Euro-zone crypto spending, done simply — with a conversion spread nobody publishes
If you have an ordinary bank card, this is not a page you need. If you are among the people who cannot get one — or who has decided not to use the banking system available to them — then a card that turns a crypto balance into everyday euro spending is genuinely useful, and Bitpanda is one of the cleaner ways to do it. That usefulness is real. So is the catch: the card’s own public pages do not disclose the conversion spread, which is the single number that decides what your spending actually costs.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 6.5 out of 10, and who it actually suits
My overall mark for the Bitpanda card is 6.5 out of 10. That is not a bad score. It is a card that does a narrow job clearly and cheaply, and that job does not cover everyone.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Needs a verified Bitpanda account and euro-zone residence; Bankident-verified users cannot order |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Opening, month and first delivery free; reissue EUR 5.90; FX fee EUR 0 but a Visa mark-up applies; ATM 2% or EUR 2 minimum; conversion spread not disclosed |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Main asset can be listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals or EUR, converted at payment; Crypto Indices excluded |
| Reliability and complaints | 8 / 10 | Issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under MFSA supervision (reg. C 91879); no card-specific complaints found; Trustpilot 4.1/5 across 15,896 reviews |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Physical Visa, virtual not disclosed; Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM with a EUR 500 daily limit |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | Solid for its audience, narrow for everyone else |
Who this card suits: euro-area residents who already hold crypto or metals on Bitpanda and want to spend it in euros without selling it manually before every purchase. The card converts automatically at the moment of payment, and cashback is fixed at 1% on qualifying crypto transactions. For that person, this is a well-run card at a fair price, with no monthly fee and no FX line item.
Who it does not suit: anyone outside the euro area, anyone without a verified Bitpanda account, and — importantly — anyone for whom the cost of conversion is the deciding factor. You cannot evaluate a spending cost you are not told. That single omission is what keeps a 7/10 cost mark from being a 9.
Who will they give you the card
The gate is narrow and it is about residence, not citizenship: you need a verified Bitpanda account and you need to live in a euro-area country. That is the rule as stated. The card page also excludes users verified through “Bankident” from ordering — a specific verification route that does not qualify, whatever your country.
Two countries inside the geographic area are also carved out. A Bitpanda support article excludes Cyprus and Liechtenstein, so living there is not enough. That leaves a smaller set than “euro area” suggests at first glance.
On citizenship: the card’s own pages do not say. I want to be plain about that rather than smooth it over — the rule as published is residence, and I found no separate nationality condition stated. What is not stated anywhere on the card pages is where outside the euro area the card can be delivered to. So if you are in the euro area and travel often, do not assume the card travels with you as a matter of policy; ask before you rely on it.
One more thing that is not stated, and that people ask about constantly: which documents count for verification. The card page says a verified account is required and lists no document set. KYC tiers and processing times are also not stated on the card pages. If your verification is stuck, you are stuck at the same point whether you are an easy case or a hard one.
How to get it
The route is short, and mostly inside the app:
- Verify your Bitpanda account first — this is the prerequisite, and it is not optional.
- Order the physical card in the Bitpanda app.
- Wait 3–7 working days for delivery, depending on destination.
You will receive a physical Visa debit card. There is no virtual card mentioned on the card page, so if you need a virtual card for online-only spending, this is not it. The card is euro-only, and the terms allow one active card at a time — which matters more than it sounds if you are used to carrying a virtual and a physical card to different merchants.
On lifecycle: the card is valid for 5 years from issue, and a replacement is sent automatically. The first shipment is free. Pricing around cards:
- Reissue: EUR 5.90 in the fee table.
- EUR 9.90 in the FAQ for damage, loss or theft — the card’s own two figures disagree, so plan for the higher one.
- Each additional physical card: EUR 10.
Fees: what it really costs
Opening the account is free. There is no monthly fee. The first delivery is free. That is the good half.

The bad half is that the most important number is missing. When you pay with a crypto asset, the platform’s trading fee for selling that asset is debited from your account on each card payment (Product Terms 4.2), and the card’s public pages do not state the rate. So the cost of a crypto-funded purchase has two parts: a trading fee whose rate is unpublished, and a conversion spread whose size is also unpublished. You are asked to trust both.
| Fee or limit | Value |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly fee | Free |
| First delivery | Free |
| Reissue | EUR 5.90 (EUR 9.90 in the FAQ for loss, theft or damage) |
| Additional physical card | EUR 10 |
| Crypto conversion fee / spread | Not stated on the card pages |
| Platform trading fee on selling the payment asset | Charged per payment (Product Terms 4.2), rate not stated |
| FX fee | EUR 0, but Visa mark-up fees apply |
| ATM fee | 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher |
| Minimum payment | EUR 1 |
| Daily spend limit | EUR 10,000 |
| Weekly spend limit | EUR 70,000 |
| Monthly spend limit | EUR 280,000 |
| ATM daily limit | EUR 500 |
Three everyday payments, so the fees stop being abstract:
A EUR 40 supermarket shop, paid from EUR. No conversion, no trading fee, no FX. This is the cheapest the card ever is, and if your main asset is EUR, this is how you use it. Cashback does not apply — that is tied to qualifying crypto transactions.
