Walme card review
A Walme card is a virtual payment card you load with stablecoins, then spend through Apple Pay or Google Pay wherever the network is accepted. It was unveiled in November 2025 at Web Summit Lisbon, and the team is still building it: the official Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon” and most of the fine print on the card’s public pages is left as a phrase such as “Card availability may vary by region” rather than a country list. That thinness is the main thing to weigh before you sign up.
Conditions are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict
Walme scores 5.8 out of 10 in my review. The top-up side is unusually flexible for a card in this corner of the market: you can fund it with USDT or USDC on TRC-20, ERC-20 or Solana, or with the project’s own WLM token, and a $30 minimum makes small tests possible. The everyday side is a different story. There is no physical card, no disclosed ATM fee, no stated reward programme, and the legal entity behind the card and the licensed issuer are not named on the official pages. Anyone used to checking a card’s terms for “issued by Bank X under EMI licence Y” will not find that here.

In short, Walme is a reasonable fit if you already hold stablecoins, you want a virtual card you can load in three networks, and you are comfortable holding a balance with a young brand whose company structure is partly opaque. It is a poor fit if you need a physical card for an ATM, a published fee schedule, or a regulated issuer you can name on a regulator’s register.
Score breakdown
| Criterion | Mark | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | No country list is published, but the team has named regions where merchant transactions are blocked. |
| Cost | 3 / 10 | A 3% top-up fee, a $0.25 per-transaction charge, a 0.4% success fee and a $10 issuance add up quickly. |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | USDT and USDC across TRC-20, ERC-20 and Solana, plus the WLM token. |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer and legal entity are not stated; there are almost no public reviews, and the card only launched in late 2025. |
| Everyday use | 6 / 10 | A two-year virtual card, Apple Pay and Google Pay, but no plastic and no stated ATM support. |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | Flexible top-ups weighed against a thin public disclosure of who runs the card. |
Who they will give the card to
Walme’s own pages only say, in a single phrase, that “Card availability may vary by region”. There is no public list of supported countries and no public list of excluded ones. The only country-level detail I could find is a reply from the Walme team on Product Hunt, which lists countries where merchant transactions are blocked for regulatory reasons. That list includes Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela. Treat that as unofficial: it is a team statement on a third-party site, not a published eligibility list on the card’s own pages, and it can change without notice.

In practical terms, the card looks designed for the same kind of person a typical crypto card in this segment targets: an adult with stablecoins in their own wallet, who can convert and load, and who does not need a bank-issued debit card. The public pages do not set out the customer due diligence Walme would run, the documents they would ask for, or the age threshold, so you should not assume either KYC-light or full KYC in advance. The signup flow in the web app is what reveals what is asked, and that flow is the only place to confirm it before you commit any funds.
A few points to weigh before you apply:
- The card is virtual only, so the moment you have a problem with the web app you do not have a piece of plastic to fall back on.
- Because the legal entity behind the card is not named on the official pages, the law of the country that governs your account, and the regulator that oversees it, are not visible up front.
- “Region” in the published phrase is doing a lot of work; it does not tell you whether your specific country is in or out.
How to get it
The signup is described in a few sentences on Walme’s own pages, and most of the detail sits in the web app itself. The version of the card in market today is virtual, and Walme says the card is issued without documents being requested at signup. Walme’s card is a virtual Mastercard.
Once the card is issued it is valid for two years, and there is no mention of a physical version or a delivery step. There is also no mention of a separate activation step, and no description of how the card is delivered to the user (in practice, virtual cards typically appear inside the issuer’s app, but the public pages do not say that here). If you need a card you can hand to a waiter or swipe at a hotel, this is not that.
The KYC level Walme applies to its customers is not described publicly. That is one of the more important gaps to be aware of: in this category of card, the issuer usually has to run some level of checks under anti-money-laundering law, and what the user sees during signup is the practical answer to “how heavy is KYC here”. The product is being shipped in stages, with the Google Play listing still marked “Coming Soon”, so the mobile signup path is not fully live at the time of writing.
