The card is virtual, USD-only and cheap on paper — the exchange behind it is the real question
The MEXC Card is not really a card product so much as a spending front end attached to a crypto exchange. You load USDT, the card converts it to dollars, and a virtual Visa Platinum spends that balance in shops and online. There is no physical card, no bank account behind it, and the entity that issued it is not named on the card’s own pages. Everything good and everything bad about this product follows from that one sentence.
I scored it 5.6 out of 10.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Who this suits: someone who already holds USDT, sits in Asia, and wants a virtual card with cashback tiers and no annual fee. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs a physical card, a bank account, cash from an ATM, or the reassurance of a named issuer and a deposit guarantee. The exchange behind the card has a documented complaint history that you should read before you load anything — I have put the numbers in the risks section below.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 8 / 10 | Global Card closed to residents of 69 countries and territories; others admitted by the country of their proof of address. Unofficial: 110 countries in the DefiLlama catalogue |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | Global Card: issuance 20 USD (temporarily waived), annual fee and top-up 0, crypto conversion 0%, currency at the Visa rate with no markup, 1% payment fee from 1 October 2026 |
| Top-up options | 4 / 10 | USDT only: transfer to the Fiat account, then move it to the card; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 3 / 10 | Issuer not named, balance held at the exchange; on Trustpilot the exchange has no score, 88% one-star, with freezes and delayed withdrawals. Unofficial: listed among the suspicious platforms of Hong Kong’s SFC |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual Visa Platinum only; Apple Pay and Google Pay available; no physical card and no ATM |
| Total | 5.6 / 10 | Cheap and easy to load, thin on everyday use, and it rests on an exchange with a rough complaint record |
The audience this suits best, in one line: USDT holders in Asia who want cashback.
Will they give you the card?
Yes, quite widely — and this is the strongest part of the package. The Global Card is closed to residents of 69 countries and territories, and everyone else is admitted according to the country on their proof of address. The card page itself starts its country list with “The Philippines, Taiwan, Thailand…” and puts the full list behind a Details link, so the page you land on is not the whole eligibility map. Third-party trackers put the reach wider still: DefiLlama lists the card in 110 countries, and SpendNode describes Global Card coverage as Southeast Asia, Latin America, Africa, the Caribbean, the Gulf, Central Asia, plus Japan, South Korea, New Zealand and Israel. Neither is the card operator confirming this — treat those as third-party catalogues, not as an official list.
The rule that actually bites is the blacklist, and it changes. As of August 2026 the application blacklist included the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia among others. The Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand were not blacklisted at that point. Read that as a snapshot: the list is stated to change, so check the current page on the day you apply rather than trusting a review written months ago.
One thing to get straight early: eligibility follows the country of your proof of address, not your citizenship. Those are two different filters in every scheme of this kind, and conflating them is the most common source of wasted applications.
How to get it
Three steps, and the first one is the gate.
You need Advanced KYC completed before you apply — that is a government ID plus face verification. You do not need income proof. Your proof of address must come from an eligible country. The card page is silent on the age requirement, on how long verification takes, and on the reasons an application can be refused; the general rule for prepaid and debit cards is that they are aimed at adults of 18 or over, with some issuers setting higher limits, but I could not confirm MEXC’s own number.
Then you apply on the My MEXC Card page. Then you transfer USDT to your Fiat account and move it onto the card. That is the whole flow.
What lands in your hands is a virtual card only. Physical cards are described as “not yet available”, so there is no delivery question to worry about and no waiting — and equally, no plastic in your wallet. Unofficial detail from third-party catalogues: the network is Visa, a Visa Platinum virtual card, in USD.
Fees and what a payment really costs
The headline numbers are genuinely good. The problem is not the price of the card; it is how much of the price is actually published.

For the Global Card: issuance is 20 USD as the standard figure, though the page shows it next to a 0 USD discounted price in a way that leaves it unclear which one you pay; the 20 USD was waived for a limited time as of August 2026. Service fee 0%. Annual fee, top-up fee, inactivity fee and termination fee all 0. Crypto conversion 0%. Currency conversion at the Visa rate with no MEXC markup. And then a 1% transaction fee, waived from the launch on 31 August to 30 September 2026 and applied from 1 October 2026. The published example is easy to hold in your head: a 100 USD purchase deducts 101 USDT.
