A virtual dollar card for Africa-based crypto users — thin on published detail, and thin on trust signals

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Bitnob is not a bank and does not issue cards itself. What it offers is a virtual dollar card, funded from a crypto balance, that you add to a phone wallet and spend online. That is the whole product in one sentence, and the gap between that sentence and the details a card user actually needs — the fee on conversion, the limit on a transaction, the name of the partner bank — is where most of the disappointment with cards like this lives. I went through the card’s own pages, its API documentation, its app listing and the complaints people have published, and here is what I found.

Bitnob works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

My score for the card is 5.1 out of 10. That is not a rounding of “borderline acceptable”; it is a card with a genuinely useful idea, almost no published numbers, and a complaint history that a buyer should read before applying.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 6 / 10 The card page names no countries; the company is Nigeria-based and has expanded to eight other countries in Africa; 2023 press says anyone with the app can create a virtual card, subject to region and partner
Cost 6 / 10 No amounts are published by the card; third-party sites report creation as free or USD 1, one Trustpilot complaint cites USD 6 for new cards, and no conversion fee is stated
Top-up options 6 / 10 Funded from a Bitcoin, USDT or USDC wallet balance; networks are not disclosed; unofficial reports mention funding up to USD 10,000
Reliability and complaints 3 / 10 Bitnob Technologies Limited is not a bank and not a licensed card issuer; Trustpilot shows 2.9 out of 5 across 48 reviews, half of them one-star, with disappearing funds and cards cancelled without notice
Everyday use 4 / 10 Virtual only; Apple Wallet and Google Pay work by manual entry of the details, there is no 3-D Secure, and there is no ATM
Total 5.1 / 10

Who it suits, and who it does not

This card makes sense for one person: someone based in Africa who already holds bitcoin, USDT or USDC, who needs a US dollar balance to pay for something online that their local currency card cannot reach, and who is comfortable having that money held by a company that is not a bank. If that is you, the card does a narrow job competently. If you want an ordinary bank card with a salary, a debit card you can withdraw cash from, and someone to ring when a payment fails, this is the wrong instrument and no amount of good intentions will change that.

It also does not suit anyone whose priority is knowing the cost before they spend. The card publishes no amounts at all. A reader who wants to see clear, published fee amounts has nowhere to look, because the card does not say. That is not me being pessimistic about the pricing; it is the pricing being absent.

And it does not suit someone who will lose sleep over money sitting with a non-bank. Bitnob states plainly that it is not a bank. The card is issued by what it calls regulated card partners — licensed issuing banks and Visa programme managers — and Bitnob describes itself as not a licensed card issuer. The jurisdiction and the licences are not stated on the pages I read. If the failure mode you fear is “the company folds and I have nothing to ask”, this card puts you in exactly that position, and the complaints section below shows people who already describe something like it.

Will they give you the card

Short answer: to people who have passed verification, and the card’s own pages do not say who those people are by country.

Cards can only be issued to customers who have completed verification. That means an image of an identity document plus details that match it, and you must be 18 or older. If your identity document is a national ID card from one of the countries on Bitnob’s list, both sides are required, front and back together; passports and driving licences do not need that treatment. Proof of address is not stated anywhere on the pages I read — I have said once here and will not repeat it, but it is worth knowing that the requirement is not described either way.

The eligibility question itself is the weak spot. The card page does not name countries; it refers to “dollar-scarce markets”. Bitnob is a Nigeria-based company and says it has expanded to “eight other countries in Africa”. Press from 2023 reported that users located anywhere in the world who have access to the app can create a virtual card. The same material notes that availability varies “by region and partner institution” — which is the sentence that matters. Access to the app is not the same as being issued a card.

So the honest answer to “is the Bitnob card available in my country” is: try, and expect the partner institution to have the last word. Nobody at Bitnob has published a list of eligible countries or of excluded ones, and the verification level required is not stated either. One user reported on Trustpilot that verification was denied after a deposit in September 2025, which is the failure mode to hold in mind — you may fund first and be refused the card afterwards.

How to get it

The process is short, and short is not the same as simple.

