Bit.Store looks tidy on paper. The record behind it is where the hesitation comes from.
You are probably reading this because an ordinary bank card is not something you can easily get: no local account that will open for you, a balance you cannot move, an address that does not match, a country that makes onboarding deliberately hard. Bit.Store is one of the names that comes up in those searches, because it sells exactly the thing you are missing — a small virtual card you load with crypto and then spend like an ordinary card. That is a genuinely useful shape for a real need. It is also a shape with a thin public paper trail, and in this case a specific event in 2026 that changed what the product even is. My job here is to walk you through both halves.
The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.
The verdict: 5.0 out of 10
Bit.Store scores 5.0 out of 10 in my assessment. That is not a dismissal. It is a card that does one narrow thing — a small virtual card funded from crypto — and for someone who needs exactly that and has verified the details for themselves, the fit may be fine. But the same assessment has to carry the fact that most of what I could establish comes from third-party reporting rather than from the card’s own pages, that the physical card was discontinued in March 2026 after a regulatory event at its issuer, and that the review record on Trustpilot is very poor.
Let me show you the marks and then take each one apart.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | 54 countries reported as available; eight listed as restricted; no complete applicant-country list published |
| Cost | 5 / 10 | Issuance free; $1 monthly on a previously published schedule; top-up raised from 1.5% to 2.5%; FX varies by card type with no full schedule |
| Top-up options | 7 / 10 | 10+ cryptocurrencies, naming BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC; converted into card balance at loading; networks not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 2 / 10 | Bitstore Europe UAB in Lithuania, not a bank or EMI; issuer unnamed; physical card shut in March 2026; Trustpilot 1.8 of 5 across 23 reviews |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual card only; Apple Pay and Google Pay advertised; no ATM; physical card discontinued |
| Total | 5.0 / 10 | A narrow product with a thin disclosure trail and a poor service record |
The audience this suits is specific: someone who wants a small virtual card, topped up with crypto, and who is prepared to check the fine print for themselves rather than trust a headline. What it does not suit is anyone who needs a physical card, an ATM, a published fee schedule, a named issuer, or a track record of users getting their money back without a fight.
The 2 out of 10 on reliability is the number I would want a reader in a hurry to look at first. It is not a judgement about whether the company is honest. It is a judgement about how much you can verify, and what has already happened to the product.
Will they give you the card?
This is the first question I asked, because a card you cannot open is not a review subject. The honest answer is that Bit.Store’s own public pages do not state their eligibility rules. I could not find a published list of applicants’ countries on the material available to me, and I will not guess at one.
What is reported by third-party sites, and not confirmed by the card, is this: 54 countries are listed as available, with a restricted group of Belarus, China, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria and the United States. There is no complete list of applicant countries. Note that Russia and Belarus appear in that restricted list — if you are reading this from either country, that is the first thing to establish, and the source is unofficial and dated August 2026, so it needs checking against whatever the application screen actually asks you.
That gap between “54 countries listed” and “no full applicant list” is the pattern that runs through this whole review. The number exists; the enumeration behind it does not. So the practical instruction is dull and unavoidable: before you send anything, work out from the application flow itself whether your country of residence and your citizenship are accepted, and be suspicious of any page that promises acceptance without naming countries.
How to get it
Bit.Store’s public pages do not state their identification requirements, so I have nothing official to describe. What is reported, again unofficial and not confirmed by the card, is that the virtual-card page says “Simple KYC verification” and that the 2023 launch described KYC as free. Minimum age is given inconsistently: 18+ in the FAQ, 16+ in the User Agreement. Both of those, as of August 2026, per third-party reporting.
That age conflict is worth pausing on, because it is not a trivial detail. It means two documents from the same company disagree about who is allowed to hold the product. If you are anywhere near that boundary, you should ask the company directly rather than pick whichever number suits you.
On the card itself: again nothing official to hand. Unofficial reporting says the virtual card is a Visa or a Mastercard depending on which card type you choose, and that the former physical card was a Mastercard issued through Paytend. The original 2023 launch was described as a Mastercard prepaid virtual card.
There is no delivery question to answer here, because there is no physical card any more. The virtual product exists in the app; the physical one was discontinued. Nor are there published tiers — no basic, plus or premium structure I can point you to. When a provider does not publish tiers, the practical effect is that there is nothing to compare and you should assume the only tier is the one in front of you.
