Phemex card: a USD Mastercard drawn from a crypto balance, in EEA only

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Phemex card is a virtual Mastercard debit card that spends from your Phemex Spot Account in USDT and USDC. The card itself is free, settled in US dollars, and shaped for people who already keep stablecoins on Phemex rather than for everyday consumers shopping around for a bank card. The clearest thing about it is who can get one: only residents of the European Economic Area, in a list of 30 countries that Phemex itself publishes. If you live anywhere else, the conversation stops there.

Phemex works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

The Phemex card scores 5.9 out of 10 in our assessment. That is a middling score for a narrow product. It does a few specific things well, and it is the wrong fit for most other situations. The breakdown below shows where the marks come from.

Criterion Mark Reason in brief
Who can get it 5 / 10 EEA residents only, 30 countries listed; rules tighten further inside that
Cost 8 / 10 No issuance, annual or closure fees; no monthly charge; spread-based conversion with no percentage quoted; cashback in USDT
Top-up options 6 / 10 Card spends from the Spot Account in USDT and USDC, auto-converted at the till; networks not relevant
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Programme manager is IMMERSVE LIMITED in New Zealand under a Mastercard licence; exchange-level Trustpilot at 2.0/5; custodial balance
Everyday use 6 / 10 Virtual Mastercard, Apple Pay and Google Pay; no physical card, no ATM

The card fits a particular kind of reader. If you live in one of the listed EEA countries, already hold USDT or USDC on Phemex, and want a way to spend those stablecoins at a normal Mastercard terminal or in a mobile wallet without converting them to euros first, the card is built for you. If you want a physical card you can hand over at a shop, withdraw cash from, or use across multiple networks and currencies with published fees, the Phemex card is the wrong product. The virtual-only setup is the single biggest reason the everyday-use mark is held at 6 rather than higher.

The score table above is the headline. The rest of this review walks through the eligibility rules, the signup steps, what the card really costs in practice, how to fund it, what daily use looks like, the risks, the alternatives, and who we would actually point it towards.

Who will they give you the card

Phemex describes the card as available “exclusively to users residing in the European Economic Area.” The 30 countries on the list are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The rule is by residence, not by citizenship, and you must be at least 18 years old.

There is a small inconsistency worth flagging: the public list of 30 includes Croatia, Ireland and Romania, but the cardholder terms define the EEA as excluding those same three. We did not find a public resolution from Phemex. The safest reading is that the eligibility list is the one to trust in practice, but this is the kind of detail that an applicant should double-check with support before submitting documents.

It is also worth understanding what “EEA” means here in plain terms. The EEA is the European Union plus Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. Switzerland is not in the EEA. The United Kingdom is not in the EEA. So the card is not open to UK residents, not open to Swiss residents, and not open to anyone in North America, Latin America, Africa, the Middle East, most of Asia or Australia. People in those places are looking at a different kind of product entirely.

For residents of the listed countries, the application needs identity verification and address verification. People resident in 12 of those countries — Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Spain and Sweden — can type an address in. Residents of the other EEA countries on the list have to upload a proof-of-address document dated within the last three months, such as a bank statement, utility bill or government document. There is a single KYC identity check; processing time is not stated. The application can be refused for incomplete KYC, an unsupported region, failed address verification, a failed risk or compliance review, or inconsistent information.

How to get it

You start by opening a Phemex account and a Phemex Wallet, then visit the Card page. From there the steps are: complete the KYC identity check, verify your residential address, enter a mobile number, agree to the Terms of Use, the Privacy Policy and the Cardholder Terms, and submit.

The card itself is a virtual Mastercard debit card in US dollars. There is one virtual card per user. There is no physical card and no delivery step: the card is issued immediately on approval. If the card is cancelled or terminated, it is not replaced automatically, and reissue is only considered if the concerns that led to the closure no longer apply.

This “one virtual card, no plastic” setup has practical consequences. You cannot hand a Phemex card to a waiter, slip it into a wallet, or pull it out at a foreign ATM. The card lives in the Phemex app and in Apple Pay or Google Pay, which is where the actual spending happens. That works well for online purchases, contactless checkout, and in-app payments, and it is a poor fit for situations that require a physical card.

Fees and what a Phemex card actually costs

Phemex does not charge an issuance fee, an annual fee, an account closure fee or any monthly maintenance fee. There is a single fee tier: the card has no paid tiers and no premium upgrade. The cashback rate changes with your Phemex user tier, but the fees do not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Phemex payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Where the cost comes in is the conversion spread at the moment of payment. When you pay in a currency other than US dollars, you take the card network’s baseline exchange rate, plus a Phemex conversion spread. The exact percentage of the spread is not stated in the public terms, and spreads and markups are non-refundable. For non-card fees, ATM terms are not stated because the card is virtual and there is no ATM access.

