A Telegram-only virtual USD card aimed at Russian speakers, weighed against the trade-offs

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Wayment is a virtual payment card service that runs almost entirely through Telegram. You sign up, pay for a tier, receive a USD card number, and spend it through mobile wallets like Apple Pay, Google Pay, Alipay and WeChat Pay. There is no identity check, no physical card, and no cash withdrawal. For anyone who needs to pay for foreign subscriptions and online services, the convenience is real. For anyone outside that narrow use case — or anyone who needs a card they can put in their wallet, withdraw cash from, or rely on for dispute protection — the same design starts to feel restrictive.

Wayment works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

I went through Wayment’s official pages, the help centre, third-party catalogues and user feedback, and the picture that came out is mixed. The service does what it claims for people paying for ChatGPT, Claude, Spotify, and similar foreign subscriptions. Outside that lane, several important things are simply not there, and the price for what you get is on the high side.

Overall score: 4.6 / 10.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Russian-language service aimed at paying foreign services from Russia. No public list of supported or excluded countries, no stated rules on citizenship or residence. The card works offline in 190+ countries but the service itself is built around Russian SBP.
Cost 3 / 10 Subscriptions tier 2,990 RUB, Travel 3,990 RUB, Premium 7,990 RUB to issue. First year of service is free, then the annual fee equals the issue price. Successful payments cost 0.30–0.50 USD, failed payments 0.50 USD, non-USD conversion “typically up to 2%”. Top-up is 0%.
Top-up options 4 / 10 SBP from any Russian bank (including credit cards) and cryptocurrency through the app. Specific coins and networks are not published; the app just shows the available options. Minimum top-up 10 USD.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Operated by LVLUP LIMITED, Hong Kong (registration 77106962). The issuing banks are described only as “a Singapore bank” for Subscriptions and “an Armenian bank” for Travel and Premium — names and licences are not published. No specific user complaints surfaced; crmindex.ru shows 5 of 11 reviews.
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual USD card only, up to three per account. Apple Pay, Google Pay, Alipay, and WeChat Pay on Travel and Premium; Subscriptions gets Google Pay and Alipay. No cash withdrawal, no transfers.

The short version: if you are paying for foreign online services and you are comfortable using Telegram as your banking app, Wayment does the job and the 0% top-up fee is welcome. If you want a card that works in more places, costs less per payment, or comes with the kind of clarity about who is behind it that you would expect from a bank product, this is not it.

Who can actually get the card

Wayment is a service. The whole site, the help centre, the Telegram bot and the support hours (09:00–00:00 MSK) point to that. The official pages describe the card as a way to pay for foreign services. The standard way to fund the card is the Russian instant-payment system (SBP), which is the instant-payment rail that connects all Russian banks.

There is no published list of supported or excluded countries. There is no statement of who is allowed to register, no citizenship check, no residence check. A non-Russian who understands Russian and has a Russian bank account for SBP could in principle register, but the service is clearly not designed for them.

The card itself is described as working offline in 190+ countries — that is a statement about where the card network can be used at a point of sale, not a statement about who can sign up. The help centre also notes that Apple Pay and Google Pay are restricted in some countries, with Russia named among them. If you happen to be in Russia and want to add the card to a mobile wallet, the wallet side may not work for you locally, even though the card number itself is valid internationally.

For a comparison, most international crypto card services publish a clear list of countries they support and exclude. Wayment does not. The reader has to assume the default (Russia) and infer everything else.

In short: this is a card for paying for services outside your home country. If that is you, the rest of this review is the relevant detail. If it is not, the alternatives section at the end will probably be more useful.

How to get the card

The signup flow is unusual and worth understanding before you pay anything.

This is one of the lightest signup flows you will find on any card product, mainstream or crypto. The trade-off is everything that flows from it: no identity check means no statutory protection if something goes wrong, and no physical card means no in-person use at terminals that do not support mobile wallets.

