Gemini Card Review: Credit, Not a Crypto Wallet
The first thing to get straight about the Gemini card is what it actually is. It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card, issued by WebBank, that pays part of your spending back in Bitcoin and other cryptos. It is not a prepaid card, it is not topped up with crypto, and it is not a card that spends from a balance of coins sitting in your Gemini account. If you are hoping for the second or the third, this is the wrong card, and no amount of good rewards will change that. If you are a US resident with a credit history, you want crypto back on ordinary household spending, and you can live with a variable purchase APR in the high teens to low thirties, then the rewards here are genuinely attractive. Everything else in this review is about working out whether that describes you.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 4.9 out of 10
I scored the Gemini card 4.9 out of 10. That is a below-average score for a card in this category, and I want to be honest about why, because most of the weakness is not in the rewards — the rewards are the best part. The weakness is in access, in how you pay for it, and in a complaint file that would give me pause before I applied with money I care about.

| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | A credit card for residents of all 50 US states; no other country named |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No annual fee and no foreign transaction fee, but 16.49% to 34.49% on purchases, a $10 or 3% cash advance, and $50 for a replacement card after the first free one per year |
| Top-up options | 2 / 10 | A credit card, repaid in fiat; crypto arrives only as rewards — 4% on gas, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% everything else |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issued by WebBank on Mastercard World Elite; Trustpilot 1.3 out of 1,513 reviews, with frozen accounts, withdrawal delays of up to 35 days, disputes refused, and no phone line |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, plus a credit cash advance at ATMs; unofficially, a metal physical card and a virtual card |
| Total | 4.9 / 10 | A strong rewards rate wrapped in a narrow credit product with a weak service record |
Who this suits: a US resident who already has a decent credit file, spends real money on groceries, dining and fuel, and treats a 16.49% purchase APR as a cost they expect to avoid or at least pay down. Who it does not suit: anyone outside the United States, anyone who wants to load the card with crypto and spend it, anyone who needs a cheap or interest-free balance, and anyone who cannot stomach the risk of a dispute being refused after a compromised card.
I want to flag one naming trap, because people search for it constantly. There are several card products carrying the Gemini name: the page names a Solana Edition, an XRP Edition and a Bitcoin Credit Card variant, all described as carrying the “Same Benefits”, plus the World Elite Mastercard. What I am reviewing is the credit card with those spend-category rewards and the issuer named WebBank. A rewards rate with a cap attached behaves very differently from an uncapped one, so if you are comparing variants, look at which cap applies to what.
Who can get the card
Eligibility is narrow and the card page does not widen it. Gemini’s support material says residents in all 50 U.S. states can apply, with terms and restrictions applying. No other country is named. If you are outside the United States, that is the first and most important answer to this review: there is no application route described here for you.
Two further points, one official and one not. Unofficially — meaning from third-party reviews rather than from Gemini’s own text — the card is reported as US residents only, with a hard credit check on the application and a valid Social Security Number listed as a requirement. That Social Security Number requirement was not in the Gemini text I could find, so treat it as a strong hint rather than a confirmed rule.
Note what is not stated: the card page does not lay out an eligibility list at all. Minimum age, minimum income, deposit requirements, and whether a foreign national living in the US qualifies — none of that appears. The narrow thing about this card is not who it rejects; it is that it barely tells you who it accepts.
How to get it
You apply for a credit product, so expect a creditworthiness check and expect to be judged on your credit file. The APR on purchases is set by that creditworthiness at the moment the account opens and runs from 16.49% to 34.49%. Cash advances are priced at 29.49% and penalty APR at 33.49%; all of these are variable and move with the Prime Rate. In plain terms: the rate you are offered on the day you open the account is the rate you carry, and it can rise.
What the page does not describe is the mechanics of applying. Whether there is a hosted application flow, how long approval takes, what happens on a rejection, whether there are identity tiers, and what documents you need — none of that is stated. You will have to find that out yourself, and I would rather tell you it is missing than invent a sequence for you.
