reading a page about networks. Someone paying a contractor abroad in dollars. Someone who wants a Visa number to put into a subscription service that will not take a crypto address. That is the audience the card is built for, and for them the fees, while steep, are at least legible: you can work out what a purchase will cost.
And who it does not suit. If you are comparing this to a free debit card or a cheap mainstream bank account, the 400 USD entry fee and 100 USD annual fee end the conversation on their own. If you plan to hold only small amounts, the flat-percentage fees make no sense — a percentage costs you disproportionately more when the sum is small. If you want a card you can hand to a family member, or a company card with a clean paper trail, the “no extra fees”-style clarity of a business product will suit you better. If you are uneasy that the card’s own pages do not name the bank that issues it, then this is not the card for you, and no fee schedule will change that.
Will they give you the card?
Broadly, yes — the card advertises access in “over 200 countries worldwide”. Whether that claim survives contact with your particular country is the part I cannot verify, and I want to be honest about that rather than smooth it over. The site has FAQ pages titled “Countries where our virtual card is unavailable” and “Which countries are restricted for KYC”, and both of those pages would not load for me. Starting data points to the virtual card being unavailable in Belarus, Russia and others, but I could not read the full list.
Two things the public pages simply do not state. First, whether the rules turn on citizenship or on residence — that is not stated anywhere I could find, and it is the single most important question for many readers. A card that restricts by residence can still be open to you if you live abroad; a card that restricts by citizenship cannot be worked around at all. Second, the specific countries shipped to are not stated.
So take the “200 countries” line as what the company says about itself, not as a guarantee for you. If your country matters to you — and if you are reading this because yours is unusual, that is usually why — the answer is something to confirm with support before you send any money, not something to discover after.
How to get it
The process itself is short. You create a BananaCrystal account and complete KYC, which the company says “typically takes less than 10 minutes”. The documents they list are a National Identity Card, an International Passport, or a Driver’s License. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as separate requirements.
That approval time deserves a caveat. Ten minutes is a typical figure, not a guarantee. The same FAQ sets out what happens when the estimate does not hold: if no email arrives within 48 hours, the case goes to manual follow-up. The listed reasons for rejection were not readable, so I cannot tell you what trips people up most often.
Once you are approved, you choose a card: Plastic, Metal Black, Metal Silver, Metal Gold, or Virtual. It is a Visa, and the site points to “80 million merchants worldwide that accept VISA”; the FAQ also mentions UnionPay. The card currency is USD. Physical cards ship in 7 to 30 days depending on local couriers. There is a replacement fee for lost or damaged cards — the FAQ confirms it exists — but the amount was not readable, so ask before you need it.
The tier you pick is not a cosmetic choice. It decides your monthly cap and it decides your loading fee, and I will come back to both in the cost section. What you are really picking at this moment is how much you intend to hold on the card and how much you intend to move through it.
What it really costs: fees, limits and the everyday arithmetic
This is the heart of my review, so let me walk through it slowly rather than give you a table and wish you luck.

| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Application fee — Virtual | $10 |
| Application fee — Plastic | $400 |
| Application fee — Metal Black | $620 |
| Application fee — Metal Silver | $770 |
| Application fee — Metal Gold | $1,120 |
| Annual fee | $100 (FAQ, updated 16 July 2024) |
| Conversion fee — Plastic | 3.125% |
| Conversion fee — Metal Black | 2.875% |
| Conversion fee — Metal Silver | 2.625% |
| Conversion fee — Metal Gold | 2.125% |
| POS and online payments | 0.75% on every tier |
| ATM withdrawal | 0.75% on every tier |
| Non-USD FX fee | not stated (FAQ titled, no text readable) |
| Monthly cap — Plastic | $20,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Black | $30,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Silver | $50,000 |
| Monthly cap — Metal Gold | unlimited |
| Monthly cap — Virtual | not listed |
| Daily withdrawal cap | exists, amount not published (depends on a “VIP Bypass” request) |
| ATM balance checks | may be charged by the ATM’s own bank |
| Free ATM allowance | not stated |
The conversion fee equals the loading fee, tier by tier. That is a structural detail worth sitting with: you are charged on the way in and charged again on the way across. The card loads your crypto as a balance, and that balance is then spent as fiat — and the act of converting is billed at the same rate as bringing the money in. On Metal Gold that is 2.125% twice, plus 0.75% at the till. Do the arithmetic on your own sums; I am deliberately not inventing a total for you.
Now the three everyday payments, because a percentage only means something when you watch it hit.
