A cheap dollar card with XPL cashback, and a stack of fine print

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Plasma One is a card that turns a crypto balance into something you can spend like an ordinary Visa: a virtual card you can add to your phone in minutes, a physical card in the plastic, cashback paid in XPL, and a dollar account that other people around the world can pay into. On paper that is a tidy answer to a problem many of us have — you hold dollars or stablecoins, but no ordinary bank card that works at the shop. The score I give it is 7.1 out of 10. That is a good score for a young card, and it is not a score for someone who wants a quiet, boring bank account with a printed fee schedule and deposit protection behind it.

Plasma One works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

Who does it suit? In plain terms: dollar-account users who like cashback in XPL, who are comfortable holding crypto through the app, and who spend in Visa-accepting places from a currency account rather than from a bank balance with interest. Who does it suit less? Anyone whose priority is that their money is protected by a deposit guarantee scheme, anyone who needs to know exactly what a transfer to the card costs before they press the button, and anyone who has been burned by a card programme that changed its terms after launch. Those are not disqualifications. They are the trade-offs you accept when the money sits in a crypto product rather than a bank.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

What the card is: the score, and who it is for

Here is the score broken into the six criteria I actually scored, with the reason attached to each mark. The number at the bottom is the total.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 7 / 10 Residence decides everything, and the restricted list in the terms is long — Belarus, India, Israel, China, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam among them, plus Cuba, Iran, North Korea. The list is explicitly not exhaustive.
Cost 8 / 10 Lite with a card costs 0 dollars and the card “does not charge any additional fees”. FX outside USD is up to 1%, cross-border 0%. Core and Platinum cost money or a lock of XPL.
Top-up options 7 / 10 You add local currency and get dollars. Unofficial sources list USDT, USDC and USDG on given networks, and fiat accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL, COP. Withdrawals go to a bank or a wallet.
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Rain issues the card as a Visa member, services run through Bridge, and Plasma itself is not a bank. Collateral on the card can be liquidated after non-payment. Trustpilot sits at 3.4–3.5 from just two reviews, one of them a complaint that conditions changed.
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual and physical Visa, Apple Pay and Google Pay. Unofficial sources say the physical card is Platinum only, and the ATM position is not disclosed.
Total 7.1 / 10 A card that is cheap and genuinely useful, attached to a young and not yet fully documented arrangement.

Two words on the phrase “dollar account”, because that is the part most people misunderstand. You add money in a currency you actually hold, and the balance becomes dollars. That is convenient if you are paid in pesos, reais or euros and spend across borders. It also means you are exposed to whatever the dollar does to your local money while it sits there, and it means you are not holding an interest-bearing deposit.

Who they will give the card to

The card’s own public pages do not publish a country list. What they do say is that “Geographic, regulatory, and other eligibility limits apply, and are subject to change”, and that account services for US residents, EEA residents and all other residents are provided by different Bridge entities. So the first question is not “which countries” but “which Bridge entity serves your address” — eligibility is residence-based, not citizenship-based, as far as anything published shows.

The Terms of Service Appendix I do name restricted jurisdictions. If you are “located in or connected to” one of them, you may be restricted; the terms refer to being “located in or ordinarily resident in”, and the list is expressly not exhaustive. The named ones are Afghanistan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Central African Republic, China (Mainland), DR Congo, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, India, Iraq, Israel, Libya, Mali, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine (outside the Crimea/Donetsk/Luhansk/Kherson/Zaporizhzhia carve-out), Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe — plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea. Separately, the International Card Terms ask you to attest that you are not a US citizen.

You will read a lot of unofficial material online, and it does not agree with itself or with the terms. Third-party sites claim availability in 188 countries, restriction in 7 (Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine, Venezuela), invite-only access in some places, availability in 31 US states as of August 2026 per one of them, a single-country listing on another, and 150+ countries excluding the US on a third. None of that is confirmed by the card. Some of it directly contradicts the official list — Belarus, China, India, Turkey and Vietnam appear as restricted in the terms but are described as possibly qualifying with proof of residence elsewhere. Where unofficial claims and the Terms of Service disagree, believe the Terms of Service. That is not a legal opinion; it is just the difference between what a company published and what a blog guessed.

What I want you to notice is the shape of the rule. This is not “we serve 150 countries”. It is “we serve you if your residence sits with the right entity, and not if it sits on a named list”. That kind of rule is normal for a regulated product, but it means the only reliable answer to “can I get this where I live?” is the app and the Terms in front of you, on the day you read them.

