What I found going through the Blonix card, in plain words

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

When I sat down to read through the Blonix card, two questions kept pulling at me. Who is this card actually built for, and is it safe enough to put real money through it? The honest answer is that it does a few things well — Visa acceptance, Apple Pay and Google Pay, ATM access worldwide, two card formats — but it leaves too many basic questions unanswered for me to recommend it without serious caution. My overall score sits at 5.7 out of 10, and the breakdown below explains why. If you already have a Visa or Mastercard from a local bank and you are simply curious about paying with crypto, this is not the card to start with. If you cannot get an ordinary bank card and Blonix accepts your jurisdiction, it is one option among several to weigh carefully.

Blonix works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict

A crypto card is only as useful as its weakest part. Blonix’s strongest leg is everyday use — a Visa you can add to Apple Pay or Google Pay and use at millions of merchants and ATMs worldwide — and its weakest is the gap between what the marketing says and what the public materials disclose. The card’s operator, Blonix Technologies Limited, is named in the App Store listing. The bank that actually issues the card, the country where it is issued, the licence that backs the programme, and the regulator that supervises it are not. For a reader in a country where getting a Visa or Mastercard from a local bank is hard, that gap matters more than it would for someone who already has a bank card and is just curious.

Here is how the scoring breaks down by criterion.

Criterion Mark Reason
Who can get it 6 / 10 Accounts opened worldwide, but card availability depends on jurisdiction and no country list has been re-verified.
Cost 5 / 10 Issuance fees and monthly cost are not disclosed in the materials I could read.
Top-up options 6 / 10 Stablecoins or local currency; the starting data lists five assets, but the developer’s own reply in App Store reviews narrows deposits to USDT on BNB Smart Chain and TRON.
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 Operator is named; issuer, country of issue and licences are not. One App Store review (1 star, the only rating) reports a loss of funds. Custody sits with Fireblocks.
Everyday use 8 / 10 Visa, ATM access worldwide, Apple Pay and Google Pay, two card formats.
Total 5.7 / 10 A Visa with strong mobile-wallet support, but transparency and disclosure fall short.

The audience this card fits best, on the materials I read, is the stablecoin holder who already has a wallet in USDT or USDC and who wants a Visa with Apple Pay and Google Pay that can be topped up directly from that wallet. If you are that person and you can live with the gaps, the card can be made to work. If you are weighing it against a card with a fully named issuer and a published fee schedule, Blonix asks for more trust than it has earned at this point.

Who they will give the card to

Blonix states that accounts are available worldwide and that card availability depends on jurisdiction. That phrasing is doing a lot of work. “Worldwide” is a generous word, but a card programme cannot be sold in a country where the issuer has no permission to operate, so the actual list of countries where you can hold a Blonix card is narrower than the marketing suggests. The starting data I worked from did not include a re-verified country list, and the public materials do not publish one either.

In practice this means the right question is not “is Blonix available in my country?” but “is Blonix willing to verify me and ship me a card here?”. If your country is on a sanctions list, if the issuer’s licence does not cover your jurisdiction, or if your documents cannot be processed through the KYC providers Blonix uses, the answer is no — even if the website otherwise suggests you could sign up. Nationality is screened separately from residence because sanctions and issuer risk policy are often applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as to the country of address, so a citizenship or country-of-born check can add friction that residency alone would not.

For you as the reader, the practical filter is roughly this. If you live in a country where Visa and Mastercard are commonly accepted, where you already have at least one bank account or government-issued ID, where your documents come in formats KYC providers expect, and where you are not on any sanctions list, Blonix is more likely to work. If you live somewhere with weak documentation infrastructure, where ID documents are hard to obtain in standard formats, or where your citizenship or country of birth triggers extra checks, your application is more likely to be delayed or refused. The card does not say so directly; it is a function of how KYC and sanctions screening work for any regulated card programme.

One thing the card does say clearly: it works with Jumio and Sumsub for identity verification. Both are widely used KYC vendors, both operate in many countries, and both validate proof-of-address documents as part of the flow. That is a point in Blonix’s favour. The card’s public pages do not say what minimum age is enforced, which nationalities are blocked, or what happens to existing users when a country falls under new sanctions. Treat anything you read to the contrary as unofficial.

