Cheap on paper, thin in practice: the Monica Pay card read closely
Monica Pay is a virtual dollar card aimed squarely at one audience: Nigerian residents who hold crypto and want to spend it. That focus is its strength and its limit at the same time. The stated economics are attractive — 0% conversion fees when you sell crypto for naira and load the card — and the card runs on Visa and Mastercard networks, so it works wherever those are accepted. But the card is virtual only, no Apple Pay or Google Pay support is mentioned, no ATM is described, and the fee schedule on the public pages stops after the one number that flatters it most. My score is 5.6 out of 10.
If you are outside Nigeria and wondering whether you can get one, the short answer is that the public pages are Nigeria-centred and do not list eligible countries. If you are in Nigeria and want a simple way to turn crypto into everyday spending, the offer is coherent and unusually cheap on its headline number — with the caveats that fill the rest of this review.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 5.6 out of 10
The score breaks down by what actually matters when you try to live on a card: who can hold it, what it costs to run, how you feed it, whether the provider is solid, and whether you can use it in the places you shop.
| Criterion | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 2 / 10 | The page is oriented to Nigeria (Lagos, EN-NG, naira payouts); no country list is published. |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | 0% conversion fees stated on selling crypto for naira and funding the card. Unofficial: a one-time, non-refundable $1 to unlock the card. |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT and USDC can be sold for naira; the card is loaded from the naira balance. Networks are not listed. |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Monica Technologies Limited (Lagos) claims alignment with the SEC VASP framework; the issuer is unnamed. App Store 4.6 from 15K ratings; Trustpilot 3.7 from 1 review. |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual dollar Visa and Mastercard with NFC and QR. Apple Pay and Google Pay are not mentioned; no ATM. |
Total: 5.6 / 10.
Two numbers pull in opposite directions and both are real. Cost is the best in class — a stated 0% conversion fee is genuinely rare — and top-up is better than most, with seven assets accepted. Everything around the edges is thin: eligibility is undocumented outside one market, everyday use is a virtual card with no mobile wallet named, and reliability sits mid-scale because the company is small and the issuer behind the card is not disclosed. For a Nigerian resident who simply wants to spend crypto like dollars, that combination is serviceable. For anyone shopping for a durable, everywhere card, it is not yet the one.
Will they give you the card
The honest answer is: if you are a Nigerian resident with crypto and a verifiable identity, most likely yes — and if you are anywhere else, the public pages do not tell you. Monica Pay’s page is built around Nigeria. It shows Lagos, an English-Nigeria interface (EN-NG), and naira payouts. There is no published list of countries where the card can be obtained, so I cannot tell you the eligibility boundary, and neither, on this evidence, can anyone else without an account.
The card itself is not Nigeria-only in use. It runs on Visa and Mastercard, so once you hold it, it works wherever those networks are accepted — that is a much wider reach than the sign-up geography suggests. The terms also bar use from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful, which is standard but worth knowing if you travel.
So the mismatch to keep in mind: the front door looks Nigerian, the card inside travels globally. That is a reasonable design for a business built in Lagos, but it means the terms you accept at sign-up may be narrower than where you end up spending.
How to get it
Applying is described as quick and in-app. Monica calls its process “one-screen KYC” — know-your-customer verification done inside the app — and the terms say only “eligible verified Users” may apply. What the terms do not say is just as important as what they do: the documents required, the minimum age, and the exact steps are not stated on the public pages.
What you do get is clear enough on the mechanics:
- The card is a virtual dollar debit card, on both Visa and Mastercard.
- Pay Cards offer NFC tap-to-pay and QR.
- The card currency is USD.
- It is virtual, so nothing is delivered to you.
Two practical consequences. First, no plastic means you are entering card details by hand at online checkouts, and no ATM access is described anywhere. Second, the card is funded from a naira balance, which ties your spending to the crypto-to-naira step happening first.
On verification tiers: the general verification tiers in the terms (clause 5.2) apply to naira withdrawals. Card-specific verification levels are not stated. So the tiering you may hit is about moving money out to a bank, not about holding the card.
If your question is simply “how do I apply” — download the Monica app (iOS and Android), complete the in-app verification, and the card appears in the app. Everything beyond that is undocumented publicly.