How to get it

The card’s own summary of the process is one line: “Get a card you can add to your wallet in minutes.” What is published: identity verification, age 18 and over, one Card Account per person, and a bar on anyone under US, UK and EU sanctions. The verification levels, how long they take, and the reasons a check can fail are not stated on the public pages.

The card itself is Visa, “issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member”, and accepted in 180+ countries. You get a virtual card and a physical one, and the account is a USD account — “Add local currency. Get dollars”. Cards are activated through the Plasma One app.

Unofficial sources fill some of the gaps and I would treat them as a guide to what to have ready rather than as a promise: legal name, date of birth, government ID, residence and address, a liveness video, sometimes proof of address, with automated checks usually completing in up to 5 minutes and human review on request. The same sources say the physical card is available on Platinum only, that the Core physical card is not confirmed as live, and that delivery regions, ordering and replacement fees are not published. The card’s terms say a replacement card may carry a new number, which is worth knowing before you re-print anything with your address on it.

The honest summary: signing up looks fast, and the steps are conventional. The uncertainty is concentrated in three places — which countries are actually served, which tier gives you a physical card, and what delivery costs. All three are things you can only settle by asking in the app.

Fees: what it really costs

The headline is genuinely unusual. The card says “Plasma One does not charge any additional fees”, and Lite carries a 0 dollar card cost. Partner fees are shown in the app before you confirm, Platinum covers the Visa FX fee, and USDT transfers are described as zero-fee, with the caveat that third-party fees may apply.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Plasma One payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees

Here is what is published, in one place. Several rows say “not stated”, and I have left them that way rather than filling the gap.

Fee or limit What the card’s pages say
Issuance Lite with card: 0 dollars. Tiers exist as Lite, Core, Platinum with fee levels of standard, reduced and none added; tier prices are not stated.
Monthly fee Not stated. Support level varies by tier: standard, priority, VIP.
Conversion No conversion fee published; “does not charge any additional fees”
FX Foreign exchange on non-USD up to 1%; cross-border 0%; 0% APR on purchases. Platinum covers the FX fee.
ATM ATM fee and allowance not stated. ATM withdrawals earn no Rewards, and Spending Credit cannot be applied to them.
Daily limits Not stated. Spending limits are set by Plasma based on collateral and can be changed or reduced to $0 at any time.
Monthly limits Not stated; no dollar maximums published.
Top-up fees Not stated on official pages. Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums”, amounts unspecified.
Withdrawal fees Partner fees for bank withdrawals shown in the app before confirming.

Now let me walk through three ordinary payments, because the table tells you nothing about what a Tuesday actually costs.

A coffee in your own country, paid in dollars, at a shop that takes Visa. On the published terms the transaction is 0% APR, there is no additional fee from the card, and Lite pays 2% base cashback in XPL. This is the case where the card is very hard to argue with. Cashback in XPL is not cashback in dollars — it is the token — so the value of it depends on the market when you spend it.

A meal abroad, in euros or pounds, while your balance sits in dollars. Here the card’s own number applies: foreign exchange on non-USD up to 1%. Platinum covers that fee; lower tiers do not, on the published terms. Unofficial sources put a markup on it at 1% for Lite, 0.5% for Core and 0% for Platinum, with the Visa network’s own roughly 1% FX charge potentially applying on top. Unofficial, so treat it as an estimate of the shape rather than a number to rely on, and check the app: it shows partner fees before you confirm.

Getting money out to a bank account. This is the least documented corner. Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums” without amounts, and partner fees for bank withdrawal appear in the app before confirming. Unofficial figures exist — ACH onramp at $1.00, $0.50, $0.50 by tier, wire at $15, $15, $10, ACH offramp at 0.75%, 0.35%, 0.10% plus an ACH fee — but they are from a third party and not confirmed by the card. If cashing out is something you plan to do regularly, treat this as the number to pin down before you rely on it.

Two more costs that are not in the table because they are not the card’s. On-chain network fees for your own deposit are charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider — gas on Ethereum, paid in ETH, which is why a wallet holding USDT and no ETH cannot send. And if you fund the card from crypto, tax people generally treat a disposal; I am not going to give you advice on that here, but if it is a consideration, take it to a professional.