A coffee shop, paid on the plastic card, in dollars, in the United States. You pay 0.75%. Nothing exotic, nothing hidden, and if you are spending real money at a real counter this is the part that feels normal.
The same coffee in a country where the local currency is not the dollar. Here the picture gets thin. The card charges 0.75% for the payment, and there is a non-USD exchange fee on top — the FAQ page exists and is titled for it, but the figure was not readable. So I can tell you that an FX fee applies and I cannot tell you what it is. Anyone whose main plan is spending abroad should get that number in writing before they rely on this card. It is the single largest gap in the published information.
An ATM withdrawal. 0.75% on every tier, worldwide availability, and a balance below 10 USD can see the withdrawal declined. The ATM’s own bank may charge for balance checks — a small thing, but one of those costs that quietly adds up when you check your balance often. There is no free allowance stated, and I would plan as though there is none.
Two more limits worth knowing. There is a daily withdrawal cap, but the amount is not published; it apparently depends on whether you get a “VIP Bypass” request approved. And all the physical tiers come with an offshore bank account, which the card presents as a feature. I will leave the characterisation there and let you decide what you make of it.
The pattern across the whole table is that the card charges at every stage and publishes most of its numbers except the ones that matter most to a non-dollar spender. That is not a reason to reject it. It is a reason to know which of your own use cases it covers cheaply and which it covers expensively.
How to top it up
Topping up starts with a transfer, and the transfer is where the detail lives. The card says you can fund “directly from any USDT wallet”. USDT and USDC are listed. The funding page mentions bank or USDC as sources, and the platform is “Settled on Hedera”.
Here is the practical problem. The networks for deposit are not stated. USDC, for example, exists natively on a very large number of chains — Circle listed 38 as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar — and USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and others. When a provider does not say which network to use, the failure mode is well known across the industry: sending on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can mean the funds are simply gone, or can mean a support ticket with no guarantee of recovery. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Ask support which network, get the answer in writing, and send a small test amount first. That is not paranoia, it is the standard practice for this category.
The loading fee is 3.125% on plastic, 2.875% on Metal Black, 2.625% on Metal Silver and 2.125% on Metal Gold. For the virtual card, the loading fee is not listed. Three further things the public pages do not state: who pays the network fee, any minimum top-up amount, and any fee on a bank top-up. On-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain rather than by the card company, so those are yours on top of everything else.
Getting money back out: ATM cash at 0.75%. Withdrawal to crypto or to a bank account — the details were not readable, though FAQ titles exist, and neither was the question of what balance, if any, is returned if you close the account. That last one deserves an email before you ever fund it.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this is where the card is genuinely strong, and I want to give it its due.
You get plastic, metal and virtual Visa cards. The virtual card supports Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is the route most people will actually use day to day — and there is a good structural reason to prefer it. Apple Pay replaces your card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment carries a one-time dynamic code. The card issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or website — so a leaked card number is less useful than it looks.
ATMs work worldwide, which is genuinely unusual and is the card’s strongest suit if you travel.
Against that, some practical friction. There is no mobile app — the platform is web-only, and the page says mobile app support is “coming soon”. Ratings from app stores are therefore not applicable, and you will be doing your freezing, checking and reporting from a browser. Live chat support exists for signed-in users only.
Rewards on spending are not stated. There is a referral programme, but that is not the same thing, and I would not model any cashback into a decision.
One thing I cannot tell you: which merchant categories are blocked. Many issuers block gambling merchants — the category code MCC 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries — but that is policy by issuer, not law, and the list differs from one issuer to the next. BananaCrystal’s blocked categories are not stated on the pages I could read. If gambling or similar is relevant to you, ask.
If something goes wrong with a transaction, the route is email: [email protected], with your name and card number. You can also request a temporary freeze. The FAQ that describes this was updated 6 August 2024, and no time frames for handling are stated.
What can go wrong
Let me group the risks by how much they could actually hurt.
Money you cannot get back. Transfers are irreversible, and the deposit networks are not published. This is the largest practical risk and it is entirely in the top-up step.
Money held for days. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to 7. Authorisations are not always the same as payments — a hotel, a car rental and a petrol station can each put down a hold you did not intend.
Being declined at the counter. Your card number begins with a 6 or 8 digit issuer identification number that any merchant’s system can look up, and that lookup shows the institution and country of issue. If it differs from your billing address, some merchants apply extra scrutiny or decline outright. Address verification — comparing the numeric parts of your billing address with the issuer’s records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines. This is not a BananaCrystal flaw; every foreign-issued crypto card has it. But it means the card may not work everywhere “80 million merchants” suggests.
