Coinbase card review — what it really costs to spend your crypto
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card that lets you spend cryptocurrency from your Coinbase account at any merchant that accepts Visa. It converts your crypto to US dollars at the moment of payment, and you can earn a small crypto reward on each purchase. I went through the cardholder agreement, the help-center pages, user reports and the alternatives you might pick instead, and I scored it 6.4 out of 10. That sounds generous for a card that is available in all US states except Hawaii, but the absence of issuance or monthly fees and the everyday spending experience push the number up; the tight geography and the thin reward pull it back down.
I will walk you through who the card is for, what it costs in real situations, how to top it up, what can go wrong and which alternatives to consider if the Coinbase card is not available where you live. Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The headline score is 6.4 out of 10. I arrived at it by weighting five criteria: who can actually get the card, what it costs, how you can top it up, how reliable it is in practice and how it handles everyday use. The breakdown is below.
| Criterion | Mark | Reason |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Only US residents, all states except Hawaii |
| Cost | 8 / 10 | Zero issuance, no annual fee, no issuer FX fee; only a conversion spread |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | Bank link or paycheck deposit, no clarity on which crypto networks work |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Issued by Pathward, N.A., Member FDIC, on Marqeta; Coinbase 4.0/5 on Trustpilot with persistent account-freeze complaints |
| Everyday use | 9 / 10 | Virtual or physical Visa, ATM access, mobile wallet support per third-party reports |
The card suits US residents who already hold crypto on Coinbase and want to spend it without first manually converting it. It also suits people who earn a paycheck in crypto and want a Visa to tap or swipe. It is a poor fit if you live outside the United States, if you want to hold a foreign-currency balance, if you are allergic to the spread Coinbase charges on conversion or if you are looking for a high cashback rate. If you live in Europe, Latin America or most of Asia, this card simply is not an option for you.
Will they give you the card
Coinbase issues the card only to residents of the United States, and it is unavailable in Hawaii. There is no public list of supported countries beyond the US, so anyone living elsewhere should treat the card as not offered to them at the time of writing. The card account opening follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules: you give your name, address, date of birth and a government-issued ID, and Coinbase may ask for a driver’s license or another document to confirm it. There is no credit check and no staking requirement to qualify.
The program is run by Coinbase as the front-end brand, but the actual issuer is Pathward, N.A., a Member FDIC bank, under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., with Marqeta as the platform powering card issuance. One historical footnote: an older version of the static cardholder agreement names MetaBank, N.A. as the issuer, with Marqeta as program manager. The current card page points to Pathward. If you read older third-party guides, the issuer name may not match what is on your card now, but the operational effect is the same — a US-issued Visa debit.
You need to be at least 18 years old, a US citizen or permanent resident per the older agreement, and your address must stay inside the US — if Coinbase sees your address change to a non-US address the card may be cancelled and the balance returned to you. If you have an unresolved identity check on your Coinbase account, card use may be limited until verification is finished, so do not order the physical card before your account is fully verified.
How to get it
You sign up inside the Coinbase app or on the website, complete the identity check, then create a virtual card or order the physical one. The virtual card appears immediately once your account is approved; the physical card is posted to your US address. The cardholder agreement does not publish a delivery time, so I cannot tell you exactly how many days shipping takes — that is not stated in the public documents I read, and you should expect to check the app for the tracking link once it is dispatched. An older version of the agreement says there is no fee for replacement cards sent because the previous one expired, which is a small but useful detail if you plan to keep the card for years.
There is no credit check and no minimum balance requirement to apply. The only eligibility conditions I could confirm are US residency outside Hawaii, age 18 or over and a fully verified Coinbase account. Beyond that, not stated — which is unusual for a regulated product, and worth treating as a yellow flag if you need a firm answer before you apply.