Top up: how the money gets in

The mechanism is short: you add local currency and receive dollars. Withdrawals go back out to a bank or a wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps, where available, and the rails depend on your region. USDT is named for transfers. Top-up fees and minimums are not stated on the official pages; partner fees for some FX and bank withdrawal transactions appear in the app before you confirm.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Plasma One starts with a transfer to the right network

The unofficial picture is more detailed and, again, not confirmed: deposits in USDT, USDC and USDG on listed networks, usually arriving within 5 minutes; fiat virtual accounts in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN, BRL and COP converted to USDT; and New York residents reportedly cannot use the fiat rails. Those numbers are a third party’s, and the card does not name the networks on the pages I read, which is the single most important gap for anyone planning a transfer. Sending on the wrong network is a well-known way to lose money permanently: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent to an unsupported network or a mismatched address can be gone or need manual recovery with no guarantee.

There is one more thing about locking money in, and it comes from the tier system rather than from the top-up screen. Core can be unlocked by an annual USD subscription or a 12-month XPL lock, and Platinum only by an XPL lock. Locked XPL cannot be released early, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active. Unofficial figures put Core at $199/year or 20,000 XPL for 12 months, and Platinum at a 100,000 XPL lock, with a help-center launch rate that rises to 150,000 XPL. Those are help-centre numbers and third-party readings, and other sources disagree on the Core price. What is not in dispute is the shape: the higher tiers are paid for in the token, with a year-long lock, and getting out early is not on the menu.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay on iPhone and Google Pay on Android, with availability depending on your region. The app is on iOS and Android; the site publishes no store ratings and no number of ratings, and I found none when I looked on 2026-10-20 — which is itself worth knowing, because on a card with this little history, store ratings are one of the few places where other people’s actual experience shows up.

The rewards are the most tangible part. Lite pays 2% base cashback in XPL. Core pays 3% base and 5% AI cashback, adds ChatGPT Go, reduced fees, priority support and up to 2 free virtual cards. Platinum pays 4% base and 10% AI cashback, up to USD 600/year flight cashback, no added fees with the FX fee covered, VIP support and up to 3 free virtual cards. Rates vary by tier and may change — read that last clause properly; “may change” is how a 10% becomes a 4% over two years.

If something goes wrong, the team helps dispute unauthorized charges and issues a replacement card, and a disputed charge has to be reported within 60 days after it posts to your statement. Sixty days is short enough that you should put a reminder in your calendar rather than trusting your memory. One thing to understand about how any card works: a declined payment can leave a hold on your money for several days, typically up to seven, which is confusing when the balance is sitting right there. And a shop can decline a card for reasons that have nothing to do with you — a prepaid or foreign-looking card can look unusual to a merchant’s system, which looks at the issuer identification number at the front of the card number and can apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from the billing address. That is why a card issued in one country sometimes looks “foreign” in another, and it is not something you can fix from the app.

What can go wrong

Start with the structure, because it explains most of the rest. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company and “not a regulated financial institution, bank”. Account services are powered by Bridge; the card is issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member. Three different relationships, and when something breaks you need to work out which one you are dealing with.

The compensation angle is the one to think hardest about. Stablecoin balances are not bank deposits and are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. That sentence from the FAQ is the one to sit with: your money can be perfectly, competently, correctly managed and still not be a protected deposit. This is exactly how e-money works across the EU too — an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds, but those safeguarded funds are not the same as bank deposits and may not sit under a deposit guarantee scheme.

Next, the collateral mechanic. The card is a collateral-backed account, and Plasma may suspend or cancel at any time; collateral can be liquidated after non-payment. Withdrawing your collateral does not end outstanding obligations. And Spending Credit is not cash — it is forfeited if the account closes. If you hold a positive XPL balance and use it as collateral, that is a margin position with a lender’s logic attached to it, not a savings account.

Custody sits with you, per the FAQ: you hold the assets, Plasma does not. That is the good version of the trade. The cost of it is the bad version too. A seed phrase is typically 12 to 24 words and unencrypted; anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible, and a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return anything. For context on what the custodian route looks like when it fails: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022.

On security features, the published list is decent: freeze the card instantly in the app, lock the account, PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D, Apple Pay’s device-specific token rather than your card number. What is not there is two-factor authentication on the app itself, which is not mentioned in what I read.

Then the record. I found no official incidents. What exists is thin: a Trustpilot score of about 3.4–3.5 out of 5 from only two reviews, neither of which the company appears to have invited, and no Reddit threads I could find. Two reviews is not a signal in either direction — it is noise. But the critical one is worth reading if you want to know what a launch-stage product feels like from inside: it says the terms and the arbitration body changed after the reviewer flagged issues, and that advertised Platinum benefits are not in the currently published tier. The arbitration detail matters — one of them names the body it moved to. A positive review from July 2026 praises the cashback and low fees, notes there was no physical card yet and that access was a private beta with a key. That is a fair snapshot of where the product was six months ago and a fair warning that it is still moving.

