Slash pays in yen from a USDC balance — but the fine print is thin

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Slash is a Visa card you fund with USDC and spend in yen, offered only to people living in Japan who are at least 18. On paper that is a narrow, specific proposition: a crypto-funded payment card for Japan residents, with a virtual card issued straight away and a physical one shipped inside Japan. The good part is that the product is simple — one app, one asset, one network pair to choose from. The weak part is that almost none of the numbers a shopper actually needs are published. Conversion fees, daily and monthly limits, ATM withdrawals, foreign-spend fees, card currency: the card’s own pages do not say what any of these are, so I cannot tell you what a coffee costs after the card has finished with it.

Slash works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

I scored it 4.6 out of 10. That is not a verdict on whether Slash works — it is a verdict on how much of it is documented. If you are in Japan, hold USDC, and want to spend it without thinking about exchanges, the basic mechanics are there. If you are anywhere else, the door is closed before you start.

Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 4.6 out of 10, and the gap is disclosure, not ambition

Slash is built for one audience, and the card says so plainly: Japan residents spending a USDC balance in yen. If that is you, you have a virtual card in minutes and a physical one at home, and the day-to-day job of paying for things is done. If you are outside Japan, there is no route in. If you want a card that works across many countries, or one whose fees you can read before you sign up, Slash will frustrate you — not because it is badly built, but because the information a shopper needs is not there.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Slash starts with a transfer to the right network

The score breaks down into six criteria, and reading the table tells you more than the number does.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 2 / 10 Residents of Japan aged 18+ only; physical cards ship within Japan
Cost 3 / 10 Account opening free; physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC during the launch campaign), virtual 20 USDC, first year free then 20 USDC a year; conversion fee not disclosed
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC top-up in the app on Solana and Ethereum; Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM marked “coming soon”
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issuer IQuitous, programme run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), Orico sponsoring the BIN; no independent complaints found, though the launch moved from 2025 to 20 April 2026
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card issued instantly, physical card available, contactless payments in shops; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM not disclosed
Total 4.6 / 10 A working product with a narrow eligibility window and thin fee disclosure

Two of those marks deserve a word. Who can get it scores 2 out of 10 not because the card is badly run but because the address test is residence-based and hard-sided: Japan’s residents only. Reliability scores 7 partly because I found no independent reviews or complaints — though absence of complaints on a young product is closer to absence of track record than to a clean bill of health.

Will they give you the card?

They will, if you live in Japan and you are 18 or older. Those are the two conditions on the card’s own pages. Physical cards ship within Japan only, which follows logically from the residence rule but is worth stating plainly if you are a Japanese citizen living in Seoul, Toronto or Berlin: your passport is not the question, your address is. The test is residence, and the card does not publish a citizenship rule.

The card is a Visa, available in physical and virtual form, and you can hold more than one of each. The site calls it Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. Note that the card currency is not stated — news coverage says merchants are paid in yen, but the card’s own pages do not name the currency the account is denominated in.

So the short version: if you are in Japan, 18 or over, and you have a Japanese address you can verify, this is available to you. If you are not, nothing else on this page applies to you.

How to get it

The route runs through the Slash App. You create the account there and complete identity verification — the card calls it honnin kakunin, personal identity confirmation — inside the same app. News coverage of the launch mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication as part of that step. Proof of address is not stated anywhere on the public pages.

After verification, you choose your card: a virtual card, issued instantly, or a physical card delivered nationwide within Japan. Delivery time and shipping cost are not stated; neither is what happens if a card is lost or damaged.

One thing that often surprises people: there are no tiers to choose between. The card describes member tiers ranked by how much you use the service, with perks unspecified, and marked as coming soon. There is also no verification ladder — one identity check, no higher level that unlocks bigger limits. Verification tiers are not stated.

Fees: what a Slash payment really costs

Here is the honest problem. The card publishes its prices for the card itself and then stops. It tells you what the plastic costs and what the year costs, and it is silent on what happens when you actually spend.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Slash payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit What the card states
Account opening Free
Physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC during the launch campaign)
Virtual card 20 USDC
Annual fee Free in year 1, then 20 USDC
Conversion fee Not stated
Foreign-exchange fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated
Card currency Not stated

Let me show you what that means in practice, with three ordinary purchases.