A practical reading: the sign-up moment is also the moment of discovery. If you are the kind of person who wants to read the issuer, the licence, the country of regulation and the KYC thresholds before you create an account, Walme’s public pages do not yet give you enough to do that.
What it really costs
The cost line is the weakest part of Walme’s offer, and it is worth reading carefully before you load any meaningful balance. The published fees, copied from Walme’s own pages, are: a $10 card-issuance fee, a 3% top-up fee, a $0.25 per-transaction charge, a $0.25 cancellation fee, and a 0.4% fee on a successful transaction. There is also a $30 minimum top-up, and Walme mentions “reduced fees” for holders of its WLM token, without specifying the reduction.
What that means in plain numbers depends on how you use the card. A $100 top-up immediately costs $3 in the top-up fee, so the card balance is $97 before you have spent anything. A $50 payment then carries a $0.25 transaction fee and a 0.4% success fee ($0.20), so about $50.45 leaves the card for a $50 purchase. The annual fee structure is not stated: there is no published monthly fee, no annual fee and no subscription, but there is also no commitment that one will not appear.
The published limits are $10,000 per transaction, $500,000 per day, with no stated monthly limit. For most retail users, the per-transaction and per-day limits are not the binding constraint. ATM use is mentioned in passing on the public pages only as a limit, not as a fee; the ATM fee itself is not stated. A fee tier system (such as a free tier, a standard tier and a premium tier) is not stated, and the supported billing currencies are not stated either.
A look at a few everyday payments shows where the costs land:
- A $10 coffee, paid daily over a year. The 3% top-up fee is the main drag. On a $10 top-up you lose $0.30 before you spend, and then $0.04 on a 0.4% success fee and $0.25 on a flat transaction fee. That is $0.59 of fees per $10 spent, dominated by the flat $0.25 transaction fee rather than the percentage. Over a year of daily coffees, fees exceed the price of the coffee itself.
- A $200 supermarket shop, once a week. The 3% top-up fee on $200 is $6; the success fee is $0.80; the per-transaction fee is $0.25. About $7.05 in fees per shop, well above what most bank-issued debit cards charge.
- A $1,500 monthly bill. A 3% top-up on $1,500 is $45; the success fee is $6; the per-transaction fee is $0.25. About $51.25 in fees per month. The WLM-token reduced-fee promise is what would change this picture, and the size of the reduction is not stated.
In all of these the per-transaction $0.25 is a flat tax on small payments, and the 3% top-up fee is the dominant cost on larger ones. The 0.4% success fee is the smallest line and the one that scales with size.
Costs at a glance
| Fee or limit | Amount |
|---|---|
| Card issuance | $10 |
| Monthly / annual fee | Not stated |
| Top-up fee | 3% |
| Per-transaction fee | $0.25 |
| Cancellation fee | $0.25 |
| Successful-transaction fee | 0.4% |
| Minimum top-up | $30 |
| Reduced fees (WLM holders) | Not stated |
| ATM fee | Not stated |
| Per-transaction limit | $10,000 |
| Per-day limit | $500,000 |
| Monthly limit | Not stated |
How to top it up
Topping up is the strongest part of Walme’s offer. The card is designed to be loaded with stablecoins, converted to fiat at the moment of purchase, and spent from that balance. The coins accepted are USDT and USDC, and they can be sent on any of three networks: TRC-20 (Tron), ERC-20 (Ethereum) and Solana. Walme’s own WLM token is also accepted. A third-party article from November 2025 mentions USDT on TRC20 and ERC20 specifically, and the official pages list the three networks above.