The APAC Card is a different shape. Issuance 0, transaction fee 0%, 1% crypto conversion, the Visa rate plus 1% on non-USD purchases.
| Fee or limit | Global Card | APAC Card |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | 20 USD standard, waived for a limited time (as of Aug 2026) | 0 |
| Annual fee | 0 | 0 |
| Service fee | 0% | — |
| Top-up fee | 0 | 0 |
| Inactivity fee | 0 | 0 |
| Termination fee | 0 | 0 |
| Crypto conversion | 0% | 1% |
| Currency conversion | Visa rate, no MEXC markup | Visa rate plus 1% on non-USD purchases |
| Visa spread | said to be usually 0.1% to 0.3% | as stated for the network rate |
| Payment fee | 1% from 1 Oct 2026 | 0% |
| ATM withdrawal | “Not applicable to virtual cards” | no ATM for the virtual cards |
| Per-transaction limit | 80,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Per-day limit | 1,000,000 USD | 50,000 USD |
| Per-month or per-year | no monthly or annual spend cap listed; support article also lists 100 transactions per day, 2,500 monthly, 25,000 annually | 1,000,000 USD per year; 50 transactions per day, 1,040 per year |
Some of these rows are not stated rather than zero. The card page does not publish a monthly fee, ATM withdrawal fees, or a standalone fee schedule, and it points to a separate fees-and-limits guide that was not reachable when I checked. A linked guide says fees vary by card type. So treat the blanks as blanks.
Now three everyday payments, with the fees that actually apply.
A 40 USD subscription. On the Global Card with the balance already in dollars: 40 USD, then 1% — 40.40 USD equivalent deducted. Same subscription on the APAC Card: the 1% crypto conversion applies if you funded from crypto, so 40.40 as well, plus 1% if the merchant bills in anything other than USD.
A 200 USD flight paid in euros. Global Card: Visa rate plus the network spread, usually 0.1% to 0.3%, plus the 1% payment fee — roughly 202 to 202.60 USD equivalent. APAC Card adds the 1% non-USD fee to the same stack.
A 12 USD grocery shop in your home country. Global Card, USD-denominated card in a non-USD country: Visa rate plus 1% payment fee, about 12.12 USD equivalent.
The general category warning applies to all of them: on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by MEXC, so a top-up can cost a small amount outside the card’s own pricing.
How to Top up the card
One route, and it is a narrow one: USDT.

You send USDT to your Fiat account on the exchange, then add it to the card from the My MEXC Card page. There is no top-up fee, and moving USDT into the Fiat account is free. Per the Global Card guide each top-up runs from 1 to 1,000,000 USDT — though an older MEXC post cites a 100 USDT minimum, which conflicts; the newer guide is the one to plan around. Cash top-ups are not stated.
The part that should make you pause before you tap send is that the networks are not named. This is not a detail. If you pick the wrong network for a USDT transfer, the transfer is irreversible: a deposit sent to an address belonging to another network can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. USDT exists on several chains — Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others — and Tether describes it as a token built on multiple blockchains with reserves intended to back it one-to-one. What makes it work on Ethereum is a small ETH balance to pay gas, since ERC-20 fees are paid only in ETH; on Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy resources, often by burning TRX. So a wallet holding USDT and nothing else may be unable to send at all. Confirm the network with support before your first transfer rather than after.
Two things about the reverse direction. The card termination fee is 0 and there is no inactivity fee. What happens to money still sitting on the card if you close it — how it moves back to your exchange account, and what you have to do to trigger it — is not stated on the pages I checked. Ask before you load, not when you want out.
Paying with it every day
It goes into Apple Pay and Google Pay, which is the practical way to use a card that exists only on screen. Global Card supports both; the APAC Card supports Google Pay only. Which merchants are blocked is not stated.