Fees
The headline on the Coinbase card page is honest: “Zero spending fees and no annual fees.” That is the strongest part of the card. There is no monthly fee, no fee from Coinbase on a normal purchase, no fee from the issuer on a foreign-currency transaction, and no fee from Coinbase for an ATM withdrawal — the ATM operator may still charge you its own fee, but that is the ATM’s surcharge, not Coinbase’s. The fee schedule the older agreement lists is consistent with that picture: issuance $0, monthly fee $0, ATM withdrawal $0, balance inquiry $0, funding from the Coinbase USD Wallet $0.

The fee you do pay is the spread Coinbase charges when it buys, sells or trades crypto for you — that is the conversion fee, baked into the exchange rate at the moment of payment. The card page does not publish this as a percentage, and it varies by market conditions and the asset you spend. Treat it as the cost of doing business, and check the in-app preview before you tap to pay if the amount is meaningful. Foreign-currency purchases are converted by the network at the wholesale rate plus whatever spread Coinbase charges; the issuer does not add its own international fee.
Limits are set per customer and may be lowered by risk checks. The help center says you can see your own by going to Card > Support > “View spending and ATM limits” in the app. An older combined terms document (from 2021) capped ATM and over-the-counter cash withdrawals at $1,000 per 24 hours and a maximum of six cash withdrawals a day; treat that as a historical floor rather than a current ceiling, because the current per-customer numbers vary.
Here is the cost picture in one table.
| Item | Cost or limit |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $0 |
| Monthly fee | $0 |
| Spending fee | $0 (a spread applies on crypto conversion) |
| FX fee from issuer | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal (Coinbase) | $0 (the ATM operator may charge) |
| Balance inquiry at ATM | $0 |
| Funding from Coinbase USD Wallet | $0 |
| Spending and ATM limits | Vary by customer; view in app |
Three everyday situations, to make this concrete. A $40 grocery swipe in a US store: no Coinbase fee, no network fee, only the conversion spread if the money was sitting in crypto. A €30 dinner abroad: the network converts euros to dollars, the issuer adds nothing, and the spread shows up in the rate Coinbase gives you; budget a small buffer rather than assuming the rate you see on Coinbase is exactly what settles. A $200 ATM withdrawal at a US bank: $0 from Coinbase, the bank’s own ATM fee is the only cost, and the withdrawal counts against your daily limit.
Top up
Funding the card happens on the Coinbase side, not on the card itself. You link a bank account or deposit part of your paycheck into Coinbase, and the card spends that balance. The card page says both are zero-fee; the older cardholder fee schedule confirms that funding from the Coinbase USD Wallet costs $0 and there is no monthly fee. Minimum top-up amounts and any on-chain network fees for depositing crypto are not stated in the public documents.

If you spend a crypto balance on Coinbase directly, Coinbase converts it to US dollars for the card purchase; the spread is the cost, as above. The card page does not list the specific coins or networks that are eligible, which is unusual — most crypto cards say which assets they support. In practice that means whatever Coinbase lets you hold is what the card can convert, but the absence of a published list is worth noting, and you should test with a small amount first if you rely on a less common asset.
The withdrawal direction is the one to watch. If you want to take the balance off the card and back to your bank, that is a normal Coinbase withdrawal, not a card operation, and it follows Coinbase’s standard bank-transfer rules. The card itself does not have its own “withdraw to bank” button, and the older agreement makes clear that funds on the card do not expire after the “Valid Thru” date printed on the plastic.
Paying with it every day
The card works as a standard Visa prepaid debit. You tap, swipe, insert or pay online, and the merchant sees a Visa transaction in US dollars. If you have set a crypto reward, a small percentage of each purchase is paid back in whichever rotating crypto you have selected, and the rate is shown inside the app. The rewards are opt-in for US card users; if you do not pick one, you do not earn any.
On the mobile wallet side, support for Apple Pay and Google Pay is unofficial: the headline I found on TechRadar says “Coinbase lets customers use its Coinbase Card with Apple Pay and Google Pay,” and CryptoSlate lists support as well. Neither is on the official Coinbase card page in the materials I had, so treat the mobile wallet claim as reported by third parties and not confirmed by the card issuer. If the mobile-wallet tokenisation matters to you, add the card inside Apple Wallet or Google Pay and see whether your bank recognises the tokenised Device Account Number before relying on it at the till.