A EUR 60 barista purchase paid from a cryptocurrency. Here the trading fee for selling that asset comes off on each payment, at a rate the card pages do not give you, and the conversion spread is unstated on top. Add 1% cashback credited to the EToken wallet, provided the asset you pay with is an EToken — transactions with a non-EToken payment asset are excluded from cashback. So the honest summary is: the card is convenient here, and you cannot compute the cost from anything Bitpanda publishes.
A EUR 25 dinner paid in dollars, in a euro-area country. The FX fee line is EUR 0, but Visa mark-up fees apply, so the real cost is whatever Visa’s rate carries. Local ATM fees can add on the cash-machine side too.
Two things about those limits. The daily spend ceiling of EUR 10,000 and monthly EUR 280,000 are generous for a person, generous for a business. The ATM limit of EUR 500 a day is the number that will actually shape your week. And free ATM withdrawals are described as a VIP-level perk — the card page says top VIPs get unlimited free withdrawals each month. The VIP scheme changed in July 2025, so verify in the app what your level currently carries rather than trusting the card page.
Top up: there is no top-up, and that is the point
This is the section where most card reviews mislead you, so I will be direct. The Bitpanda card has no separate top-up. It does not hold its own balance. It spends a chosen main asset — and optionally a fallback asset — straight from your Bitpanda account:

- The main asset can be one of the listed cryptocurrencies, precious metals, or EUR.
- At payment, the chosen asset is converted to EUR.
- Crypto Indices are excluded as a main asset.
- Minimum payment: EUR 1.
So you fund it the way you fund the account, with the usual Bitpanda deposits. There is no card-specific top-up fee — the card’s pages do not state one. What you are really choosing is *which* asset your daily euro spending draws down. Set EUR as the main asset and the card behaves like an ordinary euro debit card. Set a cryptocurrency as the main asset and every purchase becomes a sale.
Fallback logic is worth understanding before you need it: the optional fallback asset covers you when the main asset cannot cover a payment. Cards and limits are effectively tied to the account state — which brings us to the one operational risk that matters most here.
To turn the card off permanently, you contact customer support; the steps are not published. The funds are not on the card. They remain as assets or as EUR in your Bitpanda account, and you sell or withdraw them through normal Bitpanda payouts. One important catch: all payouts, including card payments, are disabled while a “Proof of funds” request is open. That is not an edge case — it is the single most likely way a Bitpanda card holder suddenly cannot spend, and I would read it as the main thing to understand before ordering one.
Paying with it every day
Day to day, this behaves like a normal Visa debit card, with a crypto balance behind it.
Wallets. Apple Pay is supported on the card page, and a support article says the card can be added to Google Pay like any other Visa card. Google Pay is not mentioned on the card page itself — the support article is the source, and I am relying on it rather than on the card’s own page.
Refunds. Refunds go to the EUR wallet, minus fees, including chargebacks (Product Terms 8.1). That is worth internalising: if a merchant refunds a crypto-funded purchase, you do not get your coin back, you get euros in your wallet after fees. If the account is frozen when a refund lands, the refund is inside the frozen account.
Disputes. The older card-account terms page (Contis/Solaris wording, undated) says to contact the merchant first, report unauthorised or incorrect payments within 13 months, expect a decision on a refund within 10 business days, and for unauthorised payments a refund no later than the end of the next business day after notification. I want to be careful here: an older terms page names a different issuer, and the current Transact Payments Malta Limited cardholder agreement was not available to me to read. Treat the 13-month and 10-business-day figures as the older published position, not as a guarantee under the current contract.
Blocked transactions. The card cannot be used for certain transactions listed in section 5.12 of the TPML Cardholder Agreement, which I did not read. Which merchants are blocked is therefore not stated on anything I could see. In this category, gambling (MCC 7995) is commonly blocked by policy rather than by law, and the blocked list varies by issuer — but I am telling you the general pattern, not claiming Bitpanda blocks casinos. Check the agreement section yourself.
Security. Block and unblock the card in the app. Visa anti-fraud monitoring and 3-D Secure apply. Loss or theft must be blocked in the account and reported at once — the older terms page lists +44 (0)333 202 3645. Address verification, which many merchants use to pre-check billing details, is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards; since this card is euro-only and euro-issued, you will mostly be fine, but a decline here is a known pattern of crypto cards rather than a fault of yours.
