The virtual crypto Visa with no monthly fee — and several unanswered questions

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Utorg card is not a bank account with a card attached. It is a virtual Visa number that spends a balance you load with USDC, issued through an infrastructure partner rather than by Utorg itself. That single sentence explains most of what follows: the fees can genuinely be zero, because there is little for the provider to charge for, and the fine print can be thin, because the card sits between a crypto wallet and a payment licence holder rather than inside one institution.

Utorg works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 6.3 out of 10. It suits residents of the EEA and Ukraine who already hold USDC on a supported network and want to spend it without selling it first through an exchange. It does not suit anyone who needs a physical card, who needs to be paid into a card balance, or who plans to live on the ATM network — there is no physical card and no ATM to speak of.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

Utorg scores 6.3 out of 10. The number is fair rather than flattering. What it does well, it does cheaply: no issuance fee, no monthly fee, no claimed foreign-exchange markup. What it leaves unanswered — the crypto conversion fee, blocked merchant categories, whether limits vary by verification level, who you actually complain to when a payment goes wrong — costs it marks.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 5 / 10 Card page lists EEA countries plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein; the FAQ claims “190+ countries” without explaining the gap
Cost 8 / 10 Zero issuance and monthly fee, zero FX markup and payment fees, all marked “for a limited time”; crypto conversion fee not disclosed
Top-up options 7 / 10 USDC on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC; no other coin listed on the page
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Card provided by Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. with Wirex Pay; a review site earlier named a different issuer; Trustpilot 4.2 out of 5 from 952 reviews
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa only, immediately after KYC; Apple Pay and Google Pay supported; no physical card and no ATM
Total 6.3 / 10

The audience this fits is narrow and worth stating plainly: someone in the EEA or Ukraine, holding USDC, paying merchants who accept a prepaid Visa. If that is you, the value proposition is real even at 6.3. If you are outside those regions, or you need a card you can hand over in person, stop reading and look elsewhere.

Will they give you the card

The card page lists the EEA countries — Italy, Germany, Spain, France and the Netherlands are the examples it gives — plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. That is the eligibility statement you can rely on.

The FAQ on the same site claims support in “190+ countries”. Nobody at Utorg appears to have explained the difference between those two statements, so I would plan on the narrower list rather than the wider one. Excluded countries are not named either.

Residence versus citizenship: not stated. That matters more than it sounds. Under anti-money-laundering rules, screening usually runs on nationality and country of birth as well as on the country of address, so a card that works on residence can still run into trouble if your citizenship sits somewhere the issuer dislikes. The card page does not say which test it applies.

One third-party review site, in August 2026, published a much more granular picture: 31 available countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine) and a restricted list of Afghanistan, China, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the United States. That is unofficial and not confirmed by the card’s own pages. Treat it as a hint about where to ask support, not as a rule.

How to get it

The application is described as AI-powered KYC completing in under five minutes: you upload an ID document and pass a liveness check — the camera test that confirms a live person is in front of it. Proof of address and an age check are not stated. There are no KYC tiers described, so there is no stated ladder that raises your limits as you build history.

What you get is a virtual Visa card, instant after verification. The help centre says: “Get your virtual Utorg Crypto Card once verified.” No physical card is mentioned anywhere, which means no delivery, no waiting, and nothing to lose in the post. The card belongs to UTORG LABS HOLDING LTD as site owner; the issuer is not named on the card page.

Currency works in one direction only: you pay in stablecoins, and the merchant receives local currency. The card’s own currency, the spread when you pay somewhere the merchant prices differently, and whether you can hold multiple currency balances — none of that is stated.

One practical note if you are on Android: setting up the card in the app needs version 2.88.0 or higher.

Two things worth reading in the help centre, because they tell you what the review stage is really like. There is an article titled “What is Source of Funds and Wealth?” and another titled “Source of Funds questionnaire – accepted document types”. And in a March 2023 Trustpilot review, the company gave rejection reasons that sound mundane and therefore worth taking seriously: a passport missing a signature, and a bank statement sent as a screenshot instead of a PDF.