The app itself is the part that is easy to verify. The Coinbase iOS app requires iOS 16.4 or later and also runs on Mac and Vision; it is available in 18 interface languages including Russian and Turkish, which matters if English is not your first language. The App Store rating is 4.7 from about 1.8 million ratings as of 20 October 2026. I could not pull a Google Play rating — the page returned no data, so that is not stated in what I read.
If something goes wrong with a transaction, the older cardholder agreement spells out the dispute process: report unauthorised transactions promptly, the issuer decides within 10 business days and may take up to 45 days, and the account is provisionally credited within 10 business days in the meantime. Losses reported more than 60 days after the statement was issued may not be recoverable. Merchant refunds are handled by the merchant and may post with delay. A chargeback via Visa’s own process is not stated in the public documents I had.
What can go wrong
Crypto cards carry risks that ordinary debit cards do not, and the Coinbase card shares most of them. The first is counterparty risk. Your funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank, not in a wallet you control; if either has a problem, your card balance is part of that. The older agreement says funds transferred from the Coinbase USD Wallet are eligible for FDIC insurance up to $250,000 if the deposit-insurance requirements are met, and Visa’s Zero Liability policy applies if you report a lost or stolen card promptly. In-app card freeze and granular spending controls are not stated in the documents I read, which is a real gap.
The second is conversion risk. Every time you pay, Coinbase converts at the prevailing rate plus a spread. On a quiet day that spread is small; on a volatile day it is not. The card does not show you the rate at the till, so you are trusting the in-app preview, and the rate you see is the rate you get.
The third is support quality. Trustpilot’s score for Coinbase as a whole is 4.0 out of 5 from 23,282 reviews; about 45% are five-star and 43% are one-star. The negative themes that come up in 2026 reviews are slow or absent support in fraud cases, account lockouts and heavy verification, multi-day holds on larger deposits, and complaints about fees on conversions and debit-card transfers. A US PIRG study ranked Coinbase third among digital wallets by number of consumer complaints to the CFPB, with “difficulty retrieving money” the recurring theme. Interesting Engineering reported Coinbase confirmed it had mistakenly overcharged some users’ bank accounts. None of this is a verdict on the card in isolation, but it is the environment the card operates in, and it is worth weighing.
The fourth is programme risk. Crypto card programmes can be wound down. In November 2022 Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card was closed; earlier, WaveCrest lost its Visa licence in Europe in 2018 and every programme it issued was shut. The Coinbase card has the larger institutional backing of Pathward and Marqeta behind it, but the category is not immune to that kind of event.
The fifth is regulatory drift. Card products sit on top of two licences — the payment licence and the crypto licence — and a change in either can change what you can do with the card. The card page does not mention any current restrictions, but the historical issuer switch from MetaBank to Pathward shows the issuer layer can change quietly.
What to take instead
The Coinbase card’s tight geography makes the alternatives question more than a comparison — for most readers, one of these is the only realistic option.
| Card | Score | Where | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Young Card | 5.7 / 10 | Where Young operates | Cashback paid in YNG tokens; rate depends on the Club tier |
| MSX | 6.4 / 10 | Where MSX operates | Comparable everyday-use profile to Coinbase |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 / 10 | Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru, Asia Pacific | Virtual and physical, network and currency depend on country, tiered cashback in USDT |
A few details for context. The Bybit card is the most broadly available of the three; its region list is long and it offers tiered cashback in USDT — but rewards only accrue on crypto-funded transactions, fiat-funded spending earns nothing, and a number of country-specific fees and caps apply. The Young Card pays cashback in its own YNG token, with a rate that depends on the Club tier, which adds token-price risk on top of everything else. The MSX card is broadly comparable to Coinbase for everyday use, but specifics about its costs, regions and rewards are not stated in the public pages I could read, so I would not rely on it without checking the issuer’s own disclosure first.