One thing to weigh while you are here: KYC is not a formality that can be skipped, it is a legal obligation. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and whether you are a politically exposed person. If due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships — which is exactly why accounts get closed or frozen pending documents. Nationality is screened separately from residence, because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to your address. In the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. I am not telling you how to get past any of this. I am telling you that a provider describing verification as “simple” has not promised you that it will end well for everyone, and that the ordinary legal reason a card gets declined is not a trick anyone is hiding from you.
Fees: what it really costs
Here is the sharpest practical point in this review, and it is not about the headline “free”. Bit.Store’s public pages do not publish a fee schedule. The numbers below are unofficial, from third-party reporting as of August 2026, and several come from a schedule that was published at some point and may not be the schedule you get.

| Item | What is reported | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Issuance | Free | Unofficial |
| Monthly fee | $1 (unofficial) | Previously published schedule; annual $0 (unofficial) |
| Top-up fee | 2.5% (unofficial) | Previously 1.5% (unofficial) |
| Conversion and purchase fees | Depends on card type | No complete public schedule |
| FX | Depends on card type | No complete public schedule |
| ATM | Not applicable to the virtual card | Former physical card: €2,000 daily (unofficial) |
| Limits | Virtual: $10,000 monthly headline (unofficial) | Unclear whether top-up, spend or balance |
Two figures from the earlier period are still quoted and worth knowing, because they show how the pricing has moved: in 2023 there were described as no issuing, inactivity or annual fees, and no purchase fees on transactions up to USD 10,000 (an unofficial figure, unconfirmed by the card). That second one is a long way from the current picture. Treat it as history.
Now, three everyday payments, because that is where fees actually land.
A coffee. You are buying something costing about 4 USD. What applies is the conversion: your crypto is turned into a balance, and then the balance is converted into the currency the shop wants. Both the conversion fee and any purchase fee depend on which card type you have, and I cannot tell you the percentage because no complete schedule is public. This is the payment where the numbers matter least in absolute terms and most in habit — small purchases are where people stop reading the app.
A monthly subscription. Say 20 USD for a service you use every month. Same mechanics, but the number is big enough that a percentage hurts, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on funds that stays for several days, typically up to seven. That is a general property of card payments and it is not specific to Bit.Store, but it is the sort of thing that turns a small card into a small problem.
Spending abroad. This is where FX is supposed to be disclosed and is not. If you travel, the conversion fee and the FX fee both apply, and for Bit.Store both vary by card type with nothing published to check against. Before you rely on this card in a currency that is not your own, ask the company for the current FX and conversion figures in writing. If you cannot get a straight answer, that answer is the information.
On limits, the honest reading of the one headline number: $10,000 monthly (an unofficial figure, unconfirmed by the card) for the virtual card, with the important caveat that it is unclear whether that means top-up volume, spend volume, or balance held. Those are three different things with three different consequences. The former physical card’s figures were €100,000 maximum balance, €50,000 monthly load, and €5,000 daily load and payments (all unofficial and unconfirmed) — useful only as a picture of what the programme once looked like, not as your ceiling today.
Top up: how the money gets in
Topping up is the part of the design that is genuinely simple in concept. The card’s public pages do not state their funding options. Reported, unofficial and not confirmed by the card: 10+ cryptocurrencies are supported, with BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC named, and the amount is converted into a card balance at the point of loading. Networks are not stated.

That last word — networks — is where I would want you to slow down, because it is the single most common way people lose money in this category. A cryptocurrency transfer is not like a bank transfer. It is a message to a blockchain, and if you send it on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, it can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. There is no support ticket that can reverse a confirmed transaction.
The technical reasons are worth knowing so you can check rather than guess. ERC-20 is the Ethereum token standard, proposed in November 2015, and gas on Ethereum is paid only in ETH — so a wallet holding USDT with no ETH cannot send it. Tron prices transactions differently, using bandwidth and energy as internal resources, often burning TRX. Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024, so “USDC over TRC20” is not a native option. Circle lists USDC as natively supported on 38 networks as of 16 September 2026, including Ethereum, Solana, Base, Polygon PoS, Avalanche, Arbitrum and Stellar, and Tether describes USDT as a token built on multiple blockchains including Ethereum, Tron, Solana, Polygon and Avalanche. Since Bit.Store does not name its supported networks, your only safe procedure is to copy the deposit details from inside the app at the moment of transfer, and to check the network field against your own wallet’s network before you confirm. Also note that on-chain network fees for your deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — so there is a cost that will not appear in the card’s fee table.