Coffee purchase. You pay in yen at the counter and the card deducts the equivalent from your USDC balance. You never convert anything yourself — the card does it. But I cannot tell you what the rate was or whether a conversion fee was taken, because the card does not publish either. The amount you actually lose to the purchase is the amount I cannot show you.

Supermarket purchase. Same story. The card handles the conversion, the balance moves, and the shop sees a normal yen payment. What I cannot tell you is the spread, because there is no published rate and no published fee.

Anything bought from a non-Japanese merchant. Merchants are paid in yen or other fiat, and you do not convert stablecoins per purchase. But whether a foreign-spend fee applies, and whether the card is denominated in yen or something else, is not stated. If you travel with it, that is the first thing to ask the support team before you rely on it.

The pattern worth understanding is the general one for this category: most crypto cards draw on a stored balance rather than a linked bank account, so what you hold is what you can spend and the card cannot overdraw. The cost of your purchase, though, is whatever the provider’s rate and fee turn out to be — and here, that is the one number the card withholds. Also worth knowing: a declined payment can leave a hold on your funds that stays for days, sometimes up to seven. A card that will not tell you its limits can hold money without warning, and you cannot plan around a ceiling you cannot see.

How to top it up

You top up in USDC, in the app, on Solana or Ethereum. That is the whole story as far as the card’s pages go: Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are marked “coming soon”, which tells you the direction of travel but gives you nothing today.

Minimum amounts, top-up fees and whether you can add money by bank transfer are not stated.

One practical warning before you send anything. Blockchain transfers are irreversible, and USDC sent on a network the card does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee of success. If your money is on Base and the card only takes Solana and Ethereum, the network difference is not a detail the system will catch for you. Check the network selector twice, and check which chain your exchange actually supports for USDC withdrawal — those two lists do not always match.

Paying with it every day

Day to day, Slash behaves like an ordinary Visa: you tap at the counter and it goes through. The app also lets you freeze the card instantly if it is lost or stolen, which is the single most useful control it gives you, and one I would expect any card to offer.

What is not disclosed matters here. Whether you can add the card to Apple Pay or Google Wallet is not stated — and those are how a surprising share of people actually pay. Which merchant categories are blocked is not stated either, so you do not know in advance whether some purchase will simply be refused at the till. There is no cashback stated. There is a referral reward when someone you referred issues a card and makes a first payment, but the amount is not on the card’s pages; third-party reporting puts it at around the USD 10 equivalent per friend after the first payment, and that is unofficial and may change. News mentions planned rewards of up to 1.5% with membership tiers, which the site has not confirmed.

The app exists on iOS and Android. Store ratings are not stated, so I cannot tell you how people rate it after daily use.

Disputes and chargebacks are not stated either — the help centre has categories for issuance, usage, terms and policies, but the articles behind them are not published where a shopper could read them before buying. If something goes wrong with a payment, you are finding out the process afterwards.

Support reaches you at [email protected], and there is a help centre at slash-card.zendesk.com/hc/ja — Japanese, with categories covering an issuance guide, a usage guide, and terms and policies. Hours and additional languages are not stated.

What can go wrong

The most obvious risk is that this is a young product. The card launched with issuance beginning 20 April 2026 after an originally earlier 2025 target slipped; a partnership with IQuitous and Orico was announced 13 February 2025, a pre-application ran in June 2025, and general public opening was planned for around August 2026, with reporting in October 2026 saying it opened to the public on 15 October with a driver’s licence accepted as ID. Most of the coverage out there is press-release material rather than independent testing, which is what you would expect this early.

On complaints: I found no independent reviews and no complaints. That cuts both ways. A young card has not been broken long enough for a complaint file to exist, and one 2026 closure elsewhere in this category shows how quickly a programme can end — new loads stopping 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026, single-sourced and unconfirmed, but the shape of how these things unwind is worth knowing before you commit money.

