A virtual Visa prepaid card with 0% payment fees and 0.5% top-up — but no physical card, no ATM, and a Ukrainian regulator in the story

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Trustee Plus is a virtual Visa prepaid card that spends a balance you load from a crypto wallet. On paper the headline numbers are among the friendliest in this category: opening the virtual card costs 10 USD, monthly maintenance is 0 USD, payments carry 0% fees, and topping up the card balance costs 0.5%. You load the wallet in USDC or USDT across 30+ coins and networks, then push funds onto the card and pay online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. That part is genuinely good.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Trustee Plus works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The problems sit underneath. There is no physical card — it sits on a waitlist — and no ATM access, so this is not a card for cash or for a shop that wants to swipe something. The card balance is a separate balance from the wallet, and the conversion rate for spending in euros, złoty or pounds is the Visa rate with no markup disclosed either way. The card is issued by Wirex Limited in England while the service provider is MIKEPAY INC. in Panama, and no licence or regulator registration is mentioned on the pages I read. And in September 2025 the National Bank of Ukraine barred the Lithuanian operator from offering payment services in the country, with new registrations halted. Against all that, this is a card for a specific person: a Ukrainian, or someone spending Ukrainian-habit money, who wants a virtual USD card funded with stablecoins and cannot get an ordinary bank card. For anyone else, the same money usually buys a more ordinary card with a plastic in the post.

The conditions described here are current as of 20 October 2026.

Verdict: 5.7 out of 10

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 3 / 10 Ukrainians regardless of country of residence, but the Terms require a country from a support list that is not published, and third-party sites contradict the official position
Cost 8 / 10 10 USD to open the virtual card, 0 USD a month, 0% on payments, 0.5% to top up the card balance; the Visa conversion rate is used with no markup disclosed; an inactive wallet costs 20 USDT a month after a year
Top-up options 9 / 10 Wallet in USDC and USDT across 30+ coins and networks including TRC20, ERC20, SOL and NEAR, plus fiat through Smart P2P and IBAN
Reliability and complaints 5 / 10 Wirex Limited issues the card from England, the operator is MIKEPAY INC. in Panama, the National Bank of Ukraine banned the operator from payment services in Ukraine in September 2025, and users report frozen funds after source-of-funds checks
Everyday use 4 / 10 Apple Pay and Google Pay work, but there is no physical card and no ATM

Total: 5.7 / 10.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Trustee Plus starts with a transfer to the right network

Who this suits: someone whose realistic route to a normal card is blocked, who holds stablecoins, and who pays online in dollars or accepts automatic conversion. Who it does not suit: anyone who needs cash, needs a card in their hand, plans to travel, or wants a regulated European institution they can point to.

Will They Give You the Card

The official position is generous in one direction and vague in another.

The Ukrainian-language FAQ says Ukrainians can get the card regardless of which country they live in. It lists no countries where issuance is excluded. The Terms say something narrower and vaguer: you must live in, or be incorporated in, “countries and territories We support,” and you must not be a citizen or resident of any country on sanctions lists. Residents of sanctioned countries are not allowed, and that rule covers citizenship and residence both.

Here is the gap. The list of “countries We support” is not published. The card’s Terms refer to it, but the pages I read do not reproduce it. So the promise to Ukrainians living anywhere sits next to a rule that resolves to a list you cannot read. If you are not a Ukrainian citizen, that list is the entire eligibility test, and you cannot check it in advance.

The English version of the card page has no eligibility FAQ at all, so an English-speaking applicant is working from less again.

There is also a live contradiction between official and unofficial sources. A third-party comparison site (February 2026) says the card is offered to EEA residents. That is not confirmed by the card and it does not match the Ukrainian FAQ. Where the card’s own pages and a comparison site disagree, I weight the card’s pages — but you should know the disagreement exists, because the person you are comparing against may have read the third-party version.

Regulatory context that matters regardless of your nationality: in September 2025 the National Bank of Ukraine barred the Lithuanian operator from providing payment services in Ukraine. News reporting says the director stated existing clients were unaffected and that new registrations in Ukraine were halted from May 22. In August 2026, a Ukrainian news site reported that availability for residents of Ukraine was “still being checked.” So even for the group the card was built around, availability is not a settled fact.

Check one thing before you spend ten dollars: whether your own country of residence and citizenship appear anywhere in the Terms’ support list and sanctions rules. Since that list is not published, the honest answer is that you will find out during KYC.

How to Get It

The path is short and entirely in the app.

  1. Download the Trustee Plus app.
  2. Complete identity verification. KYC happens in the app before the card is ordered, through a partner called Kycaid.
  3. Order the virtual card. It appears in the app.
  4. Top it up and pay.