The provider holds the keys. The platform wallet is custodial, not self-custody. The difference is not academic: with a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. Custodial platforms have a real record of failure — Mt. Gox, with about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. Card programmes have been switched off too. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. When programmes close, the pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw whatever is left. If your money is sitting in the platform wallet when that happens, you are in that queue.
Getting help. Live chat is for signed-in users only — which is exactly when you most need it, so that is less a problem than it sounds, but email is the route if you are locked out. A personal consultation option exists and the page mentions 24/7 support.
On security features. The FAQ lists 2FA and card locking after three failed PIN attempts, which are sensible and standard. The page also claims “military-grade encryption”, which is marketing language rather than a specification, and I would not treat it as one.
On complaints. I found no complaints, and no Trustpilot page. That cuts both ways: absence of complaints is not the same as evidence of a good track record, and a young operation can simply be young. Banana Crystal Inc was founded in 2020 and is a registered money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN). That registration is a real signal — it means the company is known to regulators — but the card’s transactions run through Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an unnamed offshore banking partner, and the issuer is not named. An unnamed issuer is a real gap. It means you cannot easily look up the institution that actually holds your balance and stands behind disputes.
On sanctions and screening, one factual point worth knowing rather than worrying about: nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy often apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. That is a normal part of opening any regulated account, and it is one of the reasons the “which countries” answer above matters.
One last thing I cannot resolve for you. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — which means a stablecoin balance is not censorship-proof in either direction. And there is the tax question, which I will not advise on. The general shape of it: the IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services, dollars or other digital assets generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency at fair market value on the date of the transaction. For personal or investment holdings the result is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. Speak to an accountant in your own jurisdiction about your own situation.
What to take instead
Three alternatives came up in my comparison, and each trades the BananaCrystal strengths for different ones. Scores are on the same 10-point scale, from the same research.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. This is the one that beats it. A U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card listed as “Coming soon”. Issuance is $5 one-time and there is no maintenance fee on the free Classic plan; Pro is $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans. Foreign currency is charged at the “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee” — and that figure is published, which is the single thing I most wanted from BananaCrystal. Deposits of any kind are free, and you can fund with USDC or USDT at 1:1, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback is stated. The catch is who can have it: no residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The rule is by residence or registration, and citizenship is not mentioned. Purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. If you are outside that list, the published 2% FX fee and the $5 entry make this the more rational card of the two.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance. No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, assets converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates”, and “no hidden exchange fees” is the company’s own wording. Spend-to-Earn rewards up to 3% with the card. Who can get it is not stated, the issuance fee is not stated, and the funding routes are not stated either — so I cannot recommend it to anyone specifically, but the fee philosophy is the opposite of the card under review, and that is worth noticing.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. A Visa that works anywhere Visa is accepted, spending from a Whop balance; pending balance becomes usable as soon as a payment arrives, while standard withdrawals use settled funds. Backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, with more planned; payout currency and conditions not stated. The page says “No extra fees” with no amounts listed, and no conversion or FX figures. Availability is tight and US-centric: consumers in 31 states, businesses in 41; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Whether the basis is citizenship or residence is not stated.
Here is the comparison in one place.
| BananaCrystal | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Network | Visa (UnionPay mentioned) | Visa, U.S.-issued Platinum | Mastercard | Visa |
| Entry cost | $10 virtual to $1,120 Metal Gold | $5 one-time, virtual | not stated | not stated |
| Annual fee | $100 | none (free plan) | none | not stated |
| Loading / deposit | 2.125%–3.125% by tier | deposits free; USDT/USDC 1:1 | not stated | not stated |
| Foreign currency | fee exists, figure not stated | Visa rate + 2% | no FX fee; live OTC rate | not stated |
| ATM | worldwide, 0.75% | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| Rewards | not stated | no cashback stated | up to 3% | 5% at select merchants |
| Who can get it | “over 200 countries”; exclusions page unreadable | long restricted-country list, by residence/registration | not stated | 31 US states for consumers |
The honest reading of that table: BananaCrystal is the only one of the four that tells you, in dollars, what it charges to convert money — and it tells you at 3.125%, which is high. It is also the only one with a worldwide ATM story. Nobody’s product wins every column.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend BananaCrystal to a specific person, and I would tell everyone else to keep looking.
Recommend it if you hold USDT or USDC as a working balance, you are outside the restricted-country lists that trip up alternatives like the International Visa Card, and your priority is a Visa that works at shops and at cash machines in many countries at once. Add the virtual card for Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is where the daily function actually is, and accept that you are paying a percentage on the way in and a percentage on the way out.