The rewards are the reason to pick this card over a plain virtual card, and they are structured around an M-Score tier you do not fully control. Cashback is paid by the 15th of the following month:
| Tier | Cashback | Monthly cap |
|---|---|---|
| Standard | 4% | 100 USDT |
| Premier (M-Score 600–799) | 6% | 300 USDT |
| Elite (M-Score 800+) | 10% | 800 USDT |
Standard, Premier and Elite differ only in cashback and the monthly cap — there is no metal or physical tier, because the card is virtual only. Referral pays 20 USDT to the referrer and 10 USDT to the referee.
Two products exist, by the way: MEXC Global Card, a Visa Platinum virtual card launched on 31 August 2026, and MEXC Card for APAC, in selected Asia-Pacific markets. Both are USD-denominated and funded in USDT, with other currencies converted by Visa. Multi-currency balances are not stated.
When something goes wrong with a payment, there is a process and it is a reasonable one: contact the merchant first, then MEXC Customer Service with the reason and your evidence. The windows are 90 days for duplicate charges and 120 days for suspected fraud, goods not received, or goods not as described. Filing is free, though a review fee may apply if a dispute is rejected for incomplete evidence. Refunds usually take 1–7 days, travel refunds up to 30 days. A 0.50 USD charge per refund applies only if the refund rate is excessively high, and cashback on refunded purchases is deducted. That last clause is worth remembering: the cashback is not a reward you keep if the purchase comes back.
Support for the card runs on platform tickets, and the MEXC help centre and learning pages exist in a Russian version. Live chat hours for card matters are not stated on the pages I checked.
What can go wrong
Start with the thing that made me hesitate most, because it is not a card problem at all.
The issuer is not named. The card page does not say which institution issued the card, or under which licence. SpendNode, in 2026, states that the reviewed documents identify no issuer and no safeguarding arrangement, and that the exchange holds custody of spending balances. Nobody has published an issuer name. This matters structurally: a card number begins with a 6- or 8-digit issuer identification number, and merchants can look that up to see which institution and country issued it — and may apply extra scrutiny if the issuer country differs from your billing address. When you cannot name the issuer, you cannot reason about that. Third-party catalogues actively disagree about the product: DefiLlama describes a Visa in 110 countries, while CryptoCardHub describes a Mastercard in EUR restricted to internal test users in February 2026.
The money is custodial. The exchange holds your spending balance. No safeguarding or insurance statement was found. The category background is stark on why that is a real exposure: control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and a seed phrase is an unencrypted private key that anyone who obtains it can use to restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, with no built-in recovery. Custodial platforms have failed before — Mt. Gox at about 350 million US dollars reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about 400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at 625 million in 2022. Stablecoins are not a substitute for trust either: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity.
The exchange’s complaint record is the weakest input here. Read at 20 October 2026, Trustpilot shows no usable score for MEXC — a “breach of our guidelines” notice, with fake reviews removed — alongside 1,368 reviews and 88% one-star. The reported themes: accounts flagged “risk” without stated reasons and restrictions applied; withdrawals frozen or delayed for months; generic support replies and unresolved tickets; hard account deletion; and a 0.50 USD fee on a declined Apple Pay transaction in one review. Separately, FinTelegram reported a 1.8/5 Trustpilot score with one-star reviews about frozen or withheld funds, withdrawal friction and support, and said MEXC appeared on the Hong Kong SFC’s alert list for suspicious platforms. The card’s own official incident record is not stated — this is user-report and news territory, not a confirmed card-specific record.
Freezes and termination are real features of this card, not hypotheticals. The card page tells you to freeze the card in Card Management if you lose it, then contact Customer Service for a replacement. 3-D Secure one-time codes arrive by email — valid for 4 minutes — or in the MEXC app. And repeated failed payments can trigger a risk review and card termination. Termination with a balance on the card, and the route to getting that balance back, are not stated.
Some payments will simply fail, for reasons that have nothing to do with you. Address Verification Service compares parts of your billing address against issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs as a matter of policy. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. Gambling merchants carry MCC 7995, which many issuers block on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Whether MEXC blocks any categories is not stated — but this is the category, and it is worth asking.
