A USDC-funded Visa card that keeps it simple and charges you for the privilege

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Keytom is a Visa payment card that spends a USDC balance instead of a bank account. You load it, you pay with it, and the interesting question is whether the fees and the rules match the way you actually spend money. On my read of it, this is a straightforward prepaid-style card with an unusually broad country list, one currency, no cashback, and a price per payment that climbs the moment you leave US dollars.

Keytom works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The card suits a specific person: someone who already holds USDC, wants to convert it into spendable dollars, and is comfortable keeping that balance with the provider rather than in their own wallet. It does not suit someone who wants a multi-currency card, cashback, Apple Pay today, or a fee-free way to spend abroad. I scored it 6.0 out of 10 overall — solid for daily spending mechanics, poor on cost, thin on top-up clarity.

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.0 out of 10

Let me put the score table in front of you first, because the individual marks explain more than the total does.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Claims residents of “150+ countries”, with prohibited jurisdictions including Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran and others
Cost 3 / 10 Virtual issue is free, physical delivery 50 USDC, monthly fee 10 USDC; payments 1% in USD, 2.35% in other currencies, ATM 2%
Top-up options 4 / 10 USDC balance, card top-up via Visa Direct or direct USDC, but networks are not named
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian MSB registered with FINTRAC (MSB M21788474); issuer not named; Trustpilot 4.3 from 37 reviews, complaints about a delayed referral reward
Everyday use 8 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Google Pay and PayPal, ATMs up to USD 3,000 a day; Apple Pay not yet available
Total 6.0 / 10 A well-behaved spending card with a heavy price tag and a thin fee section

The middle ground matters here. Eight out of ten on access and on everyday use is not praise for polish; it means the mechanics are straightforward and the doors are wide. Three out of ten on cost is the drag: every payment costs you something, and outside the United States that something more than doubles. If you are the person I suspect reading this — holding dollars in stablecoins and spending them day to day — the access and the usage marks are the ones you care about, and they are strong. If instead you want the cheapest possible card for travel, or you are comparing feature-by-feature against a mainstream bank card, the cost column ends the conversation early.

Will they give you the card

They say residents of “150+ countries” can have it, and availability may still be subject to residency restrictions. That is a broad claim, and on its face it beats most crypto cards that name a short list of countries.

The Customer Acceptance Policy is where the real answer lives. It lists prohibited jurisdictions including Russia and Belarus, and also Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran and others. The rule is about links, not just addresses: clients with direct or indirect links, including ultimate beneficial owners residing in or holding citizenship of those jurisdictions, cannot be onboarded. Two details there are worth more attention than they first appear. Place of birth or former citizenship alone does not disqualify you if you hold a valid residence permit or citizenship in an eligible jurisdiction, and you go through enhanced due diligence. So nationality is a factor but it is not the whole test — residence and the chain of ownership behind an account matter just as much.

One caveat I want to be straight about: that Customer Acceptance Policy page is written for corporate clients. It tells you the thinking behind the exclusions, but the individual application flow may apply a simpler version of the same idea. I would not treat “they accept my country” as settled until you have actually applied.

I am not going to tell you how to work around a country rule or a sanctions list, and you should be sceptical of anyone who does. If your jurisdiction is on the prohibited list, the answer is no, and that is the end of it.

How to get it

The card page does not use the word “KYC”. It does describe two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and AML procedures, and it says Keytom may request verification information under its AML Policy. Documents, proof of address and an age requirement are not stated for individuals on that page.

What you get when you are approved is a virtual and a physical Visa. Both draw on your own balance rather than a credit line — the BIN reads as credit, but spending it is debiting money you already hold. The card is USD only and cannot be changed. It is valid for up to five years, it is contactless, and you can hold a maximum of two cards: one virtual and one physical.

The physical card arrives in about 14 days and costs 50 USDC for delivery. Countries are not listed for delivery, and the FAQ warns that issuance, delivery and payments “may be limited or unavailable in some jurisdictions”. Replacement cost is not stated.

On verification specifically: no KYC tiers are defined, and Keytom says it “may sometimes ask about a transaction” or request verification around unusual activity. Stated processing times and official rejection reasons are not stated. A third-party site, cryptocardhub, described in August 2026 a personal flow of passport or national ID or residence permit, a selfie with a liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds evidence when requested, for applicants 18 and over. Treat that as unofficial — it is not confirmed by the card’s own pages, and it is exactly the kind of detail that changes between product versions.