How to get it

Signing up for Blonix runs through the mobile app, not a web signup. The iOS listing is called “Blonix: Crypto Card”, version 1.0.16 (build 24), updated on 17 October 2026 and read on 22 October 2026. The Google Play listing shows the name “BLONIX” with 10K+ downloads; no star rating is shown on the listing as of 22 October 2026.

The first thing the app asks for is identity verification. KYC is handled through Jumio and Sumsub and the materials say it usually completes in under five minutes, though this is a target rather than a guarantee — your case can take longer if the documents need manual review, if the system asks for a second proof of address, or if a sanctions or PEP (politically exposed person) check requires additional time. The App Store description lists identity verification at sign-up as a step, so it is not optional. In the EU, customer due diligence covers name, address, date of birth, nationality and identity documentation, a sanctions check, the purpose of the relationship, and a PEP determination; in the US, the customer identification programme requires name, date of birth, address and an identification number. Blonix does not describe its tier structure — there is no public mention of a basic tier with daily limits and a higher tier after extra documents, so the materials describe a single level of verification.

Once KYC is clear, you reach the card request. Blonix offers two formats: a virtual card and a physical card. The materials describe these as two formats of the same Visa product, with the App Store text calling them virtual and physical crypto cards. Virtual cards usually appear in the app within minutes; physical cards have to be manufactured, personalised and shipped. Blonix’s public pages do not state the physical card’s delivery time, the regions it ships to, or the cost of either card. If you are weighing Blonix against a card that tells you the price of the plastic on its pricing page, that silence is something to notice.

A practical note before you install the app: the listing is English-only, and the support reply in the App Store asks users to contact the team at their registered email. The card’s public pages do not state the support hours or the channels beyond email. That is a constraint worth keeping in mind if your situation tends to need a human at unusual hours or in a language other than English.

Fees: what it really costs

This is the section I found hardest to write, because Blonix’s public materials simply do not tell you most of what you would want to know before loading the card.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Blonix payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

The card’s public pages do not state the issuance fee for either format, the monthly fee, the conversion fee, the foreign-exchange margin, ATM fees, the ATM allowance, daily spending limits, monthly spending limits, or any tier structure that would tie limits and fees together. I will repeat that in the table, because it is the most important fact about Blonix’s pricing.

Fee or limit Stated by Blonix?
Issuance fee Not stated
Monthly fee Not stated
Conversion fee (crypto to fiat) Not stated
FX margin Not stated
ATM fee Not stated
ATM allowance Not stated
Daily limit Not stated
Monthly limit Not stated

That empty column is the honest answer for almost every line. What the materials do describe is the conversion mechanism: when you pay, the balance is converted at the moment of the transaction, with USDC to USD given as an example. The card’s own currency is not stated, so you do not know whether the card settles in USD directly or whether your balance is converted twice (USDT to card currency, then card currency to USD).

To give you a sense of what this means in practice, here are three everyday payments and which fees would apply, based only on what the materials confirm.

If the fees turn out to be competitive, the silence costs you nothing. If they are not, the silence has already cost you the chance to choose another card with a clearer price. For a card whose public materials do not publish these numbers, you have to decide whether you trust the operator enough to load funds and find out the hard way. On-chain network fees for your deposit (gas, bandwidth, energy) are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider, and those are visible before you send.

Top up: how to fund the card

Funding is the part of Blonix that the public sources describe most, but the description has an important inconsistency that anyone planning to use the card needs to resolve before sending any tokens.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Blonix starts with a transfer to the right network

The starting information describes the wallet as accepting stablecoins or local currency, and lists USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and SOL as supported assets. The developer’s reply in the App Store reviews — read on 22 October 2026 — tells a narrower story: deposits are currently limited to USDT, and only on BNB Smart Chain (BEP-20) and TRON (TRC-20). The developer also said Bitcoin is not supported. The sources disagree.