The cashback is paid in USDT, and the rate depends on your Phemex user tier. Standard tier users get 0.25% back, VIP users get 1% back, and VIP users can occasionally see promotional rates of up to 3%. The cashback is paid into your Spot Account on the 10th of the following month, in UTC, and it only applies to transactions in eligible merchant categories. A handful of categories are excluded: financial and investment services, cash-like and crypto-related transactions, gambling, government services, education, insurance, business services and professional services. If a transaction is refunded, the cashback is reduced proportionally.

Default spending limits are adjustable downward but not upward: 5,000 USD per transaction, 5,000 USD per day, 30,000 USD per month, 100,000 USD per year.

Fee or limit Value
Card issuance None
Annual fee None
Monthly maintenance None
Account closure None
Crypto-to-fiat conversion Spread at transaction time, percentage not stated
Foreign exchange (non-USD) Network baseline rate plus possible Phemex spread, percentage not stated
ATM Not stated; virtual card, no ATM access
Per-transaction limit 5,000 USD
Daily limit 5,000 USD
Monthly limit 30,000 USD
Annual limit 100,000 USD
Cashback (Standard) 0.25% in USDT
Cashback (VIP) 1% in USDT
Cashback (VIP promo) Up to 3% in USDT

Three everyday payments and what they cost

To make the cost picture less abstract, here is how three common payments would look on the Phemex card.

A 50 euro supermarket purchase in Spain. The merchant receives 50 euros; your Phemex Spot Account sells the right amount of USDT to cover the dollars, plus the Phemex conversion spread on top of Mastercard’s euro-to-dollar rate. The exact spread is not stated. As a Standard-tier user you get 0.25% back in USDT the following month; as a VIP you get 1%. The transaction counts against your daily limit.

A 30 pound streaming subscription paid from a UK billing address. The card is USD-denominated, so the pounds are converted through Mastercard’s rate plus Phemex’s spread. The merchant category is “subscriptions” rather than the excluded categories, so cashback applies. If your account is set to USDC instead of USDT, that USDC balance is drawn down first, then USDT. There is no monthly cap on cashback.

An online purchase of 5,000 US dollars from a US merchant. No FX conversion is needed because the card is denominated in dollars. The Phemex conversion spread still applies between the crypto in your Spot Account and the dollars the card needs. The 5,000 USD is fully under your 5,000 USD per-transaction limit and counts against the daily and monthly caps.

The honest summary is that the headline cost (no monthly fee, no issuance fee, no annual fee) is genuinely free, and the running cost is whatever the conversion spread turns out to be at the till. Without a published percentage it is hard to compare precisely with cards that quote a flat conversion fee.

How to top up the card

There is no separate “top up the card” step. The card draws directly on the Spot Account balance in USDT and USDC. When you make a purchase, the right amount of stablecoin is auto-converted to US dollars at the point of sale. Each coin can be switched on or off in the card settings, and you can set the priority order: USDT first, then USDC, or the other way around.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Phemex starts with a transfer to the right network

Because the card is funded from inside the Phemex platform, the usual stablecoin transfer questions (which network, which gas token, which address) do not apply in the same way. The relevant question is how you get stablecoins into the Phemex Spot Account in the first place, and that happens through the standard Phemex deposit and transfer functions. Phemex shows Transfer and Deposit buttons, but it does not publish a fee or a minimum for topping up the card specifically.

One practical consequence: if your Spot Account is empty, your card declines. The card cannot overdraw because it is essentially pre-funded from the crypto you already hold on the exchange. There is no “load 100 euros from my bank” button at the card level; you would have to fund the Spot Account first, and then the card has something to draw on.

If the card is cancelled, any remaining balance is refunded to the Phemex Wallet after all final transactions and fees have cleared. The programme can be terminated by Phemex with 60 days’ written notice, and the same general pattern of “stop accepting new loads, then stop spending, then ask users to withdraw” applies.

Paying with the card every day

Once it is set up, the Phemex card is used like any other virtual Mastercard. Online checkout takes the card number, expiry and CVV from the Phemex app or the web card page. In a shop, the card goes into Apple Pay or Google Pay, and you pay contactless with your phone. Both mobile wallets are supported.

There is no physical card, so there is no swiping, no inserting, and no ATM. Online subscriptions, app store purchases, online retailers, and contactless in-store payments are the natural use cases. The card is denominated in US dollars, so purchases in other currencies go through Mastercard’s rate plus Phemex’s spread.

A handful of merchant categories do not earn cashback even if the payment goes through. These are financial and investment services, cash-like and crypto-related transactions, gambling, government services, education, insurance, business services and professional services. This is a longer list than some other cards, and it means the cashback rate is more of a “groceries, travel, retail” reward than a flat rebate on every spend.