There is a regulatory tail. A card is a payment service regulated separately from crypto; under MiCA a card often depends on two licences. MiCA’s rules on asset-referenced and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024, with a transitional period running until 1 July 2026 or until a provider is authorised or refused, whichever came first. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers that you can check. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. I am not telling you what your obligations are; I am telling you that account closure is a normal outcome of these rules, not a sign that anyone did anything wrong.
One last asymmetry to hold onto: on-chargeback and reversal rights, prepaid-card coverage varies by issuer and should not be assumed, and under 3-D Secure liability for a fraudulent online payment can shift onto you. Do the maths on the 1% payment fee before you decide a dispute is worth opening.
What to take instead
I looked at three alternatives, and here they are against the same criteria — with the honest caveat that for two of them the card’s own terms are not published on a page I could read.
| Young Card | MSX | Bybit Card | MEXC Global Card | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.7 / 10 | 6.4 / 10 | 6.0 / 10 | 5.6 / 10 |
| Eligibility | not stated | not stated | named regional list, EEA explicitly excluded | 69 countries excluded; 110 in third-party catalogues |
| Card type | not stated officially | not stated officially | virtual and physical, by region | virtual only |
| Issuance | not stated officially | not stated | virtual free “until further notice”; physical by region, 0 to 29.99 USD | 20 USD, temporarily waived |
| Conversion and FX | not stated | not stated | crypto conversion 0.5%–0.9%; FX fee 1%–7% by region | crypto conversion 0%; Visa rate, no markup; 1% payment fee from 1 Oct 2026 |
| Funding | not stated for the card | not stated | draws on Funding Account, fiat first, then crypto | USDT only, via the Fiat account |
| Rewards | cashback in YNG tokens: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% (Bronze and Silver not stated) | not stated | up to 10%, tiered, crypto-funded spending only | 4%–10% by M-Score tier, caps 100–800 USDT |
Bybit Card is the one with the most published detail, and it wins on the things this review criticised. It offers both virtual and physical cards in most of its regions. Its virtual card is free “until further notice” and it states “Auto interest, no annual fees”. Its cashback ladder goes higher than MEXC’s — Base 2.00% with a 5 USD monthly cap up to Infinite at 10% with a 600 USD cap, unlocked by monthly spend, and from 5 October 2026 only crypto-funded transactions earn, with fiat-funded spending earning nothing. That last clause is the same shape of condition as MEXC’s deduction of cashback on refunds: check the eligibility of your spend before you plan around the rate. Bybit’s costs are heavier on FX — 2% on top of the network rate in several regions, 7% in Argentina, plus Argentine taxes of 21% VAT on foreign digital services and 30% on foreign transactions — and its regional split is its own complication: nine regional programmes from Argentina to Asia Pacific, different networks and currencies, validity from 3 to 6 years. It is also explicit where MEXC is not, stating that the product “is not meant for European Economic Area customers” and that all EEA participation is strictly prohibited. MEXC’s blacklist approach, with 69 countries excluded and the rest admitted by proof-of-address country, is arguably broader — but both are “ask, don’t assume” structures.
On scores, MSX at 6.4 is the highest of the four, Bybit at 6.0, Young at 5.7, MEXC at 5.6 — but I would not read much into the narrow ordering. MSX publishes almost nothing I could verify on eligibility, card type, cost, fees, funding or rewards. Young’s most distinctive feature is that its cashback is paid in its own token, YNG, which makes the reward worth exactly whatever the market says that day.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a specific person: someone who already holds USDT, lives in an eligible country outside the blacklist, has completed Advanced KYC, and treats the card as a convenience layer on money they already keep on the exchange. That person gets 0% crypto conversion, the Visa rate with no markup, no annual fee, and 4% to 10% cashback depending on their M-Score tier — a genuinely good combination on price — and they will probably never load more than a month’s spending at a time.
I would not recommend it to someone whose money plans depend on the exchange being there next year, or to anyone who needs the balance to be their own rather than an exchange’s. The missing issuer name and missing safeguarding statement are not paperwork pedantry; they are the reason the whole thing rests on counterparty trust, and the counterparty’s public complaint record is poor.