What I would do, before funding the card, is open the app and look at the deposit screen. Whichever list the app shows you at that moment is the list that applies to your account. If the app shows only USDT on BNB Smart Chain and TRON, sending USDC, ETH or SOL — or sending USDT on Ethereum, Solana, Arbitrum or any other network — is a real risk of losing the funds. Blockchain transfers are typically irreversible, and the materials do not describe what happens if you send the wrong asset to the wrong network, so a mistaken deposit may not be recoverable. Manual support recovery is sometimes possible but is not guaranteed and not described.

A few practical things worth knowing about the networks themselves.

One stablecoin caveat that applies regardless of card: stablecoins aim to hold a stable value against a fiat currency, but they are not necessarily stable. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC temporarily lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof either. Treating any stablecoin as inherently immune to devaluation would be a mistake.

Finally, on-chain network fees for the deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by Blonix. These are usually small on Tron and BNB Smart Chain and can spike on Ethereum during busy periods, so the choice of network changes both the cost of funding and the risk of a misroute.

Paying with it every day

Day-to-day use is where Blonix looks strongest, and that is why the everyday-use score is 8 out of 10.

The card runs on Visa, which means any merchant that takes Visa takes Blonix — millions of points of sale worldwide, online checkouts, and ATMs in most countries. The materials describe both a virtual card and a physical card, so you can use the virtual one for online subscriptions and add the physical one to a wallet for in-store use, or stick to a single format if that suits you.

Blonix supports Apple Pay and Google Pay. That matters more than it might seem at first. When you add a card to Apple Pay, the real card number is replaced with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element on the phone, never on Apple’s servers, and each payment uses a one-time dynamic security code. This is industry-standard tokenisation and it means the card number exposed to a merchant or skimmed from a terminal is not the same one that holds the funds. The card issuer can also restrict a tokenised number — for example, allowing it only for in-store payments or only for online use — but the materials do not state any such restrictions on Blonix, so treat them as unsupported for now.

A few things the materials do not describe, which are worth knowing for everyday use.

A small operational note: declined authorisations can leave a hold on the funds in your balance for several days — typically up to a week. That is industry behaviour rather than something Blonix-specific, but if you keep a tight balance, it can briefly make it look like you have less to spend.

What can go wrong

I want to be honest about the risks here, because the everyday-use story is good but the trust story is thin.

First, the issuer gap. Blonix Technologies Limited is named as the operator in the App Store. The App Store description says services are “provided in partnership with regulated financial institutions”. The issuer, the country of issue, and the licences that back the programme are not named. A Visa-branded card needs an issuer licensed to issue under Visa’s rules, and without that name on the public materials you are trusting Blonix Technologies Limited to have arranged a compliant programme and to keep it in good standing. Visa and Mastercard themselves do not issue crypto cards to consumers; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. In November 2022 Visa said it had “terminated our global agreements with FTX” and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. The same can happen to any programme that falls out of compliance or fails operationally.

Second, the complaint. The only review on the App Store is one star and reports a loss of funds. The developer replied that the case could not be verified and asked the user to contact support. A single one-star review is not a verdict on the whole product — many new apps start with thin feedback — but it is the only feedback publicly available, and the developer’s response did not resolve it in public. The materials do not state what happened next. I could not find a Trustpilot page for the card, and no other third-party complaint channel is mentioned, so there is not yet a public track record you can lean on.

Third, custody. The materials describe custody as sitting with Fireblocks using MPC (multi-party computation). MPC splits the signing key into shares so no single party holds the full key, which is a meaningfully better design than keeping a single key on a single server. It does not remove custody risk: the operator still chooses to use Fireblocks, the operator still has access to the system’s business logic, and the user has handed over the funds. The alternative — a self-custody-linked card, where the funds stay in the user’s own wallet until the moment of payment — gives the user full control but full responsibility for key loss, phishing and clipboard-hijacking malware that swaps copied addresses. Blonix is on the custodial side of that line, which is fine as long as you understand the trust you are extending. Custodial platforms have a record of failures — Mt. Gox, Coincheck, Ronin Network — and holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty and hack risk regardless of how the keys are stored.