Fees and what a payment actually costs
This is where Monica Pay looks best and where the public information runs out. The headline is real: 0% conversion fees on selling crypto for naira and on funding the card. The exchange-rate spread, however, is set by the scheme operator and Monica does not retain it — which means a spread still exists in the market even though the platform takes none. And the one fee Monica does not advertise comes from outside its own pages.

Here is what is actually known, and what is not:
| Fee or limit | What Monica states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Not stated by Monica. Unofficial: one-time, non-refundable $1 to unlock the Virtual USD Card (third-party app listing, 2026). |
| Monthly fee | Not stated |
| Conversion | 0% conversion fees on selling crypto for naira and funding the card |
| FX spread | Set by the scheme operator; Monica does not retain it |
| ATM | Not stated |
| Spending limits | Manageable in real time in the app; no amounts published |
| Cross-border limits | Transactions outside Nigeria may face “additional regulatory limits” |
| Card currency | USD, funded from the naira balance; multi-currency balances not stated |
| Tiers | Single tier |
The unofficial $1 is worth flagging precisely because the official pages are silent. It comes from a third-party app listing from 2026, not from Monica, and I have not been able to confirm it against a Monica source.
Now three everyday payments, to make the fee picture concrete:
- Buying something in Nigeria, priced in naira. The card holds dollars, so a conversion happens at the point of sale. Because the conversion fee is stated at 0%, the cost to you is the exchange rate itself, not a Monica markup. This is the case the product is built for.
- Buying something abroad in a non-dollar currency. Here the stated 0% stops applying cleanly. The scheme operator’s FX spread is in play, and transactions outside Nigeria may be subject to additional regulatory limits. The card may also attract extra scrutiny simply for being issued abroad (more on that below).
- Tapping to pay or paying by QR in a physical shop. NFC and QR are supported, so the interaction itself is smooth. But a virtual card means no ATM, and Apple Pay or Google Pay are not mentioned, so the phone in your hand has no native wallet path here.
The way to read this table: Monica has optimised one number — the crypto-to-naira conversion — and left the rest to the scheme operator and to silence. For a resident spending domestically, that is a good trade. For a resident spending across currencies, you are accepting terms you cannot read.
Top up options
Topping up starts with a crypto transfer, and it is a two-step process rather than a direct card deposit. You sell crypto for naira inside Monica, then load the card from your naira balance.

Seven assets can be sold for naira and moved onto the card:
- BTC
- ETH
- SOL
- TRX
- BNB
- USDT
- USDC
The full route, as described: crypto is sent to a Monica wallet, converted to naira at the live rate, and loaded to the card. The conversion is instant. Once the crypto is confirmed on-chain, naira can reach your bank within 60 seconds. The conversion fee is 0%. What is not stated: the minimum top-up amount, and who pays the network fee.
That last omission matters more than it sounds. Sending USDT or USDC is not free at the network level, and the page does not say whether the network fee is deducted from your deposit or paid on top. Nor does it itemise which networks are supported for each coin. In practice, sending on a network the provider does not support can lose funds or force a manual support recovery with no guarantee — so before your first transfer, confirm in the app which network your chosen coin should go on. Do not assume Ethereum because that is where the token lives.
On getting money back out: the App Store listing promises you can “move money to your bank without fees,” with naira arriving within 60 seconds of confirmation. Whether a return from the card balance is fee-free is not stated.
Seven accepted assets, a live rate, an instant conversion and a 0% fee is a good top-up proposition by category standards. The missing network list is the gap that a careful first-time user should close before sending anything.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, the Monica Pay card is a virtual dollar card on Visa and Mastercard with NFC tap-to-pay and QR. That is the whole feature list, and the omissions are as informative as the features.
What works:
- Online payments wherever Visa or Mastercard are accepted, entered as card details.
- Contactless tap-to-pay in-store via NFC.
- QR payments through Pay Cards.
- Spending limits you can adjust in real time from the app.
What is not there:
- No Apple Pay or Google Pay. Neither mobile wallet is mentioned on the pages I could read, so do not plan around tapping your phone at a terminal.
- No ATM, and no cash withdrawal from a cash machine is described.
- No rewards, cashback or spend programme stated.
- No blocked merchant categories are published, so you cannot see in advance what might be declined at the till.
The app itself is the more substantial part of daily use. It runs on iOS and Android; the App Store listing for Monica — Pay, Send, Bills shows 4.6 from 15K ratings as read on 2026-10-21, which is a reasonable score from a real volume of ratings. The Google Play listing was not read.