Practical thresholds, since a review that only says “it depends” wastes your time. If you want a physical card, stop here — there isn’t one. If you want cash from an ATM, stop here. If you need to spend in several currencies and hold balances in them, the USD-only design is a problem, and multi-currency balances are not stated. If your country is on the blacklist, the application will not go through and no workaround I would describe is one you should be looking for. If you are somewhere the blacklist has not caught up with, expect the rules to move, because they are stated to change.
One last practical point, not advice so much as arithmetic: every load is a USDT transfer on a network MEXC does not name, into a wallet the exchange holds. Get the network right the first time. Blockchain transfers do not have an undo button.
Frequently asked questions
What is the MEXC card?
It is a virtual Visa Platinum payment card attached to the MEXC crypto exchange, funded in USDT. The Global Card launched on 31 August 2026; a separate APAC version exists for selected Asia-Pacific markets. There is no physical card — physical cards are described as “not yet available” — so you use it online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay.
How does the MEXC card work?
You load USDT into your MEXC Fiat account, move it onto the card from the My MEXC Card page, and the card spends that converted dollar balance in shops and online. On the Global Card the crypto conversion fee is 0% and currency conversion runs at the Visa rate with no MEXC markup, plus a 1% transaction fee that applies from 1 October 2026.
Is MEXC a bank?
No. It is a crypto exchange, and the card page does not name any bank or licensed institution as the issuer. A card is normally issued by a bank or e-money institution under a network licence, and here the crypto brand appears to manage the programme without naming the institution behind it. That distinction matters for deposit guarantees and for what happens to your balance in a failure.
Who owns MEXC?
That is not stated on the card pages I checked, and I could not confirm an owner from official material. What is confirmed is the corporate shape: a custodial crypto exchange that holds customer funds, with a payment card product on top. SpendNode, in 2026, reported that the reviewed documents identify no issuer and no safeguarding arrangement.
Is the MEXC card available in my country?
Eligibility follows the country of your proof of address. The Global Card is closed to residents of 69 countries and territories, and as of August 2026 the application blacklist included the United States, China, India, Indonesia, Turkey and Russia among others. The Philippines, Taiwan, Vietnam and Thailand were not blacklisted at that point — but the list is stated to change, so check the current page before you apply.
Does the MEXC card require KYC?
Yes. Advanced KYC — a government ID plus face verification — must be completed before you apply. Your proof of address must come from an eligible country, and no income proof is required. The age requirement is not stated on the card pages, though prepaid and debit cards are generally aimed at adults of 18 or over.
How do I top up the MEXC card?
By transferring USDT to your MEXC Fiat account and then adding it to the card from the My MEXC Card page. There is no top-up fee, and each top-up runs from 1 to 1,000,000 USDT per the Global Card guide, though an older MEXC post cites a 100 USDT minimum. Critically, the supported networks are not named, so confirm the network before sending.
Is the MEXC card free?
Almost. The Global Card’s issuance fee is 20 USD as the standard figure, waived for a limited time as of August 2026, with annual, top-up, inactivity and termination fees all at 0. The costs that remain are the 1% transaction fee from 1 October 2026 on the Global Card, and on the APAC card 1% crypto conversion plus 1% on non-USD purchases. Any monthly fee is not stated.
Where can I use the MEXC virtual card?
Anywhere a merchant accepts a Visa card, in person or online, once the balance is loaded — and that includes some places other cards struggle, since no country is excluded from use. Practical limits: no ATM access exists for a virtual card, so no cash withdrawals, and which merchants are blocked is not stated. Foreign BINs and some prepaid cards are declined by some shops as a matter of policy.
Is the MEXC card safe to use?
It is as safe as the exchange that holds the balance, and that is the honest answer. The card is custodial, no issuer or safeguarding arrangement is identified, and the exchange’s Trustpilot record read on 20 October 2026 showed 1,368 reviews with 88% one-star, a guidelines-breach notice, and reports of frozen accounts and delayed withdrawals. Use the freeze control, keep loaded amounts small, and do not treat the balance as money you have secured.
Choosing an exchange card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