You need the app, you need to pass verification, and you can then create a virtual card. The card page describes the product as Visa and Mastercard USD cards; the API documentation describes USD-denominated virtual Visa cards. Either way, what you are creating is a virtual card — a set of payment details, not a piece of plastic. Physical cards are not currently offered, so delivery does not apply as a step.

Nothing here should be read as an invitation to try to get around the checks. The verification is a legal obligation on the company, not an obstacle to be solved, and the honest advice is to have your real documents ready and to expect to be asked for more once rather than less. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy apply to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. If your citizenship or your country of residence is one that partners decline, the answer will be a decline, and there is no legitimate route past it.

Activation is not a separate ritual on the pages I read — creating the card in a verified account appears to be the whole of it. Where readers ask “how do I activate”, the practical answer is the same as “how do I get one”.

Fees and the true cost of a payment

Here is the blunt part: the card publishes no amounts. There is no fee table, no monthly charge, no conversion percentage. Bitnob says cardholder fees are “defined per platform integration”, which means the number may not even be the same for every partner. It also advertises “seamless conversion at the best available rate” with no FX or conversion fee stated — and “best available rate” describes the rate, not necessarily a fee that is zero.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Bitnob payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Third-party sources, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, report card creation as free or USD 1, and one Trustpilot complaint mentions a USD 6 charge for new cards. Treat these as hints about the order of magnitude and nothing more.

Item What is stated
Card issuance No amounts published; fees “defined per platform integration”; unofficial reports: free, or USD 1, or USD 6 in one complaint
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion “Seamless conversion at the best available rate”; no fee stated
FX / currency USD cards only; no local-currency cards; no FX fee stated
ATM Not available — API docs list “no ATM withdrawals”
Daily limits No numeric limits published; limits configurable per card
Monthly limits No numeric limits published; limits configurable per card
Tiers Not stated; a single product

Because limits are configurable rather than published, the practical safeguard is yours: set the caps yourself before you need them. Bitnob’s dashboard lets you cap by amount, merchant, channel and time of day, and freeze the card instantly from the app menu. That is a real feature and it is worth using — but it only helps if you set it, and it does not tell you what the ceiling is.

Now three everyday payments, and which fees apply to each:

One more fee that is not the card’s: when you move crypto onto the network to fund the card, the blockchain charges its own network fee (gas or bandwidth). That is charged by the network, not by Bitnob, and it is separate from anything above.

Top up and how the balance is filled

The card is funded from a Bitnob wallet balance holding bitcoin, USDT or USDC — that is the stated mechanism. There is no overdraft, and there is no bank transfer option listed. The virtual card spends that balance, which is why the card behaves like a prepaid card rather than a debit card: it can only ever spend what is already there.

The gap is networks. Bitnob does not say which networks are supported for a deposit. That matters more than it sounds, because USDT and USDC each exist on several chains — USDT has been issued on Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon, Avalanche and others, while Circle listed USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar. Send a deposit on a chain the platform does not support, or to an address belonging to a different chain, and the funds can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. Note also that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Bitnob starts with a transfer to the right network

Before you send anything, the one question to ask in support is which network your chosen token should go on. If the answer is vague, that is your signal to wait.

Limits on funding are not published as numbers; the API documentation says limits are configurable per card. An unofficial source reported funding up to USD 10,000. Withdrawals are not described, and the card has no ATM — so if you need your money back out, ask how before you load, not after.

Paying with it day to day

You add the card details manually to Apple Wallet or Google Pay. That works. Apple Wallet requires your Apple ID region to be the United States — a real constraint worth knowing before you try. You are not tapping a tokenised card from a bank; you are pasting numbers into a wallet, and the protections you would normally get from a bank’s own tokenisation are not in play here.

Two gaps shape daily use more than that. The first is 3-D Secure. There is none, so an online payment is not challenged with a one-time code or a biometric check. The second is merchant category restrictions — payments must fall “within allowed categories”, and the list of those categories is not published. If the merchant code sits outside them, the payment fails, and you cannot see in advance which ones do.