The card itself is a Mastercard World Elite credit card. The form — virtual, physical or metal — and the card currency are not officially stated. Unofficially, a metal physical card is reported as available, arriving about 5–7 days after approval, with a virtual card issued after verification. Because that is not on the card page, treat the timeline as a rough expectation rather than a commitment.
One replacement card in any 12 months is free; each one after that is $50, according to the cardholder agreement. Delivery countries, delivery time and shipping cost are not stated. Since eligibility is US-only anyway, shipping abroad is not the live question — but speed of replacement when your card is lost or compromised is, and that is where the $50 starts to matter.
What it really costs: Fees
There is no annual fee. That is the good news, and it is genuinely unusual for a credit card aimed at a younger crypto-adjacent audience. There is no foreign transaction fee either, and because this is a credit card rather than a crypto-conversion card, a conversion fee simply does not apply to it: you are not converting anything to pay.

Then come the numbers that decide whether “no annual fee” means anything for you. Purchases cost between 16.49% and 34.49% APR if you carry a balance. A cash advance costs 29.49% APR plus a fee of $10 or 3% of the advance, whichever is greater. A late payment can cost up to $35, with the first late fee up to $25, and a returned payment up to $35, all from the cardholder agreement version dated 1 April 2026. A replacement card costs $50 after the first free one per 12 months.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Annual fee | None |
| Issuance fee | Not stated |
| Purchase APR | 16.49% to 34.49%, variable with the Prime Rate, set by creditworthiness at opening |
| Cash advance APR | 29.49% |
| Cash advance fee | $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater |
| Penalty APR | 33.49% |
| Late payment fee | Up to $35; first late fee up to $25 |
| Returned payment fee | Up to $35 |
| Card replacement | One free per 12 months, then $50 each |
| Foreign transaction fee | None |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not applicable — this is a credit card, rewards are paid in crypto |
| ATM fee | Not stated; a credit cash advance is available |
| Credit limit | Not stated |
| 4% rewards cap | $300 of qualifying spend per month, resets on the 1st, then 1% |
Two or three everyday payments, and which fees actually touch them:
- The weekly shop. Nothing applies. No annual fee, no conversion fee, and the groceries category earns 2% back in crypto. This is the payment that makes the card worth having, assuming you pay the balance in full.
- Fuel or charging an electric car. 4% back on the first $300 a month of gas, EV and transit spending, then 1% beyond that. No fee on the transaction itself.
- A restaurant bill. 3% back in crypto, no fee, no foreign transaction fee if you are abroad. Dining is one of the categories where the rate is above 3%, which is unusual.
- A cash advance at an ATM. This is the one that costs. 29.49% APR plus $10 or 3%, whichever is greater, and the ATM limit is not published. Treat it as an expensive last resort.
The honest arithmetic on all of this: the card earns you up to a few percent back in crypto, and it charges you up to 34.49% of your balance in interest if you do not pay it off. The rewards only make sense next to a balance you clear. If you are going to carry a balance, the APR wins by a mile and the rewards are decoration.
On currencies and limits: the account is in US dollars, and a foreign-currency transaction is converted to USD by the card network at its exchange rate, with no foreign transaction fee on top. Unofficially, the credit limit is generally reported as $2,500 to $25,000 by one review site, with starting limits as low as $1,000 reported by Gerald and Reddit users in 2026 — so expect the number to depend heavily on your credit file, and do not plan spending around an assumed limit.
How to top it up
You do not top it up, and that single sentence answers most of the questions people ask about this card. There is no stored balance, no deposit step, no network to choose, no deposit fee, and no coins to send. The card is a credit line: it draws on the credit WebBank extends you, and you repay it in fiat. There is no crypto-address deposit that funds the card.