Fourth, sanctions and freezes. Even when a card works perfectly, balances can be frozen or accounts closed while the issuer satisfies itself on sanctions, source-of-funds or document requests. In the EU, if customer due diligence cannot be completed the institution is required to refrain from the transaction or relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. Nationality is screened separately from residence, so a citizenship or country-of-born check can add friction that residency alone would not. None of this is Blonix-specific, but Blonix’s public pages do not describe how it handles any of these situations, which is worth bearing in mind if your documentation is unusual or your citizenship is on a heightened-screening list.

Fifth, programme closure. The materials do not describe a contingency for the programme being wound down. Card programmes do close: Visa’s 2018 suspension of WaveCrest closed every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme in Europe overnight, and the FTX case in 2022 ended the FTX US debit card. In typical closures, the operator gives a notice period, then stops new loads, then stops spending, then asks users to withdraw remaining balances. None of that is described for Blonix, so a closure scenario would be a discovery process for the user rather than a planned one.

Sixth, support and recovery. The materials describe support as reachable by email at the registered address, and the app is English-only. Support hours and other channels are not stated. If your account is ever frozen or your card declined, the route back is an email to a team whose working hours you cannot see in advance.

Seventh, security features that are described. The materials describe in-app spending controls, real-time transaction monitoring and fraud protection. Those are standard safeguards, alongside app-based two-factor authentication, instant card freeze and 3-D Secure confirmation. None of them removes the need to treat the card as a custodial product with the risks that go with that.

What to take instead

If the gaps above put you off, there are other cards in the same general category. None of them is a perfect substitute, because each makes a different trade-off, but here is how three alternatives stack up against Blonix.

Card Score Where it works Network Card formats Funding
Blonix 5.7 / 10 Worldwide (jurisdiction dependent, not re-verified) Visa Virtual and physical Stablecoins or local currency; sources disagree on which
Cardex 5.6 / 10 “200+ countries”; no exclusion list published; App Store is Naira-focused Verve, Visa, Mastercard, UnionPay Virtual and physical USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated
CardFlow 4.9 / 10 Nigeria and “global users”; no exclusion list Mastercard (USD) Virtual only BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira bank transfer; networks not stated
HyperCard 4.7 / 10 “More than 176 countries” per App Store (acceptance, not eligibility) Network not stated on App Store Prepaid HyperCard in USD or EUR USDT, BTC, ETH; networks not stated; converted to USD or EUR on the card

Cardex is the closest in score and is the most flexible on networks: it lists Verve, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay, which means a single programme can route through several schemes. Its App Store listing is Naira-focused, which suggests the primary audience is Nigerian users. The site describes a real-time crypto-to-fiat conversion at the moment of payment and an “AI-powered conversion rate” that scans global exchanges, though it does not publish the fee percentage. Like Blonix, Cardex does not publish a full fee schedule.

CardFlow is aimed squarely at Nigeria and explicitly markets itself as a Nigerian product with global users. It is virtual-only, settles in USD, and the card is free to create according to the site’s FAQ. The trade-off is that there is no physical card, and the published score is below Blonix’s.

HyperCard presents itself as a prepaid card usable in “more than 176 countries” per the App Store. The network on which that card runs is not stated on the App Store page; the card balance is held in USD or EUR. It accepts USDT, BTC and ETH and converts them to USD or EUR on the card. Like the others, it does not publish a full fee schedule.

Two cross-cutting observations worth holding onto.

Who I would recommend it to

If you already have a Visa or Mastercard from a local bank and you are simply curious about paying with crypto, I would not start with Blonix. The combination of an unnamed issuer, an undisclosed fee schedule, and only one public review makes it a worse first choice than cards with longer track records.

If you do not have access to an ordinary bank card and Blonix accepts your jurisdiction and your documents, the picture is more nuanced. The card does the things that matter for daily spending: Visa acceptance, ATM access worldwide, mobile-wallet support, and two card formats. The custody sits with Fireblocks under MPC, which is a better-than-baseline custodial design. Those are real advantages if you have no good alternative.

The conditions I would put on using it are these.