On the identity check: a Trustee guide describes a photo of your passport or ID card plus a selfie. Proof of address is not stated. The Terms set the age at 18 or the legal age in your country. The verification runs as a single step through Kycaid — how long it takes, what the tiers are, and what gets a person rejected are not stated. Nobody publishes a rejection list, so treat the “why did mine fail” question as unanswerable in advance.

One practical note on the app: Trustee Plus is also distributed as an APK from the company’s own site, which matters if you are on a phone without the app in its store. I could not find ratings for the Trustee Plus app itself. The App Store listing I did find is a different product, Trustee Wallet, at 2.86 from 36 ratings, updated 19 March 2026 — that is the wallet, not the card app, and I would not read it as a verdict on this one.

What you end up with is a Visa Prepaid card with a USD base currency, valid three years, with a card balance that is separate from the wallet balance. The physical card exists as a product in the plan but is unavailable, on a waitlist.

Fees and What You Actually Pay

This is the strongest section of the card. The headline costs are low and most of them are stated plainly, which is not always true in this category.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Trustee Plus payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Value
Virtual card opening 10 USD
Card maintenance 0 USD
Payments 0%
Card balance top-up 0.5% (Ukrainian page)
Conversion of local-currency payments (EUR, PLN, GBP) Automatic, at the Visa rate; any markup not stated
Cash withdrawal (ATM) Currently unavailable; fee and allowance not stated
Wallet inactivity fee 20 USDT equivalent per month after one year without transactions
Monthly limit 30,000 USD per month (limit table); FAQ says monthly operations limit 30,000 USDC
Per-transaction and daily limits Not stated
Cashback None on the card page
Tiers One tier only: one virtual card

Note the mismatch on that limit: the table says 30,000 USD per month, the FAQ says 30,000 USDC for monthly operations. Both numbers are the same size with different units, which usually means the second is really about the wallet side. Do not plan around the ceiling without asking.

Now let us walk three ordinary payments through, because the fee structure only makes sense once you see the path money takes.

Paying 30 USD in dollars, on a card you have already loaded. 0% on payments. Nothing else on the card side. This is the cheapest case, and it is genuinely free.

Paying 30 EUR on that same card. Your balance is in dollars, so the payment is converted automatically at the Visa rate. The card’s pages say no markup beyond that rate — and also do not promise that. The English page says “0% fees on transactions” and lists no other fees; the Ukrainian page names the 0.5% card-balance top-up. Neither page publishes a conversion margin in either direction. So the honest statement is: conversion happens at the Visa rate, and the card does not tell you what it takes.

Paying after you have topped up. 0.5% of the amount goes to loading the card balance, on top of whatever the blockchain charges for the transfer itself. Network fees for your deposit are paid to the blockchain, not to the card provider — that part is outside the card’s pricing and can vary widely by network and by how busy it is.

The 20 USDT inactivity fee is the one that will surprise people who forget about a card. After one year with no transactions, the wallet charges that monthly, and it is charged in a stablecoin, not in the dollar balance. If you hold a card as a back-up and do not touch it for a year, this is the number that matters.

A last line on the Terms: the Payment Card service is described as something that “may be subject to fees.” That phrasing does not quantify anything. It is not a charge today; it is an admission that the pricing can change.

How to Top It Up

Top-up is where this card is strongest, and 9 out of 10 reflects that honestly.

The route is: top up the Trustee Plus wallet in USDC — USDT is named in the English guide as well — open the card section in the app, and use “Top up” to move funds from the wallet to the card balance. The wallet supports 30+ coins and networks, including TRC20, ERC20, SOL and NEAR. That network spread is the practical advantage: if one of your stablecoins is sitting on a network where transfers are cheap, you can move it from there.

Fiat entry is there too, for people who do not hold crypto at all:

The cost of the card-balance top-up is 0.5%, per the Ukrainian page. What is not stated: the minimum top-up amount, and who pays the network fee on the deposit — that is on the blockchain and is separate from the card’s 0.5%.

The missing piece, and the one I would want answered before committing money, is the reverse direction. Moving the card balance back out to crypto or to a bank account — the fees, and what happens to a remaining balance if you close the card — is not stated. Top-up is documented; withdrawal is a gap. That asymmetry matters if you think of this card as a temporary bridge. Treat the balance you load as money you may not get back cheaply.

One network trap worth naming, because the card’s own network list invites it: USDC over TRC20 is not a native option. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so if you hold USDC on Tron you are holding a bridged or wrapped version, and sending it is a different operation from sending native USDC. Getting the network wrong on a stablecoin transfer is irreversible — a transfer to an address for the wrong network can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

Paying With It Every Day

The everyday picture is: online payments, mobile wallets, dollars, and no plastic.

Apple Pay and Google Pay both work, and the card page claims more than 60 million merchants worldwide, online payments and subscriptions included. In practice the card is a virtual Visa Prepaid card with a USD base currency and a single card balance. Pay in dollars and you pay nothing. Pay in another currency and the conversion happens at the Visa rate, already covered above.