Fees and what a payment actually costs you

This is the section to slow down on. The card is cheap to open and expensive to use.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Keytom payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What it says
Virtual card issuance Free
Physical card delivery 50 USDC, about 14 days
Monthly card fee 10 USDC per card, charged when the balance covers it; USD 20 with both cards
Card payment in USD 1%, minimum 0.66 USDC
Card payment in other currencies 2.35%, minimum 0.66 USDC
Crypto-to-USD conversion Weighted average of the top 5 exchanges (per FAQ)
ATM withdrawal USD 2% (minimum 0.66 USDC); other currencies 3.35%; operators may add their own fees
ATM limits USD 3,000 per day, USD 10,000 per month, 3 per day, 30 per month, USD 100,000 per year
Soft limit per transaction About USD 150,000; no fixed cap on number of transactions or monthly spend
Card currency USD only, not changeable
Balance denomination USDC

Now three everyday payments, so the percentages stop being abstract.

A USD 40 grocery shop in the US. You pay 1%, so USD 0.40, and the 0.66 USDC minimum does not bite. That is a real cost, but a predictable one. At this price point the card is not cheaper than a bank debit card; it is more expensive, and the argument for it is access, not price.

A USD 60 hotel night somewhere in Europe. The merchant charges you in euros, so you are on the 2.35% rate — USD 1.41 — on top of whatever the merchant or the network adds. Add the monthly card fee to the year and this stops being a rounding error.

A USD 200 ATM withdrawal in a currency other than dollars. That is 3.35%, USD 6.70, before any fee the ATM operator adds. Withdraw dollars where you can and the same withdrawal costs 2%.

The monthly fee has a clause worth noticing: 10 USDC is charged “when balance covers it”. A card you hold for online subscriptions with nothing loaded may not bill you that month — but the card page does not say what happens if the balance cannot cover it. I would rather flag the ambiguity than guess at it.

There is one tier, and that is the whole tier structure. Virtual issue is free, physical delivery is 50 USDC, the monthly fee is 10 USDC per card or 20 with both, and you can hold one virtual plus one physical. No cashback and no perks tier appear on the card page.

How to Top up the card

Three routes are described: top up by card via Visa Direct, top up with USDC directly, or convert euros or other crypto you already hold in Keytom into USDC. That is a genuine choice of methods — bank card, stablecoin, or an internal swap.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Keytom starts with a transfer to the right network

What is missing is the part that bites. No top-up fee is listed on the card page. Networks are not stated. The minimum top-up is not stated. And whether you or Keytom pays the on-chain network fee is not stated. If you are sending USDC on a public chain, that last point is a real question, not a detail — on-chain network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, so somebody is paying that cost, and the card’s public pages do not tell you who.

Third-party figures exist but I would hold them loosely. Cryptocardhub, in August 2026, listed for a personal account SEPA incoming at 0.5% plus EUR 0.25 and outgoing at 1% plus EUR 0.25, with a EUR 2.75 minimum each way, and EUR-to-crypto conversion at 1.5%. That is unofficial and not confirmed by Keytom’s own pages; treat it as a lead to ask about, not as the schedule.

One more thing the card does not describe: withdrawing money out. No bank withdrawal or crypto withdrawal of the card balance is set out in the pages I read. A Deletion Policy is linked, though I did not read its contents. Cash through ATMs is the exit that is documented, at the fees above.

Paying with it every day

The good news is that the everyday path is unremarkable, which is what you want from a spending card.

The virtual card can be added to Google Pay or PayPal. Apple Pay is “not available yet” per the FAQ — and this is not just a missing feature on a fresh product, because a company reply on Trustpilot in October 2026 refers to bringing it back, which implies it worked before. If Apple Pay is central to how you pay, treat this as a real gap right now.

Some categories are blocked: fuel pumps, gambling, and a few others, with some platforms refusing in-game purchases. The gambling block is a policy choice by issuers rather than a legal rule, and it varies by issuer; a fuel pump block is a merchant-side decision as often as anything else. Neither is unusual for this category, but both can surprise you at the till.

There is no cashback stated on the card page, and a third-party site likewise found none advertised in August 2026. In iOS and Android the app exists, but the App Store and Google Play ratings are not stated, so I cannot tell you what users think of it in the stores.