  1. Load only what you can afford to lose while the programme’s track record builds. The single App Store review is a warning, not a verdict, but it is the only public signal.
  2. Use the app’s deposit screen to confirm the asset and the network before sending anything. Treat the developer’s reply in App Store reviews — USDT only, on BNB Smart Chain and TRON — as the more reliable signal until the in-app list says otherwise.
  3. Keep a small balance and rely on top-ups rather than loading a large lump sum. If a programme closure happens, the recovery process is typically faster on a smaller balance.
  4. Use Apple Pay or Google Pay where you can, so the real card number is never exposed.
  5. Keep your own records of every transaction. The materials do not describe a chargeback process, so your own evidence is what you would have if a dispute ever arose.
  6. Know your tax position in general terms. In the US, the IRS treats digital assets as property, so spending crypto on a card is generally a taxable disposal measured in fiat at fair market value on the date of the transaction. The same general logic — gain or loss in local fiat — applies in many other jurisdictions, but specific rules vary and you should check your own.

If those conditions feel manageable and Blonix accepts your jurisdiction and documents, the card can be made to work. If any of them feel uncomfortable, the alternatives above give you other options to evaluate, and the safest path is still an account with a fully named issuer and a published fee schedule.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Blonix card?

The Blonix card is a Visa-branded payment card connected to a crypto wallet inside the Blonix mobile app. When you pay, your crypto balance is converted to fiat at the moment of the transaction, with USDC to USD given as an example. It supports Apple Pay and Google Pay and comes as virtual or physical. It is operated by Blonix Technologies Limited, with the issuing bank and licences not named in the public materials.

How does the Blonix card work?

You install the Blonix app, complete identity verification through Jumio or Sumsub, and top up the wallet with stablecoins or local currency. At the till, your crypto balance is converted to the merchant’s local currency. The virtual card works for online payments; the physical card or mobile wallet works in stores. ATM access is available worldwide, though fees and allowances are not stated.

Is Blonix a bank?

No. Blonix Technologies Limited is the operator named in the App Store listing and describes services as “provided in partnership with regulated financial institutions”. The licensed issuer, country of issue and licences backing the programme are not named. So Blonix is a programme operator on top of an unnamed regulated partner, not a bank itself.

Who owns Blonix?

The App Store identifies the seller as Blonix Technologies Limited. Beyond that, the public materials do not name the owners, shareholders or parent company. Anything you read about Blonix’s ownership from third-party sites should be treated as unofficial and not confirmed by the card.

Is the Blonix card available in my country?

Blonix states that accounts are opened worldwide but that card availability depends on jurisdiction. The public materials do not include a verified country list. The right way to check is to start the sign-up process and see whether your country is accepted at the verification stage. Sanctions screening or issuer licence limits can block applications even when the website otherwise suggests you could sign up.

How do I top up the Blonix card?

The starting information lists USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH and SOL as supported assets. The developer’s App Store reply narrows deposits to USDT on BNB Smart Chain and TRON, with Bitcoin not supported. The sources disagree, so check the in-app deposit screen before sending any tokens. Network fees are charged by the blockchain, not by Blonix.

How do I add the Blonix card to Apple Wallet?

Once your virtual card is issued, open the Blonix app, choose the card and tap the option to add it to Apple Wallet. The real number is replaced with a device-specific number stored in the Secure Element. The same general flow applies for Google Pay. If the option is not visible, update the app and check that your device region matches the card’s accepted jurisdictions.

Is the Blonix card safe?

The card describes custody by Fireblocks using MPC, which is a stronger design than a single-key server, and lists in-app spending controls, real-time transaction monitoring and fraud protection. The risks are those of any custodial product: an unnamed issuer, an unpublished licence and only one public one-star App Store review reporting a loss of funds. Treat it as safer than the cheapest custodial wallet and less proven than a fully named, fully licensed issuer.

How do I delete my Blonix account?

The public materials do not describe an account-deletion flow in detail. Withdraw any remaining balance first, use the in-app settings menu to request deletion, then email the support team at the address used in App Store replies. Expect a delay while the issuer confirms no funds remain on the card or in the wallet.

Is the Blonix card worth it?

If you already have a Visa or Mastercard from a local bank, the cost of switching is not justified by what Blonix adds. If you cannot get a bank card and Blonix accepts your jurisdiction, weigh it against Cardex, CardFlow and HyperCard. The honest summary is that the card is usable but under-disclosed, so the value depends on how much you trust the operator while the public track record builds.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team