On the top-up fee itself: 2.5% (unofficial and unconfirmed), up from 1.5%, with a minimum top-up of $15 in a previously published flow that should be confirmed at checkout. Fiat routes are not stated, meaning I cannot tell you whether a bank transfer, a card, or something else is offered. On withdrawal: the card’s public pages say nothing, which is itself a finding — a card you cannot get money back off is a prepaid instrument in everything but name.
And one more thing about the assets themselves, because it is easy to forget that “stablecoin” does not mean “safe”. A stablecoin aims to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but despite the name, stablecoins are not necessarily stable. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are US-dollar-pegged, and the BIS in July 2025 put about 90% of stablecoin market capitalisation in these two. Circle says USDC is redeemable 1:1 for USD and 100% backed by cash and cash equivalents, mostly in an SEC-registered government money market fund, with monthly reserve attestations by a Big Four firm. Tether says its reserves are intended to back the token 1:1. But stablecoins can and do depeg: TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. And Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity — so they are not censorship-proof either.
Paying with it every day
Bit.Store’s public pages do not describe their wallet support, their merchant restrictions, their app, or their dispute process. So what follows is unofficial reporting from August 2026 and November 2023, not confirmed by the card.
Apple Pay and Google Pay have been advertised since launch, with the important qualifier that support can depend on the BIN, your device region and the wallet itself. That is a general property of tokenised cards, and it is worth understanding why. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the card number is replaced with a device-specific Device Account Number held in the Secure Element, never on Apple’s servers, and every payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. The issuer can restrict that tokenised number — blocking it on magnetic stripe, phone or web use, for instance. So “Apple Pay works” is not a property of the card alone; it is a relationship between the card, the issuer’s policy and your region.
Whether you can add it to your wallet is a fair question to check before you need it. If it fails, you will be left with a card number to type in, which is the version of this product most likely to be declined.
There is no ATM, because there is no physical card. There are no published rewards. The app’s functionality is not described in what I could read. And replacement and dispute fees are not publicly itemised — which matters more than it sounds, because a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes such as fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received, and US prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. If you cannot see what a dispute costs before you need one, treat that as an open question.
What can go wrong
This is the section I would not shorten, because the risk here is not abstract.
The company is not a bank or an e-money institution. Unofficial reporting as of August 2026 puts the operator as Bitstore Europe UAB, Lithuania, company number 306465386, registered in 2024 as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator, and not holding a bank or EMI licence; it was not in the Bank of Lithuania’s EMI register as of August 2026. The former physical card’s issuer was Paytend Europe UAB. The current virtual card’s issuer is not publicly named.
That last clause is the one to hold onto. In this category, a card payment involves several parties: the network routes messages and sets rules, a bank or e-money institution licensed to issue under the network’s licence holds the card programme, and the crypto brand is often only a programme manager or front end that markets it. An electronic money institution in the EU can issue e-money, payment cards and wallets but cannot lend, and it may serve the whole EU/EEA from a licence granted in one member state. EMIs must safeguard customer funds by segregating them in dedicated accounts or insuring them, and those funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme. If the entity behind your card is not an EMI, none of that protection framework is yours.
The physical card ended because of an issuer event. In March 2026 the physical card was discontinued after a regulatory event at issuer Paytend. No official incident notice was found. Whatever the precise cause, the effect for you is that a product half the marketing material still describes no longer exists.
Users reported cards and balances frozen. From late 2024 through 2025, user reports describe virtual cards suspended for “maintenance”, balances unspendable or unwithdrawable, monthly deductions continuing while the card was unusable, and slow support. Some users recovered; others were blocked for months. This is not a pattern invented here — but I also want to name the mechanism that makes it ordinary. Programme closures typically follow a shape: a notice period, then loading and spending stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards to consumers themselves; they license issuers, and they can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had terminated its global agreements with FTX and the FTX US debit card programme was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. A closure is a normal risk of this category, not a personal misfortune.
The complaint record is bad. Trustpilot shows 1.8 out of 5 from 23 reviews, 82% of them one-star. I did not read Trustpilot directly; that figure is reported and unconfirmed. The themes match the reports above: suspended virtual cards and blocked balances, continued monthly deductions, slow support. Read a small sample with its size in mind — 23 reviews is not a poll — but 82% one-star is not a rounding error either.