What you cannot do:

Two things that will affect your daily experience and are worth knowing in advance. First, a virtual card issued in one country and used in another can look foreign to the merchant. Merchants can look up the issuer identification number at the start of the card number, see which institution and country issued it, and apply extra scrutiny when that differs from your billing address — this is why a card from a foreign issuer sometimes gets declined at the till or online. Second, address verification is largely a US, Canada and UK mechanism and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which produces declines rather than fraud.

If a payment is declined, the money may not come straight back. A declined authorisation can leave a hold on your funds that stays for days, typically up to seven.

The blocked merchant categories for this card are not stated, so I cannot tell you whether gambling is blocked. In this category that is a policy choice by issuer, not a legal rule, and the list differs from one issuer to the next.

What Can Go Wrong

This is where the card’s structure catches up with it, so I will go through the pieces rather than soften them.

The regulatory picture is the largest single risk. The Terms name MIKEPAY INC. of Panama as service provider, and the card service is provided by WIREX LIMITED, registered in England, company number 09334569, with a London address; the card page says the card is issued in Great Britain by Wirex Limited. Neither of the pages I read mentions a licence or a regulator registration. If that absence means “not licensed” it is a serious matter; if it means “not mentioned,” it is still a gap you have to fill yourself. The National Bank of Ukraine action of September 2025, with new registrations halted from May 22 and August 2026 reporting that availability for residents was still being checked, is a live example of a regulator intervening with a card programme.

Freezes after source-of-funds checks. User reports on Trustpilot describe cards moving to a merged platform, failures to withdraw or pay, and funds frozen after source-of-funds checks. One June 2026 review cites slow USDT transfers, an unclear AML review, an unclear complaint procedure, and confusing company information. Separately, the Trustpilot rating for the company’s site was shown as unavailable for a guideline breach when I looked. None of this is the company’s account — the company states no official incidents — but it is the shape of what users say happened, and the freeze pattern is the part to price in. An anti-money-laundering review can end in an account being frozen pending documents, and that is not an abuse of the system; it is the system working.

Custody. This is a custodial wallet-with-card. The non-custodial Trustee Wallet is a separate product. So the provider holds the credentials, and control of the funds sits with the provider, not with you. The category’s record is a reminder of why that matters: Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022.

On stablecoins specifically. They aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but “despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable.” TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022; USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023. Roughly 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation sits in USDT and USDC. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so a stablecoin is not censorship-proof either.

Networks. Fees on the deposit are charged by the blockchain, not the card. Transfers are irreversible. On Ethereum, gas is paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. And if you pick the wrong network, support recovery may be possible and is not guaranteed.

Spending habits. Apple Pay and Google Pay replace your card number with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element, not on the vendor’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. Your issuer can still restrict that tokenised number — blocking it on phone or website use, for instance. Card freeze and insurance are not stated for this card.

Complaints and disputes. Not stated. Who you complain to when a payment goes wrong, and on what terms, is not published on the pages I read.

Tax. Not advice, just the mechanic: digital assets are treated as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss measured in local currency at the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. Ask a professional in your own country.

Security claims. The company points to Hacken audits of the apps from February 2025, 2FA, Face ID, an AML Check, and a bug bounty on HackenProof. Listed partners include Kycaid, HackenProof, Binance, Kraken, MoonPay and WhiteBIT. These are reasonable controls for a company of this size; they are not a substitute for a licence.

The Terms of Use were last updated 25 May 2026.

What to Take Instead

Three cards I looked at, all scored on the same scale so you can compare them against the 5.7.

International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10

It beats Trustee Plus on score and states its FX fee openly, which Trustee Plus does not. It is worse for a Ukrainian, because Ukraine is on its exclusion list.

UNi Card — 6.1 / 10

Its fees read better than Trustee Plus on paper — a stated absence of FX fee, where Trustee Plus declines to state a conversion markup. What holds it back is how much it does not say: eligibility, funding and card type are all unstated.

Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10

Its 5% cashback and its reach beat Trustee Plus on the headline. It is not available to anyone outside the US states listed, and Ukraine is on the unsupported list.

Where each stands against Trustee Plus:

Trustee Plus International Visa UNi Card Whop
Score 5.7 6.7 6.1 5.2
Main fee clarity 0% payments stated; conversion markup not stated FX fee stated at 2% FX fee stated as none Not stated
Physical card Unavailable, waitlist Coming soon Not stated Not stated
Openness about who can have it Terms list unpublished; FAQ promises Ukrainians Long exclusion list published Not stated US state list published
Cashback None on the card page None stated Up to 3% 5% at select merchants

Who I Would Recommend It To

I would recommend Trustee Plus to someone specific. If you are Ukrainian, or you are paying with money that behaves like Ukrainian money, and you cannot get an ordinary bank card, and you already hold USDC or USDT and understand what a network transfer is, then this card is a reasonable instrument. The 10 USD opening, 0 USD a month and 0% payments are genuinely good, the 30+ network support means you are not forced onto an expensive chain, and Apple Pay and Google Pay cover the ordinary online life. Accept that it is a virtual card for online spending and treat it that way.