What it really costs

Fees

This is where the picture is least flattering. The headline number — 0% top-up — is honest, but the per-payment fees and the tier pricing add up quickly.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Wayment payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Subscriptions Travel Premium
Issuance 2,990 RUB 3,990 RUB 7,990 RUB
First year of service Free Free Free
Annual fee from year 2 2,990 RUB 3,990 RUB 7,990 RUB
Successful payment (up to $30) $0.30 $0.50 $0.50
Successful payment (above $30) Not supported $0.50 $0.50
Failed payment $0.50 $0.50 $0.50
3-D Secure code $0.03 each Free Free
Verification check (Subscriptions) May include a $0.20 bank fee — —
Top-up fee 0% 0% 0%
Conversion on non-USD payments Typically up to 2% Typically up to 2% Typically up to 2%
Cash withdrawal Not supported Not supported Not supported
Daily limit (top-up and spend) $50,000 $50,000 $50,000
Monthly limit (top-up and spend) $200,000 $200,000 $200,000
Welcome bonus $10 per card $10 per card $10 per card

A few things to notice before you do the math for yourself.

The Subscriptions tier is built for tiny payments only. Successful payments above $30 are not supported on that tier at all. The 0.30 USD fee on a small payment is a high percentage of the transaction. That is a heavy fee for what is being sold as a subscriptions card.

Travel and Premium charge a flat 0.50 USD per payment. On a small purchase that fee represents a larger share of the total; as the payment amount increases, the fee becomes a smaller percentage. The relative cost drops as the payment grows, but there is no percentage-based tier.

The annual fee from the second year onwards equals the issue price. So a Travel card you keep for three years effectively costs 3,990 RUB to issue plus 7,980 RUB in annual fees — 11,970 RUB total, before a single payment is made.

The 0% top-up fee is genuinely the most attractive number on the page. Most crypto cards charge 1–4% to fund the card, and Wayment does not. Whether the per-payment fees absorb that saving depends on how often and how much you pay.

Conversion on non-USD payments is described as “typically up to 2%.” The card is in USD, so any payment in another currency goes through a conversion, and that conversion has a cost.

What three everyday payments actually cost

To make the numbers less abstract, here is what the fees look like for three common payments on the Travel tier (3,990 RUB issuance, 0.50 USD per payment, up to 2% conversion on non-USD).

If you only pay for a handful of small USD subscriptions, Wayment’s structure feels expensive. If you pay for many mid-sized purchases or any larger one, the per-payment fee becomes a small share of the total. The break-even against a mainstream card with 1–3% FX markup is not obvious, and depends entirely on your pattern of use.

How to top up Wayment

There are two routes, and both go through the app or the Telegram bot.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Wayment starts with a transfer to the right network

In both cases the top-up fee is 0%, which is genuinely rare in this category. Most crypto cards charge 1–4% to fund the balance.

A few practical points worth raising before you top up:

If you are topping up from a Russian bank account via SBP, the practical cost is the bank’s own credit-card cash advance fee if you top up from a credit card, plus any spread inside Wayment’s internal rate. If you are topping up from crypto, the cost is the network fee plus the internal-rate spread.

Paying with Wayment every day

Wayment is designed for online and mobile-wallet payments, not for the kind of in-person use most people associate with a card.

The everyday experience, then, is Telegram-first, virtual-only, USD-only, mobile-wallet-only. That is a coherent product for paying for online services, but it leaves a lot of standard cardholder functionality behind. There is no cashback to chase, no lounge access, no insurance, no purchase protection in any meaningful sense, and no way to get physical cash if you need it.

What can go wrong

A few categories of risk are specific to this card and worth going through one by one.

Company and issuer transparency. Wayment is operated by LVLUP LIMITED, registered in Hong Kong (company number 77106962), at 7/F MW Tower, 111 Bonham Strand, Sheung Wan. The issuing banks are described only in general terms: a Singapore bank for the Subscriptions tier, an Armenian bank for Travel and Premium. The specific banks are not named on Wayment’s pages, and no banking or e-money licences are quoted. Compared with mainstream card products, this is a low level of disclosure, and it means the reader has limited ability to check who is actually behind the card programme.