Refunds are worth planning for. A refund goes back through the merchant and usually takes 2 to 15 days. The original payment fee is not returned to you, so a refunded purchase lands slightly lower than what you paid. There is no extra refund fee. Hotels and airlines can hold funds for up to 30 days. Chargebacks are not mentioned at all — which, if a merchant disputes something with you, leaves a gap I would want filled before I relied on this card for anything expensive.

What can go wrong

Four things, in order of how much they should worry you.

Your balance is with Keytom, not with you. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase. Here the balance is held by Keytom, so you have to trust the provider with it. In fairness, they list real safeguards: two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and AML, card freeze from the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and crypto described in the FAQ as “insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks”. Withdrawals can be paused on suspicious activity — which cuts both ways, because a pause is also a situation where your money is not moving. Custodial platforms have a genuine history of failure: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022).

Apple Pay is gone. Noted above. It matters because a virtual card without a phone wallet is a virtual card you paste into online forms.

Fees read as high. On Trustpilot, users complained about fees and rates compared with alternatives on 29 January and on 9 and 29 September 2026. I did the arithmetic above; it is not a misperception.

The company underneath is not the name on your card. The operation is KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Canadian Money Services Business registered with FINTRAC (MSB M21788474). The issuing bank is not named. For context on why that layer matters: a card payment involves the network routing messages, the issuer holding the programme under its licence, and the crypto brand often being only a programme manager or front-end. And programmes do close — Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes.

The complaints themselves are modest, which I read as a good sign. Trustpilot reads 4.3 out of 5 from 37 reviews in the last 12 months — 81% five-star, 14% one-star — as of my check on 20 October 2026. Only about 10 of the 37 were visible to me. The themes: fees and rates versus alternatives, a referral reward withheld alongside an account closure (January 2026, with the company replying on 12 October 2026 that rewards can be withheld for suspected abuse), and the missing Apple Pay. A company reply of 6–12 October 2026 also confirms Apple Pay “being brought back”. For background, a Customer Acceptance Policy dated 25 July 2026 sets the prohibited jurisdictions, and the physical card became orderable in the app in June 2026.

Support is in-app chat, on the website, and at [email protected], on business days 5:00–15:00 UTC, with after-hours messages answered the next business day. Languages are not stated; the site shows English only. If your first language is not English, that is worth knowing before you need help.

What to take instead

If the fee per payment is the thing that bothers you, the comparison below is more useful than any single verdict.

Keytom International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
My score 6.0 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Who can get it Residents of “150+ countries”, with prohibited jurisdictions incl. Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, Serbia, Ghana, Uganda, Iran Not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam; FATF grey-list reviewed case by case Not stated Consumers: 31 US states; unsupported consumer countries include Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam
Card Virtual and physical Visa, credit BIN but spends own balance “U.S.-issued Platinum Visa card”, virtual; physical “Coming soon” Multicurrency UNi Card on the Mastercard network Visa, online and in stores
Issuance Virtual free; physical delivery 50 USDC $5 one-time Issuance fee not stated “No extra fees”; amounts not listed
Monthly 10 USDC per card, 20 with both No maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month “No annual fee” Not listed
Spending in USD 1%, minimum 0.66 USDC Free on all plans “No annual fee or foreign transaction fee” Not stated
Other currencies 2.35%, minimum 0.66 USDC Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee Converted at “live OTC (Over-the-Counter) rates” Not stated
Top up Card via Visa Direct, direct USDC, or convert holdings USDC or USDT at 1:1 free, also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated From a Whop balance; pending balance usable on arrival
Rewards None stated No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Notable limit USD only, not changeable — — Consumers limited to 31 US states

Reading across the row that matters most: the International Visa Card charges nothing for spending in USD and no fee on deposits of any kind, and its 2% FX fee sits below Keytom’s 2.35%. Its country list is longer and its US issuing may also trip the foreign-BIN scrutiny some merchants apply. UNi quotes no foreign transaction fee and up to 3% back, which beats Keytom on both if its terms hold — but it says nothing about who can open an account or how you fund it, which is exactly what you cannot verify. Whop’s 5% cashback is the most generous number here, and its US-state limit is the tightest. I would not build a plan around any of these until you have read their current pages yourself.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Keytom to you if three things are true. You already hold USDC, or you are ready to hold it — because the balance is USDC and the card is USD, so this is a dollar-spending card with a crypto on-ramp, not a general multi-currency card. You spend most of your money in US dollars, so you stay on the 1% rate instead of the 2.35%. And you are comfortable with the balance sitting with the provider, because that is how this card works and it is not going to change.

