A prepaid Visa out of a crypto balance, cheap to hold and simple to load, but thin on the details and shaky on trust
TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card that spends out of a crypto balance held at Takenos. It is aimed, plainly, at Latin American crypto holders who want to pay in dollars without opening a traditional bank account, and at anyone else who finds ordinary banking closed to them. On that narrow promise it mostly delivers: the virtual card is cheap, the fees are simple, and paying in dollars costs what a dollar costs. Where it falls short is disclosure. The help pages are the only place most of the numbers come from, several of them contradict each other, and the company behind it names no issuer, no licence, and no legal entity. My score is 5.5 out of 10 — respectable as a tool, uncomfortable as a trust.
Conditions and figures on this page are current as of October 28, 2026.
The score: 5.5 out of 10, and why it sits there
TakeCard is a 5.5 / 10 card. It is not a bad card. It is a card that works well for a narrow set of people and asks you to take a lot on trust for a wider set. If you already hold crypto, already have a way to move dollars, and you are paying in USD, you will probably be fine. If you need to know precisely who holds your money and what they are licensed to do, this is the wrong page of the internet to be on.
The score, criterion by criterion
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 4 / 10 | Countries are not listed in the help articles; the physical card is Bolivia only |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Virtual card USD 5, 1% per purchase, USD payments 1:1; no monthly fee named |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | Top up from a Takenos balance; coins and networks not named on the pages |
| Reliability and complaints | 4 / 10 | No issuer or licence named, card issued in the US; Trustpilot 3.2 from 147 reviews |
| Everyday use | 7 / 10 | Virtual card immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM limit USD 250 per transaction |
Total: 5.5 / 10.
The pattern is easy to read. Where TakeCard is a practical tool — the price, the day-to-day spending — it does well. Where it is a financial counterparty you are asked to trust — who holds the funds, under what licence, what happens when something goes wrong — it does badly. The Trustpilot figure of 3.2 out of 5 across 147 reviews is not a rounding error on someone’s bad day; it is a pattern of frozen funds and unanswered complaints, and I return to it below.
Who will they give you the card to?
Officially, the answer is thin. The help articles do not list the countries you can sign up from. The physical card is “available only to Bolivian users for now”. The Takenos site says the wallet can receive payments “from any country” — but that is about the wallet, not about card eligibility.
There is a starting list of countries for the virtual card — Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy — but I could not confirm it on a TakeCard page I could read, so treat it as unofficial. Third-party listings carry it; the card’s own pages do not state it.
The one hard line I would draw for you: if you are not in the Latin American markets the wallet was built around, do not assume the card is available to you. Sign-up may be refused at the identity-check stage for reasons the card does not publish. There is no stated list of what does *not* work either — no country exclusions, no “we don’t serve X”. You find out by trying.
How to get it
Getting the card is straightforward once you are eligible, and the identity check is the part worth understanding.
What you need to hand over. A photo of the front and back of your DNI, plus a short gesture video — a biometric check. It is a one-time check, and the card says up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and proof of age are not stated, so do not assume they are skipped; they may simply be part of the back-and-forth the article does not describe.
The steps, as the card describes them. In the app: Tarjetas → “Internacional” → “Quiero mi tarjeta”. Pass the identity check. The card is then notified as ready.
What you get. A virtual card, available immediately. A physical card, in Bolivia only. The article names Visa as the network. The card is issued in the United States. It is prepaid. The card currency is USD, and USD payments go through 1:1.
Shipping, Bolivia only. USD 20 per the fee page. Delivery time and the cost of a replacement are not stated.
The catch on the identity check. There is a single one-time check, not a tiered system. The levels, and the reasons a check can be refused, are not stated. So if it fails, you are not going to be told from the published rules why.
Fees: what it really costs
The good news about TakeCard’s pricing is that there is not much of it, and what there is, is stated. The bad news is one figure that is not.

| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Virtual card issuance | USD 5 |
| Physical card (Bolivia) | USD 20 issuance |
| Shipping (Bolivia) | USD 20 |
| Commission per purchase | 1% |
| USD payments | 1:1, no currency adjustment |
| Other currencies | Official Visa rate on the day of the transaction |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM fee (Takenos) | 1% of the amount |
| ATM operator fee | Usually around USD 5 |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Default weekly spending limit | USD 5,000 |
| ATM limit per transaction | USD 250, including the ATM fee |
| ATM limit per day | USD 750, over up to 3 transactions |
| ATM attempts | 3 per 24 hours |
There is a conflict I will not smooth over: one article in the same help centre says the physical card in Bolivia is USD 10, while the fee page says USD 20. Two prices for the same product in the same place is a small thing, but it is a sign of how carefully the documentation is maintained.
Two or three everyday payments, and which fees bite.
- *A USD 20 subscription.* You pay 1% — USD 0.20 — on top of USD 20. No conversion, no other fee named. This is the cleanest case the card has.
- *A EUR 50 purchase from a dollar balance.* You pay 1% — EUR 0.50 in commission terms — and the dollar amount is set by Visa’s rate that day. The card’s articles also cover ARS and EUR payments, so both are ordinary here, but the rate is the day’s rate, not a guaranteed one.
- *A USD 250 ATM withdrawal.* Takenos takes 1% — USD 2.50 — and the ATM operator typically adds around USD 5. Total cost on a USD 250 withdrawal is roughly USD 7.50 in fees, on top of the withdrawal itself. That is the most expensive ordinary thing this card does.
The crypto conversion fee is not stated. If you are converting on the way to the card rather than holding dollars already, that is the number that would matter most, and it is the one the pages leave out.
How to Top up the card
Top up from your Takenos balance. That is the whole instruction on the card’s own page. The coins are not named in the article.

A starting list — USDC and USDT, over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron or Ethereum — circulates in third-party material, but I could not verify it on a TakeCard page, so it is unofficial. Do not treat those networks as supported until you have seen it confirmed in the app.
Three things the TakeCard articles simply do not state, and all three are ones you would want before your first deposit:
- the deposit fee;
- the minimum deposit;
- who pays the network fee.
On-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so a transfer will cost something over and above the amount you send. And blockchain transfers are irreversible. A deposit sent to the wrong network, or to an address of another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee.
One further gap: cash out. The card documents ATM withdrawal. Withdrawing back to crypto or to a bank account, and what happens to a remaining balance when you close the account, are not stated on the pages I could read.
Paying with it every day
Mobile wallets. Apple Pay works on iPhone, Apple Watch and iPad, and you can add the card once per 24 hours by entering it manually. Google Pay and PayPal both have help articles, which is a good sign they are supported. In every case the card number is replaced by a device-specific number stored on the device, with a fresh security code per payment — the standard mechanism, and a real improvement over handing over a card number.
The card itself. Virtual, available immediately, in Bolivia also plastic. Issued in the US, which matters more than it sounds: a merchant can look up the issuing country from the card number and apply extra scrutiny if it differs from the billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason. Expect the occasional decline in a shop that does not expect a US-issued prepaid Visa.
ATM. Any ATM that accepts other institutions’ cards, with either the virtual or the physical card. Limits are tight by design: USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee, USD 750 a day across up to three transactions, three attempts per 24 hours.
Limits. No fixed spending limit — the balance is the limit. A default weekly cap of USD 5,000, changeable in the app under Tarjetas → Ajustes → Límites y restricciones. That default is generous for most people, and worth lowering if the card is the weak link in your financial life.
Blocked categories. Not stated. Many issuers block gambling (MCC 7995) and similar categories by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer. You will not find out what TakeCard’s policy is from the published pages.
Rewards. Not stated.
The app. iOS and Android, one link. I did not read the ratings, so I will not characterise them.
When something goes wrong with a payment. For an unauthorised payment: pause the card in the app, then contact support with the date, the amount and the merchant. No time frame for handling is given, and chargeback is not mentioned — I would not assume one. For refunds, money goes back to the Takenos balance, typically 15 to 30 business days after the merchant processes the return.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would read twice.