Fees and what a payment really costs

The headline numbers are unusually clean. Issuance: zero. Monthly: zero. Foreign-exchange markup: zero. Payment fees: none. Every one of those is marked “for a limited time” on the card page — which is the sentence to reread in six months. Promotional pricing on a financial product is a pricing decision, not a promise.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Utorg payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The number that matters most is the one not given: the crypto conversion fee is not stated. Your crypto is converted so the merchant gets local currency, and the card page never says what that conversion costs or how it is calculated. A third-party site reported in August 2026 that conversion happens at a live rate with no fixed public percentage, and that the provider’s terms permit them to apply spreads, markups and network costs. Unofficial, not confirmed by the card — but it points at exactly the gap I would want closed.

ATM fees: not stated by the card. The same third-party source says ATM fees and limits are “not applicable” to a virtual card, which follows logically — you cannot use a virtual card number at a cash machine unless it has been provisioned into a phone wallet, and even then cash withdrawal is a separate question. Treat cash as unavailable and you will not be disappointed.

Item What the card’s own pages say
Issuance fee Zero, marked “for a limited time”
Monthly fee Zero, marked “for a limited time”
Foreign-exchange markup Zero claimed, marked “for a limited time”
Payment fees None claimed, marked “for a limited time”
Crypto conversion fee Not stated
ATM fees and limits Not stated
Monthly spending limit Up to EUR 30,000 (card page); another page says “high monthly limits” with no figures
Daily and per-transaction limits Not stated
Tiers None on the card page; a single monthly ceiling

The monthly ceiling deserves a second look, because it is the only number of its kind on the card’s pages and it is contradicted elsewhere. The card page says up to EUR 30,000 a month. The August 2026 third-party source says up to EUR 50,000, notes that daily and per-transaction limits are not published, and warns that lower limits may apply after risk checks. Unofficial, and it disagrees with the official figure. Use EUR 30,000 as the planning number.

Three everyday payments, so this stops being abstract:

Top up

The card is funded with USDC, on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC. That is the complete list on the card page. No USDT, no BTC, no EUR wire. If your crypto is not USDC on one of those five networks, the first job is a conversion somewhere else.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Utorg starts with a transfer to the right network

The card page says: “Effortlessly top up your Utorg Card with crypto”. Deposits and cross-currency conversions are “zero fees”, again marked “for a limited time”. But the deposit fee, the minimum top-up, and who pays the network fee are not stated. A third-party source from August 2026 gives the top-up fee as EUR 0, says crypto is converted in real time at purchase with no pre-funding advertised, and adds that the legacy card used to require a EUR balance to be loaded first. Unofficial.

Before you send anything, understand what you are actually doing. A blockchain transfer is irreversible. Sending USDC on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can lose the funds or require manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Pick the network from the card’s five, double-check the address character by character, and do not treat a clipboard copy as safe — address-swapping malware is a standard attack and the only defence is reading what you pasted.

Three practical points on network cost. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDC and no ETH cannot send at all. Tron works through bandwidth and energy resources and often burns TRX, and Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option here. The help centre has an article titled “What is Gasless top-up?”, which suggests some route exists that avoids the network fee; the answer itself I have not read.

One more thing about getting money back out: it is not stated how to withdraw. “Sell crypto” is marked “Coming soon” on the card page. The terms add that card access may be refused, restricted, suspended, terminated or discontinued at any time, and say nothing about what happens to your balance on closure.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, the card is a Visa number that works where Visa works, and it plugs into the two wallets you already use: Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which is worth asking about if gambling or similar categories matter to you — many issuers restrict them by policy rather than by law, and the list varies by issuer.

There are no rewards. Cashback is not stated on the card page, and a July 2026 Trustpilot review of the card calls it instant while noting “No cashback”. A third-party site likewise confirms no rewards. So: full price, no rebate.

The app is available for iOS and Android, with Android card access needing version 2.88.0 or higher. Store ratings I have not read; the visible rating on the card page is the Trustpilot score, not an app-store score.

Now the part that catches people out, and it is not about fees. Utorg’s terms, updated 17 September 2026, state that Utorg cannot approve, reverse or decide chargebacks, and disclaims refunds and disputes. The card is provided by a third-party issuer, and disputes go to them. Claims relating to Utorg itself must be filed within one year or they are barred. How long you have to dispute a card transaction is not stated. If you read one thing twice, read that: when something goes wrong, you are not dealing with the brand you signed up with.