That choice of three networks is more than a marketing line. ERC-20 is the Ethereum standard, and on Ethereum a wallet that holds only a stablecoin still needs a small amount of ETH to pay gas; the network will not move a transaction without it. Tron uses a different fee model based on bandwidth and energy, and transactions typically burn TRX. Solana is a third network with its own fee model. The stablecoin-insider note that Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024 is worth keeping in mind if you were planning to send USDC over TRC-20: that combination is not a native option, so any “USDC over TRC-20” you see in a third-party tutorial is not the supported path.
The minimum top-up is $30, and the top-up fee is 3% on the amount loaded, so the smallest useful top-up is $30, and the 3% top-up fee reduces your balance immediately. There is no published way to withdraw from the card back to a bank account, and the official pages do not describe a cashout flow at all; what is described is the spending of the loaded balance. If you want to extract value back to fiat, you would in practice sell the underlying crypto and route the funds through your own wallet, not through the card.
A few practical checks before you send the first top-up:
- Make sure the coin and the network on your sending wallet match what Walme expects. A common way to lose stablecoins is to send USDT on a chain the card provider does not support, or to send to an address that belongs to a different network; on-chain transfers are not reversible.
- Hold a small amount of the network’s native token for fees. On Ethereum, that is ETH; on Tron, that is TRX; on Solana, the native token is SOL.
- Note that stablecoin values can move. Tether’s USDT and Circle’s USDC are both US-dollar-pegged, and Circle publishes monthly reserve attestations, but neither is perfectly stable and both have depegged in the past (USDC briefly in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and the wider stablecoin category through the TerraUSD collapse in May 2022).
- The 3% top-up fee is charged on what you send, not on what lands, so the “balance” you see in the app will be lower than the amount you transferred.
Paying with it every day
Walme’s day-to-day use case is the virtual card in a mobile wallet. The public pages list Apple Pay and Google Pay, and a third-party article from November 2025 confirms both. There is no plastic card, and the ATM side is not spelled out: there is a limit, but no fee and no list of supported ATM networks. With a virtual card only, the practical experience of paying in a shop is tap-to-pay on a phone, and the practical experience of paying online is typing in the card details the app gives you.
The web app lives at app.walme.io, and the Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon”, so on Android the official app is not generally available yet. Ratings and reviews on the public app stores are not available, which is normal for a card that only entered the market in November 2025.
A few features typical of this category are not stated on the public pages: a reward or cashback programme is not described, and the dispute and chargeback process is not described. The customer support side is limited to a Help Center and a Contact page, with no statement of the channels, hours or languages the team actually covers. In practical terms, if a payment goes wrong, the help you get is whatever the Help Center and Contact form give you, and there is no published SLA for a refund or for a frozen transaction.
The two-year validity is on the long side for a virtual card, and is one of the more useful facts in the everyday-use section. The wider limits (a $10,000 single-transaction ceiling and a $500,000 daily ceiling) are also generous enough that most retail users will not bump into them. The card brand is Mastercard per a third-party report, which means the same wide merchant acceptance as any other Mastercard, and the same vulnerability to merchant category restrictions: some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued card numbers, and gambling MCC 7995 is one of the categories that issuers commonly block on specific cards.
What can go wrong
A young card in a market where several large programmes have failed has to be looked at with care. The single biggest gap on Walme’s public pages is the absence of a named legal entity and a named card issuer. In other crypto cards the issuer is typically a bank or an electronic money institution (EMI), and the user can look that issuer up on a public register (in the EU, ESMA’s interim register of authorised crypto-asset service providers, or the relevant national regulator’s EMI register). Walme’s pages do not name the issuer, so the user cannot perform that check. That is the one piece of information I would want before I loaded a meaningful balance.
The card’s history is short. The first public unveiling of the Walme card was at Web Summit Lisbon in November 2025, and a third-party article from 19 November 2025 describes the launch and an open waitlist. There is no Trustpilot page for Walme, and a search for “walme card reviews trustpilot reddit” returned no user reviews. That does not mean the card is bad; it means the public record is too new and too thin to draw conclusions from. It also means there is no crowd of angry customers telling you what to avoid, but there is also no crowd of happy customers confirming the experience.