Two more date-shaped things. The terms took effect on 26 February 2026, and the issuer is named as Third National in the defined terms with Rain in a footnote — a small detail, but the kind of thing that matters if you ever have to read a dispute clause. An Android Core promotion of six months free ended on 21 July 2026, which tells you promotions here are short and dated. And the Platinum lock amount was at a first-30-days launch rate before being set in the Help Center, so a number you read today may not be the number you meet at signup.

What to take instead

Comparing cards is where I can be most useful, because these three differ from Plasma One in ways that are structural rather than cosmetic. All scores are mine on the same scale.

Card Score Card type Card cost Main fee facts
Plasma One 7.1 / 10 Visa, virtual and physical, USD account Lite 0 dollars; Core and Platinum paid or XPL-locked Non-USD FX up to 1%, cross-border 0%; partner fees shown in app; ATM not stated
MetaMask 7.1 / 10 Mastercard, virtual first, metal optional Virtual free; Metal $199/year “Minimal fee for each transaction”, amount not stated; no additional MetaMask fees; no foreign transaction fee, Mastercard rate used
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa, virtual and physical, up to 10 cards Standard 0; Premium 1,000 USD/year; Private 10,000 USD/year Stablecoin top-up 0%; USD spend 0%; non-USD FX 0.5%–1.75%; declined transaction 0.50 USD; non-USD under 25 USD: 0.10 USD
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Visa/Mastercard debit on Arbitrum, virtual Small part of an NFT creation fee, amount not stated 1% fee on depositing cryptocurrency into the card, refunded later via rewards; FX not stated

MetaMask is the closest comparison and the most interesting one. It is the same score, and the shape is different in a way that matters: it spends directly from the connected wallet rather than from a preloaded balance, on Linea, Base, Monad and Solana, holding mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC and USDT, with cashback of 1% on the virtual card. Its cashback math is worth reading closely, because it is the kind of detail that decides whether a headline rate is real: the Metal tier’s headline is 3%, with a footnote limiting 3% to the first $10,000 spent and 1% after. Sign-ups are open in 45 listed countries and territories with proof of residency, other regions waitlisted, and US and UK sign-ups are temporarily closed. If the idea of preloading money that then sits still is what bothers you about Plasma One, this is the alternative that removes the step.

KAST is the opposite bet: fewer assumptions and more published numbers, at a price for the upper tiers that only makes sense if you use the card heavily. Its fee table is the most complete of the four — 0.5% to 1.75% non-USD FX depending on where you live, where you spend and which programme you are on, 0.10 USD on non-USD transactions under 25 USD, 0.50 USD for a declined transaction. Its KYC is unusually explicit, and the explicit part is strict: if your country is not listed, KAST is not available there, and if you live in a supported country but hold an ID from a restricted region you may still fail. Dual citizens with a supported ID may pass. A VPN does not bypass it. That clarity cuts both ways — fewer surprises, less latitude.

TokenPocket comes last and I would not put it first. The 1% deposit fee, described as refunded later through rewards or reduced transaction fees, is a claim about future value rather than money back. Its availability is also split by region, with a Visa debit for a list of European countries and Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the UK, among others.

Two category warnings that apply to all four, and to your existing bank card. First, programmes close. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down; WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its programmes. Closure usually means a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw. One 2026 closure reported by a single unconfirmed secondary source ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026. Second, prepaid and debit cards generally sit under different reversal regimes from credit cards, and coverage varies enough that it should not be assumed — in the US, Regulation E covers debit and Regulation Z covers credit.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Plasma One to someone who already holds dollars or dollar-pegged tokens, already has an app they check, and wants a Visa number in their phone today with 2% or more back in XPL without a subscription. If your money is already in USDT and you want to spend it rather than move it to an exchange and back, the value is obvious: no extra conversion step, no exchange account, cashback in a token you are holding anyway.

I would steer you to something else if any of these is true. If you are in or ordinarily resident in one of the restricted jurisdictions, stop here — the terms say you may be restricted, and no app invitation changes that. If you need deposit protection, this is not that. If you need to know a transfer cost to the cent before you send it, the networks are not named on the public pages and Cash Out fees are not published. If you need cash regularly, the ATM position is not disclosed anywhere I could find. If you are planning to hold XPL to reach Core or Platinum, read the lock rules twice: locked tokens cannot be unlocked early and you cannot close the account while a lock is active.