A last everyday detail: a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. Cashflow planning matters when your balance is your whole balance.

What can go wrong

The issuer is unclear. The terms updated 17 September 2026 name the card provider as Chain Valley Sp. z o.o. with Wirex Pay / Wirex Limited. An April 2026 press release says Wirex now powers card spending for Utorg wallet users. But a review site earlier named Utrg UAB in Lithuania as the issuer, and a third-party source mentions a legacy issuer, Quicko Sp. z o.o. The official position has moved; older information is still in circulation. Anyone who was burned by one issuer’s handling of a programme should note that the counterparty has changed.

“You hold your keys” is not the same as “your money is protected”. The card page is headed “The first non-custodial Crypto Card” and the FAQ says: “You hold your keys. You hold your crypto.” That is a genuine and meaningful advantage — control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key, and a seed phrase of 12 to 24 words is an unencrypted key that anyone who obtains it can use. But the same terms say Utorg does not issue cards, provide payment accounts, issue e-money, or custody fiat or digital assets for the card. So the self-custody claim covers your crypto; the fiat side of a payment is someone else’s regulated business. The footer says plainly: “Utorg is not attributed to banking services.” Insurance or safeguarding arrangements: not stated. Two-factor authentication: not stated.

Card access can be switched off. The terms allow card access to be refused, restricted, suspended, terminated or discontinued at any time, with nothing said about your balance on closure. The help centre has an article on freezing and unfreezing the card, so the capability exists in both directions.

Complaints are thin but not alarming. No official incident found. On Trustpilot, utorg.com stands at 4.2 out of 5 from 952 reviews, with only 5 reviews in the last 12 months — an unusually low recent volume for that many lifetime reviews. Themes that appear: cancelled transactions and slow refunds (January 2024, November 2024), repeated KYC rejections (March 2023), and a wallet reported closed and not reopenable (August 2026, where Utorg replied the wallet remains available). No card-specific complaints surfaced; the card itself was praised in July 2026 as instant.

The regulatory picture is moving underneath all of this. MiCA took legal effect in June 2023, its stablecoin rules applied from 30 June 2024, and the crypto-asset service provider rules from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution, and the grandfathering period for existing providers runs only until 1 July 2026. A card itself is regulated separately as a payment service, so a crypto card often depends on two licences at once. ESMA keeps an interim public register of authorised providers and non-compliant entities — if you want to know where a provider stands, that register is the place, not a marketing page.

And the category’s own history. Card programmes do close. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was being wound down. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. I found one 2026 closure described by a secondary source — new loads ended 8 July 2026, spending stopped 8 August 2026 — from a single source, unconfirmed, but it shows how the sequence runs.

Stablecoins are not what the name suggests. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but as the BIS put it, “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable”. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are dollar-pegged and together make up about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation; Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents. USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. A card funded 100% in one stablecoin inherits that risk with no diversification.

Nobody has written down the merchant rules. Address verification is generally unavailable on foreign-issued cards, some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers outright, and a tokenised number can be restricted to certain channels. You may find out which of these applies to you by having a payment declined.

What to take instead

If your reason for looking at Utorg is “I need a card and normal ones are hard to get”, these are the other cards I looked at, and they fail differently.

Utorg International Visa Card UNi Card Whop Cards
Score 6.3 / 10 6.7 / 10 6.1 / 10 5.2 / 10
Card Virtual Visa U.S.-issued Platinum Visa, virtual; physical “coming soon” Multicurrency Mastercard Visa
Issuance fee Zero, limited time $5 one-time (virtual) Not stated Not stated
Monthly Zero, limited time Classic free, Pro $9.00/mo, Max $19.00/mo No annual fee None listed
FX Zero claimed, limited time Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee No foreign transaction fee Not stated
Funding USDC on 5 networks USDC or USDT 1:1; also USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance, stablecoin-collateral backed
Rewards None No cashback stated Spend-to-Earn up to 3% 5% cashback at select merchants, currently Uber
Geography EEA plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein Not for residents of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam Not stated 31 US states for consumers; unsupported in Belarus, China (Mainland), Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam

Where each one hurts:

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend this card to a resident of the EEA or Ukraine who already holds USDC on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC, pays mostly online, uses Apple Pay or Google Pay, and is content with a virtual card that never arrives in the post. For that person the economics are unusually good: no issuance, no monthly, no claimed FX markup, and a EUR 30,000 monthly ceiling to work within.