Cash advances are the closest thing to loading cash, and they are not a top-up — they are a loan at 29.49% APR with a $10 or 3% fee on top.
| Top-up question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Coins or networks supported | Not applicable — not a prepaid card |
| Deposit fee | Not applicable; no stored balance exists |
| Cash advance fee | $10 or 3% of each cash advance, whichever is greater |
| ATM limit | Not published |
| Payoff and closure terms | In the cardholder agreement, not summarised here |
| How crypto actually arrives | As rewards on spending, not by funding the card |
If your plan is “put some Bitcoin in and spend it like money,” stop reading and look at the alternatives at the end of this review. There are cards built exactly for that. This one is not.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day use is where this card scores well, and it scores well for a reason: it behaves like an ordinary credit card rather than an exotic one.
Gemini’s support says the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay. That matters more than it sounds. A physical card in a terminal is fine, but a phone wallet is what gets a card into a checkout line without friction, and mobile wallet support is often the difference between a card people use and a card people leave at home. Note that Apple Pay and Google Pay support is confirmed by Gemini support, as is Samsung Pay. It is reasonable to expect all three to work. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, though some instant-reward exclusions do apply.
The rewards are the point of the card:
- 4% back on gas, EV and transit, on the first $300 a month, then 1%
- 3% back on dining
- 2% back on groceries
- 1% back on everything else
- Paid instantly in Bitcoin or 50+ cryptos on Gemini, and changeable at any time
- 10% Vault Rewards at some merchants — capped, and varying by merchant
- Referrals: $50 in crypto each, $250 per five referrals, up to 50 per year
That structure tells you where the card earns best and where it stops. The 4% tier is genuinely strong, but it dies at $300 of gas and charging per month and resets on the 1st, so it is a strong reason to route fuel through this card and then stop thinking about it. The 1% floor on everything else is ordinary and unexciting, which is fine because it is the bucket most of your month-end spending falls into.
The app is the Gemini app, rated 4.8 out of 5 from 110K ratings in the US App Store listing read on 2026-10-20. It supports iPhone on iOS 17.2+, Apple Watch and Apple Vision, in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish — and there is no Russian. The Google Play listing was not read, so I can tell you nothing about the Android experience.
On disputes, the cardholder agreement has a “Billing Rights” section covering disputed transactions, though the detail was not extracted, and a statutory 60-day window was not confirmed in the text I read. That combination — a section that exists but that I could not verify — is exactly the kind of thing to check yourself before you ever need it.
What can go wrong
The reliability section is the weakest part of this card, and I am going to spend the most words here.
Start with the issuer. The card is “Issued by WebBank”. Gemini’s own corporate and licence details do not appear on the card page, so the Gemini name here is the brand and the programme front; the bank holds the programme. That structure is normal for this category — a card network routes the payments and sets the rules, an issuer holds the licence, and the crypto brand markets the card — but it means the entity you deal with in a dispute is a bank, not the exchange you use to trade Bitcoin.
Then the complaints. On Trustpilot, read 2026-10-20, the card scored 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews, 212 of them in the last 12 months, and Gemini replied to 3% of negative reviews. That is a very low score and a very low response rate. The user-reported themes, in the order they cluster for someone deciding whether to trust this with their money:
- Accounts frozen and holds on money, reported across August–September 2026, with delays of up to 35 days
- Support that is slow or absent, with no phone line, July–September 2026
- Disputes refused after card data was compromised, October 2026
- Repeated declines over three months, October 2026
- A card closed without explanation, September 2026
- The app stopping showing balance and payment history after a July payment, July 2026
- Late fees charged after app glitches, July 2026
There are also individual accounts worth naming because they show the range: a locked account after a third-party fraud email, a card that could not be activated after sitting unopened, poor phone support, slow email-only support, low starting credit limits of $1,000–3,000, a slow update of available credit after payments, and a January 2026 review about a fraud freeze still unresolved more than two months later. Official incidents are not stated — this is user-report territory, and I am presenting it as that rather than as established fact. But a pattern across several months and many reviewers is still a pattern, and it is the reason this scores 3 out of 10.
Two specific risks to weigh. First, a frozen account can hold your money for weeks, and a frozen credit account can do it while you are still accruing interest on whatever you have spent. Second, a late fee charged after an app glitch is a small money problem but a large trust problem, and combined with the 3% negative-review response rate it tells you what recourse you should expect.