One honest note about the app. The card page links to the official Bitpanda app, but I did not read the Apple App Store listing. Unofficial data — Google Play average 3.60 from about 55 thousand ratings, per AppBrain on an undated page seen in October 2026, possibly out of date — puts it below what a banking app of this kind would ideally be. Treat that as a third-party figure, not something Bitpanda confirms.
What can go wrong
The card itself has a clean complaint record. The platform around it is where the friction lives, and you should look at both.
The issuer. The card is issued by Transact Payments Malta Limited under a Visa Europe licence, regulated by the Malta Financial Services Authority (reg. C 91879). That is a properly supervised e-money issuer. Note that Bitpanda’s own legal entity is not named on the card page; the Product Terms of 1 April 2025 name Bitpanda GmbH (Vienna) as the counterparty, with Bitpanda Payments GmbH providing payment services.
A conflict worth knowing about. A separate older card-account terms page names UAB Finansines paslaugos Contis (Bank of Lithuania licence No. 53) as issuer. That contradicts the current terms. If you ever need to rely on which entity stands behind the card, ask Bitpanda to confirm on paper rather than assume from whichever page you land on first.
Custody, and what that means. Bitpanda is a custodial platform: it holds the credentials, so you must trust it completely. This is structural, not a defect. Custodial platforms have a real record — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network. The older Bitpanda card terms describe funds in a segregated safeguarding account, not covered by Lithuanian deposit insurance, with liability capped at 50 euros absent gross negligence. Since that page also carries the superseded issuer name, read it as context rather than as current protection terms. Current TPML cardholder terms were not available to me.
The one operational risk. Proof of funds freezes all payouts, card included, until approved. If you hold a large balance, a routine source-of-funds request can stop your card without warning.
Complaint themes, none card-specific. On Trustpilot, Bitpanda as a whole sits at 4.1/5 from about 15,896 reviews, with 73% five-star and 17% one-star, read on 2026-10-20. The 2026 user themes are blocked withdrawals and account restrictions, high currency-exchange commission and spreads, slow support during compliance reviews, German replies to English messages, and a 5% deposit-cashback promotion paid only partly. I found no card-specific complaints — which is reassuring about the card and, in fairness, says nothing about the platform. Aggregator summaries on rfp.wiki (AI-generated, low weight) also mention frozen accounts, KYC friction and support under stress.
Terms version. Product Terms 2.0.0, dated 1 April 2025, is the version I could see: the card offered with Transact Payments Malta Limited, contract with Bitpanda GmbH, cashback fixed at 1%. In July 2025 VIP benefits moved from BEST to a Vision (VSN) token — a third-party note, treat accordingly. No 2026 card news surfaced.
Currency reminder. Non-EUR payments carry EUR 0 in fees, but Visa mark-up fees still apply. A multi-currency balance is not stated. And deposits sent on a network or to an address the platform does not support can be lost, because blockchain transfers are irreversible — that is a property of the rails, not of this card.
What to take instead
If the Bitpanda card fails you on eligibility, geography or the undisclosed spread, these are the three alternatives in my comparison set. Scores are mine, on the same scale.
| Bitpanda | International Visa Card | UNi Card | Whop Cards | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.5 / 10 | 6.7 / 10 | 6.1 / 10 | 5.2 / 10 |
| Eligibility | Verified account + euro-zone residence; Cyprus and Liechtenstein out | Not for residents/registrants of 17 named countries; FATF grey list case by case | Not stated | 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses; 17 countries unsupported |
| Card | Physical Visa, EUR only, one active card | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual, USD; physical “coming soon” | Mastercard multicurrency; physical/virtual not stated | Visa; type and currency not stated |
| Issuance / monthly | Free / free | $5 one-time / none | Not stated / no annual fee | Not stated / “no extra fees” |
| FX | EUR 0 fee, Visa mark-up; conversion spread unstated | Visa rate + 2% FX fee | “No foreign transaction fee”, live OTC rates | Not stated |
| Top-up | Main asset: crypto, metals or EUR | USDC or USDT free at 1:1; also USD, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow | Not stated | Whop balance; stablecoin collateral |
| Rewards | 1% cashback on qualifying crypto | None stated | Up to 3% | 5% cashback at select merchants |
| Notable | Best if you already hold assets on Bitpanda | Physical card not yet available | Eligibility gap makes it hard to judge | US-centric, no fees disclosed |
International Visa Card (6.7/10) is the closest on paper and actually scores higher, but the catch is stark: the physical card is listed as “coming soon” and what exists is a virtual U.S.-issued Platinum Visa paying in USD. Availability excludes residents and legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case — and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Its FX terms are also fully published: Visa exchange rate plus 2%. Plans are Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. The rule is by residence or registration; citizenship is not mentioned.
