The card you can hold without a bank, if you can live with a virtual one

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Simple Crypto is not a bank account with a card bolted on. It is a virtual Mastercard that spends a balance you load yourself, converted from stablecoins you already hold, and issued by an e-money company in Cyprus that belongs to someone else entirely. That single sentence explains most of what follows — including the parts I like and the parts I do not.

Simple Crypto works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 6.9 out of 10. The number is not a rounding of “decent” or “avoid”; it is what the card earns when the very good parts (top-ups, eligibility, everyday spending) are set against the parts that should give you pause (a virtual-only card, a custodial wallet service being shut down, and a support record that users describe as slow).

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

The verdict

Here is the card out of ten, criterion by criterion, with my reasons in plain words rather than in a spreadsheet.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Simple Crypto starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 A help-centre list dated 24 January 2026 covers Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa and the CIS, and the United States — an unusually wide map for a card of this kind
Cost 5 / 10 Issuing and monthly servicing are both 0, but an international card payment costs 2.5 %, cash withdrawal is free only for the first three a month, and card replacement is 20 EUR
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Tron, plus USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Base — instantly
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 The card comes from Unlimit EU Limited in Cyprus, licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus as number 115.1.3.7, but the custodial wallet closes by 30 June 2026 and Trustpilot reviews talk about blocked accounts and slow support
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual Mastercard only, a physical card still in development; Apple Pay and Google Pay work, and the ATM limit is 500 USDC a day
Total 6.9 / 10

Who this suits. If you already hold USDC, you want to spend it like ordinary money without touching an exchange, and your country is on that 24 January 2026 list, this is close to the version of the product you want. Add to that a situation where a normal bank card is awkward to get — no local account, a long wait, a blocked application — and the case gets stronger still, because a virtual card number that works with Apple Pay solves a real daily problem.

Who it does not suit. If you want a plastic card in your wallet, this is the wrong card today, full stop. If you are the kind of person who keeps a balance on the card and forgets about it, the 20 EUR replacement and the 2 % cash-withdrawal fee after the first three will teach you. And if you plan to sit on funds inside the custodial wallet, read the closure notice below before you decide anything — that is the one part of this review I would not skim.

Will they give you the card

The simplest answer: on the evidence of the card’s own help centre, very probably yes, if you are in the right place. The list of regions for the USDC Simplecard, dated 24 January 2026, is one of the broadest I have seen on a card like this. It names:

Two things the list does not tell you, and I would rather say so than guess. It does not say whether you qualify by citizenship or by residence — if you live in one listed country and hold a passport from another, the pages do not resolve it, so ask support before you invest an evening in the application. It also does not publish a minimum age.

Everything here is what the card states about itself. It is not confirmation that an application in your particular country will be approved, because only the KYC check can decide that.

How to get it

The route is short. In the app you go to the Cards section, choose the Virtual card, enter your phone number, and complete KYC by uploading a Proof of Identity and a Proof of Address. The card’s own wording on the review time: it “usually takes a few minutes but can take longer”. I would plan for the second half of that sentence.

For proof of address, the document must be dated within the last six months, and the accepted list is: a bank statement as a PDF, an electricity, water or gas bill, an internet or landline bill, a tax bill or government letter, or a utility bill from a government agency.

The rejections people hit, according to the same page, are unglamorous and avoidable: uploading a passport or ID instead of a proof of address, a document older than six months, or a screenshot instead of a PDF or a photo. In other words, none of these are judgement calls about you as a person; they are format errors.

Step What you do
1 Open the Cards section of the app
2 Choose Virtual card
3 Enter your phone number
4 Upload Proof of Identity and Proof of Address
5 Wait — usually a few minutes, sometimes longer

What you get is a virtual Mastercard and nothing else. The card’s own help centre says the physical card is “currently in development”. The card currency is EUR.

There are no tiers and no KYC levels described on the public pages — a single proof-of-identity plus proof-of-address process, with no stated upgrade path to higher limits.

