A Visa card and euro IBAN from a Nevis company, sold on promises about exchange rates it will not put a number on
Wafee sells a payment card that spends the crypto sitting in your wallet, and pairs it with a euro IBAN so the money can leave as ordinary bank money too. On paper that is a tidy package for anyone who holds crypto and wants a normal-looking card in their pocket. In practice, most of the numbers you would need to decide are not on the page. The site says the exchange rate is competitive; it does not say what the rate is, what the fee is, what the limits are, whether the card is free, or which documents you must send to get one. I scored it 6.5 out of 10, and the reason for that number is not that the card looks bad — it is that you are being asked to trust a company that has not told you the terms.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 6.5 out of 10
The score is built from six things: who can get the card, what it costs, what you can top it up with, how reliable the provider looks, how it holds up in daily use, and the complaints picture. Here is each mark with the reason behind it, then the total.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 9 / 10 | Available in 160+ countries, with no country list at all |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Only “competitive exchange rates” is stated; issuance, conversion and ATM fees are never given |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Crypto spending is universal where Visa is taken, but no coins or networks are named; euro IBAN, SEPA and SWIFT are offered |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Wafee Ltd is registered in Nevis, a card partner is likely but unnamed, no licences are cited, and no complaints exist to read |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Visa, physical and virtual cards, Apple Pay and Google Pay; but no ATM terms and the app buttons lead nowhere |
| Total | 6.5 / 10 | A good shape of product, an unusually thin amount of published detail |
Two things pull in opposite directions here. The availability score is the best of any card in this comparison: 160+ countries is a claim you will struggle to find elsewhere in this category. But the costs and top-up marks are dragged down by the same silence, and silence is what a reader is most exposed to when money moves across borders.
The audience Wafee is clearly built for is a crypto holder who wants a euro IBAN account as well as a Visa card — someone whose crypto income arrives in a token and who needs to behave like a normal account holder at the landlord, the fuel station and the online store. If that is you, the product shape fits. The question is not whether the shape fits; it is whether you can live without the numbers. For most readers, you cannot.
I also want to name what I could not find, because it matters. There is no Trustpilot page for Wafee. A search for reviews turned up no pages about the company at all — only unrelated businesses. That silence cuts both ways: there is no pile of angry customers, but there is also no body of experience from other users to lean on. You are not joining a community with a track record; you are joining a company that has not yet built a visible one.
Who will give you the card
Wafee says the card is “Available in 160+ Countries” — and that is the entire eligibility statement. There is no list. The flags on the site are Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Egypt, Nigeria, Jamaica, Turkey and the UAE, which reads more like a set of examples than a coverage map. Whether a product is actually available in your country is decided by Wafee.co, not by a published rule you can check.
So if you are in one of the hundred and sixty-odd countries, the honest answer is: probably yes, but you will find out by trying, not by reading. And if you are outside them, or outside a country your own regulator would flag, the site gives you nothing to reason with. There is no published list of supported countries, no excluded countries, no note about residents versus citizens.
One thing worth understanding about how these cards are judged at the counter is that the check is usually not about citizenship. A payment card number starts with a six- or eight-digit issuer identification number, and any merchant can look that up to see which institution and which country issued it. If the issuer country differs from your billing address, a shop is within its rights to apply extra scrutiny, or to decline the card outright. This is the single most common practical complaint about crypto cards, and it has nothing to do with your documents — it is arithmetic in the card number. Whatever Wafee’s rules are, the card will carry some issuer country, and that is what will read at the till.
What Wafee does not tell you: what documents it needs, how long it takes, what age it requires, or how many identity checks stand between you and a funded card. That is the next section.
How to get it
The site’s own description is thin here, which is the finding. The card offering is described as: physical and virtual cards, connected to your account; on Visa; with the card’s own currency not stated. The FAQ links terms and conditions and a prohibited-activity list, which tells you the rules exist, just not on the page in front of you.
Key thing to know about identity checks in this category: nearly every provider of this kind has to verify who you are, because anti-money-laundering law requires regulated businesses to check customers and keep monitoring their transactions. In the EU that due diligence normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and an identity document, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. In the US the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. If a provider cannot complete those checks, rules require them to hold off — and that is why accounts close or freeze “pending documents” so often.