And the last thing I would say to anyone: the gap in this card’s public information is not a technicality, it is the main risk. Country list not stated, tier prices not stated, ATM fees not stated, daily and monthly limits not stated, top-up fees and minimums not stated, delivery regions and replacement fees not stated, store ratings not published and not findable. Where the official pages are silent, you are relying on an app screen or on someone else’s guess — and unofficial sources for this card disagree with each other and with the Terms of Service on where it is available. The structure is sound, the fee promises are better than most in the category, and the product is young. That is the whole picture, and I would rather you see it clearly than be sold on it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Plasma One card?

Plasma One is a Visa payment card that spends a crypto-backed balance in dollars. You add local currency and receive dollars, then pay with a virtual or physical card. Visa issues it through Rain, a Visa Principal Member, and account services are powered by Bridge. Plasma describes itself as a financial technology company, not a bank. There are three tiers: Lite, Core and Platinum, each with different cashback and support.

How does Plasma One actually work?

You hold or buy crypto, load it into the card’s dollar balance, and the card spends that balance. It behaves more like a prepaid card than a bank debit card: the card draws on a stored balance rather than asking a bank to withdraw from your account at each purchase. Support says you hold custody of the assets yourself and Plasma does not. Spending limits are set by Plasma based on your collateral and can be changed, or reduced to zero, at any time.

Is Plasma One a bank?

No. Plasma states it is “not a regulated financial institution, bank”. The card is issued by Rain, services run through Bridge, and the balance holds stablecoins rather than bank deposits. That distinction matters for protection: stablecoin balances are not covered by FSCS or FDIC. If a deposit guarantee is important to you, this is not the product you want, however good the cashback is.

Which countries can use the card?

The public pages do not publish a country list, saying only that “Geographic, regulatory, and other eligibility limits apply”. The Terms of Service Appendix I name restricted jurisdictions including Belarus, China (Mainland), India, Israel, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine and Vietnam, plus Cuba, Iran and North Korea, and the list is not exhaustive. Unofficial sites claim very different coverage and contradict each other. Residence decides, not citizenship. Check the app and the Terms on the day you apply.

Does getting the card require KYC?

Yes — “Complete identity verification”, age 18+, one Card Account per person, and no sanctions involvement with the US, UK or EU. How many levels there are, how long they take and why a check can fail are not stated officially. Unofficial sources describe name, date of birth, government ID, address, a liveness video, sometimes proof of address, and automated checks usually finishing within 5 minutes. Take that as preparation, not as a promise.

What are the actual fees?

Plasma One “does not charge any additional fees” and Lite’s card costs 0 dollars. Foreign exchange on non-USD is up to 1%, cross-border is 0%, and purchases are 0% APR; Platinum covers the FX fee. Partner fees appear in the app before you confirm, Cash Out “may carry processing fees and minimums”, and ATM fees, top-up fees, and daily and monthly limits are not stated. On-chain network fees are paid to the blockchain, not to the card.

Is the card safe for my money?

The safeguards are real: instant card freeze and account lock in the app, PCI DSS v4.0.1 Level 1 Service Provider – SAQ D, Apple Pay’s device-specific token, and self-custody so the provider does not hold your assets. The exposure is structural. Your collateral can be liquidated after non-payment, Spending Credit is not cash and is forfeited if the account closes, and the issuer may suspend or cancel at any time. Self-custody also means a lost seed phrase cannot be recovered and transfers cannot be reversed.

Can I use the card in my country and pay with my phone?

Apple Pay works on iPhone and Google Pay on Android, with availability depending on region; blocked categories are not stated. The Visa is accepted in 180+ countries. Two practical warnings: a merchant’s system can decline a foreign-issued or prepaid-looking card based on the issuer identification number, and a declined authorisation can leave a hold on your balance for several days, typically up to seven.

How do I top up and get money back out?

You add local currency and receive dollars, or transfer in USDT and related tokens on listed networks, usually quickly per unofficial sources. Withdraw to a bank or wallet “anytime” through in-app off-ramps, where available, with rails depending on region. The card does not name the networks on the pages I read, so confirm before sending — blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit on an unsupported network or to a mismatched address can be lost with no guarantee.

Is Plasma One worth it?

For someone already holding dollars or dollar-pegged tokens who wants cashback in XPL — 2% on Lite, up to 10% AI cashback on Platinum plus up to USD 600/year flight cashback — the value is immediate and the fee promises are better than most in the category. Weigh that against the gaps: country list, tier prices, ATM costs, limits and top-up fees are all unstated publicly, Core and Platinum lock XPL for twelve months with no early release, and the account cannot be closed while a lock is active.

Content created by the «cryptocardadvisor» team