A US dollar card for people who cannot get a normal one — and what it costs to hold one
The US Unlocked card is a virtual Visa card that lets you hold a balance, load it from crypto or from ordinary payment rails, and spend it at American online shops in dollars. That is the whole idea, and for a particular reader it solves a real and otherwise awkward problem. The card’s own terms require the holder to confirm that they are not a United States citizen, and it is aimed at people living outside the US who cannot get a normal bank card issued to them. If that is you — paying a US platform that keeps declining your local card — the card does a specific job.
It also comes with things to weigh: a subscription you pay whether or not you spend, a 2% fee to load from crypto, a 3% fee on payments where the merchant will not take dollars, a $3,000 balance cap, no physical card, and a Trustpilot score of 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews. My score is 5.1 out of 10 — a card with a clear use case and a thin margin for error around it.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
The US Unlocked card is at its best for non-US residents who pay US online shops in dollars. That is the audience it is designed for, and for someone whose usual card is refused by US checkout pages, having a genuine Visa number that a merchant will accept is worth the subscription. If you are one of those people, read the costs and the risk section before you load money — not to be discouraged, but because the fee structure is easy to underestimate and the balance cap is real.
It is a poor fit if you need a card for daily life in your own country. This is a dollar-denominated, online, no-plastic card with no ATM function described, so it cannot replace the card in your wallet. It is also a poor fit if you want to hold a large balance or move money in and out often: the maximum balance is $3,000, the unload fee is $10, and withdrawal back to crypto or a bank account is not described on the pages I read. And if the idea of your balance being frozen or your account closed after a deposit is what you are trying to escape, note that this is precisely the complaint pattern reported on Trustpilot.
So: 5.1 out of 10. Not a bad card for one job, but a narrow job, sitting on top of a support record that gives me pause.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Any resident outside the US with valid ID and proof of address; roughly 175 countries on the countries page, no exclusion list published |
| Cost | 4 / 10 | $4.95 monthly or $39.95 yearly subscription, $2 for a one-time-use card, 2% to load crypto, 3% on non-USD payments, $10 to unload |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto and stablecoins plus SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay and credit cards; coins and networks not named, crypto arrives in 1-2 hours |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Tern Commerce Inc., card issued by “Third National” under Visa licence; a payment-partner problem acknowledged in March 2026; Trustpilot 1.9 from 113 reviews, accounts under review and closed after deposits |
| Everyday use | 3 / 10 | Virtual Visa in dollars only, $3,000 balance ceiling, Apple Pay and Google Pay exist only as load methods, no plastic and no ATM |
| Total | 5.1 / 10 | A specialist dollar card for one specific situation |
Will they give you the card
Yes, if you live outside the United States and can show a government photo ID and proof of address. That is the whole eligibility rule, and it is worth reading carefully because it is unusually broad in one direction and completely closed in another. US residents are not eligible. The card terms require the holder to attest: “You are not a United States citizen.”
The countries page lists about 175 available countries, running from Albania through Zambia, and including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. Two things follow. First, the list is long, so most places you might be reading this from are covered. Second, no excluded list is published, which means the countries page is a list of what works rather than a guarantee that nothing else does — and it is the rule itself, not the list, that is the real gate.
The rule is based on residence, not citizenship, and there is a practical reason that distinction exists. Merchants can look at the issuer identification numbers in a card number and see which institution and country issued it, and they may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the customer’s billing address. This is why a card issued in one country looks “foreign” to a shop in another. Cards are issued here in the United States and billed to a US billing address, and that mismatch is exactly the thing that makes foreign cards fail at US checkouts.
A last practical note on who gets through: prepaid and debit cards are generally available to adults aged 18 and over, and some issuers set higher limits. The card’s own public pages do not state an age requirement — this is stated as not stated — so if you are under 18, ask support rather than assume.
How to get it
The process is short, and the card is a thing you do not physically receive. Four steps: register, verify your ID, choose a plan, load the account; the cards are issued after that.