The card supports a 4-digit PIN, which some in-store terminals ask for. The Phemex app has a “Freeze Card” button that blocks the card instantly. Per-transaction, daily, monthly and annual limits can be lowered from the defaults. Security verification is needed to view the full card details, so a casual look at the app does not show the number, expiry and CVV.

What can go wrong

A payment card that draws on a custodial crypto balance carries a different set of risks than a debit card linked to a bank account, and the Phemex card is a clear example of that.

The balance is custodial. The card spends from your Phemex Spot Account, which means the underlying stablecoins are held by Phemex, not by you. Phemex’s terms say funds are safeguarded “in accordance with applicable law” and that there is no deposit protection scheme. The cardholder’s liability for a lost or misused card is capped at €50 / £35, the standard EU figure, but the bigger risk is the exchange itself. There is no insurance-backed guarantee that USDT and USDC balances on Phemex are recoverable if the platform fails.

The exchange has a low public review score. The exchange-level Trustpilot score is 2.0 out of 5 from 277 reviews, read 2026-10-21. Themes from 2026 reviews include withdrawals blocked or locked, repeated KYC re-verification, slow or bot-like support responses, and disputed liquidations. These are exchange-wide reviews, not card-specific complaints, but they cover the same balance the card spends from. We did not find specific card-programme incidents in the public record.

The programme manager is overseas. The card programme is managed by IMMERSVE LIMITED, a New Zealand-registered company (company number 9429050083725, FSP1003031). The card is issued under a Mastercard International licence, and the public terms name IMMERSVE as the card issuer, but the issuer and programme manager are not the same entity you have an exchange account with. That distance is normal for crypto cards but is worth being aware of when something goes wrong.

There is a conflict between the eligibility list and the EEA definition. The public country list and the cardholder terms disagree on Croatia, Ireland and Romania, as discussed in the “Who will they give you the card” section. We did not find a public resolution.

The history is short and bumpy. The card rollout began in mid-September 2025 according to a third-party news report, with EEA expansion happening in phases. The wider Phemex exchange had a 2025 security incident that interrupted deposits and withdrawals, again according to a third-party aggregator. These are exchange-level events rather than card events, but they sit underneath the same balance.

The non-cashback categories are wide. Eight MCC groups do not earn cashback. For someone who spends heavily on excluded categories, the headline rate is not as attractive as it looks.

No published conversion spread. The percentage of the FX and crypto-to-fiat spread is not stated, which makes it hard to budget. Spreads and markups are also non-refundable.

No 3-D Secure note in our reading. We did not see a specific 3-D Secure statement for the card in the public material. 3-D Secure is the standard online check that protects against fraud; its absence is not a complaint, just an unstated point worth checking when you first use the card online.

Issuer-risk freezes cannot be undone by the user. The terms reserve the right for the issuer to freeze the card for compliance reasons, and a user-initiated freeze in the app is not a substitute.

On the dispute side, the terms set out three windows: unauthorised transactions must be reported within 13 months of the debit, merchant disputes require written confirmation within 120 days of the transaction, and merchant-initiated amount disputes follow an 8-week procedure. Fiat refunds reduce the cashback proportionally.

What to take instead

If the Phemex card is not the right fit, here is how three alternatives compare on the same overall scoring approach we use. None of these alternatives’ eligibility, fees or rewards were confirmed in detail for this review, so treat the descriptions below as unofficial and the scores as rough guides.

Young Card, 5.7 / 10. A virtual crypto card with cashback paid in the platform’s YNG token. Reward rates depend on the user’s Club tier: Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6%. Bronze and Silver rates were not stated. Card details, fees, and residency rules were not stated in the public material we could read.

MSX, 6.4 / 10. A higher-scoring alternative whose official page we could not read for full details; card details, fees, funding source, residency rules and reward structure were not stated in our sources.

Bybit Card, 6.0 / 10. A more fully documented alternative. Bybit’s card is available in regions such as Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and an “Asia Pacific” bucket, but not the European Economic Area — the cards page says explicitly that “this product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” That is the opposite of the Phemex card’s restriction. The card can be virtual and physical depending on region, with network, currency and validity rules that vary by jurisdiction. Conversion is 0.9% over Bybit’s One-Click Sell rate in most regions, 0.5% in Argentina; FX is 2% on top of the network rate in most regions, 7% in Argentina. Cashback is tiered from 2% at Base to 10% at Infinite, paid in points convertible to USDT, with monthly caps. Welcome offers, subscription rebates, and referral bonuses are also available.

For an EEA resident, Bybit is not an option. For a non-EEA reader who cannot get the Phemex card, Bybit is a more complete product on paper, with the trade-off that you are using a different exchange and a different custody arrangement. The choice between these cards tends to come down to which exchange you already trust and which region you live in.

Who I would recommend it to

Three profiles fit this card well.