There is also the ordinary category risk worth naming once. A chargeback is a refund the issuer orders to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. In the US, credit card rights come from Regulation Z, and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Declined authorisations can leave a hold on funds for several days, typically up to seven. None of this is Gemini-specific, but it is what a dispute will run into.
What the card page does not describe is any of the usual self-help: freezing in the app, two-factor authentication, spending controls. That is a gap in what I could verify rather than proof that these do not exist — the crypto side of Gemini is a large platform, and the card sits inside it — but for a card product the page should be answering “what can I do if I think I’ve been compromised” and does not.
Finally, the things that can go wrong around any card. Merchants can look up the issuer identification number at the front of a card number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers on that basis. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address a buyer types with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. And gambling merchant category 7995 is blocked by many issuers by policy rather than by law, with the list varying by issuer. This is a US card, so most of that is fine for you. It matters if you are reading about crypto cards from outside the US and assuming the mechanics transfer.
What to take instead
None of the alternatives below are US-only credit cards, and that is exactly why they score differently: they solve a different problem. I am comparing them because if Gemini’s narrow eligibility or its APR puts you off, one of these may fit what you actually wanted.
| Gemini | Lava | GoMining | Kinesis | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 4.9 / 10 | 7.1 / 10 | 6.6 / 10 | 4.8 / 10 |
| Card type | Credit card, Mastercard World Elite | Lava Card | Virtual now, physical “coming soon” | Virtual card |
| Eligibility | Residents of all 50 US states | Not stated | Products “may not be available in your jurisdiction” | Not stated on the page; starting data says US, Latin America and the Caribbean |
| Funding | Credit line, repaid in fiat | Local currency or stablecoin deposits | BTC, USDT, GOMINING and other coins | Instant conversion of gold (KAU), silver (KAG), crypto and C1USD from the Kinesis account |
| Rewards | 4% gas/EV/transit to $300/month, 3% dining, 2% groceries, 1% other | Up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase | Up to 5% cashback, paid in mining power, rate rises with VIP level | 2% cashback in gold, plan 6 months free from launch |
| Fees | No annual fee, no FX fee; 16.49–34.49% purchase APR | “No annual fees”; no FX fees and no FX spread; no exchange fees or spread on Bitcoin buy/sell | Not stated | Not stated |
| Reach | US only | 150 million merchants in 150+ countries | Not stated | Not stated |
| Notable | Cash advance available at ATMs | Conditions of the 5% not stated | Opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner | Paid in gold, not crypto |
Reading across the table, the pattern is clear. Lava scores highest at 7.1 and is the one to look at first if you want to spend crypto rather than borrow against fiat: you deposit local currency or stablecoins and it advertises no annual fee, no FX fee and no FX spread, with up to 5% back in bitcoin on every purchase. Two caveats before you get carried away — the conditions on that 5% are not stated, and the card’s network and whether it comes in physical or virtual form are not stated either.
GoMining at 6.6 is a different shape again. Its rewards are paid in mining power and rise with your VIP level, and opening a card grants a free 1 TH miner — appealing if you are already inside that ecosystem, opaque if you are not. Its fees are simply not stated, which is a gap you would want filled before applying.
Kinesis at 4.8 converts gold, silver, crypto and C1USD from your Kinesis account at the point of sale and pays 2% cashback in gold. Its fees are not stated and the site only links to a general fees page that was not read. If your interest is in metals rather than coins, it is coherent; if you want to be paid in Bitcoin, it is not the same thing.
The honest summary of the comparison: Gemini wins on the size of its headline rate against ordinary spending and on the payment plumbing, and loses on access and on service. Lava wins on fees and reach. None of the three alternatives gives you a US credit line with crypto rewards, so if that is specifically what you are after, the shortlist is one card deep.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Gemini card to a US resident who: already has a credit file good enough to be offered near the bottom of that 16.49% to 34.49% range; pays the balance in full every month, without exception; wants to route gas, charging, dining and groceries through one card and be paid back in Bitcoin; wants no annual fee and travels without thinking about a foreign transaction fee; and can live with a digital-only support channel and a first complaint response measured in weeks rather than hours.