Verification is a single step. You need a government-issued photo ID, and a recent utility bill or bank statement may also be asked for as proof of address. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted, which is worth knowing before you start — a virtual address is a common instinct for someone without a traditional utility relationship, and here it will simply fail. The card’s own time estimate is typically under 3 minutes, up to 24 hours. If it is rejected, the stated reasons are an expired ID, poor image quality or mismatched information, and some applications go to additional review.
What arrives is digital only; there is no physical card. You get a virtual Visa in USD, issued under licence from Visa, and you view the card number, CVV and expiry in the web dashboard after confirming by SMS or one-time code. Three card types are described:
- US Unlocked Card — the open-to-buy card, usable wherever the card is accepted.
- Store Locked Card — locks itself to the first merchant you use it with.
- One-Time Use Card — deletes itself after a single transaction.
The two restricted types are the interesting ones for anyone nervous about a card number sitting in a dashboard. A store-locked card is a reasonable middle ground: usable, but only at the one shop you picked. A one-time-use card is for a single subscription or a single purchase, and then it is finished.
What it really costs: Fees, limits, and what a purchase eats
The headline is the subscription, and it is not optional. There is no free trial. Then there is the load fee, and the fee that catches people out is the currency one — a 3% charge when the merchant does not accept dollars, which can apply to a purchase you thought was simply “a payment”.

Let me show you three ordinary purchases against the actual fee list, so the numbers do the arguing. Take a cardholder in Germany paying for a US software subscription, loading from crypto.
Purchase one — a $20 monthly subscription billed in dollars. The subscription fee applies to the account, not the purchase: $4.95 a month, or $39.95 a year. If the merchant takes dollars, no currency fee. What you pay is the monthly plan plus the load fee you already paid. If you loaded $100 of crypto, that load cost 2%, so $2, before the $4.95 month.
Purchase two — the same $20 subscription at a merchant that will not take dollars. Now the 3% foreign currency transaction fee applies: $0.60 on $20. It applies “when the merchant does not accept USD”, per the card terms. Note the tension in the card’s own documentation: the FAQ says cards are billed in USD with no FX, while the terms carry the 3%. Which one applies in practice is exactly the kind of thing you find out by being declined once — so for a non-dollar merchant, assume the fee is there.
Purchase three — a $50 order that the merchant’s bank reverses, or a declined $0.00 authorisation. There is a $0.50 fee for $0.00 transactions, and a $30 fee for a returned or reversed payment. The $30 one is the number to keep in your head: it is not a rounding artefact, it is a share of the order value, and it is what you would be trying to recover.
The full list, and the limits that sit next to it:
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Subscription, monthly plan | $4.95 per month |
| Subscription, annual plan | $39.95 per year (“Save 33%”) |
| Additional Everyday Spend Cards | $1 per month each (the FAQ text says $2 each; the pricing page and card terms say $1/month) |
| One-Time Use Card | $2 each |
| Free trial | None |
| Crypto load fee | 2% |
| Foreign currency transaction fee | 3% when the merchant does not accept USD |
| $0.00 transaction fee | $0.50 |
| Returned or reversed payment fee | $30 |
| Unload fee | $10 |
| ATM fees | Not stated — the cards are virtual and described for US e-commerce |
| Maximum balance | $3,000 per account |
| Spending limit | Generally set by US Unlocked; the issuer may set additional limits |
Two things in that table deserve a second look. The $3,000 balance cap is the real ceiling on how useful this is as a bridge for larger money. And the additional-card price is quoted inconsistently in the card’s own material — $2 each in the FAQ, $1 per month on the pricing page and in the terms — so if you are planning several cards, price it with the higher number until the card tells you otherwise.
Both plans include one Everyday Spend Card, up to 10 cards in total, and no domestic USD transaction fees. There are no tiers beyond monthly and annual.
How to Top up
You have two families of option, and the choice between them is really a choice between speed and cost. Crypto and stablecoins arrive in 1-2 hours. SEPA and UK Faster Payments arrive in 3-5 business days. Card loads through Apple Pay, Google Pay or a credit card are usually instant. Minimum top-up is not stated on the pages I read.