None of that tells you what Wafee specifically requires, because Wafee’s public pages do not state it. Treat any expectation of a quick anonymous card as unfounded. Expect to be asked for documents; what you send, and how your data is handled, is something you will learn only by starting the process.
The same silence covers delivery. Whether the physical card ships free, how long it takes, whether it arrives abroad, and how a virtual card is delivered instantly or otherwise — not stated. And the identity tiers, if there are more than one level, are not described either.
The app buttons are worth a word because they are a small honest tell. The site shows App Store and Google Play buttons, but as of my check they link to “#” — a placeholder, no destination. There is a web sign-in at app.wafee.co. I did not read store ratings. So the mobile app is announced but not, from where I sit, actually reachable from that page.
Fees and what a payment really costs
This is where I have the most trouble, and where you should have the most. Wafee’s pages do not give you a single number for what the card costs. Not the issuance fee, not the monthly fee, not the conversion fee, not the foreign-exchange markup, not the ATM fee. What you get is the phrase “competitive exchange rates” — which is an adjective, not a price, and one that means nothing until you see the rate at the moment you transact.

Here is every cost line the public pages actually specify. The right-hand column says plainly when nothing is stated.
| Fee or limit | What Wafee states |
|---|---|
| Issuance | not stated |
| Monthly fee | not stated |
| Conversion (crypto to fiat) | not stated — described only as “competitive exchange rates” |
| Foreign exchange | not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | not stated |
| Daily limits | not stated |
| Monthly limits | not stated |
| Card currency | not stated |
The account underneath is euro-denominated: Wafee offers EUR IBAN accounts linked to the crypto wallet, and says cards are loaded and spent at competitive exchange rates abroad, with crypto exchanged for fiat inside the app. So the currency you are converting into is the euro, whatever the card’s own currency turns out to be.
Now let me walk through three everyday payments, so you can see which missing number bites in which situation. The point is not to predict the fees — I cannot, and neither can you from this page — but to see where the cost hides.
Buying coffee in your own city. You tap the card. If you paid in the euro already and the card spends euro, there may be nothing at all beyond whatever the card’s own terms turn out to be. This is the payment where Wafee’s silence hurts least. Even here, though, a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, and I would not promise that a small foreign-issued card will be accepted everywhere without a second tap.
A holiday abroad. You spend in a currency the card does not hold. Now two unstated numbers enter at once: any foreign-exchange markup, and the conversion rate itself. “Competitive” is doing a lot of quiet work here. This is the payment where the missing figures hurt most, and the one to resolve in writing with support before you travel.
A subscription or a bigger online purchase. Online payments go through an identity check — Visa’s version of 3-D Secure — where the issuer either approves silently or challenges you with a one-time code or a biometric prompt. Larger payments attract exactly this challenge, and if your limits turn out to be low, or your billing address does not match what the merchant types, the payment can simply fail. Address verification — comparing the numbers in the billing address you typed against the issuer’s records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which is itself a cause of declines. Then there are merchant category codes: a four-digit number classifying the business, and many issuers block whole categories by policy rather than by law. Gambling, for instance, sits under 7995, and the blocked list varies by issuer — so what Wafee blocks is not stated.
Wafee also does not say whether it offers tiers, and what a free account would look like if one exists. “Is Wafee card free” is a fair question and the honest answer on the public pages is that I could not find the answer.
How to Top up the card
The top-up story has three separate pieces, and each is documented to a different depth.

The first is the card itself: Wafee says you can “top up your payment cards,” and that you can spend crypto anywhere Visa is accepted. Neither the coins nor the networks are named. That single missing detail is the practical trap in this whole section, and I want to explain why rather than just flag it.
Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send a deposit on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the money can be lost or need manual support recovery with no guarantee. There is no chargeback button on a blockchain transfer. So “which network?” is not a technicality — it is the difference between a working top-up and money in the void.
And the network question has a sharp edge. The two dollar-pegged stablecoins, USDT and USDC, together hold about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation, but they are not interchangeable across networks. USDC is natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. USDT has been issued on networks including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Stablecoins can also lose their peg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC wobbled in March 2023 during the US banking crisis — so the value you load can move before you spend it.
The second piece is the bank side, which is documented better: you get a EUR IBAN, and Wafee offers outgoing SEPA euro transfers, SWIFT transfers and P2P transfers from the account. These are the rails a normal person uses to move money in and out.