Beyond that, the ordinary failure modes of this kind of card apply. Merchants can look up the card’s issuer identification number and see which institution and country issued it, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address — which is exactly how a US dollar card issued for an African user can look foreign to a shop elsewhere. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards on that basis alone. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of a billing address with the issuer’s records, is mostly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.

The app itself gives a mixed signal: 3.79 out of 5 from 108 ratings on the US iOS App Store, read on 21 October 2026. That is a usable rating, not an enthusiastic one. The Google Play listing was not read.

What can go wrong

Bitnob’s own pages record no incidents, and I found none there. The problems are reported by users, and they are worth taking seriously.

Money going missing. Trustpilot reports of missing or disappearing funds run from June 2025 through August 2026. This is the risk that matters most, and it belongs in the category of counterparty risk generally: custodial platforms have a history of it. Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022.

Cards cancelled without notice. Users reported cards being cancelled and details changed without warning in June 2025, with a USD 6 fee charged for new cards at the same time. This is a structural exposure of crypto cards rather than a Bitnob peculiarity: Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down, and WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. A programme closure typically means a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then you are asked to withdraw whatever is left.

Verification and withdrawal errors. Reported between September and October 2025, including verification denied after a deposit. Poor support and an unclear virtual card balance were reported in January and July 2026. Help runs through a help centre at help.bitnob.com and a contact page, with [email protected] for data requests.

Your right to complain afterwards. A chargeback is a refund ordered by the issuer. US debit card rights come from Regulation E and credit card rights from Regulation Z; prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. On a prepaid virtual card from a non-bank programme in a jurisdiction the card does not even name, I would not plan around having strong recourse.

A tax footnote you should not discover later. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local currency at the value on the date of the transaction. Each card payment funded from crypto may be a separate disposal. I am not giving you tax advice — I am telling you to ask someone qualified in your own country.

The overall picture: Trustpilot 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews, read on 21 October 2026, with half of those reviews one-star. For a company this small, that is a thin sample, but the themes repeat and they cluster on exactly the two things that would hurt you most — balance disappearing, and card access withdrawn.

What to take instead

If Bitnob does not fit, these are the closest things in the same category, and each has its own gaps. I have not tested any of them; this is a comparison of what each publishes.

Cardex — score 5.6 / 10, the highest of the group. It describes itself as “one crypto card, 200+ countries” with no country list and no exclusions, though its App Store listing is Naira-focused. It is a debit card on VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, virtual and physical per the listing, with card currency in naira. Funding from USDT, USDC and BTC wallets. Conversion is real-time at the moment of payment, with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans exchange rates and picks one; no fee percentage is stated. Better than Bitnob on card type and reach, still silent on fees.

CardFlow — score 4.9 / 10. Aimed at Nigeria (“Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”) and at “Nigerians and global users”, with no country list. A virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes. Its FAQ says creating a virtual card is completely free — one of the few published prices in this category. Funded from Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a naira bank transfer. Conversion fees not stated.

HyperCard — score 4.7 / 10. Official pages state no country list; the App Store says the card works in “more than 176 countries”, which is about acceptance rather than eligibility. A prepaid “HyperCard” with balance in USD or EUR, network not stated on the App Store page. You deposit crypto such as USDT, BTC or ETH in the app and it converts to dollars or euros. No fees listed on the pages I could read.

Bitnob Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.1 / 10 5.6 / 10 4.9 / 10 4.7 / 10
Card type Virtual only Virtual and physical Virtual only Not stated
Countries named No — “dollar-scarce markets”, 8 other African countries “200+ countries”, no exclusions Nigeria-focused, plus “global users” None; acceptance in 176+ claimed
Funding BTC, USDT, USDC USDT, USDC, BTC BTC, USDT, ETH, naira transfer USDT, BTC, ETH and similar
Prices published None None Free card creation None

Two things to weigh if you switch. Cardex offers a physical card, which matters if you ever need to pay in person. CardFlow publishes something: free creation, which at least answers one question. Neither makes the fee question go away, and all four leave the network question on top-ups unstated.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Bitnob to the person who already knows what they are doing with crypto, is based in a market where a dollar balance solves a real problem, and can afford to treat whatever they load as money that might be temporarily or permanently unavailable. Under those conditions the virtual card does one thing — turn crypto into spendable dollars online — and it does it without asking you to wait for plastic.