| Method | Fee | Arrival |
|---|---|---|
| Crypto / stablecoins | 2% | 1-2 hours |
| SEPA / UK Faster Payments | $2.00 + 2% on the pricing page (the FAQ says SEPA $0.70 + 4.5%) | 3-5 business days |
| Apple Pay / Google Pay / credit card | $1.00 + 5% | Usually instant |
Which methods you actually see varies by country. PayPal and Venmo are not supported.
The crypto route has one detail that matters more than the fee. The coins and networks are not named on the pages I read, and blockchain transfers are irreversible — so a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to another network, can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. Sending USDC on Tron, for instance, is not something you can assume works just because USDC exists on many networks. Get the network right before you send, and if the pages do not tell you which ones are supported, ask support in writing and keep the answer. Separately, any network fee for the transfer itself is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so it comes out of what you send.
Loads are non-reversible once submitted. That is not a scam signal; it is what a blockchain transfer is. But combined with the deposit-related complaints below, it is the reason I would load small amounts first and confirm the card works before loading a meaningful balance.
As for getting money back off: balance-to-crypto or balance-to-bank withdrawal is not described on the pages I read. There is an $10 unload fee, and closing the account requires a $0 balance. So plan this card as one-way in the practical sense — spend what you load.
Paying with it every day
Here is the honest answer: this is not an everyday card in the ordinary sense, and “daily” for this card means online payments in dollars to merchants that accept dollars.
There is no physical card. There is no ATM function described. Apple Pay and Google Pay appear only as ways of loading money, and adding the card to a phone wallet is not described anywhere I read — so the “pay with your phone” experience these wallets normally provide is not part of this product. If you are looking for something to tap on a café counter, this is not it.
Certain merchant categories are restricted, among them high-risk categories such as gambling, crypto, adult, money transfer and weapons, and the terms also mention internet gambling and cash-like purchases such as lottery tickets and casino chips. Blocking on gambling is normal policy across the industry rather than a mark against this card — the merchant category code 7995 covers casinos, betting and lotteries, and issuers block it on specific cards by policy, with a different blocked list per issuer.
There is no rewards structure to note. No cashback is mentioned on the card’s public pages — stated as not stated — so treat any expectation of earning back something as unfounded. There is also no mobile app: it is a website dashboard, with no App Store or Google Play listing mentioned.
Disputes are handled in the ordinary way and the timeline is worth knowing in advance. You contact the merchant first, then open a dispute with support. A disputed charge should be reported within 60 days of the statement. Chargebacks resolved in the cardholder’s favour are credited back to the account. Two things can hold money longer than you would like: a pre-authorization hold can take up to 31 days to release, and a declined authorization can leave a hold that stays for several days. If you see fraud, email support immediately and mark the charge in the dashboard.
That 31-day figure is the number I would plan around. A subscription that authorizes a larger amount and releases slowly can leave your balance looking spent for a month.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would not skip, because the risk here is not hypothetical and it is not about market volatility.
Accounts being closed or frozen after a deposit. The most consistent complaint theme on Trustpilot is accounts placed under review or closed after deposits, reported across January, June, July and September 2026. This is not a fringe pattern; it is the thing users complain about most. And it maps onto how this industry works: if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is why accounts are closed or frozen pending documents. Where you live and what your documents say are doing real work here.
Merchants declining the card. Reported from February 2026 through September 2026. This is partly structural: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, and address verification compares the numeric parts of the billing address with issuer records — something mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. You are holding a US-issued card with a US billing address, which helps, but not every merchant’s systems are set up for prepaid cards.
An acknowledged payment-partner problem. On 7 March 2026 the company replied on Trustpilot acknowledging an ongoing issue with its payment partner. When the operator of a card publicly confirms a live problem with the party that moves the money, that is worth weighing on its own.
Fee disputes. Reports include billing and refund disputes, an annual fee charged instead of monthly in September 2026, and fees kept after cancelling in November 2025.
A shrinking card allowance. The cards-per-account cap has reportedly been cut from unlimited to 100 and then to 10, over the 2025-2026 period.