Nobody will tell you who holds your money. The provider is Takenos. A starting source names Global Flow S.A.U., but that is not confirmed on the site. The site names no legal entity, no issuer and no licences. The card is stated to be issued in the United States. So you are asked to hand over crypto, receive a card, and trust a provider whose regulatory status is not published — while a licence is exactly the thing that would tell you what recourse you have if it goes wrong.
Frozen funds are the recurring complaint. Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, 28 of them in the last 12 months. The recurring themes are an account deactivated without explanation with over USD 10,000 held and no replies (July 2026, user report), and the company not responding to negative reviews (2026, user report). One reviewer says he was asked to deposit USD 200 to verify (September 2025, user report). Official incidents: none found. That is not a rebuttal of the reviews — it means there is no regulator-published record either way. But the pattern of frozen money with no answer is the exact failure mode that turns a convenient card into a costly one.
A cost trap in Argentina. An Argentine article says the card remains over 15% more expensive than the “financial dollar” because other levies apply. So the 1% purchase fee is not the whole story in at least one market the card serves.
A trusted-custody risk that is not small. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. This is not theoretical. Mt. Gox lost about US$350 million as reported between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. A seed phrase — 12 to 24 words — is the key to the funds, and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend. Transfers are typically irreversible, with no built-in recovery.
Programmes can be closed. Card programmes have been wound down before: FTX’s US debit card was terminated by Visa in November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended in Europe in 2018, closing every programme it had issued. A closure typically means a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw what is left.
Stablecoins are not what the name suggests. A stablecoin aims to hold a steady value, but they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And they are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on sanctions lists and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
The everyday frictions. Address verification — comparing the billing address a buyer types against issuer records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. A declined authorisation can also leave a hold on your funds for up to seven days. And if you are in the EU, note that MiCA’s transitional window for existing providers ran only until 1 July 2026 or until a MiCA authorisation was granted or refused, whichever came first — and that a card is a payment service regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often rests on two licences, not one.
What protection you probably do not have. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. Whether your card is custodial is not stated at all.
The safeguards that do exist. You can pause the card in the app, report a lost or stolen card, and set the ATM PIN in the app. Standard 3-D Secure applies. Those are real, and they are not enough to answer the frozen-funds reports.
What to take instead
Three crypto cards come up in the same conversation, and comparing them honestly means admitting what is not stated about them too.
| Card | Score | What it is | Stated cost | The catch |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TakeCard | 5.5 / 10 | Prepaid Visa, issued in the US, USD | Virtual USD 5; 1% per purchase | No issuer or licence named |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | Debit crypto card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay | Not stated | “200+ countries” with no list; App Store listing is Naira-focused |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Virtual card free | Aimed at Nigeria; fees not stated |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | Prepaid card, USD or EUR balance | Not stated; App Store page lists no fees | “176 countries” is acceptance, not eligibility |
Cardex scores fractionally higher and offers something TakeCard does not: several networks, including Visa and Mastercard, plus a stated real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” the site says scans global exchange rates. No fee percentage is stated, and its “200+ countries” claim comes with no exclusions listed. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in Naira, which tells you more about its centre of gravity than the headline does.
CardFlow is the cheapest to start — creating a virtual card is free — and quick. It is aimed at Nigeria and “Nigerians and global users”, funds from Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer, and states no fees.
HyperCard funds by depositing USDT, BTC or ETH and converts to USD or EUR. Its “more than 176 countries” line is about where the card is accepted, not who can get one — a distinction worth holding onto whenever you read these numbers.
None of the three states its issuer or licence more clearly than TakeCard does. The whole category is thin on disclosure; that is why my marks cluster in the middle rather than spreading out.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend it if you hold crypto already, you mostly spend in dollars, you want a card number you can put in Apple Pay today, and you can afford to treat the balance as money you are willing to lose. The USD 5 virtual card and the 1% purchase fee are honest prices for what it does, and the fact that USD payments are 1:1 is a real advantage over cards that convert twice.