If disputes go wrong, the card terms themselves say nothing about them. The general process Monica describes is negotiation first, then arbitration in Lagos, under Nigerian governing law. That is worth understanding before you rely on the card for anything you would fight to get back.
So the everyday picture: good for online and contactless, thin for a phone in your hand and for cash. For someone who spends mostly on the internet, that is most of life anyway.
What can go wrong
I found no official incident involving Monica Pay and no independent reviews of the virtual card. That is not the same as a clean record — with a product this young and this small, absence of complaints often means absence of volume. But it does mean I have nothing concrete to warn you about.
What I can tell you is the shape of the exposure:
- The issuer is unnamed. Monica Technologies Limited (Lagos, Nigeria) is the company behind the app. It describes itself as “SEC VASP-framework aligned” and claims compliance with the NDPA 2023 and NFIU. But the card itself is issued by a third-party card partner that Monica does not name. When something goes wrong at the card level, knowing who to complain to starts with knowing who issued it.
- Trustpilot is 3.7 from 1 review — a five-star review dated May 19, 2026, on an unclaimed profile. One review is not a reputation, in either direction.
- Security measures are not stated beyond the real-time spending limits. How the funds are held — custodial versus anything else — is not described, so I cannot tell you what you are trusting with your money.
- Support is a page and a URL (/get-support). Channels, languages and hours are not described, so if a transfer goes wrong at 11pm, I cannot tell you who picks up.
- Disputes and complaints route through negotiation and then Lagos arbitration, and the card terms do not address disputes specifically.
One structural risk sits behind all of these, and it is worth understanding even though nothing has happened here. When you use a crypto card, several parties are involved: the card network (Visa or Mastercard) routes the payments and sets the rules, an issuer — a bank or licensed e-money institution — actually holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often just the front-end that markets it to you. The network and the issuer can change without the brand disappearing. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018 and all its Visa programmes closed. Programme closures typically run in a fixed order — a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw what remains. That is the scenario to keep in mind with any card whose issuer you cannot name.
Finally, and this one is about the card rather than the company: a prepaid-style card spends a stored balance. A merchant can look up the BIN and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. A Nigerian-issued card can look “foreign” in another country. This is why the cross-border use question and the “additional regulatory limits” note deserve more weight than their small print suggests.
What to take instead
If Monica Pay’s shape is not quite right, three alternatives come up in the same category. None of them is a perfect substitute — they trade different things away.
International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD, with a physical card listed as “coming soon.” Issuance is $5 one-time with no maintenance fee; plans run Classic free, Pro $9.00/month and Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency carries the “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind are free. You fund it with USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, or with USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT or FedNow. No cashback is stated. Its big difference is geography: it excludes residents and legal registrants of a long list — Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case, and purchases are blocked in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note the rule is residence or registration, not citizenship.
UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network spending from a UNi.Global account balance. “No annual fee” and “no foreign transaction fee”; assets convert at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees.” The catch is what is not stated: eligibility, physical-versus-virtual form, and how you fund it are all unstated on the pages I could read. Its one concrete extra is “Spend-to-Earn” rewards up to 3%.
Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. Visa, working anywhere Visa is accepted online and in stores. The page says “No extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, and conversion and FX fee amounts are not stated. It spends from a Whop balance — a pending balance is usable as soon as a payment arrives, standard withdrawals use settled funds — and that balance is backed by stablecoin collateral from a linked wallet. Eligible US consumer states number 31, listed explicitly; unsupported consumer countries are Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. Rewards are 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber, more planned.
My read on the comparison: Monica Pay wins on price and on which assets you can sell; the International Visa Card wins on documented eligibility and a named issuing market; UNi wins if multicurrency is the point; Whop wins if cashback at specific merchants is the point. If your blocker is that you are not in Nigeria and cannot confirm eligibility, the International Visa Card at least publishes its list — which is more than Monica does.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Monica Pay to someone in Nigeria who already holds crypto, already has a Monica account or is comfortable with naira-denominated balances, and wants to convert and spend without a platform markup. For that person the 0% conversion fee is a real, recurring saving, the seven accepted assets cover most portfolios, and the app’s 4.6 from 15K App Store ratings suggests an app people do use. The real-time spending limits and 60-second naira-to-bank transfer are the sort of small conveniences that decide whether a card becomes your everyday card.