The wider category has a poor history, and it is fair to weigh it. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was being wound down by its issuer. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. And program closures follow a pattern — a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw remaining balances.
On the positive side, and this is genuinely to the card’s credit: no licence or fine events surfaced in the news I checked. In October 2025 the company launched in the UK with Faster Payments and in Australia. On security, the sensible basics are present — 2FA via authenticator app, SMS or one-time code before card details are shown, 3-D Secure mentioned, the account auto-locking after 30 minutes of inactivity, and the restricted card types that cap exposure. What is not described is any safeguarding of the funds. Support is email and a contact form, Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 6 PM EST, with languages not stated — worth weighing if you are outside those hours.
One structural note that I think matters for anyone deciding between similar cards. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key; with a custodial setup the provider holds the credentials and you trust them completely, and a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words in unencrypted form that anyone obtaining can use to restore the wallet and spend its funds. Custodial platforms have failed before — Mt. Gox (about $350 million reported stolen, 2011-2014), Coincheck (about $400 million, 2018), Ronin Network ($625 million, 2022). A card with no stated safeguarding of funds is asking for trust on top of that.
What to take instead
If US Unlocked is not right for you, the honest first move is usually not another crypto card — it is an ordinary bank or e-money account in your own country, which gives you a debit card, an ATM and consumer protection you can actually rely on. That said, you are reading here because that has not worked, so here is what the alternatives on the table actually look like.
Cardex scores 5.6 / 10, slightly above this card. It advertises “one crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list and no exclusions published, and its App Store listing is Naira-focused, paying in Naira. It is a debit crypto card on the networks VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, with virtual and physical cards, and it converts crypto to fiat at the moment of payment — the site describes an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one at the moment you spend. No fee percentage is stated. Funding is from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets, networks not stated.
CardFlow scores 4.9 / 10. It is aimed at Nigeria — “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” — and at “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list or exclusions stated. It is a virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes, and creating a virtual card is described as completely free in its FAQ, though no monthly fee is stated. Fees are not stated. You can fund it with Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer.
HyperCard scores 4.7 / 10. Its official pages state no country list, though the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries” — that is acceptance, not eligibility, and the difference matters. It is a prepaid card with the network not stated on the App Store page, holding either USD or EUR. No fees are listed on the pages I could read. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it is converted to USD or EUR on the card; networks not stated.
Put side by side, the pattern is uncomfortable: none of these three states its costs as clearly as US Unlocked does, and none of them publishes the eligibility detail. US Unlocked at least tells you its price, its balance cap and its load fees in public. That is a real, if narrow, advantage, and it is part of why its 5.1 is not lower.
| US Unlocked | Cardex | CardFlow | HyperCard | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.1 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 4.7 / 10 |
| Who it is for | Non-US residents paying US shops in dollars | 200+ countries; Naira-focused listing | Nigeria and global users | Acceptance in 176+ countries |
| Card | Virtual Visa, USD | Debit crypto card, VERVE/Visa/Mastercard/UnionPay | Virtual USD Mastercard | Prepaid, network not stated |
| Physical card | No | Yes, per App Store | Not described | Not described |
| Stated cost | $4.95/month or $39.95/year | Not stated | Virtual card free to create; monthly fee not stated | Not stated |
| Funding | Crypto, stablecoins, SEPA, UK Faster Payments, Apple Pay, Google Pay, credit cards | USDT, USDC, BTC wallets | BTC, USDT, ETH, Naira bank transfer | USDT, BTC, ETH in the app |
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to one person: someone living outside the US, who holds crypto or stablecoins or has SEPA, and who needs to pay a specific American platform that declines their normal card in dollars. Buy the annual plan if you know you will use it past a few months — it is cheaper, and the inclusions are identical. Load in small amounts first. Start with a One-Time Use Card for that single subscription you were blocked on, or a Store Locked Card for one merchant, before you open an unrestricted card. Turn on authenticator 2FA. And if you are in a hurry, send support one email and ask them three things in writing: which networks and coins are accepted for loads, whether the 3% currency fee applies to your specific merchant, and how long a hold can sit before the balance is usable again.