Custody and security. The balance sits inside the Wayment service, not in your own wallet. The service allows you to freeze and unfreeze the card in the app, and the Telegram bot exposes spending-limit controls. Two-factor authentication is not described, and neither is the safeguarding arrangement for customer funds. With a custodial balance, the practical risk is the same one that has played out at other crypto-adjacent businesses: a company-level problem can stop you from accessing the balance. There is no indication of an insurance fund or segregated client account.

No identity check, no statutory protection. Wayment’s pages are explicit that no KYC is performed at signup. That keeps the process fast and friendly, but it also means there is no verified identity on file, and many of the standard consumer protections that come with regulated payment services do not apply. If the balance disappears, the legal avenues open to a bank customer are not open here.

No standard refunds. “Standard refunds are not issued” is the official position. That is a meaningful step away from the chargeback and dispute rights that come with a regulated debit or credit card, and it pushes the burden of resolution onto you and the merchant. If a service you pay for does not deliver, you are largely on your own.

Limited complaint history. I did not find specific user complaints beyond a handful of catalogue entries. The crmindex.ru aggregator shows 5 out of 11 reviews; the Wayment site’s own ratings include 4.9 on Yandex Maps, 4.9 on Exnode and 5.0 on Otzovik, which are its own or partner-supplied numbers. There is no Trustpilot page. For a Russian-language product, the absence of a clear, independent complaint trail is a yellow flag rather than a green one.

Network and coin risk on crypto top-ups. Because the supported coins and networks are not published in advance, there is room for error. Sending a coin on the wrong network, or sending a coin that is not on the supported list, is one of the most common ways users lose money in this category, and Wayment’s own pages note that blockchain transactions are typically irreversible.

Operational risk. The product runs through a single Telegram bot. If the bot is down, restricted or its username changes, your primary interface to the card goes with it. The web cabinet is a fallback, but the design is Telegram-first.

Apple Pay and Google Pay geography. Help-centre guidance notes that mobile wallets are restricted in some countries, Russia among them. A Russian user who wants to tap a wallet in a Russian shop may find that part of the experience does not work, even though the card itself is valid internationally.

In combination, these risks are not unusual for a small, non-bank crypto card product. They are also not small. The decision to use Wayment is partly a decision to accept them.

What to take instead

If Wayment does not quite fit, three other Telegram- or crypto-friendly cards appear repeatedly in the same category. I will go through them briefly with the trade-offs visible, then leave the choice to you.

Azul Card (5.3 / 10). Azul is the closest alternative in feel: a Telegram-based virtual Mastercard funded by crypto. The key difference is geography: Azul publishes a clear list of countries it will not serve (Russia, Belarus, North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Sudan, Venezuela, Ukraine, and the Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson regions), and states that the restrictions apply regardless of the user’s nationality. Card creation is 20 USD one-time (refunded after 2,000 USD of spending), monthly maintenance is 5 USD, per-transaction fee is 0.25 USD, and crypto top-up is 4%. There is no stated FX fee, and no physical card (though one is hinted at). For a non-Russian user, Azul is the more obvious Telegram-style option; for a Russian user it is not available.

Telecard (6.1 / 10). Telecard is a virtual Mastercard usable in 150+ countries. Identity check is described as “available in most major regions,” and the only explicit exclusion is users blocked or sanctioned by OFAC. There is no published list of supported or excluded countries. The fee structure is more complex: a Standard plan is 5 USD one-time, VIP is 49 USD setup plus 19 USD per month, and VIP card reissuance is 15 USD. There is a 99 USD minimum deposit to activate, which the service stresses is not a fee but does tie up funds. Currency conversion is 1.5% on non-USD payments, plus a 0.5 USDT gas fee per successful card transaction, plus FX and cross-border fees described as “up to 3% each.” Funding is by USDT on Tron (TRC-20) or Ethereum (ERC-20), USDC on Ethereum (ERC-20), with bank transfers listed as “coming soon.” Polygon is not supported. For someone who wants to fund by stablecoin on a named network, Telecard is more transparent than Wayment about which networks are accepted.