The third is cashing out: Wafee says you can “cash out your crypto and convert it into traditional currency whenever you need it with our instant conversion feature.”
What is not stated anywhere: top-up fees, minimum top-up amounts, and how to withdraw money from Wafee beyond the methods themselves — the withdrawal fees, and whether you can move your whole balance out if you decide to leave. Those are the questions to put to support before you load anything you would miss.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day, this is the card’s best suit, and it is why the everyday-use mark is the second-highest here.
You get Visa, so the card works at any shop or website that takes Visa, anywhere in the world. You get both physical and virtual cards linked to the same account — useful, because the virtual one is what you put in a wallet or a browser and the physical one is what sits on the counter. And Wafee explicitly supports contactless payments using Apple Pay or Google Pay.
Those mobile wallets are not just a convenience, they are a security feature. Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the phone’s Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. So a tap in a shop is, in a real sense, safer than handing over the plastic. The catch is that a card issuer can restrict a tokenised number — blocking it, say, on phone or website use — and Wafee does not say whether or how it does that.
What is missing on the everyday-use side: what is blocked. Not the categories, not the countries, not whether some transactions are declined. Nor are any rewards mentioned — Wafee’s pages say nothing about cashback or points, which for a card that costs you real money is a legitimate question to ask before you pick it over a competitor that pays you something.
Dispute handling is also unstated, and this is worth pausing on. When something goes wrong with a card payment, the mechanism that fixes it is a chargeback — a refund ordered by the issuer, with reason codes like fraud, duplicate billing, or goods not received. US debit card reversal rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If your Wafee balance behaves like a prepaid balance, assume less protection, not more, until Wafee tells you otherwise in writing.
For support there is an email at [email protected], a contact form, an FAQ page, and links to X, Facebook, Instagram, Discord and Telegram — though the Telegram icon points at the Discord invite. Opening hours and languages are not stated. There is a small, slightly untidy detail in all of that, and it is the kind of detail that is hard to un-notice once you have seen it.
What can go wrong
This section is the one I would read twice, because the failure modes here are about people and companies, not software.
Who you are actually trusting. Wafee Ltd is registered as C 57790, at Suite 1, A.L. Evelyn Ltd Building, Main Street, Charlestown, Nevis. That is a real registration, and it tells you the company is domiciled in Saint Kitts and Nevis — a jurisdiction many readers will have no intuition about, and whose consumer recourse differs from theirs. The FAQ page links “Walletto Terms & Conditions” and a “Walletto Annex Prohibited Activity List”. Walletto therefore appears to be the card partner, but the page does not explain the role, and no licences are named anywhere on the pages. I did not find news coverage of Wafee either — no story, no controversy, nothing.
Where your money sits. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key. With a custodial wallet the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust them completely. Wafee’s site mentions “cutting-edge encryption”, multi-factor authentication and security audits, but in general terms rather than anything card-specific, and it does not state its custody model. A “Custody Note” PDF is linked; I did not find the custody model explained on the page itself.
The reason to care is not abstract. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). And a seed phrase — typically 12 to 24 words — is an unencrypted private key; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds, because transfers are irreversible and there is no recovery button on the blockchain. If Wafee is custodial, you carry counterparty and hack risk; if it is self-custody-linked, you carry sole responsibility for key loss and phishing. You are not told which one you are signing up for.
Programmes ending. Card programmes do close. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. FTX is the other name everyone knows: Visa said on 13 November 2022 that it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX”, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. Visa and Mastercard do not issue these cards themselves — they license issuers and can suspend a programme — and when one ends, the pattern is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then you are asked to withdraw your remaining balance. That is the scenario to imagine when you are deciding how much of your balance to leave sitting on the card: ideally none of it, for long.
Getting declined. Beyond the mechanics above, some merchants simply decline prepaid or foreign cards, because the issuer lookup reveals exactly what kind of card it is and where it came from. If your main reason for wanting a card is difficulty getting an ordinary one, this is worth weighing: the card that solves your access problem may also be the card some shops look at twice.