I would not recommend it as your main card, as a way to hold more than $3,000, as a card you top up monthly, or to anyone who would be devastated by a balance being frozen mid-payment — because that is a complaint pattern users have reported repeatedly, and a $30 reversal fee on top of a freeze is a bad afternoon.
And if you have no urgent US payment to make, my honest preference is to spend the energy getting an ordinary card in your own country instead. Everything above is a workaround for a gap that a local e-money account would close more cheaply.
Frequently asked questions
What is US Unlocked card?
It is a virtual Visa card in US dollars that you load and spend at American online shops, run by Tern Commerce Inc. and issued under licence from Visa by “Third National”. It is virtual only — no physical card is sent — and you hold at most $3,000 on the account. A subscription of $4.95 monthly or $39.95 a year applies, with no free trial.
How does the US Unlocked card work?
You register, verify your ID, choose a monthly or annual plan, load the account, and the card is issued in the dashboard, where the number, CVV and expiry appear after SMS verification. You spend the loaded balance like a prepaid card. There are three types: the open US Unlocked Card, a Store Locked Card that locks to the first merchant, and a One-Time Use Card that deletes after a single payment.
Who owns US Unlocked?
The brand belongs to Tern Commerce Inc., and the card programme itself is issued by “Third National” under licence from Visa. The registration country is not stated on the pages I read. In practice the important point is that Visa licenses the issuer and can suspend a programme — it does not issue these cards to consumers itself.
Is US Unlocked a bank?
The public pages do not describe it as a bank, and they do not describe any safeguarding of the funds you load. What they do describe is e-money-style behaviour: a stored balance, a maximum of $3,000, and an $10 unload fee. That is a meaningfully different position from a deposit at a bank, and it is worth holding onto when you weigh trust.
Which countries can use US Unlocked?
About 175 countries appear on the countries page, from Albania to Zambia, including Kazakhstan, Georgia, Armenia, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova and Turkmenistan. No exclusion list is published. The actual rule is residence-based: you must live outside the US, show valid ID and proof of address, and confirm you are not a US citizen.
Does US Unlocked require KYC or identity checks?
Yes, a single verification step: a government-issued photo ID, and possibly a recent utility bill or bank statement. PO boxes and virtual addresses are not accepted. Rejections are usually an expired ID, poor image quality or mismatched information. This is standard practice for regulated services, and it is also why accounts sometimes get frozen — incomplete due diligence forces the provider to stop.
How do I top up the card, and is it free?
You can send crypto or stablecoins, arriving in 1-2 hours for a 2% fee, or use SEPA and UK Faster Payments, which arrive in 3-5 business days, or Apple Pay, Google Pay or a credit card for 1% plus $1, usually instantly. PayPal and Venmo are not supported. Loads are non-reversible once submitted, and the coins and networks accepted are not named publicly.
Can I add the US Unlocked card to Apple Wallet?
That is not described on the pages I read. Apple Pay and Google Pay appear only as ways of loading money onto the account, not as a way of paying with the card from a phone wallet. So do not assume a contactless phone payment experience — the card’s normal use is typing the details into a checkout page.
Is US Unlocked safe, and what about the reviews?
Security basics are in place: authenticator 2FA, a one-time code before viewing card details, 3-D Secure, auto-lock after 30 minutes and restricted card types. Against that, Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 113 reviews, 18 of them in the last 12 months, with the main themes being accounts closed or reviewed after deposits, merchant declines, and fee disputes. The company itself acknowledged an ongoing payment-partner problem on 7 March 2026.
Is US Unlocked worth it?
Only if your alternative is failing you. For paying a specific US platform that declines your usual card, a dollar Visa number for $4.95 a month is a reasonable price. For anything else it is not: $3,000 balance cap, a 3% fee at non-dollar merchants, a $30 reversal fee, no physical card, no ATM and no stated way to withdraw. Judge it against that, not against free alternatives that do not exist for you.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