If you live in the United States and the Coinbase card is available to you, the comparison question is mostly about reward rate. If you live anywhere else, it is mostly about which exchanges issue cards in your country at all, and Coinbase is not currently one of them.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend the Coinbase card to a US resident who already has a Coinbase account, keeps a meaningful balance there and wants to spend it through Visa without manually selling first. The zero issuance, zero monthly and zero spending fee setup is genuinely strong, and the Pathward-and-Marqeta stack is the right kind of boring underneath. The reward rate is small and variable, so I would not pick this card for the cashback alone; I would pick it for the convenience.
I would not recommend it to a non-US resident, because it is not available to you. I would not recommend it to anyone who wants to hold a foreign-currency balance on the card, because the card is USD-only. I would not recommend it to anyone who needs a high cashback rate, because the rotating crypto reward is modest and the conversion spread is the real cost. I would not recommend it as a primary spending card to anyone who is uncomfortable with a custodial crypto platform, because the funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank, not in a wallet you hold the keys to. And I would not recommend it as a safe place to park money long-term — the card is a spending tool, and any balance you are not about to spend is better off wherever else you keep your dollars.
If the card is available to you and you use Coinbase already, the practical path is straightforward: finish your identity check, create a virtual card first to test the spread on a small purchase, order the physical card if you need the plastic, opt in to a reward only if the projected return beats the spread, and keep an eye on the in-app spending and ATM limits because they vary per customer and the help center is the only place to see them.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Coinbase card?
The Coinbase card is a Visa prepaid debit card issued in the United States, virtual or physical, that spends the balance in your Coinbase account. At the moment of payment, any crypto in that balance is converted to US dollars, and the card is accepted wherever Visa is taken.
How does the Coinbase card work?
You keep funds in your Coinbase account — fiat or crypto — and the card pulls from that balance at the till. The crypto is converted to US dollars at payment, a conversion spread applies, and you can opt in to a small rotating crypto reward on each purchase.
Is Coinbase a bank?
No. Coinbase is a cryptocurrency exchange, not a bank. The card itself is issued by Pathward, N.A., which is a Member FDIC bank, but Coinbase is the programme manager and the brand on the front of the card.
Who owns Coinbase?
Coinbase Global, Inc. is a publicly listed US company. The card programme is run by Coinbase, with Pathward, N.A. as the issuing bank and Marqeta as the issuing platform, under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc.
Is the Coinbase card available in my country?
At the time of writing, the card is available only to US residents, and it is not offered in Hawaii. There is no public list of additional supported countries, so if you live outside the United States, treat it as not available to you.
How do I apply for the Coinbase card?
You complete the identity check on Coinbase, then create a virtual card or order a physical card from inside the Coinbase app. There is no credit check and no staking requirement, and the card appears once your account is approved.
Does the Coinbase card require KYC?
Yes. Card account opening follows the USA PATRIOT Act identity rules, so you give your name, address, date of birth and a government-issued ID, and Coinbase may ask for a driver’s licence or another document. Card use may be limited until verification is finished.
How do I top up the Coinbase card?
You fund the underlying Coinbase account by linking a US bank account or by depositing part of your paycheck into Coinbase. Both are listed as zero-fee, and the card spends that balance; the card itself has no separate “add money” button.
Is the Coinbase card free?
There is no issuance fee, no monthly fee and no Coinbase transaction fee on purchases. The cost is the spread Coinbase charges when it converts your crypto to US dollars at the moment of payment; that spread is the only meaningful fee in normal use.
Is the Coinbase card safe?
Funds sit with Coinbase and the issuing bank, so this is a custodial product — you are trusting those two institutions with the balance, not holding the keys yourself. Visa Zero Liability applies if you report a lost or stolen card promptly, and older agreement terms describe FDIC eligibility for funds transferred from the Coinbase USD Wallet, subject to deposit-insurance requirements.
Choosing an exchange card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