Do not recommend it if the entry fee is a real obstacle — 400 USD for plastic is not a casual purchase. Do not recommend it if you are moving small amounts, because percentage fees punish small sums. Do not recommend it if you are travelling mainly outside the US and need the FX figure; the card charges one and does not publish it. Do not recommend it if you want to know which bank stands behind your balance, because the issuer is not named.
And if none of those apply to you — if you are simply looking for a reliable card and do not particularly want crypto in the picture — then a mainstream account is the better product, and this card is answering a question you were not asking.
Before you fund it, four things: ask support which deposit network to use and send a small test first; ask what the non-USD FX fee is; ask what happens to the balance if you close the account; and ask what the daily ATM cap is without a VIP Bypass. Those four questions cost you one email and settle most of what the public pages leave open.
Frequently asked questions
What is BananaCrystal?
BananaCrystal is a crypto payment card that converts USDT or USDC into a spendable Visa balance. You transfer stablecoins from your own wallet, the card loads as dollars, and you then pay in shops, online, or at ATMs worldwide. Card tiers include plastic, three metal finishes, and a virtual card. The card currency is USD, and the company says it is available in “over 200 countries worldwide”.
How does the BananaCrystal card work?
It works like a prepaid card rather than a debit card. You deposit stablecoins, the platform converts them into a fiat balance, and the Visa draws on that stored balance when you pay. Because the balance is preloaded, the card cannot overdraw it. Card payments run through Visa and UnionPay partnerships with an unnamed offshore banking partner, so the actual issuing institution is not identified on the public pages.
Is BananaCrystal a bank?
Not according to its own description. Banana Crystal Inc was founded in 2020 and is described as a registered money services business in Canada (FINTRAC) and the US (FinCEN) — that is a money transmission registration, not a banking licence. Physical tiers come with what the company calls an offshore bank account, but the card’s FAQ refers to an offshore banking partner rather than naming the issuer. Treat this as a payment provider, not a bank.
Who owns BananaCrystal?
The card is operated by Banana Crystal Inc, a company founded in 2020 and registered as an MSB with FINTRAC in Canada and FinCEN in the United States. The banking partner that stands behind the card is not named anywhere in the public pages I could read, and neither is the issuer. That anonymity is the gap I would want closed before putting meaningful money on the card.
Does BananaCrystal require KYC?
Yes. You create an account and complete identity verification, which the company says typically takes less than 10 minutes. Accepted documents are a National Identity Card, an International Passport, or a Driver’s License. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated as separate requirements. If no confirmation email arrives within 48 hours, the case goes to manual follow-up.
Is BananaCrystal available in my country?
The card advertises availability in “over 200 countries worldwide”, but the FAQ pages listing unavailable countries and KYC-restricted countries would not load. Starting data suggests the virtual card is unavailable in Belarus, Russia and others. The pages do not state whether the rule turns on citizenship or residence, and shipped-to countries are not stated. Confirm your country with support before sending money.
What does it cost to get and use a BananaCrystal card?
The application fee is $10 for the virtual card, $400 for plastic, $620 for Metal Black, $770 for Metal Silver and $1,120 for Metal Gold, with a $100 annual fee. Loading is 2.125%–3.125% by tier and the conversion fee equals the loading fee. Shop payments are 0.75% on every tier and ATM withdrawals are 0.75%. A non-USD exchange fee applies but the figure is not published.
How do I top up a BananaCrystal card?
You send USDT or USDC from any wallet, and the platform settles on Hedera. The deposit networks themselves are not disclosed, which is the practical danger: sending on an unsupported network can lose the funds, because blockchain transfers are irreversible. Ask support which network to use, get it in writing, and send a small test amount before sending anything substantial. The virtual card’s loading fee is not listed.
Is BananaCrystal safe?
It uses standard safeguards: two-factor authentication and card locking after three failed PIN attempts, plus Apple Pay and Google Pay on the virtual card, which tokenise the card number per device. Against that, the platform wallet is custodial rather than self-custody, so the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely. I found no complaints and no Trustpilot page, which is reassuring and inconclusive in equal measure.
What are the limits on a BananaCrystal card?
Monthly caps run from $20,000 on plastic to $30,000 on Metal Black, $50,000 on Metal Silver and unlimited on Metal Gold; the virtual card’s cap is not listed. A daily ATM withdrawal cap exists but the amount is not published, apparently depending on a “VIP Bypass” request. Withdrawals may be declined if the balance is under 10 USD, and ATM balance checks may carry a charge from the ATM’s own bank.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