I would steer everyone else away, and not gently. If you need a physical card, this is not it. If you plan to withdraw cash, assume you cannot. If you are outside the listed countries, do not read the FAQ’s “190+ countries” as permission. If rewards matter to you, the 3% and 5% figures elsewhere in this category are real and this card has none. If you intend to travel to countries where gambling or other restricted categories are relevant, ask first, because the blocked-category list is not published. And if your priority is a card where disputes are handled by someone you can actually reach, understand from day one that Utorg’s terms route disputes to the card provider and bar claims after one year.

Two questions I would put to support before committing money: what exactly is the crypto conversion fee and how is it calculated, and what is the daily and per-transaction limit on my verification level. Both are answerable, and both go to whether this works for you at the size you spend.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Utorg card?

It is a virtual Visa card number that spends a balance you load yourself with USDC, rather than a bank account with a card attached. You hold the crypto; the card converts it so the merchant receives local currency. The card is provided by an external partner, not issued by Utorg itself.

How does the Utorg card work?

You verify your identity, get a virtual Visa card instantly, and top it up with USDC sent on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC. At payment, your crypto is converted and the merchant is charged in their local currency. Most crypto cards behave like prepaid cards drawing on a stored balance, so the card cannot overdraw.

Is Utorg a bank?

No, and the site says so — the footer states “Utorg is not attributed to banking services”. Its terms say Utorg does not issue cards, provide payment accounts, or issue e-money or custody assets for the card. A card is regulated as a payment service, and a crypto wallet as a crypto-asset service, so this kind of product usually rests on two separate licences held by different companies.

Who owns Utorg?

The site owner is UTORG LABS HOLDING LTD, Reg. No. 000008060, Office 18, 11th floor, Tamouh Tower, Al Reem Island, Abu Dhabi, UAE. The card itself comes from the previously named card provider. Older sources name different issuers, so treat any issuer detail you find outside the current terms with suspicion.

Can I get the Utorg card in my country?

The card page lists EEA countries plus Ukraine, Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein. The FAQ claims “190+ countries” but does not explain the gap, and excluded countries are not named. Residence versus citizenship is not stated, which matters because sanctions screening often follows nationality. Ask support with your specific country before you rely on it.

Does the Utorg card require KYC?

Yes. Sign-up is AI-powered identity verification described as taking under five minutes: an ID document plus a liveness check. Proof of address and an age check are not stated, and there are no described KYC tiers. The help centre does have articles on source-of-funds questionnaires, so expect a source-of-funds request on larger balances.

Is the Utorg card free?

Issuance and the monthly fee are zero, and no FX markup or payment fees are claimed — all marked “for a limited time” on the card page. The crypto conversion fee is not stated, which is the number that would decide whether “free” means anything in practice. Promotional pricing can change, so re-check before you commit.

How do I top up the Utorg card?

With USDC only, sent on Ethereum, Polygon, Arbitrum, Solana or BSC. Deposits are advertised as fee-free for a limited time, but the minimum, the deposit fee and who pays the network fee are not stated. Check the network carefully before sending: blockchain transfers are irreversible and a wrong-network deposit can be lost or need manual recovery.

Can I use the Utorg virtual card with Apple Pay?

Yes — Apple Pay and Google Pay are both supported. Note the difference from the card number itself: paying by phone replaces the number with a device-specific token and a one-time dynamic code, while an online or in-store entry of the raw number can still be declined by merchants that check the issuing country or do not support foreign-issued cards.

Is the Utorg card safe?

The crypto side is non-custodial: you hold your keys, and the card page calls it “The first non-custodial Crypto Card”. The payment side is a conventional card from a third-party provider, and Utorg’s terms bar it from approving, reversing or deciding chargebacks — disputes go to the card provider, and claims against Utorg must be filed within one year. Insurance, safeguarding and two-factor authentication are not stated.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team