I would not recommend it as a first crypto card, and I would not recommend it to anyone whose country of residence is not Nigeria, because the public pages give you no basis for a decision. I would hesitate for a user who needs cash, who relies on Apple Pay or Google Pay, who wants to know who issued the card, or who needs a rewards programme — all four are absent or silent.
Two questions to ask yourself before you commit. First: can you convert crypto to naira quickly and cheaply, and does the scheme operator’s exchange rate leave you satisfied once the 0% is accounted for? Second: if this card’s issuer relationship ended tomorrow, would you still have access to your balance? With the issuer unnamed and custody not described, I cannot answer the second question for you — which is itself an answer.
Frequently asked questions
What is Monica Pay card?
Monica Pay is a virtual dollar debit card on the Visa and Mastercard networks, offered by Monica Technologies Limited, a company based in Lagos, Nigeria. It is built for people who hold crypto in Nigeria and want to spend it in dollars: you sell crypto for naira in the app, then load the card from your naira balance. The card is virtual only, so nothing is delivered, and it works wherever Visa or Mastercard are accepted.
How does Monica Pay card work?
It works as a stored-balance card rather than a bank debit card. Crypto sent to a Monica wallet is converted to naira at the live rate and loaded onto the card, and the card then spends that balance. Payments go through as ordinary Visa or Mastercard transactions. The app describes this as instant, with naira reaching your bank within 60 seconds of on-chain confirmation once the crypto lands.
Is Monica Pay a bank?
Not on the evidence available. Monica Technologies Limited describes itself as aligned with the SEC VASP framework and claims compliance with the NDPA 2023 and NFIU, but the card itself is issued by a third-party card partner that the public pages do not name. Think of Monica as the app and programme manager, with an unnamed licensed issuer behind the card. If being a regulated bank matters to you, that gap is worth asking about directly.
Is the Monica Pay card available in my country?
The public pages are Nigeria-centred, showing Lagos, an EN-NG interface and naira payouts, and they publish no list of eligible countries. The card itself travels widely, since it runs on Visa and Mastercard. But whether you can open an account depends on where you reside, and the pages do not say. The terms do bar use from any jurisdiction where crypto-asset services are unlawful.
How do I get the Monica Pay card?
Download the Monica app on iOS or Android, complete the one-screen KYC process in the app, and the virtual card appears for you to use. The terms say only eligible verified Users may apply. The public pages do not state which documents you need or the minimum age, so expect to work that out from the app itself. There is no physical card and nothing is posted to you.
Does the Monica Pay card require KYC?
Yes. Monica describes its process as “one-screen KYC” — identity verification done inside the app — and its terms limit the card to eligible verified Users. The general verification tiers in the terms apply to naira withdrawals, though card-specific verification levels are not stated. This is normal for a regulated product, but the specifics of the documents required are not published.
How do I top up the Monica Pay card?
Topping up is a two-step process: sell crypto for naira inside Monica, then load the card from your naira balance. You can sell BTC, ETH, SOL, TRX, BNB, USDT or USDC. The conversion is instant and the stated conversion fee is 0%. The pages do not itemise which networks are supported or who pays the network fee, so confirm the network in the app before your first transfer.
Is the Monica Pay card free?
The conversion fee is stated at 0% when you sell crypto for naira and fund the card, and there is no monthly fee or maintenance charge mentioned. The one fee I could find is unofficial: a third-party app listing from 2026 mentions a one-time, non-refundable $1 to unlock the Virtual USD Card. Monica’s own pages do not state it. Other fees — ATM, monthly, ATM withdrawal — are simply not stated.
Can I add the Monica Pay card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
Not on current evidence. Neither Apple Pay nor Google Pay is mentioned anywhere in the public material I could read, so I would not plan around adding the card to a mobile wallet. What the card does support is NFC tap-to-pay and QR payments directly in the app. If phone-tapped payments are central to how you pay, this is the card’s weakest point.
Is the Monica Pay card safe?
There is no single yes or no. In its favour: real-time spending limits you control, a 0% conversion fee with no retained FX spread, and an app rated 4.6 from 15K App Store ratings as of 2026-10-21. Against it: the card issuer is unnamed, the custody model is not described, security measures go no further than spending limits, and I found no independent reviews of the virtual card and no official incident. Treat it as a spending tool, not a vault.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