Your money sits with a custodian. Custody is advertised through Cobo, and the 2023 launch mentioned an extra two-factor authentication layer. With a custodial wallet, the provider holds the credentials, so you must trust the provider completely. A seed phrase, typically 12 to 24 words, is the unencrypted form of the private key and anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds; transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen private key has no recovery because the network cannot freeze or return the funds. Custodial platforms have a real record of failures: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). Self-custody-linked cards flip the trade: funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment, but you bear sole responsibility for key loss, phishing, and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Bit.Store sits on the custodial side.
Spending can be declined for reasons that are not your fault. A declined authorisation may leave a hold for several days, typically up to seven. Address Verification Service compares numeric parts of the billing address with issuer records and is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK — it is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which can cause declines. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign BINs, because the BIN lookup reveals the issuer and country, and a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another. On online payments, 3-D Secure adds an identity check: Visa’s brand is Visa Secure, Mastercard’s is Identity Check, and under 3-D Secure liability for fraudulent online payments can shift from the merchant to your bank — or, per critics, to you. Merchant category codes also matter: MCC 7995 covers gambling, and many issuers block it on specific cards by policy rather than by law, with the blocked list varying by issuer. Bit.Store does not publish its blocked categories, so you cannot know in advance.
The regulatory floor is still moving. MiCA, the EU’s markets-in-crypto-assets regulation, took legal effect in June 2023; its rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions including crypto-asset service provider rules applying from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. The transitional period lets providers operating under national law continue only until 1 July 2026 or until they receive or are refused a MiCA authorisation, whichever comes first — and that date has passed. ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised CASPs, white papers and non-compliant entities, which is a place worth checking a provider’s name. A card itself is regulated separately as a payment service, which is why a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while ordinary users buying goods are not.
And a tax note, offered as a fact rather than advice. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss, measured in local fiat currency using the fair market value on the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal. I am not qualified to advise you on your circumstances and you should not treat this paragraph as advice — but if you are in the US and spending a card funded this way repeatedly, the bookkeeping is real and it is per payment.
What to take instead
The honest comparison here is not flattering to anyone. All three alternatives below also disclose their fees thinly. But they show what a different balance of emphasis looks like, and one of them is meaningfully clearer on eligibility than Bit.Store.
| Card | Score | Eligibility | Card form | Cost | Funding |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bit.Store | 5.0 / 10 | 54 countries reported; eight restricted; no full applicant list | Virtual Visa or Mastercard, type-dependent | Issuance free; $1 monthly reported; top-up 2.5% | 10+ coins incl. BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC |
| Cardex | 5.6 / 10 | “One crypto card, 200+ countries”; no exclusions listed; App Store listing is Naira-focused | Debit crypto card on VERVE, VISA, Mastercard and UnionPay; virtual and physical | Not stated | USDT, USDC and BTC wallets |
| CardFlow | 4.9 / 10 | Aimed at Nigeria; “Nigerians and global users”; no exclusions stated | Virtual USD Mastercard, created in about 3 minutes | Virtual card creation free; monthly fee not stated | BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer |
| HyperCard | 4.7 / 10 | No country list on official pages; App Store says works in “more than 176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility) | Prepaid “HyperCard”; network not stated; balance in USD or EUR | Not stated; no fees listed on the App Store page | Crypto such as USDT, BTC, ETH, converted to USD or EUR |
Cardex scores slightly higher and its stated reach — “one crypto card, 200+ countries” — is the broadest claim of the four, though notably it also publishes no exclusion list, so you are trusting a slogan rather than a rule. Its distinguishing feature is conversion at the moment of payment with an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that scans global exchange rates and picks the best one as you spend; no fee percentage is stated. It also offers a physical card alongside the virtual one, which Bit.Store no longer can.
CardFlow is the most explicitly aimed at one market, Nigeria, and describes itself as “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform” for “Nigerians and global users”. It is a virtual USD Mastercard created in about 3 minutes, free to create, funded by BTC, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer. Its fees are not stated.
HyperCard is the vaguest of the four in disclosure: no network named on the App Store page, no country list, no fees, and a “176 countries” figure that refers to where the card is accepted rather than who can hold it. It is also the only one of the four that states a two-currency card balance, USD or EUR.
Note what is missing from all four: none of them publishes a complete, current fee schedule. That is a property of this category, not a defect of Bit.Store alone — and it is why my first recommendation in this review is to ask any of them, in writing, what a conversion costs and what the FX rate is.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to a reader who ticks most of these boxes: you need a small virtual card, not a physical one; you are comfortable holding crypto with a custodial provider and understanding what that means; you are one of the countries the unofficial list says is served; you will spend in the card’s own currency rather than leaning on it while travelling; and you have read the fee questions above and got straight answers.