UNi Card (6.1/10) makes attractive promises — no annual fee, no foreign transaction fee, conversion at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees”, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. I cannot tell you whether you qualify, who you may be, or how you fund it: eligibility, funding and card type are all not stated. I would not open an account on that basis.
Whop Cards (5.2/10) is a specialist tool, not a substitute. US-centric (31 states for consumers, 41 for businesses), 5% cashback at select merchants currently limited to Uber, spending from a Whop balance backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Coins and networks not stated. No fee amounts at all.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Bitpanda card to one person: someone living in a euro-area country (excluding Cyprus and Liechtenstein), without Cyprus/Liechtenstein residence complications, who already holds crypto or precious metals on Bitpanda, has a verified account that is not Bankident-based, and wants to spend in euros without manually selling before each purchase. For them this is a good card — no monthly fee, generous spending limits, 1% cashback on qualifying crypto payments, Apple Pay and Google Pay, a supervised Maltese issuer, and no card-specific complaints I could find.
I would steer you elsewhere if any of these is true. You live outside the euro area. You have no Bitpanda account, or one that will not verify. You are in Cyprus or Liechtenstein. You plan to rely on a virtual card, or on carrying two active cards at once. Your main asset is a Crypto Index. You need a spread figure before committing. Or you hold a balance large enough that a “Proof of funds” request freezing all payouts — card included — would hurt.
My honest summary: this is a well-run, competently priced card for its specific audience, published with one material gap. Check what the card costs you on a single crypto-funded purchase in your own account before you start depending on it. That number is the only one that matters, and only you can read it off your own statement.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bitpanda card?
It is a physical Visa debit card that spends assets held in your Bitpanda account rather than a bank account. You choose a main asset — a listed cryptocurrency, a precious metal, or EUR — and it is converted to euros at the moment of payment. It is euro-only, one active card at a time, and it has no separate balance: the money stays on Bitpanda.
How does the Bitpanda card work?
At purchase, the chosen asset is converted to EUR and the payment goes through as an ordinary Visa transaction. The platform’s trading fee for selling that asset is debited on each card payment, at a rate the card pages do not state, and the conversion spread is also not disclosed. Non-euro payments carry EUR 0 in fees but Visa mark-up fees still apply.
Who can get the Bitpanda card?
You need a verified Bitpanda account and residence in a euro-area country — the rule is by residence. Users verified through “Bankident” cannot order, and a Bitpanda support article excludes Cyprus and Liechtenstein. Citizenship is not addressed on the card pages, and delivery destinations outside the euro area are not stated.
How much does the Bitpanda card cost?
Account opening, the monthly fee and the first delivery are all free. A reissue is EUR 5.90 in the fee table, though the FAQ says EUR 9.90 for loss, theft or damage, and an additional physical card is EUR 10. ATM withdrawals cost 2% or EUR 2 minimum, whichever is higher, with a EUR 500 daily limit.
Is Bitpanda a bank?
No. It is a custodial crypto platform, and the card is issued by a separate licensed company, Transact Payments Malta Limited, under a Visa Europe licence and supervised by the Malta Financial Services Authority (reg. C 91879). Bitpanda GmbH in Vienna is the contractual counterparty, with Bitpanda Payments GmbH providing payment services.
Can I use the Bitpanda card in my country?
It works where Visa is accepted, in euros, and it is euro-only. Because the rule for holding it is euro-zone residence, you should check delivery destinations with Bitpanda before relying on it abroad — they are not stated on the card pages. Some transactions are blocked under section 5.12 of the TPML Cardholder Agreement, which I was not able to read.
Is the Bitpanda card safe?
It has the usual safeguards: block and unblock in the app, Visa anti-fraud monitoring and 3-D Secure, and loss or theft must be blocked and reported at once. The real question is custody — Bitpanda holds your assets, so you depend on the platform, and the deposit-protection position described in older terms is not the same as a bank deposit guarantee.
What is the cashback on the Bitpanda card?
The Product Terms version 2.0.0 of 1 April 2025 fix cashback at 1% of qualifying transactions, credited to the EToken wallet in the asset used. Payments made with a non-EToken asset are excluded, as are fiat, stocks, metals and stablecoins. The card page summary says “up to 2%”, which conflicts; the terms figure is the one I would rely on.
How do I top up the Bitpanda card?
You do not, in the usual sense — the card has no top-up. It spends your chosen main asset, and optionally a fallback asset, from the Bitpanda account, which you fund with the usual Bitpanda deposits. Minimum payment is EUR 1, and Crypto Indices cannot be used as the main asset.
Why can my Bitpanda card suddenly stop working?
The most likely reason is an open “Proof of funds” request: while one is pending, all payouts including card payments are disabled until it is approved. Other reported themes on the platform include blocked withdrawals and account restrictions. Support is reachable through the helpdesk, the Account Portal, the in-app Contact Us, or the Vienna post address on the card page.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