Fees: what it really costs

Here is the honest total. The free part is the part that gets advertised, and the free part is not small. But the shape of the pricing is where your money actually goes.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Simple Crypto payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Card issuance 0 EUR
Cardholder management 0 per month
Non-active card maintenance 0 per month
Card payment, domestic 0
Card payment, international 2.5 %
ATM withdrawal, domestic 0 for the first 3 withdrawals per month, then 2 %
ATM withdrawal, international 1.75 + 2.5 % (EUR figures as listed)
ATM balance inquiry 0
Cash withdrawal in a currency other than the card currency 0
Reissue, renewal or replacement 20 EUR
Chargeback 40 EUR
Review of an unjustified claim 40 EUR
Card payments 30 000 USDC daily (max 15 purchases), 30 000 USDC monthly, 75 000 USDC per 3 months, 100 000 USDC per 6 months
ATM 500 USDC daily (max 5 withdrawals), 5 000 USDC monthly

One clarification before the numbers make sense: there is no separate currency-conversion line. The crypto conversion rate is shown on screen at the moment you top up, and the card currency is EUR, while balances and limits are expressed in USDC. Whether you hold multi-currency balances is not stated on the public pages.

Now, three ordinary days.

A coffee in your own country, 4 EUR. No fee. Domestic card payment is 0, the balance is yours, and the only cost is the spread between the rate you loaded at and what the token is worth — which nobody publishes as a percentage.

A 30 EUR dinner paid abroad, in euros, where the card is denominated in euros. The merchant charges you 30 EUR and the network processes a payment that is international by the card’s classification, so 2.5 % — 75 cents. This is the fee that quietly recurs, because nearly every purchase you make while travelling looks international to an EUR card.

Two withdrawals from a cash machine at home. The first three each month are 0. The fourth is 2 %, so 100 EUR out costs 2 EUR.

The pattern to notice: fees bite on cash and on foreign spend, not on holding the card. If your money life is card-present and local, this is close to free. If it involves an ATM abroad, it is not.

How to top it up

This is where the card is genuinely good, and it is why the 6.9 is not lower.

You can load with USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Tron, and with USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum and Base. The card is “linked directly to your crypto balance”, and the top-up is instant — the card’s own phrase is that “your card balance will be updated immediately”.

Asset Networks listed
USDT Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Tron
USDC Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum, Base

If you would rather not hold crypto at all, the app says crypto can be bought “using your bank card or account within the app” — which means the same KYC applies and the same first question about your bank arises.

Three things about funding are not stated, and they are the ones that catch people out: the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, and who pays the network fee for the transfer. Nothing on the public pages answers that, so I would test it with a small amount before sending anything large.

Moving money back out is done with the withdraw button on the card dashboard, which sends either to the Custody Wallet or to your Self-custody Wallet; the withdrawal “will be executed in cryptocurrency”. The fee amounts are not printed — they are visible in your Card Transaction History. How long it takes, and what happens to any balance still sitting there at the end, are not stated.

One practical warning that comes from the general mechanics rather than from this card’s pages: a transfer sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost, because blockchain transfers cannot be reversed. There are two USDC networks in the list above and one USDC network that is famously absent — Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option here. If you hold USDT on Tron, that is the supported pair; if you hold USDC on Tron, that is not.

Paying with it every day

You add the card to Apple Pay and Google Pay and that, in practice, is how you use it. There is no plastic to fish out of a drawer, so the whole daily rhythm is phone in hand, hold to the terminal, done. The app is rated 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store and 4.9 out of 5 on Google Play according to the site’s own claim, though the number of ratings behind those figures is not shown.

Which merchants accept it is not stated, and there are two general reasons a decline can happen that have nothing to do with your balance. First, a card issued under one BIN and country can look “foreign” to a shop in another, and merchants are allowed to be more careful with those. Second, prepaid and foreign-issued cards are declined by some merchants outright as a matter of policy. If a payment fails, check the balance first, then assume the shop’s policy rather than a fault in the card.

None of the usual extras are here: no cashback is mentioned on the card’s public pages, and blocked merchant categories are not stated either — which cuts both ways. You may not be blocked from gambling or similar categories, but you also cannot rely on being blocked.