I would not recommend it, and would look elsewhere, if any of these apply: you need a physical card or ATM access; you are relying on the card abroad, where both the FX and conversion fees are unpublished; you need a named issuer and a published fee schedule as a condition of using it; you have a history with this provider of a suspended card or a blocked balance; or you cannot get a clear answer about who the issuing institution actually is.
The score of 5.0 out of 10 is not a verdict on whether the people behind Bit.Store are honest. It is a verdict on how little is publicly verifiable, how the reliability record reads, and how much has changed since 2023. For the person this product was built for, the narrow case still stands. For everyone else, the disclosure gap is doing the deciding.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Bit.Store card?
Bit.Store is a crypto-funded payment card product. The operator is reported, unofficial and not confirmed by the card, as Bitstore Europe UAB in Lithuania, registered in 2024 as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator. It is not a bank or an e-money institution, and the current virtual card’s issuer is not publicly named. The physical card was discontinued in March 2026.
How does the Bit.Store card work?
You load crypto, it is converted into a card balance at the point of loading, and the card spends that balance — the prepaid model, where the card cannot overdraw. Only what you have loaded can be spent. The balance sits with a custodial provider rather than in a wallet you hold the keys to, so you are trusting the operator with it.
Is Bit.Store a bank?
No, as far as the public record goes. Unofficial reporting as of August 2026 says Bitstore Europe UAB holds neither a bank nor an EMI licence, and was not in the Bank of Lithuania’s EMI register at that date. That distinction matters because EMI rules require safeguarding of customer funds in dedicated accounts or insurance, and those are not bank deposits under a guarantee scheme.
Who owns Bit.Store?
Reported information, unofficial and not confirmed by the card: Bitstore Europe UAB, Lithuania, company number 306465386, registered in 2024 as a virtual-currency exchange and depository-wallet operator. The former physical card was issued by Paytend Europe UAB. Custody is advertised through Cobo. A 2023 launch report described a Mastercard prepaid virtual card.
Does the Bit.Store card require KYC?
The card’s own pages do not say. Unofficial reporting says the virtual-card page mentions “Simple KYC verification” and the 2023 launch described KYC as free. In practice KYC is a legal obligation for regulated businesses — EU rules require name, address, date of birth, nationality, ID documents, a sanctions check and a PEP determination. Minimum age is reported inconsistently: 18+ in the FAQ, 16+ in the User Agreement.
How much does the Bit.Store card cost?
Issuance is reported free, with a $1 monthly fee and $0 annual on a previously published schedule (all unofficial and unconfirmed). The top-up fee rose from 1.5% to 2.5% (unofficial). Conversion, purchase and FX fees depend on card type, and no complete public schedule exists. The virtual card’s headline limit is $10,000 monthly (unofficial), though it is unclear whether that means top-up, spend or balance.
How do I top up the Bit.Store card?
Reported, unofficial: 10+ cryptocurrencies including BTC, ETH, USDT and USDC, converted into card balance at loading, with a 2.5% fee and a $15 minimum in a previously published flow. Supported networks are not stated — which is the critical gap, because sending on an unsupported network can lose the funds permanently. Copy deposit details from the app at the time of transfer.
Can I add the Bit.Store card to Apple Wallet?
Apple Pay and Google Pay have been advertised since launch, but support can depend on the BIN, your device region and the wallet. Apple Pay works by replacing the card number with a device-specific number in the Secure Element and using a one-time code per payment, and the issuer can restrict that tokenised number. If it fails, you are left typing in a card number, which is the version most likely to be declined.
Is the Bit.Store card safe?
Safer than nothing is not a standard. This is a custodial product, so counterparty and hack risk sit with the provider — a category that includes Mt. Gox, Coincheck and Ronin Network failures. Bit.Store’s own Trustpilot figure is reported at 1.8 out of 5 from 23 reviews, 82% one-star, with themes of suspended cards, blocked balances and continued monthly deductions. Users reported frozen cards and balances from late 2024 through 2025.
Is the Bit.Store card worth it?
Worth it only if the narrow fit is exact: you need a small virtual card, funded from crypto, in one of the reported eligible countries, spending in the card’s own currency. Not worth it if you need a physical card, an ATM, published FX, a named issuer, or a reliable record of getting blocked balances back. The score of 5.0 out of 10 reflects disclosure gaps and reliability, not a judgement about anyone’s honesty.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