Regulatory ground shifting underneath it. A card is a payment service and the crypto side is regulated separately, so a crypto card often rests on two licences rather than one. In the EU, the markets-in-crypto-assets regulation (MiCA, Regulation (EU) 2023/1114) took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on stablecoins applied from 30 June 2024 and the remaining provisions, including the crypto-asset service provider rules, from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers already operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026, or until they are authorised or refused authorisation, whichever comes first. Wafee’s status under that transition is not something the pages tell me. Nor is its licence generally: no licences are named.
Two protections are worth knowing exist even when you cannot check a specific provider. Electronic money institutions in the EU must safeguard customer funds, by segregating them or insuring them — but such funds are not bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. And ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, white papers and non-compliant entities; if you want to know where a provider stands, that register is the place to look.
Nobody’s complaining. Finally, the empty result: no Trustpilot page, no reviews, no news. Not a red flag on its own, but it means there is no third-party record to check your instincts against. You are early to every provider in this category, including the bad ones.
What to take instead
If you want the comparison in one view, these are the three alternatives I looked at, with the same questions asked of each.
| Card | Score | Card and network | Cost and fees | Who it is for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| International Visa Card | 6.7 / 10 | U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; pays in USD. Physical card “Coming soon” | $5 one-time issuance, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00/month, Max $19.00/month. Card use in USD free; foreign currency “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”; deposits of any kind free | People who want published numbers and a long country list, and do not need a euro IBAN |
| UNi Card | 6.1 / 10 | Multicurrency card on Mastercard, spends from the UNi.Global balance | “No annual fee”, no foreign transaction fee; assets converted at live OTC rates, “no hidden exchange fees” | People who prioritise fee clarity and Mastercard reach over euro banking |
| Whop Cards | 5.2 / 10 | Visa, online and in stores; virtual/physical type not stated | “No extra fees”; no issuance or monthly amounts listed; conversion and FX fees not stated | People inside the covered US states who want 5% cashback at select merchants (currently Uber) |
Three comparisons are worth drawing out, because they are the practical reason to hesitate here.
Numbers versus adjectives. The International Visa Card publishes a $5 issuance fee, three plan prices, and an explicit “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Wafee publishes “competitive exchange rates”. If you are the kind of person who wants to know what you are paying before you pay it, that contrast is the whole argument. Its top-up side is also concrete: deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account free at 1:1, and USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow deposits are supported.
Reach versus rigour. Both Wafee and the International Visa Card are wide. But the International Visa Card states exactly where it does not work — not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case with compliance approval — and where purchases are blocked, in North Korea, Cuba, Iran, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. Note that its rule is by residence or registration, with citizenship not mentioned, and the same residence-versus-citizenship distinction is the one you should keep in mind for any provider. Wafee’s 160+ countries is a bigger claim; it is just not one you can check.
Structure versus price. Whop’s 5% cashback at select merchants is the most generous reward on offer in this group, but it is also the narrowest product — 31 US states for consumers, 41 for businesses, with unsupported consumer countries including Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam — and its basis of eligibility, citizenship or residence, is not stated. UNi sits in between: “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee” and “no hidden exchange fees” are strong words, though its country eligibility is not stated at all.
If what you need is specifically a euro IBAN alongside the card, this comparison may not offer you a choice — Wafee is here because it is one of the few in this shape. In that case the deciding factor is not which card is cheapest, but whether you can get Wafee to put its numbers in writing.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Wafee to three kinds of reader, and caution the rest.
First, if you already hold crypto and want to spend it without converting through a separate exchange each time — or you want a euro IBAN to receive a salary or invoice alongside that crypto. For you the product shape is genuinely good, and the 160+ country claim is the broadest here.
Second, if you are comfortable being an early user. No reviews, no visible complaint history, a Nevis registration, a partner whose role is unexplained and no licences named — these are all things that can be fine, and all things you should hold loosely rather than entrust with your full balance. Put in a small amount first. Get the answer to “what happens to my balance if you stop” before you put in the rest.
Third, if you will spend ten minutes on support before you deposit. Ask, in writing, for the conversion rate and fee, the ATM terms, the daily and monthly limits, the top-up minimum and fee, the withdrawal fee, the blocked merchant categories, and the custody arrangement. If those answers come back clearly, the silence on the website stops mattering.