I would think twice if you need to know who is regulated, you are planning to hold a significant balance on it, you are outside the Latin American markets it was built for, or you plan to use the ATM. The USD 250-per-transaction cap and fee on a USD 250 withdrawal make cash a poor use of this card.
I would not recommend it if the Trustpilot pattern is the thing that decides you — or rather, I would say do not put money into it that you are not willing to have frozen while you chase an answer.
The honest summary is this: TakeCard is a competently built prepaid card attached to a provider that tells you very little about itself. That combination can be fine and can also be the worst of both worlds. Check who issued the card before you load it anything you care about — and if the app will not tell you, that is itself the answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is TakeCard?
TakeCard is a prepaid Visa card that spends from a crypto balance held at Takenos, its provider. It is issued in the United States and denominated in dollars. You top up, the balance converts to dollars, and the card behaves like an ordinary prepaid Visa at the till. It is aimed mainly at Latin American crypto holders who want to pay in USD.
How does the TakeCard card work?
You convert or deposit crypto into your Takenos balance, then load the card from that balance. The card is prepaid, so it can only spend what is loaded — there is no overdraft. Payments in dollars go through at 1:1. Other currencies are converted at the official Visa rate on the day of the transaction. A single one-time identity check, up to 24 business hours, comes first.
Is TakeCard a bank?
No — and it does not claim to be. It is a card programme run by Takenos, with no legal entity, issuer or licences named on the site. The card is stated to be issued in the United States, but who issues it is not published. That matters: it means your usual bank protections may simply not attach to this card.
Who owns TakeCard?
The provider is Takenos, which also runs the wallet the card spends from. A starting source names Global Flow S.A.U. as the owning entity, but that is not confirmed on TakeCard’s own site. Support is reachable through in-app chat, WhatsApp on +54 9 11 2471-6668, or [email protected]; the help centre has an English path but its articles are written in Spanish.
Can I use the TakeCard card in my country?
You can probably spend it wherever Visa is accepted, but that is different from being able to get one. The help articles do not list eligible countries. The physical card is Bolivia only. An unofficial list for the virtual card names Argentina, Bolivia, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Colombia, Ecuador, the US, Spain and Italy — but I could not confirm it on a TakeCard page, so check in the app before you count on it.
Does the TakeCard card require KYC?
Yes. It asks for a photo of the front and back of your DNI and a short gesture video for a biometric check. It is a one-time check, taking up to 24 business hours. Proof of address and age are not stated, and neither are the reasons a check might be refused. There is one identity check, not a tiered system.
How do I top up the TakeCard card?
From your Takenos balance — that is the whole instruction the card gives. The coins are not named on the TakeCard pages. Third-party material lists USDC and USDT over Polygon, BNB Chain, Tron and Ethereum, but that is unofficial. The deposit fee, minimum deposit, and who pays the network fee are all not stated, so confirm them in the app before your first transfer.
How do I withdraw money from TakeCard?
Through an ATM, using either the virtual or the physical card, at any ATM that accepts other institutions’ cards. The limits are USD 250 per transaction including the ATM fee, and USD 750 a day over up to three transactions, with three attempts allowed per 24 hours. Withdrawing back to crypto or to a bank account is not stated on the pages I could read.
Is the TakeCard card safe?
It has the ordinary safeguards: pause the card in the app, report it lost or stolen, set the ATM PIN in the app, and 3-D Secure on online payments. But no issuer or licence is named, whether the funds are custodial is not stated, and Trustpilot shows 3.2 out of 5 from 147 reviews, with recurring complaints of accounts deactivated and funds held with no reply. Judge it on that, not on the safeguards.
Is the TakeCard card worth it?
If you spend in dollars and already hold crypto, the 1% purchase fee and 1:1 dollar payments are good value, and USD 5 for the virtual card is cheap. It stops being worth it when you need cash, need to know who is regulated, or want to hold a large balance somewhere with clear protections. Those are the three cases where I would look elsewhere — and where you would look elsewhere, be aware the alternatives are just as vague about their issuers.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