You live in one of the 30 listed EEA countries, and you already hold USDT or USDC on Phemex. The card turns an existing balance into something you can spend at any Mastercard terminal or in Apple Pay or Google Pay, with no monthly or annual fee. That is a clean fit.

You are a Standard or VIP Phemex user who values the USDT cashback. Even at 0.25% Standard and 1% VIP, paid in USDT into the same balance you spend from, the cashback is a small but frictionless rebate. At promotional rates of up to 3% for VIPs, it gets more interesting for a short period.

You do not need cash, do not need a physical card, and accept the conversion spread as a known unknown. The card is virtual, has no ATM, and does not publish a conversion-spread percentage. If you can live within those limits, the experience is straightforward.

The card is the wrong fit for the following readers.

You live outside the EEA. The card is not available. There is no sign-up path, no waiting list, and no regional workaround in the public terms.

You want a physical card. There is no plastic. A waiter cannot hand it back to you, and an ATM cannot read it.

You need a card that publishes a flat conversion fee. Phemex only describes its cost as “a spread at transaction time” and notes that the percentage is not stated. If budgeting to a known percentage matters, a card with a published rate is a better match.

You are not comfortable with a custodial balance. The card spends from funds Phemex holds. A self-custody-linked card, where the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, removes the counterparty risk on the balance.

You spend heavily on the excluded merchant categories. Financial services, gambling, government, education, insurance and several business categories do not earn cashback. If those are where most of your spending goes, the headline reward rate is irrelevant.

You rely on fiat deposit insurance. There is no deposit protection scheme covering the Spot Account balance. The exchange-level Trustpilot score is low; the 2026 reviews describe blocked withdrawals, repeated KYC re-checks and slow support.

In short, this is a card for a small, specific audience, and the score reflects that. The 5.9 is not a sign of a bad product so much as a sign of a narrow one.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Phemex card?

The Phemex card is a virtual Mastercard debit card that draws on the USDT and USDC balance in your Phemex Spot Account. It is denominated in US dollars, has no issuance, annual or monthly fee, and is currently available only to residents of the European Economic Area. The card lives in the Phemex app and works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.

How does the Phemex card work?

When you make a purchase, the card automatically converts the right amount of USDT or USDC from your Spot Account into US dollars at the point of sale. The merchant sees a normal Mastercard transaction. There is no pre-loading step; if the Spot Account is empty, the transaction declines. You can switch USDT and USDC on or off and choose which one is used first.

Is Phemex a bank?

No. Phemex is a cryptocurrency exchange. The card programme is managed by IMMERSVE LIMITED, a New Zealand-registered company, and the card itself is issued under a Mastercard International licence. Phemex’s terms do not promise deposit protection for the Spot Account balance.

Who owns Phemex?

The card programme manager is IMMERSVE LIMITED, registered in New Zealand. Phemex operates the exchange and front-end experience. These are separate entities, which is normal for crypto cards but is worth knowing if you need to raise a card-specific issue.

Is the Phemex card available in my country?

The card is available only to residents of 30 countries in the European Economic Area: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway. The United Kingdom, Switzerland, the United States and most of the rest of the world are not on the list.

Can I use the Phemex card in another country?

You can use the card in any country where Mastercard is accepted, subject to the card’s FX spread. The residency rule is about who can apply for and hold the card, not where it can be spent. Non-USD purchases are converted at the card network’s rate plus a Phemex spread, and the spread percentage is not stated.

How do I apply for the Phemex card?

You open a Phemex account and Wallet, go to the Card page, complete the KYC identity check, verify your residential address, enter a mobile number, and agree to the Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Cardholder Terms. Residents of 12 listed countries type an address in; residents of the other listed countries upload a proof-of-address document dated within three months. The card is issued immediately on approval.

How do I top up the Phemex card?

You do not top up the card directly. The card draws on your Phemex Spot Account in USDT and USDC. To add funds, you transfer or deposit stablecoins into the Spot Account through the standard Phemex transfer and deposit functions. There is no card-level loading step.

Is the Phemex card safe?

The card uses standard safeguards such as app-based controls, instant freeze, PIN, and adjustable limits. The underlying balance is custodial, which means Phemex holds the funds and there is no deposit protection scheme. The exchange-level Trustpilot score is 2.0 out of 5 from 277 reviews, with themes in 2026 including blocked withdrawals, repeated KYC re-checks and slow support. The score reflects those trade-offs.

Is the Phemex card worth it?

The card is worth it for EEA residents who already hold USDT or USDC on Phemex and want a no-fee way to spend those stablecoins at a Mastercard terminal or in a mobile wallet. It is not worth it if you live outside the EEA, need a physical card, want a published conversion-fee percentage, or are not comfortable with a custodial balance. For that last group, an alternative such as a self-custody-linked card or a non-EEA product like the Bybit card may suit better.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team