I would steer you elsewhere if you are travelling often and spending in other currencies, if you want cashback, if Apple Pay is how you pay, or if the word “free” is doing real work in your decision. A single ATM withdrawal in a non-dollar currency costs 3.35% plus whatever the operator adds, and that is not a rounding error against any bank card you already hold.

One last thing for anyone who stores money in stablecoins rather than spending it. These tokens are meant to hold a steady value, but as the BIS put it in July 2025, about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC, and “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Your card’s stability is not only about the provider.

And if you are new to how any of this works: a payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, the rest is an account identifier and a check digit, and merchants can look up that prefix to see which institution and country issued the card — which is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards outright.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Keytom card?

The Keytom card is a Visa payment card that spends a USDC balance rather than a bank account. You load USDC, it converts and holds dollars, and the card draws down that balance like a prepaid card. Both a virtual and a physical version exist, the card is USD-only, and it is contactless and valid for up to five years. It is not a credit card in the lending sense, despite the BIN reading as credit.

How does the Keytom card work in daily use?

You spend from a balance you have already funded, so the card cannot overdraw. Payments in US dollars cost 1% with a 0.66 USDC minimum; payments in other currencies cost 2.35% with the same minimum. The virtual card can go into Google Pay or PayPal, Apple Pay is not available yet, and physical-card ATM withdrawals cost 2% in dollars or 3.35% in other currencies.

Is Keytom a bank?

Not one, and this is the point people miss. The operation is KEYTOM SERVICES LTD, a Money Services Business registered in Canada with FINTRAC under number M21788474. The issuing bank is not named on the pages I read. In a card programme the network routes the messages, the licensed issuer holds the card account, and the crypto brand is often only the programme manager and front-end.

Does the Keytom card require KYC?

The card page never uses the word, but it describes two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring and AML procedures, and says Keytom may request verification information. Documents, proof of address and age for individuals are not stated there. A third-party site described in August 2026 a passport or national ID or residence permit, a selfie with a liveness check, proof of address, and source-of-funds evidence when asked, for applicants 18+. That is unofficial.

How do I top up the Keytom card?

Three routes are described: by card via Visa Direct, with USDC directly, or by converting euros or other crypto you already hold in Keytom into USDC. What the public pages do not say is which networks to use, what the minimum top-up is, and who pays the on-chain network fee. Confirm those before sending anything, because blockchain transfers are irreversible.

How much does the Keytom card cost to hold and use?

The virtual card issues free; physical delivery is 50 USDC and arrives in about 14 days. The monthly fee is 10 USDC per card, charged when the balance covers it, and USD 20 with both cards. Spending costs 1% in USD and 2.35% elsewhere, each with a 0.66 USDC minimum, and ATMs charge 2% in dollars or 3.35% in other currencies. There is no cashback stated.

Is the Keytom card safe to use?

Your balance is held by Keytom rather than kept in your own wallet, so you are trusting the provider with it. Keytom lists two-factor authentication, transaction monitoring, card freeze from the dashboard, segregated client accounts, and crypto described in the FAQ as insured up to $100 million through Fireblocks, and withdrawals can be paused on suspicious activity. Custodial platforms have failed before, so weigh that against your own comfort level.

Is Apple Pay available on the Keytom card?

Not at the moment. The FAQ says Apple Pay is not available yet, while Google Pay and PayPal are supported. A company reply on Trustpilot in October 2026 referred to Apple Pay being brought back, which implies it worked previously and was lost rather than never launched. If you pay primarily through your phone, check the current state before applying.

Why do some Keytom users complain, and what should I watch?

Trustpilot reads 4.3 out of 5 from 37 reviews over the last 12 months, with 81% five-star and 14% one-star as of 20 October 2026. Recurring themes are fees and rates compared with alternatives, a referral reward withheld alongside an account closure, and the missing Apple Pay. The company said rewards can be withheld for suspected abuse. Nothing here is alarming, but the fee complaints are arithmetic.

Is the Keytom card worth it?

It is worth it if you already hold USDC, spend mainly in US dollars at the 1% rate, and accept a custodial balance — the access and everyday-use marks are both 8 out of 10. It is not worth it if you spend abroad often, want cashback, rely on Apple Pay, or treat “free” as the deciding word. My overall mark is 6.0 out of 10, held back by a cost score of 3 out of 10.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team