There is one disagreement in the third-party record that is worth flagging. A third-party article describes the card as non-custodial with 2FA and fraud monitoring, while Walme’s GitHub page describes custodial wallets with KYC for cards. Those two descriptions are not compatible, and the official Walme pages do not state clearly which is correct. Until Walme publishes an unambiguous answer, the safest working assumption is that the funds you load are in the hands of a custodian, which is the more conservative reading.
A few specific risks worth keeping in mind:
- Sanctions and country restrictions. Even if the card is “available” in your country, individual merchants and networks route around the same regulatory issues in different ways. A cardholder whose country appears in the team’s list of blocked regions will see transactions fail at the merchant.
- Stablecoin depegging. A 3% top-up fee does not protect you if the stablecoin you loaded depegs by 1% in the time between sending and conversion. The conversion happens at the moment of purchase, so a delay between top-up and spend is exposure.
- On-chain errors. Sending USDT on a network the card does not support, or to an address that belongs to a different network, is not reversible. The most common way to lose a stablecoin top-up is a wrong network.
- Programme closure. Card programmes in this category have been shut down before. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest (a Visa card issuer that supplied several crypto card brands) was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every programme that depended on it. New programmes carry this risk by definition; the only mitigation is not to load more than you can afford to leave in the card while you sort it out.
- Unclear support. A Help Center and a Contact page are not the same as a published support SLA. If a payment is stuck or a balance is wrong, the resolution path is whatever the team chooses to give you.
What to take instead
If Walme’s gaps are dealbreakers for you, three alternatives are worth a look. None of them is the same product, and each one comes with its own trade-offs.
- Cardex (5.6 / 10). A debit crypto card on the VERVE, Visa, Mastercard and UnionPay networks, with virtual and physical variants, and an “AI-Powered Conversion Rate” that the site says scans global exchanges for the best rate at the moment of payment. The card currency is Naira, the App Store listing is Naira-focused, and the card is offered in 200+ countries with no published exclusion list. The cost line is not stated on the site, and the rewards line is not stated either. Cardex is the more “global, multi-network” alternative if you specifically need a Naira-denominated card or a UnionPay fallback.
- CardFlow (4.9 / 10). A virtual USD Mastercard that the site says can be created quickly, with no creation fee. Funding is Bitcoin, USDT, ETH or a Naira bank transfer; the networks for the crypto funding are not stated. CardFlow’s market positioning is “Nigeria’s smartest fintech card platform”, aimed at Nigerians and global users, with no country list and no exclusion list. CardFlow is the cheapest-on-paper alternative for a Naira-funded or Nigeria-focused user, and a closer match to the “fast virtual card” use case.
- HyperCard (4.7 / 10). A prepaid “HyperCard” with no stated network on the App Store page, and card balances in USD or EUR. The App Store says it works in “more than 176 countries”, which is acceptance, not eligibility; the official pages do not state the country list. Funding is deposit of USDT, BTC or ETH in the app, with no stated networks. HyperCard is the alternative for someone who is happy with a USD or EUR balance and does not need a public fee schedule.
If Walme’s three-network stablecoin top-ups are the reason you are looking at it, the closest match in cost is HyperCard (cost line not stated) and the closest match in funding flexibility is Cardex (USDT, USDC and BTC). None of the three alternatives gives you the same combination of TRC-20, ERC-20 and Solana stablecoin loading that Walme offers, and none of them names an issuer on the public pages either.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend Walme to a fairly narrow reader. The card is a reasonable fit if you already hold stablecoins across more than one network, you are happy to load small amounts to test, you are comfortable with a young brand whose public disclosure is thin, and you are not relying on a physical card or a stated ATM fee schedule. The three-network top-up (TRC-20, ERC-20, Solana) plus the WLM option is genuinely more flexible than most cards in this segment, and a $30 minimum means you do not have to commit a large balance to try it.