OnCards (4.6 / 10). OnCards is also a Telegram-first virtual card, marketed as a virtual Mastercard or Visa “directly in your Telegram” (the network is not fixed). The site’s pages state “simple and clear fees, no hidden charges” but do not give actual numbers, and there is no country list, no cashback, and no published cash or transfer policy. Funding is by USDT on BEP-20 only; bank transfers are not accepted. OnCards is the lightest of the four products in published information, which is the main reason its score is the same as Wayment’s despite a different design.

A quick comparison of the four:

Card Score KYC Card form Top-up Per-payment fee Notable catch
Wayment 4.6 / 10 None Virtual USD SBP, crypto (unspecified) 0.30–0.50 USD USD only, no cash, no refunds
Azul 5.3 / 10 Required Virtual USD Crypto (unspecified) 0.25 USD 4% crypto top-up fee, Russia excluded
Telecard 6.1 / 10 “Most major regions” Virtual USD USDT/USDC on Tron or Ethereum 0.5 USDT gas + 1.5% FX 99 USD minimum deposit, complex tiering
OnCards 4.6 / 10 not stated Virtual USDT BEP-20 not stated No published fees or country list

If you are paying foreign subscriptions, Wayment is the one of the four that is actually available to you. If you are outside that group, the others are each worth a look.

Who I would recommend this to

Pulling the threads together: Wayment makes sense for a fairly narrow reader.

You would be a reasonable candidate for this card if all of the following are true:

You should probably not use Wayment if any of the following apply:

If you fall into the “yes, this is for me” group, the practical path is small and quick: register in Telegram, pay the tier that matches your payment sizes, top up a small test amount via SBP or crypto, add the card to the wallet your phone supports, and treat the balance as a pre-paid float. Keep the balance small. Do not use it for anything you cannot afford to lose access to.

If you fall into the “no, this is not for me” group, the Azul, Telecard and OnCards entries above are the next places to look, and the choice between them depends mainly on your country, your top-up method, and how much you value a published fee schedule.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Wayment card?

Wayment is a Russian-language virtual payment card service. You register in Telegram, pay for a tier, and receive a USD-denominated virtual card number that you can add to mobile wallets like Apple Pay, Google Pay, Alipay or WeChat Pay, or type into online checkouts.

How does the Wayment card work?

The service holds a USD balance for you in its own app. When you pay, the card is debited from that balance. You can fund the balance by SBP from a Russian bank or by sending cryptocurrency through the app. There is no link to your own bank account and no physical card.

Is Wayment a bank?

No. Wayment is operated by LVLUP LIMITED, a company registered in Hong Kong. The card programme is run through partner banks described only as a Singapore bank (for the Subscriptions tier) and an Armenian bank (for Travel and Premium). Wayment is not a bank and does not hold a banking licence on its own pages.

Who owns Wayment?

The operating company is LVLUP LIMITED, Hong Kong, company number 77106962, at 7/F MW Tower, 111 Bonham Strand, Sheung Wan. The individual owners are not disclosed on the official pages.

Is the Wayment card available in my country?

Wayment does not publish a list of supported or excluded countries. The service is built around Russian SBP top-ups, so the practical assumption is Russia. The card number itself can be used internationally, but Apple Pay and Google Pay support is restricted in some countries, including Russia.

How do I get a Wayment card?

Open the Telegram bot @WaymentBot, register, pay the tier price, and the card is issued within a couple of minutes. You add an email after issuance. No passport or identity check is required.

Does the Wayment card require KYC?

No. The official pages state that no passport or identity verification is required. Registration uses a Telegram account and, after the card is issued, an email address.

How do I top up a Wayment card?

Two routes: SBP from any Russian bank (including credit cards), or cryptocurrency sent through the app. The minimum top-up is 10 USD, and the top-up fee is 0%. Wayment does not publish the list of supported coins and networks; the app shows the available options.

Can I withdraw cash from a Wayment card?

No. Cash withdrawals, transfers and balance withdrawals are not supported. There is no ATM use and no way to move a balance from Wayment back to a bank account.

Is the Wayment card safe?

It carries the same risks as most small, custodial crypto card products. The balance sits inside the service, not in your own wallet. The issuing banks are not named, no banking or e-money licence is quoted, and “standard refunds are not issued.” Treat the balance as a small pre-paid float rather than a long-term store of value.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team