I would not recommend it if any of these are true:

What I would want answered before I loaded real money: is my country on the support list, what exactly happens when I move the balance back out, and is there a licence. None of those three answers is on the public pages today.

Frequently asked questions

What is Trustee Plus card?

Trustee Plus is a virtual Visa Prepaid card that spends a separate balance you load from a crypto wallet. It is denominated in US dollars, valid for three years, and issued by Wirex Limited in Great Britain. The card balance is not the same as the wallet balance, so money in your wallet is not card money until you move it. Its core audience is people loading stablecoins into a virtual dollar card, mostly Ukrainians today.

How does Trustee Plus card work?

You top up the wallet in USDC or USDT, open the card section, and use “Top up” to move funds onto the card balance. From there you pay online or through Apple Pay and Google Pay. Payments cost 0%, the card balance top-up costs 0.5%, and payments in euros, złoty or pounds are converted automatically at the Visa rate. The card is prepaid, so it can only spend what is already loaded.

Is Trustee Plus a bank?

Not on the pages I read. The Terms name MIKEPAY INC., registered in Panama, as the service provider, and WIREX LIMITED, company number 09334569 in England, as the card service provider and issuer. Neither page mentions a banking licence or a regulator registration. Whether that reflects the actual regulatory status or simply what the marketing chose to print, I cannot tell from here — but you should look before you rely on it.

Who owns Trustee Plus?

Two companies are named in the Terms and the card page: Wirex Limited issues the card and MIKEPAY INC. provides the service. A third-party site describes a related card as Mastercard-based with euro cards and IBAN accounts issued by a Polish institution, which contradicts the card’s own Visa and Great Britain statements — treat that version as unconfirmed. Trustee Wallet, a separate non-custodial product, is often confused with the custodial wallet behind this card.

Can I use Trustee Plus card in my country?

That depends on a list the Terms call “countries and territories We support,” which is not published, so you cannot check in advance. The card’s FAQ promises Ukrainians the card regardless of country of residence and names no excluded countries, but the Terms are narrower. Ukraine itself is unsettled: the National Bank of Ukraine banned the operator from payment services in September 2025, new registrations halted on 22 May, and August 2026 reporting said availability for residents was still being checked.

Does Trustee Plus card require KYC?

Yes. Verification runs in the app before you order the card, through a partner called Kycaid. A Trustee guide describes a passport or ID card photo plus a selfie; proof of address is not stated, and the Terms set 18 or the legal age in your country as the minimum. Levels, processing time and rejection reasons are not stated, so plan for the check to be the step where a waitlist application quietly ends.

How much does Trustee Plus card cost?

Opening the virtual card costs 10 USD and maintaining it costs 0 USD a month. Payments carry 0% and topping up the card balance costs 0.5%. Conversions of euro, złoty and pound payments happen at the Visa rate, with any markup not stated either way. The one fee to watch is the wallet inactivity charge of 20 USDT per month after a year with no transactions. The monthly limit is 30,000 USD in the limit table, 30,000 USDC in the FAQ.

Is Trustee Plus card safe?

It is a custodial wallet-with-card, which means the provider holds the credentials rather than you. It is a Visa prepaid instrument with 2FA, Face ID, an AML Check and Hacken audits of the apps from February 2025, but no licence or regulator registration is mentioned on the pages I read, and the National Bank of Ukraine acted against the operator in September 2025. Users report funds frozen after source-of-funds checks and unclear complaint procedures. I would not call it unsafe outright, but I would not call it protected either.

Where can I use Trustee Plus card?

Online, and through Apple Pay and Google Pay, which the card page says covers more than 60 million merchants, plus subscriptions. You cannot use it at an ATM — cash withdrawal is listed as a physical-card benefit and the physical card is unavailable. Blocked merchant categories are not stated, so I cannot tell you whether gambling is declined. A foreign-issued card can also be declined by merchants who check the issuer country, and a declined payment can hold your funds for days.

Is Trustee Plus card worth it?

For someone who cannot get an ordinary card and already holds stablecoins, yes: 10 USD to open, nothing a month, nothing per payment, and 30+ networks to deposit from. For everyone else, the missing physical card, the missing ATM and the unstated withdrawal fees make it a narrower tool than a normal bank card at a higher total cost of ownership once a licence is factored in. The score here is 5.7 out of 10, and that number is the honest summary of both halves.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team