And I would tell the rest to wait. If you are choosing a card by comparing published numbers — if you plan to travel, if you want to know your limits, if you intend to leave more than a modest balance on the card — then Wafee asking you to accept adjectives where competitors publish prices is a poor trade, and the sensible move is a card that tells you what it costs. That is a real recommendation, not a hedge: in this category, disclosure is a feature, and Wafee currently does not have one.
Whether the card is worth it for you comes down to a question only you can answer. Is the euro IBAN worth the uncertainty? If yes, this is one of the few cards that offers it. If no, pick the one that prints its fees.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wafee card?
It is a Visa payment card tied to a crypto wallet, paired with a euro IBAN account. You convert crypto into fiat inside the app, load the balance onto physical or virtual cards, and spend it wherever Visa is taken. The euro account adds SEPA, SWIFT and P2P transfers, so money can move in and out as ordinary bank money. Wafee Ltd is registered in Nevis.
How does the Wafee card work?
The card draws on a stored balance rather than on your bank account, which is how most crypto cards behave: you convert or top up a fiat balance first, and the card spends only that balance, so it cannot overdraw. Cards come in physical and virtual form on Visa, and the site says they are connected to the same account. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. You can also cash out crypto into traditional currency through an instant conversion feature.
Is Wafee a bank?
The public pages do not describe it as a bank, and no banking licence is named. Wafee Ltd is registered in Nevis as C 57790. The FAQ page links terms and conditions for a company called Walletto, which appears to be the card partner, but the page does not explain that role. What you are getting is described as a euro IBAN account with payment cards, which in this category usually means an e-money institution rather than a bank — and e-money balances are safeguarded rather than bank deposits, with deposit guarantee not applying.
Does the Wafee card require KYC?
The Wafee pages do not state what identity checks are required, or how many tiers there are — that is simply not stated. Almost every provider in this category must verify customers under anti-money-laundering law; in the EU that normally covers name, address, date of birth, nationality, an identity document, a sanctions check and politically exposed person screening. Expect to be asked for documents. Expect accounts to be held pending them if that process cannot be completed.
How much does the Wafee card cost?
The public pages give no figures: not the issuance fee, not a monthly fee, not the conversion fee, not the foreign exchange markup, not ATM fees, not daily or monthly limits. The only statement is that cards are loaded and spent “at competitive exchange rates”, with exchange between crypto and fiat available in the app. If cost is your deciding factor, ask support for these numbers in writing before you fund the card.
Can I use the Wafee card in my country?
The site says “Available in 160+ Countries” and gives no list. The flags shown are Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, Egypt, Nigeria, Jamaica, Turkey and the UAE, which look like examples rather than a coverage map. Product availability is decided by Wafee.co. So in most countries the answer is probably yes, but you will discover it by applying rather than by reading. Note that some shops decline foreign-issued cards anyway, because the issuer country is visible in the card number.
What coins and networks can I top up Wafee with?
Neither coins nor networks are named on the pages — “top up your payment cards” is as specific as it gets. This matters more than it sounds, because blockchain transfers are irreversible: a deposit sent on an unsupported network, or to an address on another network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. USDT and USDC dominate the stablecoin market, but they are not interchangeable across chains, so confirm the exact coin and network with support before sending anything.
Is the Wafee card safe?
No one can answer that for you with confidence from the outside, and I would distrust anyone who does. What the site offers is general: “cutting-edge encryption”, multi-factor authentication and security audits — not card-specific, and the custody model is not stated, though a Custody Note PDF is linked. Weigh that against the fact that custodial providers have failed before (Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin) and that card programmes can be wound down, as FTX’s was after Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022.
Is the Wafee card free?
Unknown from the public pages. There is no stated issuance fee, no monthly fee, no tier structure and no free-versus-paid breakdown. The wording about competitive exchange rates implies a cost somewhere — in the rate, in a spread, or in a fee — but the site does not say which. If you are asking this because free matters, Wafee will not help you answer it, and a competitor that publishes $5 issuance and a 2% FX fee would.
How do I delete my Wafee account, and can I withdraw everything?
Withdrawal routes are described: outgoing SEPA euro transfers, SWIFT transfers and P2P transfers from the account, plus cashing crypto into traditional currency through instant conversion. But withdrawal fees are not stated, and how to close an account is not described on the pages I could see. This is the question to ask before you ever deposit — if you cannot get funds out, the low fees and low risks elsewhere mean nothing.
Choosing an app or neobank card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