Disputes are handled, at a price. A chargeback costs 40 EUR and a review of an unjustified claim costs 40 EUR. Time frames for either are not stated. On a small transaction, that is a serious percentage of what you are disputing; on a large one it is the cost of having the argument at all.

What can go wrong

This is the section where I lose most of my marks for the card, and the first item is not a complaint, it is an announcement sitting in the card’s own help centre.

The custodial wallet is closing. The help-centre header reads “Urgent Legal Notice: Mandatory Closure of Custodial Wallet Services by June 30, 2026”, with articles titled “Cessation of Custodial Services” and “Moving your wallet to the new engine”. The reasoning is regulatory — MiCA’s transitional window lets existing providers operate only until 1 July 2026 or until they are authorised or refused, and under MiCA e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. A closure notice with a date on it is not a crisis, but it is a plan, and you should hold a view about it before you load.

Who actually stands behind the card. The account and the Mastercard are provided by Unlimit EU Limited in Cyprus, “licensed and regulated by the Central Bank of Cyprus as an Electronic Money Institution with license number 115.1.3.7”. The company group is Simple Europe UAB in Lithuania for self-custody services, and Stored Assets Ltd in Bulgaria for custody services, registered there as wallet provider number BB-292. When you sign up you are dealing with a programme manager in front of an issuer in Cyprus, and an EMI’s ability to safeguard customer funds is not the same as a bank’s — those funds sit in segregated accounts or insurance, not under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Frozen accounts and stuck money. On Trustpilot, simple.app reads 4.2 out of 5 from 7,046 reviews, of which 24 are in the last twelve months, as of 21 October 2026. User reports, which are reports and not findings, cover blocked or suspended accounts with funds stuck (reviews from January 2025 to June 2026), growing verification demands, slow or silent support (2025 to September 2026), failed card top-ups and transfers (August 2026), fee and rate complaints (January and April 2026), and scam allegations with an unexpected charge. The company does not reply to negative reviews.

If that is your worry, it is a fair one, and here is the mechanism. Under EU anti-money-laundering rules, if due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. Accounts get closed and funds get frozen pending documents because the law says they may. That does not make it acceptable — it makes it explainable.

Holds after a declined payment. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days, typically up to seven. A card balance of 500 USDC is not always 500 USDC available.

Loss of the seed phrase. If you use the self-custody wallet, the key is yours and only yours. Whoever holds the seed phrase controls the money, a seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words, and no network can freeze or return funds once a transfer is made. Simple says it supports only by email and never asks for passwords, codes or seed phrases — which is the right thing to say and is the reason people believe them or not. Spending limits can be set on the self-custody side; an in-app freeze is not stated.

Holds that outlive the balance. If you are near a limit, a hold can push a withdrawal or a purchase over it. The limits are large in USDC terms but they are real.

What to take instead

If the virtual-only format or the 2.5 % international fee is what stops you, three alternatives exist in this category, and all three have the same basic shape: a card that spends a balance you load.

Card Score Card Key cost Reward
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual first; Metal pre-orderable, one card per user Virtual free with no annual or maintenance fee; Metal $199/year Cashback in mUSD: 1% virtual, Metal headline 3% but 3% only to the first $10,000 spent, then 1%
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa: Standard Platinum, Premium Infinite metal, Private Infinite gold plated; up to 10 cards Standard 0 USD/year, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year; Standard physical card 0 USD plus 40 USD delivery; 1 USD/month inactivity fee after 12 months USD cashback: 1.5% to the first 2,000 USD/month (Standard), 2% to 10,000 (Premium), 3% to 40,000 (Private)
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Visa or Mastercard debit depending on country, runs on Arbitrum 1 % fee on cryptocurrency deposits; otherwise no additional fees stated No cashback stated; the 1 % is described as refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees

A few contrasts worth noting if you are choosing:

My read: if your objection to Simple Crypto is the absence of plastic, KAST and MetaMask both solve it, and you will pay for that with either an annual fee or a metal card price. If your objection is the international fee or the custodial closure, none of the three removes the underlying question of which company holds your money.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a specific person, and I would not recommend it to everyone.