I would not recommend it to anyone using it as a primary spending card, to anyone who needs cash, or to anyone who takes “my money is in a company’s balance sheet” as unacceptable. If you need an ordinary bank card and cannot get one, my honest advice is to keep working on the bank, because a prepaid virtual card from a non-bank is a workaround with real gaps, not a substitute — and if you are in that position, a regulated e-money institution in your own country, where one operates, is a safer place to start.

Before you apply, three things. Find out which country you are eligible in, because the card will not tell you and the partner will. Ask support which network to send your deposit on, in writing. And set your own spend caps in the dashboard the moment the card exists, since the limits the platform would impose are not published.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Bitnob card?

The Bitnob card is a virtual US dollar payment card, described on its own pages as Visa and Mastercard USD cards. It is funded from a bitcoin, USDT or USDC balance in the Bitnob app rather than from a bank account, so it behaves like a prepaid card: it spends only what you have loaded. It exists as card details, not plastic, and is used mainly online and through phone wallets.

Is Bitnob a bank?

No. Bitnob states directly that it is not a bank. The company behind it is Bitnob Technologies Limited, and the card is issued by what it describes as regulated card partners — licensed issuing banks and Visa programme managers — while Bitnob itself says it is not a licensed card issuer. Jurisdiction and specific licences are not stated on the pages I read, so treat the protection question as open.

How do I get the Bitnob card?

You download the app, pass identity verification, and create a virtual card in your verified account. Verification needs an image of an ID document with details matching it, and you must be 18 or over. National ID cards from countries on their list must be submitted front and back; passports and driving licences do not. Availability varies by region and partner institution.

Does Bitnob require KYC?

Yes. Cards can only be issued to customers who have passed verification, which makes it a mandatory step rather than an optional one. Anti-money-laundering rules require regulated businesses to verify customers and keep monitoring transactions, and where due diligence cannot be completed, the institution is expected to stop rather than proceed — which is why accounts get frozen or declined. The verification level itself is not stated.

How much does the Bitnob card cost?

The card publishes no amounts. It says fees are defined per platform integration and that conversion happens at the best available rate with no fee stated. Unofficial sources report creation as free or USD 1, and one complaint cites USD 6 for new cards. There is no monthly fee stated, no ATM, and blockchain network fees apply separately when you move crypto.

Can I use the Bitnob card in my country?

The card page names no countries at all, referring only to dollar-scarce markets; the company is Nigeria-based and says it has expanded to eight other African countries. Press in 2023 said anyone with the app can create a virtual card, but availability still depends on region and partner institution. There is no published list of eligible countries, so the only way to know is to try and be prepared for a no.

How do I top up the Bitnob card?

You fund it from a bitcoin, USDT or USDC balance held in Bitnob. There is no overdraft and no bank transfer option listed. Which networks are supported is not stated, and that is the detail to resolve before sending anything — an unsupported network can mean lost funds, since blockchain transfers cannot be reversed.

Is it safe to keep money on Bitnob?

There is genuine counterparty risk, because your balance is custodial — held by the provider, not by you. Compliant firms must safeguard client funds, but safeguarded money is not the same as a bank deposit and is not covered by deposit guarantee schemes. Trustpilot shows 2.9 out of 5 from 48 reviews, with recurring reports of disappearing funds and cards cancelled without notice.

Can I add the Bitnob card to Apple Wallet?

Yes, by entering the card details manually, and Google Pay works the same way. Apple Wallet requires your Apple ID region to be set to the United States. There is no 3-D Secure on the card, so no one-time code or biometric check is applied to online payments, and merchant categories are restricted to an allowed list that is not published — which can cause payments to fail.

Can I withdraw money or get cash from the Bitnob card?

No. The API documentation lists no ATM withdrawals, and there is no physical card, so nothing can be presented in person. Withdrawal arrangements are not described either. If you need to get funds back out, ask support before you load the card, not after — and note that a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance for several days.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team