I would not recommend it if you need a physical card, if you want to be able to name the issuer and find them on a regulator’s register, if you want a stated ATM fee, if you want a published reward programme, or if you want a clear answer to the “custodial or non-custodial” question. The cost line is also unfriendly: a 3% top-up fee, a 0.25 dollar per-transaction fee and a 0.4% success fee stack into a real percentage on small payments, and the WLM-token “reduced fees” promise is not specified. If you are planning to spend more than a few hundred dollars a month, the all-in cost is worth calculating against a more established card with a published fee schedule.
The single most important thing to do before you load is to confirm the country picture for yourself, because the only published statement is a vague “may vary by region” and the only country detail is an unofficial team reply on Product Hunt. After that, the second most important thing is to load the minimum, top up with a small amount on the network that costs you the least in gas, and see how the app behaves before you commit a balance you would not be comfortable leaving in the card for a few weeks.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Walme card?
The Walme card is a virtual payment card that you load with stablecoins, then spend through Apple Pay or Google Pay. The card was unveiled in November 2025, and the team describes it as a virtual card valid for two years. There is no physical version.
How does the Walme card work?
You send USDT or USDC to a Walme address on TRC-20, ERC-20 or Solana, and the card converts the crypto to fiat at the moment of purchase. The card then spends from that fiat balance at any merchant that accepts Mastercard or that takes Apple Pay or Google Pay. Walme’s own WLM token is also accepted as a top-up.
Is Walme a bank?
Walme’s public pages do not name a bank or a licensed issuer behind the card, and the legal entity is not stated either. That is one of the larger gaps in the public information, and the most important thing to confirm before you load a balance.
Is the Walme card available in my country?
The published phrase is “Card availability may vary by region”, and there is no public list of supported countries. A Walme team reply on Product Hunt names Belarus, Iran, Russia, Ukraine and Venezuela as countries where merchant transactions are blocked; treat that as unofficial. The only reliable check is to start the signup flow in the web app and see what is asked.
How do I get a Walme card?
You sign up through the web app at app.walme.io and pay the $10 issuance fee. The published flow says no documents are required at signup, and a virtual Mastercard is delivered through the app. The Google Play listing is marked “Coming Soon”, so the Android path is not yet generally available.
Does the Walme card require KYC?
The level of KYC applied is not stated on the public pages. The signup flow is what reveals what is asked, and the answer in practice depends on what the issuer (whose identity is not publicly stated) decides to require under anti-money-laundering rules. Do not assume either KYC-light or full KYC in advance.
How do I top up the Walme card?
Send USDT or USDC on TRC-20 (Tron), ERC-20 (Ethereum) or Solana to the address Walme provides, or send WLM. The minimum top-up is $30, and the top-up fee is 3% on the amount sent. On Ethereum you will also need a small amount of ETH for gas, because ERC-20 transfers cannot move without it.
How do I add the Walme card to Apple Wallet or Google Pay?
The public pages list Apple Pay and Google Pay as supported, and a third-party article from November 2025 confirms both. The detailed steps are the same as for any card: open the wallet app, choose to add a card, and enter or scan the card details the Walme app gives you.
Is the Walme card safe?
That depends on what you compare it to. The card is new, the issuer is not publicly named, the third-party record disagrees on whether the wallets are custodial or non-custodial, and there are no public user reviews yet. The basic protections to look for are 2FA on the account, an instant card freeze, and 3-D Secure on online payments; the public pages do not state which of these are enabled.
How do I withdraw money from the Walme card?
The public pages do not describe a cashout flow. The supported way to extract value is to spend the loaded balance through the card. If you need to convert back to fiat outside the card, the practical route is to sell the underlying crypto from your own wallet and route the funds from there, not through the card itself.
Choosing a virtual card – cryptocardadvisor
Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team