Recommend it to someone who already holds USDC or USDT on a supported network, lives in a country on that 24 January 2026 list, wants a card number that works in Apple Pay today, and treats the balance on it as spending money rather than savings. For that person the card is free to hold, instant to load, cheap to use locally, and solves a problem ordinary banking does not.

Do not recommend it to someone who needs a physical card, who wants to keep a large balance on the platform, who is uneasy about a dated closure notice on the custodial wallet, or who needs international spending frequently enough that 2.5 % adds up. Nor to anyone whose country is near the edge of that list and whose nationality may not be — because the pages do not say, and an unanswered eligibility question is not a small one.

The 6.9 out of 10 reflects exactly that split. The product is doing several things well and one thing badly: it is not yet a card you can hand to someone and forget.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Simple Crypto card?

Simple Crypto is a virtual Mastercard that spends a balance you load yourself, converted from stablecoins. The card is issued by Unlimit EU Limited, an electronic money institution in Cyprus licensed by the Central Bank of Cyprus as number 115.1.3.7. There is no physical card today; the card’s help centre says one is currently in development.

How does the Simple Crypto card work?

You load crypto into the card and it converts that into a spendable balance, which behaves like a prepaid card: the card cannot overdraw, and it can only spend what is on it. You add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay and pay normally. The card currency is EUR, while balances and limits are expressed in USDC.

Is Simple Crypto a bank?

No. Simple Crypto is a card programme front-end, not a bank. The Simple Account and the Mastercard are provided by Unlimit EU Limited in Cyprus, which is an electronic money institution rather than a credit institution. Group companies are Simple Europe UAB in Lithuania and Stored Assets Ltd in Bulgaria. That distinction matters for how customer funds are safeguarded.

Does the Simple Crypto card require KYC?

Yes. You enter your phone number and upload a Proof of Identity and a Proof of Address. The proof of address must be dated within the last six months — a bank statement PDF, a utility bill, an internet or landline bill, or a tax bill or government letter. The card says this usually takes a few minutes but can take longer.

What countries is the Simple Crypto card available in?

A list dated 24 January 2026 covers Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, the Middle East, Africa and the CIS, plus Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey and the United States. The list does not address whether eligibility follows citizenship or residence, nor does it state a minimum age, so check with support if your nationality differs from where you live.

What does it cost to use the Simple Crypto card?

Issuance is 0 EUR and the monthly cardholder fee is 0, as is non-active card maintenance. Domestic card payments are free; international card payments cost 2.5 %. Cash withdrawal is free for the first three each month and 2 % after that, and international withdrawals are 1.75 plus 2.5 %.

How do I top up the Simple Crypto card?

You send USDT on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum or Tron, or USDC on Ethereum ERC20, Polygon, BNB Smart Chain, Arbitrum or Base, and the balance updates immediately. You can also buy crypto with a bank card or bank account inside the app. The deposit fee, minimum top-up and who pays the network fee are not stated, so test with a small amount first.

Is the Simple Crypto card safe?

It depends which side you are on. Self-custody means your keys, and therefore your responsibility for key loss and phishing. Custody means trusting the provider, and the card’s own help centre carries a notice that custodial wallet services close by 30 June 2026. A spent balance can also be held for several days after a declined authorisation.

Why are accounts being blocked?

Under anti-money-laundering rules, a provider must stop a transaction or relationship when due diligence cannot be completed, and may have to end an existing relationship — which is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. Reviews on Trustpilot, where simple.app scores 4.2 out of 5 from 7,046 reviews, include user reports of blocked accounts, repeated verification requests and slow support. These are user reports, not findings.

Is the Simple Crypto card worth it?

Worth it if you spend locally in euros, already hold USDC, and want a working card number in your phone today. Not worth it if you need a physical card, travel and pay often, or want to keep a balance on the platform while a dated closure notice stands. On balance I scored it 6.9 out of 10 — good at loading and spending, weak on form and permanence.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team