The entities behind the card are worth understanding, because only one of them is the brand on the front. The issuer is IQuitous (iKitas) Inc.; the programme manager and brand owner is Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. in Singapore; Orico sponsors the BIN and international brand support. Issuing bank and licences are not stated on the site. In plain terms: Visa routes the payments and sets the rules, IQuitous is the institution that issued the card, and Slash Vision is the company you have an app relationship with and which markets it. If something goes wrong, the party you complain to and the party that can actually fix it may not be the same one.

What the card does say about security, from its press release: strict identity verification, transaction monitoring, international anti-money-laundering standards, and compliance with Japan’s Installment Sales Act and the Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds. Freezing the card instantly is a real control. The custody model — who holds your USDC, and under what arrangement — is not stated, which for a card holding real money is the question I would most want answered.

And the category-wide risks apply here too. Custodial platforms have a history: Mt. Gox at about US$350 million reported stolen across 2011–2014, Coincheck at about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network at US$625 million in 2022. Card programmes get suspended by networks when the sponsor falls — WaveCrest had all its Visa programmes closed in Europe in 2018, and Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022. Neither is a prediction about Slash. They are the base rate for what you are accepting when you hold funds with a provider you cannot see.

One more thing, if you use it abroad: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and issuer country, and address verification is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines in the US, Canada and UK. A Japanese-issued card in a Japanese shop is the easy case. Anywhere else is not.

What to take instead

If you are in Japan, the alternatives that actually let you in are MetaMask’s card and KAST. If you are elsewhere, TokenPocket. Here is the honest comparison — and I am including Slash in it because leaving it out would flatter it.

Slash MetaMask KAST TokenPocket
Who it is for Japan residents 18+ 45 listed countries, proof of residency required Residence list shown at KYC; citizenship can still block you Europe on Visa; Asia-Pacific, Canada, UK on Mastercard
Card Visa, physical and virtual Mastercard, virtual first, metal optional Visa Platinum and Visa Infinite variants Virtual debit, Visa or Mastercard
Cost to start Virtual 20 USDC, physical 70 USDC Virtual free; metal $199/year Standard 0 USD, Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year Small NFT creation fee, partly covered
Fees published Card and annual only No FX fee; per-transaction fee linked, amount not shown Stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, FX 0.5%–1.75%, declined payment 0.50 USD 1% fee on crypto deposit; no other fees stated
Cashback Not stated 1% virtual, 3% on first $10,000 metal 1.5% to 3% monthly-capped 1% deposit fee refunded later via rewards

MetaMask is the strongest of the three on documentation and the broadest on reach, with a score of 7.1 out of 10. It spends straight from your own connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, holds named tokens including USDC, and pays cashback in mUSD — 1% on the virtual card, and on the metal card a headline 3% that the footnote limits to the first $10,000 of spending before it drops to 1%. Its limits are its own: sign-up is open in 45 listed countries, proof of residency is required, US and UK sign-ups were temporarily closed, and one card per user. The catch is that virtual is free and the metal card is $199 a year, so the good cashback sits behind the expensive tier.

KAST, at 6.1 out of 10, is the one with the most complete fee schedule in this comparison, and that transparency is worth something in a category this opaque. Stablecoin top-up 0%, spending in USD 0%, transaction fee 0%, Apple and Google Pay 0%, non-USD FX between 0.5% and 1.75% depending on where you live and where you spend, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, 0.50 USD for a declined payment. Cashback is 1.5%, 2% or 3% depending on tier, capped monthly at 2,000, 10,000 and 40,000 USD. What it does not publish is the country list itself, and its eligibility logic is stricter than it first appears: living in a supported country is not enough if your ID comes from a restricted region, and a VPN changes nothing. The tiers also cost real money — 1,000 USD a year for Premium, 10,000 for Private.

TokenPocket, at 5.8 out of 10, covers a wide list of countries but its charging model works against you at the top-up step: 1% on every crypto deposit, refunded later through rewards rather than at the point of payment, plus whatever an inter-institution settlement adds.

The pattern across all four: nobody publishes everything, and the ones that publish most (KAST) are the ones asking for the most money up front. For a reader in Japan spending USDC in yen, none of the three matches Slash’s proposition directly — they are comparisons for judging transparency and cost structure, not like-for-like substitutes.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Slash to one person: someone living in Japan, over 18, who already holds USDC and wants to stop converting it by hand. If that is you, the virtual card arrives instantly, the physical one follows, the top-up is USDC on Solana or Ethereum, and you are spending yen at a till while the card does the arithmetic. The card does one job and does it simply, and the in-app freeze is the right control to have on the front of it.