I would not recommend it to: anyone outside the United States; anyone who wants to fund the card with crypto and spend a stored balance, because that is not what it is; anyone carrying a balance or planning to use cash advances as a feature; anyone whose income makes a 34.49% APR a live possibility; and anyone for whom an account freeze or a refused dispute would be a serious blow rather than an inconvenience.
If you fall in the second group, I have saved you a wasted application. Look at a card you actually top up instead — that is what the alternatives above are for.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Gemini card?
It is a Mastercard World Elite credit card issued by WebBank that pays part of your spending back in crypto. It is not a prepaid card and not a crypto wallet card: it draws on a credit line and you repay it in fiat. Rewards land as Bitcoin or 50+ other cryptos, changeable at any time, and the Gemini app is where you see them.
How does the Gemini card work?
You spend on credit and your statement balance is what you owe. On top of that, eligible spending earns crypto back by category: 4% on gas, EV and transit up to $300 a month, 3% dining, 2% groceries and 1% everything else. Rewards are paid instantly. The APR is set by your creditworthiness at opening and can rise with the Prime Rate.
Is Gemini a bank?
Not on the evidence of the card page. The card is issued by WebBank, and Gemini’s own corporate and licence details do not appear there. The usual structure applies: a card network routes payments and sets rules, a licensed issuer holds the card programme, and Gemini is the brand and programme front that markets it to you.
Is the Gemini card available outside the United States?
No, not as far as anything published goes. Gemini’s support material says residents in all 50 U.S. states are eligible to apply, with terms and restrictions. No other country is named anywhere on the card page. If you are not a US resident, treat this as unavailable and look at a card you can fund yourself instead.
Does the Gemini card require KYC?
Identity verification is effectively unavoidable for a US credit application, but the card page does not describe the identity checks, the documentation or any tiers. It states that the application involves a creditworthiness check. Unofficially, a valid Social Security Number is listed as a requirement by third-party reviews, though Gemini’s own text does not confirm that.
Is the Gemini card free?
There is no annual fee, and no foreign transaction fee, and no crypto conversion fee because there is no conversion step. But it is not free to use carelessly: purchases carry 16.49% to 34.49% APR, cash advances cost $10 or 3% plus 29.49% APR, a late payment can reach $35, and a replacement card costs $50 after the first free one per year.
How do I add the Gemini card to Apple Wallet?
Gemini’s support confirms the card works with Apple Pay, Google Pay and Samsung Pay, though the card page itself does not list the wallets. I have not verified the setup flow step by step and I will not invent one. Check the Gemini app for the card’s wallet-add option, and note that blocked merchant categories are not published, so test it on a small purchase first.
Is the Gemini card safe?
The security question has two halves. On the technical side, the usual safeguards exist elsewhere in the Gemini app, though freezing, two-factor authentication and spending controls are not described on the card page. On the service side, Trustpilot shows 1.3 out of 5 from 1,513 reviews, with themes of frozen accounts, holds of up to 35 days, refused disputes and no phone support. Judge both halves for yourself.
Is the Gemini card worth it?
Worth it if you clear the balance in full, pay under 16.49% anyway, and can shift a few hundred dollars a month of gas, charging, dining and groceries through it. Not worth it if you will carry a balance, borrow cash advances, or live outside the US. The rewards are a few percent against a purchase APR that can reach 34.49%, and only the first case makes the arithmetic favourable.
Can I top up the Gemini card with crypto?
No. That is the single most common misunderstanding about this product. It is a credit card with no stored balance, no deposit step and no crypto networks to choose from — there is nothing to send coins to. Crypto arrives only as rewards on the spending itself. If you want to deposit Bitcoin and spend it, you need one of the cards designed for that instead.
Choosing a credit or cashback card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