I would not recommend it as your only card. The reason is not that anything here is wrong — it is that too much is unknown. You are loading real money onto a balance whose conversion cost is not disclosed, under limits you cannot read, with no stated ATM access, no stated mobile wallet support, no stated cashback and no published dispute process, run by a Singapore programme manager on a Japanese issuer’s licence with a launch history that has already slipped once. The failure mode is not fraud; it is discovering at the wrong moment that a fee or a ceiling you did not know about had already eaten into your balance.

So: keep it small at first. Top up what you would not mind losing, use it for one category, and ask support the two questions the site will not answer — what does a purchase actually cost me after conversion, and what are the limits. If those come back clearly, the card is fine for its stated purpose. If they come back vague, that tells you something too.

Frequently asked questions

What is Slash card?

Slash is a Visa payment card funded with USDC rather than a bank account. You load USDC into the Slash App, and the card spends from that balance, with merchants paid in yen or other fiat while you never convert stablecoins per purchase. The site calls it Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. It is open only to people living in Japan who are at least 18, and physical cards ship within Japan only.

Who owns Slash card?

Three separate companies sit behind it. IQuitous (iKitas) Inc. is the card issuer. Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., based in Singapore, is the programme manager and brand owner behind the site and app. Orico sponsors the BIN and provides international brand support. Visa itself does not issue crypto cards — it licenses issuers like IQuitous and can suspend a programme. Which licences apply is not stated on the card’s site.

Is Slash card available outside Japan?

No. Eligibility is residence-based: residents of Japan aged 18 and over. Your citizenship does not appear to be the test — your address is. Physical cards ship within Japan only, so a Japanese citizen living abroad has no route to one. This is the main reason for the low mark on eligibility, and the single fact that decides whether this card is relevant to you.

How do I get a Slash card?

Download the Slash App for iOS or Android, create an account, and complete identity verification in the app — the card calls it honnin kakunin. News coverage mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication. After that you get a virtual card instantly, or order a physical one delivered within Japan. Delivery time, shipping cost and replacement procedures are not stated on the public pages.

Does Slash card require KYC?

Yes. Identity verification happens in the app before any card is issued, and the card’s press release claims strict identity verification, transaction monitoring, international anti-money-laundering standards and compliance with Japan’s Installment Sales Act and Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds. There is a single verification step with no tiers. Proof of address is not stated — worth asking support about if you have moved recently.

How much does Slash card cost?

Account opening is free. A virtual card costs 20 USDC and a physical card 70 USDC, or 35 USDC during the launch campaign. The annual fee is free in the first year and 20 USDC from year 2. Beyond that the card publishes nothing: the conversion fee, foreign-exchange fee, ATM fees, and daily and monthly limits are all not stated, which is the largest single gap in the pricing.

Can I add Slash card to Apple Wallet?

The card’s pages do not say. Whether Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported is not stated, nor is the card’s currency, nor which merchant categories are blocked. What is confirmed is contactless payment in stores and instant freezing in the app. If you rely on a phone wallet rather than the physical card, this is worth asking before you top up.

How do I top up Slash card?

You add USDC in the app, on either the Solana or Ethereum networks. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are marked “coming soon” but are not available today. Minimum amounts, top-up fees and whether you can fund by bank transfer are not stated. Check the network carefully before sending: transfers are irreversible, and funds sent on an unsupported network can be lost.

Is Slash card safe to use?

The concrete controls are reasonable: instant card freeze in the app, identity verification before issuance, and transaction monitoring described in the press release. But the card does not state its custody model — who holds your USDC and under what arrangement — and that is the question I would want answered before loading a meaningful balance. Card programmes in this category do close, and your money sits with a provider you cannot inspect.

Is Slash card free?

Partly. Opening the account costs nothing and the first year has no annual fee. But the virtual card is 20 USDC, the physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC at launch), and the annual fee becomes 20 USDC from year two. There is no stated cashback and no stated signup reward on the card’s own pages, so treat it as a paid product that happens to start with a free account.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team